Skip to main content

Full text of "Encyclopedia of Connecticut biography, genealogical-memorial; representative citizens"

See other formats


Connecticut State Librar 



3 0231 00370 0528 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2012 with funding from 

LYRASIS Members and Sloan Foundation 



http://archive.org/details/ency05unse 







^C^CcOjL^C<f-^Q 




QroQsO^_^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA 

OF 

CONNECTICUT BIOGRAPHY 

GENEALOGICAL— MEMORIAL 



REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



Compiled with assistance of the following 

ADVISORY COMMITTEE 



SAMUEL HART, D.D., D.C.L. 

Dean of Berkeley Divinity School; President of 
Connecticut Historical Society. 

THOMAS SNELL WEAVER 

Superintendent of City Schools, Hartford; 
Journalist, former Editor Willimantic Jour- 
nal, and associated with New Haven Register, 
Boston Globe, Hartford Post and Hartford 
Courant. Member of Library Committee Con- 
necticut Historical Society. 

JOSEPH ANDERSON, D.D. 

President of Mattatuck Historical Society; 
forty years pastor of First Congregational 
Church, Waterbury; Editor Anderson's His- 
tory of Waterbury. 

WALTER RALPH STEINER, M.D. 

Member of State Historical Society; Member 
of State Medical Society; Fellow of American 
Medical Association; Secretary Congress of 
American Physicians and Surgeons; Librarian 
Hartford Medical Society. 

HADLAI AUSTIN HULL, LL.B. 

Attorney, New London; Major in Spanish- 
American War. 

STORRS OZIAS SEYMOUR, D.D. 

President of Litchfield Historical Society; 
President of Wolcott and Litchfield Library 
Association; Rector Emeritus of St. Michael's 
(P. E.) Church, Litchfield (23 years active 
rector). 



JOHN GAYLORD DAVENPORT, D.D. 

Pastor Emeritus Second Church of Waterbury 
(30 years active); Member of Connecticut His- 
torical Society; Member of Mattatuck Histori- 
cal Society; ex-Governor and Chaplain of Con- 
necticut Society, Sons of Founders and Pa- 
triots; ex-Deputy Governor National Society, 
same order. 

GEORGE CURTIS WALDO, A.M., LITT.D. 

Editor of Bridgeport Standard 49 years; one 
of Founders of Bridgeport Scientific Society; 
ex-Vice-President of Fairfield County Histori- 
cal Society; Author of History of Bridgeport. 

FREDERICK BOSTWICK 

Librarian New Haven Colony Historical Soci- 
ety; Register S. A. R., Connecticut; Honorary 
Member of National Genealogical Society; 
Member of Connecticut Historical Society. 
Connecticut Library Association, Mississippi 
Valley Historical Association; Associate Edi- 
tor Genealogical History of Connecticut; ex- 
President New Haven -Chautauqua Union. 

GUILFORD SMITH 

President of Windham National Bank; Mem- 
ber of Connecticut Society, Mayflower De- 
scendants. 

LEWIS ELIOT STANTON, A.B. 

(Yale, 1855). Member of American Bar Asso- 
ciation and State Bar Association; Assistant 
United States Attorney 1870-1885; United 
States Attorney District of Connecticut 1885- 
1888 (resigned); Representative Hartford, 1880. 



ILLUSTRATED 



THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

INCORPORATED 



BOSTON 



NEW YORK 

1917 

o -■ 



CHICAGO 



JFnreuiorb 



I AC" 1 1 one of us is "the heir of all the 
ages, in the foremost files of time." 
We build upon the solid foundations 
laid by the strenuous efforts of the fathers 
who have gone before us. Nothing is 
more fitting, and indeed more important, 
than that we should familiarize ourselves 
with their work and personality ; for it is 
they who have lifted us up to the lofty 
positions from which we are working out 
our separate careers. "Lest we forget," 
it is important that we gather up the 
fleeting memories of the past and give 
them permanent record in well-chosen 
words of biography, and in such repro- 
duction of the long lost faces as modern 
science makes possible. 

Samuel Hart. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



PITKIN, Albert Hastings, 
Curator. 

From the earliest settlement of New 
England, the name of Pitkin has been 
a prominent one in the annals of its his- 
tory. 

A worthy and prominent member of 
this honorable family, Albert Hastings 
Pitkin was born August 20, 1852, in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, son of Albert P. and 
Jane Ann (Hastings) Pitkin, and died 
there October 14, 1917. He was a lineal 
descendant of William Pitkin, the pro- 
genitor of the family in this country, who 
was born in England in 1635, and died 
December 16, 1694. He came from Eng- 
land to America in 1659, and was admitted 
a freeman, October, 1662. He was pos- 
sessed of an excellent education, and was 
appointed in 1662 as prosecutor for the 
Colony; in 1664 appointed attorney-gen- 
eral to the King; in 1675 an d until 1690 
was representative of Hartford in the 
Colonial Assembly ; was treasurer of the 
Colony in 1676 and commissioner to the 
United Colonies; was appointed in 1676 
to negotiate peace with the Narragansett 
and other Indian tribes ; was elected a 
member of the Colonial Council in 1690. 
He was one of the principal citizens of 
the town and was appointed with John 
Crow to lay out the first Main street and 
other streets on the east side of the river. 
He married, in 1661, Hannah Goodwin, 
the only daughter of the Hon. Ozias and 
Mary (Woodward) Goodwin. Ozias 
Goodwin was the progenitor of the Good- 
win family in Connecticut. Mrs. Hannah 
(Goodwin) Pitkin was born in 1637, and 
died February 12, 1724. 



Roger Pitkin, eldest child of William 
and Hannah (Goodwin) Pitkin, was born 
in 1662, and died November 24, 1748. He 
was engaged in farming, and was a lead- 
ing citizen of the community. He served 
for several years as selectman and was 
the first school committeeman in 1720. 
He was appointed captain of the first 
militia company on the east side of the 
river, and was actively engaged with his 
company in the defense of the town 
against the Indians in 1704 and also at 
other times. He "owned the covenant" 
with the First Church of Hartford, No- 
vember 22, 1685. In 1683 he married Han- 
nah Stanley, daughter of Captain Caleb 
and Hannah (Cowles) Stanley. The 
father of Captain Caleb Stanley was a 
passenger with the Rev. Thomas Hooker 
when he came to America. Roger and 
Hannah (Stanley) Pitkin were the 
parents of Jonathan, of whom further. 

Jonathan Pitkin, son of Roger Pitkin, 
was born March 1, 1697. He married, in 
1728, Rebecca, daughter of Philip Smith, 
of Hadley, Massachusetts. 

Jonathan Pitkin, Jr., son of Jonathan 
Pitkin, was born in 1730, and died in De- 
cember, 1812. He married, in 1760, Lucy, 
daughter of Dr. Joseph and Elizabeth 
(Hollister) Steele, born January 24, 1740, 
and died February 20, 1804. 

Ezekiel Pitkin, second child of 
Jonathan Pitkin, Jr., was born January 
26, 1763, and died May 22, 1843. Pre- 
vious to 1807 he married Euphemia Chap- 
man, and they were the parents of Deni- 
son Palmer, of whom further. 

Denison Palmer Pitkin, son of Ezekiel 
Pitkin, was born February 15, 1807, died 
July 18, 1871. He married, in 1828, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Phoebe Dunham, daughter of Benjamin 
Turner, of Mansfield, Connecticut. She 
was born July 10, 1807, and died Sep- 
tember 7, 1866. Her father was a 
farmer in Mansfield. 

Albert Palmer Pitkin, son of Denison 
Palmer Pitkin, was born February 27, 
1829. He was the senior member of the 
firm Pitkin Brothers & Company Iron 
Works. He married, November 4, 185 1, 
Jane Ann Hastings, a daughter of 
Captain Henry and Sarah Ann (Dewey) 
Hastings, born December 8, 1828, 
died February 1, 1876, in Hartford. 
Mr. and Mrs. Pitkin were the parents of 
the following children : Albert Hastings, 
of whom further ; Howard Seymour, born 
October 31, i860, died October 23, 1917; 
and William Taft, born April 20, 1867. 

Albert Hastings Pitkin, eldest child of 
Albert Palmer and Jane Ann (Hastings) 
Pitkin, was born in Hartford, August 20, 
1852, and died there, October 14, 1917. 
He received his elementary education 
in the public schools of that city. He 
was associated with Alfred T. Richards 
in the Connecticut Mutual Life Insur- 
ance Company, from which he retired to 
accept the position of general Curator of 
the Wadsworth Atheneum and Morgan 
Memorial at Hartford, Connecticut, 
specializing in the department of Cera- 
mics, of which he had been honorary 
curator for many years. He was for 
years a student and collector of ceramics, 
specializing in early American pottery. 
At the Morgan Memorial at Hartford, 
Connecticut, he installed the famous J. 
Pierpont Morgan Collections, consisting 
of sixteen hundred pieces of ancient 
glass, bronze, early French and English 
porcelains, Italian majolica, Dresden fig- 
urines, early ivories and metal work from 
Augsburg, and Venetian glass. He also 
installed the Samuel P. Avery Collec- 
tions of Cloisonne, and Continental silver 



and glass, and the early American silver 
and antique furniture collections of 
George Dudley Seymour, and the com- 
plete installation of all the Ceramics in 
the Morgan Memorial, which includes 
two collections of his own, the Early 
American Folk Pottery and Red Ware 
Collection and the Bennington Collection, 
both of which are unrivalled in any 
museum or private collection in this 
country. 

In connection with this work, he 
made extensive travels both in this 
country and in Europe. On one of these 
trips he visited twenty-six of the principal 
museums of Europe in order to learn 
their methods of classification and in- 
stallation. He visited at this time the 
great and very unique Exhibition of 
Mohammedan Art that was held in Mun- 
ich. This trip was made in company 
with a friend, the late Dr. Edwin A. 
Barber, who was director of the Pennsyl- 
vania Museum of Philadelphia, and they 
also visited Mexico together. Mr. Pitkin 
spent ten months in travel on the Pacific 
coast. There is, perhaps, no finer collec- 
tion of antique furniture and pottery than 
that owned and collected by Mr. Pitkin 
during his life, to be found in the entire 
State. A portion of his collection has 
been placed in the Morgan Memorial as 
a Memorial Loan in his memory by his 
wife. In addition to his furniture and 
pottery collections he also specialized in 
rare books and his library contained 
many priceless volumes. His ''Notes on 
Early American Folk Pottery, including 
the History of the Bennington Pottery" 
have been published since his death by 
his wife. 

Mr. Pitkin was a member of the First 
Church of Christ of Hartford, which he 
joined in 1871, when the Rev. Dr. George 
Leon Walker was pastor there, and who 
was an intimate friend of Mr. Pitkin dur- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing his life and residence in Hartford. He 
was a member of the Society of May- 
flower Descendants in the State of Con- 
necticut, and had served that society as 
its delegate to three of the meetings of 
the Congress which was held in Old Ply- 
mouth, Massachusetts, triennially. He 
was a member of the National Associa- 
tion of Museums in America, to which 
he was often sent as delegate by the 
Wadsworth Atheneum of Hartford, to its 
meetings in Philadelphia, Boston, New 
York, Washington, Milwaukee and Chi- 
cago. He was a member of the Jeremiah 
Wadsworth Society, Sons of the Amer- 
ican Revolution ; also the Walpole Society 
of New York. He gave freely of his store 
of knowledge and had classified many 
private collections and installed public 
collections in Albany, New York; and 
Waterbury, Litchfield, and New Haven, 
Connecticut. 

On April 23, 1874, Mr. Pitkin married 
Sarah Howard Loomis, born December 
12, 1854, daughter of Chester Martin and 
Mary Weston (Thayer) Loomis. The 
latter was a lineal descendant of John 
Alden and his wife, Priscilla (Mullins) 
Alden of Pilgrim fame, who came with 
the company on the "Mayflower" in 1620. 
The former, Chester Martin Loomis, was 
a lineal descendant of Joseph Loomis, 
one of the original settlers of Old Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, in 1639. Chester Martin 
Loomis and Mary Thayer were married 
in Boston, and spent many years there, 
coming later to Connecticut, where Sarah 
Howard Loomis was born, graduated 
from the Hartford High School in 1871, 
when she went to Boston and passed the 
examination into the New England Con- 
servatory of Music, studying there with 
Carlisle Petersilea and Stephen A. 
Emory. She united with the First 
Church of Christ in 1867 and taught in 



the Sunday school of that church for 
many years. 

Mrs. Pitkin was treasurer and president 
of the Hartford Mc All Auxuliary, and 
visited the Mission Stations in Paris in 
1906. She was first secretary of the 
Ruth Wyllys Chapter, Daughters Amer- 
ican Revolution, and on its board of 
management seven years. She was on 
the board of managers of the Woman's 
Christian Association. She was charter 
member of the Hartford Art Club, and 
served as its treasurer and president, re- 
spectively. She was charter member of 
the Monday Morning Club ; member of 
the Mayflower Society of the State of 
New York, being No. 93, and was sent 
to the first Mayflower Congress held in 
this country at Plymouth, Massachusetts, 
and attended the first meeting of the May- 
flower Society in New York at the 
Waldorf Astoria in 1894. When Mr. Pit- 
kin united with the Connecticut Society 
of Mayflower Descendants, Mrs. Pitkin 
joined that also. 

Both Mr. and Mrs. Pitkin have been 
sent as delegates to the Triennial Con- 
gress at Plymouth, Massachusetts. 

Mrs. Pitkin lectured on Ireland, the 
Holy Land, Morgan Collections, and the 
Mayflower Pilgrims in the Old and New 
World. She very materially assisted in 
the compilation of the Pitkin Genealogy, 
procuring the histories of many members 
of the family, copying the entire book, 
reading proof when it was in the process 
of publication, and making all the indices. 
She also published the Thayer (her 
mother's) genealogy and had it privately 
printed. She assisted in sending out 
circulars to obtain genealogical material 
for the Loomis genealogy, and is one of 
the executive committee of the Loomis 
Family Association which meets every 
three years at the Loomis Institute in 
Old Windsor, Connecticut. She has pub- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lished as a memorial to Mr. Albert Hast- 
ings Pitkin his "Notes on Early American 
Folk Pottery and the Bennington Pottery." 
She travelled extensively in Europe in 
1906, visiting Germany, Switzerland, 
France, Belgium, Holland, England and 
Ireland. She is a member of the Archae- 
logical Society, Connecticut Historical 
Society, and many social clubs which rep- 
resent the best social life of Hartford. 

The following are tributes to the mem- 
ory of Mr. Pitkin; the first, that of the 
Walpole Society, is beautifully engraved: 

Resolutions on the Death of Albert Hastings 
Pitkin by the Walpole Society: 

At a meeting of the Walpole Society, held at 
the House of the "Club of Odd Volumes" in 
Boston, on November ninth, nineteen hundred 
and seventeen, after a feeling tribute paid by one 
of the members to the memory of the late Albert 
Hastings Pitkin, it was unanimously voted: 

That through a committee consisting of Messrs. 
H. W. Erving and Luke Vincent Lockwood, the 
Society express to Mrs. Pitkin its deep sorrow at 
the loss of its valued associate, and its sincere 
sympathy with Mrs. Pitkin in her bereavement. 

The Society highly esteemed the many excel- 
lencies of character of their late friend, and 
valued his companionable qualities and his great 
interest in all the aims of the Society. 

It also greatly appreciated his knowledge of 
Ceramic Art, and his faithful and persevering 
study and research into matters connected there- 
with, together with his ever cheerful readiness to 
assist others in its study and to impart his infor- 
mation to all earnest students. 

The Walpole society and its members individ- 
ually have sustained a heavy loss in the passing 
of Mr. Pitkin. 

(Signed) H. W. Erving, 
For the Walpole Society. 

Resolutions of the Hartford Ceramic Art 
Club: 

Whereas, It has pleased Providence to remove 
from our midst our respected friend and honor- 
ary member, Albert Hastings Pitkin, thereby 
leaving a vacancy in our club that can never be 
filled ; therefore be it 

Resolved, That we express our sense of the 
high character of his attainments, his rare artistic 
perceptions, his unfailing courtesy, and his gen- 



erous help and encouragement to us in our work 
for the advancement of Keramic Art; and be it 

Resolved, That we express to Mrs. Pitkin our 
profound sympathy in her bereavement, and the 
assurance that his memory will always be revered 
among us; and be it 

Resolved, That a copy of these resolutions be 
sent to Mrs. Pitkin, and that they be spread upon 
the minutes of the Club. 

Mrs. H. H. Gibson, President. 

November 9, 191 7. 

(These Resolutions are beautifully engraved). 

Resolutions of the Municipal Art Society : 

Resolved, That the Directors of the Municipal 
Art Society express publicly their sense of the 
deep loss both to this Society and to Hartford 
which we have suffered in the death of Albert 
Hastings Pitkin. 

As Curator of the Collection in the Morgan 
Memorial Building, Mr. Pitkin's thorough knowl- 
edge of the Art treasures of our city was always 
gladly placed at the services of any of our citi- 
zens, and his enthusiastic interest in all that had 
to do with the artistic life of Hartford, was of 
the greatest value to this community. 

His death so soon after the formal opening 
to the public of our beautiful Art Collection 
deprives us of an unique and valuable contribu- 
tion of service to our civic life at a time when 
it is most needed. 

W. H. Honiss, President. 
Leila Anderson, Secretary. 

Resolutions of the Trustees of the Wadsworth 
Atheneum and Morgan Memorial : 

At a meeting of the Trustees of the Wadsworth 
Atheneum, held on the seventeenth day of No- 
vember, nineteen seventeen, the President, Dr. 
Francis Goodwin, having announced the great 
loss which the institution had suffered in the 
death of Mr. Albert Hastings Pitkin, General 
Curator, the following vote was passed: 

Since the last meeting of the Wadsworth Athe- 
neum, the General Curator, Mr. Albert H. Pitkin, 
has been taken from us by death. 

Mr. Pitkin was interested in the Atheneum 
long before he had any official position here. 
This interest was manifested by gifts and loan 
exhibitions from his varied and valuable collec- 
tions. 

In 1910, he was appointed Curator of the De- 
partment of Ceramics and while this position 
was purely honorary he gave to it very largely 
of his time and thought. He not only made im- 





fU^ofx^ 




<U 9 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



portant gifts and loans, but he labored zealously 
and successfully to secure the same from others. 
In 1916, he was appointed General Curator and 
from that time he devoted himself untiringly to 
the work of his office, and he discharged its 
responsibilities and duties with a faithfulness 
which is beyond all praise. 

His remarkable attainments as a student and 
collector of Early American Pottery were recog- 
nized by all of the leading Museum authorities 
throughout the country, and he had been invited 
to lecture on this topic during the coming winter, 
before the Metropolitan Museum of Art. 

On the personal side, his death has brought 
grief to all of his associates, and we sorrow most 
of all, that we shall see his face here no more. 

Resolved, That this Minute be entered on the 
records of the Atheneum, and that a copy be 
transmitted to his family with the assurance of 
the sincerest sympathy of the Trustees of Wads- 
worth Atheneum in their great bereavement. 



McKNIGHT, Everett James, M. D., 

Physician, Public Official. 

The name of McKnight has come down 
to us from early Scottish times, when it 
appeared in various forms according to 
the taste of those who wrote the rules 
which governed spelling in that day being 
extremely lax. 

The first of the name to come to this 
country was John McKnight, who was 
born in Scotland in 1712, and settled in 
Hartford, Connecticut, about 1738. He 
was at that time twenty-six years of age. 
Sometime after living in Hartford he went 
to New Haven, where he remained for a 
term of years, but finally returned to 
Hartford in 1748 and established himself 
in a successful mercantile business, be- 
coming later the postmaster of Hartford. 
He prospered greatly in his business un- 
til the Revolutionary period, which saw 
the complete collapse of his business and 
the loss of his fortune. The bitterness of 
this blow was increased by the fact that 
he loaned a large proportion of his wealth 
to his country, which he was never able 
to regain. His declining years were spent 



on a small farm in the northwestern part 
of what is now the town of Ellington. 
Here hardship and privation were, in the 
main, his lot until his death on March 
16, 1785. He married Jerusha Crane, 
whom he met on a trip in one of his own 
ships, the voyage being made to pur- 
chase a cargo of goods for sale in the 
colonies. His wife was born about 1724, 
and died September 5, 1783. A son was 
born to them on June 18, 1759, and died 
November 12, 1837, little being known 
of his career beyond the fact that he suc- 
ceeded his father as a farmer on their 
land in Ellington, and married Charity 
Abbe, who died in 1798. 

Their son, Horace McKnight, grand- 
father of Dr. McKnight, continued his 
father's occupation and conducted as 
well two taverns, one in Ellington and 
the other in Enfield. He was also a 
great student and teacher, and held many 
minor political offices in the community. 
Among them we may mention that of 
school visitor, justice of the peace and 
town representative in the General 
Assembly. Besides these activities he 
was an active member of the Congrega- 
tional church in Ellington. He was born 
on October 23, 1790, and died December 
27, 1856. He was married on January 26, 
1817, to Asenath Kimball, who was born 
September 27, 1795, and died January 17, 
1857, a daughter of Daniel and Merriam 
(Allworth) Kimball. Her family traces 
their descent to one Thomas Kimball, 
who was born in the County of Suffolk, 
England, in 1733, and brought by his par- 
ents to the colonies when but a year old. 

The father of Dr. McKnight, James 
Dixon McKnight, was born in Enfield, 
Connecticut, on August 9, 1826. He mar- 
ried, October 10, 1850, Mary Fidelia 
Thompson, who was born on May 26, 
1827, a daughter of John and Anne (Ells- 
worth) Thompson. Her maternal grand- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



father, Benjamin Ellsworth, was a sol- 
dier in the Revolution and was present 
at the execution of Major Andre. 

Dr. Everett James McKnight, the se- 
cond of five children, was born June 12, 
1855, and spent his childhood in Elling- 
ton. He was educated at Hall's Family 
School in that town, and later was sent 
to Hopkins Grammar School at New 
Haven, where he completed his prepara- 
tion for college. He entered Yale Uni- 
versity in 1872, and was graduated four 
years later with the class of 1876, which 
included a large number of men who 
later became prominent in public affairs. 
Among them we may mention Arthur 
Twining Hadley, now president of Yale, 
Otto F. Bannard, of New York City, 
Judge James Brooke Bill, Senator John 
Kean, Congressman Charles B. Fowler, 
Elmer P. Howe, and the late William 
Waldo Hyde. Dr. McKnight was promi- 
nent at college as a student and in ath- 
letics, doing much to promote popular 
interest in football. In the sophomore 
year he was treasurer of the Football 
Club, secretary, in the year following, and 
its president as a senior. After gradua- 
tion he spent the following year at the 
Yale Medical School, and then attended 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons in 
New York City for two years longer, 
being graduated from there in 1879 with 
the degree of M. D. 

Shortly after graduation he settled in 
East Hartford and was active in practice 
there until 1893, when he removed to 
Hartford. Being more interested in sur- 
gery than in any other branch of medicine, 
he has gradually confined himself to that 
specialty and has become one of the lead- 
ing surgeons in Connecticut. He has been 
associated with many institutions in vari- 
ous capacities, being made in 1889 ortho- 
pedic surgeon to the Hartford Hospital, 
and shortly thereafter one of the first as- 



sistant surgeons. Upon the death of Dr. 
M. Storrs in 1900, he was appointed a 
visiting surgeon of the same institution. 
For many years he was also surgeon for 
the New England Railroad Company, and 
is now consulting surgeon of the Hart- 
ford Orphan Asylum, the New Britain 
General Hospital, the Middlesex Hospital 
(Middletown) and the Johnson Memorial 
Hospital at Stafford Springs, Connecticut. 
In 1899 he was appointed a medical direc- 
tor of the Hartford Life Insurance Com- 
pany, and retained that position for five 
years. He has always been active in ad- 
vancing the general interests of his pro- 
fession and is a member of many medical 
organizations, among which we may men- 
tion the American Medical Association, 
the Connecticut State Medical Society, 
the Hartford County Medical Association 
and the Hartford Medical Society. He 
has served as president of each of the last 
three societies, and was a trustee of the 
American Medical Association at the 
time of his death. As a member of the 
Committee of Public Policy and Legisla- 
tion of the Connecticut State Medical 
Society he has been instrumental in se- 
curing good and preventing bad legisla- 
tion in matters relating to public health. 
He was also a member of the American 
Urological Association, the New York 
Academy of Medicine, a fellow of the 
American College of Surgeons, and an ex- 
vice-president of the International Asso- 
ciation of Railroad Surgeons. 

Dr. McKnight has always taken a keen 
interest in public affairs, and in 1893 was 
elected a representative from East Hart- 
ford to the General Assembly of Con- 
necticut. While a member of that body 
he served as chairman of the Committee 
on Public Health and was a member of 
the Fisheries Committee. He was also 
interested in the social and club life of 
Hartford, and was a member of the Hart- 



8 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ford, the University, and the Twentieth 
Century Clubs of that city, as well as 
the Yale Club of New York, the 
Graduates Club of New Haven, and the 
Yale Alumni Association. During his 
college course he was a member of the 
Psi Upsilon fraternity. In the year 1907 
he received the degree of Master of Arts 
from Yale University, and for eighteen 
months taught surgery in the Yale Medi- 
cal School. 

On February 8, 1881, he was married 
to Aletha Lindsley, of Branford, a daugh- 
ter of David and Aletha Lindsley, of that 
place. To Dr. and Mrs. McKnight a 
daughter, Rachel, was born August 9, 
1889. Dr. McKnight died suddenly from 
angina pectoris on December 25, 1917. 



GILLETTE, Charles Stanton, 

Financier, Honored Citizen. 

The family of Gillette has been long 
identified with bankers and banking, and 
Charles S. Gillette was widely known and 
respected as a sound and successful busi- 
ness man. 

His family is an old one in Connecticut 
and the name has been spelled through 
many generations, Gillett, but in later 
times another letter has been added. The 
name was taken from France to England 
whence it came to this country. The 
pioneer in this country was Jonathan 
Gillett, who was one of a company of one 
hundred and forty Puritans who came 
from the counties of Devon, Dorset and 
Somerset, England. They sailed with the 
Rev. John Warham and Rev. John Mav- 
erick, as pastors, in the ship, "Mary and 
John/' March 20, 1630, and arrived off 
Nantasket, May 30th following. They 
settled in Dorchester, Massachusetts, 
where Jonathan Gillett was admitted free- 
man, May 6, 1635, ar >d was granted vari- 
ous lands and privileges in that town. 



He accompanied Rev. John Warham and 
his associates to Windsor, Connecticut, 
about 1636, and had a lot seventeen rods 
wide near that of the pastor and opposite 
Alexander Alvord's. Thirty-seven years 
after the settlement, Matthew Grant 
made a list of the twenty-one members 
who came with Mr. Warham from Dorset 
and were still residents of Windsor, and 
this list included the names of Jonathan 
and his wife, Mary. Having paid six 
shillings for the privilege, they were per- 
mitted to sit in the long seats in church. 
Jonathan Gillett was one of the com- 
mittee of distribution and contributed four 
and one-half shillings to the fund in aid 
of sufferers from the Indians at Sims- 
bury and Springfield. He died August 
23, 1677, and was survived more than 
seven years by his wife, who passed away 
January 5, 1685. 

Their second son, Jonathan Gillett, 
born 1634-35, in Windsor, resided in that 
part of the town which was later Sims- 
bury. He was a farmer and purchased 
the farm formerly owned by Joseph 
Phelps. In 1676 he contributed one 
shilling and three-pence to the fund for 
the relief of the poor in other colonies. 
He married, December 14, 1676, Miriam 
Dibble, who was born February 19, 1645, 
second daughter of Thomas Dibble, who 
was a pioneer in the settlement of Dor- 
chester and Windsor, and a member of 
the church in both towns. 

Thomas Gillett, third son of Jonathan 
Gillett, and eldest child of his second wife, 
Miriam (Dibble) Gillett, was born May 
31, 1678. and died June II, 1708. He 
married, February 26, 1704, Hannah 
Clark, born August 15, 1686, and died 
February 20, 1709, the daughter of John 
and Mary (Crow) Clark, and grand- 
daughter of Daniel Clark, born about 
1622, an early settler of Windsor, where 
he filled many offices. He was admitted 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to the church in June, 1643, anc ^ was 
secretary of the colony from 1658 to 1664. 
He married, June 13, 1644, Mary New- 
berry, who died October 29, 1688. She 
was a daughter of Thomas Newberry, 
who came from England and died in Dor- 
chester, as he was preparing to remove 
to Windsor. His widow, Jane, married 
(second) Rev. John Warham, the first 
pastor at Windsor, and removed thither 
with her children. Her third son, John 
Newberry, born April 10, 1656, was ad- 
mitted an inhabitant of Simsbury, Decem- 
ber 24, 1686, and died there in February, 
1715. lie married, in 1685, Mary, daugh- 
ter of Christopher and Mary (Burr) Crow, 
born 1665. She married (second) about 
1720. William Randall, of Enfield. Chris- 
topher Crow lived first in Hartford, later 
in Windsor, and again in Hartford. His 
father, Benjamin Crow, was one of the 
founders of Hartford, one of the original 
proprietors in 1635, and a soldier of the 
Pequot War. 

Jonah Gillett, the posthumous son of 
Thomas Gillett, was born October 18, 
1708, in Simsbury, and resided in what 
was called Wintonbury Parish of Wind- 
sor, now the town of Bloomfield, and was 
sergeant of militia. He married Elizabeth 
Hoskins, born 1708-09, died May 28, 1758, 
and several of their children were bap- 
tized in Wintonbury. 

Their eldest child. Captain Jonah 
Gillett, was born about 1728-29 in Bloom- 
field, and was a soldier of the Revolution 
in command of the Second Company of 
the Second Battalion in Colonel Gay's 
regiment in 1776. This regiment was 
raised to reinforce General Washington's 
army at New York, and participated in 
the movements on Long Island and at 
White Plains. He died March 14, 1792, 
in Bloomfield. He was married, Novem- 
ber 9, 1752, by the Rev. Hezekiah Bissel, 
first pastor of the church at W'intonbury, 



to Sarah Goodrich, who was born October 
31, 1733, in Windsor, daughter of Jacob 
and Benedicta (Goodwin) Goodrich, de- 
scended from William and Sarah (Mar- 
vin) Goodrich, who were early in 
Wethersfield. Their son, John Goodrich, 
born May 20, 1653, lived in Wethersfield, 
and married, March 28, 1678, Rebecca, 
daughter of Captain John Allyn, of 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, born in Feb- 
ruary, 1660. Their youngest child was 
Jacob Goodrich, born November 27, 1694, 
and lived in Wethersfield and Windsor, 
and died May 11, 1746. He married, Sep- 
tember 12, 1717, Benedicta Goodwin, 
daughter of Nathaniel and Mehitable 
(Porter) Goodwin. Their fourth daugh- 
ter, Sarah Goodrich, born in 1733, became 
the wife of Captain Jonah Gillett, as above 
noted. She was also a descendant of 
Ozias Goodwin, the ancestor of all of that 
name in the vicinity of Hartford, and 
his wife, Mary (Woodward) Goodwin, 
the daughter of Robert Woodward, of 
England. Ozias Goodwin and wife were 
residing in Hartford as early as 1639, and 
there he died before April, 1683. His 
son, William Goodwin, was born about 
1629, and died October 15, 1689, an d mar- 
ried Susanna Fruen. Their second son, 
Nathaniel Goodwin, was a shoemaker, 
deacon of the First Church of Hartford, 
and died in November, 1747. He married 
Mehitable Porter, born September 15, 
1673, daughter of Samuel and Hannah 
(Stanley) Porter, of Hadley, Massachu- 
setts ; she was the granddaughter of John 
Porter, who came from Felsted, County 
Essex, England, and was in Windsor as 
early as 1639. He married, October 18, 
1620, Anna White, of Messing, England, 
baptized July 3, 1600, daughter of Robert 
and Bridget (Allgar) White. The latter 
was a daughter of William Allgar, of 
Shelford, Essex. Samuel Goodwin, the 
third son of Nathaniel and Mehitable 



10 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(Porter) Goodwin, married, about 1659, 
Hannah, daughter of Thomas and Bene- 
dicta Stanley, who were in Hartford as 
early as 1636. Benedicta, second daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Hannah Goodwin, bap- 
tized February 25, 1694, became the wife 
of Jacob Goodrich, and the mother of 
Sarah Goodrich, who married Captain 
Jonah Gillett. 

Their second son, Jonah Gillette, bap- 
tized April 17, 1757, in Wintonbury, 
served as a drummer in the Revolution, 
enlisting July 6, 1775, and serving until 
December 8th following, as drummer of 
the Fourth Company, commanded by 
Captain Elihu Humphrey, of the Eighth 
Regiment of Connecticut Militia, Colonel 
Jedediah Huntington. This regiment was 
located on the sound until September 14, 
1775, when it was ordered to Boston and 
served at Roxbury in General Spencer's 
brigade. Jonah Gillette lived in Bloom- 
field where he died September 18, 1825. 
The Wintonbury records do not show his 
marriage and the family name of his wife, 
Elizabeth, born in 1764, died December 
30, 1825, is unknown. 

Their son, Justus Gillette, born Sep- 
tember 28, 1783, in Bloomfield, was bap- 
tized at Wintonbury, October 10, 1793, 
and died October 17, 1825. He married 
Sylvia Hubbard, born June 14, 1787, bap- 
tized September 28, 1788, daughter of 
Oliver Hubbard, of Bloomheld, descend- 
ant of George Hubbard, the ancestor of 
a very large family in this country. The 
name seems to be identical with Hobart, 
Hubert and Herbert, all personal names, 
and is found under some fifty different 
spellings in the early Colonial records of 
America. The family was prominent and 
ancient in England where it bore coat- 
armor, and there is record of a John Hub- 
bard, born about 1235 in Norfolk, Eng- 
land, who was the patriarch of very nu- 
merous posterity. George Hubbard, born 



about 1601 in England, was a resident of 
Hartford, Connecticut, before 1639. He 
came overland with the first travellers 
from the Massachusetts Bay Colony, and 
was given six acres of land by courtesy 
of the town, and resided near the South 
meadow, on a road running parallel with 
the Connecticut river. In March, 1651, 
with some fifteen others, he settled in 
what is now Middletown, Connecticut. In 
1650 he was listed as an Indian agent 
and trader, and in 1654 was admitted a 
freeman at Middletown. There he owned 
lands on both sides of the river, and he 
had a residence on both sides of Main 
street. With Thomas Wetmore and two 
others he gave land for the Second Meet- 
ing House, March 18, 1684, "highly re- 
spected and of marked integrity and fair- 
ness." In 1640, he married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Richard and Elizabeth Watts, 
at which time he was living on the east 
side of the Connecticut river. His third 
son, Samuel Hubbard, born in May, 1648, 
in Hartford, was reared by his uncle, Cap- 
tain Thomas Watts, who was childless, 
and on the death of the latter, inherited his 
property and removed to Hartford, where 
he died November 4, 1732. He married, 
August 9, 1673, Mary Kirby, who was 
born January 16, 1654, in Middletown, the 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (prob- 
ably Hinds) Kirby, of Hartford, Wethers- 
field, and Middletown, formerly of Row- 
ington, near Kenilworth, Warwickshire, 
England. Their fourth son, Lieutenant 
John Hubbard, born in August, 1691, 
settled in Simsbury in that portion annex- 
ed in 1643 to Bloomfield. About 1740 he 
removed to Windsor, and died there 
February 14, 1775. The house in which 
he lived remained in possession of his de- 
scendants as late as 1859. He married, 
in October, 1717, Agnes (Spencer) 
Humphries, born 1669, died April 11, 1773, 
the daughter of Samuel and Sarah 



11 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Spencer, and granddaughter of William 
and Agnes Spencer, of that town, and 
widow of Nathaniel Humphries. Their 
oldest son, John Hubbard, born April 25, 
i~2i, in Hartford, lived in Bloomfield, 
where he was a slave holder, and died 
November 24, 1760. He married Hannah 
Cadwell, born 1729, died May 5, 1796, the 
daughter of Thomas and Hannah Cad- 
well. She married (second) January 19, 
1764, Jonathan Palmer, of Bloomfield. 
Oliver Hubbard, youngest child and post- 
humous child of John and Hannah (Cad- 
well) Hubbard, was born April 16, 1761, 
and lived in Bloomfield. His wife was 
Sylvia (Pennoyer) Hubbard, whose 
father was John Pennoyer, probably of 
Hudson or Newburg, New York. The 
baptisms of his children are recorded in 
the Wintonbury church. The eldest of 
these was Sylvia, baptized September 28, 
1788, in Wintonbury, and who became 
the wife of Justus Gillette. 

Their son, Norman Hubbard Gillette, 
was born December 24, 1808, and bap- 
tized at Wintonbury church, September 
3. 1815. At the same time were baptized 
three other children of Justus Gillette, 
namely, Justus Pennoyer, Anson Center, 
and Sylvia Permelia. He removed to 
Hartford when a boy, and in early life 
was a merchant there. In 1831 he re- 
moved to Russia, New York, and was 
a member of the mercantile firm of Stan- 
ton & Gillette, until 1834, when he be- 
came a merchant miller at Odgensburg, 
New York. Here he was head of the 
firm of Norman H. Gillette & Company. 
Nine years later he built a flour mill at 
the foot of Bridge street, Brooklyn, where 
he carried on an extensive milling busi- 
ness for a period of five years. From 1848 
to 1853, he kept the Syracuse House at 
Syracuse, New York. Later he was in 
the real estate commission business at 
Hartford, and in the summer of 1859, con- 



ducted the Fairfield House at Fair- 
field, Connecticut. He was appoint- 
ed inspector of customs at New 
York City, July 10, 1861, and continued 
in that position until his retirement on 
account of ill health in 1876. He died in 
Hartford, July 5, 1881. He married, 
April 28, 1834, Jane Shepard, who was 
born August 24, 1808, daughter of Phineas 
and Mary (Webster) Shepard, descended 
from Edward Shepard, who was a mariner 
and came from England to New England 
and settled in Cambridge, Massachusetts. 
Violet Shepard, supposed to be his wife, 
died there January 9, 1649. His will was 
proved August 20, 1680, and a year later 
his son John sold the homestead. The lat- 
ter was born about 1627, in England, and 
lived in Hartford on what is now known 
as Lafayette street, a short distance south 
of the new State House. He owned lands 
extending to Wethersfield bounds, was a 
man of consequence in the colony, known 
as Sergeant John Shepard. He married, 
October 1, 1649, Rebecca Greenhill, 
daughter of Samuel Greenhill. Their 
fourth son, Thomas Shepard, was born 
November 12, 1666, and was admitted to 
the First Church of Hartford, March 1, 
1695, an d died between February 2, 1742, 
and March 6th of the following year. He 
married, September 5, 1695, Susannah 
Scott. She was probably Hannah Scott, 
born August 11, 1679, daughter of 
William and Hannah (Allie) Scott, of 
Hatfield, Massachusetts. Their eldest 
child was Thomas Shepard, born April 2, 
1697, in Hartford. He resided in West 
Hartford and in that part of Windsor 
which is now Bloomfield, and died in 
W T est Hartford, May 25, 1775. He mar- 
ried Mary Eggleston, born July 20, 1697, 
and died March 22, 1736, the daughter of 
Isaac and Mary (Stiles) Eggleston and 
granddaughter of Begat Eggleston, a 
pioneer settler of Windsor. Their only 



12 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



son, Thomas Shepard, born January 4, 
1730, baptized January 18th following, in 
Hartford, died in West Hartford, May 22, 
1819. He married Mary Kellogg, born 
July 3, 1736, in Hadley, and died Septem- 
ber 21, 1775, daughter of Steven and 
Mary (Cook) Kellogg. They united with 
the West Hartford Church, July 30, 
1758. Their fourth son, Phineas Shepard, 
born November 2, 1766, in Bloomfield, 
died in 1846, in Hartford. He mar- 
ried Mary Webster, born September 1, 
1772, died in 1848. She was the daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Huldah (Skinner) 
Webster. Their sixth daughter, Jane 
Shepard, born August 24, 1808, married, 
April 28, 1834, Norman Hubbard Gillette, 
as previously noted. Mary Webster, wife 
of Phineas Shepard, was descended from 
Governor John Webster, of Connecticut, 
one of the original settlers of Hartford. 
He was magistrate of the Colony twenty 
years, from 1639, a deputy governor in 
1655, and governor the following year. 
He became one of the fifty-nine signers 
of the agreement to settle at Hadley, 
where he died April 5, 1685. He retained 
his estate in Hartford, the use of which 
he gave to his wife, Agnes, during her 
life. Their eldest child, Robert Webster, 
born about 1639-40, was representative to 
the General Court at Hartford in 1658-59. 
He signed the agreement to go to Had- 
ley, but remained in Hartford and was 
executor of his father's will. He died in 
1676, and his wife, Susanna, died about 
1705 ; the inventory of her estate having 
been made November 17, of that year. 
The first child mentioned in her will was 
John Webster, probably the eldest son, 
born November 10, 1653, m Hartford, and 
died in 1694. He married Sarah, daughter 
of Jacob and Sarah (Whiting) Mygatt, 
and their second son was Ebenezer 
Webster, baptized July 14, 1689. He was 
a miller in Hartford, and died February 



1, 1776. He married his cousin, Hannah 
Webster, born November 7, 1695, died 
November 11, 1775, the daughter of 
Robert and Hannah (Beckley) Webster. 
Their second son, Medad Webster, was 
baptized January 5, 1724, in the Second 
Church of Hartford, and became a mem- 
ber of that church. He was a farmer in 
Hartford, and sucessively ensign, lieuten- 
ant and captain of the Second Company 
of Militia, and died April 9, 1793. Me mar- 
ried, November 10, 1748, Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Joseph Holton, and she died August 
18, 1805. Their eldest child, Samuel 
Webster, baptized in September, 1749, 
was a farmer in Hartford, and died there 
March 25, 1813. He married, about 1770, 
Huldah Skinner, died April 1, 1813. She 
was a descendant of John Skinner, who 
came to Hartford with Rev. Thomas 
Hooker. Their eldest child, Mary or 
Mollie Webster, born September 1, 1772, 
baptized July 31, 1791, married, Novem- 
ber 24, 1791, Phineas Shepard, and died 
in 1848. She received from her father 
as a marriage portion a slave woman, 
Jinny, who served her faithfully until 
death. Their sixth daughter, Jane 
Shepard, born August 24, 1808, became 
the wife of Norman Hubbard Gillette, 
as above related. 

Charles Stanton Gillette, second son of 
Norman Hubbard Gillette, was born Oc- 
tober 10, 1843, m Odgensburg, New York, 
and died in Hartford, Connecticut, Jan- 
uary 10, 1887. In youth he attended what 
was known as the South School, now the 
Chauncey Harris School, of Hartford. He 
was subsequently a student in the Hart- 
ford High School for one year, and at the 
age of seventeen years was recommended 
for a position in the old Merchant and 
Manufacturers Bank of Hartford, which 
became in i860 the First National Bank. 
After twelve years of faithful service he 
was made cashier, and in 1883 became 



13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



president of the bank, being at that time 
the youngest bank president in the city. 
He continued in this position until his 
death soon after the beginning of his 
forty-fourth year. He enjoyed in marked 
degree the confidence of his associates and 
of the community-in-general, and was 
called upon to administer several estates 
which were large for the time. His busi- 
ness judgment was recognized by all, and 
many well-to-do people in Hartford to- 
day are grateful for the sound advice 
given them by Mr. Gillette in business 
matters. He was deeply interested in 
church work and was junior deacon of 
the South Congregational Church for 
many years. He served in the Veteran 
City Guard, of which he was sergeant. A 
thorough Republican in politics, he was 
ever eager to advance the public interest, 
but was prevented by his business con- 
nections from giving any time to official 
services. Very fond of his home life and 
the society of his family, he did not 
affiliate with any fraternal bodies. A man 
of keen sympathies and warm heart, he 
was the friend of mankind, and died 
widely regretted. 

Mr. Gillette married, October 10, 1867, 
Emma Frances Tiffany, of Hartford, born 
December 31, 1845, daughter of Edwin D. 
and Julia (Camp) Tiffany, of that city. 
She died January 13, 1887, in Hartford. 
Edwin D. Tiffany was also president of 
the Merchants & Manufacturers Bank, of 
which Mr. Gillette became subsequently 
president. A sister of Mr. Gillette mar- 
ried Rowland Swift, president of the 
American National Bank. Mr. and Mrs. 
Gillette are the parents of the following 
children: 1. Harriet, born April 27, 1869, 
who is unmarried and lives in Hartford. 
2. Edwin Tiffany, born May 4, 1872, died 
April 10, 1873. 3. Lucy, born June 2, 
1874, died June 8, 1875. 4- Charles 
Howard, born December 18, 1875, died 



January 4, 1914; he married, December 
18, 1896, Marion Pope, the daughter of 
Colonel George Pope, and they were par- 
ents of five children: Dorothy Pope, 
George Pope, Charles Howard, Jr., John 
Pope, and William Pope. 5. Norman, 
born March 19, 1878; married, May 5, 
19 1 7, Marguerite Woods, of Hartford, 
Connecticut ; he is now expert accountant 
of the Aetna Life Insurance Company, 
located in New York. 6. Henry Camp, 
born September 25, 1879; holds a re- 
sponsible position as quartermaster 
for the Malleable Iron & Fittings 
Company, of Branford ; married Olive 
Thompson, of Branford, where he now 
resides ; two children, Harriett Stedman 
and Edwin Foote. 7. Emma Tiffany, 
January 3, 1881 ; married, June 25, 1906, 
Malcolm Moore, of Buffalo, New York, 
and they are now living in Philadelphia, 
where he is sales manager for the Blais- 
dell Paper Company of that city, and for 
the F. A. Ceigal Rubber Company of Pat- 
erson, New Jersey. They have five chil- 
dren : James Gillette, Jane Gillette, Mal- 
colm Moore, Jr., Norman Gillette, and 
Emma Tiffany Gillette. 



JEWELL, Lyman Beecher, 

Merchant. Manufacturer. 

The name of Jewell is a distinguished 
one among the honorable names of the 
sons of Connecticut. The immigrant an- 
cestor, Thomas Jewell, was born in Eng- 
land about 1600, and it is believed that 
he was of the same stock as Bishop John 
Jewell, who was born in the north of 
Devonshire in 1522, died in 1571. Former- 
ly the surname was written Jule, Joyell, 
Jewell and in various other ways. Thomas 
Jewell came over in the ship '"Planter" 
in 1635, at which time he was twenty- 
seven years old. He settled at what is 
now Braintree, Massachusetts, and was 



14 





7~^a ■j4m*rre&'t jtysfor/tra/Sactiffp 



£fap, Ajf £~ & frf/fanjs *£ &/■& A£V 




/ / OAyL^CLA_^y 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



granted land there April 24, 1639. He 
died in 1654, and his widow, Grisell, sub- 
sequently re-married four times. 

Their son, Joseph Jewell, was born at 
Braintree, April 24, 1642, and died be- 
fore September 2, 1736. He settled in 
Sudbury, Massachusetts, and bought land 
there, July 17, 1694. He conducted a 
ferry and grist mill. He married (first) 
about 1670, Martha . 

Their son, Joseph Jewell, was born in 
June, 1673, and died in 1766, at Dudley, 
Massachusetts. He was married in 
Boston, Massachusetts, September 14 
1704, to Mary Morris, by the famous Rev. 
Cotton Mather. 

Their son, Nathaniel Jewell, was born 
April 8, 1716, at Plainfield, Connecticut, 
and died of smallpox at Dudley, Massa- 
chusetts, December 26, 1777. He married, 
January 6, 1741, Rebecca Leonard. 

Their son, Asahel Jewell, was born 
August 2, 1744, and died at Winchester, 
New Hampshire, April 30, 1790. He was 
a tanner and farmer. He married, Novem- 
ber 5, 1767, Hannah Wright. 

Their son, Asahel (2) Jewell was born 
in Winchester, May 16, 1776, and died 
there August 29, 1834. He followed the 
trade of tanner. He married, February 
21, 1797, Hepzibah Chamberlain. 

Their son, Pliny Jewell, was born at 
Winchester, September 27, 1798, and died 
August 28, 1869, at Hartford, Connecti- 
cut. During his youth he attended the 
district schools and local academy, and 
for some years taught school during the 
winter terms. At an early age he learned 
the trade of tanner, and step by step 
learned the details of his father's business. 
He succeeded to the business established 
by his grandfather at Winchester and 
continued by his father, and he manufac- 
tured leather there until 1845, when he 
sought a larger field for his industry at 
Hartford. In 1848 he added to the tan- 



ning business a shop for the making of 
leather belting. At that time were asso- 
ciated with him his two sons, Pliny, Jr., 
and Marshall, under the firm name of P. 
Jewell & Sons, and subsequently two 
other sons, Charles A. and Lyman B., 
were admitted to the firm. The shop was 
on Trumbull street, Hartford, and the 
business prospered and grew to large 
proportions. It was incorporated April 
16, 1883. The founder and senior part- 
ner of the firm retired in 1866, three years 
before his death. About 1856, the firm 
established a tannery at Detroit, Michi- 
gan, where for twenty-five years the 
leather was prepared. At present the 
company has large tanneries at Rome, 
Georgia, and the leather manufactured 
there is used largely in the belt factory 
at Hartford. Mr. Jewell lived to see the 
industry he established grow to be the 
largest of its kind in the country. To 
his great executive ability, sagacity and 
indefatigable industry, the success of the 
business is largely due. He had great 
strength of will, force of character and 
decided convictions. In religion he was 
a decided Calvinist of the stern old-fash- 
ioned type. He was active in the Con- 
gregational church of his native town and 
when he came to Hartford joined the 
South Congregational Church, of which 
he was a member until a few years be- 
fore his death, when he united with the 
Center Church of Hartford. He was sec- 
retary and treasurer of the Windsor 
Theological Seminary and a prime mover 
in securing its removal to Hartford. 

He was a lifelong student, especially of 
the history of his own country, of France 
and England, and few men of his day 
knew more about the politics and political 
history of the United States. He left 
very voluminous notes upon English his- 
tory with characteristic criticisms of 
historical personages. He read old Eng- 



15 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lish literature and studied Shakespeare, 
especially the historical plays, with 
scholarly method and care. "He was not 
a mere reader of history but he studied 
the philosophy of it, the motives and 
animus of the characters who figure in it, 
and the action and re-action of events 
upon the actors in the great drama. He 
talked well on such subjects, showing 
always a memory tenacious of facts and 
a clear grasp of principles. He had a 
fondness for rare books upon the subject 
in which he was interested, though he 
was not a collector." And when he re- 
tired from business he had a pleasing and 
stimulating avocation in his studies, such 
as too few of the men who have led active 
lives have. Naturally such a man was 
interested in the government of his coun- 
try. He took an active part in politics 
in Winchester in the old Whig party, 
serving several terms in the State Legis- 
lature, but he voted for Fremont for 
president and was a Republican the re- 
mainder of his life. 

Mr. Jewell married Emily Alexander, 
of Winchester, New Hampshire, born 
February 12, 1801, died March 19, 1889. 
They were the parents of the following 
children; 1. Harvey, born May 26, 1820. 
2. Maria, born October 14, 1821, died in 
Paris, France, June 26, 1878. 3. Pliny, 
born September 1, 1823. 4. Marshall, born 
October 20, £825, who became governor of 
Connecticut, and during President Grant's 
administration was minister to Russia. 5. 
Lyman B.. of further mention. 6. Emily, 
born November 6, 1829, died November 
1, 1836. 7. Arthur, born August 1, 1834, 
died at Hartford, February 9, 1848. 8. 
Charlotte A., born September 20, 1836. 9. 
Edmund, born February 12, 1839, died 
February 19, 1841. 10. Charles A., born 
March 29, 1841. 

Lyman Beecher Jewell, fifth child of 



Pliny and Emily (Alexander) Jewell, was 
born August 29, 1827, in Winchester, New 
Hampshire, and died in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, November 20, 1917, at the great 
age of ninety years. His early education 
was received in the district schools of 
his native town, which he attended until 
sixteen years of age. He began his busi- 
ness career in Boston, under the tutelage 
of Washington W'illiams, of the firm of 
Hovey, Williams & Company. Mr. 
Williams was one of the most widely 
known commission merchants of his day, 
a man of keen business ability, from 
whom Mr. Jewell received valuable train- 
ing, of use to him throughout his entire 
business career. Mr. Jewell later became 
a partner of the firm of Stanfield, Went- 
worth & Company, a firm which grew 
to be of importance, carrying on their 
business in Boston, New York and Chica- 
go. They were the recipients of the pro- 
duct of many of the largest textile mills 
in the country. Soon after this partner- 
ship was formed, Mr. Jewell took up his 
residence in New York as manager of 
that end of the business, continuing until 
the great Boston fire dissolved the part- 
nership. He came to Hartford in 1873, 
where he became a member of the firm 
of P. Jewell & Sons, a business founded 
by his father and known to-day as the 
Jewell Belting Company. Subsequently 
he was elected vice-president of the com- 
pany, and upon the death of his elder 
brother in 191 1, was made president. 

Mr. Jewell was a remarkable man in 
a great many respects. His faculty for 
retaining the results of his extensive 
study and research never failed him. His 
love for literature gave him many a 
pleasant hour, and after his retirement 
from active business, he spent hours en- 
gaged in pursuing the works of his favor- 
ite authors. His especial delight was 



16 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



poetry, and he was thoroughly versed in 
all the works of the leading poets. Eng- 
lish literature, too, claimed a great deal 
of his attention. The works of French 
authors and kindred subjects interested 
him, and never throughout his entire life 
did he lose his interest in the language. 
His knowledge of that masterpiece of 
literature, the Bible, was perhaps as great 
if not greater than any other man, for 
he spent hours reading and retaining the 
passages which he read. As one would 
naturally expect from a lover of poetry, 
Mr. Jewell was equally a lover of music, 
being educated in all the intricate phases 
of it, thus enabling him to enjoy it to 
the highest degree, and his knowledge of 
art and painting was equal to that of 
poetry. Mr. Jewell was one of the best 
known sportsmen of the country. Shoot- 
ing and fishing were his particular delight, 
and six months of every year were spent 
by him in following these sports. The 
current events of the day were always 
closely followed by him. He was a 
student of political economy, not only of 
this, his native land, but also of the for- 
eign nations as well. Fortunate indeed 
was the friend or acquaintance who had 
an opportunity to sit and listen to Mr. 
Jewell discourse on these matters, es- 
pecially in these latter days, since the 
whole world has awakened to a keener 
realization. It is but natural that a man 
of Mr. Jewell's mental endowments and 
capabilities should number among his in- 
timate friends such men as Ex-President 
Arthur, Cornelius Bliss, Amos R. Eno, 
and many other leading men of the day. 
As a matter of fact his acquaintance with 
men of national repute extended through- 
out his life. 

Mr. Jewell married, in 1858, in Boston, 
Charlotte, eldest daughter of Washington 
Williams, previously mentioned. Mrs. 
Jewell died in Hartford, in 1902. 

Conn— 5— 2 



DUNNING, Stewart Northrop, 

Lawyer. 

Of Connecticut family, identified with 
the life of various communities for a 
number of generations, Stewart Northrop 
Dunning, of Hartford, brought to his 
profession inherited professional and busi- 
ness traits. He is a son of Dr. William 
Burr Dunning, grandson of Herman Dun- 
ning, and great-grandson of Michael Dun- 
ning, of Brookfield, Fairfield county, a 
community in which he was well known 
and highly respected. Herman Dunning 
grew to manhood in Fairfield county, but 
becoming acquainted with the advantages 
Peekskill, New York, offered though hav- 
ing a brother-in-law, Dr. Philander 
Stewart, practicing there, he chose that 
city as a business location. He was prof- 
itably engaged in the furniture business 
in Peekskill for many years and there re- 
sided until death. He married Flora 
Northrop, who survived him, living to 
the great age of ninety-five. 

Dr. William Burr Dunning, born in 
Peekskill, New York, December 22, 1843, 
died at Lebanon, New Jersey, in the sum- 
mer of 1888. He prepared in Peekskill 
schools, entered Yale University, whence 
he was graduated class of 1863, decided 
upon the profession of medicine, entered 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons 
(now the medical department of Colum- 
bia University), whence he was gradu- 
ated M. D. He then spent two years as 
house surgeon at Bellevue Hospital, New 
York, after which he began private prac- 
tice in his native Peekskill, in association 
with his uncle, Dr. Philander Stewart. In 
1877 he located in the city of Hartford. 
Connecticut, and there practiced very suc- 
cessfully until his own health failed in 
1885. 

Dr. Dunning married, February 19, 
1872, Emma Adelaide Bancroft, born at 



17 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Enfield, Connecticut, in 1845, daughter 
of Caleb Jones and Chloe (Wolcott) Ban- 
croft, her father a descendant of John 
Bancroft, who came from London, Eng- 
land, June 12, 1632, and settled at Lynn, 
Massachusetts. 

Stewart Northrop Dunning was born 
at Peekskill, New York, December 7, 
1876. He was brought by his parents to 
Hartford when but six months of age, and 
that city has continued his home to the 
present time. He was educated in the 
public schools of Hartford, Denver, Colo- 
rado, and Windsor, Connecticut, complet- 
ing his studies in Hartford High School at 
the age of sixteen. At that age he secured 
a position in one of the large insurance 
offices of Hartford, where he remained 
for four years. During this time he sup- 
plemented his education by evening study 
in various academic subjects and came 
to a definite determination to make the 
law his profession and career in life. With 
this end in view he entered, at the age 
of twenty, the law offices of Harrison B. 
Freeman, continuing his studies until 
1903, when he was admitted to the Con- 
necticut bar. Since that time, Mr. Dun- 
ning has practiced his profession in Hart- 
ford and has won enviable reputation as 
an attorney of ability, counted as one of 
the leaders of the Hartford bar. To 
natural talent Mr. Dunning has added 
habits of energy which, combined with 
ambition, has won him success. He is 
emphatically a worker and there are no 
blank periods in his life. 

Mr. Dunning, besides his professional 
practice has large business interests and 
is connected in an official capacity with 
several important concerns. He is a di- 
rector of the City Bank & Trust Com- 
pany, the Northern Connecticut Light 
& Power Company, the Thompsonville 
Water Company, the Atlas Sand, Gravel 
& Stone Company of Farmington, the 



Northern Engineering Company, the En- 
field Construction Company and the In- 
surance and Title Guarantee Company of 
Hartford. While in no sense of the word 
a politician, Mr. Dunning is keenly in- 
terested in public affairs and is a Repub- 
lican in politics. He served for five years 
on the Common Council and Board of 
Aldermen of Hartford and has been chair- 
man of the Town Plan Commission and 
member of the Republican Town Com- 
mittee and various other public bodies in 
West Hartford. He is also a prominent 
figure in the club life of the city, is a 
member of Wyllys Lodge, No. 99, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, of West Hart- 
ford, but outside of his profession he finds 
his greatest pleasure in his home. He has 
a small farm in West Hartford. The 
family attend the First Church of Christ, 
Scientist, in Hartford. 

Mr. Dunning married, January 25, 1905, 
Hazel C. Case, of Windsor. They are the 
parents of John Stewart, born March 9, 
1906; Harrison Freeman, born August 12, 
1908; Richard Bancroft, born May 21, 
1910; Dorothea, born August 14, 1913; 
Hazel, born December 9, 1914; Diana, 
born April 9, 1916. 



BELDEN, Charles Rockwell, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

Charles Rockwell Belden was one of 
the most prominent and successful men 
of his day in his native city of Hartford, 
Connecticut, where he was born January 
24, 1850. and died March 18, 1902. 

The first English ancestor of the family 
of whom there is record was Walter Bayl- 
don, who married a daughter of Thomas 
Gargrave, and their son, John Bayldon, 
married (second) October 15, 1515, Mary 
Copely, daughter of Edward Copely, of 
Doncaster, Yorkshire. He died Decem- 
ber 22, 1526. George Baildon, their third 



18 




/L^i^fa JVisA. 




r 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



son, was born about 1520. He was a 
resident of Methley in 1567 and of Hard- 
wick in 1574. He died in 1588, and was 
buried at Kippax. He married Anne, 
daughter of Thomas and Jane (Pigot) 
Folkingham, of Leeds, and widow of 
James Standish, of Killingholme, in the 
County of Lincoln. She was buried at 
Leeds, December 17, 1577. Sir Francis 
Baildon, their son, was born in 1560. He 
was knighted at the coronation of James 
I. He married (second) Margaret, daugh- 
ter of Richard Goodrick, of Ripston. She 
was buried September 22, 1598. Sir 
Francis died in 1623. 

Richard Baildon, son of Sir Francis 
Baildon, was baptized at Kippax, May 26, 
1 591. He emigrated to America with his 
sons, his wife having died in England, and 
came to Wethersfield when about forty- 
eight or fifty years of age, in 1641. He 
accumulated considerable real estate 
which was bequeathed to his sons upon 
his death, which occurred in 1655. He 
was a man of keen financial ability and 
possessed of a high degree of moral and 
intellectual force which has been apparent 
among his descendants throughout the 
centuries. In 1646 he was appointed 
town cow-keeper, whose duties were to 
look after the settlers' cattle pastured in 
the town pasture. 

John Belden, youngest son of Richard 
Baildon, was born about 1631, and ac- 
companied his father to America. He 
was made a freeman in Wethersfield in 
1657. That same year he enlisted under 
Captain John Mason. He was very active 
in town affairs. He left an estate valued 
at nine hundred and eleven pounds at his 
death, June ij, 1677. He married, April 
24, 1657, Lydia, daughter of Thomas and 
Susanna Standish. 

Samuel Belden, son of John Belden, 
was born January 3, 1665, and died De- 
cember 27, 1738. He married, January 



14, 1685, Hannah, daughter of Richard 
Handy, and granddaughter of John Elder- 
kin, a first settler of Norwich. She died 
January 20, 1742. 

Samuel (2) Belden, son of Samuel 

(1) Belden, was born in 1689, and died 
July 31, 1771. He married, April 10, 1712, 
Mary Spencer, of Haddam, Connecticut, 
who died October 28, 175 1, at the age of 
sixty years. 

Samuel (3) Belden, son of Samuel (2) 
and Mary (Spencer) Belden, was born 
April 26, 1713, and lived in Stepney 
parish. He died January 10. 1789. His 
wife, Elizabeth Belden, died February 23, 

i/75- . 

Seth Belden, son of Samuel (3) Belden, 
was born August 7, 1747, and was killed 
August 2y, 1776, at the battle of Long 
Island, in which he participated as a 
private in Colonel Huntington's regi- 
ment. He married, April 16, 1772, in 
Wethersfield, for his second wife, Chris- 
tian Dickinson, who was born Novem- 
ber 29, 1755, and died August 9, 1844, 
at the age of eighty-nine years, daughter 
of Obediah and Mary (Collins) Dickin- 
son, of Wethersfield. After the death 
of her husband, Mrs. Belden removed 
with her children to Middletown Upper 
Houses, now Cromwell. 

Seth (2) Belden, son of Seth (1) and 
Christian (Dickinson) Belden, was born 
in Wethersfield, Connecticut. After his 
father's death he went with his mother 
and the other children to Cromwell to 
live, and remained there until he removed 
to Hartford, Connecticut. Mr. Belden 
engaged in the paving stone business and 
general contracting and was very success- 
ful in his line of work. He married Abigail 
Sophia, daughter of Steadman. 

Charles Rockwell Belden, son of Seth 

(2) and Abigail Sophia (Steadman) 
Belden, attended the public schools of 
Hartford, which are widely known for 



19 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



their superior educational facilities. Soon 
after completing his studies he engaged 
in the tailoring business, continuing for 
a short time, resigning from that to enter 
the firm of his father which was incorpo- 
rated under the firm name of Seth Belden 
& Sons Company, another brother, James, 
also being a partner in the firm. After 
the death of his father, Mr. Belden with 
his brother continued to carry on the 
business. During the two years spent 
in this business, Mr. Belden was all the 
time storing up the knowledge of mercan- 
tile life and preparing himself for a suc- 
cessful business career. His next posi- 
lion was with the Newton & Hills Com- 
pany, coal dealers, as a clerk in their of- 
fice. Soon after, in 1882, together with 
Mr. Hills of the firm, the Hartford Coal 
Company was organized, of which Mr. 
Belden was made president and Mr. Hills, 
secretary and treasurer. Later Mr. Belden 
was elected to the offices of both president 
and treasurer, which he held until his 
death. Under the able management of 
the officials of the firm, the Hartford Coal 
Company soon grew to large proportions, 
conducting an extensive business in Hart- 
ford and vicinity. During his entire busi- 
ness life Mr. Belden displayed to a mark- 
ed degree the talents which were apparent 
in his early ancestors for organizing and 
managing financial ventures. He was 
conservative in his dealings, yet progres- 
sive, which combined qualities mark the 
true business man. 

In spite of his activities in the business 
world, Mr. Belden found time to take a 
keen interest in the civic matters of his 
native city, and was an earnest student 
of the political warfare being waged at 
that time. He was a staunch adherent 
of the Republican party and its principles 
and it was only natural that his fellow 
citizens should recognize his worth as a 
public official. Having been born and 



reared in the city, the personal success 
of Mr. Belden was certain and the only 
difficulty lay in persuading him to over- 
come his aversion to publicity. He was 
nominated by his party to the Court of 
the Common Council of Hartford, and 
elected from the Third Ward, which 
district he ably represented in the term 
of 1875, justifying the expectations of his 
constituents. However, Mr. Belden could 
not be again prevailed upon to accept 
a candidacy for public office, but was 
influential and helpful in the local councils 
in his role as a private citizen. 

Possessed of broad sympathies and a 
personality which quickly won him true 
and lasting friends, Mr. Belden was very 
prominent in the social and club life of 
Hartford. He was a member of St. John's 
Lodge No. 4, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Hartford ; B. H. Webb 
Council, Royal Arcanum ; Hartford 
Council, Improved Order of Heptasophs ; 
and Sicaogg Tribe, Improved Order of 
Red Men. 

On May 28, 1868. Mr. Belden was mar- 
ried to Mary E. Sill, a daughter of Micah 
and Adelaide (Rapael) Sill, of Hartford. 
Mr. and Mrs. Belden were the parents 
of three children: 1. Frederick Seth, born 
in Hartford. May 29, 1869; he was gradu- 
ated from the Hartford High School, and 
then entered the employ of H. H. Whit- 
man, a dry goods merchant. He was 
later employed by the Jewell Belting 
Company, remaining there for eight 
\ears, at which time he resigned to be- 
come associated with his father in the 
firm of the Hartford Coal Company, hold- 
ing the office of assistant secretary ; since 
the death of his father, in 1902, he has 
been president of the firm ; in 1914, Mr. 
Belden bought the oldest coal yard in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, which he re- 
organized under the name of the May- 
nard Coal Company, Maynard being the 



20 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



name of the former owner. Mr. Belden 
is also president and treasurer of this 
coal company, conducting a wholesale 
and retail business ; Mr. Belden is affiliat- 
ed with the same Masonic Lodge as his 
father was, St. John's Lodge, No. 4, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Hartford ; the Wolcott Council, Royal 
Arch Masons; the Hartford, Hart- 
ford Golf, Farmington Country, East 
Haddam Fish & Game and The Twen- 
tieth Century clubs ; he is also a mem- 
ber of the Hartford Employer's Asso- 
ciation ; an adherent of the Republican 
party, but in no sense of the word a 
politician ; Mr. Belden married Sydney B., 
daughter of Stephen Hanson, of Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania, and they have two 
children, Kathleen and Ruth. 2. Caroline, 
became the wife of James E. Brooks, 
and they are residents of Orange, New 
Jersey. 3. Louise M., became the wife 
of William C. Hill, residing in Sunbury, 
Pennsylvania. 



ULRICH, George, 

Banker, Public Official. 

A descendant of an old and honorable 
family, who have furnished many emi- 
nent men to different nations, George 
Ulrich, was born in New York, August 
13, 1856, the youngest son of Conrad and 
Margaret (Viel) Ulrich. The Ulrich 
family is of very acient origin. One 
branch of this family settled in Bale, 
Switzerland, and another in Alsace, 
France. The founder and defender of the 
famous Chateau St. Ulrich, General Ul- 
rich, who defended Strassburg against 
the Germans in 1870, belonged to the 
Alsatian branch, and the present com- 
mander of the Swiss Army (1917) is a 
descendant of the Bale branch. The 
coat-of-arms of the Ulrich family was 
granted in 873 A. D., and is as follows: 



Argent and or, in chief a vulture proper in the 
attitude of the heraldic eagle, wings inverted, in 
base palletts sable each charged in chief by a 
trefoil vert. Crest : The Vulture mantling or and 
sable. Motto: Per Fesse. 

Conrad Ulrich came from Cassel in 
185 1. The city is one of the handsomest 
in Germany, and is noted for the manu- 
facture of mathematical and physical in- 
struments. Mr. Ulrich followed his trade 
as instrument and tool maker for many 
years. He married Margaret Viel, 
daughter of the Rev. Peter Viel, and 
ganddaughter of Pastor Stamm. They 
were the parents of five sons and two 
daughters. 

George Ulrich, the youngest son of 
Conrad and Margaret (Viel) Ulrich, was 
born in New York, August 13, 1856. 
When a boy he removed to Hartford 
with his parents. After passing through 
the various grade schools, he took a 
special course at Bonn, where he re- 
ceived his degree of B. A. Afterwards 
he entered the banking business, which 
has been practically his life's vocation. 
Mr. Ulrich, accompanied by his wife, 
spent three years in foreign travel and 
visited practically every country on the 
Globe. After spending two more years 
in this manner, they made an exten- 
sive tour of their own country. Mr. 
Ulrich then returned to business life, with 
the broadminded vision and experience 
travel alone can give. In 1912 he was 
appointed vice-president of the newly 
formed American Industrial Bank & 
Trust Company, an office he is now ably 
filling. In political affiliations Mr. Ul- 
rich is a Democrat, and has for many 
years been active in the party and in- 
fluential in its councils. For years he 
served as selectman of the town of Hart- 
ford, and was for twelve years a mem- 
ber of the Board of Fire Commissioners, 
a member of both branches of the City 



21 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Council for several terms. In 1916 Mr. 
Ulrich was the candidate of his party for 
state treasurer. He is chairman of the 
Democratic Town Committee, a wise 
and efficient leader. He has always taken 
a deep interest in fraternity work and 
Ulrich Camp, Modern Woodmen of 
America, the largest camp of the order in 
New England, is so named in his honor. 
He is past chancellor commander of Cres- 
cent Lodge, Knights of Pythias, past great 
sachem of Sicagogue Tribe, Improved 
Order of Red Men ; member of Hartford 
Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks ; member of Lafayette Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons ; 
Pythagoras Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons ; and Wolcott Council, Royal 
and Select Masters. He is a member of 
the Hartford Club, the Hartford Chamber 
of Commerce. For four years he has 
been a trustee of the American School 
for Boys, and is its present treasurer. 

Mr. Ulrich married Alice C, daughter 
of Palmer Smith. They are the parents 
of a daughter, Dorothy Livingston Ul- 
rich. 

Mr. Ulrich is a member of the old 
South Congregational Church of Hart- 
ford. His summer home, located at Little 
Harbor Island, at New Castle by the 
Sea, is one of the historic spots about 
Portsmouth Harbor. 



CAMP, Jonathan, 

Manufacturer. 

Among the self-made men of Hartford, 
Mr. Camp has attained at a comparatively 
early age a prominent position among his 
contemporaries, and has justified the 
promise of a long line of worthy an- 
cestory. He is descended from John 
Camp, Sr., who resided at Nazing, Essex, 
England, seventeen miles from London, 
near the river Lea, and died in 1630. 



His will, made May 21, was proved June 
11, 1630, and in this he devised three 
pounds to his son, Nicholas. He married, 
in 1573, Mary, whose surname is not of 
record. 

Their third son was Nicholas Camp, 
called younger in England and senior in 
America, born 1597. In his time there 
were several Nicholas Camps in and 
about Nazing, and he was called the 
younger to distinguish him from a 
cousin, who was somewhat older. In 
the section where he lived in America 
he was the senior, and that was naturally 
his title. In 1638 he came from Nazing 
to this country, lived for a time at Water- 
town, Massachusetts, subsequently at 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, in 1639 was at 
Guilford, Connecticut, and as early as 
1646 had a house lot of six acres, two 
other parcels, and one right in the town- 
ship of Milford, Connecticut. His name 
appears on the list of free planters of 
that town, dated November 20, 1639, and 
he joined the church there with his wife 
Sarah, November 2, 1643. His wife Sarah, 
who accompanied him from England, 
died September 6, 1645, the first adult 
buried in the town of Milford. Her grave 
was made in the garden of her pastor, 
Rev. P. Prudden. Nicholas Camp mar- 
ried (second) Edith, widow of John 
Tilley, of Windsor, Connecticut. The 
date of his death is unknown. 

His son, Nicholas, (2) Camp, born in 
April, 1627, in Nazing, was a prominent 
citizen of Milford, which town he rep- 
resented in the General Assembly in 1670- 
71-72. He was taxed on property valued 
at £199, in 1686, conducted a store at the 
west end, and was accepted an inhabit- 
ant of Derby, Connecticut, where he re- 
ceived a grant of land in May, 1673, but 
did not reside there. He died at Milford, 
June 10, 1706. He married, July 14, 1652, 



22 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Catherine, widow of Anthony Thompson, 
of New Haven. 

They were the parents of Samuel 
Camp, who was born September 15, 1655, 
in Milford, where he purchased land, 
April 14, 1686. He was one of the first 
settlers of Durham, Connecticut, where 
he located in 1708. He married, Novem- 
ber 13, 1672, Hannah, daughter of 
Thomas Betts, of Milford, born Novem- 
ber 12, 1652, in Guilford. Thomas Betts, 
born in 1618, in England, was in Guilford, 
in 1650, in Milford, 1658, in Norwalk, 
1664, and died in the latter town in 1688. 
Hannah, wife of Samuel Camp, was liv- 
ing in 1688. 

The eldest child of Samuel and Hannah 
(Betts) Camp was Samuel Camp, born 
May 10, 1675, m Milford, died March 13, 
1744, and was buried in the old grave- 
yard at Milford. He married, May 28, 
1695, Rebecca Canfield, daughter of 
Thomas and Rebecca (Atkinson) Can- 
field, of Milford and Durham, grand- 
daughter of Thomas and Phebe (Crane) 
Canfield. She probably lived but a short 
time, as another record shows that he 
married, January 16, 1699, Mary Bald- 
win, baptized November 26, 1684, in Mil- 
ford, died October 29, after 1730, daugh- 
ter of Timothy (2) and Mary Baldwin, 
granddaughter of Timothy (1) and Mary 
Baldwin. 

Their second son was Captain Jonathan 
Camp, born December 17, 1702, and was 
buried in St. Paul's Churchyard, at Nor- 
walk. His wife's baptismal name was 
Ann. 

They were the parents of Jonathan 
Camp, born May 17, 1735, died November 
9, 1807. He married, in 1759, Mary Bur- 
well, born April 17, 1734, died January 
25, 1812. 

Their eldest son was Jonathan Camp, 
born February 20, 1768. He married, 
May 19, 1792, Hannah Bouton, born May 



16, 1765, daughter of Esaias and Phebe 
(Byxbee) Bouton. Esaias Bouton, born 
November 28, 1730, died May 27, 1821, 
was a son of Zachin Bouton. His wife, 
Phebe (Byxbee) Bouton, born 1734, 
died March 15, 1810, and was buried at 
Belden's Point, Norwalk. 

Their eldest son, Jonathan Camp, was 
born September 15, 1801, died April 14, 
1880, and was buried in Union Cemetery, 
Norwalk. He married, January 11, 1826, 
Mary Lannon Newkirk, born February 

15, 1808, died December 4, 1896, and was 
buried beside her husband. She was a 
daughter of Garret Harson Newkirk, born 
1788, died February 1, 1831, grand- 
daughter of John Newkirk, who died Jan- 
uary 14, 1818. 

Jonathan Camp, second son of 
Jonathan and Mary L. (Newkirk) Camp, 
was born January 22, 1838, in Norwalk, 
died April 16, 1874, and was buried in 
Union Cemetery of that town. He mar- 
ried, April 5, 1865, Frances Jane Wood, 
born January 1, 1842, daughter of Uriah 
Wood, born October 25, 1822, married, 
November 24, 1839, Eliza Jane Gorham, 
born January 25, 1821, died November 

16, 1855, and was interred beside her hus- 
band in Union Cemetery. Frances J. 
Wood was descended from Daniel Wood, 
born 1752, in Danbury, Connecticut, died 
September 21, 1829, married Wealthee 
Munrow, born 1760, died July 10, 1818. 
Their son, Noah Wood, born February 
24, 1780, died August 22, 1846, married 
Deborah Piatt, born December 10, 1778, 
died April 27, 1855, daughter of Joseph 
and Lydia (Wilson) Piatt. They were 
the parents of Joseph Piatt Wood, born 
July 18, 1797, died March 5, 1883, mar- 
ried, March 7, 1821, Clarissa Pickett, born 
March 28, 1799, died August 17, 1873, 
and was buried in Union Cemetery, Nor- 
walk. She was a granddaughter of John 
and Mercy (Piatt) Pickett, and daughter 



23 



QJ51oo~\^<h 



N 



W2> 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of John and Mary (Bates) Piatt. Jona- 
than and Frances J. (Wood) Camp were 
the parents of two children : Kate Elaine, 
born January 18, 1866, and Jonathan, 
mentioned below. The elder is the wife 
of Robert F. Way, of Norwalk, Connec- 
ticut, and they have a son, Donald Forbes 
Way. 

Jonathan Camp, son of Jonathan and 
Frances J. (Wood) Camp, was born Jan- 
uary 10, 1874, during a temporary resi- 
dence of his parents in Jersey City, New 
Jersey. He was three months old when 
the family removed to Norwalk, Connec- 
ticut, and there he attended the public 
schools. When fourteen years of age he 
went to Hartford, where his sister was 
residing, and there attended the high 
school. His father having died when he 
was an infant, he was early placed upon 
his own resources, and while still a youth 
entered the employ of C. G. Perkins, pro- 
prietor of the Perkins Electric Switch 
Manufacturing Company. His industry 
and dilligent attention won him rapid 
promotion, and for several years he rep- 
resented the company as a salesman, 
and went to England in its interest. In 
1900 he founded the Franklin Electric 
Manufacturing Company, was made 
treasurer and general manager, and con- 
tinued in that capacity until 191 5, when 
he was made president and general 
manager. This establishment produces 
incandescent lamps of every type, and 
its product is used in all sections of the 
United States. The business has pros- 
pered, largely through the business ca- 
pacity and industry of its founder. Mr. 
Camp is identified with the social life of 
his home city, is a member of the Hart- 
ford Club, Hartford Golf Club, Country 
Club of Farmington, Dauntless Club of 
Essex, and Sachem's Head Yacht Club. 
With his wife he is affiliated with Trinity 
Episcopal Church of Hartford, and his in- 



fluence is ever cast on the side of morali- 
ty and good progress. 

He married, April 29, 1896, Susan Mor- 
rell, born May 2, 1869, in Hartford, 
daughter of Daniel and Cornelia J. 
(Silver) Morrell, descended from Thomas 
Morrell, a native of England, who died 
at Newtown, New York, about 1704. His 
wife, Hannah, surname unknown, accom- 
panied him from England. 

They were the parents of Jonathan 
Morrell, born about 1670, in Newtown, 
died about 1726. The family name of his 
wife Judith is not known. Six of their 
children were baptized at Newtown, 
August 1, 1710, by the Rector of Grace 
Church, Jamaica, Long Island. 

Their fifth son, Daniel Morrell, born, 
probably in 1710, at Newtown, lived at 
Albany, New York. He married, March 
3, 1734, Alida Doxie, daughter of Samuel 
and Lysbeth (Bas) Doxie, of Long Is- 
land, born 1710. The Doxie family is an 
old one on Long Island, descended from 
Thomas Doxsey, who purchased a plan- 
tation lot at Gravesend, Long Island, Oc- 
tober 19, 1650. Four of Daniel Morrell's 
children were baptized at the First Dutch 
Reformed Church in Albany. 

The second son, Samuel Morrell, was 
baptized December 11, 1748, in Albany, 
and lived in that city, where he was ap- 
pointed chimney viewer, November 3, 
1786. On March 21 of that year his bill 
of fourteen pounds and four shillings was 
ordered paid by the City Council, indicat- 
ing that he had been in the city service. 
The census of 1790 shows that he was liv- 
ing at Watervliet, a suburb of Albany. He 
married, March 14, 1772, Rachel Garde- 
nier, of Albany, a descendant of Jacob 
Janse, a carpenter, who came from Cam- 
pen, in Holland, 1637, lived at New Am- 
sterdam until about 1666, when he remov- 
ed to Beaverwyck, now Albany. He is said 
to have been a skilled gardener, hence 



24 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the origin of the surname. At one time 
he has known as Jacob Janse Flodder, 
under which name he was granted a large 
tract, covering a part of the present city 
of Hudson, New York, the title to which 
continued in litigation until early in the 
nineteenth century. 

The second son of Samuel and Rachel 
(Gardenier) Morrell was Daniel Morrell, 
born February n, 1775, in Albany, where 
he lived until 1814, when he removed to a 
farm some six miles from Canajoharie, 
New York. About 1830 he removed to 
the village of Canajoharie, and there en- 
gaged in the grocery business, in com- 
pany with his son, Daniel. His farm- 
house and his residence in the village are 
still in good preservation. In 1834 he 
was elected to represent his district in 
Montgomery county in the New York 
Legislature. He was in the military ser- 
vice in the War of 1812, in the commis- 
sary department, stationed perhaps at 
Ticonderoga. He died December 22, 1842, 
at Canajoharie. He married Claartje 
Groesbeck, born March 12, 1770, in Al- 
bany, died June 17, 1838, descended from 
Nicholas Jacobse Groesbeck, a carpenter, 
who came from Rotterdam, Holland, in 
1662, born about 1626. He purchased a 
house lot on the west side of Pearl 
street in Albany, the second, north of 
Maiden Lane, when about seventy-two 
years old. The third child of Nicholas 
Groesbeck was William Charles Groes- 
beck, born about 1660, who married Ger- 
terny Schuyler, and was the father of 
David Groesbeck, born 1692, died 1763. 
He married, November 8, 1724, Maria 
Vander Pool, who died in 1757. Their 
fifth son was John D. Groesbeck, born 
1741, who married Betty Van Arnum, of 
Albany, and they were the parents of 
Claartje Groesbeck, wife of Daniel Mor- 
rell. 

The second son of Daniel Morrell was 



John D. Morrell, born December 14, 1800, 
in Albany, and was a dry goods merchant 
at No. 80 State street in that city, in 1852, 
with residence at No. 13 Park street. 
He died September 9, 1872, in his seventy- 
second year. He married Mary Burns, 
daughter of Peter and Sarah Ann (Mc- 
Dougall) Burns, of Montreal, Canada. 

Their eldest son was Daniel Morrell, 
born July 3, 1836, in Canajoharie, who 
exemplified in remarkable degree the 
traits and characteristics of his ancestors. 
Research has indicated that the name 
came originally from France, the family 
living for some time in Holland, remov- 
ing thence to England. At the time of 
Daniel Morrell's birth his father owned 
and operated boats on the Erie canal, and 
while the son was young, the family re- 
moved to Albany, later to New York 
City. His education was supplied by the 
public schools, and he prepared for col- 
lege, but was prevented from taking the 
course by the destruction of his father's 
property by a great conflagration, which 
swept away nearly all the canal vessels 
in the Albany Basin. In 1853 the son 
entered the employ of the brokerage firm 
of David Groesbeck & Company, on 
Broad street, New York City. Subse- 
quently he was made a partner in the 
firm, and about i860 became a member of 
the New York Stock Exchange, contin- 
uing in this connection nearly thirty 
years. In 1876 he became interested in 
the Spencer Repeating Rifle designed by 
Christopher M. Spencer, severed his con- 
nection with the firm of Groesbeck & 
Company, and removed to Hartford, 
where he was interested, with Mr. 
Spencer and others, in the organization 
of the Hartford Machine Screw Com- 
pany. This establishment revolutionized 
the processes by which machine screws, 
nuts, rivets and nearly all lathed turned 
parts are produced. In 1906 Mr. Morrell 



25 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



retired from active business, though still 
financially interested in various enter- 
prises. He married, June 25, 1862, Cor- 
nelia Josephine Silver, of New York City, 
and their golden wedding was celebrated 
at their home in Hartford, in 1912. Cor- 
nelia Josephine Silver was born March 
18, 1840, in Richmond, Province of Que- 
bec, Canada, and died November 20, 1914, 
in Hartford, daughter of Abraham Per- 
kins and Lydia Bailey (Burgess) Silver. 
Abraham P. Silver was a grandson of 
James Silver, a surgeon in the Con- 
tinental Revolutionary Army, who served 
at the battle of Bunker Hill. During 
that battle he seized the gun of a wound- 
ed man and fought in the ranks. After 
independence was secured, he settled at 
Nottingham, New Hampshire, resumed 
the practice of medicine, and some years 
later removed to Canada. Susan Morrell, 
daughter of Daniel and Cornelia J. 
(Silver) Morrell, was born May 2, 1869, 
and became the wife of Jonathan Camp, 
as above noted. 



CRARY, David, M. D., 

Physician, Public Official. 

Since 1838, when Dr. David Crary 
came to Hartford, after two years medi- 
cal practice in Vermont, Hartford has 
not been without a Dr. David Crary in 
the active practice of medicine. When 
Dr. David Crary, Sr., laid down the bur- 
den of a large practice in 1885, his mantle 
fell upon Dr. David Crary, Jr., who had 
been associated in practice with his father 
since 1869. 

The elder Dr. Crary was in active prac- 
tice for half a century, and during that 
period was attending physician in more 
than three thousand maternity cases. He 
is credited with the first operation in 
tracheotomy performed in Hartford, that 
operation saving the life of a child suffer- 



ing with membranous croup, and at the 
verge of suffocation. He was the assist- 
ant physician at the operation of a re- 
moval of a tumor from a woman, where 
nitrous oxide was used for the first time 
in the city. 

The professional life of the son has 
now extended over a period of nearly 
equal length and his practice has been 
equally important. While contempo- 
raries, they were also partners, but since 
1885, the year of the senior doctor's re- 
tirement, until the present year, 191 7, Dr. 
Crary, Jr., has practiced alone. The en- 
tire period covered by the two men as 
medical practitioners to now is seventy- 
nine years, 1838 to 1917. 

Dr. David Crary, Jr., is of the seventh 
generation of the family founded in 
America by Peter Crary, who settled at 
New London, Connecticut, as early as 
1663, residing on the Groton side of the 
river. He married, in 1677, Christobel, 
daughter of John Gallup, and left male 
issue at his death in 1708. 

Robert Crary, the son of Peter Crary, 
the founder, was born in New London, 
in 1690, and died in 1750. His wife was 
Elizabeth, whose maiden name has not 
been ascertained. 

Christopher Crary, son of Robert and 
Elizabeth Crary, was born in 1713, and 
died in 1790. He married Elizabeth Rob- 
bins, born in 1719, and died in 1796. 

Ezra Crary, son of Christopher Crary 
and Elizabeth (Robbins) Crary, was born 
in 1737, and died in 1828. He married, 
in 1756, Dorothy Ramsdell, who was born 
in 1741. 

Elias Crary, son of Ezra and Dorothy 
(Ramsdell) Crary, was born in 1764, and 
died in 1847. His life was largely spent 
on the farm in Vermont. The even tenor 
of his life was disturbed, however, by 
that period which witnessed the Birth of 
a Nation. In those events, he bore an 



26 




fiS^LtrC 



U^crC^ 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



active part — serving as a soldier in the 
Revolutionary Army, and bearing a citi- 
zen's part when the appeal to arms had 
proved successful. He was a member of 
the Baptist church, and a Democrat in 
politics. He married, in 1782, Elizabeth 
Palmer, and they were the parents of 
nine children. 

Dr. David Crary, son of Elias and Eli- 
zabeth (Palmer) Crary, was born in Wal- 
lingford, Vermont, April 18, 1806, and 
died in Hartford, Connecticut, April 16, 
1894. After studying in the district and 
high school, he taught school for a time, 
also read medicine under the instruction 
of his brother-in-law, Dr. John Fox, an 
eminent practitioner of that early day. 
In 1834 he was awarded his degree, M. 
D., by the Medical College of Castleton, 
Vermont. For two years he practiced 
his profession at Dorset, Vermont. In 
1838 he located in Hartford, where he 
pursued a most honorable and successful 
career as physician and citizen. His fifty 
years of medical practice was broken 
between the years 1861 and 1867 by a 
complete rest at his old home in Walling- 
ford, Vermont. These were years princi- 
pally spent in recreation and ornithologi- 
cal pursuits. His collection of birds at 
one time was probably the largest private 
collection in the State ; many of the 
specimens being exceedingly rare. He 
resumed practice in Hartford in 1867, and 
continued until 1885. For many years he 
served on the medical staff of the Hart- 
ford Hospital ; he was a member of the 
County and State Medical societies ; 
surgeon of the Hartford Light Guard 
under Governor Seymour. He represent- 
ed the First Ward of Hartford in Council 
for nine years, was vice-president of the 
Board of School Visitors, and took a 
deep interest in public affairs. He was 
a Democrat in politics, and in religious 
faith an Adventist. His life was full, 



earnest and devoted — the good he did 
long surviving him. For many years he 
was president of the Hartford Fox Club, 
and in social life was very popular. 

Dr. Crary married (first) January 14, 
1836, Susan Harris, born at Brattleboro, 
Vermont, February 8, 181 1, and died at 
Hartford, Connecticut, November 2, 1849. 
He married (second) in Glastonbury, 
Connecticut, March 12, 1851, Martha 
Tryon, who died December 11, 1893. 

Dr. David Crary, son of Dr. David and 
Susan (Harris) Crary, was born at Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, April 26, 1842. After 
his completion of the public schools in 
Hartford, he spent four years as a drug 
clerk, three of which were in Rutland, 
Vermont, and one in Hartford. He 
studied medicine under the direction of 
his honored father, and after courses at 
the Yale Medical School was awarded 
his degree, M. D., in the class of 1869. 
Immediately after his graduation, he was 
admitted to partnership association by his 
father and together they practiced for 
sixteen years until 1885, the senior Dr. 
Crary retiring to a well earned rest. Dr. 
Crary, the younger, has continued in ac- 
tive practice alone from the date of sepa- 
ration from his father and has worthily 
upheld the honor of the Crary name as a 
skillful, reliable and honorable physician. 
His practice, general in character, has al- 
ways been a large one, and from 1875 
until 1910 its burden was largely in- 
creased by his office of physician to the 
County Jail, which he resigned in July 
of the latter year, after an uninterrupted 
service of thirty-five years. He is a mem- 
ber of the American Medical Association, 
Connecticut State Medical Society, Hart- 
ford County and Hartford City Medical 
societies. In politics he is an Indepen- 
dent. Dr. Crary is fond of travel and in 
the year 1900, toured through Europe, 
his intinerary covering England and the 



27 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



continent quite thouroughly; he devoted 
some time to the World's exposition held 
that year in Paris. Since 1900 he has 
made several extensive tours in southern 
Europe and Egypt, and spent several win- 
ters in the West Indies. He is a mem- 
ber of the Yale Alumni Association, and 
has many interests, social and literary, 
as well as professional. 

Dr. Crary married (first) May 18, 1881, 
at Hartford, Etta Juliette Martin, born 
at Wethersfield, Connecticut, January 9, 
1853, the daughter of Joseph Henry and 
Julia (Woodhouse) Martin, the former an 
official of the city, and prominent in the 
Masonic and Odd Fellows orders. Mrs. 
Crary 's death occurred October 13, 1904. 
Dr. Crary married (second) Mrs. Flora 
W. MacCallan, in Grace Church, New 
York, August 8, 1914. 



PUTNAM, William Hutchinson, 

Investment Broker. 

William Hutchinson Putnam is a citi- 
zen of Hartford, Connecticut, and is ac- 
tive in the various public affairs of this 
city. The name Putnam is of very ancient 
English origin and occurs often in Eng- 
lish affairs since the time of Edward I. 
The name may be derived from the word 
"putte," a well, in Flemish or Low Dutch, 
having the same meaning as "putt" in 
Danish, a well. The final syllable, ham, 
is one of the old forms for house, or 
hamlet, and takes its rise from the same 
root as home or the Scotch hame. The 
entire word therefore means the home or 
house with a well or spring. The Amer- 
ican family first came to Old Salem, now 
Danvers, Massachusetts. 

John Putnam, the immigrant ancestor 
of William H. Putnam, of this sketch was 
born about 1580, was baptized at Win- 
grave, Bucks, England, January 17, 1581. 
He was a son of Nicholas and Margaret 



(Goodspeed) Putnam, who were married 
at Wingrave, January 30, 1577. John 
Putnam lived with his parents at the 
town of Stewkeley, England, until his 
father's death, when he took possession 
of his inheritance, the English estate of 
Aston Abbots, where he resided until his 
removal to the American colony. He 
lived in Aston Abbots as late as May, 
1627, the date of baptism of his youngest 
son John. Although the first record of 
him in New England is of the date of 
1641, when his wife was admitted to the 
church at Salem, it is the family tradition 
that he arrived in that settlement as early 
as 1634. John Putnam was a farmer, and 
according to the standards of that time 
very well off. There are deeds on record 
which show that he wrote an excellent 
hand. He was admitted to the church 
in 1647, s ' x years after his wife, and in 
the same year was made a freeman. His 
death, according to a family story, was 
very sudden and took place on the night 
of December 30, 1662, at the age of eighty 
years. He was, it seems, perfectly well 
and to all appearances in good health 
at supper that night, yet died before going 

to sleep. He married Priscilla , 

the surname of this lady being unknown, 
although it is variously stated to be Gould 
and Deacon. His marriage occurred prior 
to 1612, but the exact date is lost. 

Their son, Thomas Putnam, was also 
a native of England and was baptized 
at Aston Abbots, March 7, 1614-15. He 
came to America with his parents, and 
in 1640 was recorded as living in Lynn, 
Massachusetts. He was made a freeman 
there two years later, and in 1643 was 
one of the seven selectmen of the town. 
On April 3, 1643, ne was admitted to the 
Salem church, and the town of Salem 
granted him fifty-five acres of land. This 
grant seems to have dated from 1640, at 
the time when he was living in Lynn. 



28 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



From 1645 to 1648 he was a member of 
a committee appointed by the General 
Court "to end small causes under twenty 
shillings." On September n, 1648, he 
was elected a grand juryman in Salem, 
and was chosen constable of the same 
town, October 10, 1655. This office in 
those days carried great authority with 
it and covered the entire local adminis- 
tration of affairs. Thomas Putnam was a 
very prominent man in the town in al- 
most all departments of its affairs and 
served on numerous committees there, as 
well as being the first parish clerk of the 
town. On October 8, 1662, he was ap- 
pointed lieutenant in the local troop of 
horse. A tax list on record at that time 
shows Mr. Putnam's name at its head. 
His (second) marriage was to Mary 
Veren which increased his wealth by put- 
ting him in possession of considerable 
properties in Jamaica and the Barbadoes. 
His house, which is now known as the 
General Israel Putnam house, in Domus, 
is still standing, and it was there that his 
death occurred in Salem village, May 5, 
1686. He was twice married, the second 
time to Mary, widow of Nathaniel Veren, 
September 14, 1666, and his wife died 
March 16 or 17, 1694-95. 

Their son, Joseph Putnam, was born 
at Salem village, September 14, 1669, 
three years to a day after the marriage of 
his parents. The memory of this gentle- 
men will always live because of his cour- 
ageous opposition to witchcraft. It re- 
quired courage in those days to denounce 
witchcraft as he did and the proceedings 
which were taken by his extremely 
bigoted fellow citizens, and it is stated 
that Mr. Putnam always kept his best 
horse saddled so that at a moment's notice 
he might escape from the town. He 
must have been a man of unusually 
broad mind for that day, since he was able 
to resist a superstition which ingulfed 



such men as Cotton Mather and Samuel 
Sewall. So great was the danger involv- 
ed in opposing the witchcraft proceedings 
of those days, that it is said that if it 
had not been for Mr. Putnam's good con- 
nections it is very likely that he would 
have suffered severe consequences. He 
was the father of General Israel Putnam, 
and was well worthy of the relation that 
he bore to that splendid man. His death 
occurred in Salem village in 1724-25. 
He married, April 21, 1690, Elizabeth, a 
daughter of Israel and Elizabeth 
(Hathorne) Porter, of Salem village, 
where she was born October 7, 1673, and 
died in the year 1746. 

Their son, Major-General Israel Put- 
nam, was born January 7, 1717-18, at 
Salem village, in the old house built by 
his grandfather, Thomas Putnam. The 
following description of General Israel 
Putnam was written by his distinguished 
grandson, General, Judge, Judah Dana : 
"In his person, for height about the 
middle size, very erect, thick-set, mus- 
cular and firm in every part. His coun- 
tenance was open, strong, and animated ; 
the features of his face large, well pro- 
portioned to each other and to his whole 
frame ; his teeth fair and sound till death. 
His organs and senses were all exactly 
fitted for a warrior ; he heard quick- 
ly, saw to an immense distance, and 
though he sometimes stammered in con- 
versation, his voice was remarkably 
heavy, strong and commanding. Though 
facetious and dispassionate in private, 
when animated in the heat of battle his 
countenance was fierce and terrible, 
and his voice like thunder. His 
whole manner was admirably adapted to 
inspire his soldiers with courage and 
confidence, and his enemies with terror. 
The faculties of his mind were not in- 
ferior to those of his body ; his penetra- 
tion was acute ; decision rapid, yet re- 



29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



markably correct ; and the more desper- 
ate the situation, the more collected and 
undaunted. With the courage of a lion, 
he had a heart that melted at the sight of 
distress ; he could never witness suffering 
in any human being without becoming 
a sufferer himself. Martial music aroused 
him to the highest pitch, whole solemn 
sacred music sent him into tears. In his 
disposition he was open and generous 
almost to a fault, and in his social rela- 
tions he was never excelled. 

General Israel Putnam was educated in 
the schools of the rural district where he 
was born and the opportunities in those 
days were decidedly meagre. He re- 
mained in the home of his parents until 
he had attained young manhood and 
then, shortly after his marriage, he re- 
moved to Brooklyn, then part of the 
town of Pomfret, Connecticut, where he 
bought a tract of land of about five hun- 
dred acres in the district known as Mort- 
lake Manor. In 1741 he became the sole 
owner of this land and built a large house 
there. His district was incorporated in 
the year 1786 as the town of Brooklyn, 
and it was largely through the influence 
of General Putnam that the superb shade 
trees which line its streets were planted. 
General Putnam's military career began 
with the French and Indian War, where 
he was a captain in Colonel Lyman's 
regiment. He fought at Fort Edward 
and Lake George in 1755. He received 
his commission of major in 1757 at Fort 
Edward, and the following year occurred 
the celebrated episode concerning his 
capture by the Indians and his narrow 
escape from death. He was, it will be 
remembered, actually tied to a tree and 
a fire lighted about him, when he was 
saved by the intervention of a chief of 
the tribe, whom he had treated kindly on 
the previous occasion of the chief's cap- 
ture. His final escape however, was ef- 



fected through General Peter Schuyler, 
whose influence with the Indians was 
such that they set him free. General 
Putnam christened his youngest son 
after General Schuyler in gratitude for 
this rescue. In 1759 Israel Putnam was 
made a lieutenant-colonel and served at 
Ticonderoga and Crown Point in the ex- 
pedition directed against Montreal in 
1759-60 under the command of General 
Amherst. He later commanded a regi- 
ment in the West Indies, and in 1764 was 
again in the United States where he 
marched to Detroit with a Connecticut 
regiment against the Indians. In the 
same year he returned to a more private 
mode of existence and lived for a time 
on his farm and also kept a tavern in 
his spacious dwelling house. When the 
news of the battle of Lexington reached 
him, he was working in his fields, but 
left immediately to start for Cambridge. 
He was appointed brigadier-general, June 
9, 1776, and was later raised to the rank 
of major-general. He was the officer in 
command at the battle of Bunker Hill, 
and was given command by General 
Washington of the center at Cambridge. 
Later his command was sent to New 
York and still later to Philadelphia. In 
1778 he was again at W r est Point where 
he took an active part in the campaign 
of the following year. He also superin- 
tended the defences constructed at West 
Point, but during the winter of 1779 suf- 
fered a stroke of paralysis which ended 
his military career. He lived to see the 
birth of the new nation, but was never 
able to return to active service in the army. 
His death occurred October 29, 1790, and 
he was buried with military and Masonic 
honors. He married (first) July 19, 1739, 
Hannah, a daughter of Joseph and 
Mehitable (Putnam) Pope, of Danvers. 
She died September 6, 1765. Through- 
out his entire life, Israel Putnam per- 



30 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



formed so many feats of daring, and had 
so many unusual adventures, that his 
name became a household word through- 
out the land. 

Their son, Colonel Daniel Putnam, was 
born at Pomfret, Connecticut, November 
18, 1759, and died in Brooklyn, Connecti- 
cut, April 30, 1831. Daniel Putnam held 
a commission of colonel in the Con- 
tinental Army, and served in the cam- 
paigns before Boston, and in the Long 
Island, and New York campaigns. Daniel 
Putnam lived on Church street, Brooklyn, 
in a fine old place, built by his wife's uncle, 
Nathaniel Brinley, of Boston, who came 
to Brooklyn to be near his friend, God- 
frey Malbone, who lived on the adjoin- 
ing farm. Daniel Putnam had more than 
an ordinary education for his time, as 
his letters show, in which he writes of 
many things, and of passing events in a 
clear and interesting style. He carried 
on his farm on an extensive scale, and 
was reputed a man of wealth. He was a 
member of old Trinity, Protestant Epis- 
copal Church, Brooklyn, and was active 
in the affairs of the Diocese of Connecti- 
cut. He married Catherine, a daughter 
of Shrimpton and Elizabeth (Malbone) 
Hutchinson, a native of Boston, a great- 
granddaughter of Lieutenant-Governor 
Hutchinson, of Massachusetts Colony, 
born April 11, 1757, and died in Hartford, 
October 31, 1844. 

Their son, William Putnam, was born 
in Brooklyn, Connecticut, January I, 1783, 
like his father, he was a farmer all his 
life, and held the high respect of the com- 
munity. He was prominent in its affairs, 
and held town offices in Brooklyn and 
Canterbury. His death occurred Decem- 
ber 5, 1846. He married, April 17, 1805, 
Mary, daughter of Ebenezer and Mary 
(Payne) Spalding, of Brooklyn, Connecti- 
cut. Mrs. Putnam was born April 17, 
1786, and died December 29, 1880. 



Their son, William Hutchinson Put- 
nam, was born in Holland, Massachusetts, 
February 2, 1812, and when a boy re- 
moved to Brooklyn, where he lived until 
the time of his death. After his mar- 
riage he purchased a farm on Allen Hill, 
Brooklyn, with Captain John Day, his 
father-in-law, and later bought out Cap- 
tain Day, and carried on extensive farm- 
ing operations. Mr. Putnam was also in- 
terested in wheat raising, and flour mil- 
ling in Wisconsin. He was a Republi- 
can, and represented his town several 
times in the Connecticut General Assem- 
bly. He was a director of the National 
and Savings banks of Brooklyn, and a 
member of Old and New Trinity Church, 
Brooklyn, in which he held the office of 
senior warden. His death occurred July 
17, 1889. Mr. Putnam married, March 12, 
1834, Eliza, daughter of Captain John 
Day, of Brooklyn, Connecticut. 

Their son, Albert Day Putnam, was 
born in Brooklyn, Connecticut, February 
25, 1852. He spent his boyhood in his 
native town, attended its common schools, 
and later attended the Academy in 
Danielson, Connecticut, and the New Bri- 
tain Normal School. He taught several 
winters. He was a farmer, living on 
Allen Hill, Brooklyn, on the farm on 
which he was born, until April, 1888, 
when he removed his family to Daniel- 
son, Connecticut. Mr. Putnam was a 
Republican, and represented Killingly in 
the Connecticut General Assembly, and 
for thirteen years was a member of the 
Killingly School Board. He was a mem- 
ber of Trinity Church, Brooklyn, and 
later of Saint Albans Episcopal Church, 
Danielson. He was a member of Moriah 
Lodge, No. 15, Ancient Free and Accept- 
ed Masons, and of Aetna Lodge, Ancient 
Order of United Workmen. He was also 
affiliated with the Connecticut Society of 
the Sons of the American Revolution. His 



31 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



death occurred in Danielson, December 
2 5> I 9°5- Mr. Putnam married Harriet 
Eliza, a daughter of Charles and Jennett 
(Sharp) Dorrance. Charles Dorrance 
was born November 21, 1824, at Brook- 
lyn, Connecticut. He was the son of 
Samuel and Amy (Kenyon) Dorrance, 
of that town, where he lived until eleven 
years of age, on his father's farm, when 
his parents removed to Brooklyn Village. 
He then attended school at Brooklyn, and 
later went to Plainfield, Connecticut, 
where he entered the Plainfield Academy. 
At the age of twenty-one he returned to 
his home farm, where he carried on his 
career as a farmer with a high degree of 
success. He died in Providence, Rhode 
Island, February 16, 1899. His wife, 
Jennett (Sharp) Dorrance, was born Sep- 
tember 30, 1832, at Canterbury, Connec- 
ticut, a daughter of Williard and Hannah 
(Hyde) Sharp. She died in Brooklyn, 
March 4, 1869. 

William Hutchinson Putnam, son of 
Albert Day and Harriet Eliza (Dorrance) 
Putnam, was born February 1, 1878, at 
Brooklyn, Connecticut. He attended the 
public schools at Danielson, Connecticut, 
whither his parents had removed when 
he was eleven years old. After complet- 
ing his studies, he was employed by the 
Windham County National Bank as a 
clerk. He remained with this institution 
about five years, and was a teller for 
several years before severing his con- 
nection with it. Here he learned some- 
thing of the detail of the banking busi- 
ness and general business methods. From 
the Windham County National Bank he 
went to Boston, where he entered the 
employ of W. J. Hayes & Sons as a bond 
salesman. Later he worked for William 
A. Read & Company, of Boston and New 
York, remaining with the latter firm 
about six years, until October, 1912, when 



he became a member of the firm of Rich- 
ter & Company, investment brokers of 
Hartford, Connecticut. Mr. Putnam is a 
Republican, and in 1917 was a member of 
the financial committee of the city of 
Hartford. 

He is a member of the Hartford Club, 
the Hartford Golf Club, the Hartford 
Canoe Club, Republican Club, and of the 
Union League Club of New York City. 
He is also a member of Moriah Lodge, 
No. 15, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Danielson, Connecticut, and is 
the fifth generation of his family who has 
been affiliated with this lodge. He is a 
member of Columbian Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of Norwich, of Sphinx 
Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; 
and the Connecticut Consistory, thirty- 
second degree. 

Mr. Putnam married, March 8, 1899, 
Adabelle Canney Lyon, daughter of Rock- 
well Fuller and Jennie Elizabeth (Canney) 
Lyon, of Danielson, Connecticut, and 
Boston, Massachusetts, respectively. 
Three children have been born to 
them as follows : Lyonel Hutchinson, 
August 27, 1900; Marcella Rockwell, May 
3, 1902 ; and Albert Day, February 20, 
1904. Mr. Putnam and his family are 
members of Trinity Episcopal Church in 
Hartford. 

Throughout the Putnams there runs a 
strong resemblance to a type as follows : 
Good physique, Saxon features, of good 
height, inclined to stoutness, but not 
fleshy, even temperament, honest inten- 
tions, fixedness of purpose, high princi- 
ples, satisfied with a fair share of the 
good things of life, inclined to be too gen- 
erous, patriotic, more inclined to lead 
than to be led. These are many devia- 
tions for this standard but each genera- 
tion seems to produce its fair share of 
this type. 



32 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



FORWARD, George Hinsdale, 

Merchant, Estimable Citizen. 

George Hinsdale Forward, a former 
merchant of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
was born in Belchertown, that State, Oc- 
tober 19, 1845, the son of Francis and 
Maria (Smith) Forward. He is a de- 
scendant in the seventh generation of 
Samuel Forward, who came from Devon- 
shire, England, about 1666, and went first 
to the West Indies, where he was the 
owner of an entire Island. Through fear 
of war, he left the island and came to 
Windsor, where he purchased land from 
i>n Indian named Thomas Hopewell, 
about fifteen years before Windsor was 
incorporated by the government. He died 
in Windsor in 1684. Previous to com- 
ing to America, he married in England, 
Abigail Goodhall. 

Samuel Forward, Jr., son of Samuel 
and Abigail (Goodhall) Forward, was 
born in Windsor, July 23, 1671, and when 
a young man removed to Simsbury, set- 
tling in what is known as the Turkey Hill 
section. He died there May 3, 1738. His 
first wife was Deborah (Moore) For- 
ward, born May 31, 1677, and died August 
29, 1732, the daughter of Andrew and 
Sarah (Phelps) Moore. The first men- 
tion yet discovered of Andrew Moore, 
of Poquonock, Connecticut, is the record 
of his marriage to Sarah, daughter of 
Samuel Phelps, February 15, 1671. He 
was granted land at Salmon Brook, now 
Granby, Connecticut, in 1680, and is 
referred to as "Andrew Moore, the car- 
penter of Windsor." He removed to 
Windsor, and died there November 29, 
17:9. Samuel Forward married (second) 
Martha Winchel, daughter of John and 
Mary (Dibble) Eno and the widow of 
John Winchel, of Windsor. 

Joseph Forward, son of Samuel, Jr., 
and Deborah (Moore) Forward, was 

Conn— 5— 3 33 



born in Simsbury, November 10, 1707, 
and died there May 22, 1766. In his 
youth he removed to Suffield, and there 
married, March 27, 1729, Marcy Laurton, 
who died in Suffield, April 11, 1786. 
Joseph Forward was a tanner, saddler and 
farmer by occupation. 

Rev. Justus Forward, eldest son of 
Joseph and Marcy (Laurton) Forward, 
was born in Kingsbury, May 11, 1730, and 
was educated in the local schools of that 
town. He finished his education at Yale 
College, and was graduated with the de- 
grees of B. A., September, 1754, and M. 
A., 1757. From the very first of his early 
youth, he showed a tendency towards the 
ministry and was among those who ex- 
perienced religion during the great re- 
vival in New England in the days of 
President Edwards, a very important 
period in the history of New England 
churches. In 1755 he removed to Bel- 
chertown, Massachusetts, and was ordain- 
ed pastor of the Congregational church 
there, February 25, 1756, at the age of 
twenty-six years. After long and faith- 
ful service in his chosen work, the Rev. 
Justus Forward died March 8, 1814, at 
the age of eighty-four years, fifty-nine of 
which had been spent in the ministry. 
He married, December 8, 1756, Violet 
Dickenson, born November 15, 1738, the 
daughter of Joshua and Martha Dicken- 
son, of Hadley, Massachusetts. She sur- 
vived her husband twenty years, and 
passed away in Belchertown, March 27, 
1834. 

Justus Forward, Jr., son of the Rev. 
Justus and Violet (Dickenson) Forward, 
was born in Belchertown, February 23, 
1774, and was a lawyer and judge. He 
married, June 10, 1795, Lydia A. Merrick, 
born June 29, 1776, the daughter of Noah 
Merrick, and granddaughter of Rev. Noah 
Merrick, who was the first minister of 
Wilbraham, Massachusetts. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Francis Forward, son of Justus, Jr., and 
Lydia A. (Merrick) Forward, was born 
in Belchertown, September 30, 1807, and 
died in Granby, Massachusetts, October 
20, 1891. He was a school teacher and 
also engaged in agriculture. He married, 
November 21, 1844, Maria Smith, born 
February 9, 1813, in Hadley, a daughter 
of Sereno and Betsey (Stockbridge) 
Smith, and a descendant of Joseph Smith, 
of Hartford, and Lydia (Huitt) Smith. 
They were married in April, 1656, and 
their son, Sergeant Joseph Smith, was 
born in March, 1657, and removed about 
1680 to Hadley, where he was made a free- 
man in 1690. He died there October 1, 
1733. He married, February 11, 1681, Re- 
becca, daughter of John Dickenson, and she 
died February 16, 1731. Their son, Joseph 
Smith, was born November 8, 1681, and 
married, in 1715, Sarah Alexander, who 
died January 31, 1768. Their son, Alex- 
ander Smith, was born October 11, 1717, 
in Amherst, and died September 21, 1787. 
He married, in 1743, Rebecca Warner, of 
Westfield, who died November 26, 1801. 
Their son, Joseph Smith, was born April 
11, 1750, and married Eunice, the daugh- 
ter of Nathan Goodman, of Hatfield, and 
their son, Sereno Smith, born March 27, 
1779, married, January 29, 1807, Betsey, 
the daughter of David Stockbridge, who 
died January. 22, 1852. They were the 
parents of Maria Smith, who became the 
wife of Francis Forward, and died Feb- 
ruary 12, 1905. 

George Hinsdale Forward, son of Fran- 
cis and Maria (Smith) Forward, received 
his education in the public schools of his 
native town and at the Wilbraham Acad- 
emy. After leaving the latter institution, 
he gave up his cherished plan to enter Am- 
herst College and later engaged in mer- 
cantile business, finally locating in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. He was a man of 
scholarly tastes, actively interested in 



church and philanthropic work and in- 
fluential in political affairs. Mr. Forward 
was an adherent of the Republican party. 
His death occurred in West Springfield, 
Massachusetts, November 14, 1877. Mr. 
Forward married, November 30, 1870, 
Frances Loomis McMaster, born March 
17, 1839, daughter of John and Laura 
(Bissel) McMaster. The genealogy of 
of the McMaster family has been traced 
to the Masters of England, some of whom 
later settled in Scotland and adopted the 
Scotch prefix Mac. John McMaster, the 
first to come to this country, was born 
in Scotland in 1672. About 17 14 he re- 
moved with his family to the northern 
part of Ireland and the twins, Hugh and 
John, were born there that same year. He 
remained there until coming to America 
in 1720 with a colony of Scotch-Irish im- 
migrants. First, he located in Leicester, 
Massachusetts, intending to make that his 
permanent home, but removed to Palmer 
in 1733. He died January 25, 1761, and 
his wife, Katherine, who was born in 1687, 
died November 11, 1763. Their son, John 
McMaster, born in 1714, was a delegate 
to the Constitutional Convention held in 
Cambridge in 1778, and died in Pal- 
mer March 16, 1793. He married 
Millicent Ferrel, born in 1728, died 
January 2, 181 1, a descendant of 
pioneer settlers of the town of Palmer. 
Their second child, Joshua McMaster, 
was born December 5, 1757, in Palmer, 
and was an active citizen of that town 
for many years, removing thence to Am- 
herst. In 1774, he was elected assessor 
in Palmer, and was among the first min- 
utemen called. He marched April 19,1775, 
as a private in the company of Captain 
David Speer, of Colonel Pynchon's regi- 
ment, and served twelve days at that 
time. From June 25, to December 25, 
1779, he was a member of Captain Joshua 
L. Woodbridge's company, Colonel Na- 



34 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



than Tyler's regiment, serving in Rhode 
Island. He also served at Ticonderoga, 
and was at Saratoga at the surrender of 
General Burgoyne. He was a surveyor 
and one of the men who established the 
State line between New York and Penn- 
sylvania. He died in Amherst, Massachu- 
setts, June 8, 1822. He married, in Palmer, 
November 20, 1794, Rebecca Thompson, 
born in Brimfield, March 26, 1767, died 
in Amherst, July 21, 1858. She was the 
daughter of Captain John Thompson, 
born in 1728, and died in 181 5, who served 
with distinction in the war of the Revolu- 
tion (whose wife was a Russell), and 
granddaughter of Captain John Thomp- 
son, born 1699, died January 19, 1785, an 
officer in the French and Indian War, and 
with his wife, Elizabeth, was a pioneer 
settler of Palmer. John McMaster, third 
son of Joshua and Rebecca (Thompson) 
McMaster, was born in Amherst, April 4, 
1805, and died in West Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, November 17, 1903. In the 
early days of its organization he was in- 
terested in the Collins Manufacturing 
Company, but devoted most of his active 
life to the tilling of his two farms in Mas- 
sachusetts. Always a close student of 
national affairs and accounted one of the 
best read men of his day on current topics, 
he was a strong Abolitionist and helped 
many a colored man on his way to the 
North. Escaped slaves were sent to his 
home by other station agents of the un- 
derground railway; he passed them along 
the line, gave them the help they needed 
and charged each one never to call him- 
self a slave. On April 14, 1834, he mar- 
ried Laura Bissell, who was born in East 
Windsor, Connecticut, October 28, 1807, 
and died in West Springfield, August 20, 
1873. She was a descendant of John 
Bissell, who was the first settler of the 
name in America. The family of Bissell 
fled from France to England to escape 



the persecution which followed the mas- 
sacre of St. Bartholomew's Day, 1572. 
John Bissell arrived at Plymouth, Massa- 
chusetts, from County Somerset, Eng- 
land, in 1628. In 1640 he removed to 
East Windsor, Connecticut, and was one 
of the founders of that place. The Bissell 
coat-of-arms was brought from France 
to England by the grandfather of the 
said John Bissell, and recorded there at 
the College of Heraldry, London. John 
Bissell received a grant of land and the 
monopoly of the ferry across the Connec- 
ticut river in 1648-49. This was located 
on the east side near the wharf, which 
belonged to the Quarry Company. In 
1662 he gave this homestead with the 
rights of the ferry to one of his sons, and 
with another son, Nathaniel, removed to 
the east side below the mouth of the 
Scantic, probably the first family to ac- 
tually reside on that side. He died Oc- 
tober 3, 1677, and his wife, May 21, 1641. 
Their son, Nathaniel Bissell, was born 
September 24, 1640, and died March 12, 
1713-14. He married Mindwell Moore, 
September 25, 1662, the daughter of 
Deacon John Moore, of Windsor, and she 
died November 24, 1682. Jonathan Bis- 
sell, son of Nathaniel and Mindwell 
(Moore) Bissell, was born February 14, 
1674, and married, March 17, 1709, 
Bridget Fitch. Their son, Jonathan Bis- 
sell, Jr., was born May 31, 1710, and died 
February 24, 1789. He married, Novem- 
ber 27, 1744, Elizabeth Halliday, of Suf- 
field, Connecticut. They were the par- 
ents of Jonathan Bissell, 3d, who was born 
August 11, 1749, and died December 29, 
1825.' He married (first) Prudence Smith, 
June 12, 1770, who died July 1, 1789, and 
(second) Redexalana Loomis, September 
13, 1791, the daughter of John and Redex- 
alana (Wolcott) Loomis, of East Wind- 
sor Hill, and she died April 29, 1843. 
Their daughter, Laura Bissell, became 



35 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the wife of John McMaster, and they 
were the parents of Frances Loomis Mc- 
Master, the wife of George H. Forward, 
of this sketch. 

Mrs. Forward is a member of the 
Daughters of the American Revolution ; 
Mt. Holyoke Alumnae Association and 
College Club. She removed to Hartford 
in 1904. The Forward family have a 
coat-of-arms which was granted by the 
Crown for distinguished war services. Mr. 
and Mrs. Forward were the parents of 
two children: 

1. John Francis, born October 16, 
1872, in South Hadley, Massachusetts, 
and removed with his parents to West 
Springfield, in 1873 ; in 1892 he entered 
Trinity College, from which he was grad- 
uated in 1896. Mr. Forward studied law 
in the office of Andrew F. Gates, of Hart- 
ford, and in 1902 was admitted to the 
practice of law in Connecticut ; on Sep- 
tember 4, 1917, Mr. Forward was appoint- 
ed by the Superior Court to the position 
of public defender, whose duties are to 
investigate the case of all who are to 
be arraigned in the Superior Court and 
who have no other counsel. Mr. For- 
ward continues his private practice in ad- 
dition to the extra work entailed by his 
appointment. He is a member of the 
Hartford Street Board, and on the staff 
of the First Company, Governor's Foot 
Guard ; member of the American, Con- 
necticut and Hartford Bar associations; 
Trinity College Alumni Association; Uni- 
versity Club ; Connecticut Historical So- 
ciety ; The Get-together Club ; Republican 
and City clubs ; Connecticut Society, 
Sons of the American Revolution ; Jere- 
miah Wadsworth Branch, Sons of the 
American Revolution. Mr. Forward has 
never married and resides at home. 

2. Laurence McMaster, born in West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, October 18, 
1875, and died November 24, 1878, in that 
place. 



PARKER, Francis Hubert, 

Lawyer, Public Official. 

Francis Hubert Parker was born in 
East Haddam, Middlesex county, Connec- 
ticut, September 23, 1850. The son of 
Ozias H. and Maria M. (Ayer) Parker, 
and a descendant of William Parker, 
Hartford, 1636, Saybrook, 1645. He 
traces his descent to Edward Fuller, John 
Howland and John Tilley, of the "May- 
flower" Pilgrims, to James Avery, John 
Elderkin, William Lyon, and others, early 
settlers of Connecticut and Massachu- 
setts. Three of his great-grandfathers, 
John Parker, Nathan Avery, and Josiah 
Lyon, were soldiers of the Revolution. 
His father, Ozias H. Parker, was a rep- 
resentative in the General Assembly in 
1851, 1854, 1857 and 1877, selectman for 
several years, first selectman for seven 
years, town auditor, official school visitor, 
and a man faithful to many trusts, with 
a strict sense of honor, independent judg- 
ment and common sense. His mother 
Maria M. (Ayer) Parker, was a woman 
of strong character whose moral in- 
fluence was exerted for the good of 
her son. 

Francis H. Parker was brought up on 
his father's farm. He attended the pub- 
lic school and prepared for college in the 
old fashioned way with Rev. Silas W. 
Robbins, pastor of the First Congrega- 
tional Church in East Haddam. He en- 
tered Wesleyan University at Middle- 
town, Connecticut, and in 1874 was grad- 
uated with the Bachelor's degree. In 1876 
he was graduated LL. B. from the Yale 
Law School. During his college course, 
he taught school one term and two terms 
during his law course. He was admitted 
to the Connecticut bar and began prac- 
tice in Hartford the year of his gradua- 
tion from law school and has there con- 
tinued steadily and successfully in his 



36 




CA^c^t^^^i X^ K v#-*^l^-. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chosen profession. He has preferred the 
independence of a single office, has al- 
ways practiced alone, and has never had 
a partner. He was prosecuting attorney 
for the city of Hartford from 1887 to 
1891, from 1894 to 1895, and again from 
1915 to 1917. He was appointed referee 
in bankruptcy for Hartford county in 
1898, an office he resigned when appoint- 
ed United States attorney for the district 
of Connecticut in 1900. He was re-ap- 
pointed in 1904 and served until 1908. 
For two years, 1908 to 1910, he was cor- 
poration counsel for the city of Hartford. 
As a speaker he is clear, logical and forc- 
ible, using nice distinctions and strong 
illustrations. His public professional 
service has been valuable, and he has re- 
tired from every engagement with the 
entire respect of bench and bar. His pri- 
vate practice is in all state and federal 
courts of the district. 

An ardent Republican, Mr. Parker has 
neither sought political office nor declined 
it when offered. He has pursued the 
path of duty, and has met every obligation 
of citizenship squarely and fairly. He rep- 
resented East Haddam in the General As- 
sembly in 1878 and 1880 and Hartford 
in 1909. In 1894, he was the candidate 
of his party for the State Senate in the 
Hartford district, and has been a delegate 
to many state and other conventions of 
the Republican party. From 1896 to 
1900 he was chairman of the Hartford 
Republican town committee. 

Many-sided are his interests, and in his 
desire to be of service, he has assumed 
official responsibilities in many organiza- 
tions. He was president of the board of 
trustees of the Connecticut School for 
Boys, 1899 to 1909; is chairman of the 
library committee of the Connecticut 
Historical Society, Registrar of the Con- 
necticut Society of the Sons of the Revo- 
lution, member of the American Historical 



.Association and of the National Geograph- 
ical Society. In religious preference he 
is a Congregationalist. 

Mr. Parker married, December 9, 1891, 
Mrs. Adelaide (Leeds) Fowler, of New 
London, Connecticut. 



WILCOX, Frank Langdon, 

Banker, Public Official. 

The Wilcox family is one that has al- 
ways exerted a large influence in public 
affairs in the Nation, State and Muncipal- 
ity. It runs to politicians, statesmen and 
jurists. The motherland of the Wilcox 
family is around Berlin, Hartford, Middle- 
town, Meriden and Farmington in the 
State of Connecticut, and almost every 
Wilcox in the United States traces his 
ancestry back to that spot of earth which 
to them is a mecca. Among those of 
distinction may be mentioned Lloyd 
Wheaton Bowers, solicitor-general of the 
United States under President Taft ; Hon. 
Leonard Wilcox, Chief Justice of New 
Hampshire; and the Hon. Preston B. 
Plumb, United States Senator from Kan- 
sas. 

Of Saxon origin, the Wilcox family was 
seated at Bury St. Edmunds, County Suf- 
folk, England, before the Norman Con- 
quest. In the visitation of County Suf- 
folk, Sir John Dugdale mentioned fifteen 
generations previous to the year 1600. 
This traces the lineage back to the year 
1200, when the surname came into use 
as an inherited family name. On old re- 
cords the spellings, Wilcox, Wilcockson, 
Wilcoxon and Wilcoxson are often found. 

John Wilcox, the founder of the Amer- 
ican family, who came with Thomas 
Hooker to settle Hartford, held the office 
of surveyor in Hartford in 1643, an d that 
of selectman in 1650. He died there the 
following year and was undoubtedly 
buried in the Center Church burying 



37 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPH\ 



ground. His name is on the Founders 
Monument. His wife died about 1668. 

John Wilcox, son of John Wilcox, was 
born in England, and came to America 
with his father. He resided in and found- 
ed Middletown Upper Houses, now the 
town of Cromwell, Connecticut, and he 
died there May 24, 1676. His second wife 
was Catherine (Stoughton) Wilcox, a 
daughter of Thomas Stoughton, of Wind- 
sor, who built the first stone house or 
fort. 

Israel Wilcox, son of John Wilcox, was 
born in Middletown, June 19, 1656, and 
died December 20, 1689. He married, 
March 26, 1678, Sarah Savage, a daughter 
of John Savage, born July 30, 1657, and 
died February 8, 1725. 

Samuel Wilcox, son of Israel Wilcox, 
was born in East Berlin, Connecticut, 
September 26, 1685, and died January 19, 
1727. He married, March 3, 1714, Han- 
nah, daughter of John Sage, who died 
in April, 1737. 

Daniel Wilcox, son of Samuel Wilcox, 
was born in East Berlin, December 31, 
1715, and died July 29, 1789. He was a 
large property holder and made a present 
of a farm to each of his 14 children. In 
addition he laid out a plot of sixty rods 
for a burying ground, and the same is 
now known as the Wilcox Cemetery, and 
on his tombstone there is the following 
inscription : 

I gave this ground, I'm laid here first, 
Soon my remains will turn to dust. 
My wife and progeny around, 
Come sleep with me in this cold ground. 

Daniel Wilcox married, March 16, 1737, 
Sarah White, born April 22, 1716, died 
June 28, 1807, daughter of Daniel White, 
and a descendant of the immigrant, John 
White. They were the parents of thirteen 
children. 

Samuel Wilcox, son of Daniel Wilcox, 
was born September 12, 1753, in East 



Berlin, and died March 12, 1832. He was 
married three times and his first wife, 
Phebe (Dowd) Wilcox, was born May 
28, 1759, and died March 9, 1796. 

Benjamin Wilcox, son of Samuel Wil- 
cox, was born June 27, 1782, in East Ber- 
lin, and died May 10, 1843. He was the 
first to make use of the waters of the 
Mattabessett river for the purpose of 
manufacturing, and with two others erect- 
ed a mill for spinning cotton yarn, which 
was woven by women on hand looms. 
This property later came into the posses- 
sion of the Roys & Wilcox Company and 
then to the present owners, the Peck, 
Stow & Wilcox Company. He married 
(first) February 21, 1806, Betsey Savage, 
born June 25, 1787, died January 28, 1831, 
a daughter of Selah Savage, who was en- 
sign at the battle of Bunker Hill. 

Samuel Curtis Wilcox, son of Benjamin 
Wilcox, was born in East Berlin, Decem- 
ber 11, 181 1, and died there September 
21, 1886. He was a man possessed of a 
good education, and in early life was a 
school teacher. On his return to Berlin 
he established a general store and later 
a similar one at Washington, North Caro- 
lina, which he conducted for many years. 
He then opened a tinware factory, which 
was the first in the United States, and 
on its organization was conducted under 
the name of Carpenter, Lamb & Wil- 
cox. The number of employees there at 
first was thirty, but the firm quickly grew, 
and did a remarkably profitable trade es- 
pecially throughout the Southern States. 
All kinds of tinware were manufactured 
and the business continued for fifteen 
years. At this time Mr. Wilcox estab- 
lished at East Berlin a small manufactory 
for tinsmith's tools and machines, and out 
of this small beginning grew the widely 
known firm of Peck, Stow & Wilcox. This 
firm was established in 1870 on the con- 
solidation of eight similar factories, seven 



38 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Connecticut and pne in Cleveland, 
Ohio. Until his death Mr. Wilcox was 
vice-president of the company, and was 
president of the Berlin Iron Bridge Com- 
pany, a company which he had assisted 
when they were financially embarassed 
and also through his superior business 
ability and judgment placed it among the 
leading and prosperous industries of Ber- 
lin. To-day it is one of the largest and 
most prosperous of its kind in the country 
and has constructed some of the finest 
engineering structures in both this coun- 
try and Europe. Berlin is heavily indebt- 
ed to Mr. Wilcox for much of its growth 
and substantial development. He was a 
Democrat in politics, a man of strong con- 
victions, withal a kindly disposition. 

He married (second) Anne Scovill 
Peck, born March 15, 1827, died March 
7, 1884, daughter of Norris and Elizabeth 
(Langdon) Peck, of Kensington Parish, 
Berlin. They were the parents of eight 
children. 

Hon. Frank Langdon Wilcox, sixth 
child of Samuel Curtis and Anne Scovill 
(Peck) Wilcox, was born in Berlin, Jan- 
uary 6, 1859. He attended the Berlin 
Academy until twelve years of age, and 
then pursued a course of college prepara- 
tory study at St. Paul's School, Concord, 
New Hampshire. After his graduation in 
1876, he entered Trinity College, Hart- 
ford, and was graduated from that insti- 
tution with the degree of A. B., in the 
class of 1880. Immediately after his grad- 
uation he entered the employ of the Peck, 
Stow & Wilcox Company in the capacity 
of clerk in the shops. In 1885 he had risen 
to the position of manager of the Ken- 
sington Shops, continuing until that plant 
was consolidated with the others. He 
was then elected treasurer of the Berlin 
Iron Bridge Company, and continued ac- 
tively engaged in the management of that 
prosperous concern until 1900, at which 



time the company became a part of the 
great consolidation of interests, the Amer- 
ican Bridge Company. Since that time 
Mr. Wilcox has been intimately connect- 
ed with the financial and business corpo- 
rations of Hartford and New Britain. He 
is vice-president of the Peck, Stow & Wil- 
cox Company, the corporation which 
started him in his business career ; presi- 
dent of the Fidelity Trust Company of 
Hartford ; a director in the Phoenix 
Mutual Life Insurance Company of Hart- 
ford ; the Berlin Savings Bank of Berlin ; 
the American Hosiery Company, and 
president of the J. O. Smith Manufac- 
turing Company. 

The rise of Mr. Wilcox has been rapid, 
however, it has been commensurate with 
his ability, as he is the architect of his own 
life and owes his success to no fortuitous 
circumstances. 

In political belief a Republican, Mr. 
Wilcox has taken more than a passive 
interest in public affairs and has given 
much of his time to the service of the 
City and State. In 1893 he was the rep- 
resentative from Berlin to the Legislature 
and served on the judiciary committee. 
In 1903 he was state senator from the 
Second Senatorial District. The follow- 
ing year he was president of the Connec- 
ticut Commission to the World's Fair at 
St. Louis. He was a former major of the 
Governor's Foot Guard, and is now re- 
tired after years of service. Major Wil- 
cox is a member of many social and frater- 
nal organizations in his own and other 
cities, taking an active interest in them. 
He is an ex-president of the Trinity Col- 
lege Alumni Association ; ex-president of 
the College Athletic Association ; member 
of the fraternity, Delta Psi ; vice-president 
of the Connecticut Agricultural Society; 
and a trustee of Trinity College. His 
clubs are the Hartford City and Universi- 
ty of Hartford, and he is affiliated with 



39 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Masonic order. In religious faith he 
is a Congregationalist and is superinten- 
dent of the Sunday school at Berlin. He 
was vice-president of the City Club of 
Hartford, of which he was one of the 
founders in 1914, and was elected vice- 
president of the first annual re-union of 
"Wilcox Family and Allied Families," 
held at the Center Church House, in Hart- 
ford, August 27, 28, 29, 191 3. 

On January 19, 1898, Major Wilcox was 
married to Harriett Churchill Webster, 
daughter of Deacon Charles Selah and 
Julia Sophia (Higgins) Webster, of Ber- 
lin. They are the parents of a son, Samuel 
Churchill, and a daughter, Margaret Web- 
ster. 



DENNIS, Rodney, 

Insurance Actuary. 

Rodney Dennis, the first secretary of 
the Travelers Insurance Company of 
Hartford, Connecticut, was born in Tops- 
field, Massachusetts, January 14, 1826, 
and died in Hartford, Connecticut, in 
June, 1899. He is a descendant on both 
the maternal and paternal sides of the 
early settlers of New England. The first 
ancestor was Thomas Dennis, who was 
a soldier in King Philip's War. His 
grandson was an army chaplain and sur- 
geon for a dozen years in the middle 
French wars, 1737 to 1749, and was then 
a pastor and teacher in New Hampshire 
and Massachusetts. 

His grandson was the Rev. Rodney 
Gove Dennis, father of Rodney Dennis, 
who was born in New Boston, New 
Hampshire, April 17, 1791, son of Arthur 
and Mary (Goodhue) Dennis. He was 
baptized at the age of five years, and 
fitted for his college career at the Appel- 
ton Academy, New Ipswich, New Hamp- 
shire. In the autumn of 181 1, he united 
with the Congregational church of that 



place, and the following year entered 
Bowdoin College, from which he was 
graduated in 1816, and took his second 
degree in 1820. He then entered the An- 
dover Theological Seminary, graduating 
in 1819. He was ordained ior the minis- 
try in Topsfield, Massachusetts, the next 
year, and preached there nine years. 
With his family he then removed to 
Somers, Connecticut, and after nine years 
pastorate in that town, was acting pastor 
at Fairfield, Connecticut, from 1841 to 
1845. From 1857 to 1859 he was installed 
at Hillsborough, New Hampshire, and 
from that time until his death officiated 
without change at Southboro, Massachu- 
setts, where he died in 1865. Rev. Mr. 
Dennis married, in 1820, Mary Parker, 
born in 1793 at Billerica, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Stephen and Mary (Duren) 
Parker. Rev. and Mrs. Dennis were the 
parents of ten children, the fourth child 
and second son being Rodney. 

Rodney Dennis removed with his par- 
ents when a child to Somers, Connecticut, 
and received his elementary education 
there, attending the High School for one 
term. When sixteen years of age he came 
to Hartford and was employed in mercan- 
tile business as a clerk. Through his in- 
dustry and thrift he soon established him- 
self in a business of his own, the firm of 
Dennis & Ives Company, the interests of 
which took him to. Georgia, where he re- 
mained for two years, and was employed 
by the well known firm of Hand, Wil- 
liams & Wilcox. He then returned to 
Albany, New York, and in 1855 to Hart- 
ford, where he became associated with 
the Phoenix Bank of that city in the 
capacity of accountant, remaining there 
for nine years. It was at that time, 1864, 
that the Travelers Insurance Company 
was chartered, and upon the request of 
the President, James G. Batterson, and 
the Board of Directors, Mr. Dennis be- 



40 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



came the secretary of the company, a 
position he ably filled up to a few years 
before his death. To this new field Mr. 
Dennis brought those qualities gained in 
his business career which tend so much to 
the success of such an office, namely a 
quick and active mind tempered with con- 
servatism. "And here the reward of early 
discipline, self sacrifice derived from his 
early business training with no one to 
rely upon but himself, became manifest. 
* * * To him there was no difference 
between the moral obligations of a man 
and a corporation, and any seeming suc- 
cess of either was an 'Apple of Sodom' if 
not earned by the honest service and 
based on the immutable laws of God." 
His faculty for following all issues to 
their successful fulfillment and method- 
ical system enabled him at all times to 
give a clear and concise logical presenta- 
tion of the intricacies of his department. 
His personality and high sense of honor 
and duty gave him a popular place among 
his associates and he was held in high 
esteem by his business contemporaries. 
In 1842 Mr. Dennis founded the Morgan 
Street Mission School, which was one of 
the first organizations of its kind in Con- 
necticut, the purpose of which was to 
care for and visit the poorer classes of the 
city and give aid and help to their chil- 
dren. While in Georgia, he founded a 
similar institution there, and was super- 
intendent and teacher of the Hartford 
School for over twelve years. From the 
founding in 1880 of the Connecticut Hu- 
mane Society, until his death, Mr. Dennis 
served as its president, and he was also 
one of its corporators. He had many in- 
terests, among them being the following: 
Auditor of the Connecticut Bible Society, 
vice-president of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association, director of the Overman 
Wheel Company and of the Connecticut 
Fire Insurance Company, one of the three 



American trustees of the Lion Fire In- 
surance Company of London, trustee of 
the Society for Savings, director of the 
Hartford Trust Company, the Hartford 
City Gas Light Company, the Hartford 
Electric Light Company, the Farmington 
Power Company, vice-president of the 
American Humane Society, and of the 
American Anti-Vivisection Society, chair- 
man of the board of managers of the 
Hartford Retreat for the Insane, a trustee 
of the Connecticut Industrial School for 
Girls, chairman and trustee of the pru- 
dential committee of the Hartford Theo- 
logical Seminary, and trustee of the 
American Missionary Association. Mr. 
Dennis was also connected with many of 
the interests of the Travelers Insurance 
Company. He was a Republican in poli- 
tics, and with his family a member of the 
Center Congregational Church of Hart- 
ford. 

Mr. Dennis married, at Hartford, Con- 
necticut, June 6, 1854, Clara Strong, a 
daughter of William and Naomi (Terry) 
Strong, of East Windsor, Connecticut, 
and they were the parents of the follow- 
ing children: William, died in infancy; 
Grace, born April 6, 1855, at Albany, New 
York, married Ralph W. Cutler, of Hart- 
ford ; Charlotte, born May 7, i860, be- 
came the wife of Thomas Little ; Bertha 
Parker, born January 10, 1868, resides at 
home; Rodney Strong, born January 12, 
1870, married Cecile Meiller, died March 
7, 1904. 



CUTLER, Ralph William, 

Banker, Man of Affairs. 

Ralph William Cutler needs no intro- 
duction to the readers of this work. For 
years he was one of the leading bankers 
of Connecticut's financial center, and his 
ability had long been recognized in wider 
banking circles. 



41 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The Cutler genealogy is an interesting 
one. The family traces in this country to 
the earliest times of the Colonists, the im- 
migrant ancestor being James Cutler, 
who was born in England in 1606. The 
records show him settled in Watertown, 
Massachusetts, as early as 1634, when he 
was one of the original patentees of land 
in the northerly part of the town. Later 
he settled in what is now Lexington, 
where he died May 17, 1694. He had be- 
come possessed of considerable land 
which he divided by will among his chil- 
dren. His first wife, Anna, died Septem- 
ber 30, 1644. 

Their son, James Cutler, was born Sep- 
tember 6, 1635, and died July 31, 1685, at 
Cambridge Farms, now called Lexington. 
James Cutler was a farmer and soldier in 
King Philip's War. Pie married, June 15, 
1665, Lydia. widow of Samuel Wright, 
and daughter of John Moore, of Sudbury, 
where she died November 23, 1723. 

Their son, Thomas Cutler, was born 
December 15, 1677, at Cambridge Farms. 
He was constable in 1719; selectman in 
1729, 1731, 1733 and 1734. About 1752 
he removed to what is now the town of 
Warren, Massachusetts, where he had 
purchased a farm, and where he made his 
will, September 15, 1759. He married 
Sarah, daughter of Samuel and Dorcas 
(Jones) Stone, who died at the age of 
sixty-nine years, January 10. 1750. 

Their son. Deacon Thomas Cutler, Jr., 
was born September 30, 1719, at Lexing- 
ton, Massachusetts, and inherited the 
homestead farm from his father in War- 
ren. He followed the occupation of farm- 
ing all of his life. He died November 28, 
1760. He married a widow. Mrs. Sarah 
Fiske, daughter of Samuel Reade, of Bur- 
lington, Massachusetts, born October 8, 
1724, and died March 25, 1807. 

Their son, Lieutenant Ebenezer Cutler, 
was born at Lexington, Massachusetts, 



April 30, 1747, and in his turn inherited 
the homestead where he had been reared 
in Warren. He served in the Revolution- 
ary War. He died October 28, 1814. On 
April 7, 1768, he married Abigail, daugh- 
ter of Stone, who died at the age 

of forty-one years, May 11, 1790. 

Their son, James Cutler, was born at 
Warren, Massachusetts, November 5, 
1774, and died August 13, 1843. He mar- 
ried, December 8, 1803, Betsey, daughter 
of Captain Cyrus Rich, and she died 
March 8, 1862. Both James Cutler and 
his wife were earnest members of the 
Congregational church, and were noted 
for their public spirit. 

Eben Cutler, son of James and Betsey 
(Rich) Cutler, was born in Warren, Mas- 
sachusetts, April 26, 1816, and was the 
youngest of six children. He engaged in 
the jewelry business in Boston with such 
success that he was able to retire from 
business several years before his death. 
He was not a politician in the accepted 
sense of the term, but took more than a 
passive interest in public affairs and 
served as a member of the City Council 
and Board of Aldermen in Boston, and 
was a member of the Massachusetts Leg- 
islature in 1865 and 1866. Mr. Cutler was 
a man of sterling character, was ambi- 
tious, energetic and thrifty. He was a 
man of high ideals and drew around him 
a wide circle of friends. On November 4, 
185 1, he married Carrie Elizabeth Hol- 
man, of Newton, Massachusetts, who died 
November 7, 1873, at the age of thirty- 
nine years. She was a direct descendant 
of Ensign John Holman, who came from 
England in the ship "Mary and John" and 
was one of the original settlers of Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts, in 1630. He 
served as selectman, was an ensign in 
the Pequot War, and was a member of 
the Ancient and Honorable Artillery 
Company of Boston. 



42 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Ralph William Cutler, son of Eben and 
Carrie Elizabeth (Holman) Cutler, was 
born in Newton, Massachusetts, Febru- 
ary 21, 1853. and died in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, .November 7, 1917. His boyhood 
was spent in Boston, where he graduated 
from the English High School in 1869, as 
a "Franklin Medal Scholar." In his early- 
youth he showed a tendency for athletics, 
and without doubt his fondness for phy- 
sical as well as mental exertion had much 
to do with the physical vigor he enjoyed 
throughout life. For a few years after 
leaving school, Mr. Cutler was employed 
in a wholesale grocery house, and during 
this period he gained a knowledge of bus- 
iness methods and of men which was to 
prove of great value to him in his later 
years as a banker. In 1880 Mr. Cutler 
removed to Hartford, where he had 
accepted a position as treasurer of the 
Hartford Trust Company. He gave the 
performance of his daily duties the best 
that was in him, and used his keen powers 
of observation, neglected no opportunity 
to gain knowledge concerning the bank- 
ing business, with the result that within 
a short space of seven years he was 
elected president of the company. At that 
time he was only twenty-seven years of 
age and had the distinction of being the 
youngest bank president in Connecticut. 
Mr. Cutler was interested in other im- 
portant financial interests of which we 
may mention : Director of the Hartford 
Electric Light Company, the Hartford 
Morris Plan Company and of the Taylor 
& Fenn Company. In politics Mr. Cutler 
was a Republican. He served as a mem- 
ber of the Common Council in 1883 and 
1884, and in 1896 was appointed fire com- 
missioner, which position he served in 
continuously for six years. In 1905 he 
was appointed commissioner of the Board 
of Finance, and his counsel proved of 
much value in matters involving the ex- 



penditure of the city's money. At the 
time of its organization, in 1880, Mr. Cut- 
ler was elected treasurer of the Connec- 
ticut Humane Society and continued in 
that capacity until 1910. He had been a 
director since the formation and was for 
many years a member of its executive 
committee. For a long period he was a 
member of important committees of the 
American Bankers' Association and was 
widely known among the bankers of the 
country. He was made president of the 
Trust Company section of the American 
Bankers' Association in 1914, and later 
made a member of the executive commit- 
tee. 

In the midst of a busy and varied life, 
Mr. Cutler had found time to take part 
in the activities of a number of patriotic 
and social organizations. He was com- 
missary of the First Company, Gov- 
ernor's Foot Guard, 1907 to 1916, with 
the rank of captain. On May 23, 1916, 
he was transferred to the honorary staff 
at his own request by Major Slocum, re- 
taining his rank as captain. He was re- 
appointed on the honorary staff by Major 
Charles A. Stedman, the present com- 
mandant (1917). Mr. Cutler was "Gen- 
tleman of the Council" at the organiza- 
tion of the Society of Colonial Wars in 
1893, and served continuously as its treas- 
urer. He was a member of the Jeremiah 
Wadsworth Branch, Connecticut Society, 
Sons of the American Revolution, and of 
the Citizens Corps of Robert O. Tyler 
Post, Grand Army of the Republic. His 
clubs were the Twentieth Century, Hart- 
ford, Republican and Hartford Golf. Mr. 
Cutler was a member of the Center Con- 
gregational Church of Hartford. 

On January 6, 1880, Mr. Cutler married 
Grace Dennis, daughter of Rodney Den- 
nis, a founder and for some years secre- 
tary of the Travelers Insurance Company. 
Mr. and Mrs. Cutler were the parents of 



43 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



three children: i. Charlotte Elizabeth, 
married Joseph H. Woodward, actuary of 
the Workman Compensation Commis- 
sion of New York. 2. Captain Ralph Den- 
nis Cutler, manager of the appliance de- 
partment of the Hartford Electric Light 
Company, and now a member of the 
Quartermaster Corps, United States 
Army, at Camp Greene, Charlotte, North 
Carolina. 3. Ruth Holman, wife of 
Charles DeLancey Alton, Jr., office man- 
ager of the J. B. Williams Company of 
Glastonbury. 

Mr. Cutler owed his prominence in the 
business world to no fortuitous circum- 
stances ; he was the architect of his own 
fortune, and his achievements in the 
modern world of business confer an added 
luster to a line of distinguished ancestors. 
His high ideals, unselfish interest in pub- 
lic affairs, and uniform courtesy won for 
him a high place in the esteem of his fel- 
low citizens. At his death the city of 
Hartford lost one of its substantial busi- 
ness men. Mr. Cutler had a genial, social 
side and was a recognized personality in 
social gatherings, clubable, cordial and 
entertaining. Many friends will miss him 
and his adopted city, Hartford, will be 
without one of the men she could surely 
rely upon. 



THOMPSON, Whitefield Nelson, 

Alienist. 

There is ample record that several of 
this name were among our earliest sev- 
enteenth century settlers. Sir William 
Thompson, of England, was the owner of 
property about Boston, and his coat-of- 
arms has come down through many gen- 
erations of James Thompson's descend- 
ants, but patient research fails to estab- 
lish the exact connection between the 
English and American houses. Edward 
Thompson came over in the "Mayflower" 



in 1620; John, his brother, came over in 
1643; Archibald Thompson settled in 
Marblehead in 1637; Edward Thompson 
settled in Salem in 1637; Doctor Benja- 
min Thompson settled in Braintree and 
was town clerk in 1696, and left at his 
death eight children and twenty-eight 
grandchildren. 

James Thompson was among the origi- 
nal settlers of Woburn, Massachusetts, 
and settled in that part of the town which 
is now known as North Woburn. He 
came in Winthrop's great company, in 
1630, and first settled in Charlestown. He 
was born in 1593, in England, and was 
accompanied on his journey by his wife 
Elizabeth and three sons and one daugh- 
ter. He was then thirty-seven years of 
age, and tradition has it that he was one 
of the party who landed at Salem, Massa- 
chusetts, in the early part of June, 1630. 
His coat-of-arms is identical with that of 
Sir William Thompson, a London knight, 
and it is probable that he came from that 
family. With his wife, Elizabeth, James 
Thompson was admitted to membership in 
the First Church of Charlestown, August 
31, 1633. I n the following December he 
was admitted as a freeman of the town. 
In December, 1640, he was one of the 
thirty-two men who subscribed to the 
noted town orders for Woburn. He was 
among the few adventurers who early 
pushed their way into this wilderness 
region. Charlestown Village was incor- 
porated in 1642, under the name of Wo- 
burn, and it is believed that this was in 
memory of the ancient town of that name 
in Bedfordshire, England, whence some 
of the emigrants probably came. James 
Thompson was chosen a member of the 
First Board of Selectmen, and continued 
to serve the town in that office nearly 
twenty years with brief intervals. In 
1650 he was the commissioner to carry 
the votes for town officers to Cambridge. 



44 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The exact location of his residence cannot 
be positively stated, but it is probable 
that is was near the junction of Elm street 
and Traverse. It appears by the records 
that he was an extensive land owner for 
that time. It is probable that he disposed 
of most of his property before his death, 
as his will makes no reference to real 
estate. His first wife, Elizabeth, died 
November 13, 1643, an ^ he was married 
(second) February 15, 1644, to Susanna 
Blodgett, widow of Thomas Blodgett, of 
Cambridge. She died February 10, 1661. 
He survived his second wife about twen- 
ty-one years, and died in Woburn, 1682. 

Simon Thompson, second son of James 
and Elizabeth Thompson, was a native 
of England, but there is no record of his 
birth. With his father, he came to 
Charlestown and subsequently to Woburn, 
and became a freeman of that town in 
1648. After a residence there of several 
years he became a purchaser with others, 
from that town and from Concord, of 
the territory which is now the town of 
Chelmsford. He was one of the seven 
men who held a meeting in that town 
to arrange for some form of local govern- 
ment. It is the tradition that he became 
the first town clerk. They made prompt 
arrangements for the settlement of a 
minister. Within three years after the 
completion of the organization of the 
town, he died, in May, 1658. He was mar- 
ried in Woburn, December 19, 1643, to 
Mary Converse, a daughter of Edward 
Converse, one of the foremost men of 
that town. His widow was married Feb- 
ruary 1, 1659, to John Sheldon, of Bil- 
lerica. 

James Thompson, second son of Simon 
and Mary (Converse) Thompson, was 
born March 20, 1649, m Woburn, and was 
the only son of his father who lived to 
reach manhood. After his father's death, 
he lived to the age of twenty years with his 



uncle, Samuel Converse, in the south part 
of Woburn (now Winchester), and as- 
sisted in the care of the mill, built by his 
grandfather, Edward Converse. James 
Thompson married (first) January 27, 
1674, Hannah Walker, who died Febru- 
ary 4, 1686. James Thompson died Sep- 
tember 14, 1693. He made no will. His 
property was assigned by the court, in 
1700, to his widow and five sons and the 
only daughter then living. Joshua Thomp- 
son, son of Lieutenant James and Han- 
nah (Walker) Thompson, was born Sep- 
tember 15, 1677, in Woburn, and settled 
in that part of the town which became 
Wilmington in 1730. He was admitted 
a member of the church in that place in 
1742. He with others of the name was 
somewhat prominent in the affairs of the 
town. On March 2, 1731, he was elected 
"Clerk of the Market" an officer whose 
business seems to have been to aid in 
regulating the prices of labor and goods. 
He died July 10, 1760. He married, May 
6, 1702, Martha Dayle, who died June 3, 
1749. 

Robert Thompson, second son of Joshua 
and Martha (Dayle) Thompson, was born 
in what is now Wilmington, probably 
about 1708. Early in life he settled 
in Windham, New Hampshire, where his 
descendants were numerous, and for 
many years active, efficient citizens. Two 
of his sons were soldiers in the French 
and Indian War, and three or four of 
them were soldiers of the Revolution. 
He died October 31, 1756. 

Robert Thompson, eldest son of Robert 
Thompson, resided in Londonderry, New 
Hampshire, and was a member of the 
Board of Selectmen in that town in 1782. 
He was a soldier of the Revolution, and 
was an elder of the Presbyterian church, 
which proves him to have been a man of 
character and standing in the town. The 
maiden name of his wife, Margaret, is 



45 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



not discovered, but she is described as a 
"genteel woman." They were the par- 
ents of nine children. The sons seem to 
have been possessed of an adventurous 
spirit, and all except one went to South 
Carolina. The eldest died in his thirty- 
first year on the passage home from Cali- 
fornia in 1794. 

James Thompson, son of Robert 
Thompson, was born August 18, 1764, in 
Londonderry, and died in Buckfield, 
Maine, December 23, 1845. He had three 
wives. He married (first) Margaret (or 
Peggie) Gregg, who died in 1793, in her 
twenty-seventh year. One son, Jonathan 
Gregg, was born of this marriage, August 
12, 1792. He married (second) Martha 
Gilmore, the daughter probably of White- 
field and Margaret Gilmore, and who 
was born in Bedford, New Hampshire, 
January 1, 1773. She moved with him, 
about 1801, to Buckfield, Maine, where 
her death occurred, November 17, 1833. 
Their children were : Whitefield Gil- 
more, Robert, Margaret, Sarah, James, 
Jeremiah Smith, Elizabeth, William Nel- 
son, Mary, Adam, John, Martha, Charles. 
Elisha was the only child by the third 
marriage. Whitefield Gilmore, Jeremiah 
Smith, James and William Nelson, all 
moved in early manhood to the town of 
Sangerville, Maine, where they became 
prosperous farmers and leading men in 
the community. 

William Nelson Thompson, son of 
James and Martha (Gilmore) Thompson, 
was born at Buckfield, Maine, October 
29, 1806, and died at Foxcroft, Maine, 
November 26, 1886. He married Sarah 
Lancaster Whitney, December 1, 1833. 
Their children were : Martha N., born 
September 17, 1834, and William Gilmore, 
of whom further. 

William Gilmore Thompson, son of 
William Nelson and Sarah Lancaster 
(Whitney) Thompson, was born at San- 



gerville, Maine, May 22, 1836, and died 
October 7, 19 12. He was reared on his 
father's farm, and educated in the public 
schools of Sangerville and at Foxcroft 
Academy. During his early manhood, he 
taught school and subsequently engaged 
in business and farming. After his mar- 
riage he removed to Guilford, where he 
lived until 1905, and then removed to the 
adjoining town of Foxcroft. He was a 
Republican in politics, but always de- 
clined to take an active part in political 
affairs. He was a member of the Board 
of Selectmen in Guilford for twenty years, 
tax collector for ten years, and served 
one term as county commissioner. He was 
a member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. He married Sarah Hoyt, a 
daughter of Isaac and Olive (Goodwin) 
Hoyt, in 1864. They were the parents of 
seven children : Whitefield Nelson, Mar- 
tha, William H., Sarah Elizabeth, Mary 
Hubbard, Elbridge A., and Charles Hoyt. 
Whitefield Nelson Thompson, A. B., 
M. D., physician and superintendent of 
the Hartford Retreat, the eldest son of 
William Gilmore and Sarah (Hoyt) 
Thompson, was born in Guilford, Maine, 
October 2, 1865. He attended the public 
schools, and Foxcroft Academy, and was 
there prepared for college, matriculating 
at Bates College, September, 1884. He 
left college in the middle of his course, 
to pursue the study of medicine, and at- 
tended the Portland School for Medical 
Instruction, the Medical School of Maine, 
and completed his medical course at Jef- 
ferson Medical College in April, 1889. 
His hospital experience began with an ap- 
pointment in August of the same year as 
assistant physician, locum tenens, at the 
Brattleboro, Vermont, Retreat. At the 
expiration of this term of service in May, 
1890, he was appointed on the Medical 
Staff of the State Hospital at Taunton, 
Massachusetts, and filled the position of 



46 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



third, and subsequently second assistant 
physician, until December, 1891, when, in 
pursuance of a plan to enter upon the 
general practice of medicine he resigned 
this position to return to the Brattleboro 
Retreat. The death of Dr. Joseph Draper, 
superintendent of the Retreat, led to 
changes in the staff and Dr. Thompson's 
promotion to the assistant superinten- 
dency in July, 1892. He resigned this 
position in October, 1904, to accept one 
of a similar nature at the Hartford Re- 
treat, an institution for the insane estab- 
lished by the Connecticut State Medical 
Society in 1824, and in April of the follow- 
ing year, on the retirement of Dr. Henry 
P. Stearns, was appointed to the super- 
intendency, and has since held that posi- 
tion. Dr. Thompson lectures on Nervous 
and Mental Diseases at the Hartford Sem- 
inary Foundation, and has written and 
published articles pertaining to psychia- 
try. He is a member of the City, County, 
and State Medical societies, of the Amer- 
ican Medical Association, the American 
Medico-Psychological Association, and of 
the New England Society for the Study 
of Psychiatry. In 1913 Dr. Thompson 
was elected to the Board of Fellows of 
Bates College. He is a member of the 
Brattleboro Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons. In politics he is a Republican, 
but takes no part in public affairs. He 
is a member of the Twentieth Century 
Club and of other Hartford clubs. 

Dr. Thompson married, September 14, 
1893, Dr. Ida M. Shimer, a daughter of 
Dr. Jacob S. Shimer, a well known and 
successful physician of Philadelphia and 
a native of Shimerville, Pennsylvania, 
where his grandfather had received an 
original grant of land. They are the par- 
ents of three children, as follows : Marga- 
ret Shimer, Irene Shimer and Whitefield 
Shimer, deceased. Dr. Thompson and 



his family are all members of the Central 
Congregational Church of Hartford. 

Sarah Lancaster (Whitney) Thompson, 
the wife of William Nelson Thompson, 
and grandmother of Nelson Whitefield 
Thompson, was a descendant of Francis 
Whitmore, who was born in England 
in 1625, and died at Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, October 12, 1685. He was 
the owner of large properties and 
lands at Cambridge and several of the 
nearby towns ; served in King Philip's 
War, and was selectman and constable in 
1668 and 1682. His will contained a pro- 
vision for the education of his children. 
He married, about 1648, Isabel Parke, 
daughter of Richard and Margery (Crane) 
Parke, who died March 31, 1665. 

Their son, John Whitmore, born at 
Cambridge, Massachusetts. October T, 
1654, died at Medford, Massachusetts, 
February 22, 1739. Like his father, he 
served in the Indian War of the time and 
took part in the campaign at Saco, Maine, 
under Major Swayne, who was a deacon 
of the First Parish Church of Medford 
and the town treasurer. John Whitmore 
married, in 1677, Rachel (Eliot) Poulter, 
widow of John Poulter and daughter of 
Francis and Mary (Saunders) Eliot, born 
October 25, 1643, in Braintree, Massachu- 
setts, died ?vfarch 20, 1723. She was a 
niece of John Eliot, the Indian Apostle. 

John Whitmore, son of John and Rachel 
Whitmore, was born August 27, 1683, in 
Medford, and died at Billerica, March 26, 
1753. In early life he was a housewright, 
but later engaged in business with his 
brother Francis, was a large slave owner, 
also possessed much property in land, 
and was active and liberal in church and 
town affairs. The church record of that 
time mentions him with much gratitude 
on account of his benefactions. He was 
one of those who gave to the separation 



47 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Bedford. In later life he removed to 
Billerica where, as already stated, his 
death occurred. He married, about 1706, 
Mary Lane, a daughter of Colonel John 
and Susan (Whipple) Lane, of Billerica, 
born May 15, 1686, and died at Billerica, 
March 27, 1783. 

Their son, Francis Whitmore, was born 
at Medford, October 4, 1714, and was en- 
gaged in that place in business on a very 
large scale. His name appears on the 
records as one of the men who paid 
money to the persons who went to New 
York in September, 1776, and in the fol- 
lowing month he paid money to persons 
to go to Canada. In 1760 he purchased 
from the Plymouth Land Company, lot 
No. 3, in the town of Plymouth, Maine, 
and from that time onward spent most of 
his life there. In an account of the early 
settlement along the Kennebec river, it is 
stated that he was there as early as 1749, 
having squatted on the lot which he 
afterwards purchased. In an account of 
the establishment of Bowdoinham, by 
Peter Bowdoin, in 1762, it is further 
stated that a man named Whitmore had 
settled previously at Reed's Point on the 
Kennebec river and traded very largely 
with the Indians. He left a record of a 
life full of achievement and of the labor 
that meant much for the development of 
his adopted State. He died in Bowdoin- 
ham, April 27, 1794. Francis Whitmore 
married, January 31, 1739, Mary, daugh- 
ter of Lieutenant Stephen and Eliza 
(Fowle) Hall, born April 17, 1719, and 
died October 30, 1791. Their home was 
made, in the latter part of their lives, at 
Bowdoinham, Maine, and there Francis 
Whitmore died, April 27, 1794. 

Their son, William Whitmore, was 
born at Medford, Massachusetts, Septem- 
ber 6, 1746. He married twice. First 
wife's maiden name was Davis. Second 
wife's maiden name not known. They re- 



sided at Bath, Maine. Their daughter, 
Sarah D. Whitmore, the second in a fam- 
ily of eight children, was born November 
2"j, 1794, and died in Corinth, Maine, 
March 27, 1868. She married (first) Jon- 
athan Whitney, who was born in Lisbon, 
Maine, June 10, 1788, and died in Dover, 
Maine, May 14, 1837. They resided in 
the early part of their married life at 
Bowdoinham, Maine, where the following 
children were born to them : Nancy, Wil- 
liam P., Sarah Lancaster, Elizabeth, 
James and Lydia. Sarah Lancaster, born 
May 31, 1816, died at Garland, Maine, 
June 9, 1903. She married William Nel- 
son Thompson, December 1, 1833. 



BRAINERD, Lyman Bushnell, 

Insurance President. 

Though the scion of one of New Eng- 
land's oldest families, Mr. Brainerd owed 
his success to his own persistent diligence 
and to those qualities of character with- 
out which no real success can be obtained. 
The name Brainerd, like most names of 
historic lineage, is variously spelled, but it 
is generally conceded that the spelling 
used by the late Lyman B. Brainerd and 
his progenitors was the original spelling. 

The first of the name in this country 
was Daniel Brainerd, who, tradition says, 
was born about 1641, in Braintree, Eng- 
land, and was brought to America when 
he was about eight years old. An old 
manuscript that has been preserved, says 
he lived with the Wadsworth family in 
Hartford, Connecticut, until 1662, when, 
with others, he took up land in the un- 
broken wilderness about eight miles from 
Middletown, in what is now the town of 
Haddam. About 1663 or 1664 he married 
Hannah, daughter of Gerrard and Hannah 
Spencer, of Lynn, Massachusetts, who 
were among the first settlers of Haddam. 
She died about 1691. He died April 1, 



48 








f""V, 



^ 



1 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1715, and his tombstone still stands at 
Haddam. Daniel Brainerd was a man of 
considerable prominence, and was held 
in high esteem by his fellow citizens, if we 
may judge from the number of public 
offices with which he was honored. He 
was at different times, constable, surveyor, 
fence viewer, town assessor, collector, jus- 
tice of the peace. In 1669 he was elected 
commissioner by the general court at 
Hartford, and served as deputy to the 
general court for many years. 

Daniel Brainerd, Jr., son of Daniel 
Brainerd, Sr., was born in Haddam, Con- 
necticut, March 2, 1666, and died January 
28, 1743. He was a husbandman, and, 
like his father, was a prominent citizen. 
He was collector in the spring of 1688, 
served as surveyor in the same year and 
again in 1692, and in the following year 
was constable. He held the office of 
deacon in the Congregational church from 
1725 until his death, and was captain of 
the company or train band in East Had- 
dam. He was representative to the gen- 
eral court a number of times. He mar- 
ried, about 1688, Susannah Ventres, who 
died January 26, 1754, in her eighty-sixth 
year. 

Stephen Brainerd, son of Daniel Brain- 
erd, Jr., was born in East Haddam, Con- 
necticut, February 27, 1699, and died 
March 30, 1794. He was a farmer, settled 
in the town of Colchester, where he 
cleared land and built a cabin. He mar- 
ried, December 24, 1730, Susannah, 
daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Hun- 
gerford) Gates. She died April 29, 1793, 
in her eighty-eighth year, and was the first 
person buried in the Southwest Ceme- 
tery. 

Captain William Brainerd, son of Ste- 
phen Brainerd, was born in Westchester, 
Connecticut, August 27, 1746, and died 
January 26, 1820. He was ensign in Colo- 
nel Wells's regiment, was captain of the 

Conn— 5 — 4 



Fifth Company or Train Band in the 
Twenty-fifth Regiment of Connecticut, 
and was also captain in the Twenty-fourth 
Regiment, First Brigade. He married, 
December 31, 1772, Lucy Day, daughter 
of Abraham and Irene (Foote) Day, who 
died May 20, 1823, in her seventy-second 
year. 

William Brainerd, son of Captain Wil- 
liam Brainerd, was born in Westchester 
Society, Colchester, Connecticut, October 
2 3> I 773' ar, d died March 18, 1844. He 
was appointed captain of the home militia, 
and the surveyor and collector from 1806 
to 1822. He married, October 31, 1799, 
Patience Foote, daughter of Nathaniel 
and Patience (Skinner) Foote, who died 
June 19, 1859, in her seventy-seventh year. 

Asa Brainerd, son of William Brainerd, 
was born in Westchester, Connecticut, 
December 24, 1816, and died April 25, 
1898. He was a farmer, and held numer- 
ous offices, including membership in the 
board of relief in 1868 ; justice of the 
peace, 1879-82; grand-juror, 1884, and 
assessor for the years 1879, J 88 2 and 1886. 
He married, March 15, 1846, Susan Eliz- 
abeth Buell, born January 11, 1830, died 
June 4, 1914, daughter of David and Oc- 
tavia (Day) Buell. 

Lyman Bushnell Brainerd, son of Asa 
and Susan Elizabeth (Buell) Brainerd, 
was born in Westchester, Connecticut, 
March 27, 1856. There were eight chil- 
dren in the family, and Lyman B. Brain- 
erd was compelled by circumstances to 
devote considerable time to the work of 
the farm that would have been spent in 
acquiring an education could his desires 
have been realized. He attended the 
public school and spent one term at Wes- 
leyan Academy in Wilbraham, Massachu- 
setts. He taught a district school in 
Moodus for awhile, and although success- 
ful in that vocation, he decided that his 
natural bent was in the line of a business 



49 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



career, which he began in March, 1876, 
when he became a fire insurance solicitor 
in Middletown, Connecticut, for the Agri- 
cultural Insurance Company of Water- 
town, New York. There, Mr. Brainerd 
became thoroughly familiar with the 
details of the fire insurance business, and 
in 1878 removed to Hartford, Connecticut, 
and became a canvasser for the State 
Mutual Fire Insurance Company of Hart- 
ford. One year later, he accepted a posi- 
tion as general agent and adjuster for the 
Jersey City Fire Insurance Company, 
with which company he remained for 
seven years, until 1886. He then entered 
the employ of the Equitable Mortgage 
Company of New York City as a nego- 
tiator of bonds. The following year he 
was elected secretary of the company, and 
in 1890 manager of the bond department. 

During Mr. Brainerd's visits to Hart- 
ford in connection with the bond business, 
he formed a close friendship with Presi- 
dent James M. Allen, of the Hartford 
Steam Boiler Inspection and Insurance 
Company, and through him was offered, 
in 1894, a position as assistant treasurer 
of the company, which he accepted and 
returned to Hartford. He was elected 
treasurer of the company in 1899; in 1903 
became a director, the death of Mr. Allen 
occurred in that year and Mr. Brainerd 
was elected president, July 12, 1904, to 
succeed Mr. Allen. He continued in that 
office until his death, which occurred at 
his late home, No. 80 Washington street, 
Hartford, October 11, 1916, and under his 
able management the business of the com- 
pany had largely developed. 

While the duties of his office, as presi- 
dent of the above named company, occu- 
pied the greater part of his time, Mr. 
Brainerd also found time for other inter- 
ests. He was a director in the Aetna Fire 
Insurance Company, the Hartford Aetna 
National Bank, the Security Trust Com- 



pany, the Case, Lockwood & Brainard 
Company, the Capewell Horsenail Com- 
pany, the Smyth Manufacturing Com- 
pany, Swift & Company of Chicago, and 
the National Surety Company of New 
York ; was vice-president of the Society 
for Savings, of Hartford, and was a mem- 
ber of the loaning committee of the same. 
He was one of the board of five trustees 
appointed in 1914 by the United States 
Department of Justice to take control of 
the trolley holdings of the New York, 
New Haven & Hartford Railroad in Con- 
necticut. His death is the third in the 
board as originally appointed. He was 
elected a member of the Board of Park 
Commissioners, May 1, 1909, and served 
as president of same, and at the time of 
his death he was commissioner for Good- 
win Park and a member of the finance 
committee of the board. He was much 
interested in the park development of the 
city. He was a deacon of the Center 
Church and a member of the prudential 
committee of the same ; was a member of 
the board of trustees of the Hartford 
Theological Seminary, and chairman of 
its executive committee, and a member 
of the Hartford Club and the Hartford 
Golf Club. 

Mr. Brainerd married, October 28, 1903, 
Lucy Morgan Brainard, a daughter of the 
late Mayor Leverett and Mary B. Brain- 
ard. Children : Mary Leverett, Lyman 
Bushnell, Jr., and Lucy Bulkeley. He 
was survived by his widow, three chil- 
dren, two brothers, Charles Brainerd, of 
Middletown, and Asa Brainerd, of West- 
chester, and one sister, Mrs. Porter 
Adams, of Westchester. 



VARIELL, Arthur Davis, 

Physician. 

The medical profession in the city of 
Waterbury, Connecticut, is represented 



50 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



by a large number of men whose ability 
and high ideals continue to realize the tra- 
ditions of the past and make them leaders 
in all branches of medical science and 
practice. They are men who are at the 
head of the profession in research, and 
apply skillfully, new methods to the prac- 
tical problems with which they are con- 
stantly obliged to cope. Among the men 
who have made their names well known 
in this group of capable physicians no one 
is more generally respected and trusted 
than Arthur Davis Variell. He is not 
only a most profound student of his sub- 
ject, medicine, but he is also a keen and 
sympathetic observer of human nature, a 
scholar, and a traveler. These attributes 
help to make him peculiarly competent, 
and he is recognized as one of the most 
able diagnosticians of the city. 

Dr. Variell is not a native of Water- 
bury, but was born in the city of Gardi- 
ner, Maine, August 26, 1868. The name 
Variell is one of the many variations in 
the spelling of the original surname Ver- 
rill, an English name. In the town of 
Lewes, England, which is the county seat 
of East Sussex, live several branches of 
the family. At one period the Verrill 
family had conferred a baronetcy upon a 
deserving member for services rendered 
to the Crown. This title has never been 
without heir, the present incumbent being 
Sir William Verrill. 

The first period of settlement in this 
country was 1670, and the New Hamp- 
shire coast was the locality. Descendants 
of this early branch still reside in Ports- 
mouth, New Hampshire, while various 
other descendants continued the line in 
Massachusetts and in Maine. The Verrills 
served their country in the Revolution in 
the persons of Joseph and Samuel. Little 
is known of the former, but Samuel was 
born April 20, 1734, in Gloucester, Mas- 



sachusetts. As fifer in Captain John 
Lane's regiment, his martial strains led 
many a gallant charge, and it was said 
of him that he fought even better than he 
played. Later he served in Colonel Ger- 
rish's regiment in 1778. Samuel Verrill 
married Eunice Bray. He died at Port- 
land, Maine, 1797. 

Dr. Variell's grandfather, Albert Variell, 
married Josephine Call. Their six chil- 
dren — Moses, Daniel, John, Albert, Carrie 
and Nathan — are now all deceased. John 
Smith Variell was the father of Dr. Ar- 
thur Davis Variell, and was born at 
Minot, Maine. The greater part of his 
life was passed in Gardiner, Maine, how- 
ever, where he was engaged in business 
until his death at the age of seventy. His 
wife, who was Miss Julia Hammond, of 
Auburn, Maine, also died at Gardiner in 
the year 1900, at the age of sixty-four. 
Besides Arthur they had but one child, a 
son Frederick, who died in infancy. 

Dr. Variell passed the greater part of 
his youth in the city of his birth, where 
he received in the public schools the pre- 
paratory part of his education. From the 
high school he entered the Maine Wes- 
leyan Seminary and College at Kent's 
Hill. In 1890 he matriculated as a student 
of medicine in the Medical Department of 
Bowdoin College, now the University of 
Maine, at Brunswick. From this college 
he obtained his degree in 1894. His hos- 
pital work was done in the Portland City 
Hospital, in the Post Graduate Hospital 
of New York City, and also in the hospi- 
tals of London and Paris. He located first 
in Watertown, Connecticut, where he 
practiced medicine until 1907. He then 
came to Waterbury, where he still con- 
tinues in practice. 

Dr. Variell has been married twice. 
His first wife was Miss Julia Curtiss, of 
Woodbury, Connecticut, a daughter of 



5i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Walter S. and Eunice (Averill) Curtis. 
Her father, a retired woolen manufac- 
turer of Woodbury, died in that town in 
the month of February, 1916. Her 
mother is still a resident there. Two chil- 
dren were born to Dr. Variell by his first 
wife : Doris, who was born May 21, 1897 ; 
and Curtiss Arthur, born in 1900, and who 
died at the age of thirteen years. The 
mother died at Waterbury in November, 
1909. 

Dr. Variell's second marriage was on 
November 12, 1913, to Miss Katherine 
Beckwith Schley, a daughter of Dr. J. 
Montford and Margaret (Spaulding) 
Schley. Dr. Schley, a very well known 
physician in New York City, is now re- 
tired from active practice. Of the union 
of Dr. Variell and Katherine (Schley) 
Variell one child has been born, a son, 
Montfort Schley Variell, July 3, 1915. 

Dr. Variell is regarded in the profes- 
sional world and, indeed, in all his public 
relations, as one whose principles are 
above reproach and whose strict ideals 
of honor and justice are applied to every 
detail of his profession and conduct. For 
all those with whom he comes in con- 
tact in his professional capacity, in his 
family life, and, in fact, throughout all 
departments and circles of life, his cour- 
tesy, his power of clear-sighted discern- 
ment and his unfailing concern for the 
welfare of every one, make him a highly 
popular figure, a man who truly merits 
the general esteem and worth of his posi- 
tion in the community. 

Dr. Variell is a member of the staff of 
Waterbury Hospital ; member of the 
American Medical Association ; member 
of the County, State and City Medical 
Societies ; member and vice-president of 
Waterbury Club ; director of Morris Plan 
Bank ; director and half-owner of the 
Metal Specialty Manufacturing Company. 



HALLADAY, Edmund, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

Edmund Halladay, a native of the town 
of Suffield, Connecticut, was one of the 
most prominent tobacco growers and 
among the well known business men of 
that place. 

Since the year 1673, the family of Hal- 
laday has been known to Suffield. It was 
in that year that Walter Halladay came 
from near Boston, Massachusetts, where 
he was born, and settled in Springfield, 
which at that time was part of Suffield. 
He engaged in agriculture, and followed 
that occupation throughout his entire life. 
He married Catherine Hunter, and they 
were the parents of five children. 

The youngest child was Aaron Halla- 
day, who was born in Suffield, and lived 
there during his lifetime, engaged in farm- 
ing. He was a large land owner and very 
active in the civic life of Suffield, a mem- 
ber of the Congregational church of that 
place until his death. He married Naomi 
Smith, and they were the parents of eight 
children. 

The first child and eldest son of Aaron 
and Naomi (Smith) Halladay was Moses 
Halladay, born in Suffield. In his early 
youth he followed the cultivation of the 
land as his forefathers had done for so 
many years, but he also learned the trade 
of carpenter and worked for some time at 
this occupation. He married Mary Tobin, 
and to them were born four children. 

The eldest child, Edmund Tobin Hal- 
laday, was born in Suffield, March 7, 1799, 
and died December 3, 1852. His educa- 
tion was received in the public schools 
of Suffield, and in his youth he was taught 
the trade of wheelwright, which he fol- 
lowed successfully for many years. He 
owned one of the largest farms in the 
vicinity, and later in life he gave up his 



52 






<^^Z^Y'^af i 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



trade to take up the cultivation of tobacco. 
He was most successful in this ; his farm 
of five hundred acres extended into the 
township of Hamden county, Massachu- 
setts. His political affiliations were with 
the Whig party, and although he was 
most active and interested in the public 
affairs, he did not desire nor seek public 
office of any kind. He was a prominent 
member of the Baptist church. Mr. Hall- 
aday married (second) Clarissa Kendall, 
born in Suffield, March 10, 1817, a daugh- 
ter of Simon and Elizabeth (Kent) Ken- 
dall. Mrs. Clarissa (Kendall) Halladay 
was a descendant of a very old New Eng- 
land family. Captain Elihu Kent, her 
grandfather, and her great-grandfather, 
Major Elihu Kent, fought in the Revolu- 
tion, and his great-grandson, Edmund 
Halladay, has in his possession a flint lock 
musket, used by Captain Kent, and which 
is beyond monetary value in his estima- 
tion. 

Major Elihu Kent was captain of the 
Suffield Company of Minute-Men, who 
marched in the Lexington Alarm, April, 
1775, Major of the First Regiment of 
Militia of the Connecticut State Troops. 
Promoted from captain, May, 1777, and 
served during the war until 1783. Colonel 
Elihu Kent, Jr., was born December 15, 
1757, went with his father, Major Elihu 
Kent, into the Revolutionary Army, and 
was captured by the British on Long 
Island and was confined for a long time as 
a prisoner of war in the old sugar house 
in New York, where he suffered greatly. 

Edmund Halladay, the son of Edmund 
Tobin and Clarissa (Kendall) Halladay, 
was born in Suffield, May 8, 1852, and 
died October 16, 1914. He attended the 
schools of his native town, and Hillside 
Academy (the Connecticut Literary In- 
stitute). After finishing his schooling he 
settled down in earnest to the work of 
raising tobacco and general farming. He 



did a great amount of experimenting in 
tobacco culture for the United States 
Government. His political beliefs were 
strongly Republican, and he filled many 
offices for this party. He was constable 
for three years, and assessor for the same 
period of time. In 1884 ne was elected to 
the State Legislature, and served on the 
Committee of Cities and Boroughs. In 
1886, and for eleven consecutive years, he 
served as selectman, and during this 
period was given the position of chairman 
of the board. While Mr. Halladay was 
selectman, there were twenty miles of 
stone road constructed, together with 
seven iron bridges. The schools also 
showed a great improvement under his 
administration. From 1907 to 1914 he 
was the town clerk of Suffield, elected on 
both the Republican and Democratic 
tickets. For five years, January, 1908, 
to July, 1913, he was postmaster. At the 
time of the St. Louis Exposition, Mr. 
Halladay was chosen to take charge of 
the Connecticut tobacco exhibit there, 
and also in the Jamestown Exposition. 
He was a director of the Connecticut 
State Agricultural College at Storrs, Con- 
necticut, for many years, and also was an 
organizer of the Suffield Agricultural 
Society. Mr. Halladay held high stand- 
ing in the Masonic order ; he was a mem- 
ber of Apollo Lodge, No. 59, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Washington 
Chapter, No. 30, Royal Arch Masons ; 
Suffield Council, No. 23, Royal and Select 
Masters (all of Suffield) ; and Washington 
Commandery, No. 1, Knights Templar, 
and Sphinx Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of 
Hartford ; as well as of the Order of 
United American Mechanics, Lyman 
Council, and Gideon Granger Lodge, 
Knights of Pythias, both of Suffield. Mr. 
Halladay also was a member of the 
Tobacco Growers' Association, and one 



53 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of its executive committee. Both he and 
his family were members of the Second 
Baptist Church of Sufheld, and all took 
active interest in matters pertaining to 
the church. 

On November 12, 1879, Mr. Halladay 
married Eloise L. Warner, daughter of 
Charles C. and Jane E. (Holcomb) War- 
ner, born in Suffield, November 9, 1855. 
Mrs. Eloise L. (Warner) Halladay is a 
descendant of John Warner, the first 
member of the family in Suffield, about 
1690. His wife was Elizabeth (Mighel) 
Warner, and they were the parents of 
John Warner, Jr., born May 1, 1694. He 
married, in 1722, Elizabeth French, and 
their son, John Warner, was born August 

9, 1723 ; he married, in 1754, Mary , 

and they were the parents of Isaac War- 
ner, born August 24, 1760. The latter 
engaged in farming and the raising of 
cattle in Suffield, in which he was very 
successful. He was a Democrat, and a 
faithful member of the Baptist church. 
He married Adah Phelps, March 8, 1786, 
and she died on the homestead in Warner- 
town, July 29, 1824. Their son, Curtis 
Warner, was born June 5, 1793, in War- 
nertown, and was educated in the public 
schools. Afterwards he engaged in teach- 
ing for a number of years. Previous to 
his marriage, he was engaged in the ped- 
dling of tinware and Yankee notions in 
the States of Connecticut, Massachusetts 
and New York. On November 2, 1824, 
he married Parmelia Cushman, a native 
of Southwick, Massachusetts, a daughter 
of Simeon Merritt and Zibah (Moore) 
Cushman. She was descended from Rob- 
ert Cushman, who chartered the "May- 
flower" and attended to the business of 
the emigrants on the other side, but did 
not come over to this country on that 
ship. Mr. Warner was a Whig in poli- 
tics of the old line, a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, and he died 



in 1856, and his wife in 1884. Their eld- 
est son, Charles C. Warner, was born in 
Suffield, October 7, 1826, died July 6, 
1898; married, October 11, 1854, Jane E. 
Holcomb, born in Southwick, Massachu- 
setts, December 15, 1830, died in Suffield, 
September 16, 1892, and they were the 
parents of Eloise L. Warner, who became 
the wife of Edmund Halladay, as previ- 
ously noted. There were three children 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Edmund Halladay: 
1. Clarissa Jane, born June 21, 1882; mar- 
ried, September 1, 1909, Benjamin Judah 
Phelps, of Suffield. Mr. Phelps is at 
the present time the superintendent of 
schools at High Bridge, New Jersey. 2. 
Marjorie Eloise, born September 9, 1884, 
and is living at home with her mother. 3. 
Helen Kendall, born October 29, 1887, 
and also lives at home. 

The entire life of Mr. Halladay was de- 
voted to the progress and improvement of 
the town which gave him birth, and 
despite the many demands upon his time, 
he was always ready to make any sacri- 
fice in order that something or some one 
might be better for it. 



STRONG, Harry Barnard, 

Merchant, Financier. 

The Strong family has been one of the 
largest and best of the original families 
of New England. In "its widely ramified 
history we have a picture, on a broad 
scale, of men founding families in the fear 
of God, and training them to His service 
from generation to generation, according 
to the best typical forms in church and 
State of our ever-expanding home growth. 
They have ever been among the foremost 
in the land to found and to favor those 
great bulwarks of our civilization, the 
church and the school. Many have been 
the towns, the territories and the States 
into whose initial forms and processes of 



54 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



establishment they have poured the full 
currents of their life and strength. Few 
families have had more educators and 
professional men among them, scholars, 
physicians, lawyers, teachers, preachers, 
judges, senators and military officers ; and 
a host of successful business men whose 
high ideals and straightforward methods 
have won the confidence of the communi- 
ties in which they reside. 

It has been stated that the patronymic 
of the family was originally McStrachan, 
and that it has gone through the follow- 
ing changes : McStrachan, Strachan, 
Strachn, Strong. The family is an ancient 
one in England, the County of Shrop- 
shire being its original seat. One of the 
family married an heiress of Griffith, of 
the County of Caernarvon, Wales, and 
went there to reside in 1545. 

Richard Strong, of that family, was 
born in that county in 1561. In 1591 he 
removed to Taunton, Somersetshire, Eng- 
land, where he died in 1613, leaving a 
son John, then eight years of age, and a 
daughter Eleanor. John removed to Lon- 
don, and thence to Plymouth, England. 
The cause of the Puritans enlisted his 
sympathies, and he joined the company 
of one hundred and forty who sailed from 
Plymouth in the "Mary and John," March 
20, 1630, arriving at Nantasket, May 30, 
1630. 

This company finally decided upon a 
site for their settlement, which they 
called Dorchester. Having assisted in 
founding and developng the town of 
Dorchester, John Strong, in 1635, re- 
moved to Hingham. He was made free- 
man in Boston, March 9, 1636. On De- 
cember 4, 1638, we find him recorded as 
an inhabitant and proprietor of Taunton, 
Massachusetts, and he was made a free- 
man of the Plymouth Colony in the same 
year. He removed from Taunton to 
Windsor, Connecticut, probably about 
1645. That town had been settled in 1636 



by some of his Dorchester friends. John 
Strong was appointed one of the commit- 
tee of five leading citizens "to superin- 
tend and bring forward the settlement of 
that place." In 1659 he removed to 
Northampton, Massachusetts, of which 
he was one of the most active founders. 
There he lived for forty years, one of the 
leaders in affairs of church and State. He 
was a prosperous tanner and acquired 
considerable land. He was an elder in 
the church and is generally spoken of as 
Elder John Strong. 

He married, for his second wife, in 
December, 1630, Abigail, daughter of 
Thomas Ford, of Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts. She died July 6, 1688, the mother 
of sixteen children, after fifty-eight years 
of married life. John Strong died April 
14, 1699. Thomas Ford came to Amer- 
ica with John Strong, and was one of 
the founders of Dorchester. He was 
one of the early settlers of Windsor, Con- 
necticut; was deputy to the General Court 
in 1637-38-39-40; grand juror in 1643. He 
removed to Northampton, probably at the 
same time with John Strong in 1659. His 
wife died in Windsor, April 18, 1643. 

Thomas Strong, son of Elder John 
Strong, was a trooper in 1658, under 
Major Mason, at Windsor, and he re- 
moved to Northampton with his father. 
He married, December 5, 1660, for his 
first wife, Mary, daughter of Rev. Eph- 
raim Hewett, of Windsor. She died Feb- 
ruary 20, 1670-71. Thomas Strong died 
October 3, 1689. Rev. Ephraim Hewett 
had been settled at Wraxall, Warwick- 
shire, England, but was proceeded against 
in 1638 by Archbishop Laud, of unpleas- 
ant memory, for neglecting ceremonies, 
and came to America in 1639 with his 
wife Isabel, settling in Windsor. It was 
said of him,: "He was a man of superior 
talents and eminent usefulness." He died 
September 4, 1644. 

Asahel Strong, youngest child of 



55 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Thomas Strong, by his first wife, was born 
November 4, 1668. He removed to Farm- 
ington, Connecticut, where he engaged 
in farming. He married, June II, 1689, 
Margaret, said to be a daughter of Deacon 
Stephen Hart. Asahel Strong died Octo- 
ber 8, 1739. 

Captain Asahel (2) Strong, son of 
Asahel (1) Strong, was born October 13, 
1702; married, January 8, 1729, Ruth, 
born April 16, 1708, daughter of Hon. 
John and Abigail (Standley) Hooker. 
Captain Strong was a lawyer and a promi- 
nent man in the public affairs of the town. 
He died March 3 (or 30), 1751. Hon. 
John Hooker was born February 20, 1664- 
65 ; married, November 24, 1687, Abigail, 
daughter of Captain John and his second 
wife, Sarah (Fletcher) Standley. She 
was born in Farmington, July 25, 1669. 
Captain John Standley was a man of 
wealth and high social position, and had 
won distinction as a lieutenant and cap- 
tain in the Indian wars. Hon. John 
Hooker was one of the best known men 
of his day and for many years was the 
leading man in Farmington; was magis- 
trate ; judge of the Supreme Court of the 
colony, 1724-32; member of the Lower 
House of the Assembly, 1699-1723; then 
became member of the Upper House, 
serving twenty-one sessions ; was clerk 
two sessions and speaker six sessions ; 
was chosen assistant in 1723, and filled 
the office continuously for eleven years. 
He served on important committees, and 
was frequently appointed to settle diffi- 
culties in towns, churches, etc., and many 
other responsibilities were placed upon 
him, attesting his ability and the implicit 
confidence reposed in him. He is de- 
scribed as having "dark hair and dark 
eyes, and a dignity in his air and expres- 
sion that procured profound respect." 
Another description says : "He was a fine 
looking man, tall, very erect, and had a 



prominent large nose." He died Febru- 
ary 21, 1745-46. His wife died February 
21, 1742. His father, Rev. Samuel Hooker, 
was born in 1633 ; married, September 22, 
1658, Mary, daughter of Captain Thomas 
and Mary (Brown) Willet, of Plymouth, 
Massachusetts, where she was born No- 
vember 10, 1637. Rev. Samuel Hooker 
entered Harvard in 1651, and was gradu- 
ated in 1653 ; entered the ministry in 1657, 
and preached at Plymouth, Massachu- 
setts. He removed to Farmington, in 
1 661, where he preached until his death 
in 1697. He was famous as an eloquent 
preacher. Captain Thomas Willet was at 
that time a successful merchant at Plym- 
outh. He succeeded Captain Miles Stand- 
ish in command of the famous military 
company at Plymouth and he afterward 
became the first mayor of New York City. 
Rev. Samuel Hooker was the son of Rev. 
Thomas Hooker, a sketch of whom ap- 
pears elsewhere in this work. The latter 
was born in England about 1586; entered 
Emanuel College, Cambridge, in 1604; 
received degree of Bachelor of Arts in 
1608; that of Master of Arts in 161 1 ; 
entered a divinity course and was elected 
a fellow of the college. He left college 
before completing the course and received 
the degree of Bachelor of Divinity. He 
came to America in the ship "Griffin," 
in 1633, and was settled as the pastor 
of Newton, Massachusetts, that year. 
Owing to differences with the leaders of 
the Massachusetts colony, more political 
and commercial than religious in their 
nature — though in his day religion and 
politics were not divorced — Rev. Thomas 
Hooker, in 1636, gun in one hand, and 
Bible in the other, led a company of his 
followers through the wilderness to what 
is now Hartford, Connecticut, where he 
became the leader of the colony. He died 
in 1647, leaving an estate inventoried at 
one pound, one hundred and thirty-six 



56 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



shilling and fifteen pence, which shows 
he was one of the wealthy men of New 
England. The name of his first wife, 
whose youngest child was Samuel, is not 
known. 

Rev. Cyprian Strong, son of Captain 
Asahel (2) and Ruth (Hooker) Strong, 
was born May 26, 1743. He was gradu- 
ated at Yale in 1763; served as town 
clerk of Farmington in 1766; and was 
ordained a pastor of the church at what 
is now Portland, Connecticut, August 9, 
1767. It is said that "his preaching 
abounded in clear reasoning and sound 
instruction rather than in power of imagi- 
nation or fervor of feeling." He married 
for his second wife, May 4, 1786, Abigail, 
born August 8, 1760, daughter of Judge 
Ebenezer White, of Chatham, now Port- 
land, Connecticut, and Ruth (Wells) 
White, of East Hartford, daughter of 
Captain Samuel, Jr., and Esther (Ells- 
worth) Wells. She died May 2, 1795, 
aged thirty-five years. Rev. Cyprian 
Strong died November 17, 181 1. (An ex- 
tensive sketch of his life and character 
appears in volume I, Sprague's "Annals 
of the American Pulpit"). 

Erastus Strong, son of Rev. Cyprian 
Strong, was born May 6, 1789. He was 
a farmer and for many years was clerk 
of the Congregational church in Portland. 
He married, April 22, 1818, Mary, born 
April 28, 1800, daughter of Abel and Mary 
(Cruttenden) Lewis, of Portland, Con- 
necticut. 

John Ellsworth Strong, son of Erastus 
Strong, was born August 28, 1824, in 
Portland, Connecticut, and died in Hart- 
ford. He was a retail hatter in Hartford, 
following this line throughout his active 
business years. He was a captain of foot 
guards for many years, and was elected 
major, a commission which he resigned, 
however, two days after he received it. 
He was affiliated with the Masonic order. 



He married, February 1, i860, Eunice, 
daughter of Captain Henry and Eunice 
(Clark) Barnard. Captain Henry Bar- 
nard gained his title through sea service ; 
he was a cousin of Henry Barnard, the 
educator. Mr. and Mrs. Strong were the 
parents of two children : Harry Barnard, 
mentioned below ; and Mary Amelia, born 
October 15, 1863, married A. W. De- 
barthe, of Wethersfield, who died May 7, 
1917, at the age of fifty-six years. 

Harry Barnard Strong, son of John 
Ellsworth and Eunice (Barnard) Strong, 
was born in Hartford, Connecticut, July 
25, 1 861. He was educated in the gram- 
mar and high schools of his native place, 
being a member of the class of 1880 in the 
latter institution. Upon leaving school 
he entered the employ of "The Beehive," 
where he remained a short time. In 1876 
he entered the employ of Brown, Thom- 
son & Company, which was then a small 
concern, but now carries on the largest 
department store business in Connecticut. 
His rise in this connection has been rapid 
and he has been a member of the firm 
since 1895. Mr. Strong is a director of 
the Phoenix National Bank and the Syn- 
dicate Trailing Company of New York 
City. He is affiliated with the great 
Masonic body, being a member of Lafa- 
yette Lodge, No. 100, of Hartford ; the 
Hartford Golf Club ; City Club of Hart- 
ford ; Country Club of Farmington ; Au- 
tomobile Club, and Wethersfield Country 
Club. His residence is in the town of 
Wethersfield. 

Mr. Strong married, October 20, 1886, 
Hattie, daughter of William Meggat, of 
Wethersfield. Mr. and Mrs. Strong have 
three children: 1. James M., born Sep- 
tember 15, 1888, was educated at the 
Westminster School, Simsbury, Connec- 
ticut, and is now associated with the 
house of Brown, Thomson & Company, 
of Hartford. 2. Eunice Barnard, born 



57 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



March 29, 1894, was educated at the 
Westover School, Middlebury, Connecti- 
cut, and was married February 24, 1916, 
to Burton Bolles. 3. Henry Barnard, born 
October 5, 1899, is a student at Hotchkiss 
School, Lakeville, Connecticut, preparing 
for college. 

(The Barnard Line). 

The Barnard family from which Mr. 
Strong is descended was founded in Con- 
necticut as early as 1644, when Francis 
Barnard was residing there. He was 
born about 1616-17, in England, was a 
malster by trade, was one of the first set- 
tlers of Hadley, Massachusetts, a free- 
man in 1666, and died February 3, 1698. 
He married, August 15, 1644, Hannah 
Marvyn, a daughter of Matthew Marvyn, 
an early settler of Hartford. 

They were the parents of Captain Sam- 
uel Barnard, born 1654, in Hartford, died 
October 17, 1728, in Hadley. He mar- 
ried, November 5, 1678, Mary Colton, 
born September 22, 1649, daughter of 
George and Deborah (Gardner) Colton, 
of Springfield, Massachusetts. 

Their son, John Barnard, was born 
May 6, 1688, in Hadley. He purchased 
land in Hartford, March 15, 1733, and in 
several subsequent years, October 14, 

1738, in 1739. i74i, 1753-54- He was a 
blacksmith by trade, and is called "the 
blacksmith" to distinguish him from an- 
other John Barnard living in Hartford at 
the same time. He married Catherine 
Case, of East Hartford, who died July 8, 
1755. He died at Hartford about 1771. 

His eldest child, John Barnard, born 
1731-32, died December 28, 1813, in Hart- 
ford. He married Hannah, daughter of 
Jonathan and Tabitha Bigelow, of Hart- 
ford, born about 1739, died March 13, 
1800. 

Their second son, Dorus Barnard, born 
1759, in Hartford, died January 18, 1818. 



He married Abigail Dodd, of Hartford, 
born 1759-60, baptized February 24, 1760, 
at First Church, Hartford, died Novem- 
ber 23, 181 1, a daughter of Timothy and 
Abigail (Benton) Dodd, of Hartford. 

Their second son, Captain Henry Bar- 
nard, was born January 24, 1788, in Hart- 
ford, in a house which stood on the site 
of the present Barnard block, and which 
was his home until his death, June 4, 1861. 
In early life he followed the sea and 
was engaged in West India and South 
American trade. He was the owner of 
considerable land in and about Hartford, 
and after retiring from the sea engaged in 
its cultivation. The family had been 
identified with the South Congregational 
church of Hartford, but Captain Henry 
Barnard assisted in the organization of 
the Universalist church of Hartford, and 
the construction of its church building. 
Politically, a Whig, he was among the 
most public-spirited citizens of Hartford, 
and was employed by the government in 
establishing the channel of the Connecti- 
cut river below Hartford. He married 
Eunice Clark, who was born February 
23, 1790, in Hartford, and died December 
6, 1873, a daughter of Dorus and Clarissa 
Clark. Mr. and Mrs. Barnard were the 
parents of Eunice Barnard, who became 
the wife of John Ellsworth Strong, in 
i860, as above noted. 



WILSON, James Cornelius, 

Physician and Surgeon. 

Dr. Wilson's grandfather, Cornelius 
Wilson, born about 1820, in Kennebunk, 
Maine, became a millwright, residing for 
some time at Biddeford, Maine, and later 
located in Palmer, Massachusetts, where 
he was agent and superintendent of the 
Thorndike Mills. He married Sarah F. 
Emery, who was born April 25, 1828, in 
Kennebunk, a descendant of Anthony 



58 





<f. l^^^J^/J^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Emery, who was born soon after 1600, in 
Romsey, Hants, England, second son of 
John and Agnes Emery. With his elder 
brother, John Emery, who was born in 
1598, he came in the ship "James," which 
landed at Boston, June 3, 1635. After a 
short residence at Newbury, he removed 
in 1646 to Dover, New Hampshire, 
whence he removed in 1649 to tnat part 
of Kittery, Maine, which is now Eliot. 
His residence in Dover was at Dover 
Point, where he kept an ordinary, was 
selectman of the town in 1644 and 1648. 
Near the close of the latter year, he pur- 
chased a house and lands in Kittery, but 
continued to reside in Dover until the 
next year, when he served as grand juror 
in that town. In Kittery he received four 
grants of land, served as selectman and 
constable. In 1660 he sold his property 
in that town and removed to Portsmouth, 
Rhode Island, where he was made free- 
man, September 29, of that year, held 
various offices, and was deputy to the 
General Court in 1672. The last record 
of him is in 1680, when he deeded some 
land to a daughter. He was accompanied 
from England by his wife, Frances, who 
was the mother of James Emery, born 
about 1630, in England. He had grants 
of land in Kittery in 1653, 1656, 1659, and 
1671, was selectman eight years, deputy 
two years, and filled various other offices. 
He was a man of large frame, weighing 
more than three hundred and fifty pounds, 
and no carriage made in his day could 
carry his weight. When he made a trip 
to Boston, he was accustomed to ride in 
a chair placed in an ox cart drawn by a 
pair of steers. During his last years he 
resided at Dedham, Massachusetts, and 
died before 1714. His wife's baptismal 
name was Elizabeth, and their fifth son, 
Joseph Emery, born 1670, resided in Ber- 
wick, Maine, was a deacon in 1717, and 
ruling elder in 1735, held many civil 



offices, was selectman three years, and 
died between February 6, and December 
26, 1738, leaving an estate valued at five 
hundred and nineteen pounds and ten 
shillings. He married, April 6, 1696, 
Charity Nason, daughter of Jonathan and 
Sarah (Jenkins) Nason, granddaughter of 
Richard and Sarah Nason, who came 
from Stratford-on-Avon, the home of 
Shakespeare. She died between 1748 and 
1752. Her fifth son, Jabez Emery, bap- 
tized July 13, 1718, settled in that part of 
Wells, Maine, which is now Kennebunk, 
and died May 19, 1790. He married, Feb- 
ruary 6, 1745, Elizabeth Butler, probably 
the eldest child of Moses and Mercy 
(Wentworth) Butler, of Kittery, baptized 
September 2, 1727. Her fourth son, Isaac 
Emery, born April 22, 1756, in Kenne- 
bunk, lived in that town, where he was a 
merchant and importer, and died June 14, 
1826. He married, May 15, 1783, Eunice 
Perkins, born March 6, 1761, died August 
20, 1834. Her second son, Benjamin 
Emery, born February 26, 1793, in Kenne- 
bunk, died there, July 20, 1871. He mar- 
ried, October 5, 1817, Sally Towne, and 
their third daughter, Sarah F. Emery, 
born April 25, 1828, became the wife of 
Cornelius Wilson, of Biddeford, Maine. 
Their son, Edward Everett Wilson, 
born about 1855, in Biddeford, Maine, 
married Annie Elizabeth Hawks, a de- 
scendant of John Hawks, who was in 
Windsor, Connecticut, as early as 1640; 
there his name appears as Hake. In 1659 
he removed to Hadley, Massachusetts, 
being one of the first settlers of that 
town, and was buried there June 30, 1662. 
His widow, Elizabeth, married Robert 
Hinsdale, died September 29, 1685. Their 
fourth son, Eliezer Hawks, born Decem- 
ber 20, 1655, was one of the first settlers 
of Deerfield, where he was deacon of the 
church, very prominent in town affairs, 
and served continuously in some official 



59 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



capacity. He served under Captain 
Turner in the Indian fight at Peskeomp- 
skut and escaped without injury, died 
March 27, 1727, in Deerfield. He mar- 
ried, April 30, 1689, Judith Smead, born 
February 15, 1665, died January 27, 1719, 
daughter of William and Elizabeth (Law- 
rence) Smead. This marriage is the first 
on the records of Deerfield. Their young- 
est child, Sergeant John Hawks, the hero 
of the French and Indian wars, was born 
December 5, 1707, in Deerfield, Massa- 
chusetts, was early in the military serv- 
ice, and was wounded, May 9, 1746, at 
Fort Massachusetts. In August of that 
year, he was sergeant in command of the 
small force of twenty-two men in that 
fortress which was attacked by a force 
of seven hundred French and Indians. 
After a defense of twenty-eight hours, he 
was compelled to surrender because his 
ammunition was exhausted. In the last 
French war, he was a sergeant and lieu- 
tenant and had charge of the Colrain 
forts. In 1758 he commanded a company 
under General Abercrombie in the attack 
on old Fort Ticonderoga. He was a 
major under General Amherst, in 1759, 
and lieutenant-colonel in 1760. He was 
also prominent in civil life in Deerfield, 
where he filled various town offices, was 
nine years selectman, and was buried 
there June 6, 1784. Eliezer Hawks, eldest 
son of Eliezer and Judith (Smead) 
Hawks, was born December 26, 1693, in 
Deerfield, and lived for some years on the 
Hawks place at Wapping. In 1743 he 
purchased five hundred acres of land at 
Charlemont, Massachusetts, where he re- 
sided until after 1762, when he removed 
to Deerfield, and died there May 14, 1774. 
He married, November 24, 1714, Abigail 
Wells, born 1697, died May 7, 1768, proba- 
ably a daughter of Ephraim and Abigail 
(Allis) Wells, of Colchester. Their 
youngest child, Waitstill Hawks, bap- 



tized August 30, 1 741, in Deerfield, set- 
tled in the portion of that town known as 
Turnip Yard, and died February 11, 1811. 
He married, April 22, 1771, Anna Spof- 
ford, born about 1750, daughter of Jona- 
than and Ruth (Sanderson) Spofford, of 
Deerfield. The eldest son of this mar- 
riage, Silas Hawks, born April 26, 1774, 
lived in Charlemont and Conway, but re- 
moved to Deerfield. where he died De- 
cember 19, 1831. He married, February 
28, 1798, Mary Blodgett, born 1780, 
daughter of Timothy and Melicent 
(Perry) Blodgett. Their seventh son, 
James Austin Hawks, born June 3, 1820, 
in Deerfield, removed when a young man 
to Belchertown, Massachusetts, to learn 
the trade of carriage-trimmer, a business 
which then flourished in that town. He 
married, about 1843, Ruth Peeso, of 
Belchertown. She was descended from 
an old family with romantic history. Jean 
(John) Picot was a descendant of an 
ancient and honorable French family. He 
was taken from the coast of France when 
five years of age and brought to Canada 
by sailors. He made his way into the 
interior and lived among the Indians, and 
engaged in campaigns with the French 
and Indians ; finally settled at Brookfield, 
Massachusetts. There he married and 
reared several children. The name ap- 
pears in the early records of Massachu- 
setts as Peeso, and this was modified by 
many of the descendants to Pease, under 
which name they are still known. Many 
retained the form Peeso, and a son, John 
Peeso, who lived in Brookfield, was mar- 
ried there October 6, 1763, to Sarah Strat- 
ton, born July 6, 1742, in Watertown, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Samuel and 
Hannah Stratton. Their eldest child, 
John, was born June 20, 1765, and settled 
in Belchertown. where he took up land 
in Governor Belcher's grant ; built a 
house at North Belchertown, which stood 



60 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



until recent years but is now fallen. He 
married Sarah Howard, a descendant of 
brave Indian fighters. Their son, John 
Peeso, born about 1790, in Belchertown, 
was the father of Ruth Peeso, who be- 
came the wife of James Austin Hawks; 
they were the parents of Annie Elizabeth 
Hawks, who became the wife of Edward 
Everett Wilson, of Biddeford, Maine. He 
lived for some time in Palmer, Massachu- 
setts, whence he removed to Hartford, 
Connecticut, where he was for many 
years engaged in the insurance business. 
He is living there at the present time 

(I9I7)- 

Dr. James Cornelius Wilson, son of Ed- 
ward Everett and Annie Elizabeth 
(Hawks) Wilson, was born May 10, 1881, 
in Palmer, Massachusetts, and when two 
years of age removed with his father to 
Hartford, and the public schools of that 
city supplied his early education. In 
1900 he entered the University of Ver- 
mont at Burlington, Vermont, where he 
pursued a medical course and was gradu- 
ated in 1904. For about a year he prac- 
ticed his profession at Hinesburg, Ver- 
mont, and removed thence to Hartford, 
where he became an interne in the Hart- 
ford Hospital, continuing two years, thus 
gaining a most profitable experience in 
preparation for his subsequently success- 
ful career. He has continued in practice 
to the present time in Hartford, for five 
years was police surgeon, and is at pres- 
ent, medical examiner for the town of 
Bloomfield, Connecticut. Dr. Wilson is 
an assiduous student, keeps abreast of 
the times, and has been extremely suc- 
cessful in practice. He has given much 
time to the care of patients in the New- 
ington Home for Incurables without com- 
pensation. He was one of the first to in- 
troduce the bone-grafting operation in 
this section, and has attained a high repu- 
tation as a surgeon and specialist in the 



treatment of bone disorders. He is a 
member of Patriot Lodge, No. 33, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Hinesburg, Ver- 
mont, a member of the Hartford City 
Club, and Hartford City Medical Society, 
Hartford County Medical Society, the 
Hartford Orthopedic Medical Society, and 
of the Connecticut State Medical Society. 
He is also a member of the Congrega- 
tional church, and in politics is a Repub- 
lican. 

Dr. Wilson married, December 15, 1908, 
Nellie Beatrice Armstrong, daughter of 
Andrew and Minnie (Willingale) Arm- 
strong, of St. John, New Brunswick. 



ANDERSON, James Reed, 

Agriculturist. 

Mr. Anderson's father, William Ander- 
son, was a Scotchman, who settled in the 
city of New Orleans, where he was a 
cotton inspector, a man of prominence, 
and died in 1844. He was a slave holder, 
and one of his chattels, who was a house 
servant, came with his widow to Weth- 
ersfield, where she lived many years and 
died at the Anderson home. He married, 
in 1840, Hannah Belden Welles, who with 
her sister had gone from Wethersfield to 
New Orleans, where they kept a millinery 
store. In 1856 she returned to Wethers- 
field, where she continued to reside until 
her death on the homestead which had 
belonged for many generations to her 
father's family. She was born February 
4, 1804, in Wethersfield, a descendant of 
Governor Thomas Welles, who was one 
of the most active and valuable citizens 
in the pioneer colony on the Connecticut 
river. 

Governor Thomas Welles was born in 
1598, in Essex county, England, and his 
property there was confiscated for polit- 
ical reasons. He came to America as 
secretary to Lords Say and Seal, located 



61 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



about 1636 at Saybrook, and in the fol- 
lowing year was a magistrate at Hart- 
ford, where he continued twenty-two 
years to fill that office. In 1654 and in 
four other years he was deputy to the 
General Court ; from 1655 to 1658 was 
Governor of the Connecticut Colony ; held 
other offices of trust and honor ; died Jan- 
uary 14, 1660, and was buried in Hartford. 
He married Elizabeth Hart, who died in 
1640. 

John Welles, son of Governor Thomas 
Welles, born about 162 1, removed to 
Stratford, Connecticut, and was admitted 
freeman by the General Court, April 20, 
1645. I n l ^S^~57' ne was deputy to the 
General Court, was a magistrate in 1658- 
59, and died August 7, 1659. He married, 
in 1647, Elizabeth Bourne, undoubtedly a 
daughter of John Bourne, who was early 
in Wethersfield, later at Middletown, 
Connecticut. She married (second) in 
March, 1663, John Wilcoxson, of Strat- 
ford. 

Robert Welles, third son of John and 
Elizabeth Welles, was born in 165 1, and 
was committed by his father to the care 
of his paternal grandfather. Governor 
Welles, who made him his heir and reared 
and educated him in Wethersfield. He 
was made a freeman in October, 1661 ; 
was captain of the train band at the north 
end of Wethersfield, in September, 1689 ; 
was deputy 1690-91-92-93-94, 1697-98-99- 
1700-01, in 1705, 1707-08-09-10-11-12-13- 
14. He also served as commissioner, jus- 
tice of the peace, and member of the 
Council, and died June 22, 1714. His 
house was one of those fortified for pro- 
tection against Indian attacks in 1704. 
He married, June 9, 1675, Elizabeth Good- 
rich, born 1658, died February 17, 1698, 
daughter of William and Sarah (Marvin) 
Goodrich. 

Captain Robert (2) Welles, son of Cap- 
tain Robert (1) Welles, was born about 



1684, in Wethersfield, and was among the 
foremost citizens of that place in public 
affairs, and in church and school matters. 
He was appointed lieutenant of Hartford 
Dragoons in October, 1714, captain in 
1726, and died before September 14, 1738, 
when the inventory of his property was 
made. This amounted to £4708-15^ in- 
cluding much silver, a silver hilted sword 
and fine wardrobe and furniture. He mar- 
ried, December 12, 1706, Sarah Wolcott, 
of Wethersfield, daughter of Samuel and 
Judith (Appelton) Wolcott, last named a 
daughter of Worshipful Samuel Appel- 
ton, of Ipswich, Massachusetts, of whom 
there is further mention elsewhere in this 
work. 

Hezekiah Welles, son of Captain Rob- 
ert (2) and Sarah (Wolcott) Welles, was 
born December 9, 1725, and inherited 
from his father lands which the latter had 
purchased from Judith Wolcott. Heze- 
kiah Welles was captain of the Wethers- 
field Company in the Revolution, which 
served at Boston from January to March, 
1776; also commanded a company in New 
Haven in 1779, and in 1780 a company of 
the Sixth Connecticut Militia. He died 
October 1, 1804. On December 17, 1747, 
he married Mary Boardman, born March 
3, 1727, died May 23, 1786, daughter of 
Joseph and Mary (Belden) Boardman. 

Hezekiah (2) Welles, fourth son of 
Hezekiah (1) Welles, born September 20, 
1770, baptized three days later, lived in 
Wethersfield, and died July 1, 1809. He 
married there, October 7, 1798, Hannah 
Welles, born September 11, 1776, daugh- 
ter of Major Chester and Hannah (Bel- 
den) Welles, of Wethersfield. Their 
third child, Hannah Belden Welles, born 
December 4, 1804, was married in New 
Orleans, 1840, to William Anderson, and 
became the mother of James Reed Ander- 
son. 

James Reed Anderson was born De- 



62 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cember 16, 1842, in the city of New Or- 
leans, and was left a half orphan at two 
years of age. In 1856 his mother removed 
to Connecticut and made her home in 
Wethersfield, where she died April 8, 
1869. Mr. Anderson was educated in the 
public schools, early engaged in agricul- 
ture, and has been most of his life located 
on the farm where he now lives in Weth- 
ersfield. A part of it was long in the 
Welles family with which Mr. Anderson's 
mother was connected. His estate em- 
braces one hundred and forty acres, one 
of the largest farms in the section, a por- 
tion of it having formerly belonged to the 
Warner family. Mr. Anderson has long 
been active in the promotion of the inter- 
ests of Wethersfield, has served as select- 
man, and is a senior warden of Trinity 
Episcopal Church of Wethersfield. Polit- 
ically a Democrat, he has usually sup- 
ported his party, but did not accept the 
financial theories of William Jennings 
Bryan and did not support him for the 
presidency. 

He married, October 5, 1887, Minnie 
Jane Case, who was born February 14, 
i860, in Hartford, daughter of Julius 
Alonzo and Jennie (Crosby) Case, de- 
scended from one of the oldest Connecti- 
cut families, founded by John Case, who 
was born in England and came in the ship 
"Dorset" from Gravesend, England, Sep- 
tember 3, 1635, his age being then nine- 
teen years. The name is a very ancient 
one in England and is thought to have 
been derived from an Anglo-Norman 
word, meaning "hazard." The more rea- 
sonable derivation, however, is from the 
latin word "casa," meaning a house or 
cottage. The name appears in the Hun- 
dred Rolls of England in the thirteenth 
century. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson are the 
parents of the following children: 1. 
Gertrude, born September 28, 1888, a 
graduate of the Hartford High School, a 



gifted teacher, now employed at the 
Northeast School of Hartford and very 
much in love with her work. 2. William 
Case, born February 3, 1891, graduated 
from the Wethersfield High School, and 
is now associated with Allyn, Hall & 
Company, of Boston, leading interior 
decorators ; he married Edna Louise Hart 
and has a daughter, Barbara Hart Ander- 
son, born April 27, 191 7. 3. James Welles, 
born June 6, 1893, resides at home in 
Wethersfield, and is manager of the 
paternal farm. 4. Frank Edwards, born 
January 17, 1896, was educated in the 
Wethersfield High School, and is now 
associated with the Scottish Union In- 
surance Company of Hartford. 5. Mal- 
comb Treat, born February 1, 1903, grad- 
uated from the South School of Hartford 
in 1917. The Anderson residence on 
Broad street is one of the best in the 
town, surrounded by all the accessories of 
a substantial New England home. 

John Case settled in Hartford, but re- 
moved soon to Maspeth Kills, now New- 
town, Long Island, in February, 1640. He 
sold several pieces of property in Hart- 
ford and vicinity, but returned to Con- 
necticut about 1656, and settled at Wind- 
sor, where he received in 1667 a grant of 
land in that part of the town now Sims- 
bury. In 1670 he was deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court, and again represented Sims- 
bury in 1674-75 and 1691. During King 
Philip's War, Mr. Case took refuge with 
his brothers in Newtown. His will, made 
in 1700, shows that he owned seventeen 
parcels of land, a corn mill and saw mill, 
and his inventory shows that he was a 
man of wealth for his day. He died Feb- 
ruary 21, 1704. His wife, Sarah, born 
1636, died November 3, 1691, at Sims- 
bury, was the daughter of William and 
Agnes Spencer, early settlers of Hart- 
ford. 

Their son, William Case, was born June 



63 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



5, 1665, and died March 31, 1700. He 
married, in 1688, Elizabeth Holcomb, who 
was born April 4, 1670, in Windsor, 
daughter of Joshua and Ruth (Sherwood) 
Holcomb. She was twice married after 
his death. 

Their son, James Case, was born March 
12, 1693, lived on the paternal homestead 
in Terry's Plain, Simsbury, and died Sep- 
tember 26, 1759. He married, in 1715, 
Esther Fithin, of Newark, New Jersey, 
who died September 19, 1769. 

Their son, Amasa Case, born October 
18, 1731, died August 18, 1824. He lived 
in Terry's Plain, and served as a soldier 
of the Revolution from August 24 to Sep- 
tember 25, 1776, as a part of Lieutenant 
Job Case's company. He had five wives. 
He married (first) in 1752, Elizabeth Hos- 
kins, born about 1732, daughter of Rob- 
ert and Elizabeth (Buckland) Hoskins, 
died May 27, 1764. 

Their son, Amasa (2) Case, was born 
October 29, 1753, and lived in YVestover's 
Plain in Simsbury, where he died June 23, 
1834. He married Mercy Hillyer, born in 
1763, died September 3, 1809. 

Their fourth son, Julius Case, was born 
May 22, 1790, and died November 11, 
1834. He married Ann Phelps, daugh- 
ter of Noble and Abigail (Merrills-Hum- 
phrey) Phelps, born August 4, 1803, died 
November 22, 1843. Abigail Phelps was 
the widow of Abraham Humphrey and 
daughter of Benoni and Lois Merrills. 

Their eldest child, Julius Alonzo Case, 
was born December 13, 1832, in Sims- 
bury, grew up in Poquonock, and settled 
in Hartford where he engaged in mercan- 
tile business in the employ of Henry C. 
Ransom. Later he became a partner in 
the firm of Case & Prentice, wholesale 
milliners in the old Hills Block. He died 
September 21, 1886, in Wethersfield, 
where he had made his home during the 
last ten years of his life, continuing in 



business up to the day of his death. He 
was an ardent Republican in political 
principle, and was a member and vestry- 
man in old Christ Episcopal Church in 
Hartford. He was a very genial man, 
firm in principle and of strong character. 
He married, September 24, 1857, Jennie 
Crosby, who was born June 17, 1839. 

Their eldest child, Minnie Jane Case, 
became the wife of James Reed Anderson, 
as previously noted. 

Jennie (Crosby) Case was a descendant 
of early pioneers of New England. One 
of these, Elder William Brewster, born 
in Scrooby, Nottinghamshire, England, 
in 1559, was one of the founders of the 
Plymouth colony in Massachusetts. He 
was educated at the University of Cam- 
bridge, was postmaster at Scrooby until 
1604, came over on the "Mayflower" with 
his wife, Mary, and died about April 18, 
1643. 

His daughter, Patience Brewster, born 
in England, came to Plymouth in the 
ship "Anne," in 1623, and married, August 
5, 1624, Governor Thomas Prence, this 
being the ninth marriage celebrated in the 
colony. Thomas Prence came from Eng- 
land in the ship "Fortune" in 1621, was 
Governor in 1634 and in 163S, being annu- 
ally elected thereafter until 1673, the year 
of his death. Patience (Brewster) Prence 
died in 1634. 

Their second daughter, Mercy Prence, 
born about 1630, in Plymouth, removed 
with her father's family to Eastham in 
1645, an d married there, February 13, 
1650, Major John Freeman, who was long 
prominent in church and colonial affairs, 
and died in that part of Eastham now 
Orleans, October 19, 1719, in his ninety- 
eighth year. His wife, Mercy, died in 
what is now Orleans, September 28, 171 1, 
in her eighty-first year. 

Their eldest son, John Freeman, mar- 
ried, December 14, 1672, Sarah, daughter 



64 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of William Myrick, and settled in that 
part of Harwich which is now Brewster. 

Their fourth daughter, Patience Free- 
man, married, October 24, 1706, Eleazur 
Crosby, of Harwich, and settled in Brew- 
ster, where he died November 9, 1759, in 
his eightieth year, and she died January 
28, 1732. 

Their third son, Isaac Crosby, was born 
October 8, 1719, married, in 1742, Mercy 
Foster. 

Their son, Sylvanus Crosby, born June 
12, 1770, married, October 15, 1796, 
Eunice Paddock, born October 3, 1778. 

Their son, Nathaniel Paddock Crosby, 
married Jane Goodsell, and they were the 
parents of Jennie Crosby, born June 17, 
1839, wno became the wife of Julius 
Alonzo Case, as previously noted. 

Another line of the ancestry of Mrs. 
Anderson is traced from Sergeant Francis 
Nichols, who was born in England, and 
was among the first settlers at Stratford, 
Connecticut, in 1639, being an original 
proprietor of the town, and distributed his 
lands among his children before he died. 
He was sergeant of the local militia com- 
pany. The name of his first wife, who 
was the mother of his children, is un- 
known. 

His son, Isaac Nichols, was probably 
born in England, settled at Stratford, and 
died there in 1695. His wife's Christian 
name was Margaret. 

Their second son, Isaac Nichols, born 
March 12, 1654, at Stratford, owned a 
house there, and died in 1690. His wife's 
Christian name was Mary. 

Their second son, Richard Nichols, 
born November 26, 1678, at Stratford, was 
a farmer there, and died September 20, 
1756. He married, June 3, 1702, Comfort, 
daughter of Theophilus Sherman. She 
died February 1 1, 1727. 

Their eldest child, Theophilus Nichols, 
was born March 31, 1703, at Stratford, 
and died in 1774. His death was caused 

Conn — 5—5 65 



by a cannon ball, which was preserved 
and fastened by a chain to his tombstone. 
He married, January 2, 1724, Sarah, 
daughter of Lieutenant Ebenezer Curtis, 
born about 1707, died September 26, 1769, 
aged 62 years. 

Philip Nichols, second son of Theo- 
philus and Sarah (Curtis) Nichols, was 
born January 5, 1727, in Stratford, where 
he made his home, and died May 13, 1807, 
leaving an estate valued above twenty- 
five thousand pounds. He was a man of 
much influence in public affairs, for many 
years a magistrate, a large land owner 
and slave owner. He dealt extensively 
in live stock which he exported, together 
with produce of many kinds, to the West 
Indies. He married, October 9, 1753, 
Mehitable Peet, who was the mother of 
his eldest child, William. 

William Nichols, born March 10, 1755, 
was very ill treated by his stepmother, 
Mary (Prince) Nichols, who would not 
allow him to sit at table with the family 
and he was compelled to dine with the 
servants and upon a scanty allowance at 
that. Through her influence, his father 
bequeathed to him only £1,000, while her 
children inherited a large property. Pie 
married Prudence Edwards, of Chestnut 
Hill, Bridgeport, Connecticut, a descend- 
ant of Henry Stewart Edwards, Duke of 
York, and heir apparent to the English 
throne. He was an officer in the Rebel- 
lion in the year 1700, and was sentenced 
to be hung. On account of his high stand- 
ing in society he obtained permission to 
ride to the place of execution on a fleet 
horse. His clothes were lined with gold 
pieces, as were his stirrups, and the but- 
tons on his clothing were made of various 
pieces of money. Under the laxity of the 
guards, he put spurs to his horse and rode 
until the animal fell dead under him. He 
then took to the woods and was secreted 
by an old woman and escaped after 
guards had searched the house for him. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He made his way to the coast and took 
passage for America. For some time 
after his arrival in Connecticut, he was 
known as "the Duke," but presently 
assumed the name of John Edwards. He 
settled on Chestnut Hill, where he had a 
view of Black Rock Harbor. He married 
Mary, daughter of Rev. Mr. Hanford, of 
Norwalk. Their son, John Edwards, 
married Rebecca Porter, whose youngest 
child, Patience, became the wife of Wil- 
liam Nichols, as previously recorded. 

Prudence Nichols, third daughter of 
William and Patience (Edwards) Nich- 
ols, became the wife of Captain William 
Goodsell, a descendant of Captain Thomas 
Goodsell, a native of Wales, who sailed 
from Liverpool, England, to this country 
about 1768, and settled in Branford, Con- 
necticut, where he was a prominent man. 
In the year following his arrival here, he 
married Sarah Hemenway, and they were 
the parents of John Goodsell, born De- 
cember 2i, 1705, was educated at Yale 
College, and was the first minister of the 
Church of Christ on Greenfield Hill, Fair- 
field, in 1726, and died in 1763. He mar- 
ried, in 1724, Mary Lewis, of Old Mill, 
Stratford, and they were the parents of 
William Goodsell, who married Prudence 
Nichols, daughter of William Nichols. 
William and Prudence (Nichols) Good- 
sell were the parents of Jane Goodsell, 
born November 15, 1808, died April 2, 
1872; married, February 14, 1831, Na- 
thaniel Paddock Crosby, and they were 
the parents of Jennie Crosby, born June 
17, 1839, and was married, September 24, 
1857, to Julius Alonzo Case, as above 
noted. 



WOLFF, Arthur J., M. D., 

Surgeon, Specialist, Author. 

An analysis of the life record of Dr. 
Arthur J. Wolff, gynecologist, also city 



bacteriologist of Hartford, one of the rep- 
resentative citizens of that city, shows 
that keen discrimination, unflagging in- 
dustry and a thorough knowledge of his 
chosen profession constitute the princi- 
pal elements in the success which has 
crowned his efforts. He is a native of 
London, England, born June 7, 1855, son 
of Dr. Arthur S. and Sarah (Ansell) 
Wolff. 

Dr. Arthur S. Wolff was born in Lyons, 
France, in 1819, and died in Brownsville, 
Texas, in October, 1904. He was a man 
of splendid classical education and un- 
usually broad and thorough training in 
medicine and surgery for his day. He 
received his classical education at the 
famous University of Lauvain, which has 
gone down in the ruthless devastation of 
the present European war. After his 
graduation from that institution, he pur- 
sued a course in medicine at the Univer- 
sity of Leyden, in Holland, a city made 
famous as the residence of the Pilgrim 
Fathers prior to their coming to America. 
After completing the course there, he 
pursued post-graduate studies at the 
Academy of Medicine in Paris, France. 
After completing his studies there he de- 
voted a period of time to extensive travel 
in Europe, after which he became an 
interne in one of the Paris hospitals. 
From there he went into the French army 
as a surgeon, serving in the Algiers cam- 
paign. In recognition of his work he was 
made a member of the Legion of Honor, 
the cross he received being now in the 
possession of his son, Dr. Arthur J. Wolff. 
He also went with the French army into 
the Crimea. He then located in London, 
England, where he was married, and also 
practiced his profession until 1858, in 
which year he emigrated to the United 
States. He located in New York City 
and practiced there until the outbreak of 
the Civil War. He served as surgeon of 



66 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Guard Lafayette, Fifty-fifth New 
York Regiment (French Zouaves), and 
went out under General LaGall, and was 
later with General De Trobriand. He 
was mustered out at Plattsburg, New 
York, where he settled and practiced sur- 
gery until 1875. He was unusually suc- 
cessful, and built up a large and lucrative 
practice. He was highly regarded by 
members of his profession, and he enjoyed 
the unlimited confidence and esteem of 
his fellow citizens. While at Plattsburg 
he was closely allied with Smith M.Weed, 
the famous political leader, and per- 
formed considerable political work, al- 
though never a seeker for political office. 
He was for several years, however, medi- 
cal officer of the State prisons of New 
York. In 1875 Dr. Wolff removed to 
Brazos Santiago, Texas, where he served 
as health officer of the city, and practiced 
his profession until his decease. He was 
a member of the Masonic lodge in Platts- 
burg, from which he demitted to the 
lodge in Brownsville, Texas, in which he 
filled the office of worshipful master for 
a term. He was also a member of the 
Grand Army of the Republic. 

Dr. Wolff married Sarah Ansell, daugh- 
ter of Jacob Ansell, a prominent barrister 
in London. He was a native of Ipswich. 
Dr. and Mrs. Wolff were the parents of 
eleven children, four of whom are living 
at the present time (1917), namely: Mrs. 
Caroline Zander, of Brooklyn, New York; 
Arthur J., of whom further; Mrs. Blanche 
Loew, of Brownsville, Texas; Mrs. Leah 
Cain, of Brownsville, Texas. The father 
of Dr. Arthur S. Wolff was an engineer in 
the army of the first Napoleon. 

Dr. Arthur J. Wolff graduated from the 
Plattsburg High School, but did not pur- 
sue classical studies further. He was 
reared in a home of culture and refine- 
ment, surrounded with the best of litera- 
ture, his father's library containing the 



choicest creations of the writers of many 
languages and covering well the fields of 
literature, art, history and biography. The 
elder Dr. W'olff was a master of eight 
languages, and his son, Dr. Wolff, of this 
review, speaks French, German and Span- 
ish fluently, having received considerable 
instruction from his father, not only in 
the languages but in other branches of 
learning. He began to read medicine 
under the preceptorship of his father, and 
pursued the course in the Texas Medical 
College and Hospital at Galveston, from 
which he was graduated in 1876. The 
following six years were spent in the 
medical corps of the United States army 
on the southwestern frontier, where he 
not only obtained wide experience in the 
practice of his profession under circum- 
stances that threw him largely on his own 
resources, but his experience also in- 
cluded those of the then primitive social 
conditions of the pioneer settlement, etc. 
After leaving the army, Dr. Wolff pur- 
sued a post-graduate course in Bellevue 
Hospital Medical College, from which he 
was graduated in 1883. He then came to 
Hartford, Connecticut, and has practiced 
in that city ever since, except during the 
intervals when he was in Europe. He 
went abroad in 1889 and studied in the 
Paris hospitals, and again in 1896, and in 
1901 studied in London and Edinburgh. 
At first, his practice in Hartford was gen- 
eral in character, but after a number of 
years more and more of his time became 
taken up with surgery and bacteriology 
until these specialties have occupied his 
attention exclusively, this being the case 
for several years. He also performed a 
vast amount of medico-legal work, as an 
expert in murder cases, making chemical 
analyses, etc. He has written many 
papers on medical, surgical and bacterio- 
logical topics for medical journals and 
journals devoted to public sanitation. He 



67 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



has served on the staff of St. Francis Hos- 
pital as a specialist on diseases of women 
since the hospital was organized, and he 
is also one of the directors of the institu- 
tion. He organized the bacteriological 
department of the health board of the city 
of Hartford in 1894, and Dr. Wolff's lab- 
oratory was the second municipal labora- 
tory to be established in the world. He 
has served as bacteriologist for the city 
since that date. He is a fellow of the 
Royal Microscopical Society of London, 
Society of American Bacteriologists, City, 
County and State Medical societies, Amer- 
ican Medical Association, and the Con- 
necticut State Board of Health. Dr. 
Wolff is domestic in his tastes, devoting 
his entire time aside from his professional 
duties to his family and home. The de- 
mands of his professional work, study and 
writing have made it impossible for him 
to give attention to outside interests. 

Dr. Wolff married Harriet, daughter of 
Samuel Krotosliner, of Hartford, Connec- 
ticut. They are the parents of one child, 
Arthur S. (2nd). 



CRANE, Harry Wesley, 

Government Official. 

A native of Wethersfield, Mr. Crane 
has long served the community in the 
capacity of postmaster, to which position 
he was appointed at the age of twenty- 
four years by President Cleveland. He 
has been continuously reappointed by 
successive presidents, and is popular with 
all classes of people in his native town. 

He is descended from one of the oldest 
families of Connecticut, the founder of 
which was Benjamin Crane, born about 
1630, and settled in Wethersfield at the 
age of twenty-five years, in 1655. On 
February 24, 1656, he was granted a home 
lot, was made a freeman, May 12, 1658, 
was a tanner by trade, acquired a large 



estate, and died May 31, 1691. He mar- 
ried, April 23, 1655, Mary Backus, daugh- 
ter of William and Sarah (Charles) 
Backus. Their sixth son, Abraham Crane, 
born 1668, died July 5, 1713, leaving an 
estate valued at three hundred and forty- 
five pounds, three shillings and seven 
pence. His wife's baptismal name was 
Hannah, and they were the parents of 
Abraham Crane, born October 5, 1713, 
lived in Wethersfield, and died March 25, 
1756. He married, March 15, 1739, Re- 
becca Hurlbut, born January 12, 1713, 
died November 13, 1794, daughter of 
Thomas and Rebecca (Meekins) Hurl- 
but. She joined the Wethersfield church 
in 1739. Their youngest child, Joseph 
Crane, was born August 13, 1755, and 
was a Revolutionary soldier. In 1790 he 
purchased a house in Wethersfield, which 
is still occupied by his descendant, Harry 
Wesley Crane. He died June 21, 1811. 
He married, December 3, 1778, Abigail 
Dix, baptized 1764, died March 27, 1813, 
daughter of Jacob and Mary Dix. Their 
sixth son, David Crane, born May 28, 
1797, in Wethersfield, died there April 23, 
1848. He married, September 25, 1822, 
Pamelia Deming, born November 8, 1800, 
died December 28, 1872, daughter of Levi 
and Sarah (Grant) Deming. Their eldest 
son, David Crane, born March 13, 1826, 
in Wethersfield, was a farmer, as were 
his ancestors, and died January 29, 1882. 
He married, February 13, 1861, Kath- 
erine Callahan, who died in 1875. They 
were the parents of three children : 
George, Edith and Harry Wesley, all of 
whom live in or near Wethersfield. 

Harry Wesley Crane, junior son of 
David and Katherine (Callahan) Crane, 
was born December 11, 1868, in Wethers- 
field. where his life has been passed. In 
boyhood he shared in the labors of the 
homestead farm, attended the public 
schools, and followed agriculture until his 



68 





g^Cf 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



appointment as postmaster, May 13, 1893, 
by President Cleveland. In political prin- 
ciple he is a Democrat, but his uniform 
courtesy and faithful discharge of his 
duties made him popular with all parties 
and his reappointment by successive pres- 
idents is the result of the demand made 
by his constituency. Mr. Crane is a mem- 
ber of the First Congregational Church 
of Wethersfield, and is active in promot- 
ing the moral influences which tend to 
elevate society. He is a member of the 
Business Men's Association of Wethers- 
field, takes an active part in neighbor- 
hood affairs, and is respected and esteemed 
throughout the community. He married, 
May 9, 1900, Catherine Christie, who was 
born in Hackensack, New Jersey, and died 
January 14, 1917. They were the parents 
of two children : Howard G. and David 
C. Crane. 

Mr. Crane is descended from another 
old family in Connecticut, the Deming 
family. The founder of the Deming 
family in America was John Deming, an 
early settler of Wethersfield, Connecticut, 
where in 1641 his homestead included a 
house, barn and five acres of land on the 
east side of High street and west of the 
Great Meadow. He married Honor, 
daughter of Richard Treat (another pio- 
neer), who may have been the daughter 
of his second wife, Alice (Gaylord) Treat. 
John Deming was a deputy in 1645, and 
as such was appointed on a committee "to 
give best safe advice they can to the In- 
dians." He was among the first to ob- 
tain a lot on the east side of the river, on 
the "Naubuc Farms," now town of Glas- 
tonbury, and it is recorded in the year 
1640 to John Demion. He probably did 
not live there, as his house was in Weth- 
ersfield and he sold land on the east side 
of the river in 1666. He purchased land 
at various times in Wethersfield, much 
of which he gave to his sons before his 
death. The last recorded act of his life 



was the signing of a codicil to his will, 
February 3, 1692. The will was proved 
November 21, 1705. 

Ebenezer Deming, fifth son and young- 
est child of John Deming, was born about 
1659, in Wethersfield, and in 1698 received 
a deed of land from his brother David, of 
Cambridge, and inherited other lands in 
that vicinity from his father. He mar- 
ried there, July 16, 1677, Sarah, whose 
family name has become obliterated in the 
records. Their eldest child, Ebenezer 
Deming, born May 5, 1678, in Wethers- 
field, was a hatter by trade, a landowner 
in Wethersfield and Newington, and died 
April 16, 1763. He married, December 
27, 1704, Rebecca Treat, who was born 
about 1686, and died December 26, 1753, 
daughter of Lieutenant James and Re- 
becca (Lattimer) Treat. Her second 
son, Oliver Deming, born December 31, 
1709, was buried in Wethersfield, Sep- 
tember 30, 1789. He married, April 3, 
1735, Lucy Hale, born September 6, 1718, 
daughter of Nathaniel and Abigail (Fran- 
cis) Hale. Their eldest child, Lemuel 
Deming. born October 16, 1735, was 
buried in Wethersfield, April 25, 1790. He 
married Hannah Standish, born May 22, 
1739, died February 3, 1826, daughter of 
Josiah and Hannah (Butler) Standish. 
Their third son, Levi Deming, born No- 
vember 25, 1764, baptized December 2, 
following, died September 27, 1848. He 
married, December 18, 1792, Sarah Grant, 
daughter of Aaron and Mabel (Easter) 
Grant, of East Windsor, Connecticut. 
Their daughter, Pamelia Deming, born 
November 8, 1800, became the wife of 
David Crane, and grandmother of Harry 
Weslev Crane. 



BLISS, Francis Edward, 

Publisher. 

Francis Edward Bliss, whose death 
occurred in Hartford, Connecticut, No- 



6Q 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vember 9, 191 5, was one of the best 
known citizens of that city. He was born 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, September 
23, 1843, son °f Elisha, Jr. and Lois Ann 
(Thayer) Bliss. He won a position 
among the leading publishers of the coun- 
try entirely as a result of his own ex- 
ceptional ability and his own industry, 
sound business judgment and business 
character above reproach. 

In writing the biography of a noted 
physicist, Ira Remsen remarked that some 
people are interesting because of their 
ancestors and some ancestors become in- 
teresting on account of their descendants. 
This rule would seem to work both ways 
in the case of Mr. Bliss, for while he was 
a scion of one of New England's oldest 
and most honored families, he had by his 
own achievement added fresh luster to 
the family name. According to family 
tradition the Bliss family had been settled 
in the south of England for some two 
hundred years prior to the coming to 
America of Thomas Bliss, the progenitor 
of Francis Edward Bliss. The family 
owned houses and lands, and were enti- 
tled to vote for members of Parliament. 
From time immemorial, they had been in- 
clined to Puritanism and detested the 
loose manners of most of the church 
clergy and laymen and the Sunday sports 
in which they indulged with the approval 
of Queen Elizabeth and her successor, 
James. The Bliss family joined with 
others in opposing the unjust taxes im- 
posed by the king. On one occasion two 
of them were included in a party of about 
thirty who accompanied their member to 
Parliament to London to withstand the 
tyranny of the king. James was angered 
by such demonstrations, and among the 
ethers the Blisses were seized, thrown 
into prison, and one time they had to pay 
five thousand dollars. Another year, the 
King's officers seized their cattle. Thomas 



Bliss and his eldest son, Jonathan, were 
thrown into prison. Thomas Bliss's other 
sons, Thomas and George, raised the 
money on the old ancestral estate with 
which to secure the release of their father, 
and after a time were compelled to sell 
the estate, the father and mother going to 
live with their daughter, the wife of Sir 
John Calcliffe. The father divided the 
remainder of the estate among his three 
sons, Jonathan, Thomas and George, tell- 
ing them to go to America. Thomas and 
George were afraid to wait for Jona- 
than, who was still suffering from the 
cruel lashing he had received at Exeter 
and from his confinement. Accordingly 
Thomas and George, with their families, 
in the fall of 1635, left England. At vari- 
ous times Lady Calcliffe sent them boxes 
of shoes, clothing and other things which 
could not be procured in the colony. 

Thomas Bliss, the emigrant ancestor of 
the Hartford branch of the family, was 
born in Northamptonshire, England, 
about 1580 or 1585. He married, in Eng- 
land, about 1612-15, Margaret, whose 
maiden name is not known. She accom- 
panied him to America with six of their 
children. Upon their arrival in Boston, 
Thomas Bliss located for a time in Brain- 
tree, and removed from there to Hartford, 
Connecticut, where he died in 1640. After 
his death his widow managed the family 
affairs with great prudence and judgment. 
In 1643 she sold her property in Hartford, 
and with her goods and cattle and eight 
children journeyed through the forest to 
Springfield, where she arrived after eight 
days. Her second and fourth sons, Na- 
thaniel and Samuel, had preceded her 
there and built a dwelling place. Mrs. 
Bliss died in Springfield, August 28, 1684. 

Their son, Samuel Bliss, was born in 
England in 1624. On November 10, 1664- 
65, he married Mary, daughter of John 
and Sarah (Heath) Leonard, of Spring- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



field, born September 14, 1647, and died 
in 1724. He died at the age of ninety-six 
years, March 23, 1720. 

Their son, Ebenezer Bliss, was born 
July 29, 1683, in Springfield. He was a 
farmer. He married, in January, 1707, 
Mary, daughter of John and Mary (Clark) 
Gaylord, of Windsor, Connecticut, where 
in 1715 Ebenezer Bliss purchased sixty- 
three acres of land. He died September 

7. 1777- 

Their son, Jedediah Bliss, was born Au- 
gust 17, 1710, and followed his father's 
trade of tanner. He married, July 2, 1733, 
Rachel, daughter of Joseph and Mary 
Sheldon, of Suffield, Connecticut. Jede- 
diah Bliss was noted for his eccentricity. 

Their son, Zenas Bliss, was born Feb- 
ruary 3, 1756, and married, in December, 
1784, Mary Babcock, born August 20, 
1758, and died September 25, 1824. He 
died May 26, 1822. 

Their son, Elisha Bliss, was born No- 
vember 25, 1787, in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, and married, March 31, 1816, 
Almira, daughter of Rufus and Adula 
Sikes, who was born October 31, 1790. 

Their son, Elisha Bliss, Jr., was born 
October 13, 1821, in Springfield, and died 
in 1880. He married, November 3, 1841, 
Lois Ann, daughter of Micah and Try- 
phona Thayer. The latter was descended 
from Richard Thayer, who came from 
England and settled in Braintree, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1636. Elisha Bliss, Jr., was a 
resident at different times of New York 
City and Hartford. He was the presi- 
dent and manager of the American Pub- 
lishing Company, a business name that 
had been adopted prior to 1859 an d which 
had passed through hands of several own- 
ers until April, 1865, when it was form- 
ally incorporated under that name. This 
company was one of the pioneers in the 
subscription book business and one of the 
most successful. 

Francis Edward Bliss, son of Elisha 



Bliss, received his education in the schools 
of Springfield, Massachusetts, and pre- 
pared himself for the taking up of the 
work managed by his father. He suc- 
ceeded to this position upon the death of 
the latter, and he brought to the respon- 
sibilities of this position a mind well 
trained by systematic study and by a wide 
and varied experience. Mr. Bliss spent 
several winters in logging camps in 
Michigan, and at the outbreak of the Civil 
War sought to enlist in the defense of his 
country, but his physical condition, 
coupled with his youth, were barriers to 
his acceptance ; but such was his enthusi- 
asm that during the war he made several 
visits to the army on the field. When he 
had attained his majority he entered the 
employ of the Ninth National Bank of 
New York. His keen intelligence and 
close application won rapid promotion. 
He was also in the employ of the Tenth 
National Bank for a short period. Mr. 
Bliss came to Hartford in 1866, and be- 
came identified with the American Pub- 
lishing Company, of which his father was 
president. In 1868 he was made secre- 
tary and treasurer of the company. In 
1887 he became president of the company 
and continued in this position until his 
death. Under his able managership the 
business continued to grow and prosper. 
He was far-sighted and progressive, and 
while by no means a visionary, he pos- 
sessed a constructive imagination. The 
company began the publication of Mark 
Twain's books as far back as 1869, when 
"Innocents Abroad" was brought out. 
This was followed in turn by "Roughing 
It," "The Gilded Age," "The Adventures 
of Tom Sawyer," "A Tramp Abroad," 
"The Stolen White Elephant," "The 
Prince and the Pauper," and "Following 
the Equator ;" later a uniform edition of 
Mark Twain's works were published. In 
1905 the company published a uniform 
edition of Charles Dudley Warner's writ- 



71 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ings. The company also published the 
books of Marietta Holly, J. T. Headley's 
"History of the Rebellion," Albert D. 
Richardson's works, and many other 
widely read publications. 

Mr. Bliss was a former member of the 
Governor's Foot Guard. In politics he 
was a Republican, but never an aspirant 
for political preferment. He always took 
an active interest in public affairs and as 
a private citizen did all in his power to 
promote those measures and enterprises 
that promised to enhance the public wel- 
fare. At one time he was a member of 
the Lotus Club of New York City. 

Mr. Bliss married, September 28, 1870, 
Frances T., daughter of John W. and 
Frances Ann (Trefethen) French, of 
South Hadley, Massachusetts. The cere- 
mony of marriage was performed at the 
Summit House on Mount Holyoke. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bliss were the parents of two 
sons : Francis Edward, Jr., and Elisha 
French Bliss. 

Mr. and Mrs. Bliss have been identified 
with the Asylum Hill Congregational 
Church for many years, Mr. Bliss having 
served as clerk of the society for forty- 
seven years. His religion was of the 
practical kind that finds expression in an 
upright daily life and the observance of 
the golden rule. In manner he was 
modest and unassuming, generous and 
charitable, but his giving was without 
ostentation. Mr. Bliss was highly es- 
teemed in business and financial circles 
for his sound judgment and high ethical 
standards, and his kindly disposition and 
attractive personal qualities won for him 
the unfailing confidence and friendship of 
his fellow-citizens. 



COCHRAN, Levi Bennett, M. D., 

Physician. 

Dr. Levi Bennett Cochran was born at 
Durhamville, Oneida county, New York, 



December 8, 1867. He is of Scotch-Irish 
ancestry. 

Hugh Cochran, his great-grandfather, 
married Nancy Beatty, and lived at 
YYoodgrange, near the city of Down Pat- 
rick, in the eastern part of County Down, 
Ireland. 

His grandfather, Alexander Cochran, 
was born at W'oodgrange, married Nancy 
Martin, and lived for several years at 
Dromara. then called Milltown Dromara, 
in County Down. With his wife and 
three children, Alexander Cochran emi- 
grated from there to America in 1802, and 
settled at Ripley, Chautauqua county, 
New York, where Dr. Cochran's father, 
Andrew Cochran, was born. 

Rev. Andrew Cochran was educated at 
Washington and Jefferson College and 
at Princeton Theological Seminary. He 
became pastor of a mission church at Dur- 
hamville, New York, and later was pas- 
tor of the Presbyterian church at Oneida 
Castle, New York, for thirty years. In 
remembrance of him, this church is called 
the "Cochran Memorial Church." Rev. 
Andrew Cochran married Catharine More, 
daughter of Robert L. More, who was son 
of John T. More, and grandson of John 
More, of Moresville, now Grand Gorge, 
Delaware county, New York. They had 
six children, three of whom are now liv- 
ing: John M., of Oneida Castle, New 
York; Levi B. ; and- Katherine M., of 
Hartford, Connecticut. 

Dr. Levi Bennett Cochran received a 
high school education at Oneida, New 
York. He worked as a drug clerk for 
three years at Oneida and in Philadelphia 
and graduated at the Philadelphia Col- 
lege of Pharmacy. Later he entered the 
medical department of the University of 
Pennsylvania, graduating in 1893. He be- 
came house physician in the Cooper Hos- 
pital, Camden, New Jersey, resigning 
from there to accept a position as assist- 
ant physician at Lattimer Mines, Penn- 



72 




- f. f6U^>u^<j 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sylvania, and finally located in Hartford, 
Connecticut, in 1896. He is one of the 
visiting physicians to the Hartford Hos- 
pital, a member of the City, County and 
State Medical societies and of the Ameri- 
can Medical Association. He is a mem- 
ber of several clubs and of the Asylum 
Hill Congregational Church. In Decem- 
ber, 1898, Dr. Cochran married Mary 
Louise Bronson, of Lowville, Lewis 
county, New York. 



PRESTON, Major Edward Varrance, 

Civil War Veteran, Insurance Official. 

Major Edward Varrance Preston, gen- 
eral manager of agencies of the Travelers 
Insurance Company of Hartford, is one 
of the best known insurance men in Con- 
necticut, his native State. He was born 
June 1, 1837, in Willington, son of Joshua 
and Caroline (Eldredge) Preston. Major 
Preston was born under the handicap of 
having to maintain the prestige of a dis- 
tinguished ancestry, which has been 
traced back through a number of families 
to early Colonial days. Major Preston 
has made good, not only as a volunteer 
when the unity of the Nation was threat- 
ened, but in the more peaceful paths of 
business, and as a worker in the cause of 
religion, in which his family through 
many generations has been prominent. 

The Prestons have been in Connecticut 
for many generations, and prior to locat- 
ing in this State were early settlers of 
Massachusetts. He also traces to Elder 
Thomas Dimock, Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts, 1635 ; Lieutenant Abel Wright, to 
whom a "homelot" was granted in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, January 2, 
1665 ; Zoeth Eldredge, a soldier in the 
Revolution from Willington, Connecti- 
cut ; Samuel Hinckley, of Scituate, in 
1635, whose descendants were patriots of 
the Revolution. The list of Revolution- 



ary soldiers published by Connecticut 
shows twenty-five representatives of the 
Preston family of Connecticut in the serv- 
ice. Another ancestor was Deacon Joseph 
Huntington, of Norwich. The Preston 
family is one of the oldest in New Eng- 
land, and the surname Preston is of great 
antiquity in North Britain. It was as- 
sumed by the family from territorial pos- 
sessions in Mid-Lothian, in the time of 
Malcolm, King of Scots, Leophus de 
Preston, of the time of William the Lion, 
in 1040, was grandfather of Sir William 
de Preston, one of the Scotch noblemen 
summoned to Berwick by Edward I. in 
the competition for the crown of Scot- 
land between Bruce and Baliol, the divi- 
sion having been referred to Edward. 
After the death of Alexander III., in 1291, 
this Sir William de Preston was suc- 
ceeded by his son, Nicol de Preston, one 
of the Scottish barons who swore fealty 
to Edward I. He died in the beginning 
of the reign of David II. of Scotland, son 
of Robert Bruce, and was succeeded by 
his son, Sir Lawrence de Preston, who 
was seated at Preston in Westmoreland 
in the time of Henry II. Sir Richard de 
Preston, fifth in descent from the above 
Richard de Preston, represented the 
county of Westmoreland in Parliament in 
the seventeenth year of Edward III. His 
son, Richard de Preston, had likewise the 
honor of being knight of the shire of 
Westmoreland in the same reign, twenty- 
seventh, Edward III., and in the same 
year, 1368, obtained license to embark 
five hundred acres. His successor was 
Sir John de Preston, of Preston Richard 
and Preston Patrick, and was a member 
of Parliament for Westmoreland in the 
thirty-sixth, thirty-ninth and forty-sixth 
years of Edward II. His son Richard 
had no male issue. His son John was the 
judge of the Court of Common Pleas in 
the reigns of Henry IV. and VI. and re- 



73 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tired from the bench in consequence of 
great age, in 1427. Children of Judge 
John Preston: Rev. John, Richard, his 
heir, and a daughter. The American fam- 
ilies are undoubtedly descended from 
some branch of this family. The Con- 
necticut family has been traced to George 
Preston, of Valley Field, who was cre- 
ated a baron of Nova Scotia in 1537, 
through his son William, the Connecti- 
cut immigrant, came in 1635, died in 1639, 
leaving land in Yorkshire, whence he had 
come to this country. 

Roger Preston was born in England in 
1614. In 1635, at the age of twenty-one 
years, he took the oath of allegiance to 
London, and sailed in the ship "Eliza- 
beth," April 8, 1635, William Stagg, mas- 
ter. His name first appears as a resident 
of Ipswich in 1639. His wife Martha, 
whom he married in 1642, was born in 
1622. In 1657 they removed to Salem, 
Massachusetts, where he died January 20, 
1666. Martha, his widow, married (sec- 
ond) Nicholas Holt, of Andover, and she 
resided there, taking her sons, Samuel, 
John and Jacob Preston, with her. She 
died at Andover, March 21, 1703. Roger 
Preston was a tanner by trade. 

Samuel Preston, son of Roger Preston, 
was born in 1651, at Ipswich, and settled 
in Andover with his mother. He married 
(first) May 27, 1671, Susanna Gutterson, 
who died December 29, 1710. 

Jacob Preston, fourth child of Samuel 
Preston, was born February 24, 1680- 
81, and in 1723-24 we find him in Wind- 
ham, Connecticut, at which time he united 
with the church of Canada Parish. He 
married, June 2, 1702, Sarah Wilson. 

Benjamin Preston, son of Jacob Pres- 
ton, and the ancestor of the Willington 
Prestons, was born in April or May, 1705. 
He married, May 5, 1727, Deborah Holt, 
of Canada Parish, Windham county. He 
and his wife died within the same hour, 
and were buried in the same grave. 



Darius Preston, son of Benjamin Pres- 
ton, was born at Willington Hollow, in 
1731, and died there May 30, 1821. His 
powder horn, dated 1771, is now in Major 
Preston's possession. He married, No- 
vember 15, 1759, Hannah Fisk, who died 
January 12, 181 3. 

Amos Preston, son of Darius Preston, 
born February 8, 1782, was the youngest 
of eleven children, and died October 6, 
1864. He married, September 4, 1803, 
Martha (Patty) Taylor, who was born 
February 8, 1782, and died December 7, 
i860. Her father, Thomas Taylor, died 
April 5, 1815, aged sixty-three years. 

Joshua Preston, son of Amos and Mar- 
tha (Taylor) Preston, was born July 15, 
1813, the youngest of six children. He 
learned the trade of tanner, and was for 
many years foreman of the tannery owned 
by his eldest brother, the late Hon. S. T. 
Preston. For a time he was the pro- 
prietor of a hotel in the village of West- 
ford, Connecticut, and also owned the 
Lincoln tannery. He was a stanch Demo- 
crat, but was indifferent to the lure of 
political office. He was decided in his 
opinions and outspoken, especially on the 
temperance question, and was one of the 
first to identify himself with the temper- 
ance movement, which he believed went 
well with the Christian principles he pro- 
fessed. He was a member of the Bap- 
tist church at Willington, and was quite 
an accomplished player on the double 
bass viol, with which he furnished music 
at the meetings of the church. In 1857 
he became foreman for P. Jewell & Sons, 
tanners, of Hartford, and remained with 
them until 1879, when he removed to 
Chicago, where he held a similar posi- 
tion in the plant of his son, Captain E. B. 
Preston. In 1895 he returned to Hart- 
ford, and made his home with his daugh- 
ter, Mrs. W. Chapin Hunt, until his death, 
March 18, 1900. He married, March 3, 
1835, Caroline, daughter of Ariel and Bet- 



74 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sey (Dimock) Eldredge, born February 
6, 1816, in Willington, died April 27, 1882, 
in Chicago, and was buried in Cedar Hill 
Cemetery at Hartford. Ariel Eldredge 
was born April 28, 1791, and died Septem- 
ber 15, 1849. He was the son of Zoeth 
Eldredge, born, it is supposed, in Will- 
ington, Connecticut, about 1751, died 
there March 18, 1828. He was a farmer. 
He marched on the Lexington alarm in 
Major Elijah Fenton's company from 
Willington. Upon his dismissal from this 
brief service, he enlisted in the Second 
Connecticut Regiment, Colonel Joseph 
Spencer, serving in the Fifth Company 
under Captain Solomon Willies, from 
about May 1st until the latter part of De- 
cember, 1775, when the regiment was dis- 
missed. He was at Roxbury during the 
siege of Boston, and also saw three 
months service under General Washing- 
ton in New York City in Captain Joseph 
Parson's company, Colonel Chapman's 
regiment. He married, in Willington, 
October 16, 1779, as his second wife, 
Bethia, daughter of Captain Ichabod 
Hinckley, born December 10, 1759, at Tol- 
land, Connecticut. Captain Ichabod 
Hinckley was born October 13, 1735, in 
Willington, and died February 23, 1807. 
He was captain in the Continental Army, 
and was very active in the Revolutionary 
War; served two years in the General 
Assembly, and was selectman for four- 
teen years. He was a man of great 
natural dignity, of unusual ability, and of 
highest integrity. He served as first lieu- 
tenant, Sixth Company, Third Battalion, 
Wadsworth's brigade. This battalion was 
raised in June, 1776, to reinforce General 
Washington in New York City ; served 
there and on Long Island, was caught in 
the retreat from the city September 15, 
and suffered some loss ; also engaged in 
the battle of White Plains, October 28. 
His time expired December 25, 1776. His 



first wife, Mary, died in Willington, Janu- 
ary 8, 1769, aged thirty-seven years. Ben- 
jamin Hinckley, father of Captain Icha- 
bod Hinckley, was born June 19, 1707, in 
Barnstable, and died in Willington, Octo- 
ber 11, 1749. He was a farmer and ad- 
mitted freeman in Willington, December 
17, 1735. He married, in Tolland, No- 
vember 6, 1733, Deborah Palmer, of Wind- 
ham. His father was Ichabod Hinckley, 
born August 28, 1680, in Barnstable, died 
in Tolland, May 10, 1768. He married, 
January 5, 1702, Mary, daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Mary (Davis) Goodspeed, of 
Barnstable. She was born January 10, 
1678, and died October 1, 1719. Having 
purchased three hundred acres of land, 
partly in Tolland and partly in Willing- 
ton, he removed in 1732 with his family 
to Tolland and served several terms there 
as selectman. His father, John Hinckley, 
brother of Thomas Hinckley, sixth Gov- 
ernor of New Plymouth Colony, was born 
May 24, 1644, and died December 7, 1709. 
In July, 1668, he married Bethia, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Lothrop, and granddaugh- 
ter of Rev. John Lothrop. She was born 
July 23, 1649, aR d died July 10, 1697. Rev. 
John Lothrop died in Barnstable, July 10, 
1687, aged forty-eight years. His son, 
John Lothrop, was born about 1621, prob- 
ably at Egerton, Kent, England, and was 
about thirteen years of age when he came 
with his father to Scituate, Massachu- 
setts. He married Sarah, daughter of 
William Learned. "Ensign" John Hinck- 
ley was a prominent citizen of Barnstable, 
where he owned much land. His father 
was Samuel Hinckley, of Tenterden, 
Kent, England, who came to New Eng- 
land with his wife, Sarah, and four chil- 
dren in the ship "Hercules" of Sandwich, 
which sailed about March, 1634. They re- 
moved to Barnstable in 1639, where his 
wife died August 18, 1656. He died there 
October 31, 1662. He was prominent and 



75 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



owned much land. Jesse Eldredge, father 
of Zoeth Eldredge, was born August 9, 
1715, in Eastham and died in Willington, 
December 17, 1794. He married, Novem- 
ber 7, 1734, Abigail, daughter of Samuel 
and Abigail (Freeman) Smith. She was 
born in Eastham, December 17, 1718, 
and died in Willington, March 16, 1793. 
She was a descendant of Elder Wil- 
liam Brewster, Stephen Hopkins, Gov- 
ernor Thomas Prence, Edmund Freeman, 
Rev. John Lothrop, Ralph Smyth, Henry 
Howland and Thomas Clark. Elisha 
Eldredge, father of Jesse Eldredge, was 
born about 1690, and died in Mans- 
field, Connecticut, November 9, 1754. He 
married Dorcas, daughter of Thomas 
Mulford, of Truro. She was born March 
6, 1693, in Eastham, and died in Mans- 
field about 1755. Her mother was Mary, 
daughter of Nathaniel Basset, and grand- 
daughter of William Basset, who came 
in the ship "Fortune" in 1621. Elisha 
Eldredge, father of Elisha Eldredge, was 
born in 1653, died in Eastham, October 
14, 1739. In 1693 he was in Harwich and 
bought land in the Doane neighborhood. 
He afterwards sold this and removed to 
what later became Wellfleet. His father, 
William Eldredge, was a resident of Yar- 
mouth, Massachusetts, from March 3, 
1645, to 1667. He was a man of standing 
and substance ; was constable in 1657, 
1662, 1674, 1675 and 1677; was also sur- 
veyor of highways. He married Anne, 
daughter of William and Tamesin Lump- 
kin, of Yarmouth. William Lumpkin 
came over in 1637. He was deputy to the 
Colony Court and held many local offices. 
Major Preston's maternal grandmother, 
Betsey (Dimock) Eldredge, was born 
January 29, 1795, in Mansfield, and died 
in March, 1873. Her father, Shubael 
Dimock, was born October 4, 1757; mar- 
ried, January 22, 1789; died March 8, 1828. 
Her mother, Elizabeth (Wright) Dimock, 



born July 31, 1769, died August 10, 1837. 
The Dimock ancestry has been traced 
back to Elder Thomas Dimock, who was 
a selectman of Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts, in 1635; freeman, May 25, 1636; 
Hingham, 1638; Scituate, 1639. Amos 
Otis says he was the leading man of the 
town. He was deputy to the Plymouth 
Colony Court in 1640-41-42-48-49, and 
held other important offices. On October 
14, 1642, he was elected lieutenant of the 
militia and reelected in 1646; was or- 
dained elder, August 7, 1659, an< ^ died 
that year. His widow, Anna (Ham- 
mond?) Dimock, was living in October, 
1683. Their only son, Ensign Shubael 
Dimock, who lived to mature age, was 
baptized September 15, 1644. He was 
prominent in town affairs ; selectman and 
deputy to the General Court in 1685 and 
1686, and deputy again in 1689; was en- 
sign of the militia. About 1693 ne re ~ 
moved to Mansfield, where he died Octo- 
ber 29, 1732, in his ninety-first year. In 
April, 1663, he married Joanna, daughter 
of John Bursley. She died May 8, 1727, 
aged eighty-three years. They were ap- 
parently the grandparents of Betsey 
Dimock's father, Shubael Dimock. Eliz- 
abeth Wright was the daughter of Elea- 
zer and Anna (Marsh) Wright. He was 
born April 12, 1741, at Mansfield (his 
name is given in the Mansfield vital rec- 
ords as Ebenezer) and died January 21, 
1825. His wife died April 10, 1825. Elea- 
zer Wright was the son of Ebenezer 
Wright, of Lebanon, Connecticut, who 
was born February 22, 1701 ; married, in 
1728, as his second wife, Sarah Hunting- 
ton. He died April 22, 1786, and she died 
October 19, 1775. Ebenezer Wright was 
the son of Ensign Abel Wright, of Leb- 
anon, where he died June 2, 1745. He 
married, September 6, 1691, Rebecca, 
daughter of Samuel Terry, of Springfield. 
Abel Wright was the son of Lieutenant 



76 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Abel Wright, of Springfield, who married 
Martha, daughter of Samuel Kritchwell, 
of Hartford, December i, 1659. She was 
scalped July 26, 1708, and died October 
19, 1708. He died October 29, 1725, in 
his ninety-fourth year. He was select- 
man of Springfield in 1689 and 1698, also 
deputy to the General Court. Sarah 
(Huntington) Wright, wife of Ebenezer 
Wright, was the daughter of Deacon Jo- 
seph and Rebecca (Adgate) Huntington. 
Deacon Joseph Huntington was born Sep- 
tember, 1661, in Norwich, and died De- 
cember 29, 1747. He married, November 

28, 1687, Rebecca, daughter of Deacon 
Thomas and Mrs. (Bushnell) Adgate, died 
November 28, 1748. 

At the age of fourteen years, Major 
Preston went to Hartford to begin his 
career in the business world. Such was 
his application, intelligence and thrift that 
we find him eleven years later, at the out- 
break of the Civil War, a member of the 
firm of Griswold, Griffin & Company, 
manufacturers of shirts. On April 22, 
1 861, he offered to give temporary assist- 
ance as a clerk in the office of Adjutant- 
General J. D. Williams. On July 17, 
1861, in response to the request of Colo- 
nel Orris S. Ferry, Mr. Preston was ap- 
pointed as quartermaster of the Fifth 
Connecticut Regiment, with the rank of 
first lieutenant, going to the front July 

29. Later he was detailed by Colonel 
Dudley Donnelly, and afterward by Gen- 
erals G. H. Gordon and A. S. Williams to 
be acting assistant quartermaster of the 
First Brigade, General Bank's division, 
and remained in that position until Janu- 
ary 1, 1862, when he was returned to his 
old place in the Fifth Connecticut. In 
March, 1862, Lieutenant Preston was de- 
tailed as aide-de-camp on the staff of Gen- 
eral Ferry, who had received a brigadier's 
commission. During a part of the time 
until February 19, 1863, he served as act- 
ing assistant quartermaster of the divi- 



sion. On that date President Lincoln 
commissioned him as "additional paymas- 
ter, United States Volunteers, with the 
rank of Major," and this position Major 
Preston held until July 31, 1865, when he 
was honorably discharged by the Secre- 
tary of War. Millions of dollars passed 
through his hands during the war, and in 
the final settlement with the government 
his accounts balanced to a penny. At the 
close of the war he became a special agent 
for the Travelers Insurance Company 
After two years in this position he was 
appointed superintendent of agencies, and 
in 1898 was promoted to be general man- 
ager of agencies and has held that posi- 
tion continuously since that time to the 
present writing, October 22, 1917. This 
position calls for executive ability of the 
highest order, with a gift for diplomacy 
equal to that of a foreign ambassador. 
Major Preston is a man of poise, and 
while he possesses a determination that 
enables him to surmount every obstacle 
to the accomplishment of his purpose, he 
achieves results through the exercise of 
tact that makes every one his friend. In 
the course of his work, Major Preston 
has travelled all over the United States, 
Europe, Canada and Mexico, having made 
seven trips to Europe and there traveled 
much and is familiar with the countries 
there. 

He is a member of Hartford Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, being 
one of its eight oldest members ; Massa- 
chusetts Commandery, Military Order of 
the Loyal Legion; the Fifth Connecticut 
Infantry Reunion Association; Society of 
the Army of the Potomac, representing 
the State of Connecticut on its board; 
Robert O. Tyler Post, Grand Army of 
the Republic, being one of the trustees of 
the ten thousand dollar fund owned by 
the post; Army and Navy Club of Con- 
necticut, of which he is president; Hart- 
ford Club; Red Cross Association; Con- 



77 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



necticut Humane Society ; Charity Organ- 
ization ; Visiting Nurse Association ; 
Wellington Cemetery Association; Lin- 
coln Farm Association ; Connecticut Peace 
Society ; American Forestry Association ; 
Connecticut Civil Service Reform Asso- 
ciation, and Municipal Art Society. For 
several years he was a member of the 
board of trustees of the Connecticut Lit- 
erary Institute of Suffield, and was presi- 
dent of the board for two years. Major 
Preston is a strong and active Republican, 
and has served in the common council and 
as a member of the board of aldermen. 

Major Preston married, September 9, 
1863, Clara M., daughter of John G. Litch- 
field, of Hartford. Children : Harry Ed- 
ward, born September 27, 1864, died at 
San Antonio, Texas, April 7, 1893 > Eve- 
lyn Wallace, born April 9, 1867. 

In 1868 Major Preston began to arouse 
interest in a project to form a Baptist 
church on Asylum Hill, and on January 
1, 1869, he circulated an invitation signed 
by himself and a number of other leading 
Baptists to attend a meeting to discuss 
the matter. In 1871 the committee of 
which he was a member purchased the 
lot. In that year a Sunday school was 
organized, and the following year the 
church edifice was completed. Major 
Preston was treasurer from 1872 to 1901, 
and deacon from 1875 to the present time. 
He is a member of the Baptist Social 
Union of Connecticut, which he has 
served as secretary, treasurer and presi- 
dent at different times. He has also 
served as a member of the board of the 
Baptist State Convention. 



ELLSWORTH, Philip Fowler, 

Civil Engineer, Company Executive. 

Philip Fowler Ellsworth, Bachelor of 
Science, and by profession a civil engi- 
neer, although young, has held responsi- 



ble appointments on important engineer- 
ing commissions and projects, municipal 
and otherwise, and is now recognized as 
one of the most enterprising of the 
younger generation of business men of 
Windsor, Connecticut. Since 1914 he has 
remained in that town, which is his native 
place, to devote his time, in managerial 
capacity, to the affairs of the Windsor 
cannery, a joint stock corporation found- 
ed by his father more than twenty years 
ago, and known to producers and whole- 
salers throughout New England, as ex- 
tensive packers of canned foods. 

Philip F. Ellsworth was born in Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, December 1, 1883, the 
son of Horace House and Laura L. 
(Fowler) Ellsworth, and a descendant of 
Josiah Ellsworth, who came to Windsor, 
in 1644. The house of Ellsworth has given 
many distinguished men to New Eng- 
land, including Chief Justice Oliver Ells- 
worth, prominent Connecticut leader dur- 
ing the Revolution, later United States 
Senator, and eventually Chief Justice of 
the United States Supreme Court. He, 
with two others, constituted a commit- 
tee appointed, in 1799, by President 
Adams "to negotiate with France as an 
extraordinary commission to avert a war 
between the two countries, if possible." 
His son, William Wolcott Ellsworth, be- 
came a conspicuous member of the Con- 
necticut bar, was elected to Congress, 
later became judge, and subsequently 
elected Governor of the State of Connec- 
ticut. And many other ancestors, of the 
direct or collateral lines of Philip Fowler 
Ellsworth bring him into the genealogies 
of some of the principal Colonial families 
of New England. 

Originally from England, where in 
early generations the name was variously 
styled : Elswort, Elsworth, Elesworth, 
Ellesworth, or Aylsworth, the father of 
the American progenitor is supposed to 



78 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



have been John Ellsworth, of a town of 
that name near Cambridge, England. His 
three sons, presumable because of adher- 
ance to other than the recognized state 
religion, incurred dangers of imprison- 
ment and consequently they were forced 
to leave the country. The three brothers 
eventually reached American shores, 
Arthur and Josias (or Josiah) coming 
direct, and the third coming later, after a 
period spent in Holland. Josias Ells- 
worth was born in 1629, near Cambridge, 
England, son of John Ellsworth, and said 
to have been a descendant of Sir John 
Ellsworth, who lived in the time of Ed- 
ward III. and whose estate was in Cam- 
bridgeshire. This conjecture is derived 
from "Mr. John Ellsworth, who was a re- 
spectable merchant in London, early in 
the nineteenth century, who stated that 
it was a tradition in his family, which had 
long resided in Yorkshire, that a member 
of it had formerly removed to foreign 
parts ; that he was a young man when he 
left, and never returned." Josias Ells- 
worth, according to one historian, was in 
Connecticut "as early as 1646;" but it is 
known that he arrived in America in 1644, 
and the "History of Ancient Windsor" 
(Stiles) states that he had settled in 
Windsor in that year. In 1654 he bought 
a house and lot from Alexander Alvord, 
in Windsor, located on the road to Po- 
quonock south of the rivulet, near the 
old mill. This he sold in 1658 to Cor- 
nelius Gillet, and it was thereafter known 
as the Gillet place. In 1655, having mar- 
ried, he purchased a more pretentious 
dwelling, that belonging to Widow Jo- 
anna Davison, and generations later 
known as the Chief Justice Oliver Ells- 
worth place. He was admitted a free- 
man, May 21, 1657; was a juror in 1664; 
and took part in most public movements. 
His name appears on a list of subscribers, 
June 11, 1676, to state fund "for the poor 



in other colonies ;" his subscription was 
three shillings, a substantial amount for 
that time and place, no other individual 
subscription exceeding eleven shillings. 
He married, November 16, 1654, Eliza- 
beth Holcomb, who died September 18, 
1712. Of their nine children, Jonathan 
was the sixth. Josias Ellsworth died Au- 
gust 20, 1689, leaving an estate valued at 
six hundred and fifty-five pounds. 

Captain Jonathan Ellsworth, son of 
Josias and Elizabeth (Holcomb) Ells- 
worth, was born in Windsor, June 28, 
1669. He resided in Windsor, where he 
kept a tavern. He was apparently of en- 
terprising spirit ; he dealt in West India 
goods, and engaged in many small busi- 
ness ventures. He was a man of broad 
understanding, a raconteur whose re- 
partee and wit gained him the name of 
"Hector Ellsworth." Of commanding 
stature and powerful physique, he was a 
man of conspicuous presence, and was 
well respected in the town and vicinity. 
He fell from his horse and was killed, 
September 13, 1749, being then eighty- 
one years of age. He married, October 
26, 1693, Sarah, born September 19, 1675, 
died November 9, 1755, daughter of 
Tahan Grant. They had ten children. 

Giles Ellsworth, son of Jonathan and 
Sarah (Grant) Ellsworth, was born Au- 
gust 6, 1703, died March 20, 1765. He 
married Hannah, daughter of John and 
Sarah (Fitch) Stoughton. She was born 
February 6, 1705, and died December 29, 
1756, aged fifty-one years. They had five 
children. 

Giles (2) Ellsworth, son of Giles (1) 
and Hannah (Stoughton) Ellsworth, was 
born September 6, 1732, died July 20, 
1796; married (first) Keziah Moore, who 
died June 26, 1762; (second) Hannah 
Burr, who died March 18, 1777, aged 
forty-two years. There were four chil- 
dren. 



79 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Roger Ellsworth, son of Giles (2) and 
Keziah (Moore) Ellsworth, was born 
July 28, 1760, died May 13, 1801 ; mar- 
ried Lucy Hayden. 

Giles (3) Ellsworth, son of Roger and 
Lucy (Hayden) Ellsworth, was born 
February 16, 1790, in what is now East 
Granby. In early manhood he removed 
to Windsor, and soon after his marriage 
engaged in agriculture. In 1827 he pur- 
chased the Windsor estate upon which 
he thereafter lived until December 5, 1853, 
when he died. He was a business man of 
unusual sagacity. For many years his 
farming operations were on an extensive 
scale, his specialty being grain and stock 
raising. To a small extent he grew 
tobacco. He became prominent in public 
and political movements in his district, 
and was elected to many town offices. Ad- 
hering to the Democratic party, he sat 
as selectman, and eventually was elected 
representative to the State House of Leg- 
islature. He gained the title of captain 
by militia service. His wife, Ellen (Hay- 
den) Ellsworth, was a native of Windsor, 
born there January 24, 1790, daughter of 
Levi and Margaret (Strong) Hayden. 
She died November 16, 1863, an d was 
buried beside her husband in the Con- 
gregational Cemetery in Windsor. They 
had ten children. 

William H. Ellsworth, son of Giles (3) 
and Ellen (Hayden) Ellsworth, was born 
in Windsor, December 19, 1820. His 
business operations followed closely in 
character those of his father, and he pos- 
sessed much of his father's soundness of 
judgment and shrewdness in trading. He 
was a Democrat, and held various town 
offices, including that of a selectman. In 
1841 he married Emily M., daughter of 
Chauncey Miller, and belonging to the 
house of that name founded in Northamp- 
ton. Massachusetts, about 1635. They 
had four children: William H., who lived 



in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and died there, 
October, 1917 ; Horace House, of further 
mention ; Elizabeth and Clara, both of 
whom died in early womanhood. 

Horace House Ellsworth, son of Wil- 
liam H. and Emily M. (Miller) Ellsworth, 
was born March 26, 1844, in Windsor. He 
was given a moderately good education ; 
for primary instruction he went to the 
Bell School, "at the Green." Later he 
attended Windsor Academy, and Wood- 
ford's private school, and before enter- 
ing independently into business he farmed 
for a while the paternal acres. But he 
quickly manifested qualities of business 
management and initiative ; he had not 
reached major years when he was exten- 
sively entering into the lumber business. 
He gained much success in that enter- 
prise, and his operations at times neces- 
sitated the employment of as many as 
eighty men. At the same time he farmed 
extensively, and took part in other enter- 
prises. He was a brick manufacturer for 
six years ; helped to organize and success- 
fully establish the Windsor Creamer)', of 
which he later became president. He was 
prime mover in the establishment of the 
Windsor Canning Company and con- 
sented to act as its president at its in- 
ception. Later, Mr. Ellsworth, in part- 
nership with W. H. Filley, purchased the 
plant, reconstructed the company, and 
took over interest in management of same. 
Employment was afforded to many oper- 
atives, and a good market to producers. 
Mr. Ellsworth entered extensively into 
the growing of tobacco on his agricultural 
land, and his association with organiza- 
tions connected with that industry, and 
his experience as a planter, brought him 
into prominent place among New Eng- 
land growers. He was a director of the 
Connecticut Tobacco Experiment Com- 
pany, and a member of its executive com- 
mittee ; was one of the founders of the 



So 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hartford County Tobacco Growers' In- 
surance Company for protection against 
hail, and became director and president 
of that corporation. A man of excellent 
judgment, a good organizer, and mana- 
ger, a popular employer, and possessed of 
superabundant energy, Mr. Ellsworth 
succeeded well in his business undertak- 
ings, and took interested part in many of 
the public movements in his town. He 
was a member of the Village Improve- 
ment Committee ; was chairman of the 
comittee of improvements of the Wind- 
sor Cemetery ; and was president of 
Moore's Park Association for several 
years. Mr. Ellsworth was one of the 
most prominent of the Windsor towns- 
men in the movement to establish the 
Windsor Driving Park, and later devoted 
much time to directing the work of trans- 
forming the tract of forest into the beau- 
tiful park it now is. For years he has 
been identified with church movements, 
was chairman of the First Ecclesiastical 
Society of the Congregational Church at 
Windsor, and chairman of the First 
School Society Committee. In town ad- 
ministration he has been on the board of 
selectmen for many terms, much of the 
time as first selectman. 

On September 16, 1874, he married 
Laura J. Fowler, of Windsor, and soon 
thereafter made his home in a house that 
had been built on his land, with bricks of 
his own manufacture. Mrs. Ellsworth 
was an estimable lady, accomplished and 
refined. She was born in Windsor, Jan- 
uary 3, 1856, and died July 9, 19x16, es- 
teemed for her good works in religious, 
social, philanthropic and patriotic direc- 
tions. She attended Wilbraham Acad- 
emy, and later became prominent in the 
proceedings of the Connecticut Society 
of the Daughters of the American Revo- 
lution, a member of the Abigail Wolcott 
Ellsworth Chapter. She was a daughter 

Conn— 5— 6 8 1 



of Major-General Amos Fowler, who was 
the son of Amos Fowler, a noted Revolu- 
tionary soldier, aide-de-camp of General 
Washington at the battle of Long Island, 
and scion of a Colonial family resident in 
Lebanon, Connecticut, since pioneer days 
of that settlement. Mr. and Mrs. Ells- 
worth were the parents of the following 
children : Minnie E., who married W. S. 
Hastings, of Windsor, and they have chil- 
dren : William E. and Laura E. ; Ella M., 
who married J. A. Oakes, of Hartford ; 
Alice L., who is the wife of J. D. Wood- 
worth, of Suffield, and they have chil- 
dren : Raymond H., Ellsworth D. and 
Ella M. ; Philip Fowler, of further men- 
tion. 

Philip Fowler Ellsworth, only son of 
Horace House and Laura J. (Fowler) 
Ellsworth, was born December i, 1883, in 
Windsor, and his descent connects with 
many of the well-known Colonial families 
of New England. One not previously 
mentioned herein was the Miller line, with 
which he is related through his grand- 
mother, Emily (Miller) Ellsworth, who 
belonged to a family originally from Ger- 
many, the American progenitor of which 
came to this country to act as chemist for 
Governor Belcher, of Massachusetts, who 
started the copper mine in Newgate 
Prison about 1700 and into whose family 
Miller married. Philip Fowler Ellsworth 
attended the public schools of Windsor, 
later proceeding to Wilbraham Academy, 
from which he was graduated in 1903. He 
had resolved to enter professional life, his 
inclination being to the engineering 
branch ; therefore, after graduating at 
Wilbraham, he went for a civil engineer- 
ing course to the Worcester Polytechnic 
Institute. There he had a good record, 
and succeeded in gaining the degree of 
Bachelor of Science. In 1908 he became 
connected with A. B. Alderson, of West 
Hartford, a well-known civil engineer. In 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



April of the following year, he was suc- 
cessful in gaining appointment under the 
city administration of Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, taking office as supervising engi- 
neer of the Worcester Sewer Department. 
As such he remained in Worcester for 
two years, then becoming associated with 
Professor George Swain, of Harvard Uni- 
versity, in the valuation of the New York 
Central Railroad, an important commis- 
sion. In the fall of 191 1 he went to West- 
field, Massachusetts, as chief assistant to 
John L. Hyde, a civil engineer, who in 
addition to his municipal responsibilities 
also had an extensive private practice. 
Mr. Ellsworth devoted much of his time, 
while at Westfield, to the making of a de- 
tailed map of the town, for assessment 
purposes, and also had a responsible part 
in the development of Westfield's water 
supply. Associated with him in this lat- 
ter work was Mr. James Tighe. a consult- 
ing engineer of Holyoke, Massachusetts. 
Altogether, his theoretical and practical 
understanding of civil engineering is ex- 
tensive and valuable, and had he held to 
his professional work he would in all 
probability have quickly advanced to 
much greater responsibilities. But in the 
fall of 1914 the affairs of the Windsor 
Canning Company, of which his father 
had been the controlling head for so 
many years, had developed so that it be- 
came advisable for the son to take an 
active part in its management. He there- 
fore forsook his profession, at least tem- 
porarily, and returned to Windsor, and 
his name has since appeared as one of the 
principals of that company, which has an 
extensive business in canned foods. And 
since his advent the firm has, by im- 
proved methods of handling the products, 
very appreciably extended its operations. 
The installation of better and more 
modern equipment, and the inauguration 
of more sanitary and labor-saving meth- 



ods, has caused a marked improvement 
in its output and standard of product. 
The firm now employs a large force of 
men and women throughout the canning 
season, and under the junior Mr. Ells- 
worth's supervision has every indica- 
tion of expanding its business consider- 
ably in the near future. In addition to his 
activities in the canning company, Mr. 
Ellsworth acts as general agent of the 
Hartford County Tobacco Growers' Mu- 
tual Insurance Company, and during the 
winter season he is also busily engaged 
in the conversion of native timber into 
ties and telegraph poles, and cord wood. 
Mr. Ellsworth is unmarried. He is an 
alert, aggressive man of business, his 
energy probably resulting from his ath- 
letic college days, during which he gained 
many trophies in various forms of athle- 
tics. Fraternally he is a member of the 
Masonic order, affiliated with Washing- 
ton Lodge, No. 70, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of Windsor, the Even- 
ing Star Chapter, of Westfield, Massa- 
chusetts, and the Wolcott Council, No. 1, 
of Hartford, Connecticut. His college fra- 
ternity is Sigma Alpha Epsilon, which he 
joined in Worcester. 



NEWLANDS, James Andrew, 

State Chemist. 

James Andrew Newlands, president of 
The Henry Souther Engineering Com- 
pany, director of Newlands Sanitary Lab- 
oratory, and State Chemist at Hartford, 
Connecticut, was born in Edinburgh, 
Scotland, April 23, 1877, tna * city having 
been the seat of the Newlands family or 
clan for generations. Mr. Newlands is 
a worthy representative of that sturdy 
race of people, noted for their persistence 
in whatever they undertake, thorough- 
ness in detail, and great efficiency in the 
performance of duties and obligations. 



82 





^L^. Cl. l/u^u-i^u^^i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



essential factors in business success, and 
they are also noted for their high type of 
citizenship, being willing to sacrifice their 
lives, if necessary, to uphold the honor 
and integrity of their adopted land. 

James W. Newlands, father of James 
Andrew Newlands, was born in Edin- 
burgh, Scotland, in 1848. After acquiring 
a practical education in the schools of his 
native city, he learned the trade of pat- 
tern-maker, which line of work he fol- 
lowed in Edinburgh until the year 1881, 
when the family emigrated to the United 
States, locating in McKeesport, Pennsyl- 
vania. In that city James W. Newlands 
secured employment in the United States 
Steel Company as a pattern-maker, and 
shortly afterward his skill and ability led 
to his promotion to the position of chief 
pattern-maker. After about fifteen years' 
service with that company, he left to 
accept a similar position with the Car- 
negie Steel Company at Duquesne, Penn- 
sylvania, with whom he remained until 
1908, in which year he retired from active 
mechanical pursuits, taking up his resi- 
dence at Burgettstown, Pennsylvania, 
where he is residing at the present time 
(1917). He married Helen Frances Mar, 
daughter of Peter Mar, of Jedburgh, 
which has been the seat of the Mar family 
for a number of generations. They were 
the parents of five children, four of whom 
attained years of maturity, as follows: 
John, of Burgettstown ; James Andrew, of 
whom further ; George, of Pittsburgh ; 
Harold, of Burgettstown. The members 
of the family attend the Presbyterian 
church. 

James Andrew Newlands attended the 
public schools of McKeesport, Pennsyl- 
vania, and prepared for college at Port 
Byron Academy, Port Byron, Illinois. He 
then entered Beloit College, Beloit, Wis- 
consin, from which he was graduated 
with the degree of Bachelor of Arts in 



1903. He then took post-graduate work 
in the University of Chicago, studying 
medical bacteriology, and in 1904 and 
1905 completed sanitary engineering 
courses at the Massachusetts Institute of 
Technology. During a portion of the year 
1903 he worked in the Smith Sanitary 
Laboratory at Beloit under the preceptor- 
ship of Professor E. G. Smith. After com- 
pleting his formal technical training, he 
entered the employ of The Souther Engi- 
neering Company as water analyst. Later 
he accepted a position with the State 
Board of Health to install their labora- 
tory. For two years, from 1905 to 1907, 
he served as State Bacteriologist, and 
from 1907 to 1913 served as chemist of 
the board. He then purchased an inter- 
est in The Henry Souther Engineering 
Company, was secretary of the company 
until July 1, 1916, when he was elected to 
the office of president. This company and 
the Newlands Sanitary Laboratory per- 
form all kinds of chemical, physical and 
bacteriological analyses for city and State 
departments, public institutes and large 
manufacturing industries. Their business 
comes from all over the United States 
and even from British, French, Belgian 
and Russian companies. The company 
employs the services of more than thirty 
skilled men, and it ranks high in the busi- 
ness industries of the community. Mr. 
Newlands also serves as chemist of the 
water department of the city of Hartford. 
Mr. Newlands was appointed a member 
of the new State Department of Health 
by Governor Holcombe in June, 1917, and 
is also a member of the Committee on 
Sanitation and Medicine of the State 
Council of Defense. Mr. Newlands has 
written many articles for technical jour- 
nals on "Water Purification," "Sewage 
Disposal," "Chlorine Treatment of Water 
and Sewage," "Disposal of Factory 
Wastes," "Oyster Pollution," "Typhoid 



83 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Epidemics," etc. He is a member of the 
American Chemical Society, American 
Society for the Advancement of Science, 
American Public Health Association, 
American Water Works Association, 
American Society for Testing- Materials, 
New England Water Works Association, 
Connecticut Society of Civil Engineers, 
University Club of Hartford, Hartford 
Golf Club, and the Phi Kappa Psi at 
Beloit College. 

Mr. Newlands married, October 21, 
1908, Alice Cary, of Florence, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of James Cary, and a de- 
scendant of the old Nantucket family of 
that name. They are the parents of one 
son, James Bryant, born December 20, 



SPELLACY, Thomas J., 

Lawyer, Public Official. 

Thomas J. Spellacy, United States Dis- 
trict Attorney for Connecticut, is a native 
of Hartford, born March 6, 1880, the son 
of James and Catherine (Bourke) Spel- 
lacy. 

The education of Mr. Spellacy was re- 
ceived in the public schools of his native 
town, including the High School, and a 
private school conducted by Miss Bur- 
bank. After receiving his elementary 
education he entered the Holy Cross Col- 
lege in Worcester, Massachusetts. He 
then prepared for the profession of law- 
yer in the Georgetown Law School, from 
which institution he was graduated in 
1901. During the interim from the time 
of his graduation to his admission to the 
bar, Mr. Spellacy was employed on the 
staff of the Hartford "Telgram" as a re- 
porter. In January, 1903, he was admit- 
ted to the bar, and at once took up the 
practice of his profession. In 1906 Mr. 
Spellacy was elected to the State Senate 
from the Third District, on the Demo- 



cratic ticket, and again in 1910 was re- 
elected from the same district, by a major- 
ity five times larger than that which had 
elected him the first time. He was an 
active factor in the passage of the Work- 
men's Compensation Law. Two years 
later, in 191 2, he was nominated for 
mayor of Hartford, but was defeated in 
the election by Colonel Louis R. Cheney. 
Mr. Willie O. Burr, editor of the Hart- 
ford "Times" appointed Mr. Spellacy his 
alternate to the Democratic National Con- 
vention at Baltimore, and as Mr. Burr 
was unable to attend, Mr. Spellacy served 
as delegate-at-large to that convention in 
his place. He is ex-chairman of the Dem- 
ocratic town committee and of the Demo- 
cratic State Central Committee. On June 
30, 1915, he was appointed United States 
District Attorney by President Wilson ; 
this was a vacation appointment. He re- 
ceived the regular appointment, January 
13, 1916. Mr. Spellacy is a member of 
many social and fraternal organizations. 
On November 25, 1903, Mr. Spellacy 
was married to Nellie Walsh, daughter of 
Thomas and Mary (Gaitley) Walsh, of 
Middletown, Connecticut. 



ALLEN, Francis Burke, 

Manufacturer. 

A descendant of ancestors who have 
taken an active part jn every conflict that 
this country has ever known, who has 
himself contributed his share to uphold 
the honorable position they attained, and 
who enjoys the unique distinction of hav- 
ing held at the same time the ranks of 
rear-admiral of the navy and major-gen- 
eral of the army, Francis Burke Allen was 
born in Baltimore, Maryland, June 1, 
1 841, the son of William C. and Louisa B. 
W. (Burke) Allen. 

The great-grandfather of Mr. Allen was 
a minute-man of the Revolutionarv War 



84 





^t^CCZ^o 



^ *&&*, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and took part in the battles of Concord, 
Lexington and Bunker Hill, receiving a 
slight wound in the last named engage- 
ment. His grandfather, Francis Burke, 
was a resident of Washington at the time 
of the War of 1812, and formed one of 
the volunteers of the First District of 
Columbia who strove to withstand the 
attacks of the British, and the grand- 
mother of Mr. Allen accompanied Dolly 
Madison, the wife of President Madison, 
in the retirement from the capitol at the 
approach of the British. 

The elementary education of Francis B. 
Allen was received in his native town, 
and he learned the trade of mechanical 
engineer. In February, 1862, he was ap- 
pointed in the engineer corps, United 
States navy, from Illinois, and on March 
1, the same year, was commissioned as an 
ensign in the Philadelphia Navy-yard. 
Before the end of the Civil War he rose 
to the rank of master of the engineer 
corps. During the entire period Mr. 
Allen was with various ships and squad- 
rons and on special duty in New York. 
He served on the gunboat, "Port Royal," 
in 1862, on the Potomac, James, Appo- 
mattox and Chickahominy rivers, where 
the fighting was very heavy. The fol- 
lowing two and one-half years he was 
with the East Gulf Squadron and the 
West Gulf Squadron, and in 1865 was 
with the United States ironclad "Dicta- 
tor" in the Atlantic (North) Squadron. 
His service was continuous until 1868, 
and 1866 and 1867 saw Mr. Allen on spe- 
cial duty at New York, while the latter 
year he was in the West India Squadron 
on the flagship "DeSoto." He resigned 
from service in this year because of defec- 
tive hearing which had been brought 
about by standing on deck after having 
been hours in a hot engine room. Among 
the more notable of the engagements in 
which he took part was in May, 1862, 



when his ship and others of the fleet bom- 
barded Drury's Lane on the James river 
upon finding that the narrow channel was 
impassable because of the gunboats and 
supplies which the Confederate Army had 
sunk across it. He also took part in the 
battle of Mobile Bay under Admiral Far- 
ragut, and during the conflict his ship 
was lashed to the "Richmond." In a little 
reminiscence of his career in the navy, 
speaking of the famed "Monitor," Mr. 
Allen said: "The old 'Monitor' which de- 
feated the Merrimac, although not so de- 
cisively as history makes out, is the direct 
ancestor of the present submarine. It was 
almost through a miracle that the inven- 
tor, Captain Ericson, had a chance to 
show what it could do. The board which 
then corresponded to our present Ad- 
miralty Board maintained that an iron- 
clad steamer would sink, and could not 
be convinced differently. Finally the in- 
ventor succeeded in interesting private 
capital, which was entered purely from a 
standpoint of experimentation, and every- 
body knows the result. If Ericson had 
taken the word of the experts that an 
ironclad ship could not float, the develop- 
ment of the present-day great navies 
might have been postponed for years." 

Upon his resignation from service in 
the navy, Mr. Allen accepted a position 
with the Novelty Iron Works in New 
York City. He was afterwards assistant 
to the superintendent of motive power on 
the Northern Pacific Railroad. In 1872 
he entered upon his duties as special agent 
of the Hartford Steam Boiler and Inspec- 
tion Company in their New York depart- 
ment, and ten years later was promoted 
to the position of supervising general 
agent, located at the home office in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. He later became sec- 
ond vice-president of the company and 
subsequently vice-president, which posi- 
tion he ably occupies to-day. Through 



85 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his varied training and wide experience 
he is ideally fitted for the office, and has 
throughout the years given close and dili- 
gent attention to the performance of his 
duties, for the same qualities that made 
him a good sailor have made him a good 
citizen and a successful man. 

Mr. Allen is a member of the American 
Society of Mechanical Engineers of New 
York ; the American Society of Naval En- 
gineers of Washington, District of Colum- 
bia ; the Marine Engineers' Society of 
New York ; the National Association of 
Stationary Engineers ; the National As- 
sociation of Naval Veterans, of which he 
is lieutenant-commander; vice-president 
of the Naval Veteran Association of Con- 
necticut ; member of the Army and Navy 
Club of Connecticut ; Robert O. Tyler 
Post, Grand Army of the Republic ; mem- 
ber of the Loyal Legion. In 1915 Mr. 
Allen attended the encampment of the 
Grand Army of the Republic, of which 
he is past junior vice-commander-in-chief, 
and also past commander-in-chief of the 
National Association of Naval Veterans. 
He found Washington a vastly different 
place then when he had visited it in 1865, 
and changed for the better, as he said, 
"It would be hard to recognize that it is 
the same city." 

At different times he has resided in 
Portland, Maine, and has a summer resi- 
dence on the shore at Watch Hill, Rhode 
Island, where he can hear the beating of 
the surf and breakers of the sea he loves 
so well. He has also resided in Chicago, 
New York and Philadelphia, and through 
his connection in naval and business 
affairs he has achieved a wide reputation, 
and gained many friends by virtue of his 
winning personality. 

Mr. Allen married Margaret Louise, 
daughter of David Williams, and they 
were the parents of five children: 1. Ed- 
win S., who is the assistant secretary of 

86 



the jEtna Fire Insurance Company of 
Hartford. 2. Mabel W., deceased. 3. 
Arthur Williams, of the insurance firm 
of Allen, Russell & Allen. 4. Marjory, 
who became the wife of Harold Deming, 
of Hartford. Mr. Allen with his family is 
a member of the Congregational church 
of Hartford. 



ALFORD, Hestes Ward, 

Agriculturist, Public Official. 

Throughout his life a resident of Wind- 
sor, Mr. Alford enjoys the respect and 
esteem of his contemporaries, earned by 
a consistent, industrious and worthy life. 
He is a descendant of one of the oldest 
families of the town, always connected 
with the industrial life of the community. 
Sergeant Benidictus Alford was born 
about 1615-18, probably in Whiteston, 
England, and died there April 23, 1683. 
In 1637 he served in the Pequot War, and 
was in England in 1639. In 1640 he re- 
turned to Windsor, and in that same year 
purchased land. He filled various town 
offices in Windsor, and was a man of sub- 
stance. On November 26, 1640, he mar- 
ried, in Windsor, Jane Newton, of Broad- 
way Parish, England. 

Jeremy Alford, youngest child of Ser- 
geant Benidictus Alford, was born De- 
cember 24, 1655, and was baptized Janu- 
ary 31, 1666. He was a contributor to 
the support of the poor of other colonies 
in 1676, his contribution being one shil- 
ling and three pence. His death occurred 
June 1, 1709. He married Jane Hoskins, 
born April 30, 1761, and died May 19, 
1715, the daughter of Anthony and Isa- 
bel (Brown) Hoskins. 

Jeremy Alford, third son of Jeremy and 
Jane (Hoskins) Alford, was born May 8, 
1692, and married, July 4, 171 1, Sarah 
Eno, daughter of John and Mary (Dib- 
ble) Eno. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Jonathan Alford, second son of Jeremy 
and Sarah (Eno) Alford, was born Sep- 
tember 16, 1720, married, December 17, 
1744, Charity Thrall, born about 1729, 
and died September 9, 1776, the daugh- 
ter of William and Hannah (Thrall) 
Thrall. 

Joseph Alford, second son of Jonathan 
and Charity (Thrall) Alford, was born 
July 6, 1748, married, in 1772, Lucy Gris- 
wold, who was born in 1753, and died 
April 10, 1835. She was the daughter of 
Moses and Mary (Nichols) Griswold, of 
Poquonock, town of Windsor. 

William Alford, eldest son of Joseph 
and Lucy (Griswold) Alford, was born 
May 3, 1774, and died December 26, 1856, 
at Poquonock. He married (second) 
April 3, 1810, Selina Griswold, born Janu- 
ary 2, 1782, and died February 4, 1821 ; 
she was the daughter of Isaac and Chris- 
tiana (Holcomb) Griswold. 

Euclid W. Alford, fifth son of William 
and Selina (Griswold) Alford, was born 
July 16, 1813, and resided at Poquonock, 
where he died April 24, 1859. He mar- 
ried, October 10, 1842, Mary Elizabeth, 
the daughter of Leonard Keeney, of East 
Hartford, Connecticut. They were the 
parents of the following children: 1. 
Celeste, born March 3, 1844; married 
George W. Barnes, of Windsor, and died 
in that town in February, 1915. 2. 
Hestes Ward, of whom further. 3. Wil- 
liam Euclid, born March 16, 1848; re- 
moved to Oklahoma, and died there about 
1914; he married, in Connecticut, Elsie 
Merriman, of Tarrifville, formerly of 
Windsor. 4. Frank Wells, born Decem- 
ber 27, 1856, who has lived on the paternal 
homestead at Poquonock during his en- 
tire life ; married Katherine Suess Merri- 
man, the sister of his brother's wife; she 
was born October 29, 1857, and is the 
mother of the following children : Alden 
Euclid, born November 29, 189a; Mary 



Sophia, January 9. 1893, Elsie Merriman, 
April 10, 1895, Alice Viets, August 16, 
1897, and Leon Morton, November 20, 
1899. 

Hestes Ward Alford, son of Euclid W. 
and Mary Elizabeth (Keeney) Alford, 
was born May 4, 1845, in Poquonock, and 
received such education as the public 
schools of the neighborhood afforded. He 
was but fourteen years of age when his 
father died, and as eldest son much of the 
responsibilities of the management of the 
paternal farm fell upon him. He still 
continues to till a portion of this farm and 
has given much attention to tobacco cul- 
ture. After many experiments he dis- 
covered the best use of fertilizers and the 
peculiarities of the tobacco plant, and has 
long been known as one of the most suc- 
cessful growers of the Windsor section. 
He never had an ambition to try any 
other life than that of farmer, and was 
always fond of hunting and fishing. He 
relates many interesting details of his ex- 
periences while pursuing these sports. 
He has been an extensive collector of bird 
specimens, and has a very large number 
representing the natives of this locality. 
All of these were mounted by Mr. Alford 
himself, and he takes a just pride in ex- 
hibiting his collection to those who may 
be interested. His intimate knowledge of 
bird nature and habits enabled him to so 
mount his specimens as to bring out the 
most characteristic pose of each. Equally 
interested in the development of plant 
life, his success in agriculture naturally 
followed his study of these subjects. Mr. 
Alford has always maintained an intelli- 
gent interest in the progress of his coun- 
try, and has ever espoused the principles 
of the Republican party, but he has 
always shunned any political preferment. 
His shrewd and successful management 
of his own affairs naturally led his towns- 
men to seek his services in other con- 



87 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cerns. Responding to this solicitation, he 
served the town as representative in the 
Legislature, session of 191 1, in which he 
was a member of a number of committees. 

Being of a retiring and modest disposi- 
tion, Mr. Alford has always applied him- 
self with great delight to the affairs per- 
taining to his outdoor life. In early life 
he was affiliated with the Universalist 
church, but since the services of that de- 
nomination were discontinued in his sec- 
tion, he has been a supporter of the Con- 
gregational church. He is a member of 
the Business Men's Association of Wind- 
sor, and of the New England Tobacco 
Growers' Association. In later years he 
has made his home in the village of Po- 
quonock, but still continues to look after 
his home farm. In the Windsor "Town 
Crier" of May, 1917, the following is said 
of Mr. Alford : 'A genuine Yankee, a 
witty philosopher, a consistent optomist, 
a true gentleman, a good sportsman, a 
successful business man, a practical Chris- 
tian, and a helpful friend — these titles are 
fittingly applied to Hestes W. Alford by 
everyone who knows him, because it is 
somewhere written of him, as of Abou 
Ben Adhem, that 'he is one who loves his 
fellow men.' He is liked by young peo- 
ple and he likes them. Their elders have 
in many ways expressed in public and 
private their confidence in him. It is 
doubtful if he has an enemy in the world. 
In former years hunting was his greatest 
pleasure, and readers of this paper will 
sometime later have the privilege of read- 
ing his reminiscences of 'Windsor Hunt- 
ing and Hunters'." 

Mr. Alford married, March 30, 1882, 
Alice Jeanette Griswold, the daughter of 
Lothrop and Jeanette (Thompson) Gris- 
wold. She is a descendant of Edward 
Griswold, a pioneer settler of Windsor. 
The name of Griswold is an ancient one 
in England, derived like many other 



names from the locality. The ancient seat 
of the family was at Solihull, Warwick- 
shire, prior to the year 1400. About the 
middle of the fourteenth century John 
Griswold came from Kenilworth, and 
married a daughter and heiress of Henry 
Hughford, of Huddersley Hall, at Soli- 
hull, and the family has been known as 
the Griswolds of Kenilworth and Soli- 
hull. Solihull is on the northwest border 
of Warwickshire, and Yardley in Worces- 
tershire is on the south and west. It is 
but eight miles from Kenilworth to the 
westward, and twelve miles northwest of 
Stratford-on-Avon, and was a place of 
importance before the Xorman Conquest. 
The two American immigrants, Edward 
and Matthew Griswold, came to America 
from Kenilworth. Matthew came over in 
1639, and settled in Windsor, Connecti- 
cut ; died at Lyme, Connecticut, Septem- 
ber 21, 1698, and was buried at Saybrook; 
assisted in the settlement of Lyme and 
was a large landowner ; was deputy to the 
General Assembly in 1664, and after- 
wards. Edward Griswold, the son of 
George Griswold, born about 1607, in 
Windsor, came to Connecticut in 1639, 
and located in Windsor, where he acted 
as attorney for a Mr. St. Nicholas, of 
Warwickshire, for whom a house was 
built at Windsor, and a tract of land re- 
served. Edward Griswold had a grant 
of land at what is now Poquanock, and 
his house there, which he occupied in 
1649, was tne outpost of the colony. This 
was located in a bend of the Tunis river, 
which bordered near on the south and 
west. He was active in public affairs, 
helped build the fort at Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, for William Pynchon in 1650. 
He was deputy to the General Court from 
Windsor in 1656, and for many years 
thereafter. About 1663 he removed with 
his younger children to West Saybrook, 
deeding his Windsor property to his sons, 



88 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



George and Joseph. The latter were 
bound to pay him a small annuity. He 
died in 1690, in that part of Killingworth, 
now Clinton, Connecticut. Killingworth 
is a corruption of the name Kenilworth, 
which was originally given to the town 
in honor of the birthplace of Edward Gris- 
wold. He was first deputy from the town, 
in which capacity he served more than 
twenty years, being succeeded by his son, 
John, who was also a magistrate. While 
in the Legislature, he served in associa- 
tion with his son, Francis, and brother, 
Matthew, and the record of "Province 
of State" as nearly always, includes one 
or more of the name. He was deacon of 
the Killingly church, and served on a 
committee to establish a Latin school at 
New London. His first wife, Margaret, 
was the mother of George Griswold, born 
in 1633, who remained on his father's 
lands in Windsor, and was also an exten- 
sive purchaser of lands from the Indians. 
He died at Windsor, September 3, 1704; 
he married, October 3, 1655, Mary Hol- 
comb, the daughter of Thomas and Eliz- 
abeth Holcomb, and she died April 4, 
1708. Their eldest son, Daniel Griswold, 
was born October 1, 1656, in Windsor, 
where he lived through life. He married 
there, February 3, 1680, Mindwell Bissell, 
born October 23, 1663, and died Decem- 
ber 31, 1728, the eldest child of Nathaniel 
and Mindwell (Moore) Bissell, and grand- 
daughter of John Bissell. Mindwell 
Moore was born July 10, 1643, an d was 
a daughter of Deacon John and Abigail 
Moore, who came from England in 1630. 
John Moore was a son of Thomas Moore. 
Ensign Nathaniel Griswold, the twin of 
Daniel, son of Daniel and Mindwell (Bis- 
sell) Griswold, was born February 14, 
1684, in Windsor, and resided in Poquo- 
nock, where he died September 16, 1753. 
He married, in 1731, Ruth Gaylord, born 
April 10, 1700, and died September 16, 



1753, the daughter of Nathaniel and Abi- 
gail (Bissell) Gaylord. Their eldest son, 
Nathaniel Griswold, was born July 27, 
1742, lived in Poquonock, and was ad- 
mitted to the Wintonbury church, June 
10, 1764, with his wife, Abigail, and she 
died April 26, 1820. Their son, Friend 
Griswold, was baptized June 10, 1764, and 
died February 4, 183 1. He married in 
Wintonbury, March 12, 1787, Dorothy 
Weller, who died March 12, 1797. Their 
son, Bradford Griswold, was born 1796, 
and died September 3, 1855. He married 
Sophia Winchell, born 1776, and died Au- 
gust 25, 1854. They were the parents of 
Lothrop Griswold, born February 22, 
1819, in Poquonock, and died July 6, 1890. 
He was a successful farmer, living all of 
his life in the town of Windsor. He mar- 
ried there, previous to 1855, Jeanette A. 
Thompson, born February 6, 1824, in 
East Granby, and died in Windsor, March 
24, 191 5. She was the daughter of Sam- 
uel and Asenath (Clark) Thompson. 
Samuel Thompson was born June 26, 
1797, in East Granby, and died November 
2, 1837. He married Asenath Clark, born 
April 9, 1789, died September 17, 1871, the 
daughter of David Clark, who was born 
in 1755, in East Granby, and died Febru- 
ary 9, 1829. His wife, Sarah (Hawley) 
Clark, was born in 1761, probably in 
Windsor Locks, and died July 31, 1852. 
The Thompson family is descended 
from Rev. William Thompson, a native 
of Lancashire, England. The name for- 
merly appears as Tomson and Tompson. 
William Thompson matriculated at Bra- 
zan Nose College, Oxford, July 28, 1620, 
at the age of twenty-one years, and was 
subsequently a preacher in Winwick, 
Lancastershire. In 1637 he came to 
America and was engaged to preach in 
Kittery and York, in what is now Maine. 
He was ordained pastor of the church at 
Braintree, November 19, 1637, and went 



89 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



on a mission to Virginia in October, 1642. 
During his absence his wife Abigail died 
at Braintree, January 1, 1643. 1° 1640 he 
was granted one hundred and twenty 
acres of land, was a freeman in 1656, and 
died December 10, 1666, at the age of 
sixty-seven years. He brought with him 
from England sons, Samuel and William. 
Samuel, the elder son, born in England, 
was living in Braintree in 1672, and was 
town clerk there in 1690. In 1672 he ex- 
changed his six acres of land with house 
and other buildings for other property, 
his homestead being appropriated for the 
use of the minister. He married, April 
25, 1656, Sarah, daughter of Edward and 
Violet Shepard, born 1639, and died Jan- 
uary 15, 1680. Their second son, Edward 
Thompson, born April 20, 1665, gradu- 
ated at Harvard College in 1684, and was 
settled in the ministry in that part of 
Simsbury, which is now Granby. The 
birth of two daughters are recorded in 
that town. Owing to the absence of rec- 
ords, it is impossible to determine who 
were his sons ; one of these was undoubt- 
edly the father of Samuel Thompson, who 
resided in East Granby, and his wife's 
name was Jemina. They were the par- 
ents of Samuel Thompson, born in 1776, 
and died in 1832. His wife, Lydia, born 
in the same year as himself, died in 1859, 
at the age of eighty-three years. Their 
eldest child was Samuel Thompson, born 
June 26, 1797, as previously noted, and 
was the father of Jeanette A. Thompson, 
who became the wife of Lothrop Gris- 
wold. 



NORTHAM, Charles H., 

Corporation and Bank Director; Ex-Coun- 
cilman. 

The late Charles H. Northam, highly- 
regarded resident of Hartford, prominent 
for many years in the business, civic and 



financial affairs of the city in which he 
lived for more than fifty years, was born 
in Washington, Rhode Island, March 9, 
1842, the son of Hanford McKee and 
Marcy Howland (Chace) Northam. The 
Northam family have been residents in 
Connecticut since Colonial times ; Jona- 
than Northam, great-grandfather of 
Charles H. Northam, was one of the pio- 
neers of Colchester, and Charles Northam, 
grandfather, was a manufacturer in West- 
chester, owner also of much landed estate. 

Hanford McKee Northam, father of 
Charles H. Northam, was born near Col- 
chester, August 18, 1800, and died in East 
Hartford, November 1, 1886. He had lived 
in East Hartford for twenty years, since 
1868, and had become one of the success- 
ful farmers of that section. He was re- 
puted to have been a man of sound judg- 
ment and progressive spirit, a Republican 
in politics, and a devout Congregational- 
ism He married, June 2, 1841, in Coven- 
try, Rhode Island, Marcy Howland 
Chace, who was born in that State, March 
1, 1813, the daughter of Russell W. Chace, 
a wealthy cotton manufacturer, of Wash- 
ington, Rhode Island, who lived a reputa- 
ble life to octogenarian years. Marcy 
Howland Chace, who was also related to 
General Nathaniel Green, of Revolution- 
ary fame, was a woman of noble character 
and quiet disposition, and to her husband, 
Hanford McKee Northam, she bore two 
children, Charles H., of whom further, 
and Helen R., who remained in the old 
homestead at East Hartford, and took 
prominent part in church work. 

Charles H. Northam was educated in 
the local public schools, and for advanced 
study was placed in the Connecticut Lit- 
erary Institute, Suffield, Connecticut, 
where he eventually graduated. At the 
age of seventeen years, in 1859, he began 
his business career which was destined to 
become so notable. At the outset, he took 



90 




wmasAaa 9^ t//VvtxCt^v^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



clerical capacity in the employ of his 
uncle, the Hon. Charles H. Northam, who 
attained much eminence in Hartford busi- 
ness and public life, was esteemed for his 
philanthropy, and who was for many 
years prior to his death, in 1881, president 
of the Mercantile National Bank and of 
the old Connecticut River Steamboat 
Company, and whose deeds are com- 
memorated in Northam Memorial Chapel 
and Northam Hall at Trinity College. 
Charles H. Northam, however, only re- 
mained in the cotton and wool business 
conducted by his uncle for six months, 
leaving to take service as clerk with 
Jerome & Redfield, wholesale grocers, 
with which firm he remained for three 
years, in which time he gathered a com- 
prehensive knowledge of general mercan- 
tile business, acquiring also some capital, 
and the confidence in others that he was 
a capable, enterprising and reliable young 
man of much business promise. This 
combination of circumstances made it 
possible for him to become a junior part- 
ner of a firm then established, under the 
name of Bradford, Northam & Company, 
to conduct a wholesale business in flour, 
grain and feed, and the fact that the com- 
pany is still in existence and that in the 
more than sixty years of its existence it 
has progressed so that it is now one of 
the leading firms in its line in the New 
England States is an indication that the 
supporters of the young man in its found- 
ing did not misjudge his capability. For 
more than sixty years Mr. Northam was 
one of the principals of the firm, which 
soon developed a substantial business. 
There have, of necessity, been several 
changes in the construction and consti- 
tution of the company since its begin- 
ning, but for the greater part of its dec- 
ades of operation, Mr. Northam was the 
directing head. In 1866, with the admis- 
sion of a Mr. Robinson to partnership, 



the firm name became Smith, Northam & 
Robinson ; in 1882, it became Smith, 
Northam & Company ; and with the death 
of Mr. Smith in 1892, Mr. Emelyn V. 
Mitchell was admitted, but the firm name, 
Smith, Northam & Company, was con- 
tinued and still is the same excepting that 
it subsequently became necessary to add 
"incorporated," when the business so in- 
creased in volume that the owners re- 
solved to secure corporate powers for 
their operations. A contemporary, writ- 
ing some years ago of Mr. Northam, and 
of the business of Smith, Northam & 
Company, stated : 

The business is one of the oldest and best known 
of its kind in all Connecticut, and has always been 
a prosperous one. Their plant occupies more 
than two acres of ground; their grain mill is the 
largest in New England ; their four warehouses 
can store two hundred carloads of flour, and 
their two elevators 200,000 bushels of grain in 
bulk. They conduct a business not exceeded in 
magnitude outside of New York and Boston, 
their trade extending all over the New England 
states. Mr. Northam, a man of ability, keen fore- 
sight and progressive ideas, has ever been the 
mainspring of the business, and although many of 
the heavier burdens have been transferred to the 
shoulders of his capable son, Russell C. Northam, 
he continues the acting directing head. 

The benefit of Mr. Northam's advice 
and interest was sought by many lead- 
ing business corporations, and he became 
of prominence in financial circles of Hart- 
ford. He was a director of the Phoenix 
National Bank, of the Loan and Guaran- 
tee Company, of the New Haven Steam- 
boat Company, of the Phoenix Fire Insur- 
ance Company, and of the Broad Brook 
Company, and also was a trustee of the 
Society of Savings. In addition, Mr. 
Northam came into public notice in the 
municipal affairs of Hartford ; he was in 
the Common Council for two terms, but 
declined election to the aldermanic body 
in 1890. However, he consented to join 



91 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the board of street commissioners, and as 
such served the city for ten years, for 
eight of which he was president of the 
board. 

He was a sincere churchman, member 
of the South Congregational Church, and 
actively participated in church adminis- 
tration for many years. Socially, he be- 
longed to the following clubs : Hartford, 
Hartford Golf, Hartford Congregational, 
and being an enthusiastic automobilist 
during the latter part of his life, he was 
a member of the Hartford Automobile 
Club, and the Automobile Club of Amer- 
ica. 

Mr. Northam married, September 22, 
1870, Hattie L., daughter of Edwin D. 
and Julia A. (Camp) Tiffany. She was 
born in Hartford, and both paternal and 
maternal lines connect her with old Con- 
necticut families, her father especially 
being well known and respected by Hart- 
ford people during his life. Six years 
after their marriage, Mr. Northam built a 
handsome residence at No. 12 Charter 
Oak Place, Hartford. Mr. Northam died 
at the above home, June 6, 1916. Five 
children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Northam: 1. Arline, a graduate of La 
Salle Seminary, Auburndale, Massachu- 
setts ; married Walter Bliss, of Hartford ; 
child, Donald Tiffany. 2. Edwin Tiffany, 
a graduate of Peekskill Military Acad- 
emy, and now living in Chicago, Illinois ; 
married Lenore F. Ledyaid. 3. Russell 
Chace, graduate of the same academy, 
later an associate with his father in busi- 
ness, and at present vice-president of the 
company ; he married, December 14, 1899, 
Jane E., daughter of Salisbury and Eliza- 
beth Hyde, of Hartford; children: Rus- 
sell Hyde and Barbara Northam. 4. Kath- 
erine Tiffany, who married J. Irving 
Romer, of New York City; children: 
Arline Northam and John Irving, Jr. 5. 
Carl Harvey, who graduated at Wesleyan 



University, Middletown, Connecticut, in 
1904, and who has since been also with 
the firm founded b\ r his father. 



HART, Gerald Waldo, 

Manufacturer. 

Among those who followed Rev. 
Thomas Hooker to Hartford in 1636 was 
Stephen Hart, American ancestor of Ger- 
ald Waldo Hart, president of the Hart 
Manufacturing Company, of Hartford. 

Although an original proprietor of 
Hartford with a house lot in the town on 
what is now Front street, he did not re- 
main until his death, but in company with 
others bought land in the valley of the 
Farmington river of the Indians, and in 
1672 became one of the original pro- 
prietors of Tunxis, later Farmington. He 
was one of the leading men of his day. He 
sat as deputy in the General Court for 
fifteen sessions, was commissioner for the 
town of Farmington, was first deacon of 
the Farmington church, and owned con- 
siderable land. But his greatest gift to 
the colony was sons, John, Stephen and 
Thomas, all of whom married and gave 
to their native State noble sons to main- 
tain the honor of the family. The name 
of Hart runs through every chapter of 
Connecticut history, and each generation 
has borne well its part in their chosen 
occupation, business or profession, law, 
medicine and the ministry calling many 
of the name who have risen to high dis- 
tinction. Gerald W. Hart is of the sev- 
enth American generation, son of Dr. 
Samuel Waldo and Cordelia M. (Smith) 
Hart, his father an eminent physician of 
New Britain, Connecticut, which city he 
served five times as mayor ; also a grand- 
son of Dr. Samuel Hart, who practiced in 
New Britain, Connecticut. 

Gerald Waldo Hart was born at New 
Britain, Connecticut, July 23, 1856, and 



92 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



spent his youth in his native town, there 
obtaining his earlier education. He pre- 
pared at the Episcopal Academy, Che- 
shire, Connecticut, then entered Sheffield 
Scientific School, Yale University, class 
of '78. Inclination led him to that school, 
for he possessed decided mechanical and 
inventive genius which the technical 
training obtained at Sheffield developed, 
particularly in the then not so well under- 
stood science of electrical development. 
He was one of the prominent athletes of 
his class, specializing in aquatic sports, 
making the freshman crew in 1876 and 
rowing "bow" in the "Varsity" in 1877. 
After graduation he entered the employ 
of the Thompson Houston Electric Com- 
pany in New Britain as their first em- 
ployee, and from 1880 until 1887 con- 
tinued with that company. With the thor- 
ough training in mechanical engineering 
received at Sheffield, reinforced by those 
seven years of practical experience with 
one of the strong electrical companies of 
the country, he was fairly established in 
the electrical world, his name even at that 
early day not an unfamiliar one. In 1890 
the Hart & Hegeman Manufacturing 
Company was organized, and in 1897, 
upon the death of Mr. Hegeman, Mr. 
Hart withdrew and organized his pres- 
ent company, the Hart Manufacturing 
Company. In 1887 he accepted a call 
from Kansas City, Missouri, and resign- 
ing his position in New Britain, became 
superintendent of the Edison Electric 
Light and Power Company, also assist- 
ant general manager of the Kansas City 
Electric Light Company. He remained 
in the West during the next three years, 
returning in 1890 to Connecticut, where 
for twenty-five years he has been success- 
fully engaged in the manufacture of Elec- 
trical Supplies. His inventive genius has 
been directed along electrical lines, and 
many patents have resulted, his most 
noted inventions being in connection with 



electrical switches. In 1898 the Hart 
Manufacturing Company was organized 
for the manufacture of switches and elec- 
trical supplies. He is fond of yachting 
and sports of the open, indulging in his 
favorite recreations as a member of the 
Hartford Yacht and the Farmington 
Country clubs. His social club is the 
Hartford, other local organizations also 
claiming his interests. He is a Repub- 
lican in politics, but has never taken 
active part in public affairs, further than 
to register his preferences at the polls. 
He is a member of the Society of Found- 
ers and Patriots. 

Mr. Hart married Lucie I. Janes, a 
lineal descendant of William Janes, who 
came to Connecticut with the John Dav- 
enport Company. 



HUNTTING, Charles H., 

Merchant. 

From the County of Norfolk, in the 
eastern section of England, the progeni- 
tor of the Huntting family in America 
came in the summer of 1638, and located 
in Dedham, Massachusetts. At the same 
time that the Rev. John Allen was or- 
dained minister there, he was ordained a 
ruling elder of the church. The follow- 
ing year he was made a freeman by vir- 
tue of his having been one of the found- 
ers the previous year. Before coming to 
America he had married, in England, 
Esther Seaborn and they were the par- 
ents of John Huntting, Jr., who married 
Elizabeth, a daughter of John (or 
Thomas) Payne, of Dedham. 

Rev. Nathaniel Huntting, third son and 
child of John and Elizabeth (Payne) 
Huntting, was born November 15, 1675, 
and died September 21, 1753. He was a 
graduate of Harvard College, and settled 
in 1696, in Easthampton, Long Island, 
where he was the beloved minister of his 
people until the time of his death. He 



93 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



has the lasting- gratitude of all historians 
and genealogists for the excellent and 
accurate manner in which he kept the 
church records of his congregations. His 
wife was Mary Green, of Boston. 

Rev. Nathaniel Huntting, Jr., son of 
Rev. Nathaniel and Mary (Green) Hunt- 
ting, was born in August, 1702. He re- 
ceived an excellent education, and was 
prepared for the ministry, but through ill 
health was obliged to forego this vocation 
and take up an outdoor life. Accordingly 
he engaged in farming and continued in 
that occupation until his death in 1770. 
He married, September 11, 1728, Mary 
Hedges, a descendant of William Hedges, 
the Puritan and the founder of the family 
on Long Island. 

William Huntting, fourth child of Rev. 
Nathaniel and Mary (Hedges) Huntting, 
was born in June, 1738, and died July 6, 
1816. He married Puah Osborne, born 
December 29, 1747, died August 24, 1809. 

Jeremiah Huntting, son of William and 
Puah (Osborne) Huntting, born in 1772, 
and died June 19, 1845. He was the father 
of three sons, the oldest of whom was 
Jeremiah. 

Jeremiah Huntting, Jr., son of Jeremiah 
Huntting, was born at Easthampton in 
181 2. As a youth he learned the trade of 
shoemaker and continued in that capacity 
for a few years. Feeling the greater at- 
traction of outdoor life, he took up farm- 
ing with marked success and was engaged 
thus until his death. He was originally a 
believer in the principles of the Demo- 
cratic party, but at the time of the Mis- 
souri compromise he, like thousands of 
other staunch Abolitionists, joined the 
ranks of the Republican party. He was 
a heavy loser at the time of the deprecia- 
tion of values preceding the outbreak of 
the Civil War and was forced to sell at 
a great sacrifice in order to meet his obli- 
gations. He was a man possessed of the 
highest integrity and moral principles, 



and had the respect and esteem of all who 
knew him. At the rise in values to their 
normal condition he recouped something 
of his loss. In the community in which 
he lived he was recognized as one of their 
influential citizens, and in appearance he 
resembled the Hedges family rather than 
the Huntting line, being short in stature. 
He married Joanna A., a daughter of 
Charles R. Hand, and they were earnest 
and consistent members of the Presby- 
terian church of Easthampton. Mr. 
Huntting died in 1867, and his widow in 
December, 1898. They were the parents 
of the following children : William L., 
born in 1841 ; Charles H., of further men- 
tion ; Jeremiah, 1846; David H., 1852; 
Samuel B., 1856; John P., i860; Mary E., 
1862, became the wife of Josiah Dayton; 
and Edward. 

Charles H. Huntting, son of Jeremiah 
and Joanna A. (Hand) Huntting, was 
born in Easthampton, Long Island, Janu- 
ary 3, 1844. He has been the architect of 
his own fortune and has won his way to 
a foremost place in his line of business, 
dealer in fruits, through his own native 
energy, business ability and straightfor- 
ward methods of doing business. He is 
a worthy member of one of the oldest and 
most distinguished families of America. 

Mr. Huntting married (first) Decem- 
ber 13, 1871, Ann E. Fowler, who died 
July 4, 1891, leaving two daughters, Janet 
S. and Ella. Mr. Huntting married (sec- 
ond) October 30, 1895, Mary A., daugh- 
ter of Duane E. Newton, the ancestry 
of whose family appears elsewhere in this 
work. They have one daughter, Eliza- 
beth. 



NEWTON, Philo Woodhouse, 

Merchant. 

Philo Woodhouse Newton, president 
and treasurer of the Newton Drug Com- 
pany, of Hartford, is one of the oldest re- 



94 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tail druggists in that city. Through his 
own industry, foresight and sound busi- 
ness methods he has won a prominent 
place among the retail merchants of his 
native city, and has also become promi- 
nent in Masonic and military circles. 

The Newton family is one of the oldest 
in New England. The immigrant ances- 
tor of Mr. Newton, Richard Newton, 
came from England, probably in the sum- 
mer or fall of 1638, and was one of the 
early settlers of Sudbury. His name ap- 
pears on the list of original proprietors of 
Sudbury in 1640. He became a freeman 
in May, 1645, an d was one of the thirteen 
who signed the petition for Marlborough. 
The petition was granted, and in the allot- 
ment of land, Richard Newton received 
thirty acres. He finally became possessed 
of nearly one hundred and thirty acres 
there. In 1664 he was one of eight who 
petitioned for permission to establish a 
church and call a minister. He married 
Anne or Hannah, as she is called in his 
will, daughter of Henry and Elizabeth 
Loker, of County Essex, England. She 
died at Marlborough, December 5, 1697, 
and he died August 24, 1701. 

Their son, Moses Newton, was born at 
Sudbury, October 20, 1645, an d was a 
worker in iron. He received his portion 
of his father's estate before the latter 
died. On March 20, 1676, while the peo- 
ple were at church, they were attacked 
by Indians, and Moses Newton received a 
ball in his elbow, from the effects of which 
he never fully recovered. In the Indian 
wars and troubles of the period, 1700 to 
1713, Moses Newton, Sr., his son, Moses, 
and John Newton, with their families, 
were assigned to Isaac Howe's garrison, 
No. 6, near what is now the Newton Rail- 
road Station. On October 27, 1668, he 
married at Marlborough, Joanna, daugh- 
ter of Edward and Joanna Larkin, of 
Charlestown, Massachusetts. She died in 
1723, and he died in 1736. 



Their son, Moses Newton, Jr., was born 
February 28, 1669, and married, Decem- 
ber 11, 1695, Sarah, daughter of Isaac and 
Frances (Woods) How, born January 28, 
1675, and died December 4, 1733. She 
was the granddaughter of John How, who 
was a resident of Watertown in 1639. He 
was one of the Sudbury citizens who 
signed the petition for Marlborough in 
1657. He was admitted freeman in 1687, 
and conducted the first public house in 
Marlborough. In 1717 he became one of 
the original proprietors of Shrewsbury. 

Their son, Elisha Newton, was born in 
October, 1701, and married at Shrews- 
bury, Massachusetts, Sarah, daughter of 
Isaac and Mary (Wait) Tomlin, of Brook- 
field. She was born at Marlborough, 
April 15, 1708; was admitted to the 
church at Shrewsbury in 1734, and died 
about 1798. 

Their son, Solomon Newton, was born 
January 28, 1740-41, and died there May 
28, 1822. On May 18, 1762, he married 
Hannah, daughter of Daniel and Sarah 
(Ball) Hastings, born in Shrewsbury, 
April 14, 1742, and died there November 
9, 1 781. She was descended from Thomas 
and Susannah Hastings, who left Ips- 
wich, England, in the ship "Elizabeth," 
April 10, 1634, and settled in Watertown, 
Massachusetts. 

Daniel Newton, son of Solomon New- 
ton, was born, one of twins, April 13, 
1776, and died at Shrewsbury, March 6, 
1827. On January 31, 1803, he married 
Lucy, daughter of Daniel and Hannah 
(Harrington) Maynard, born June 2, 
1782, and died October 2, 1818. She was 
descended from. John Maynard, who was 
in Sudbury in 1638, and was one of the 
petitioners for Marlborough. Soon after 
his marriage, Daniel Newton moved to 
Heath, Massachusetts, where he owned 
and operated a saw mill until the death 
of his wife, when he returned to Shrews- 
bury. 



95 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Philo Slocum Newton, son of Daniel 
and Lucy (Maynard) Newton, was born 
March 29, 181 1, at Heath, Massachusetts, 
and died at Hartford, Connecticut, May 
2, 1 891. He was reared in Shrewsbury, 
receiving such educational advantages as 
the town schools of his day afforded. On 
December 1, 1841, he married Elizabeth 
Ann, daughter of Nathan William and 
Abigail (Coleman) Pelton, of Wethers- 
field, born August 13, 1822, and died May 
12, 191 1. She was a descendant of John 
Pelton, who was born in England about 
1616, and who is on record as a land- 
owner in Boston in 1634. Mr. and Mrs. 
Newton were the parents of the following 
children : Anna Coleman, who married 
Dr. George F. Hawley, of Hartford, and 
Philo Woodhouse, who married Angelia 
Holden Thompson, daughter of Deacon 
Alfred and Lucy (Maynard) Holden, 
at Worcester, Massachusetts, April 17, 
1890. 



DES JARDINS, Benjamin M., 

Noted Inventor. 

In the preamble to a narration of the 
life and achievements of Benjamin Myr- 
rick Des Jardins, inventor, it is unneces- 
sary to indulge in elaborate eulogy of 
the man ; pen-pictures descriptive of his 
industry, his ingenuity, his versatile qual- 
ities and meritorious characteristics, 
would be superfluous ; to plainly record 
his triumphs in and contributions to the 
world's mechanical arts is sufficient to in- 
dicate his superlative qualities; his 
achievements show the eminence to 
which his genius has exalted him among 
the meritorious inventors of the latter 
half of the nineteenth and the early dec- 
ades of the twentieth century. Further- 
more, his name has found honored posi- 
tion in so many national and internation- 
al publications of this period, his achieve- 



ments have been recounted so often in 
American and foreign journals, technical 
periodicals, magazines, and like literature, 
and his inventions have wrought such 
definite effect upon one phase, in particu- 
lar, of this generation's progress in me- 
chanics, that historical students of the 
next and subsequent generations, in an- 
alyzing the world's progress of the pres- 
ent period, will readily become cognizant 
of the appreciable service rendered the 
inventive and mechanical arts by Benja- 
min Myrrick Des Jardins, and will allot 
to him his rightful place among the 
American inventors of this age. 

Invention, in the man, has been the 
outcome of the possession and exertion 
of an invaluable composite quality, in 
which are embraced courage, intellect, 
imagination, determination, persistence, 
pertinacity, an indifference to poverty, 
and a wonderful optimism. All these, and 
some others, have place in the requisite 
composite quality, but all would fail to 
attain the result sought unless genius, 
that intangible something which so often 
appears to run contrary to apparent prac- 
ticability and theoretical supposition, be 
present as the main component. Very few 
of the worth-while inventors of this age, 
or for that matter of past ages, have been 
deficient in these qualities, and there have 
been very few who have not in their in- 
itial efforts lamentably lacked the finances 
without which even the most valuable in- 
ventions may not be able to pass the em- 
bryonic stage. Benjamin M. Des Jardins 
cannot be excepted from this generality, 
for he has demonstrated that he possesses 
all of the above-enumerated qualities, as 
well as some additional and equally cred- 
itable qualities which were developed 
during his early struggle for his mere 
material existence, and for the instilling 
of life within the inventions of his fertile 
brain. One of the additional qualities 



96 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



brought to light by the strenuous efforts 
of M. Des Jardins to circumvent the dire 
threatenings of poverty was a manifested 
literary capacity of much merit, though 
his literary power has been neglected in 
his inventions, which, particularly those 
having bearing on the printing trade, have 
been such as to accentuate the encourage- 
ment the narration of his early days of 
trial and the causes responsible for his 
ultimate success will afford would-be in- 
ventors who labor under similar handi- 
caps. 

Benjamin Myrrick Des Jardins was 
born in the town of Tyre, Michigan, on 
October 10, 1858, son of Gregoir and 
Marie (Trudeau) Des Jardins, and grand- 
son of Zacharie Des Jardins, who was 
one of the early settlers of the Province 
of Quebec, Canada. Historical records 
authenticate the statement that the Des 
Jardins family was of French extraction, 
and of titled lineage. The activities of 
the progenitor of the American branches 
of the family were confined to Canadian 
soil, and many of his descendants have 
found prominent place in Canadian his- 
tory. Zacharie Des Jardins, the grand- 
ancestor of the American branches of the 
line, was a successful and highly regarded 
farmer and community leader at St. Ther- 
ese de Blainville, a village about seven- 
teen miles distant from Montreal. He 
was a man of strong personality and su- 
perior intellect, and took an active part 
in the Canadian Rebellion, aligning his 
sympathies with the public movement 
which sought to revolutionize adminis- 
trative balance, so as to secure the in- 
auguration of remedial measures to coun- 
teract the effect of past governmental 
abuses. 

His son, Gregoir Des Jardins, father of 
Benjamin M. Des Jardins, was, however, 
of different disposition to that which 
characterized his father; he was a man of 

Conn— 5— 7 gy 



profound thought on matters of religion, 
and of strong conviction, independently 
manifested by his secession from the 
church of his forebears, and adoption of 
Protestantism. The activities and prom- 
inence of the Des Jardins within the 
church of Rome had been so historic, that 
the severance of allegiance by one of 
its scions accentuated the act, and even- 
tually wrought disaster to the business 
affairs of Gregoir Des Jardins. An esti- 
mate of the standing of the Des Jardins 
family within the Roman Catholic church 
may be gauged by the position of one of 
its members, Alphonse T. C. Des Jardins, 
a Canadian journalist, editor of "L'Ord- 
re," and later president of Le Credit Fon- 
der du bas Canada, who took active part 
in organizing the Canadian Papal Zouave 
contingent, which went to assist the Pope 
in 1868, and who in 1872 was created a 
knight of the order of Pius IX. Gregoir 
Des Jardins was forced to leave the home 
of his father, and the companionship of 
people of his own native tongue, and he 
sought a less perturbed environment 
within the United States, entering what 
was virtually the wilderness when he 
settled in the vicinity of Tyre, Huron 
county, Michigan. He no doubt exper- 
ienced difficulties similar to those en- 
countered by most other pioneers of civ- 
ilization, and early settlers, and no doubt 
his efforts and example produced an ef- 
fect in creating within his son, Benjamin 
M., the admirable qualities of resistance 
he later exhibited. Also his son's me- 
chanical ability may be attributed in 
some measure to the mechanical ingenu- 
ity developed in his father by the neces- 
sities of the primitive conditions under 
which they lived. It has been authenti- 
cated that Gregoir Des Jardins possessed 
considerable mechanical ability, and that 
the humble frontier home of his family 
was equipped with many original labor- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



saving devices of his invention. He mar- 
ried thrice, his third wife having been 
Marie Trudeau, a French-Canadian, 
whose forebears were of the French no- 
bility. She bore him thirteen children, 
one of the younger being the distin- 
guished inventor to record whose 
achievements is the main purpose of this 
article. Gregoir Des Jardins was seventy- 
seven years of age when he died at Tyre 
in 1888. His third wife, nee Marie Tru- 
deau, lived to attain the age of eighty- 
four, her death occurring in 1903. At the 
time of her death, all her many children 
yet lived, as also did forty-seven of her 
fifty grandchildren. 

It can be imagined that the educational 
facilities open to her son, Benjamin Myr- 
rick Des Jardins, in the vicinity of their 
frontier home were meagre. He absorbed 
all the learning the little district school 
of Tyre afforded, and readily assimilated 
what supplementary knowledge was ten- 
dered him by his gifted mother, and elder 
brothers, one of whom became an eminent 
divine of the Methodist church, whilst 
another won prominent place among the 
architects of Cincinnati, but Benjamin M. 
soon grew beyond the educational facili- 
ties of his home, and determined to jour~ 
ney to Kalamazoo, and there work his 
way through Kalamazoo College, which 
he did, but during which experience he 
was called upon to taste the bitternesses 
which result from an insufficiency of 
money. He maintained himself during 
his undergraduateship mainly by his 
writings, having fortunately merited and 
gained place on the staff of one of the 
Kalamazoo daily newspapers. He like- 
wise fortunately cultivated another price- 
less association during that period, in 
gaining the appreciative acquaintance of 
Senator Julius C. Burrows, a lawyer and 
politician of prominence, and in becom- 
ing a member of his household, which cir- 



cumstance, coupled with his newspaper 
connection, probably influenced apprecia- 
bly the trend of his later endeavors. His 
journalistic affiliation brought him into in- 
timate touch with appliances then avail- 
able to printers, and in the home of Sen- 
ator Burrows he had access to a splendid 
private library, embracing many volumes 
on mechanics, which facility considerably 
aided the young thinker in his earnest re- 
search into the principles of mechanics, 
whereby he might acquire technical 
knowledge with which to develop a me- 
chanical means to meet a handicap he had 
noted in the operation of printing at the 
Kalamazoo printing plant. The labori- 
ousness, the uncertainty and unevenness 
in execution, and the slow monotony of 
the compositor's hand-setting of type im- 
pressed him as glaringly inconsistent, 
when compared with the accuracy and 
rapidity of the mechanical devices and 
equipment of the press-room, and he con- 
ceived an idea which inspired him to ac- 
quire a general knowledge of mechanics 
with the least possible delay, so that he 
might hasten to perfect the mechanical 
type-setting means his brain had embryon- 
ically planned to displace the hand proc- 
ess, and his energetic and persistent ap- 
plication to the project during the winter 
of 1882 brought him very substantial en- 
couragement. His study and experiments 
on the subject continued almost inces- 
santly for eighteen years, until complete 
success had crowned his efforts, and he 
had given to the world a machine which 
added very materially to the present day 
perfection of the printing art, but only 
he knows the full extent of his struggles 
during that arduous and apparently inter- 
minable period of experiment and disap- 
pointment. The typesetting machine he 
constructed in 1882-1883 and his first 
computing instrument to justify the lines 
of type failed to attract the financial sup- 



98 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



port necessary for its general exploita- 
tion ; and so obsessed was he in the prob- 
lems of invention that his consequent 
neglect of his journalistic duties brought 
him, almost unnoticed, to the point 



Breyfogle, later president of the Monon 
Route Railroad; R. W. Meredith, of the 
"Courier Journal" of Louisville; and Mr. 
E. A. Maginess, secretary of the Louis- 
ville Exposition, which was in progress 



whereat he no longer had that source of at that time. In its outcome, however, 



income, and he was eventually compelled 
to forsake his collegiate studies, so as to 
temporarily devote his energies to the 
more prosaic labors of a laundryman, 
which expediency was dictated by his 
condition of pocket. The steam laundry 
enterprise, notwithstanding his endeavors 
in co-operation with three successive part- 
ners, failed to better his financial condi- 
tion, and he finally had to abandon the 
business. He then compiled a directory 
of the city and county for the following 
year, a laborious work which redounded 
to his credit as an accurate compilation 
of detail. A firm of publishers, recogniz- 
ing its merits, bought it, and with the 
money thus obtained, added to the pro- 
ceeds of the sale of his laundry business, 
Mr. Des Jardins applied himself with re- 
newed vigor and hopefulness to the per- 
fection of his inventions. Soon, however, 
he was again without means, and again 
had to set the material before the theo- 
retical ; he secured an appointment on 
the Kalamazoo "Gazette" and for a while 
was content to devote only his spare 
moments to his mechanical devices, but 
soon his financial status had so far ad- 
vanced that he was again able to take up 
his studies at Kalamazoo College. In the 
summer of 1883 ne traveled through Ohio, 



the introduction was disappointing to the 
inventor, as the three gentlemen, though 
much interested in Mr. Des Jardins's in- 
ventions, eventually decided not to under- 
take their exploitation, so that young Des 
Jardins had perforce to continue his busi- 
ness trip through the middle west, and 
to finally return to Kalamazoo, there to 
again resume his newspaper work. But 
encouraged by the near-success at Louis- 
ville, he from that time on was wedded 
to his art, and so as to gain access to 
future possibilities, Mr. Des Jardins re- 
moved to Chicago, in the fall of the year 
1884, and opened an office for drafting 
and designing machinery. He did well, 
and was now in the sphere to which his 
talents best fitted him. Ere long he be- 
came secretary of the Inventors' Asso- 
ciation of the State of Illinois, in which 
capacity he developed the acquaintance 
of many of the leading engineers and 
mechanical experts of that important 
centre, and by his able counsel grew thor- 
oughly into the esteem of his co-workers, 
meriting their implicit confidence in his 
ability as an inventor, and thereby at- 
tracting to his support the financial in- 
terest of which he stood so greatly in 
need. This support, emanating from the 
late Senator Frank B. Stockbridgfe, en- 



Indiana and Kentucky, using his vacation abled Des Jardins to construct an experi- 
period in strenuous labor, as a means mental machine at the Chicago Model 
whereby he might become better condi- Works, and to open a model shop. Sub- 
tioned for subsequent studies, and in a sequently, however, this shop was aban- 
position to more freely take up his hobby, doned by Mr. Des Jardins, as more profit- 
But the knowledge of his ingenious con- able connections were then at his hand; 
trivances had preceded him, and in Louis- he became associated with the business 
ville, Kentucky, Mr. Des Jardins was ap- department of the Chicago "Inter-Ocean," 
proached by three capitalists : Dr. \V. L. which appointment allowed him more 

99 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



leisure time to devote to his inventions. 
Later, he joined the business staff of the 
Chicago "Mail," under the management 
of Assistant Postmaster General Frank 
Hatton, and during the two years of his 
connection with that paper he completed 
his model for a new and improved ma- 
chine. Severing his connection with the 
Chicago "Mail," he traveled for a time 
for the "Farm, Field and Fireside" mag- 
azine, of Chicago. All this commercial 
labor was to a purpose, and in 1887, hav- 
ing acquired a moderate surplus of cap- 
ital, he again set himself to assiduous 
labor on his inventions, and undertook 
the construction of a machine that was 
wholly automatic, controlled by perfo- 
rated copy which would set, justify, and 
distribute not less than twenty thousand 
ems per hour. He had the financial back- 
ing of William H. Rand, of Rand, Mc- 
Nally & Company, and had almost com- 
pleted the erection of the machine when, 
on November 30, 1891, the Arc Light 
building in which he worked was de- 
stroyed by fire, his plant and his almost 
completed machine adding to the result- 
ing debris. Such a misfortune should 
have crushed his spirit, but it is by such 
trials that greatness in man is demon- 
strated ; those who succeed do so despite 
handicaps. But all are not called upon 
to bear such extreme misfortune as that 
then experienced by Mr. Des Jardins, and 
he proved himself worthy of inclusion 
among men of achievement by his opti- 
mistic continuance after the disaster of 
1891, and his sanguine spirit eventually 
carried him beyond the reach of failure. 
Mr. Rand continued to have confidence 
in Des Jardins's ability, and so the in- 
ventor set to work again to create the 
perfect machine, locating, for the purpose, 
at Hartford, Connecticut, in 1892. In ad- 
dition to the type-setting and distributing 
machine, Mr. Des Jardins planned also 



to construct an automatic justifier, for 
which there was a promising market. 
His first Connecticut machine was built 
in Manchester in 1893-94, and was com- 
plete in every detail, in the form of the 
present successful devices ; the original 
model of his new type-justifier was the 
second of two machines constructed at 
the Dwight Slate Machine Company's 
works in Hartford. It went through va- 
rious evolutions, such as are continually 
being devised to further enhance the per- 
fection of mechanical inventions of in- 
ternational import, and at the Paris Ex- 
position of 1900 the Des Jardins inven- 
tions received notable recognition, their 
excellence bringing Mr. Des Jardins three 
diplomas from the International Jury of 
Award — a gold medal, a silver medal, and 
honorable mention. 

Many have been the inventions Mr. 
Des Jardins has since successfully de- 
vised, many of them of almost equal im- 
portance to those of his early efforts : his 
typewriter computing machines, two dis- 
tinct types of which he built in 1900, have 
become invaluable clerical aids, and have 
had wide sale, though marketed by others 
under licenses secured from the Des Jar- 
dins companies ; his ingenious crypto- 
graph, which in reality is a typewriter for 
secret correspondence for office use, an 
intermediate displacing device between 
two typewriters, such as the Underwood, 
by w r hich a communication written on 
one of them is automatically written on 
the other, but with each character con- 
tinuously displaced and arbitrarily spaced 
so that the cryptogram appears in appar- 
ent words or groups of five letters which, 
when copied on the first machine, re- 
writes the original message on the sec- 
ond — and for army use the same device 
points out, or prints, and is sufficiently 
small to go readily into a coat pocket of 
average size, and its mechanism so de- 



100 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vised that the characters printed are con- 
stantly changing, making the message ab- 
solutely undecipherable without the key, 
and with the key recipient should he not 
have his machine, by a special arrange- 
ment of the key figures which he alone 
possesses, though by a somewhat tedious 
process, can, in cases of emergency, re- 
arrange the characters and read the mes- 
sage. This invention is a triumph of in- 
ventive skill of high order ; his computing 
scale, which has filled as useful a place 
in commercial life as the cash register 
device, and the many other utilities his 
inventive excellence has furnished the 
world, bring his name into creditable 
prominence in the world of mechanics 
and invention. 

In his laboratory, the Buena Vista Lab- 
oratory at West Hartford, Mr. Des Jar- 
dins has, of late years, devoted his efforts 
to the elucidation of many difficult prob- 
lems of mechanical science. Freed of 
the urgent material necessity, his days 
now are given more especially to the de- 
velopment of mechanical movements that 
have never before been produced, irre- 
spective of whether they be immediately 
applicable or not, and, as hereinbefore re- 
corded, his research has found practical 
utilization in mechanical lines not related 
to those to which he has devoted special 
attention in recent years. His computing 
machines demonstrate movements many 
leading engineers had declared impossible 
of accomplishment. An assorting ma- 
chine of his invention is capable of al- 
most unlimited extension, even though 
the patent drawings state its capacity 
definitely as that of sorting 9,999 differ- 
ent articles. The numbered boxes of the 
device are controlled from a keyboard, to 
some extent similar to that of an adding 
machine, and the machine, which adds 
greatly to the efficiency of department- 
store accounting, has a wide range of 
uses, among them, to mention a few, that 



of sorting sales tickets, money orders and 
cheques, letters, et cetera. 

Withal, his achievements of later life 
emphasize the inherent ability which in 
him lay, and by which he was capable of 
serving the world so usefully when once 
the first struggle had been overcome, and 
the diverting perplexities of poverty had 
been passed. But that struggle he had to 
fight alone, and in the outcome is evident 
the man. A contemporary biographer 
wrote the following, respecting Mr. Des 
Jardins and his work : 

Mr. des Jardins's works have practically estab- 
lished new eras in their respective arts. The 
history of the development of these inventions, 
from their first inception at the unskilled hands of 
a young college student and newspaper writer to 
the mechanical triumph of an ingenious mind 
and trained hands, is but the story of many 
another inventor whose sleepless nights and per- 
sistent thought have at last been rewarded by 
seeing the creatures of his brain move like 
things of life and perform the functions ex- 
pected of them as though endowed with a soul. 

In 1898, the Des Jardins Type Justifier 
Company was organized, with Mr. Will- 
iam H. Rand, of Rand, McNally & Com- 
pany, as one of the prime movers, and 
Mr. Des Jardins as president, the capital 
of which corporation was $500,000; in 
1899 the Des Jardins Computing Register 
Company was incorporated, with a capital 
of $100,000, and with Mr. Des Jardins 
originally as vice-president, though for 
the last five years he has been president. 
From 1899 to the present, Mr. Des Jar- 
dins has become actively interested in 
many companies formed for the purpose 
of manufacturing and marketing his in- 
ventions of various kinds. Many of his 
devices perfected in the last few years of 
the nineteenth century were unfortunate- 
ly placed in the hands of new companies 
whose promoters and controlling ele- 
ments had had no experience in enter- 
prises of this character, and as a conse- 
quence failed to properly place the de- 



101 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vices on the market, and Mr. Des Jardins 
had more than one unfortunate experi- 
ence owing to over-capitalization by 
financiers ; also the first rewards of more 
than one of his inventions were lost to 
him by his indiscreet surrender of con- 
trol to promoters. In the case of his 
Type Justifier, Mr. Des Jardins person- 
ally found a purchaser for part of the 
patent rights, using the proceeds to wipe 
out a corporation debt of practically 
thirty thousand dollars, which he felt 
himself morally compelled to meet ; and 
later, in the case of the typewriter-adding 
machine, he liquidated another debt of 
twelve thousand dollars, by similar pro- 
cedure. His experience brought him cau- 
tion, and he further safeguarded himself 
by actually entering upon the reading of 
law, so that he might qualify as a patent 
attorney, and in that way adequately en- 
sure secrecy and absolute protection to 
his subsequent patent interests. These 
precautions have of late years consider- 
ably increased his financial returns. In 
1905, Mr. Des Jardins purchased a hand- 
some residence in Washington, D. C, and 
there, in close proximity to the Patent 
Office, the talented inventor has of late 
years pursued his research and experi- 
ments at his leisure and pleasure. 

The true estimate of a man is best ob- 
tained in his home ; likewise, the full sig- 
nificance of an invention may be more 
truly gauged by the impression it pro- 
duces on those for whose facility it was 
devised. Consequently, it will be per- 
missible herein to include an excerpt from 
the Hartford "Post" article of March 10, 
1900. The excerpt reads: 

The machine (Des Jardins Type Justifier) will 
space type and justify as rapidly as the most 
expert operator can manipulate the keys of a 
typesetting machine, and the work is smoother 
and more accurate than can be done by hand. 
Mr. Des Jardins's invention is the first which has 



been produced to justify movable type. Type 
setting machines, of which there are many differ- 
ent kinds, were all lacking in this very important 
feature. The linotype, which casts a line from 
molten metal, has a justifying attachment, and 
is in general use in large newspaper offices. But 
there has always been a demand for a machine 
that would justify movable type automatically, 
and after struggling with the problem for 
eighteen years, Mr. Des Jardins has succeeded 
in perfecting it to stand the test of usage. The 
process of justifying a line of type is strictly 
automatic, and occupies only about ten seconds, 
and the justifier may be speeded high if neces- 
sary, but in ordinary work the machine as 
adjusted will outstrip the swiftest operator, so 
that by the time the second line has been set, the 
justifier is waiting to receive it and repeat the 
process. 

This may be considered valuable testi- 
mony, constituting as it does the inde- 
pendent opinion of the trade directly ben- 
efited by the invention. 

Mr. Des Jardins's home life has been 
happy ; his wife has followed him through 
most of his adversities ; she gave him her 
hand while he was yet a humble inventor 
with a doubtful future, and their appre- 
ciation of each other is thereby the 
stronger. It was while residing at Evans- 
ton, Illinois, in 1889, that Mr. Des Jardins 
married Cora Viola Snyder, daughter of 
Herman and Harriet J. (Smith) Snyder, 
of that city. Mrs. Des Jardins was born 
in McHenry, Illinois, but her father, who 
died in 1898, was a native of Hudson, 
New York ; her mother, who died in 1910, 
in the home of her daughter and son-in- 
law, was born in Cambridge, Vermont. 

Mr. and Mrs. Des Jardins have become 
prominent in the social life of Washing- 
ton, partly because of Mrs. Des Jardins's 
charm and skill as a musician. They also 
have a palatial summer residence, "Buena 
Vista,'' at West Hartford. Connecticut, 
where they spend many happy summer 
months. A pronounced fondness for the 
company of children has manifested itself 
in Mr. Des Jardins, arising, maybe, from 



102 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his many years of association with the 
Sunday schools, later that of West Hart- 
ford Baptist Church. Mr. Des Jardins 
was Sunday school superintendent there 
for many years, and his West Hartford 
summer home has often been enlivened 
by the merry laughter of many children 
of the village and of course of the Sunday 
school, who have gathered at his invita- 
tion at charming little "flower parties" 
and other children's entertainments Mr. 
and Mrs. Des Jardins have provided and 
themselves much enjoyed ; and often 
while at work in Washington, Mr. Des 
Jardins will seek recreation from his la- 
bors by entertaining at his home, or at 
his "camp" along the banks of the Poto- 
mac, the children of his two* classes of 
boy and girl members of Calvary Baptist 
Sunday school. Later under his direction, 
with talented assistance from visiting 
children of former years at Washington 
and at his Buena Vista playgrounds at 
West Hartford, he has organized Wood- 
craft lodges and turned much of the 
hearty enthusiasm to systematic nature 
study and child development. That he is 
a true lover of nature, as well as of child- 
ren, and that he carries within him the 
inspiration of the poet, will be obvious 
from a brief reading of some of his poems 
contained in a little volume he produced, 
entitled "Wild Flower Poems," which 
poetry stamps him as a man of versatile 
genius, and pure sentiment, and shows 
that his true nature has been unspoiled 
by the hardening influences of money, nor 
embittered by the buffetings encountered 
during a life-long struggle in a hard 
world. 



HILLS, Charles Sidney, 

Merchant. 

Charles Sidney Hills, of the Hartford 
firm of C. S. Hills & Company, dry goods 



merchants, was born in Hartford, Septem- 
ber i, 1853, the son of Sidney and Sarah 
M. (Rogers) Hills. 

The Hills family is an old and honored 
one in New England, Colonial records 
determining that William Hills, the first 
of the name to come to this country, and 
American ancestor of many American 
families of that name, landed in Boston, 
September 16, 1632, and as hereinafter 
noted removed to Hartford, Connecticut, 
about three years later. Anterior to the 
emigration, the Hills family had some 
prominence in English records, extending 
back for many generations. Careful re- 
search has shown it to be distinct in 
origin from the name Hill. Edward Has- 
ted, English historian, stated, in his "His- 
tory of Kent," which was published in 
1778, that the name Hills, which was 
common in that county of England at 
that time, could be traced back to the 
Middle Ages, and that it originated as a 
patronymic in the following manner: 

About a mile southeastward from Darant 
Church is the hamlet of Helles Saint Margaret, 
commonly called Saint Margaret Hills * * * 
This manor afterwards came into the possession 
of a family called Hells, who had much land at 
Dartford, and at Ash, near Sandwich, and from 
them this place acquired the additional name of 
Hells, or more vulgarly Hilles. One of these, 
Thomas de Helles, had a charter of free warren 
granted to him and his heirs for his lands here 
and at Dartford, in the seventeenth year of King 
Edward the First. One of his descendants, Rich- 
ard Hills, for so the name was then spelt, about 
the beginning of King Henry the Seventh's reign, 
was possessed of this manor of Saint Margaret 
Hilles. 

As has been the case with almost all 
ancient names, this was spelt in various 
ways, even by those who were undoubt- 
edly oi the same family stock. In the 
thirtieth year of King Edward III, one 
Gilbert de Hells, of Hells Court, in Ash, 
and of Saint Margaret Hells in Darant, 



103 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was sheriff. His father, Bertram de 
Hells, was lieutenant of Dover Castle, 
under Reginald de Cohham. Henry de 
Helles was summoned to Parliament as 
one of the Knights of Kent, early in the 
reign of King Edward III. No less than 
seven coats-of-arms were granted to that 
many branches of the Hills family. The 
ancestors of the American branches of 
the family almost all resided within a 
radius of about twenty miles from the 
manor of St. Margaret Hills, where the 
name originated, and scrupulous search, 
at the instance of the family genealogist, 
William Sanford Hills, to whose collected 
information must be attributed many of 
the records herein contained, established 
it beyond doubt that the family to which 
the line now represented by Charles Sid- 
ney Hills, of Hartford, belongs, is by 
hereditary right entitled to the coat-of- 
arms described below : 

Arms — Argent, a cross between four crescents, 
azure, a chief of the last. 

Crest — A horse courant, gules. In the mouth, 
a broken spear-head, sable. 

William Hills, the progenitor of the 
family to which the Hills, of Hartford, 
belongs, was born about 1609, at Up- 
minster, Essex, England, the son of 
Thomas and Jane Hilles. He died in 
Hartford, or Hadley, in 1683. His first 
wife was Phillis, daughter of Richard 
Lyman, who was born in 161 1 at High 
Ongar, and came with her father to Bos- 
ton in 1631. William Hills came on the 
ship "Lyon," which arrived in Boston 
Harbor, September 16, 1632. In that year 
he was bound to service, probably to pay 
for his passage as was often the case in 
those days. He was admitted freeman of 
Roxbury, May 14, 1634. About the 
middle of October of the succeeding year, 
he joined the church at Cambridge, and 
with that bod}', in which was his father- 



in-law, removed to Hartford. His first 
wife died probably before 1648, and Will- 
iam Hills was twice subsequently mar- 
ried ; purchased a large tract of land 
where now is East Hartford, and removed 
there in October, 1669. In the records 
of the First Church of Hartford is the 
following entry regarding him: "dis- 
missed, July, 1683; moved to Hadley." 

His son, William Hills, was born in 
Hartford about 1646, and, according to 
Savage, was buried there, August 15, 
1693. He married Sarah . 

Their son, Ebenezer Hills, was born 
at East Hartford in 1676, and died Feb- 
ruary 12, 1750. He married Abigail, who 
presumably was the daughter of Caleb 
Benjamin, of Wethersfield. 

Their son, Ebenezer Hills, born Janu- 
ary 14, 1708, died January 14, 1772. He 
married Hannah Arnold. 

Their son, Ezenezer Hills, was born in 
March, 1733, and died March 28, 1773. 
He married Hepzibah Keeney. who was 
born in Manchester, Connecticut, May, 
1733. and died at East Hartford, Febru- 
ary 15, 1826. 

Their son, Ebenezer Hills, was born 
February 7, 1756, and died April 4, 1826. 
He married, at East Hartford, November 
! 6, 1775. Ruth Damon, who was born 
there July 9, 1754, and died September 
22, 1802. He served in the Revolutionary 
Army for the period, April 21 to Novem- 
ber 1, of the year 1777. 

Their son, Joel Hills, was born July 
16, 1778, and died May 7, 1851. He mar- 
ried, at Manchester, Connecticut, March 
5, 1802 (for his first wife, through whom 
Charles Sidney Hills, of Hartford, is de- 
scended), Milly Kenney, who was born 
December 22, 1781, and died October 3, 
1824. 

Their son, Sidney Hills, father of 
Charles Sidney Hills, was born in East 
Hartford, October 1, 1812. His education 



104 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was obtained in the public schools \ of 
Hartford, and after leaving school he was 
apprenticed to the marble and stone cut- 
ting trade. He was still quite a young 
man when he sought to establish himself 
independently in business as a sculpter 
of monuments. Ill-health necessitated his 
removal to East Hartford, in 1857, and 
there, having purchased the old home- 
stead of the family, he sought health in 
the vigorous occupations of a farming 
life, continuing thus engaged for the re- 
mainder of his life. His wife was Sarah 
M., daughter of Martin L. Rogers, of 
Tolland, Massachusetts. Of four children 
born to them, one died in infancy. The 
other children were: Isadore, who mar- 
ried Henry E. Risley, of East Hartford, 
and died at the age of seventy ; Rollin, 
who died about fifteen years of age ; and 
Charles Sidney, of whom further. Mr. 
and Mrs. Sidney Hills were members of 
the Congregational church, East Hart- 
ford, and resided in the southeastern part 
of the town, in the locality now desig- 
nated Hilltown. 

Their son, Charles Sidney Hills, re- 
ceived all the education possible of ob- 
tainment in the public schools of the 
town, and then, for further commercial 
training, entered the Brown's Business 
College, Brooklyn, New York. In 1869 
he became an employee of the firm of 
Joseph Langdon & Company, which well- 
known business house was established 
about one hundred years ago by Reuben 
Langdon, and passed under the control 
of Joseph Langdon in 1835. Within 
twelve years of his first engagement un- 
der the firm, Charles Sidney Hills was 
admitted to partnership, though for some 
years prior to that recognition he had 
been active in the direction of the busi- 
ness. In 1885, Mr. Hills and Mr. Cook 
purchased Mr. Langdon's interest in the 
firm, and thereafter expanded it steadily 



and appreciably. The premises now oc- 
cupied by the firm of C. S. Hills & Com- 
pany cover the space originally occupied 
by six stores, four on Main street and 
two on Pratt street. When Mr. Hills 
first entered the employ of the Langdon 
Company, the business demanded the 
labor of not more than twelve people ; to- 
day the staff numbers more than one 
hundred and fifty persons, regularly em- 
ployed, and notwithstanding many temp- 
tations to add other somewhat allied 
lines, Mr. Hills has adhered strictly to 
the dry goods business. Mr. Hills has ap- 
plied himself closely to business for the 
greater part of his life, but has found 
time for some public duties. During the 
years 1875 to 1880, he was a member of 
the City Guard, and has since been a 
member of the veteran organization. He 
is a trustee of the Society for Savings 
and until its dissolution was a director 
of the Charter Oak National Bank. He 
holds membership in the Hartford Club 
and the Farmington Country Club. 

On September 22, 1880, Mr. Hills mar- 
ried Martha E., daughter of Benjamin 
Harris, who was born in Jersey City, but 
traced descent from a family of Canadian 
origin. Mr. and Mrs. Hills have one child, 
Annette, who married Frank A. Olds. 
The Hills family attend the Asylum Ave- 
nue Baptist Church, of which they are 
members. 



BISHOP, Fred L., 

Manufacturer. 

The surname of Bishop is of very an- 
cient origin, being derived beyond doubt 
from the office of that name, although 
just how the title of a sacred office of the 
Catholic church came to be used as a sur- 
name, is lost in the obscurity of ancient 
history. It has been suggested that it 
must have been a personal name, or a 



105 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



nickname of some progenitor, just as our 
titles major and deacon are sometimes 
given. Other names like Pope are of 
this class, numerous examples of which 
may easily be called by anyone to mind. 
Bishop was in common use in England 
as a surname many centuries ago and no 
less than eleven immigrants came to this 
country from there and settled in Massa- 
chusetts with their families prior to the 
year 1650. Various branches of the Eng- 
lish house are entitled to armorial bear- 
ings and many men of the name have held 
titles and dignities of various kinds. The 
Bishop family is one of the oldest in 
Connecticut. 

Fred L. Bishop, secretary, treasurer 
and general manager of the Hartford Fai- 
ence Company, was born June 16, 1869, 
in the city of Hartford, Connecticut, a 
son of Seth W. and Ann L. (Hart) 
Bishop. His father was a native of West 
Hartford, where he died in 1895, at the 
age of seventy-three. The elder man had 
been educated in the public school of his 
native community, and learned the trade 
of machinist, which he followed in the 
machine shops of New Britain, Connec- 
ticut, until 1849, when he joined the 
great group of men who went to Cal- 
ifornia when the news of the discoveries 
of gold in that State had spread abroad. 
His voyage to the Western State was 
made by ship around Cape Horn and he 
remained in California about ten years, 
engaged in gold mining. He then re- 
turned to Hartford, where for twelve 
years he was engaged successfully in the 
tobacco business and became a member 
of the firm of Pratt & Whitney, an asso- 
ciation which continued for more than 
fifty years and was only terminated with- 
in a short time before the death of Mr. 
Bishop. He retired in 1894 and spent the 
last year of his life in well-earned retire- 
ment. Details of the business of Pratt 



& Whitney will be found in the sketch 
of Amos Whitney, who is the subject of 
extended mention elsewhere in this work. 
Mr. Bishop had charge of the company's 
foundry and his efforts contributed large- 
ly to the high degree of success enjoyed 
by the concern. Mr. Bishop was a mem- 
ber of the Masonic fraternity, having 
joined that order while residing in Cal- 
ifornia. He was also a director of the 
Gray Telephone Pay Station Company, 
being one of those who recognized the 
possibilities of this pioneer invention and 
had the courage to stand by it, until it 
became a financial success. He and his 
family attended the Park Congregational 
church. On April 26. 1866, he married 
Ann L. Hart, of Avon, Connecticut, a 
daughter of Luther Woodford Hart, an 
old and highly respected resident of that 
place. Three children were born to them, 
as follows : Benjamin Seth, born Septem- 
ber 10, 1867, now deceased; Fred L., of 
whom further ; and Gertrude, deceased. 
Mr. Bishop's grandfather was Benjamin 
Bishop, who lived most of his life at West 
Hartford and Avon, Connecticut, and died 
at the venerable age of eighty-nine years. 
He was a farmer by occupation. He mar- 
ried Betsy Woodford. 

Fred L. Bishop received his education 
in the public schools of Hartford, attend- 
ing both the grammar and high school 
there, and upon completing his studies in 
the latter institution, became associated 
with the firm of Chaffee & Company ; not 
long afterwards, in the year 1894, he with- 
drew from this connection and with Clar- 
ence Whitney and Eugene Atwood or- 
ganized the present important business 
house which at that time was known as 
the Atwood Faience Company. Upon the 
withdrawal of Mr. Atwood from the firm, 
however, the present name of Hartford 
Faience Company was adopted. Mr. 
Bishop has been secretary and treasurer 



106 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the concern from its origin to the pres- 
ent time. The product of this concern 
was originally faience, a clay tile product 
made from the coarser clays like terra 
cotta, but finished more carefully and 
with color glazes, what now is known as 
polychrome terra cotta. This was used 
principally in interiors, for mantels, etc., 
and has gradually given place as a prod- 
uct to electrical porcelain, which the com- 
pany now manufactures principally. This 
product is shipped all over the country to 
manufacturers of electrical apparatus. 
The concern is a large one and employs 
on an average of about one hundred and 
seventy-five hands. Mr. Bishop does not 
confine his activities to this individual 
concern, however, but is connected with 
others as well, among which should be 
mentioned the Gray Telephone Pay Sta- 
tion Company, in which he has succeeded 
his father as director Mr. Bishop is a 
prominent figure in the social and club 
life of Hartford, and is affiliated with a 
number of important organizations in that 
city such as the Highland Country Club, 
the East Haddam Fish and Game Club, 
the Tuesday Night Bowling Club, the 
Hartford Canoe Club, and Farmington 
Country Club. A glance at Mr. Bishop's 
clubs at once suggests the fact that he 
is a man of active and athletic tastes and 
devoted to out-door sports and pastimes 
of all kinds, a suggestion which is en- 
tirely correct, as Mr. Bishop finds his rec- 
reation in these things. 

On November u, 1890, Fred L. Bishop 
was united in marriage with Florence 
North, a daughter of A. W. North, of 
Hartford. Three children were born to 
them: Gertrude N., Benjamin L. and 
Katherine W. A. W. North, Mrs. Bish- 
op's father, was for many years connected 
with the firm of Hatch & North, one of 
the largest concerns dealing in coal in 
Hartford. His death occurred April 18, 
1908. 



The maternal ancestry of Fred L. Bish- 
op was a distinguised one and well merits 
extended notice here. His mother was 
Ann L. Hart, a daughter of Luther 
Woodward Hart, of Avon, Connecticut, 
and Farmington, Ohio. Her birth oc- 
curred October 4, 1842. Luther W. Llart 
was born at Avon, June 16, 1796, and 
married, in 1819, Almira Gillet, a daughter 
of Amos and Esther (Bishop) Gillet. 
She was born in 1800, and died in 1852. 
They removed to Farmington, Trumbull 
county, Ohio, in 1837, and still later, after 
the death of his wife, Mr. Hart removed 
to Delevan, Faribault county, Minnesota, 
where he was living with his son, George 
Hart, in 1872, in enjoyment of a robust 
and vigorous health. 

His father, Gideon Baldwin Hart, was 
born at Avon, February 14, 1776. He 
married, December 29, 1795, Marilla 
Woodford, a daughter of Joseph Wood- 
ford, Jr., of Avon, where she was born 
July 7, 1777. They resided east of the 
Farmington river and it was on his place 
there that his death eventually occurred, 
August 31, 1842, and that of his wife, 
August 22, 1863. 

His father, Gideon Hart, was born at 
Farmington, Connecticut, September 11, 
1730, married, November 15, 1759, Eliz- 
abeth, daughter of William Hart, and a 
native of Avon, where she was born 
April 9, 1739. Gideon Hart and his wife 
were admitted to the church at Farming- 
ton, in 1814, and it was there that her 
death occurred January r, 1825. He was 
a prosperous farmer and his house was on 
the north side of the narrow lane lead- 
ing to the bridge across the Farmington 
river at Cider brook. His death occurred 
November 17, 1807. 

His father, Joseph Hart, was born in 
1700 at Farmington, and he married, 
December 6, 1722, Mary Bird, a daughter 
of Joseph Bird, Jr., and his wife, Mary 
(Steele) Bird. He was engaged in busi- 



107 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ness as a shoemaker. Both he and his 
wife were members of the church at 
Northington, in 175 1 , and he was the first 
deacon thereof. He was also magistrate 
there. His wife died January 23, 1774-75, 
and his death occurred March io, 1777. 
The Bible said to have been his, printed 
at London in 1585, was exchanged with 
the Connecticut Historical Society for an 
ordinary family Bible by his grand- 
daughter, Mrs. Rhoda Thompson. 

His father, Sergeant Thomas Hart, of 
Nod and Farmington, was born in 1606 
at Tunxis. He married, September 18, 
1689, Elizabeth Judd, a daughter of John 
and Mary (Hawkins) Judd, a native of 
Farmington, where she was born in 1670, 
and where she united with the church on 
February 2, 1691-92. He inherited the 
west half of his father's house lot, oppo- 
site the Female Seminary, where he re- 
sided, and in addition to this owned large 
tracts of land in the region. His death 
occurred March 23, 1727-28. and that of 
his wife on March 18, 1743. 

His father, Stephen Hart, was second 
son of the immigrant ancestor, and was 
born at Braintree in the County of Essex, 
F.ngland. On coming to this country 
with his parents he located at Farming- 
ton, and had his house east of the church 
and opposite the residence of John 
Hooker. He was made a freeman in 
May. 1654, and died about 1689, leaving 
an estate which was appraised at 
i 633. 1 4.0. 

His father, Deacon Stephen Hart, was 
born about 1605 at Braintree, England, 
and came to Massachusetts about 1632, 
locating for a time at Newtown, now 
Cambridge, Massachusetts. He was one 
of the fifty-four settlers of that town and 
was admitted freeman there, May 14, 
1634. He was a deacon in the church of 
the Rev. Thomas Hooker, and came to 
Hartford with his company in 1635. He 



was named as one of the proprietors of 
the town in 1639, and his house lot was 
located on the west side of what is now 
Front street, Hartford, near the intersec- 
tion of Morgan street. He was one of the 
original settlers of the town of Farming- 
ton in 1645, and became one of its eighty- 
four proprietors in 1672. He was one of 
the "Seven Pillars" of the church and 
was chosen their first deacon. He owned 
a large tract on the border of what is 
now Avon, and which is known to this 
day as Hart's farm. He was one of the 
first deputies of the town to the General 
Court of Connecticut, beginning with the 
May session of 1647 and continuing for 
fifteen sessions until 1655, and again in 
1660. No man in the town was more 
active, influential and useful. His house 
lot, which was four or five times as large 
as any other in the community, was on 
the west side of Main street, opposite the 
meeting house, and comprised some fif- 
teen acres. It was given to him as an 
inducement to build and continue a mill 
on the premises. His will was dated 
March 16, 1682-83, and his death occurred 
in the same month and year. 

The origin of the name of Hart is not 
known. In common with most old sur- 
names it was and is spelled in a variety 
of ways. The ancient coat-of-arms of the 
Hart family was as follows : Per chevron 
azure and gules three harts trippant or. 
Crest, a lion's head couped ermine ducally 
crowned gules. 

Florence (North) Bishop, wife of the 
Mr. Bishop of this sketch, is descended 
from an old and distinguished New Eng- 
land family. .She was born on October 8, 
1869. a daughter of Albert W. and Louisa 
M. (Ward) North. 

Her father, A. W. North, was born in 
New York State, September 1, 1839. and 
died April 18, 1909, at Hartford, Con- 
necticut. He first came to Connecticut 
08 





J 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to attend the Hall Private School as a lad, 
and lived for a time at Ellington, Con- 
necticut, where the school was located. 
He was later graduated from the Con- 
necticut Literary Institute at Suffield, and 
about 1862 married Louisa M. Ward, a 
daughter of Charles Austin Ward, of 
Salem, Massachusetts. Practically all of 
his business life was spent in the coal 
business, at first in the employ of Beck- 
with & Tyler as a bookkeeper, and with 
their successors, Hatch & Tyler and E. 
S. Tyler. Later Mr. North formed a 
partnership with Geo. E. Hatch under 
the name of Hatch & North, and this 
concern was still later incorporated under 
the name of the Hatch & North Company. 
This concern, of which Mr. North was 
treasurer, was one of the largest in its 
line in this part of Connecticut. Some 
years before his death Mr. North sold his 
interest in the company and retired from 
active business life. He was a prominent 
figure in the fraternal life of Hartford and 
was past noble grand of Charter Oak 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. He was universally recognized 
among his fellow citizens as a man of 
sterling integrity, and his friends knew 
him to be genial in his contact with his 
fellow-men and strongly domestic in his 
tastes. Mrs. Bishop was his only child. 
While Mr. North was not a politician in 
any sense of the term, he took an ex- 
tremely active interest in public affairs 
and did his duty as a citizen in every way, 
supporting such worthy causes as were 
undertaken for the advancement of the 
common weal and generally exerting a 
wholesome influence upon civic affairs. 

His father was Albert William North, 
who married Jeanette Woodruff, a native 
of Farmington and a sister of Sylvester 
Woodruff. Mr. North, Sr., was a de- 
scendant of John North, who came from 
England to the colonies in 1635 in the 



good ship "The Susan & Ellen" at the 
age of twenty years. He landed in Bos- 
ton, and his name appears in 1640 as one 
of the original proprietors of Farmington, 
Connecticut. His land was entered to 
him in 1653, and he was one of the eighty- 
four original landholders among whom 
were divided in 1676 the unoccupied lands 
of Farmington. His death occurred in 
1691. He married Hannah Bird, a daugh- 
ter of Thomas Bird, and they were the 
parents of nine children. 



GALLAUDET, Edward Miner, 

Educator, Author. 

A distinguished scholar of international 
repute, Edward Miner Gallaudet was 
born in Hartford, February 5, 1837. He 
was the son of Thomas Hopkins and 
Sophia (Fowler) Gallaudet. His father 
was the first principal of the American 
School at Hartford for the Deaf, and 
founder of the education of the deaf in 
America ; his mother was one of his fath- 
er's earliest pupils. He inherited from 
his father a keen intellect, a rare gift of 
persuasion, and a philanthropic spirit; 
from his mother a vigorous constitution, 
personal comeliness, practical sagacity, 
and radiant vitality. 

He was graduated from Trinity College 
at the age of nineteen, and even before 
graduation began his life work as a teach- 
er of the deaf in the Hartford School. 
His purpose, formed while he was still 
a student in college, was to establish an 
institution in which the deaf might have 
equal opportunities with hearing youth 
for receiving the higher education. How 
that was to be accomplished he did not 
know ; the only way that then seemed 
feasible to him was to induce some phil- 
anthropic millionaire to endow the pro- 
posed college with the necessary means 
of support; but the desired millionaire 



109 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



did not appear. Eighteen months after 
he began teaching at Hartford the longed- 
for opportunity came through an invita- 
tion to become the head of a school for 
the deaf in Washington, D. C, for which 
an act of incorporation had been obtained 
from Congress. The invitation was to 
take charge of a small local school with- 
out equipment and without endowment, 
but he instantly saw in it the possibility 
of the future realization of his cherished 
purpose. Seven years later the vision 
was no longer a dream. The college, af- 
terwards named Gallaudet in honor of 
his father, was established in 1864 by 
Congress, with the power to confer de- 
grees, and he was elected its president. 
Liberal appropriations for its support 
were made and have been continued dur- 
ing the past fifty-three years, chiefly 
through Dr. Gallaudet's personal influ- 
ence. People sometimes wondered that 
he was so successful in obtaining appro- 
priations from Congress. The secret lay 
in his strong personality. President Gar- 
field, for several years a member of the 
committee on appropriations, once said: 
"Nobody comes before the committee 
who makes so favorable an impression 
upon it as Dr. Gallaudet." Beautiful 
buildings and grounds, generous support, 
and a hundred free scholarships, which 
are the equivalent of a large endowment, 
are the permanent results of his untiring 
labors. 

Dr. Gallaudet was the leading advocate 
in America and throughout the world of 
the "Combined System" of educating the 
deaf. He was among the first in this 
country to urge instruction in speech and 
speech-reading for all the deaf capable of 
profiting by it, and it was chiefly through 
his efforts that oral teaching was intro- 
duced into the older schools, but he main- 
tained that no single method is suitable 
for all deaf children and that such method 



should be chosen for each child as seems 
best adapted for his individual case. He 
believed also that the language of signs, 
the natural language of the deaf, should 
have a recognized and honorable place in 
every school. 

In 1886, at the invitation of the British 
government, he appeared before the royal 
commission on the education of the deaf. 
His testimony in favor of the combined 
system, published in the report of the 
commission, exerted a wide influence 
throughout the world. In 1912 the 
French Republic conferred upon him the 
Cross of Chevalier of the Legion of Hon- 
or "in recognition of his long and suc- 
cessful labors in the cause of the educa- 
tion of the deaf." 

Dr. Gallaudet was the author of a "Pop- 
ular Manual of International Law," used 
as a textbook in American colleges, and 
the "Life of Thomas Hopkins Gallaudet." 
He also contributed numerous articles to 
magazines and reviews, published many 
pamphlets, and delivered frequent ad- 
dresses before learned and philanthropic 
societies in the United States and Europe 
upon the education of the deaf. 

In 1895 Yale University conferred upon 
him the honorary degree of Doctor of 
Laws, largely in recognition of the value 
of his work on international law above 
mentioned. He had received the same 
degree some years before from Trinity 
College, and Doctor of Philosophy from 
Columbian (now George Washington) 
University. On the incorporation of the 
Convention of American Instructors of 
the Deaf in 1895 he was elected its presi- 
dent, and at every subsequent meeting 
down to the last, held at Hartford in 1917, 
was unanimously reelected. 

During his long residence in Washing- 
ton Dr. Gallaudet was prominent as a 
citizen. In government affairs he was 
active in promoting civil-service reform ; 



no 




^/■$^w*6. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in education, aside from his special work 
at Gallaudet College, as a trustee of 
George Washington University and How- 
ard University ; in religion, as a trustee 
and elder in the Church of the Covenant 
and director and president of the Young 
Men's Christian Association; in literature 
and science, as a member of the Literary 
Society, the Historical Society, and many 
other organizations, in most of which he 
was honored with the highest offices. 
Among his intimate friends were the best 
men distinguished in political and social 
life. 

In 1910, after fifty-four years of active 
service, Dr. Gallaudet retired from the 
presidency of the college, and in 191 1 he 
returned to Hartford to live. Soon after 
this change of residence he was elected 
a member of the board of directors of the 
American School for the Deaf in Hart- 
ford. The centennial celebration of the 
founding of this school was held in July, 
1917, and in connection with the celebra- 
tion the Convention of American Instruc- 
tors of the Deaf, the American Associa- 
tion of the Deaf, and the Alumni of Gal- 
laudet College held meetings in Hartford. 
The members of these bodies all looked 
upon Dr. Gallaudet as their father and 
guide, and on this occasion showed their 
esteem and affection for him personally 
while commemorating the work of his 
honored father. 

The declining years of this great and 
good man were passed in the city of his 
birth, and to the very last he was eager 
and interested in its affairs. He died 
September 26, 1917, and the closing of his 
life was the closing of a long record of 
good deeds and charitable acts. 

Dr. Gallaudet married (first) Jennie M. 
Fessenden, of Hartford, and after her 
death married (second) Susy Denison, of 
Royalton, Vermont. He leaves three sons 
and three daughters: Katharine F. Gal- 



laudet, of Hartford ; Mrs. William B. 
Closson, of Newton, Massachusetts ; Den- 
ison and Edson F. Gallaudet, aeroplane 
manufacturers of East Greenwich, Rhode 
Island ; Rev. Herbert D. Gallaudet, now 
an officer in the National army of the 
United States ; and Mrs. John W. Edger- 
ton, of New Haven. 

Dr. Gallaudet succeeded to- a high de- 
gree in his work, and to-day the Gallaudet 
College at Washington and the thousands 
of graduates throughout the world bear 
testimony to his success. For his was the 
faith that increases confidence, carries 
conviction, and multiplies ability. He 
knew that faith does not think or guess 
but sees the way out, and is not discour- 
aged or blinded by mountains of diffi- 
culties, because it sees through them to 
the goal beyond. It can be said of Edward 
Miner Gallaudet, as was said of another 
great man : "The elements so mixed in 
him that Nature might stand up and say 
to all the world, 'This is a man'." 



JACOBS, Ward Windsor, 

Financier, Civil War Veteran. 

Ward Windsor Jacobs, treasurer of the 
Mechanics Savings Bank, Hartford, was 
born in Mansfield, Connecticut, June 13, 
1839, the son of Leonard Warren and Al- 
bina (Walton) Jacobs. 

Records of the Jacobs family will be 
found contained in the archives of the 
early colonial administrations of this 
country. The progenitor, Nicholas Ja- 
cobs, of the American branches of the 
family, was born in Hanover, Suffolk 
county, England, son of John Jacobs. 
The year 1633 saw him and his son John 
and daughter Elizabeth emigrate from 
Hingham, England, to the Hingham, 
Massachusetts, settlement. A fellow- 
voyager was Thomas Lincoln, son of 
Samuel Lincoln, and brother-in-law of 



in 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Thomas Jacobs. A descendant of this 
Thomas Lincoln was a settler in the Wy- 
oming Valley of Pennsylvania at the time 
of the historic Wyoming Massacre. Es- 
caping to Kentucky, he there founded the 
branch of the family from which sprang 
the honored past-president of the Repub- 
lic, Abraham Lincoln. The mother of the 
late President Hayes, whose maiden 
name was Jacobs, was born at Pleasant 
Valley, within a half mile of the birth- 
place of Mr. Jacobs. Nicholas Jacobs fi- 
nally settled in Hanover, Massachusetts, 
where he died on June 5, 1657. Among 
the first settlers in Windham county, 
Connecticut, were children of Nicholas 
Jacobs, and many descendants of the line 
are still resident in the county. 

In 1707-08 Daniel Jacobs, son of John 
Jacobs, grandson of Nicholas Jacobs, of 
Hingham, was one of several who ac- 
quired extensive tracts of land in Ashford 
and Eastford, Connecticut, and subse- 
quently Nathaniel Jacobs, son of Joseph 
Jacobs, and grandson of Nicholas Jacobs, 
became a settler in Woodstock, and later 
in Thompson, Connecticut, where, having 
purchased a tract of land, he and his five 
sons determinedly applied themselves to 
the task of converting it from wilderness 
into agricultural acreage, the tract even- 
tually becoming known as the Jacobs dis- 
trict. Tradition concludes that Dr. Jos- 
eph Jacobs, who was the first physician 
to locate in Mansfield, Connecticut, was 
a grandson of Nicholas Jacobs, the immi- 
grant from Hingham. Dr. Jacobs resided 
in that part of Mansfield designated Pleas- 
ant Valley, and as was customary among 
the old colonial physicians, he cultivated 
a botanical garden, so that it might fur- 
nish him with the healing herbs essential 
in his practice. Eventually he became a 
large landowner. He married Sarah 
Storrs, who was born in 1670, and was 
the daughter of Samuel and Mary (Huck- 
ins) Storrs. Samuel Storrs came from 



England in 1633, settling in Mansfield, 
Connecticut, about the year 1698, the 
major portion of his life having been lived 
in Barnstable, Massachusetts, where he 
met and married his wife. 

Samuel Jacobs, son of Dr. Joseph Ja- 
cobs, married February 11, 1737, Desire, 
the daughter of Mr. Doughty, or Douty, 
of Windham, Connecticut. Their child- 
ren, all of whom were born between 1728 
and 1746, were: Benjamin, Solomon, 
William, Daniel and Doughty. 

Benjamin Jacobs, son of Samuel Jacobs, 
was born April 30, 1733, or 1738. He 
married twice, taking for his first wife, 
on January 14, 1761, Elizabeth, daughter 
of Captain John Balcam, and for his sec- 
ond wife, Elizabeth King. The following 
children were born between the years 
1763 and 1772: Benjamin, Jerusha, El- 
ezar, Zalmon. Between 1772 and 1783, 
the following children were born : Ozias, 
Anthony, Luther, Elizabeth and Phila. 

Luther Jacobs, son of Benjamin Jacobs, 
who was born in Tolland county, prob- 
ably in Mansfield, comes into the line re- 
specting which this present record is 
chiefly written, he having been the grand- 
father of Ward Windsor Jacobs, of Hart- 
ford. 

Leonard Warren Jacobs, son of Luther 
Jacobs, and father of Ward Windsor Ja- 
cobs, was born in Mansfield, Connecticut, 
October 4, 1818. The extent of his in- 
struction in general subjects was that ob- 
tainable in the common schools of the 
locality. In 1846 he removed to Willi- 
mantic, where he became a clerk in a 
grocery store, later venturing into in- 
dependent business, in which he contin- 
ued with much success until within a few 
years of his death, when he retired alto- 
gether from business activities, passing 
his years of retirement in comfort in 
East Hartford. He married Albina, 
daughter of John Walton, of Willimantic. 

Ward Windsor Jacobs, son of Leonard 



112 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Warren and Albina (Walton) Jacobs, at- 
tended the common schools of Mansfield 
until his parents removed to Willimantic. 
He continued his studies at the public 
schools of Willimantic, continuing in 
school until he had reached the age of 
sixteen years, when he entered his fath- 
er's grocery store as an employee. In a 
short while he agreed to take service in 
the bookstore of William L. Weaver, 
leaving his position in 1856 to become 
express messenger for Phillips & Com- 
pany, who were the express agents of the 
old Hartford, Providence & Fishkill Rail- 
road. A year later (on May 25, 1857), 
he was advanced to an office position in 
Hartford under Daniel Phillips, who had 
taken the Hartford agency for the Adams 
Express Company. In that capacity Mr. 
Jacobs remained until April 1, 1866, when 
he became a steamship agent, opening 
an office for himself at No. 13 Central 
Row, Hartford. The steamship agency 
business had been established by Phillips 
& Company in 1846, but was much ex- 
panded by Mr. Jacobs, quite an appre- 
ciable business being represented in the 
railroad tickets sold from year to year. 

Concurrently with the operation of the 
steamship agency, Mr. Jacobs became 
identified, in clerical capacity, with the 
Mechanics Savings Bank. His service to 
the bank dates back to April 1, 1866, at 
which time the assets of the bank were 
$178,137.15. A glance at the assets of 
the bank at the time of making last re- 
port will give clear indication of the de- 
velopment of the institution in the period 
during which Mr. Jacobs has served it. 
In 1866 the bank treasurer was Mr. 
Haynes L. Porter. 

Young Jacobs steadfastly applied himself 
to all duties entrusted him at the bank, and 
was promoted from position to position 
until he became assistant treasurer, July 
24, 1867, and on the death of Mr. Porter, 

Conn— 5— 8 



February 10, 1873, Mr. Jacobs was, on 
February 24, 1873, elected secretary and 
treasurer. As such he has continued to 
the present, and in point of service he is 
the oldest bank official in Hartford. 
There are very few banking officials older 
than he, and still in high administrative 
office, in the State of Connecticut. The 
Mechanics Savings Bank now has depos- 
its amounting to more than $10,000,000, 
and a certain degree of that prosperity is 
due to the faithfulness to its interests and 
advancement of its treasurer, Mr. Jacobs, 
who also has been on its board of trustees 
since July 28, 1866. 

Mr. Jacobs holds many other offices in 
the business, financial and public life of 
the City of Hartford ; he has been secre- 
tary and treasurer of the Hartford Hos- 
pital since February 19, 1880; he was 
secretary, treasurer and manager of Ce- 
dar Hill Cemetery from the time of the 
first interment, in 1866, until quite recent- 
ly when his son took the offices, and he 
became vice-president ; he is now the old- 
est director on the board of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Hartford and is vice-pres- 
ident, he having been a member of the 
board continuously since 1876; he has 
been director of the Phoenix Insurance 
Company of Hartford since 1887; he is 
a director of the Capewell Horse Nail 
Company and has been so for more than 
ten years ; he has been a director of the 
Shelby Iron Company of Shelby, Ala- 
bama, since 1886. president from 1888 to 
1890 and from 1909 to 1914, holding the 
office of vice-president during the interim 
of his two presidential terms ; he has been 
actively connected with the Missionary 
Society of Connecticut since 1876, when he 
was elected treasurer and remained treas- 
urer until 1905 when he declined to longer 
hold the office, and was then made director 
and still holds that office, and since 1876 
was held similar positions with the Trus- 



"3 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tees of the Fund for Ministers, both being 
State organizations of the Congregational 
Churches of Connecticut. 

Perhaps chief of all his faithful services 
has been that which he has given the 
church ; he has been a member of the 
Emanuel Church (old Pearl Street Con- 
gregational) since 1858, and at the mo- 
ment is one of the three oldest male mem- 
bers. Mrs. Jacobs was also a member 
and in the past has been an active church 
worker. 

During the Civil War, 1861-1865, he 
served in the Hartford City Guard, hav- 
ing reached the rank of corporal at the 
time of his resignation and has been ma- 
jor of the Veteran City Guard. Also, for 
three years, Mr. Jacobs was in the city 
administration as a member of the Water 
Board. 

Mrs. Ward W. Jacobs (his wife) was 
Jennie Helen, the daughter of Albert G. 
and Caroline (Carter) Sawtelle. They 
were married on June 2, 1868, and to 
them were born three children: 1. Alice 
Walton, who graduated from the Hart- 
ford Public High School, and from Smith 
College, eventually marrying Arthur E. 
Whitmore, of Larchmont, New York; 
they have two children, Editha Janet and 
Caroline Carter. 2. Ward Sawtelle, born 
November 30, 1873, educated in the Hart- 
ford Public High School, thence proceed- 
ing to the Shefhld Scientific School at 
Yale, from which he graduated in 1896, 
with the degree B. S., subsequently taking 
post-graduate work in Cornell University, 
where he specialized in mechanical engi- 
neering. He then entered a machine shop 
in order to obtain practical understanding 
of mechanical engineering, and about four 
years ago in association with his father, 
organized The Walton Company, tool 
manufacturers of Hartford. 3. Editha 
Laura, born April 6, 1877, and in due 
course graduated at the Hartford Public 



High School. Mrs. Ward W. Jacobs died 
on August 8, 191 1, the union having ex- 
tended over more than fortv-three vears. 



HOLLISTER, Sidney MiUer, 

Tobacco Grower and Farmer. 

Among the early residents of Windsor 
who engaged in the business of tobacco 
growing was Sidney Miller Hollister, 
born in Brooklyn, New York, March 27, 
1856. Mr. Hollister followed the agricul- 
tural line throughout his entire life, and 
lived on the farm of his maternal grand- 
father. In spite of farm work, Mr. Hol- 
lister still found ample time to devote to 
the interests of the Democratic party in 
Windsor, and during the session of 1884 
represented his town in the State Legis- 
lature. He was eligible to the Sons of 
the American Revolution on both sides 
of his ancestry. 

The American ancestor of his family, 
John Hollister, is believed to have been 
born in England in 1612, emigrating to 
America about 1642. He sailed, accord- 
ing to tradition, from Bristol, England. 
This ancestor came of a very good family, 
and possessed a fine education, later be- 
coming very prominent in Wethersfield. 
In 1643 he was admitted a freeman, and 
between that time and 1656 represented 
the town of Wethersfield many times, 
and died in April, 1665. He married Jo- 
anna, daughter of Hon. Richard Treat, 
who died in October, 1694. 

Their son, John Hollister. was born 
about 1644, in Wethersfield, and died in 
Glastonbury, where he had been promi- 
nent, in November, 171 1. He married, 
November 20, 1667, Sarah Goodrich, 
daughter of William and Sarah (Marvin) 
Goodrich, died in Glastonbury-. 1700. 

Their son, Thomas Hollister, was born 
in Wethersfield, Connecticut, January 14, 
1762, was a deacon in the church, and 



114 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



died October 12, 1741 ; a house built by 
him was still standing in 1882. He mar- 
ried, 1696, Dorothy Hills, born about 
1677 in Glastonbury, daughter of Joseph 
and Elizabeth Hills, died October 5, 1741. 

Their son, Gideon Hollister, was born 
in Glastonbury, September 23, 1699, was 
lieutenant of militia in 1736, and a deacon 
of the church. He married, in 1723, 
Rachel Talcott, born October 6, 1706, in 
Glastonbury, daughter of Sergeant Na- 
thaniel and Elizabeth (Pitkin) Talcott, 
died June 13, 1790. 

Their son, Nathaniel Hollister, was 
born in 1731, in Glastonbury, died 1810. 
He married, October 29, 1754, Mehitable 
Mattison, born 1736, died September 26, 
1824. 

Their son, Gideon Hollister, born Jan- 
uary 20, 1776, in Glastonbury, settled in 
Andover, engaged in the business of 
paper manufacture, and was very influ- 
ential in that town, died February 22, 
1864. He married, November 15, 1798, 
Mary Olmstead, of East Hartford, born 
May 3, 1778, daughter of Samuel and 
Jerusha (Pitkin) Olmstead, died Septem- 
ber 17, 1827. 

Their son, Edwin Hollister, born in 
1800 in Andover, settled in Hartford in 
business as a drygoods merchant, and af- 
terwards in Windsor engaged in paper 
manufacture, died in 1870. He married 
Gratia Taylor Buell, daughter of Major 
John Hutchinson Buell, whose ancestry 
dates back to William Buell, born in 
Chesterton, Huntingdonshire, England, 
about 1610. He was the emigrant to 
America in 1630, and settled first at Dor- 
chester, then in Windsor, and shared in 
the first land division of that town, held 
a high position in the community, was a 
large property holder, and died Novem- 
ber 23, 1681. He married, in Windsor, 
November 18, 1640, and his wife died 
September 2, 1684. Their first son, Sam- 
uel Buell, born in Windsor, September 2, 



1641, removed in 1664 to Killingworth, 
Connecticut, lived there the remainder of 
his life, and died July 11, 1720, in that 
part of Killingworth which is now called 
Clinton. He filled many town offices, and 
was a gentleman of influence, also a large 
land-owner. He married, in Windsor, 
November 18, 1662, Deborah Griswold, 
born June 28, 1646, died in Killing- 
worth, February 7, 1719, daughter 
of Edward and Margaret Griswold, 
of Windsor. Their son, Benjamin Buell, 
born 1686 in Killingworth, died there 
February 18, 1725. He married, in Leb- 
anon, June 28, 1 710, Hannah Hutchinson, 
of Hebron, died 1728. Their son, Benja- 
min Buell, born April 4, 1722, removed 
to Hebron, was the ablest ecclesiastical 
lawyer in Connecticut, died 181 1. He 
married, in Hebron, July 4, 1751, Mary 
Sprague. Their son, Major John Hutch- 
inson Buell, born about 1752 in Hebron, 
was an officer of the Revolutionary War 
and in the army the greater part of his 
life ; was father of Gratia Taylor Buell, 
wife of Edwin Hollister, as previously 
noted. 

Edward Hubbell Hollister, son of Ed- 
win and Gratia Taylor (Buell) Hollister, 
was born in Hartford, Connecticut, No- 
vember 27, 1826. He was a merchant in 
New York City for a long period. In 
1862, he enlisted in the Twenty-second 
Regiment of Connecticut Volunteers, 
served in Virginia, after which he made a 
voyage to China, and died in Brooklyn, 
November 27, 1875. He married, Decem- 
ber 6, 1849, Emily H. Phelps, born in 
Poquonock, December 30, 1822, daughter 
of Josiah and Emily (Allen) Phelps, died 
March 14, 1878. There were two other 
children in addition to Sidney Miller Hol- 
lister: namely, Emma Gratia, born Janu- 
ary 4, 1852, married, October 15, 1872, 
Lucien Royce ; Carrie Maria, born De- 
cember 4, 1853, died March 29, 1855. 

Sidney Miller Hollister married, Sep- 



"5 



KXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tember 29, 1875, Kate Elizabeth Phelps, 
a direct descendant of William Phelps, 
the emigrant ancestor, who came to New 
England in the ship "Mary and John" in 
1630. The Phelps family originally came 
from Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire, Eng- 
land. There James Phelps was born 
about 1520. William Phelps, son of 
James and Joan Phelps, was born at 
Tewkesbury, baptised August 4, 1560, 
died about 161 1, and his wife Dorothy 
about 1613. Their son, William Phelps, 
baptised August 19, 1599, emigrated to 
America from Plymouth, England, March 
20, 1630, and landed May 30, 1630, at what 
is now Hull, Massachusetts. He settled 
in Dorchester and was among the first 
founders and settlers of that place. During 
the first six months William Phelps was 
made a freeman and was very active in the 
town's affairs. In 1635 he emigrated to 
Windsor. He married, in England, Mary 
Dover, who died in 1635. Their son, 
Lieutenant Timothy Phelps, was born 
September 1, 1639, in Windsor, and lived 
there on land purchased from the Indians 
by his father, and was made a freeman, 
May 2, 1664. In I 7°9 he was appointed 
a lieutenant and served under Colonel 
William E. Whitman, in Captain Matthew 
Allyn's regiment, 1704-1711, in Queen 
Anne's War. He married, March 19, 
1661, Mary Griswold, daughter of Edward 
and Margaret Griswold, of Killingworth, 
born in Windsor and baptised October 13, 
1644. Lieutenant Phelps died in 1719, 
and his wife Mary previous to this time, 
the exact date not being on record. Their 
son, Cornelius Phelps, was born in Wind- 
sor, April 26, 1671, died 1741 ; married, 
November 2, 1704, Sarah Mansfield, 
daughter of John and Sarah (Phelps) 
Mansfield, born January 6, 1685, in Wind- 
sor, died 1774. Their son, Timothy 
Phelps born February 3, 1713, in Wind- 
sor, lived in Windsor and Colebrook. He 



married, April 24, 1746, Margaret Gillett, 
daughter of Daniel and Margaret (Eno) 
Gillette, born December 31, 1723, in 
Windsor. Their son, Timothy Phelps, 
born July 14, 1748, in Windsor, lived there 
and served in the Revolutionary War 
from the town of Hebron. He enlisted in 
May and was a member of the Tenth 
Company, served at siege of Boston, Cap- 
tain John Harmon's company, Colonel 
Durkie's regiment, for three years, in 
May, 1777. His name appears in the list 
of pensioners of Hartford county. He 
died in Windsor, November 11, 1827. On 
November 3, 1785, he married Ruth Wil- 
son, daughter of Timothy and Mary (Pal- 
mer) Wilson, born in Windsor, March 
IO > 1755, and died December 2, 1827. 
Their son, Hiram Phelps, born October 
14, 1790, in Windsor, lived there and fol- 
lowed the trade of wheelwright, also was 
a farmer, died November 5, 1873. He 
married, November 15, 1813, Laura Abiah 
Griswold, daughter of Solomon and Abiah 
(Allyn) Griswold, born November 29, 
17 — , in Windsor, died November 29, 
1874. Their son, Timothy Phelps, born 
April 26, 1825, in Windsor, spent his en- 
tire life there, and died February 7, 1893. 
He married, September 29, 1850, Char- 
lotte Elizabeth Cobb, born June 4, 1826, 
in Winchester, Connecticut, died in Wind- 
sor, April 25, 1913. Their daughter, Kate 
Elizabeth Phelps, was born March 3, 
1858, in the old Moore House in Wind- 
sor, which was built by old Deacon John 
Moore and presented to his son John as 
a setout on his marriage day in 1690. In 
its day it was a very fine house ; it finally 
served as a kitchen to a more modern 
house, which occupies its original site. 
Some of the ornaments are still to be 
seen, a reminder of its one-time splendor. 
In every door of the original old house 
there was a passage for the house cat, as 
in those days it was quite the custom to 
16 




(o , ^nu^^t^c. 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



have such passages in order that this 
much beloved household pet could ramble 
to attic and cellar at its will. To those 
who had the good fortune to live in this 
house, the old elm trees were as endeared 
as the house itself; they are the oldest 
and most beautiful in the town of 
Windsor. 

Kate E. (Phelps) Hollister attended 
the Windsor public schools, after which 
she studied for a time at Miss William's 
Seminary in Windsor. Upon finishing 
her course there, she lived at home with 
her parents until her marriage. Mrs. Hol- 
lister's home ties have been such that she 
has been unable to take any active part 
in those local affairs common to women. 
She is a reliable authority on the history 
of the town of Windsor and that of the 
older families there. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Sidney Miller Hollister were born the 
following children: I. Carrie Phelps, No- 
vember 26, 1876; 2. Edward Buell, April 
12, 1878, of Hartford, married Emma 
Warrenton, daughter of William and Em- 
ma Warrenton, of Windsor; 3. Edith 
May, September 15, 1879, married Edwin 
Apgar, of Windsor; one child, Ruth, born 
October 22, 1898; 4. Ralph Spencer, Oc- 
tober 1, 1881 ; 5. Timothy Phelps, May 22, 
1893. 



STOCKER, Eben H., 

Manufacturer. 

Prominent among the successful busi- 
ness men of the city of Hartford, Con- 
necticut, Eben H. Stocker, secretary of 
the Billings & Spencer Company, of 
Hartford, was born in Hartland, Ver- 
mont, April 23, 1846, son of Eben M. and 
Lucia D. (Lull) Stocker. 

He is descended from a non-conform- 
ist clergyman of Scotland, who was the 
first of the family to come to America, 
settling in Massachusetts. Eben Stocker, 



grandfather of Eben H. Stocker, was 
born in Hopkinton, Massachusetts, and 
there passed the early years of his life. 
It was in this generation that the family 
removed to Vermont. Eben Stocker was 
engaged in farming on a large scale, and 
prominent in the civic affairs of Hart- 
land. He was an adherent of the Demo- 
cratic party and devoted much of his 
time to upholding its principles. He mar- 
ried (first) Abigail Kimball, born in Hop- 
kinton, and they were devout members 
of the Congregational church of Hart- 
land, where for many years Eben Stocker 
served as deacon. They were the par- 
ents of nine children, of whom the fourth 
was Eben M., of whom further. 

Eben M. Stocker was born in Windsor, 
Vermont. He received his education in 
the district schools of Hartland, and en- 
gaged at an early age in mercantile pur- 
suits. He was the owner of the largest 
store at that time in the town. Like his 
father, he was keenly interested in the 
welfare of the town and the respect and 
and esteem in which he was held by 
his townsmen is evidenced from the fact 
that for thirty years he was town clerk 
and also represented the town in the Leg- 
islature for several terms. Mr. Stocker 
married Lucia D. Lull, a daughter of 
Timothy and Susanna (Delano) Lull, of 
Hartland. Her father, Timothy Lull, 
was one of the first settlers of Hartland, 
having made the journey there from 
Charlestown up the river in a canoe. Mr. 
and Mrs. Stocker were the parents of 
three children, among whom was Eben 
H., of whom further. 

Eben H. Stocker was educated in the 
public schools of Windsor and Hartland, 
Vermont. In 1872 he removed to Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, and there entered the 
employ of the Billings & Spencer Com- 
pany in the capacity of bookkeeper. Mr. 
Stocker, through industry and attention 



117 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to details of his business, steadily and 
surely worked his way upward to his 
present official position with that com- 
pany. He is also a member of the board 
of directors of this large and flourishing 
concern, and is connected with the C. 
Billings Manufacturing Company in an 
official manner. Mr. Stocker is an Inde- 
pendent in politics, and although always 
alive to the vital issues of the day, is not 
a seeker for public office. 

Mr. Stocker married (first) Jennie, 
daughter of Willard and Emily Hey- 
wood, of Windsor, Vermont. They were 
the parents of a son, Frank H. Stocker, 
who is now engaged as assistant secre- 
tary of the Billings & Spencer Company 
in Hartford. Mrs. Stocker died in 1881. 
Mr. Stocker married (second) Lucy M. 
Birge, a daughter of Edward and Esther 
Birge, of East Hartford, Connecticut. 



WOOD, Olin Rensselaer, 

Attorney-at-Law, Judge of Probate. 

Judge Wood has been engaged in the 
general practice of law in Manchester, 
Connecticut, since 1871, and for twenty- 
eight years has filled the office of judge 
of probate. He was born May 29, 1848, 
in South Windsor, Connecticut, son of 
James B. and Mary A. (Buckland) W'ood. 
The father was a paper-maker and was 
employed in the paper-mill of Robert 
Lyle, Cherry Hill, near Lancaster, Penn- 
sylvania. 

He was a member of a Quaker family, 
and when a boy came from Eastern 
Maryland to Hartford, Connecticut, later 
to Burnside and Buckland in Manches- 
ter, Connecticut. He was a man of ex- 
emplary character, of religious nature 
and respected wherever he lived. He 
married Mary A. Buckland. daughter of 
Peter and Caroline (Bissell) Buckland, 
and settled for a time in South Windsor, 
Connecticut, whence he removed to Man- 



chester, where he died July 12, 1866. His 
wife died December 29, 1899. James B. 
Wood was active in church matters, and 
a liberal contributor toward the construc- 
tion of the Methodist Episcopal church 
in Manchester and the current expenses 
of that church. 

Olin Rensselaer Wood was educated 
at Wilbraham, Massachusetts, and at 
Newbury, Vermont, and studied law at 
the New Haven Law School, from which 
he graduated in 1869. Immediately after 
graduating, Mr. Wood took a trip to 
Europe and spent ten months in travel, 
visiting all the countries of Great Bri- 
tain and travelling through continental 
Europe and the Orient. In 1871 he was 
admitted to the bar and immediately 
began the practice of law in Manchester, 
where he met with gratifying success. 
In 1888 he was appointed clerk of the 
Court of Probate for the District of Man- 
chester, Connecticut, by Judge John S. 
Cheney, whom he succeeded in 1889, and 
since that time has administered the office 
with faithfulness and efficiency. He has 
long been retained by the selectmen as 
counsel for the town of Manchester, and 
has been active in the handling of estates 
and the affairs of corporations, as also 
in general practice of law. In 1891 he 
was elected to represent the town of 
Manchester in the Connecticut Legisla- 
ture, and served two terms. In his first 
term he was a member of the commit- 
tee on contested elections, and in the 
second term was placed on the judiciary 
committee, being house chairman of each 
of those committees. In 1893 he was the 
only Republican lawyer in the House of 
Representatives. He is a member of 
King David Lodge, No. 71, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. 

He attends the Methodist Episcopal 
church of Manchester, of which his par- 
ents were members. He is a student of 
the Bible, and prizes it as one of God's 



118 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



best gifts to man, in spite of misconstruc- 
tion. He believes that truth is inde- 
structible, that right is might, and must 
prevail, that each one has a part to do 
in overcoming error, and that the more 
Christ is exemplified in the life of indi- 
viduals the sooner the millennium will 
arrive. Victor Hugo, Theodore Parker, 
James Freeman, Clark Ralph Waldo 
Emerson, Philips Brooks and Andrew 
D. White are favorites of his. 

He is fond of men ; he estimates them 
by their fruits ; and reckons as his friends 
many whom he has not seen. He re- 
gards Lincoln as the marvel of his age. 
Grant unexcelled as a conqueror, peace- 
maker and reconciler of discordant sec- 
tions, and Chief Justice Marshall, Dan- 
iel Webster, Senator Orville H. Piatt, and 
Horace Gray, Associate Justice, United 
States Court, he looks upon as Master 
Builders of Constitutional Law and Civil 
Liberty as established and enforced in 
the United States. He loves his home, 
presided over by his daughter, Myrtle B., 
where his invalid wife is confined, and 
there he spends most of his time when 
not engaged in business, and there he 
finds great delight in the company of his 
wife and their daughters and friends. 

Mr. Wood, on April 19, 1876, married 
Roselle E. Weaver, at Chester, Connecti- 
cut, and they have two daughters : Myr- 
tle Beatrice, and Ruth W., who married 
William Foulds, Jr., and resides in Man- 
chester. Judge Wood became seventy 
years of age, May 29, 1918, and retired 
from the office of judge of probate at that 
date by Constitutional Limitation, hav- 
ing served as judge of probate continu- 
ously since 1889. 



CLARK, Albert H. and Robert L., 

Tobacco Growers. 

The brothers. Albert H. and Robert L. 
Clark, of Popuonock, Windsor, Connecti- 



cut, are probably the largest individual 
owners of Connecticut land upon which 
shade-grown tobacco is the main crop, 
and their success is in great measure due 
to their own superior qualities in con- 
ducting a business in which no haphaz- 
ard conditions are present. Their agri- 
cultural operations have, from the out- 
set, been stamped by an efficiency and 
method as clearly defined as that to be 
found in a well directed factory ; and 
they fully appreciate that it is only by 
such close up-to-date supervision of the 
work in hand that noteworthy success is, 
in these days of strenuous competition 
and high labor cost, achieved. The ex- 
tent of their success may be gauged by 
the knowledge that upon their Connects 
cut plantations over one hundred hands 
find employment during the harvesting 
season. The brothers are factors in the 
tobacco growing circles of Connecticut,, 
and also for the last six years have been 
identified with the Sumatra Tobacco 
Company, which has extensive interests 
in Georgia, Florida and Connecticut. 

Clark is a name frequently encountered 
in Colonial records of Connecticut. The 
two brothers, who are of the tenth gen- 
eration from that of Joseph Clarke, pro- 
genitor in America, worthily continue, by 
their industry, a connection that has been 
honorable and unbroken since the first 
Clark came into the colony in 1637 ; a 
connection unbroken also in its associa- 
tion with the affairs of the town of Wind- 
sor since then. 

Joseph Clark, according to the "Genea- 
logical and Family History of the State 
of Connecticut" (Lewis Historical Pub- 
lishing Company, 191 1), is stated to have 
been the founder of the old Colonial New 
England family of that name of the line 
generally supposed to have been headed,, 
as American progenitor, by the Hon. 
Daniel Clark, an early settler in the town 
of Windsor, Connecticut. That author- 



no 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ity states that Joseph Clarke came from 
Cambridge, England, in 1637; that his 
wife, whose maiden name is unknown, 
died in 1639. The "History of Ancient 
Windsor" (Stiles), in the chapter regard- 
ing the "distribution and plan of ancient 
\\ indsor" makes reference to a Joseph 
Clarke; on page 129 of that work is the 
entry, among the list of proprietors: 
"Joseph Clarke. Early at Dorchester, 
Dr. Harris says in 1630;" and the name 
"Mr. Clark" appears on the plan as owner 
of a home lot within the first palisado built 
by residents of Windsor in 1637, upon the 
outbreak of the Pequot War. This prob- 
ably is the Joseph Clarke, as the records 
of those of that name throughout the 
book all come under the one classification 
in index — as Clarke ; and in the same 
work, among genealogical data regarding 
the Clark, or Clarke, family, of which also 
was the Hon. Daniel, is the information 
that "Joseph, had Joseph and Mary, both 
baptized September 30, 1638 ; this may 
be the Joseph who, the 'History of Dor- 
chester' says was at that place early; 
Dr. Harris thinks about 1630." Taking 
excerpt from the record stated by the 
first-named authority, the succeeding gen- 
erations from Joseph to the present are : 
(II) Hon. Daniel Clark, son of Joseph 
Clark (Clarke), was "a first settler" in 
Windsor, Connecticut, and "a man of 
great prominence. He was an attorney- 
at-law, and held many public offices, 
among which was that of secretary of 
the colony, 1664-66" (Stiles records it as 
1658 to 1663; and another historian as 
1658-64, and again in 1665-66). He was 
appointed to sit in "ye great pew," wains- 
coted for the sitting of magistrates. He 
married (first) June 13, 1644, Mary New- 
berry, who died August 29, 1688 ; (sec- 
ond) Martha Wolcott, widow of Simon 
Wolcott, sister of William Pitkin. Es- 
quire, of Hartford. His children "mar- 



ried into the first families of the ancient 
town of Windsor, and were among the 
aristocracy there." His granddaughter, 
Sarah Drake, was the wife of Governor 
Roger Wolcott, of Connecticut, and his 
great-grandson, the Hon. Roger Wolcott, 
was representative to the General Assem- 
bly, member of the Council, and judge of 
the Superior Court. Clark's great-grand- 
son, Oliver Wolcott, graduated at Yale 
in 1747, and was one of the signers of the 
Declaration of Independence, and in 1787 
was elected Governor of the State. All 
the ten children of the Hon. Daniel Clark 
were born to his first wife, Mary (New- 
berry) Clark, and were : Mary, Josiah, 
Elizabeth, Daniel, John, Mary (born thir- 
teen years after the first, who probably 
was then deceased), Samuel, Sarah, Han- 
nah, and Nathaniel, who was killed by 
Indians in 1690. 

(III) Samuel Clark, son of Hon. Dan- 
iel and Mary (Newberry) Clark, was 
born in Windsor, Connecticut, July 7, 
1661. He married, in 1687, Mehitable 
Thrall, who bore him four children : 
Samuel, David, Nathaniel, and Joseph. 

(IV) Samuel (2) Clark, son of Sam- 
uel (1) and Mehitable (Thrall) Clark, 
was born November 10, 1688. and died in 

1741. He married Abigail Owen. They 
had six children: Joel, Abigail, Samuel, 
Hannah, David, and Ann. 

(V) Joel Clark, eldest child of Samuel 
(2) and Abigail (Owen) Clark, was born 
in 1717, and died in 1777. He married, in 

1742, Lydia Forbes, who died in 1796. 
They had four children : Samuel, Joel, 
Reuben, and Lydia. 

(VI) Joel (2) Clark, son of Joel (1) 
and Lydia (Forbes) Clark, was born in 
1747. He married, March, 1764, Martha 
Pinney, who died October 5, 1808. They 
had four children : Grove, Joel, Lydia, 
and Patty. 

(VII) Captain Grove Clark, son of 



120 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Joel {2) and Martha (Pinney) Clark, was 
born in Windsor, about 1766, and died 
there, September 27, 1846, aged eighty 
years. He married, at Windsor, January 
13, 1791, Mercy Griffin, who died aged 
eighty-two years, and whose father was 
a soldier in the Revolution. Their chil- 
dren were : Henry, of whom further ; 
Emeline, who married Stephen Earle, and 
lived at Penn Yan, New York; Delia, 
who married a Mr. Stanley, and lived in 
Vermont; Peneul, who served in the 
French War of 1813 ; Eliza, who mar- 
ried Adin Hunt, of Windsor ; Phelps, who 
never married ; Electa, unmarried, and 
Isaac Shelby, who married Phidelia 
Phelps, and lived in Windsor until his 
death, at the age of eighty-six years. 

(VIII) Henry Clark, son of Captain 
Grove and Mercy (Griffin) Clark, was 
born in Windsor, and eventually ac- 
quired an agricultural property in the 
parish of Poquonock, Windsor, and there 
passed his life. Pie married Chloe Riley. 
Among their children was Lucius Pome- 
roy, father of Albert H. and Robert L., 
who are the principal subjects of this 
article. 

(IX) Lucius Pomeroy Clark, son of 
Henry and Chloe (Riley) Clark, was born 
in Windsor village, August 19, 1825. 
Opportunities for academic education 
were in his day and place very limited, 
and when only nine years of age he began 
the serious work of life. Until he had 
reached sixteen years he was employed 
by neighboring farmers, but he then be- 
came apprenticed to a carpenter and fol- 
lowed carpentry for some years. One 
employment in this connection was with 
the Hartford Carpet Company, at Tariff- 
ville, Connecticut, and for four years he 
worked in the United States Armory at 
Springfield, Massachusetts. In the win- 
ter of 1861-62, he benefited by the will 
of a maternal aunt, Mrs. Elisha Barber, 



the bequest being landed estate at Wind- 
sor. This circumstance caused Mr. Clark 
to resume agricultural occupations, and 
it may be considered that from 1863 until 
his death, which occurred on December 
30, 1910, he did practically no carpenter- 
ing, saving perhaps such as became 
necessary on his own farm. In the spring 
of 1865 ne purchased the farm now owned 
by his sons, and then known as the Guy 
Griswold farm. It was impoverished, 
but hard work and judicious management 
made it eventually one of the most pro- 
ductive estates of its size in the town. 
He was highly esteemed in the town, his 
success in business having been won by 
strictly honest methods. Staunchly Re- 
publican in politics, Mr. Clark might have, 
had he wished, held public office. But he 
was more concerned in doing one thing 
well than two things moderately well, 
and he had resolved to become a success- 
ful and extensive tobacco grower and 
that he became. In May, 1849, he mar- 
ried Katherine, born March 2, 1830, died 
March 14, 1907, daughter of Thomas and 
Mary (Porter) McKnight, of Great Falls, 
New Hampshire, and they were destined 
to have each other's company for almost 
fifty-eight years, Mrs. Clark's unfailing 
help to her husband during' the early 
years of their business enterprise consti- 
tuting in all probability an important fac- 
tor in his ultimate success. Their chil- 
dren were: Albert H., and Robert L., of 
both of whom further mention is made 
below : 

(X) Albert H. Clark, son of Lucius 
Pomeroy and Katherine (McKnight) 
Clark, was born September 1, 1853, at 
Tariffville, Connecticut, and for a time 
was engaged in mercantile business at 
Poquonock, but at present devotes his 
entire time to the tobacco operations of 
Clark Brothers. On April 19, 1900, he 
married Ida A., daughter of George F. 



121 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



and Jane (Smith) Hardy, of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, but formerly of Poquo- 
nock, Connecticut, where Ida A. was 
born. To Albert H. and Ida A. (Hardy) 
Clark was born a son, George Lucius, 
now living with his parents on the Clark 
homestead. 

(X) Robert L. Clark, son of Lucius 
Pomeroy and Katherine (McKnight) 
Clark, was born in Tariffville, January 28, 
1856, and early became associated with 
his father and elder brother in the busi- 
ness of tobacco growing on the paternal 
estate. He married Hattie L. Day, who 
died in March, 1886. To them was born 
a son, Frank S., in October, 1878. He 
now is an independent and prosperous 
farmer at Poquonock. 

The brothers, Albert H. and Robert 
L. Clark, have been the directing heads 
of the Clark tobacco interests since the 
retirement and death of their father. 
They are aggressive and shrewd man- 
agers, and were well trained in a good 
school — that of hard work under the 
watchful interested eye of their father, 
who worked perhaps even harder than 
they. They became expert in all phases 
of agriculture, but especially in the 
culture of tobacco. Their Connecticut 
tobacco lands are more than seventy-five 
acres in extent, their product being alto- 
gether shade-grown tobacco. An average 
of one hundred hands are employed on 
the estate during the harvesting season, 
and, generally, the business is of such 
extent as to keep the brothers quite fully 
occupied for a considerable portion of 
each year. They probably are the larg- 
est individual owners in Connecticut of 
shade-grown tobacco, and the extensive 
tobacco sheds on the estate are all 
equipped with the most modern improve- 
ments for the curing and production of 
high grade tobacco. As practical grow- 
ers, the Clark brothers are always ready 



to co-operate in any movement that may 
tend to interest and benefit the tobacco 
industry, especially that of Connecticut, 
and for the last six years they have been 
connected with and financially interested 
in the Sumatra Tobacco Company, a com- 
bine of extensive interests in Georgia, 
Florida and Connecticut. The Sumatra 
Tobacco Company take the whole of the 
crop from the Clark property, but the 
brothers are owners of all the land and 
buildings used by the company, under 
lease. 

And, generally, the brothers are rec- 
ognized as leading residents of the 
Windsor district of Connecticut; both 
are members of the Windsor Busi- 
ness Men's Association, and both were 
active organizers of the movement 
which established the Poquonock Grange, 
of which they are still enthusias- 
tic members. Neither brother has taken 
political office, and both are very busy 
men of business, taking good part in the 
maintenance in profitable productive in- 
dustry of the State of Connecticut. Rob- 
ert L. Clark also comes into financial cir- 
cles of the district in his capacity of direc- 
tor of the Windsor Trust and Safe 
Deposit Company. 



GRISWOLD, Frederick Albert, 

Insurance Actuary. 

Frederick Albert Griswold, of Weth- 
ersfield, manifests in his personality cer- 
tain praiseworthy characteristics inher- 
ited from forebears who took valiant part 
in the early upbuilding of this Nation. 
The annals of the State of Connecticut 
bear testimony to, and record of, the 
activities within its borders of many 
worthy ancestors of the subject of this 
present writing, the Griswold family 
name having held creditable place in the 
legislative, military and business life of 



122 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Connecticut since the early half of the 
seventeenth century. 

The patronymic, Griswold, originated 
in the early centuries, the name being 
recorded, for the most part, in England. 
The derivation is not readily determinate, 
but following the customary presumption 
in regard to most other names of ancient 
origin, it may be asserted that the family 
of Griswold included others whose names 
were somewhat allied. Therefore, it is 
found that, anterior to the fourteenth cen- 
tury, the name was rendered as Greswold 
and Gryswould. A branch, bearing the 
patronymic of Greswold, was established 
in genteel state at Solihull, in Warwick- 
shire, prior to 1400. They were of. the 
family of John Greswold, who, in the 
fourteenth century, came from Kenil- 
worth, and married the daughter of 
Henry Hughford, of Huddersly Hall in 
Solihull, and being of the gentry, the fam- 
ily was privileged to maintain a coat-of- 
arms. The immediate antecedents of the 
progenitors of the various Griswold fami- 
lies of Connecticut have not been identi- 
fied. Two brothers, Edward and Mat- 
thew Griswold, however, it can be 
authentically stated, came to Windsor, 
Connecticut, from Kenilworth, England, 
and that Matthew Griswold was largely 
instrumental in effecting the settlement 
of Lyme, Connecticut. Later, another of 
the family, Michael Griswold, who was 
born in 1610, came from England and 
settled in Wethersfield. Both Matthew 
and Michael Griswold established lines 
which, in the subsequent generations, 
brought the family name into prominence 
in reference to matters concerning vari- 
ous sections of Connecticut. 

Michael Griswold was a landowner in 
Wethersfield at an early date, possibly in 
1640, or soon after. He paid a fence tax 
in 1647, and in 1659 was the only free- 
man of the name of Griswold in the town. 



A mason by trade, Michael Griswold was 
elected to many administrative offices in 
the community, at different times having 
been constable, assessor and appraiser of 
lands. He died September 26, 1684, leav- 
ing estate to the value of six hundred and 
twenty-eight pounds, one shilling, indi- 
cating thereby an industrious, thrifty and 
prudent habit of life. He married Ann 
, some records giving her patro- 
nymic as Adams. 

(The oldest house now standing in the 
town of Wethersfield, is that of Michael 
Griswold, Jr., situated in Back Lane ; it 
is asserted that the house was erected in 
1730, or somewhat before that time. The 
house is in a good state of preservation, 
and most of the interior woodwork is that 
which was originally built in, and the 
stone steps and stone walk leading from 
the gate to the main hall door are those 
laid when the building was first erected. 
The property has remained in unbroken 
possession of the descendants of the 
Michael Griswold who, in 1730, or before, 
caused its erection). 

Jacob Griswold, son of Michael and 
Ann (Adams?) Griswold, was born April 
15, 1660, and died July 22, 1737. On De- 
cember 10, 1685, he married Mary, born 
October 11, 1656, daughter of Robert 
Francis, freeman of Wethersfield since 
1645. She died April 25, 1735, in her 
seventy-first year. Jacob Griswold was 
probably the pioneer settler of the locality 
now designated Griswoldville. Record 
states that he inherited land there from 
his father, but presumably his father had 
not developed that portion of his landed 
interests. Jacob Griswold also acquired 
land by purchase. He was a member of 
the First Congregational Church of 
Wethersfield. 

Major Josiah Griswold, son of Jacob 
and Mary (Francis) Griswold, was born 
January 4, 1700-01. He attained "consid- 



123 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



erable prominence." His military title 
arose from his service during the French 
and Indian wars, when as major, he was 
staff officer of the First Connecticut Regi- 
ment, and is said to have taken "a con- 
spicuous part in the struggle." In peace 
times he applied himself to agriculture, 
being possessed of extensive land hold- 
ings. He died May 9, 1769. His wife, 
whom he married on August 17, 1727, 
was Mabel Belden, born February 9, 
1707-08, died December 13, 1789. 

Their son, Ozias Griswold, was born 
January 16, 1735, in Griswoldville. The 
farming of his estate became the main 
occupation of Ozias Griswold, as it had 
been that of his father and grandfather. 
He died December 4, 1815, leaving issue, 
of which this record is interested in that 
by his first wife, Anna (on records 
and gravestone, "Anner"), daughter of 
Thomas and Mary (Francis) Stanley, of 
New Britain. She was born February 5, 
1722; married December II, 1760; died 
July 26, 1825. 

James Griswold, son of Ozias and Anna 
(Stanley) Griswold, was born August 21, 
1783, and married, January 22, 1812, 
Lucy, daughter of Wait Robbins. She 
was born January 13, 1783, and died 
June 19, 1855. James Griswold, be- 
sides carrying on a farm, engaged with 
his brother, Thomas, in the business of 
dressing cloth. 

Albert Clinton Griswold, son of James 
and Lucy (Robbins) Griswold, was born 
in Wethersfield, September 4, 1827. He 
received a superior education, mainly 
at the Suffield Literary Institute, and 
entered the teaching profession, engag- 
ing also to some extent in farming, at 
the old homestead. During the Civil 
War, Albert Clinton Griswold conducted 
a private academy, located in the Marble 
Block, Central Row, Hartford, and he 
inaugurated military training as one of 



the main essentials of the school cur- 
riculum. On January 13, 1853, he mar- 
ried Caroline Louisa, daughter of Wil- 
liam Goodrich, of Stepney Parish, Weth- 
ersfield. To them were born six children : 

1. William Goodrich, born May 4, 1854. 

2. Frederick Albert, of whom further. 3. 
Alma Louisa, who married Dr. Julius E. 
Griswold. 4. Mary Robbins, who mar- 
ried Charles E. Buckland, of Hartford. 
5. Samuel B., now assistant passenger 
agent of the Rochester & Pittsburgh 
Railroad, at Rochester, New York. 6. 
Ellen Means, who married the Rev. Her- 
bert Macy, of Newington. Mr. and Mrs. 
Albert Clinton Griswold were members 
of the Congregational church at Rocky 
Hill, the former holding church office as 
deacon. 

Frederick Albert Griswold, son of 
Albert Clinton and Caroline Louisa 
(Goodrich) Griswold, was educated in the 
public schools of his native town. When 
fourteen years of age he went to Roches- 
ter, New York, where he was engaged as 
a clerk in the mercantile establishment 
of his uncle Frederick Goodrich. He had 
barely reached his majority when, upon 
the death of his uncle, he formed a part- 
nership with the junior member of the 
firm under the name of Witherspoon 
& Griswold. In 1885, he sold his inter- 
est in the business, and returned to Con- 
necticut, becoming district agent at 
Hartford, in 1889, for the Northwestern 
Mutual Life Insurance Company, of Mil- 
waukee. In 1903 he became general 
agent for northern and eastern Connecti- 
cut, and in 1906 was given the general 
agency for the entire State. 

On June 18, 1878, Mr. Griswold mar- 
ried Mary Fosdick, daughter of Henry 
Allyn and Catherine Skinner (Bacon) 
Stillman, of Wethersfield. To them, in 
the many years of their married life, have 
been born ten children: 1. Katharine 



124 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Louisa, born October 24, 1879, at Roches- 
ter, New York, died October 19, 1907 ; 
she married Albert H. Wallace, of Mont- 
clair, New Jersey. 2. Margaret Bacon, 
born at Rochester, New York, October 
29, 1881 ; she married Webster Kimball 
Clark, M. D., of Greenfield, Massachu- 
setts, 3. Albert Clinton, of Wethersfield, 
who was born at Rochester, New York, 
February 10, 1884; married Eva Eliza- 
beth Sauer, of Unionville, Connecticut. 
4. Mary Fosdick, who was born at Weth- 
ersfield, July 30, 1886, and married Bur- 
ton Mather Mason, of Hartford. 5. 
Henry Stillman, born at Wethersfield, 
September 25, 1887; he married Ruth E. 
Chapman, of Hartford. 6. Charles Dar- 
row, born at Wethersfield, April 19, 1889; 
died October 6, 1908. 7. Myron Adams, 
born at Wethersfield, December 11, 1890; 
married Gladys Rider, of Danbury, Con- 
necticut. 8. Frederick Goodrich, born at 
Wethersfield, February 23, 1892, died 
July 30, 1892. 9. Alice Webster, born at 
Wethersfield, May 8, 1893; died March 
12, 1917. 10. Elizabeth Darrow, born at 
Wethersfield, January 25, 1900. 

Mr. Griswold is keenly interested in 
public affairs, and has given active and 
appreciated allegiance to the Republican 
party. He has held local, judicial and 
administrative office ; was justice of the 
peace, and for over twenty years has 
been a member of the town school com- 
mittee in Wethersfield. of which body he 
is now chairman. His personality, as 
well as his capability in public office, was 
in recent years made evident by his elec- 
tion to and activities at the State Legis- 
lature in 1913. He was a member of the 
committee on insurance, and was chair- 
man of the new towns and probate dis- 
tricts committee. Socially, Mr. Griswold 
is a member of the Hartford Club, of the 
Wethersfield Country Club, of which or- 
ganization he is president ; also member 
of the Hartford Chamber of Commerce. 



(The Stanley Line). 

Thomas Stanley, born in Farmington, 
November 27, 1720, married (first), May 
22, 1740, Mary, daughter of James and 
Elizabeth (Howard) Francis. James 
Francis was born in Wethersfield, Octo- 
ber 13, 1685; married (first) November 
3, 1713, Elizabeth Howard, who died 
April 13, 1728; resided at Berlin, Con- 
necticut, where he farmed. His father, 
John Francis, was born in Wethersfield, 
September 4, 1658; married (first) Feb- 
ruary 10, 1680, Sarah Dix, who was born 
in 1658, and died April 3, 1682; served 
as sergeant in Colonial army, but main 
occupation that of farming. He died De- 
cember 28, 171 1. His father, Robert 
Francis, was born in 1629, probably in 
England ; married, about 1650, Joan 

, who died January 29, 1705, aged 

seventy-six years. The records of the 
town of Wethersfield authenticate the 
admission of Robert Francis to rank of 
freeman of the settlement in 1645. Rec- 
ord also is extant of purchase by him of 
a tract of land on March 29, 1652, which 
land he farmed. He was a prominent 
member of the Congregational church. 
He attained the age of eighty-three, his 
demise occurring on January 2, 1712. 

Thomas Stanley, who married Mary 
Francis, was the son of Thomas Stanley. 
The latter was born in Farmington, Octo- 
ber 31, 1696; married, January 2, 1718, 
Esther, daughter of Samuel Cowles, of 
Kensington. He lived in Stanley Quarter, 
New Britain, 'and was reputed wealthy. 
He died October 13, 1755, aged sixty- 
nine, his wife surviving him for more 
than twenty years, her death occurring 
on July 22, 1776. 

His father, Thomas Stanley, was born 
in Farmington, November 1, 1649. He 
was one of the petitioners to the General 
Court for liberty to settle Waterbury, 
but he did not remove there. On May 1, 
1690, he married Anna, daughter of Rev. 



125 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Jeremiah and Joanna (Kitchell) Peck, of 
Waterbury, and both he and his wife 
joined the Farmington church, April 17, 
1692. He died April 14, 1713, and his 
wife five years later, May 23, 1718. Rev. 
Jeremiah Peck was the son of Deacon 
William Peck, of New Haven, a gradu- 
ate of Harvard, who married, November 
12, 1656, Joanna, daughter of Robert 
Kitchell, of Guilford. Mr. Peck taught 
school in Guilford, 1656-60. Then for a 
year or more he had charge of the Hop- 
kins Grammar School at New Haven, 
subsequently being appointed minister of 
Saybrook. In 1665, he removed to New- 
ark, New Jersey. In 1672 he, with 
others, purchased land from the Indians 
in the district now known as Greenwich, 
Connecticut. He ministered there until 
1689-90, when he was called to Water- 
bury, where he remained as minister until 
his death, June 7, 1699, he being then 
aged seventy-seven years. 

Thomas Stanley's father was John 
Stanley, born in England, in 1624. After 
the death of his father he was placed by 
the Court under the guardianship of his 
uncle, Thomas Stanley, until he should 
reach the age of twenty-one years. The 
uncle, Thomas Stanley, and his ward of 
same name, came to Hartford in 1636, in 
which year the nephew, although at that 
time only thirteen years of age, joined the 
expedition against the Pequots. On De- 
cember 5, 1645, he married Sarah, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Anna Scott, of Hart- 
ford, and settled in Farmington. John 
Stanley and wife joined the church, Janu- 
ary 30, 1652-53, and later, when the fami- 
lies were graded according to dignity, 
they ranked fourth in a list of forty fami- 
lies. He was one of the most distin- 
guished of the colonists, being appointed 
by his fellow-citizens to nearly every 
office of trust and honor. He was deputy 
to the General Court almost continuously 



from 1659 to 1696, his in this connection 
having been one of the longest terms of 
service in the history of the State. He 
was generally called Captain Stanley, 
having gained the title in King Philip's 
War. He was constable in Farmington 
in 1654; was sergeant in 1669; ensign, 
1674; captain, 1676. For his services to 
the State, he received a grant of one hun- 
dred and twenty acres of land from the 
General Court in 1674, which grant was 
followed by another in 1687. Captain 
Stanley was, in 1689, appointed member 
of the commission on Indian troubles. 
His first wife died June 6, 1661, but he 
lived until December 19, 1706. His 
estate was appraised at three hundred and 
sixty pounds, seven shillings and six 
pence, a goodly sum in those days. 

His father, John Stanley, embarked for 
New England in 1634-35, but died on the 
voyage. The research of the family gene- 
alogist establishes, with strong probabil- 
ity, the English origin of the Stanley fam- 
ily, connecting it with a family of like 
patronymic resident at that time in the 
County of Kent, its noble antecedents 
having entitled it to a coat-of-arms, which 
it bore. 

(The Robbins Line). 

Captain Wait Robbins was born in 
1744, and died May 15, 1826. He married 
(first) Hannah, daughter of Captain Jona- 
than Robbins, who, with two children, 
was killed by the terrible tornado of 
August 15, 1787. Captain Wait Robbins 
was highly esteemed by his fellow-towns- 
men. 

His father, John Robbins, esquire and 
captain, was born in 1716. Stiles says he 
was "the historic personage of the Rob- 
bins line. Tall and well-proportioned in 
body, possessed of great strength and 
untiring energy, he was remarkable 
among his contemporaries for his indus- 
try, impulsiveness of action and alert- 

126 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ness of mind, qualities which, backed as 
they were by great wealth for those days, 
gave him a dominating influence in the 
community in which he lived, as well as 
in the other portions of the State. 
Brought up in the rigid school of Puritan 
doctrines and manner of life, his iron will 
governed his domestic affairs with a 
sternness which permitted of no infrac- 
tions either of economy, or relaxation of 
industry." He represented Wethersfield 
in the General Assembly in May and Oc- 
tober, 1780, May, 1872, October, 1783, 
and May, 1789. He was a man of quick 
wit and possessed a keen sense of humor. 
He had the courage of his convictions 
and was a forceful orator, recognized as 
one of the leaders of the Legislature. He, 
like most men of prominence in those 
days, extended hospitality to passing 
travellers, which probably explains the 
statement that "he kept a tavern." He 
owned negro slaves, and "was one of the 
wealthiest men in the State." Captain 
Robbins married (first) Martha, the 
daughter of Captain Jacob Williams, Sr. 
She died June 10, 1770, in her fifty-fifth 
year. Captain Robbins, whose military 
title was gained by meritorious service 
during the Revolutionary War, died May 
31, 1798. 

His father, Richard Robbins, was born 
in 1687, and died February 7, 1738-39. 
He married, January 11, 1710-11, Mar- 
tha, the daughter of Sergeant John and 
Elizabeth (Wright) Curtis. She died on 
August 21, 1753, in her sixty-third year. 

His father, Sergeant John Robbins, 
was born in 1649, died July 10, 1689; 
married, April 24, 1675, Mary, who was 
born February 4, 1644, and died May 19, 
1721, daughter of Samuel and Mary 
(Belts) Boardman. John Robbins was 
deputy to the General Court in May, 
1687. 

His father, "John Robins, gentleman," 



appears on the records of the Wethersfield 
settlement as early as 1638, though it was 
quite possible that he was a resident of 
the town prior to that. He is recorded 
as a townsman in 1652 ; was member of 
the General Court in 1653, 1656, 1657 and 
1659; died June 27, 1660. He was a 
man of means and high social position, 
and tradition has it that his wife Mary 
was the daughter of Governor Thomas 
and Elizabeth Welles, but it would seem 
more probable that she was a sister of 
Governor Welles. 

(The Goodrich Line). 

Caroline Louisa (Goodrich) Griswold, 
wife of Albert Griswold, was born on No- 
vember 1, 1831. Her father, William Good- 
rich, was born July 4, 1791 ; married Sally 
Whitmore in 1813; died April 28, 1864. 

His father, William Goodrich, was 
born October 23, 1760; died July 4, 1837. 
He married, January 1, 1790, Mehitable 
Wilkeson, and resided in Rocky Hill. 

His father, Ephraim Goodrich, was 
born September 29, 1722, and died March 
13, 1771. He married, November 17, 
1748, Rebecca Goodrich, taking up resi- 
dence in Wethersfield. She died April 
23, 1805, in her seventy-seventh year. 
Ephraim Goodrich lived to exceed the 
century, his death not coming until April 
25, 1826. 

His father, Ephraim Goodrich, was 
born December 21, 1693, an ^ died August 
12, 1771. Resided in Glastonbury, and 
married, on July 10, 1715, Hannah, born 
March 18, 1697, daughter of James and 
Hannah (Welles) Steele. 

His father, Captain Ephraim Goodrich, 
was born June 12, 1663. His first wife, 
whom he married on May 20, 1684, and 
who died on January 26, 1712, in her for- 
tieth year, was Sarah, daughter of Major 
Richard and Sarah (Coleman) Treat. 

His father, Ensign William Goodrich, 



127 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was born in Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk 
county, England, a brother of John Good- 
rich, first recorded November 10, 1643, 
in Hartford. Probably they came to 
America together. William's name ap- 
pears first in connection with his mar- 
riage on April 4, 1648, to Sarah, daughter 
of Matthew Marvin. William Goodrich 
was appointed a constable in Wethers- 
field, March 7, 1649; was admitted free- 
man, May 15, 1656; was deputy to the 
General Court for five sessions, May, 
1662, to October, 1666; grand juror, May, 
1662; was commissioned ensign of Weth- 
ersfield train-band, May 11, 1663; and 
is so styled in all records until his death 
in 1676, just after the close of King 
Philip's War. His widow married Cap- 
tain William Curtis, of Stratford, and died 
in 1702. An inventory of the estate of 
William Goodrich placed its value as 
nine hundred and fifteen pounds, three 
shillings and six pence, which established 
the deceased as having been wealthy. 

The name of Goodrich is of Saxon and 
ancient origin. Authentic record makes 
reference to Goodrich Castle as early as 
1204, and in all probability antecedes 
that. The Domesday Book indicates that 
the Goodrich family was of standing at 
the time of the Norman Conquest (1066). 
A Father Godric was elected Abbott of 
the Abbey of Croyland in the year 870. 
The derivation of the word is evidently 
from the Saxon root god, and the suffix 
He, rick, or rich, meaning rich. The 
early forms of the name were Godric, 
Goodrich, Guthrich and Goodridge, and 
its significance is "rich in God, or in good- 
ness." 

(The Stillman Line). 

Mrs. Mary Fosdick (Stillman) Griswold 
was born in Somerset, Ohio, May 4, 1856, 
the daughter of Henry Allyn and Cath- 
erine Skinner (Bacon) Stillman. 

He was born in Wethersfield, March 



2, 1815; married, June 26, 1845, Cath- 
erine Skinner, daughter of George and 
Nancy (Skinner) Bacon. George Bacon 
was born October 22, 1791 ; married 
Nancy, daughter of Elisha Skinner, who, 
vide, the "National Cyclopaedia of Amer- 
ican Biography," served in the commis- 
sary department during the Revolution, 
and was " a descendant of John, one of 
the original settlers of Hartford, through 
John, John, and Daniel." John Skinner, 
who was one of the Hooker party and 
an original landed proprietor of Hart- 
ford, probably came from Braintree, 
Essex county, England. He married 
Mary, daughter of Joseph Loomis, of 
Windsor, Connecticut. John Skinner died 
in 1650. 

George Bacon became a member of 
the firm of Dubois & Bacon, piano man- 
ufacturers, in 1836, a business still in 
operation, being embraced in that of the 
Bacon Piano Company, which is stated 
to be the oldest piano manufacturers in 
the country, through its continuance of 
the businesses of pioneer manufacturers. 
It may therefore be asserted that the 
Bacon Company was founded in 1789, by 
John Jacob Astor, who was succeeded in 
1802 by John and Michael Paff ; they in 
turn were succeeded in 1815 by William 
Dubois, whose partner, George Bacon, 
became in 1836, under the firm name of 
Dubois & Bacon. William Dubois began 
manufacturing pianos in 1820; in 1855 
his partner, George Bacon, died. 

Richard Bacon, father of George 
Bacon, was born in 1757. He married 
Anna Fosdick, who was born in Wethers- 
field in 1761, and died in 1821 at Dayton, 
Ohio. She was the daughter of Eze- 
kiel Fosdick, and granddaughter of Cap- 
tain Samuel Fosdick, who married at 
New London, Connecticut, on November 
1, 1682, Mercy Pickett, who was born 
on January 16, 1660-61, and died at New 



128 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



London, Connecticut, on November 28, 
1725, and was the daughter of John and 
Ruth (Brewster) Pickett. Captain Sam- 
uel Fosdick was born at Charlestown, 
Massachusetts, December 15, 1655, and 
died at New London, Connecticut, Au- 
gust 27, 1702. He served in the Narra- 
gansett War ; was lieutenant of Foot 
Company at New London in 1690, and 
captain in 1697; was deputy to General 
Court in 1694-98, and again in 1700. ''He 
was one of the owners of Plum Island, 
and had thereon a farm under cultiva- 
tion, well stocked and productive." His 
residence, in what is now called New 
London, was then known as Fosdick's 
Neck. His widow married John Arnold. 
Captain Samuel Fosdick was the son of 
Sergeant John and Anna (Shapley) Fos- 
dick, of Charlestown, Massachusetts. 
Savage says that John Fosdick was in 
Charlestown in 1677, "son off Stephen, 
born probably in England, was, I sup- 
pose, after of Maiden, and perhaps that 
freeman called Serg. Fosdick in 1690; 
married, 1648, Ann Shapleigh, perhaps 
daughter of Nicholas." 

John Pickett, who married Ruth Brews- 
ter on March 14. 1651, died at sea while 
returning from Barbadoes, August 16, 
1667. His estate was inventoried at 
eleven hundred and forty pounds, which 
ranked him as one of the wealthy mer- 
chants of New London. His widow mar- 
ried George Hill. 

Ruth Brewster was born October 3, 
1631, and died May 1, 1677, daughter of 
Jonathan Brewster. He came in the ship 
"Fortune" in 1621 ; married Lucretia 
Oldham, of Derby, April 10, 1624. He 
died August 7, 1659, in Preston, Connec- 
ticut, and is buried in the Brewster ceme- 
tery there. She died on March 4, 1678-79. 
In Leyden, Jonathan Brewster was a 
ribbon-maker. About 1630, he became a 
resident of Duxbury, Massachusetts, and 

Conn— 5— 9 



represented that town in the General 
Court in 1639, and also in the four ses- 
sions, 1641-44. He was one of the prin- 
cipal men in the settlement of the town 
and in the establishment of its church. 
He occasionally practiced before the 
Court as an attorney, and is also styled 
"gentleman." He also engaged in the 
coasting trade, and was master, and 
probably owner, of a small vessel ply- 
ing from Plymouth along the coast of 
Virginia. Thus, he became acquainted 
with Pequot Harbor, where he traded 
with the Indians. He was "Clarke of the 
Towne of Pequitt." In September, 1649, 
and in that same month the town granted 
him land which is still known as Brews- 
ter's Neck. In 1637, he was a military 
commander in the Pequot War, and in 
1642 was a member of the Duxbury Com- 
mittee, to raise forces against the Nar- 
ragansetts. He became a member of 
Captain Myles Standish's Company in 
1643, and on February 25, 1649-50, was 
admitted an inhabitant of New London, 
Connecticut, settling in that part which 
later became Norwich. For the sessions 
of 1650, '55, '56, '57 and '58, he ^t as 
deputy in the General Court. 

"Mrs. Lucretia Brewster, the wife of 
Jonathan, was evidently a woman of note 
and respectability among her compeers. 
She has always the prefix of honor (Mrs. 
or Mistress) and is usually presented to 
view in some useful capacity — an attend- 
ant upon the sick and dying, as a nurse, 
doctress or midwife — or a witness to 
wills and other important transactions." 

Elder William Brewster, father of Jon- 
athan Brewster, was born sometime be- 
tween the middle of the year 1566 and the 
middle of 1567; was educated at , Peter- 
house, Cambridge ; was the assistant of 
William Davison, Secretary of State to 
Queen Elizabeth until 1657; returned 
then to Scrooby, his birthplace, in York- 



125 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



shire, where he succeeded to the posi- 
tion of "Post," in charge of the Court 
mails, made vacant by the death of his 
father, William Brewster, in 1590. A 
conscientious Christian, he was an ardent 
and courageous supporter of the Inde- 
pendent (Puritan) church, which sought 
to remove certain Romanizing practices 
from the established State church, and 
the little band of seceders held their 
meetings, and church services, in Scrooby 
Manor, the home of William Brewster, 
who for these activities was, with others 
of his church, imprisoned. Released 
eventually, William Brewster went to 
Holland, where he was made an elder. 
He was in virtual leadership of the 
famous "Mayflower" pilgrims, and was 
regarded as such during their subsequent 
colonization in this country. Elder Wil- 
liam Brewster's career will be found 
recorded elsewhere in this work. 

Richard Bacon's ancestry is traced 
back through Zaccheus Bacon, Nathaniel 
(second) Bacon. Nathaniel was born in 
1659, an d ms name later was changed 
to Thomas. He was the son of Nathaniel 
Bacon, progenitor, who settled in Hart- 
ford, removing thence to Middletown, 
where his name appears in the records 
of 1653. Born in England, the son of 
William Bacon, of Parish Stretton, Rut- 
landshire, England, Nathaniel Bacon was 
one of the pioneer settlers of Middletown. 
and served as magistrate in New Haven 
in 1 661. His daughter became the wife 
of Thomas Miller. 

Deacon Ebenezer Stillman, father of 
Henry Allyn Stillman, was born in 1776. 
His first wife, whom he married on May 
16, 1797, was Rhoda, born October 31, 
1778, and died April 27, 1833, daughter 
of Captain John Francis, who was born 
in Wethersfield, Connecticut, June 20, 
1744 (after the death of his eldest brother, 
John). On September 20, 1764, he mar- 



ried Rhoda, daughter of Elias Wright. 
Rhoda Wright, who died on March 2J, 
1816, was in the direct line of descent 
from Thomas Wright. Esquire, who was 
born in England on November 19, 1610, 
and came, probably, to Massachusetts, 
whence he removed to Wethersfield about 
1639, and there received a house-lot of 
three acres on February 11, 1640. His 
main estate, however, was an island in 
the Connecticut river, called by the 
Indians, Mannahannock, i. e., Great 
Laughing Place. He was deputy to the 
General Court in 1643; selectman, 1658; 
and served in other positions of trust and 
responsibility. He was made freeman on 
May 11, 1654. He took prominent part in 
the church dissension which led to the set- 
tlement of Hadley. Captain John Francis, 
husband of Rhoda W r right, died May 30, 
1824. During his life, he saw much mil- 
itary service. On July 8, 1776, he enlisted 
in Captain Aldin's company, Third Regi- 
ment of Connecticut State Troops, under 
Colonel Samuel Wyllys, of Hartford. In 
1777, he was made a sergeant in the 
Fourth Company, under Captain Heze- 
kiah Wells and Colonel Erastus Wolcott ; 
was commissioned second lieutenant on 
July 29, 1778, in Captain Elijah Wright's 
company, Colonel Roger Eno's regiment. 
In 1780. he was first lieutenant in Captain 
Samuel Granger's company, attached to 
Colonel Levi Well's regiment. The fol- 
lowing year he was made captain of the 
Wethersfield company of the Provisional 
Regiment. He saw service along the 
Hudson river. Long Island sound, and 
elsewhere. Holding the confidence and 
esteem of all who knew him, he was sub- 
sequently elected to many civil offices ; 
was in 1800 elected a deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court. 

His father, John Francis, was born in 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, October 12, 
1684, and died September 19, 1749. He 



LP 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



married, October 16, 1735, for his fourth 
wife, Eunice Dickenson, who was born 
July 22, 1708, and died May 21, 1770, and 
was the daughter of Eliphalet Dickenson. 
He was born in 1676; married November 
24, 1697, Rebecca, daughter of Jacob 
Brunson, of Farmington. He died Sep- 
tember 9, 1733, and his widow on May 
2, 1755, aged seventy-six. His estate was 
appraised at six hundred and thirty-three 
pounds, one shilling, and one penny. His 
father, Sergeant Obadiah Dickenson, was 
born in 1641 ; went to Hadley, Massachu- 
setts, with his father in 1650; served in 
King Philip's War. His hotel was burned 
by the Indians ; he was wounded, and 
with his children, held captive by the 
Indians. Eventually, however, he escaped, 
in Canada, and in 1679 returned to Weth- 
ersfield, where, with his second wife, he 
joined the church in 1694. In 1687-88, 
he received a grant of land ; he was con- 
stable at that time. His second wife 
was Mehitable Hinsdale, of Hadley, or 
Hatfield, Massachusetts. She died prior 
to 1702, his decease occurring on June 
io, 1698. His estate was valued at six 
hundred and seventy-eight pounds, eight 
shillings, and eight pence. 

His father, Nathaniel Dickenson, who 
settled in Wethersfield at an early date, 
was the son of William and Sarah 
(Stacey) Dickenson, of Ely, Cambridge- 
shire, England, where he was born in 
1600. He married Anna Gull, and in 
1634 came to Watertown with his wife 
and three children. Subsequently, two 
or three years later, he removed to Weth- 
ersfield, where he became a prominent 
member of the community. He was 
juryman, October 14, 1642 ; was ap- 
pointed town clerk, December 1, 1645. 
The first town vote, in the first Wethers- 
field records, is in his handwriting. He 
was deputy to the General Court, in 
1646-56; townsman, 1647-48. His home- 



stead was recorded to him in 1649. I* 1 
October, 1654, he was one of three ap- 
pointed to constitute a committee to con- 
sider and advise with the constables of 
the three river towns regarding "press- 
ing men for the expedition into the Nine- 
gret Country," in the Narragansett War. 
He was one of the founders of Hadley, 
and a leader of the movement which 
consumated in the establishment of that 
place, and in the ultimate settlement held 
many administrative offices of import- 
ance. He was the first town clerk, was 
town assessor and magistrate. He joined 
the Hampshire troop, in 1663, when it 
was organized under Captain Pyncheon. 
He was one of the projectors of the Hop- 
kins Academy, and was on the first board 
of trustees. As one of the two repre- 
sentatives of the planters, he signed, on 
October 29, 1663, the final settlement 
with Major Pyncheon, for the Hadley 
tract. Stiles says of him : "In both com- 
munities, Wethersfield and Hadley, he 
was justly esteemed as an upright, intel- 
ligent, active and capable citizen, bearing 
well his share in the labors, privations 
and dangers incident to a frontier life. 
Worn out at last by these, especially 
those incurred in the defence of Hadley, 
and the Indian War of 1675-76, and de- 
pressed by the tragic loss of his three 
sons in that strife, he died June 16, 1676, 
a noble example of Puritan godliness and 
manly loyalty to duty." The genealogy 
of Nathaniel Dickenson is clear for four- 
teen generations to Walter de Caen, a 
kinsman and companion of William the 
Conqueror. Walter de Caen married the 
daughter of the last Saxon lord of Ken- 
son, and was afterwards known as Wal- 
ter de Kenson. The family bore a coat- 
of-arms, with the motto, Esse quam vidcri, 
i. e., "to be, rather than to seem to be." 

John Francis, who married Eunice 
Dickenson, was the owner and landlord 



131 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the "Wethersfield Inn."' Famed for 
his hurculean strength and physical en- 
durance, be became a factor of prom- 
inence in the community. He died on 
September 19, 1749. He was the son of 
John Francis, and grandson of Robert 
Francis, who was recorded in Wethers- 
field annals in the year 1645 (see Stanley 
line hereof). 

Deacon Ebenezer Stillman, who mar- 
ried Rhoda Francis, was a prosperous and 
industrious shoemaker. He was choir- 
master of the Wethersfield church, from 
1813 until his death, December 1 1, 1854. 
"He was a genial and lovable man." 

His father, Captain Joseph Stillman, 
was born October 21, 1739; married 
(first) in 1760, Sarah, daughter of Timo- 
thy and Sarah (Walker) Wright. He 
resided in the hotel he had inherited from 
his father, and grandfather, George Still- 
man. In 1714, it was known as the '"Man- 
sion House," and was destined to become 
prominently historic, as having housed 
General Washington when, during the 
Revolution, he came to Wethersfield, and 
at this house (referred to by some as 
Stillman's Tavern) he gave a dinner to 
his friends. Captain Stillman died Janu- 
ary 17, 1794. His wife, Sarah, died De- 
cember 21, 1780, aged forty. 

Captain Nathaniel Stillman, father of 
Captain Joseph Stillman, was born July 
1, 1691. His second wife was Sarah, 
daughter of Captain Joseph and Sarah 
(Doty) Allyn, formerly of Plymouth. 
Sarah Allyn was a granddaughter of 
Edward Doty, of the "Mayflower." Cap- 
tain Allyn was a successful merchant, 
possessing a business of much volume. 
His daughter, Sarah, was born in Weth- 
ersfield, August 17, 1708. In 1740, Cap- 
tain Stillman was appointed quartermas- 
ter of Connecticut Troop, and in the same 
year became its captain. He died Janu- 
ary 1, 1770, leaving an estate appraised 

1 



at seventeen hundred and ninety-three 
pounds. His widow died March 4, 1794, 
aged eighty-five. 

His father, "Mr." George Stillman, the 
progenitor of the American lines of this 
family, was born probably in Steeple 
Ashton, Wiltshire, England, about 1654. 
Before his immigration, he was by trade 
a merchant tailor, and the first American 
record relating to him is in the annals of 
the Hadley settlement, where he was one 
of three men who were tendered the dis- 
tinctive appellation of "Mr." Well edu- 
cated, enterprising, and possessed of some 
wealth at the outset, he is reputed to 
have eventually become the richest man 
in Hadley. He was elected several times 
to the office of selectman, and in 1698 
represented the town in the Massachu- 
setts General Court. He is stated to have 
kept a hotel, which probably was that 
owned by his wife's father, Lieutenant 
Philip Smith. It was a stockaded house, 
and had a hiding place behind the chim- 
ney. There the regicide judges, Goffe and 
Whalley, were secreted during their stay 
in Hadley, at the time of King Philip's 
War. Owing to the dangers to which 
his family were exposed, and possibly 
because of his wealth, he was persuaded 
that Wethersfield was a more desirable 
place of residence. So, to Wethersfield 
he went, a factor of some importance in 
this connection probably being the fact 
that the relatives of his second wife lived 
in Wethersfield. In that town, shortly 
after his removal from Hadley, George 
Stillman established himself in mercan- 
tile business, which soon expanded into 
a considerable volume of trading by him, 
not only locally, but internationally. He 
developed an extensive trade in horses, 
rum, molasses, et cetera, shipping these 
to buyers in the West Indies. His store 
was stocked much more completely than 
were the majority of country town stores 



V 




C^fi-rcccz/ {£>£& -r^d , 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in those days, his inventory including 
such items as dress goods, velvets, silks, 
pins and hardware. He owned some 
Indian slaves which he gave to his daugh- 
ters when they married. He served as 
juror in 1705, and as selectman in 1706. 
He died in 1728, leaving an estate of four 
thousand, four hundred and thirty-six 
pounds, twelve shillings, and six pence. 
His second wife was Rebecca, daughter 
of Lieutenant Philip Smith. She died 
October 7, 1650, aged eighty-two. 

The family name is of much antiq- 
uity, originating in England, where the 
branches of the family became known 
under names deviating somewhat from 
the original ; among the variations were 
Styleman and Stileman. On May 6. 
1652, the Stillmans, of Steeple Ashton, 
Wiltshire, England, were granted a coat- 
of-arms, as follows : Sable, a unicorn, 
passant, or; on a chief of the second, 
three billets of the first. Crest, a camel's 
head erased, azure billette, muzzled, col- 
lared, lined and ringed, or; on the collar 
three harts. Supporters, Dexter, a stag 
argent, with a lion's forepaws and tail, 
collared ; sinister, a lion, gules. Motto, 
Milii parta tueri. 



CLARK, Horace, 

Agriculturist. 

The surname Clark is representative 
of one of the oldest families of New Eng- 
land and the early Massachusetts Bay 
colonies, and is very frequently encount- 
ered in the early Colonial records of Con- 
necticut. The name itself is of great 
antiquity, having been used in Great 
Britain as early as the eleventh century. 

The Hon. Daniel Clark, son of Joseph 
Clark, was born in England, September 
5, 1622, and when seventeen years of age 
came to America with his uncle, the Rev. 
Ephraim Huit. He was a first settler in 
the town of Windsor and of great prom- 



inence there, and held many town offices. 
He was appointed to sit in "ye great 
pew," wainscoted for the sitting of mag- 
istrates. In 1654 he was tax assessor; 
secretary of the Colony, 1657 to 1661 ; 
member of Court of Assistants, 1658 to 
1662; commander, 1662, and captain of 
Colonial Troops, 1664. Daniel Clark may 
be rightfully called "the grandfather of 
Governors." His stepson, Roger Wol- 
cott, became Governor, and married the 
granddaughter of Mr. Clark. Their son, 
Oliver Wolcott, was Governor of Con- 
necticut, and in turn his son, Oliver Wol- 
cott, was Governor, 1817 to 1827. Roger 
Wolcott, a descendant of the aforesaid, 
was Governor of Massachusetts, and an- 
other descendant, Clark Bissell, was Gov- 
ernor of Connecticut, 1847 to 1849. 
Ursula Wolcott, daughter of Roger Wol- 
cott, married Matthew Griswold, Gov- 
ernor of Connecticut, and no less than 
ten of their descendants were governors 
in their turn. Daniel Clark died August 
12, 1710. He married, June 13, 1644, 
Mary Newberry, born in 1626, daughter 
of Thomas and Jane Newberry, of My- 
pen, Devonshire, England, and she died 
August 29, 1688, in Dorchester. 

Their fourth son, Samuel Clark, born 
July 6, 1661, in Windsor, died October 
10, 1736. He married, in 1687, Mehit- 
able Thrall, born in March, 1664, daugh- 
ter of Timothy and Sarah (Allyn) Thrall, 
died in August, 1723. 

Their eldest son, Samuel Clark, born 
in East Granby, November 10, 1688, died 
November 6, 1749. He married Abigail 
Owen, born in Simsbury, December 8, 
1681, daughter of Josiah Owen. 

Their eldest child, Joel Clark, born 
March 19, 1717, in East Granby, died 
their October 15, 1777. He married, 
April 7, 1742, Lydia Forbes, born in 1720, 
in Simsbury, and died November 15, 
1796. 

Their second son, Captain Joel Clark, 



133 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born August 15, 1747, in East Granby, 
died there January 29, 1809. He married, 
February 28, 1771, Martha Pinney, born 
1747, in Simsbury, and died January 21, 
1808, daughter of Abram and Elizabeth 
(Butler) Pinney. 

Their second son, Plorace Clark, born 
in East Granby, October 24, 1781, died 
December 21, 1842. He married, in 1802, 
Hannah Forward. She was born April 
4, 1785, in East Granby, daughter of 
Samuel and Susanna (Holcomb) For- 
ward, and died in 1882. The ancestor, 
Samuel Forward, came from Devonshire, 
England, about 1666, and settled in Dan- 
bury. Connecticut, and two of his sons 
settled in Granby, Connecticut. His son, 
Samuel Forward, was born July 23, 1671, 
and died May 3, 1738. He married De- 
borah Moore, born May 31, 1677, daugh- 
ter of Andrew and Sarah (Phelps) 
Moore, of Windsor, and died August 29, 
1734. Their son, Abel Forward, was 
born November 4, 1710, at Belchertown, 
Massachusetts, and died in 1766. He 
married Hannah Phelps, daughter of 
Ezekiel Phelps. Their son, Samuel For- 
ward, married Susanna Holcomb, and 
were the parents of Hannah Forward, 
who became the wife of Horace Clark, as 
previously noted. 

Their son, Horace Dryden Clark, was 
born May 22, 1805, in East Granby, Con- 
necticut, and was a lawyer in Cleveland, 
Ohio. His death occurred in Smyrna, 
Delaware, March 21, 1887. He married 
(first) Cassandra Henderson, of San- 
dusky, Ohio, and she died May 20, 1839. 

Their eldest son, Horace Clark, was 
born in Elyria, Ohio, August 31, 1836. 
His early education was obtained in the 
public schools of his native town, and at 
the age of nine years he removed to Suf- 
field, Connecticut, where he lived with 
his grandmother. There he continued his 
common school education and later was 



a student at the Connecticut Literary 
Institute in Suffield. Previous to his 
graduation, at the age of twenty years, 
he removed again to the West, and con- 
tinued his studies in his new home, Cleve- 
land, Ohio. When still very young, he 
entered his father's office to read law, and 
in i860 was admitted to the bar. For a 
period of three years he practiced law in 
Cleveland, and at the outbreak of the 
Civil War, he went to Canada and opened 
a business college, known as the Bryant 
& Stratton Business College, and for 
three years he was resident principal of 
the school. He then returned to the 
United States and settled in East Granby. 
There he purchased a large farm, and 
engaged in the occupation of farming for 
the next three years. He then sold his 
Granby farm and purchased the old 
Israel Harmon farm in West Suffield. 
For a quarter of a century Mr. Clark lived 
on this farm and followed agricultural pur- 
suits. In order to be nearer to Hartford, 
he removed to Windsor where, apart 
from his farm work, he found time to 
devote to literary pursuits, which he fol- 
lowed extensively. He wrote and pub- 
lished a work, "The Life of Jesus Christ." 
In political affiliations Mr. Clark was a 
Democrat, and was several times nom- 
inated by his party for various offices, 
among them that of State Senator. But 
the town of Windsor was Republican in 
a verv large majority, and for this rea- 
son Mr. Clark was not elected. He was 
a member of Washington Lodge, No. 70, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. Mr. 
Clark died August 14. 1908. 

Mr. Clark married, in East Granby, 
Mav 9, 1872, Edna Snow Alderman, born 
October 28, 185 1, daughter of James Har- 
vev and Sarah Jane (Snow) Alderman. 
Mr. Alderman was born January 3. 1825, 
in Chester. Massachusetts, and Sarah 
Jane (Snow) Alderman, January 24, 183 1, 

134 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Kingston, Canada. There were four 
children born to Mr. and Mrs. Clark: I. 
Horace D. Lee, born April 25, 1877 ; mar- 
ried Ida May White, February 24, 1909, 
and they reside in Hartford ; three chil- 
dren, Horace, born January 3, 1910; 
Chester, November 2, 191 1, and Rhoda, 
September 24, 1916. 2. Earl, born June 
13, 1878, died December 4, 1878. 3. 
Clyde Alderman, born August 2, 1880; 
married Nellie Foster, of East Granby, 
November 18, 1903 ; they have one child, 
Foster Dryden Clark, born October 14, 
1907. Clyde A. Clark is an osteopathic 
doctor with offices in Hartford. 4. John 
Douglass, born November 18, 1882; is 
a lawyer and graduate of Yale College, 
engaged in growing fruit in Florida ; he 
married, November 2, 1905, Emandel 
Viets, of Minneapolis ; they have two 
children, Charlotte Sarah Clark, born 
August 5, 1906, and Edna Carolyn Clark, 
born January 1, 1909. Mrs. Clark is a 
member of the Abigail Wolcott Elworth 
Chapter, Daughters of the American Rev- 
olution, and of Eureka Chapter of the 
Eastern Star, and takes an active part in 
church work, holding membership in 
Grace Episcopal Church of Windsor. 

Mrs. Edna Snow (Alderman) Clark 
was descended from an old Windsor fam- 
ily, the ancestor being William Alder- 
man, who was in Windsor in 1672, and 
was a farmer in that part of Windsor, 
now Simsbury, where he died in 1697. 
He married, in 1679, Mary Case, who was 
born June 22, 1660, daughter of John and 
Sarah (Spencer) Case, the last named a 
daughter of William and Agnes Spencer, 
who came from Cambridge to Hartford 
in 1639. Their third son, John Alderman, 
married, October 28, 1719, Sarah Case, 
born about 1703, daughter of John and 
Sarah (Holcomb) Case, and they were 
undoubtedly the parents of Daniel Alder- 
man, born in 1738, and died July 15, 



1798. He married Thankful Griffin, born 
in 1737, and died December 18, 1835. 
Their son, Epaphras Alderman, born De- 
cember 14, 1760, lived in Granby, where 
he died July 24, 1853. He married, 
March 22, 1781, Chloe Hayes, born 
March 13, 1762, died April 5, 1834, daugh- 
ter of Juda and Honora (Lampson) 
Hayes. Their son, Harvey Alderman, 
born about 1790, resided in East Granby. 
He married Sallie Holcomb, of that town, 
born April 22, 1792, died January 30, 
1875, daughter of Asahel and Martha 
Holcomb, of that town, a descendant of 
Thomas Holcomb, who was early at Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts, where he was 
admitted freeman, May 14, 1634. He 
sold his property there in 1635, and three 
years later joined others of his towns- 
men at Windsor, Connecticut. His 
descendants have long flourished in that 
part of Windsor, which is now Simsbury, 
and the latter town has been subdivided. 
His third son, Lieutenant Nathaniel Hol- 
comb, born November 4, 1648, lived in 
what is now Simsbury, where he was a 
farmer and representative to the General 
Court six times, from 1703 to 1722, inclu- 
sive. He married, February 27, 1670, 
Mary Bliss, of Springfield, daughter of 
Thomas Bliss, one of the original pro- 
prietors of Hartford. She removed after 
his death to Springfield. Her third son, 
John Holcomb, born 1680, lived in Sims- 
bury, and married, March 9, 1706, Ann 
Pettibone, who was born March 11, 1679, 
daughter of John and Sarah (Eggleston) 
Pettibone, of Windsor. They were the 
parents of Asahel Holcomb, born in 1720, 
who was known as Esquire Asahel, and 
was long a deacon of the church at Tur- 
key Hills, now East Granby, many years 
a member of its standing committee, 
made standing moderator, September 18, 
1810, and died February 21, 1817, aged 
ninety-six years and seven months. He 



135 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



married, January 27, 1742, Thankful 
Kent, who was born in 1722, and died 
March 9, 1746. Sergeant Asahel Hol- 
comb, son of Deacon Asahel and Thank- 
ful (Kent) Holcomb, was born Novem- 
ber 12, 1742, in East Granby, and married 
in the Turkey Hills Church, February 3, 
1764, Sarah Eno, who died June 1, 1815. 
They were the parents of Asahel Hol- 
comb, born August 28, 1764, in East 
Granby, whose wife's name was Martha, 
and whose daughter, Sarah Holcomb, 
became the wife of Harvey Alderman. 
Their son, James Harvey Alderman, was 
born January 3, 1825, in Chester, Massa- 
chusetts, and was a lifelong resident of 
East Granby. He married Sarah Jane 
Snow, who was born January 24, 1831, 
in Kingston, Canada, daughter of Charles 
Snow, of that place. 

Sarah Jane (Snow) Alderman was a 
descendant of Richard Snow, who ap- 
peared in Woburn, Massachusetts, as 
early as 1645, bought a house and twenty 
acres of land there in 1656, had several 
grants of land from the town, and died 
May 5, 1677. His eldest son, John Snow, 
probably born in England, lived in 
Woburn, and died there November 25, 
1706. His eldest child, John Snow, born 
May 13, 1668, in Woburn, removed to 
Chelmsford, and Dunstable, Massachu- 
setts. He' married, February 13, 1693, 
Sarah Stevens, and their eldest son, 
Joseph Snow, born May 6, 1697, in 
Woburn, lived in the eastern part of Duns- 
table, later known as Nottingham West, 
now Hudson, New Hampshire, where he 
was taxed in 1733. In 1734 he was select- 
man of the town, in the same year was a 
delegate to the General Court, and a lieu- 
tenant of the military, and was moderator 
in 1736, 1739. He died May 7, 1747. His 
wife, Bridget, born in 1700, removed 
with their children after his death to Ply- 
mouth, New Hampshire, where she died 



December 3, 1773. Their third son, 
Henry Snow, born November 17, 1725, 
in Dunstable, was ensign of militia in 
Nottingham West; selectman in 1760, 
and after 1764 removed to Plymouth, 
where he died May 11, 1820. His wife, 
Miriam, died May 13, 1813. Their third 
son, Nehemiah Snow, born May 4, 1759, 
in Nottingham West, was a child when 
the family removed to Plymouth. He 
served in three enlistments on the frontier 
under Colonel Bedel, during the Revolu- 
tion ; was at Bennington under Colonel 
Hobart and later a soldier of the Con- 
tinental Army. In 1802 he removed to 
Compton, Provence of Quebec, where 
he was a captain of militia, and there hi^ 
death occurred. He married April 9, 
1789, Miriam Harriman, born October 
18, 1771, in Hampstead, New Hampshire, 
died August 14, 1848, in Canada, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Martha (Poole) Har- 
riman, descendant of Leonard Harriman, 
who was at Rowley, Massachusetts, as 
early as 1639. Charles Snow, son of 
Nehemiah and Miriam (Harriman) Snow, 
was born October 26, 1800, in Plymouth, 
and lived in Kingston, Canada. He mar- 
ried, March 2, 1829, Rhoda Sargent, 
born October 23, 1806, in Amesbury, 
Massachusetts, a descendant of William 
Sargent, who was born June 28, 1606, 
at Bath, England, son of Richard and 
Catherine (Stevens) Sargent. The first 
record of him in this country is found in 
April, 1633, when he was a grantee of 
land at Ipswich, Massachusetts. Six 
years later he subscribed to the oath of 
allegiance and fidelity. In 1635 he was 
among the first settlers at Newberry, and 
in 1638 was at Hampton, New Hamp- 
shire. In 1639 he was a townsman and 
commissioner of Salisbury, Massachu- 
setts, and in December, 1650, paid taxes 
of seven shillings and four pence. In 
1655 he was residing in that part of Sal- 



[36 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



isbury, which is now Amesbury, and 
there died in 1675. About 1633 ne mar_ 
ried Elizabeth Perkins, daughter of Quar- 
termaster John Perkins, of Ipswich, who 
came in the ship "Lyon" in the spring 
of 1631. She died before April 18, 1670, 
when William Sargent took a second 
wife. Thomas Sargent, eldest son of 
William Sargent, was born June 11, 1643, 
in Salisbury, was a farmer, residing on 
Bear Hill in Amesbury, and died Feb- 
ruary 27, 1706. He married, January 

2. 1667, Rachel Barnes, born February 

3, 1648, daughter of William Barnes, of 
Amesbury, died in 1719. His son, John 
Sargent, who was the father of Robert 
Sargent, and grandfather of Amos Sar- 
gent, who married Sarah Patten, and 
was the father of Rhoda Sargent, wife 
of Charles Snow. Their daughter, Sarah 
Jane Snow, born January 24, 1831, died 
March 8, 191 1, became the wife of James 
Harvey Alderman, and the mother of 
Edna Snow, who became the wife of 
Horace Clark. 



RUSSEGUE, Henry Elmore, M. D., 

Physician. 

"But nothing is more estimable than a 
physician who, having studied nature 
from his youth, knows the properties of 
the human body, the diseases which as- 
sail it, the remedies which will benefit it, 
exercises it with caution and pays equal 
attention to the rich and the poor." 

Henry Elmore Russegue, M. D., a 
member of the estimable profession 
referred to in the quotation from Vol- 
taire, was born August 11, 1850, in 
Franklin, Massachusetts. He received 
his elementary education in the public 
schools of that town, and later became a 
student at Dean Academy, which was a 
preparatory school for Tufts College 
located in his native town. At the age 



of seventeen, he gave up his academic 
courses at Dean Academy and went to 
Boston, Massachusetts, to take a busi- 
ness position which had been offered him 
and which he continued to occupy until 
the advent of the "Boston Fire" of No- 
vember 9, 1872, when it became necessary 
for him to seek new employment, as did 
many hundreds of other young men. 
Thus in the period following the dis- 
aster, he was in the employ of one of 
the Boston wholesale dry goods houses, 
during which period of service he was 
daily thrown in contact with a number 
of the professors, lecturers and students 
of Boston University School of Medi- 
cine, and through his association with 
them he became very much interested in 
medicine as a profession and occasionally 
attended some of the lectures at the Med- 
ical College, and on almost all occasions 
of his meeting with his college friends 
and acquaintances he was importuned to 
study medicine and make its practice his 
life work. To this suggestion, after 
advising with his parents, he finally 
yielded and matriculated at Boston Uni- 
versity School of Medicine in 1874, tak- 
ing the full three years' course. At the 
termination of this three years' course, 
however, instead of graduating with his 
class in 1877, he made application for the 
position of "interne" at the Massachusetts 
Homoeopathic Hospital, which position 
was open only to senior under-graduates, 
and after a competitive examination he 
received the appointment of resident phy- 
sician and surgeon to that institution for 
the school year of 1877 and 1878, at the 
expiration of which term of service he 
was awarded a diploma from the insti- 
tution. At the Commencement exercises 
of Boston University School of Medicine 
in March, 1878, he was graduated as Doc- 
tor of Medicine, receiving his degree 
with the graduating class of 1878. 



137 



EN CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Dr. Russeguc then took up his resi- 
dence in South Framingham, Massachu- 
setts, where he practiced his profession 
most successfully for six years. He 
began to notice that the strain and expos- 
ure incident to a widely distributed coun- 
try practice was making inroads upon his 
health, and he decided to remove from 
that center and get into a more concen- 
trated city practice. In keeping with this 
decision he removed to Hartford, Con- 
necticut, in 1884. After locating in that 
city, Dr. Russegue soon drew to himself 
a large clientele and was most success- 
ful in his profession, becoming one of 
Hartford's prominent physicians in a 
remarkably short time, ingratiating him- 
self not only into the good will and effec- 
tion of his patients, but also into the 
kindly and fraternal feelings of his 
brother physicians of all schools of med- 
ical practice. With the exception of 
one comparatively short intermission 
(when away from the city for a time) 
Dr. Russegue continued in the practice 
of his profession in Hartford and its 
suburban towns until 1910, when the city 
of Hartford requisitioned his residential 
property, in which was located his ofHce 
and his place of business, for its own 
uses, and since his removal from that 
location he has not been actively engaged 
in practice, although he still continues to 
reside in Hartford. 

Dr. Russegue has been elected to the 
medical examinership of seven different 
insurance organizations, in one of which 
he served in that capacity for upwards 
of twenty years. Dr. Russegue is a life 
member and a Senior of the American 
Institute of Homoeopathy, and he is also 
a life member of the Massachusetts 
Homoeopathic Medical Society in his 
native State. 

In fraternal organizations Dr. Russe- 
gue is a member of St. John's Lodge, No. 



4, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons ; 
of Pythagoras Chapter, Xo. 17, Royal 
Arch Masons ; of Wolcott Council, Xo. 
1, Royal and Select Masters; of Wash- 
ington Commandery, No. 1, Knights 
Templar ; of Charter Oak Lodge of Per- 
fection, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite ; 
of Hartford Council, Princes of Jeru- 
salem ; of Cyrus Goodell Chapter of Rose 
Croix; of the Connecticut Consistory, 
Supreme Princes of the Royal Secret, and 
the Sphinx Temple of the Mystic Shrine. 
He is also a member of Charter Oak 
Lodge, No. 2, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and of G. Fred Barnes Encamp- 
ment, No. 8, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. 

Very soon after graduation. Dr. Russe- 
gue married Caroline Storer Wheel- 
wright, who passed to the higher life 
many years ago. She was the youngest 
daughter of the Hon. Joseph S. Wheel- 
wright, of Bangor, Maine. Of this mar- 
riage there were born two daughters, 
viz. : Susan Thaxter and Ellen Wheel- 
wright, the last and youngest of whom, 
Mrs. Ellen Wheelwright (nee Russegue) 
Bird, is now living, and to her have been 
born four children, viz. : Storer Wheel- 
wright, Eleanor Thaxter, Carolyn Wheel- 
wright and Virginia Russegue Bird. The 
grandson, Storer Wheelwright Bird, has 
passed to the higher life, but the three 
granddaughters are all living. 

In 1896 Dr. Russegue married (sec- 
ond) Mrs. Helen Lane Palmer, widow of 
Joshua S. Palmer, a prominent lawyer 
and postmaster of Portland, Maine. A 
woman endowed with great intellectual 
ability and a brilliant mind. A woman of 
much travel and wide experience. A 
woman who for over four years gave her 
services to her country during the War 
of the Rebellion, who was at the battle 
of Bull Run and continued at the front 
for the duration of the war, serving as 



1.38 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a nurse and on special occasions as a 
bearer of dispatches. A woman having 
a peculiar or intuitive insight into dis- 
ease and full of magnetic influence for 
its relief, whose hand had many times 
been outstretched to help the sick and 
suffering, and who was the means of sav- 
ing many a soldier's life and limb during 
the war. And after the war she materi- 
ally assisted in the upbuilding of the 
Maine General Hospital at Portland, 
Maine, and served on the Board of Vis- 
iting Ladies to that institution for many 
years. All of this experience conspired 
to make her a real helpmate, and for 
twenty years and more she worked hand 
in hand with Dr. Russegue in his profes- 
sion. 

The prophesy of Dr. Russegue's col- 
lege acquaintances and friends proved 
true and he has met with remarkable suc- 
cess in his profession and holds a high 
place in the esteem of his contemporaries 
in Hartford, where he has been honored 
many times with responsibilities and 
trusts. He has all his professional life 
followed unswervingly the highest ideals 
in his noble profession, and now is reap- 
ing the rich fruition of a life spent in serv- 
ice to his fellow-men. 

Dr. Russegue is of French and English 
ancestry, the names of his parents being 
Alpheus Alonzo and Mary (Walker) 
Russegue. both of whom were born in 
the State of Vermont, but on marrying 
removed to Massachusetts, settling in the 
town of Franklin, where they lived for 
nearly forty years. Dr. Russegue's father 
became one of the most prominent busi- 
ness men in that community, holding 
many offices of trust and responsibility 
in the affairs of the town, serving as town 
clerk and town treasurer for over twenty 
years, and he also was elected to repre- 
sent the town in the House of Represen- 
tatives of the Massachusetts State Legis- 



lature. And when he passed into the 
great beyond, in his obituary, which was 
written by the pastor of his church, he 
was referred to as the good man for he 
was a friend to the poor as well as to the 
rich and a peacemaker having had, and 
availed himself of, many opportunities for 
manifesting that characteristic through 
his being a justice of the peace and a 
trial justice, thus influencing many to ad- 
just their differences without taking them 
into Court. Four sons were born of this 
wedlock, viz. : Francis Alonzo, Henry 
Elmore, George Meeker and William 
Alpheus, of whom Henry E. and George 
M. are the only survivors. 

Dr. Russegue's father was a descendant 
of Alexander Resseguie, (the spelling of 
the name Resseguie having been changed 
by Dr. Russegue's father from the origi- 
nal to the way he and his family spelled it 
in his early business life with a view to 
making the correct spelling of the name 
more easily accomplished. But for the 
most part the original way of spelling the 
name has been retained by other descend- 
ants of the settler in Norwalk, Con- 
necticut, in 1709, and tradition has it that 
he was the younger son of Alexander 
Resseguie, a Huguenot refugee from 
France. But as no complete genealogy 
of the family is available to the writer, 
he is unable to connect the American 
family with its French progenitor. 



Mclaughlin, Lewis, 

Editor, Publisher. 

Lewis McLaughlin, editor and owner 
of "The Press," of Stafford Springs, Con- 
necticut, and an esteemed resident of that 
town, was born in Palmer, Massachu- 
setts, August 14, 1864, the son of James 
and Ellen Josephine (Atwood) McLaugh- 
lin, the former a journalist at that time 
connected with "The Journal," of Palmer. 



L39 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



James McLaughlin, the father of Lewis 
McLaughlin, lived in Stafford Springs, 
Connecticut, from 1866 until his death in 
1895. He was born in North Windsor, 
New York, in 1838, passed his boyhood 
in Fallsburg, of that State, and received 
the more important part of his education 
at the Walkill Academy of Middletown. 
His inclinations were literary, and he 
early resolved to take up literary occupa- 
tions. In 1857, he went to Palmer, Mas- 
sachusetts, to learn the printing trade. 
As an apprentice he entered the office of 
"The Journal," the publishers of which 
Palmer paper at that time were Messrs. 
Fisk and Goff, who published an edition 
of their paper for circulation in Stafford 
Springs under the name of the "Stafford 
News Letter." In 1862, James McLaugh- 
lin purchased the interest of Mr. Goff in 
the Palmer establishment, and four years 
later, in 1866, sold his interest in the 
Palmer Journal and removed to Stafford 
Springs, having become sole owner of 
the "Stafford News Letter," with his 
brother, H. C. McLaughlin, whom he 
took into partnership. The "Stafford 
News Letter" was at that time the only 
publication in Tolland county, through- 
out which it circulated, and to make it 
more representative of its field, the name 
of the paper was changed in 1867 to the 
"Tolland County Press," another change 
being made in 1883, the paper being then 
changed to "The Press." As "The 
Press" the paper has since remained, and 
as its standards and general policies were 
then, so it has been continued through 
almost four decades to the present. A 
press notice regarding "The Press," as 
it was under the editorial direction of Mr. 
James McLaughlin, stated : " 'The Press' 
has always been characterized by a policy 
at once conservative and liberal, — con- 
servative, in that it has shunned sensa- 
tionalism, persistently declining to attract 



readers by lurid appeals to morbid tastes, 
or the unnecessary treatment of unhealth- 
ful subjects, liberal, in that it has dealt 
with all public questions, alike reporteri- 
ally and editorially, in the spirit of justice 
and fairness. Its devotion to local inter- 
ests, has from the first, been marked, and 
its record of local happenings, full and 
accurate." The same is true of the paper 
to-day, and has been since the advent to 
editorial control of its present editor and 
owner, Lewis McLaughlin. In 1872, 
James McLaughlin again became sole 
owner of "The Press," and continued in 
independent ownership until 1885, when 
his son, Lewis, was admitted to partner- 
ship. The publishing house then became 
McLaughlin & Son, the son taking charge 
of the job printing and business depart- 
ment, thus giving the elder Mr. Mc- 
Laughlin more time to devote to editorial 
and public work. The influence of Mr. 
McLaughlin, and of his journal, was evi- 
dent in the affairs of Stafford Springs, 
and his pen was ever at the service of the 
community to further and emphasize any 
project that gave promise of betterment 
to the town. And he came into State rec- 
ords in more than one public capacity. 
In 1880, he sat in the State Legislature, 
or General Assembly, as the representa- 
tive of Stafford. One notable appoint- 
ment he held was membership in the 
committee appointed by the State Board 
of Agriculture, to secure the establish- 
ment of a State experimental station, the 
first of its kind in the United States. In 
i8qo, James McLaughlin was census su- 
pervisor for the five eastern counties of 
Connecticut. He was director of the 
Stafford Savings Bank, and of the Agri- 
cultural Society, and also of the State 
Prison. He died August 2, 1895. His 
wife, whom he married in June. 1863. was 
Ellen J. Atwood, of Belchertown, Massa- 
chusetts. 



140 




■ 



" 



Ay 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Their son, Lewis McLaughlin, was 
only two years old when they removed 
to Stafford Springs, Connecticut, from 
Palmer, Massachusetts, where he was 
born. For primary instruction he at- 
tended the public schools of Stafford 
Springs, and - was later sent to the Mon- 
son Academy, in Massachusetts. He be- 
came the junior partner of McLaughlin & 
Son, publishers of "The Press," in 1885, 
and soon became familiar with the print- 
ing and publishing business in all the 
phases covered by "The Press" com- 
pany. Particularly, during the early 
years of the business partnership with 
his father, he devoted his time to the job 
printing and business departments of the 
firm, but upon the death of his father, 
August 2, 1895, he became the sole owner 
of "The Press." 

In addition to the assistance Mr. Mc- 
Laughlin's journal gives to all worthy 
projects in the district, he has taken offi- 
cial part in much organization work in 
Stafford Springs ; he was one of the in- 
corporators of the Stafford Library Asso- 
ciation, and the Stafford Springs Agricul- 
tural Society. He has also been an active 
member of the Stafford Business Men's 
Association. Politically he is a Republi- 
can, and was a member of the State Leg- 
islature for the session of 1909, the voters 
of the Stafford Springs district having 
elected him to that place of honor and 
responsibility by a good majority in the 
previous November. During 1914-15, 
Mr. McLaughlin was a member of the 
Board of Selectmen of Stafford Springs. 
He is a supporter of the First Congrega- 
tional church, and has been clerk of the 
Ecclesiastical Society of the Congrega- 
tional Church of Stafford Springs since 
1895. Fraternally Mr. McLaughlin be- 
longs to the Masonic and Odd Fellows 
Orders ; and on the social side he belongs 
to the Stafford Business Men's Associa- 
tion and to the Stafford Country Club. 



Mr. McLaughlin married, October 7, 
1891, Carrie B., daughter of William L. 
and Jennie P. (Atwood) Bishop, of Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts. They have no chil- 
dren. 



ALLYN, Robert Joseph, 

Hotel Proprietor. 

For nearly a century the name of Allyn 
has been identified with the hotel busi- 
ness in Hartford. The family has been 
resident in New England from a very 
early period, and has been traced in Eng- 
land prior to the settlement of New Eng- 
land. Richard Allen or Allyn was born 
in Braunton, Devonshire, England, and 
died in 1662. His will was dated Novem- 
ber 29, 1647, and proved May 10, 1662. 
He married Margaret Wyatt. 

Their fourth son, Matthew Allyn, was 
baptized in April, 1604, at Braunton, and 
came with the original Braintree com- 
pany in 1632 to Charlestown, Massachu- 
setts, where he had forty-five acres of 
land in 1633, and subsequently owned 
many other parcels, including five houses 
on the original town plot of Cambridge, 
made in 1635. He resided near the meet- 
ing house, and was the largest landholder 
in Cambridge, a freeman of the Massa- 
chusetts Colony, March 4, 1635, and rep- 
resentative to the General Court in the 
following year. In 1637 he removed to 
Hartford, where he was one of the orig- 
inal proprietors, and had a house lot on 
what is now Windsor street, and one hun- 
dred and ten acres of planting land. He 
owned the first mill in Hartford, which 
was at the foot of the present West Pearl 
street ; was a proprietor of Windsor, Con- 
necticut, in 1640; a large owner in Kill- 
ing-worth and Simsbury, Connecticut, and 
a member of Rev. Thomas Hooker's 
church of Hartford. Before 1648 he 
removed to Windsor, which town he rep- 
resented in the General Court from 1648 



141 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to 1658, with the exception of 1653; was 
a magistrate from 1657 to 1667, inclu- 
sive, and a commissioner of the United 
Colonies, 1660-64. He served on many 
important committees, among them one 
to treat with the Dutch envoys, one to 
settle the government of Long Island 
towns, one to settle the boundry between 
.Massachusetts and Rhode Island colon- 
ies, and on a committee empowered to 
levy troops. He died at Windsor, Febru- 
ary 1, 1671. His wife Margaret was made 
executrix of his will. 

They were the parents of Captain 
Thomas Allyn, who inherited the pater- 
nal homestead at Windsor, was a free- 
man in 1668, and a trooper in the town 
militia; died February 14, 1696. He mar- 
ried, October 21, 1658, Abigail, daughter 
of Rev. John Warham, first minister of 
Windsor, and his wife, Jane. She was bap- 
tized May 27, 1638, and was a member of 
the Windsor church. 

Their third son was Lieutenant Thomas 
Allyn, born March 11, 1663, in Windsor, 
died there April 6, 1709. His estate was 
valued at £258, 10s. and 8d. He married, 
January 6, 1686, Martha Wolcott, born 
May 17, 1664, died September 8, 1687, 
daughter of Simon and Martha (Pitkin) 
Wolcott. 

They were the parents of Benjamin 
Allyn, born October 14, 1686, died Decem- 
ber 14, 1713. He married, December 18, 
1707, Ann Watson, born 1686, daughter 
of Nathaniel and Dorothy (Bissell) Wat- 
son, granddaughter of Robert Watson, 
who came from London, England, and 
his wife, Mary, daughter of John Rock- 
well, of Windsor. 

Captain Benjamin Allyn, son of Benja- 
min and Ann (Watson) Allyn, was born 
April 8, 171 1, in Windsor, where he died 
March 18, 1776. He commanded a com- 
pany in the Crown Point Expedition of 
1755. He married, August 9, 1733, Abi- 



gail Loomis, born April 10, 1714, died 
May 29, 1795. daughter of Ensign Job 
and Abigail (Filley) Loomis, descendant 
of Joseph Loomis, one of the first set- 
tlers of Windsor. 

Their fifth son and tenth child was Col- 
onel Job Allyn, born November 24, 1753, 
who married, May 16, 1777, Abigail 
Mather, born September 20, 1757, daugh- 
ter of Nathaniel and Elizabeth (Allen) 
Mather, died June 17, 1843. 

Their sixth son and eleventh child was 
Timothy Mather Allyn, who was born 
September 7, 1800, in Windsor, baptized 
there June 7, 1801, and died August 25, 
1882, in Hartford. He was reared on the 
paternal farm in Windsor, and received 
some education in the local public schools. 
At at early age he was accustomed to 
assist in the operation of a brick kiln, 
operated in connection with the farm. 
The youth was accustomed to cut wood 
and mix and bake bricks, and in one year 
himself produced one hundred and twenty 
thousand bricks, which were sold in Hart- 
ford at the rate of four and a half dollars 
per thousand. At the age of twenty-five 
years he left his native home and traveled 
west as far as the State of Ohio. At the 
end of two years he returned east, and 
was located in New York City for three 
years, connected with the wholesale dry 
goods business. At the age of thirty 
years he settled in Hartford, and in asso- 
ciation with his brother established a 
store on Asylum street. The venture was 
successful, and Timothy M. Allyn con- 
tinued to be associated with it until 
1848, when he retired from mercantile 
business, and devoted himself to the care 
of his large real estate interests. While 
still a young man he had shrewly fore- 
seen the growth of Hartford, and, with 
more than usual business judgment, 
sought to enhance his own fortune by 
extensive investment in real estate in 



142 




•^j^iteift,^' 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



those sections where he anticipated the 
greatest development. His judgment was 
eminently confirmed by results, and the 
rapid development of real estate values 
enabled him to extend his operations by 
building. In i860 he built the well-known 
hotel, the Allyn House, and he subse- 
quently constructed the Charter Oak 
Bank Building, The Allyn Hall, now the 
Majestic Theatre, and several other large 
and important business structures. The 
great development of his fortune did not 
create in him a selfish spirit, and he was 
ever ready to serve the public interests, 
which he was often called upon to do. 
For several terms he was elected an alder- 
man of the city, served as mayor of Hart- 
ford, and in 1858 became a member of 
the water commission, serving for a per- 
iod of three years. A staunch Republican 
in principle, he was elected on the ticket 
of that party in 1843 as a representative 
in the State Legislature, where his serv- 
ices were conspicuous. He was ever 
ready to promote the development and 
progress of his home city, and was 
esteemed as a public-spirited and useful 
citizen. At one time he offered to the 
city the sum of one hundred thousand 
dollars, on condition that an equal sum be 
raised by the public for founding an 
industrial school for boys. Subsequently 
he offered the Allyn Hall Building and 
forty thousand dollars in cash for a 
library for the Young Men's Institute, 
but he was ahead of his time, and neither 
of these offers was accepted by the city. 
Mr. Allyn entertained liberal religious 
views ; was for many years a member of 
the Unitarian church ; was a staunch and 
practical Christian, and after his death a 
suitable memorial was erected in the 
shape of Allyn Chapel, in Spring Grove 
Cemetery. His memory will always be 
honored in the city where he exercised 
such a strong and lasting influence. He 



married Susan Ann, daughter of Joseph 
Pratt, and they were the parents of seven 
children. 

The Pratt family was a very ancient 
one in England, where records are found 
before the year 1200, indicating that it was 
of Norman origin. John Pratt or de Pratel- 
lis or de Pratis, as then generally spelled, 
held the Manor of Patrickborne (Merton 
Bridge and Pelham Hundred) in 1200. 
Four brothers, John, William, Engebraw 
and Peter de Pratellis, figured prom- 
inently in the reign of Richard I., all liv- 
ing in 1201. John was a favorite minis- 
ter. In 121 1 William and Peter both 
made a gallant record in the Crusade. 
John Pratt was in Parliament from Bev- 
erly in 1298 and 1305. Before the year 
1300 the family was well known and 
widely scattered through England, and 
the shortened form of the name, Prat, 
was the common spelling. The other 
forms, Pratte, Pradt, Praed, Prete, Prate, 
Praer, Prayers, are also found. The sur- 
name means meadow, and was a place 
name before it was a surname. Thomas 
Pratt died at Baldock in Hertfordshire 
in February, 1539. He was the father of 
Thomas Pratt, who was born there, and 
whose son, Rev. William Pratt, was bap- 
tized October, 1562, at Baldock. He be- 
came rector of the parish of Stevenage, 
near Hertfordshire, December 6, 1598, 
and continued until his death in 1629. 
His wife's name was Elizabeth. Their 
second son, John Prat, was baptized No- 
vomber 9, 1620, at Stevenage, probably 
an adult, and was in Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, as early as 1633, and received a 
grant of land of two acres there in the 
following year. In 1635 he owned a 
house on the north side of the present 
Mt. Auburn street, between Brighton 
street and Brattle square ; was made free- 
man, May 14, 1634. In 1636 he accom- 
panied Rev. Thomas Hooker to Hart- 



M3 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ford, and was one of the landed proprie- 
tors of that town, elected representative, 
January 14, 1640, and served on many 
important committees. He was a car- 
penter by trade, purchased two house 
lots on Main street, north of Asylum 
street, and the present Pratt street was 
named in his honor. His wife, Elizabeth, 
is supposed to have been a Spencer. 
Their eldest child, John Pratt, born about 
1635, was made freeman, February 26, 
1656, served in various offices in the town, 
and died November 23, 1689. He married 
Hepsibah, daughter of John Wyatt, and 
after his death she married, March 10, 
1691, John Sadd. Her eldest son, John 
Pratt, born May 17, 1661, in Hartford, 
lived in that town and died early in 1744. 
He served as constable, selectman and in 
various important capacities, and pos- 
sessed some of the lands owned by his 
grandfather. He married Hannah, daugh- 
ter of Robert Sanford, granddaughter of 
Robert and Anne (Adams) Sanford, the 
latter a daughter of Jeremiah Adams, of 
Flartford. Their second son, William 
Pratt, was born 1691, and lived on the Main 
street in front of the State House square. 
He was buried in the Center Church 
Yard, January 19, 1753. He married Amy 
Pinney, born October 6, 1704, daughter 
of Nathaniel and Martha (Thrall) Pin- 
ney, buried in the Center Church Yard, 
June 10, 1772. Her youngest child, Joseph 
Pratt, was baptized June 6, 1742, and died 
October 18, 1814. He married, Septem- 
ber 15, 1768, Susanna Caldwell, born in 
January, 1744, died September 17, 1831. 
Her youngest child, Joseph Pratt, born 
June 6, 1779, was a highly esteemed citi- 
zen of Hartford, where he served for 
some time as postmaster, and died at 
Opelousas, Louisana, March 6, 1852. He 
married (first) December n, 1802, at 
Christ Church, Hartford, Frances Wads- 
worth, born 1782, died February 14, 1838, 



daughter of Roger and Anne (Prior) 
Wadsworth, a descendant of William 
Wadsworth, who came in the ship "Lion," 
landing in Boston, September 16, 1832, 
and through his son, Joseph Wadsworth, 
immortalized in history by his exploit in 
hiding the colonial charter in the char- 
ter oak. He married (second) December 
6, 1839, her sister, Charlotte Wadsworth. 
The eldest child of the first marriage was 
Susan Anne Pratt, born October 9, 1803, 
who became the wife of Timothy M. 
Allyn, as above noted. 

Robert Allyn, youngest son of Timothy 
M. and Susan A. (Pratt) Allyn, was born 
March 8, 1849, in the city of Hartford, 
and there continued to reside until his 
death, which occurred February 2, 1896. 
His education was supplied by the pub- 
lic institutions of Hartford, and upon 
leaving school his attention was imme- 
diately absorbed in the management of 
his estate. It had early acquired great 
value during the life of his father, and 
the natural increase of values added much 
thereto during the lifetime of Robert 
Allyn. About 1889 he took charge of 
the Allyn House, which had been under 
the direction of a cousin, R. J. Allyn, up 
to that time. He had previously taken an 
interest in the management of the prop- 
erty, but his name was never publicly 
associated with the management of the 
hotel. He became one of the wealthiest 
men in the community, and paid taxes on 
property valued at nearly a million dol- 
lars. Like his honored father he was a 
man of public spirit and active in the pro- 
motion of many movements for the 
advancement of the community. He was 
a keen and intelligent observer of politi- 
cal matters, very active with the Repub- 
lican party in general affairs, but was not 
a partisan in the management of the 
city's concerns. His character and career 
were such as to gain respect and recogni- 






144 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tion in all quarters. Of social nature and 
genial spirit, his companionship was 
much sought after. Possessed of all the 
domestic virtues, his greatest happiness 
was found in his own household, but his 
death was felt as a loss throughout the 
community. ' He was married, January 
30, 1877, to Alice Belle Main, of Brook- 
lyn, Connecticut, a daughter of Elias H. 
and Sarah S. (Dorrance) Main, of that 
town. They were the parents of three 
children : Robert Joseph, Leonora, and 
Dorothy Belle. 

Robert Joseph Allyn, only son of Rob- 
ert and Alice Belle (Main) Allyn, was 
born October 21, 1877, m Hartford, and 
succeeded to the management of the 
large estate which came down from his 
grandfather. His education was largely 
supplied by private schools, and before 
attaining his majority he became asso- 
ciated with his father in the conduct of 
the Allyn House. This popular hostelry, 
many years known as the leading hotel 
of Hartford, has continued under his 
management to the present time, and has 
fully maintained its standards and reputa- 
tion. He takes an interest in Hart- 
ford and its institutions ; is a director 
of the Phoenix Insurance Company 
and of Spring Grove Cemetery ; a 
member of the Connecticut Society, 
Sons of the American Revolution ; Hart- 
ford Club, Hartford Golf Club, Country 
Club of Farmington, Automobile Club of 
Hartford, Gun Club, and Automobile 
Club of America. He married Louise, 
daughter of Francis Gordon and Mary 
Royal (McCurry) Graham, born in 
Louisville, Kentucky, granddaughter of 
the late Judge Duncan Graham, of Car- 
lisle, Pennsylvania, of Scottish antece- 
dents, a kinsman of the present Duke of 
Montrose, who for some twenty-five years 
has been Lord Clerk Registrar of Scot- 
land and present chief of Clan Graham. 

Conn— 5— 10 



They have one daughter, Mary Belle 
Allyn, born June 3, 1914. 

The Mather family, from which Mr. 
Allyn is descended, is one of the oldest 
and most interesting in Connecticut, 
descended from a very ancient English 
family. The name Mather is derived 
from the Anglo-Saxon word Math, which 
means "honor, reverence." The family 
is of ancient English descent, and is found 
also in Scotland, where at least two fami- 
lies of this name bore arms. The coat- 
of-arms used by the early Mathers of 
Boston is : Ermine on a fesse wavy 
azure, three lions rampant or. Crest : a 
lion sedant or. This coat-of-arms was 
recorded as belonging to William Mather 
in 1602. Motto: Sunt fortia pectora 
nobis. Also : Virtus vera nobilitas est. 
John Mather was of Lowton, Winwick 
parish, Lancashire, England. His son, 
Thomas Mather, was of the same place, 
and had wife Margaret. Their son, Rev. 
Richard Mather, was born 1596, in Low- 
ton, Winwick parish, Lancashire, Eng- 
land. His parents, though poor, deter- 
mined to give their son a good education 
and sent him to Winwick School, about 
four miles from their home. In the win- 
ter he boarded at Winwick, but in the 
summer he traveled the distance on foot 
every day, and attended this school until 
he was fifteen years old. In 161 1 he 
became a teacher in a school at Toxteth 
Park, near Liverpool. He lived with the 
family of Mr. Edward Aspinwall in 
1614, and while there was converted and 
decided to become a minister. He con- 
tinued his studies under the teaching of 
Mr. Aspinwall, who was a learned scholar, 
and then went to Brazenose College, Ox- 
ford. Before he had been long at Oxford 
he received a call to preach at Toxteth, 
where he had been teaching school. On 
November 30, 1618, he preached his first 
sermon and was ordained a minister of 



145 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Established English Church. In later 
years he was wont to speak in terms of 
regret concerning his ordination, calling 
it a "grievous sin." He preached in the 
town of Prescott in connection with his 
Toxteth church work, and in other par- 
ishes of the county. In August, 1633, he 
was silenced for non-conformity, but 
restored the November following. In 
1634 he was again silenced, and his 
friends could not have him restored again. 
He testified that in the fifteen years he 
had been in the ministry he had never 
worn a surplice. He decided to go to 
New England, and sailed from Bristol on 
May 23, 1635, m tne s hip "James," arriv- 
ing in Boston on August 17 following. 
He remained in Boston some time with 
his family, and finally settled in Dorches- 
ter, where he was chosen teacher of a new 
church, August 23, 1636. On September 
20, 1636, he was admitted to the church 
with his wife ; served as minister until his 
death, and for fifty years was able to 
attend to his church labors every Sun- 
day. In his last years he lost sight of 
one of his eyes, and for the last two years 
suffered from a distressing malady which 
terminated his life, April 22, 1669. He 
left a diary with an interesting account 
of his journey across the ocean, and also 
a brief biography of his life up to his 
thirty-ninth year. With Rev. William 
Thompson he composed "An Answer to 
Mr. Charles Herle," and he was the chief 
author of "The Elder's Discourse About 
Church Government" in 1639, and the 
"Cambridge Platform" in 1647. H' s other 
publications were : "The Bay Psalm 
Book," the first printed in America, 1640; 
"A Reply to Rutheford," 1646; "An heart 
melting exhortation, together with a cor- 
dial of consolation presented in a letter 
from New England to his countrymen in 
Lancashire," 1650; "A Catechism," 1650; 
"A Treatise of Justification," 1652; "A 



Letter to Mr. Hooker to prove that it was 
lawful for a minister to administer the 
sacrament to a congregation not particu- 
larly under his care ;" "A Plea for the 
Churches of New England ;" "An Elec- 
tion Sermon," 1660; "An Answer to Mr. 
Davenport's work against the proposition 
of the Synod," 1662; "A Farewell exhor- 
tation of the church and people of Dor- 
chester consisting of seven directions." 
He prepared for the press others which 
were not printed. His grandson, Cotton 
Mather, says of him : 

His way of preaching was very plain, studiously 
avoiding obscure and foreign terms, and unneces- 
sary incitation of Latin sentences, and aiming to 
shoot his arrows, not over the heads but into the 
hearts of his hearers. * * * His voice was loud 
and big, and uttered with a deliberate vehemency; 
it produced unto his ministry an awful and very 
taking majesty. * * * But as he judged that a 
preacher of the Gospel should be, he was a very 
hard student. Yea, so intent was he upon his 
beloved studies, that the morning before he died 
he importuned his friends that watched with him, 
to help him into the room where he thought his 
usual works and books expected him. To satisfy 
his importunity, they began to lead him thither; 
but finding himself unable to get out of his lodg- 
ing room, he said: "I see I am not able; I have 
not been in my study for several days; and is it 
not a lamentable thing that I should lose so much 
time?" 

His will was dated October 16, 1661. 
He married (first) September 29, 1624, 
Catherine Holt, who died 1655, daughter 
of Edmund Holt, of Bury, England. He 
married (second) August 26, 1656, Sarah, 
widow of William Story and of Rev. John 
Cotton, and daughter of Richard Hank- 
ridge, of Boston, England. She died May 
2j, 1676. Children: Rev. Samuel, born 
May 13, 1626 ; Timothy, mentioned below ; 
Rev. Nathaniel, March 20, 1630; Joseph, 
1634, died young; Rev. Eleazer, May 13, 
1637; Rev. Dr. Increase, June 21, 1639. 
Timothy Mather, second son of Rev. 
Richard and Catherine (Holt) Mather, 



146 




^X^f ^^r 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born 1628, in Liverpool, England, came 
to America with his father, and was the 
only one of the family who did not be- 
come a minister. He is the ancestor of 
all the New England Mathers. He died 
as the result of a fall in his barn in Dor- 
chester, January 14, 1684. He married 
(first) about 1649, Catherine, daughter of 
Major-General Humphrey Atherton ; (sec- 
ond) March 20, 1679, Elizabeth, daughter 
of Amiel Weeks. Children : Rev. Sam- 
uel, mentioned below ; Richard, born De- 
cember 20, 1653; Catherine, January 6, 
1656; Nathaniel, September 2, 1658; Jo- 
seph, May 23, 1661 ; Atherton, October 
4, 1664. Rev. Samuel Mather, eldest child 
of Timothy and Catherine (Atherton) 
Mather, was born July 5, 1650, in Dor- 
chester, graduated from Harvard College 
in 1671, entered the ministry, and was 
stationed successively at Deerfield and 
Hatfield, Massachusetts ; Milford and 
Branford, Connecticut. In 1682 he was 
settled at Windsor, Connecticut, the sec- 
ond minister of the church there, where 
he died March 18, 1728. He married 
Hannah, daughter of Governor Robert 
and Jane (Tapp) Treat, of Milford, born 
1661, died March 3, 1708. Their eldest 
child was Dr. Samuel Mather, born 1677, 
graduated from Harvard College, 1698, 
was licensed by the General Court to 
practice medicine in 1702. He became 
greatly distinguished, both as a scholar 
and a physician, and his practice covered 
a wide circle of territory, in which he was 
often called as counsel. He died in 
Windsor, February 6, 1746. He married, 
April 13, 1704, Abigail Grant, born Jan- 
uary 27, 1680, in Windsor, baptized July 
17, 1681, in Hartford, daughter of John 
and Mary (Hull) Grant, died September 
1, 1722. Her fourth son was Nathaniel 
Mather, born August 8, 17 16, in Windsor, 
died August 31, 1770. He married, about 
1740, Elizabeth Allen, who died May 7, 



1791, a daughter of Peletiah and Mary 
(Stoughton) Allen, of Windsor, born No- 
vember 22, 1722. Her third daughter and 
twelfth child was Abigail Mather, born 
September 20, baptized October 9, 1757, 
in Windsor, married. May 6, 1777, Col- 
onel Job Allyn, of that town, as above 
noted. 



ABBOTT, George Edward, 

Manufacturer. 

"The name Abbott is derived from the 
Hebrew Ab, or father, through the Sy- 
riac Abba. It had its origin in the mon- 
asteries of Syria, whence it spread through 
the East, and soon became accepted gen- 
erally in all languages as the designation 
of the head of a monastery." The name 
at a very early date in England was 
spelled with one t, but at a later date in 
England, and with a very few exceptions 
ever since the first Abbott came to Amer- 
ica, the name has been spelled as in this 
sketch. 

Robert Abbott — spelled Abbitt in the 
Colonial records — was admitted freeman 
in Watertown, Massachusetts, September 
3, 1634. He received a grant of thirty- 
five acres there on July 25, 1636, and sev- 
eral other grants at later dates, and was 
a member of the small company that 
removed to Wethersfield, Connecticut, in 
1640, called at that time Watertown. He 
was a juryman for the "Particular Court" 
at Hartford, July 12, 1640, and September 
2, 1641. His name was number 30 on a 
list of seventy freeman of the "Court 
of New Haven." He was a member of 
the "Court on the 6th of the 6th month, 
1642," and on the "5th of the 2d month, 
1643," that court freed him from "trayn- 
ing by reason of bodily infirmityes." He 
took the oath of fidelity to the King, July 
1, 1644, and removed to what is now Bran- 
ford, Connecticut, probably about 1645, 



147 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and died there, September 31, 1658. His 
estate was valued at one hundred and 
forty-three pounds, thirteen shillings. He 
was twice married, the name of his sec- 
ond wife being Maria. 

Joseph Abbott, the youngest of the 
thirteen children of Robert Abbott, born 
in Branford, and was living in New Haven 
in 1683. The date of his birth is not 
known. 

Stephen Abbott, eldest child of Joseph 
Abbott, was born in Branford, Connecti- 
cut. He married, January 6, 1724-25, 
Hannah Frisbee, of Branford, born Au- 
gust 14, 1693, third daughter of Jonathan 
and Mary Frisbee, and granddaughter of 
Edward Frisbee, one of the earliest set- 
tlers of that town. He joined the Con- 
gregational church, June 2, 1728, and his 
wife joined, April 28, 1734. About 1750, 
they removed to Middlebury, Connecti- 
cut, where he died well advanced in years. 
She died December 25, 1803, aged one 
hundred and three years. 

Daniel Abbott, eldest child of Stephen 
and Hannah (Frisbee) Abbott, was born 
January 4, 1725, in Branford, Connecti- 
cut, and lived in Middlebury. He mar- 
ried, March 1, 1763, Lois, daughter of Jo- 
seph Smith, of Wallingford. She died in 
August, 1800, aged fifty-nine years. 

Daniel (2) Abbott, second son of Dan- 
iel (1) Abbott, was born June 24, 1768, in 
Middlebury, and was a farmer in that 
town. He married, July 25, 1787, Lois, 
daughter of Benjamin Terrel. She died 
in Middlebury, January 16, 1836, aged 
sixty-nine years. 

Daniel (3) Abbott, eldest son of Dan- 
iel (2) and Lois (Terrel) Abbott, was 
born September 18, 1796, in Middlebury, 
Connecticut. In addition to cultivating 
his farm in Middlebury, he engaged in 
the manufacture of pumps and pipes as 
well as edge tools and hammers, continu- 
ing until about 1850, and at one time con- 



ducted an extensive business. In South- 
ford, a little stream called the Eight-Mile 
brook, the outlet of Quassepaug pond, 
has been utilized for manufacturing since 
the seventeenth century, first for lumber 
and flour. Adin Wheeler and Dr. Can- 
dee had a saw mill to the south of the 
village. They were succeeded by Amos 
Piatt, who in 1837 sold to Daniel Abbott, 
who moved to Southford. He erected a 
new flour and feed mill on the site of the 
old one, and two large factories used for 
manufacturing different kinds of mater- 
ials. About 1849, ne turned his attention 
to paper making, commencing in the old 
fulling mill, on a small scale, drying his 
paper on the ground in the sun. Then 
he added a building to the mill and 
advanced to loft and steam drying. After 
some experimenting he came to the con- 
clusion that loft dried paper was the best, 
so in 1859 he erected a large and com- 
modious building for loft drying, the best 
in the State at that time, and entered 
largely into the manufacture of straw- 
board. He died March 7, 1859, before the 
mill had been operated a year. The mill 
was sold to his son, S. A. Abbott, for 
$12,000. Daniel Abbott won success by 
persistent, intelligently directed industry. 
His brain was as tireless as his physical 
energy. He possessed a business imag- 
ination, and had the courage to push for- 
ward and keep abreast of the times. 
Withal he was careful in forming his 
judgments and thrifty in financial mat- 
ters. He was a member of the Methodist 
church, and an adherent of the Whig 
party. He married, February 10, 1819, 
Sally Sherman, born March 27, 1801, fifth 
daughter of Elijah and Nanny (North- 
rop) Sherman, of Woodbury, Connecti- 
cut, who belonged to the famous family 
which produced General William Tecum- 
seh Sherman. The Sherman family is a 
/ery ancient one in England, and has 



id8 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



been traced to Henry Sherman, who re- 
sided in Dedham, County Essex, whither 
he removed probably from Suffolk, as he 
bore the Suffolk Sherman coat-of-arms. 
He died in 1598, and his wife, Agnes, in 
1580. Their eldest child, Henry Sherman, 
was a clothier in Dedham, where he died 
in 1610. His wife, Susan (Hills) Sher- 
man, was the mother of Edmond Sher- 
man, born in Dedham, who came to 
America about 1632, and settled in Wa- 
tertown, Massachusetts, whence he re- 
moved to Wethersfield, Connecticut, and 
finally to New Haven. He married, in 
161 1, Judith Angiers. Their youngest 
child, Hon. Samuel Sherman, was born 
July 12, 1 61 8, in Dedham, was a prom- 
inent man in colony and church affairs. 
He resided successively at Watertown, 
Wethersfield, Stamford and Stratford, 
and died in 1684. He married Sarah Mit- 
chell, of Cambridge, daughter of Jonathan 
Mitchell. Their seventh son, Benjamin 
Sherman, was born March 29, 1662, and 
lived in Stratford. He married, June 6, 
1683, Rebecca daughter of Benjamin 
Phippeny of Boston. Their sixth son, 
Samuel Sherman, born February 10, 1705, 
in Stratford, lived in that town and mar- 
ried, April 4, 1728, Martha Gold, of Fair- 
field. Their second son, Elijah Sherman, 
settled in Woodbury, married, May 22, 
1778, Nanny Northrop, who died April 2, 
1818. They were the parents of Sally 
Sherman, wife of Daniel Abbott. She 
married (second) after May 11, 1862, 
Steven Atwood, who died in Woodbury, 
February 5, 1867; she married (third) 
March 9, 1869, Hiram French, whom she 
survived. After his death in 1884, she 
lived with her son, Smith A. Abbott, at 
his home in Derby, Connecticut, where 
she died October 3, 1889. 

Daniel and Sally (Sherman) Abbott 
had a family of six sons and two daugh- 
ters, all born in Middlebury but John B., 



who was born in Southford, as follows : 
1. Daniel Sherman, born March 22, 1820; 
was a very energetic and enterprising 
man, engaged in manufacturing at Gan- 
anoque, Ontario, Canada, where he died 
July 12, 1861 ; he never married. 2. Mar- 
garet Sarah, born August 25, 1822; was 
twice married and died at New Haven, 
July 23, 1912, leaving two daughters. 3. 
Samuel Preston, born November 21, 
1824; was superintendent of a rubber 
mill in Edinburgh, Scotland, where he 
was killed by accident, December 15, 
1857. 4. Elijah Edwards, of whom fur- 
ther. 5. Nancy Maria, born June 29, 
1829; was married May 16, 1854, to 
Charles Warner, who died in Shelton, 
May 4, 1916; she survives him. 6. Smith 
Adams, born August 6, 183 1, died in 
Derby, March 4, 1916; he married (first) 
Julia B. Downs, and (second) Sarah 
Down. 7. Charles Keyo, born Novem- 
ber 7, 1836, was killed by explosion of 
keg of blasting powder at Southford when 
nine years of age. 8. John Bishop, born 
February 10, 1842; went to Ontario, 
April, 1861 ; in July, 1862, he returned to 
Southford and enlisted in August of that 
year in the Union Army, member of Com- 
pany H, Twentieth Connecticut Volun- 
teer Infantry ; he served until the end of 
the war and is now the recipient of a pen- 
sion ; lives at Gananoque, Ontario, Can- 
ada ; married, June 28, 1870, Elizabeth 
Rogers, and they are the parents of 
Agnes Helena, who was married August 
14, 1897, to A. H. Maybie, a resident of 
Gananoque. 

Elijah Edwards Abbott, son of Daniel 
(3) and Sally (Sherman) Abbott, was 
born in Middlebury, January 26, 1827. He 
was educated in the public schools of his 
native town, later learned the trade of 
machinist, and worked under his father in 
the paper mills. When a young man he 
went to Gananoque, Province of Ontario, 



149 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Canada, and entered the employ of his old- 
est brother, Daniel Sherman Abbott, Jr., 
who had established himself there as a 
proprietor of a machine shop and foundry. 
Daniel S. Abbott died July 12, 1861, and 
Elijah E. Abbott succeeded his brother 
as owner of the machine shop and 
foundry, which he conducted successfully 
until within a few years of his death, 
when he retired to a well-earned leisure, 
a fitting sequel to years of hard and unre- 
mitting toil. For many years he served 
as United States Deputy Consul at Gan- 
anoque. He was a member of the Ma- 
sonic Lodge there. Mr. Abbott married, 
April 11, 1848, Mary Jane Buell, born 
December 11, 1827, in Litchfield, Connec- 
ticut, eldest daughter of Samuel and 
Minerva (Wadhams) Buell. She was 
descended from William Buell, born 
about 1610, in Chesterton, County Hunt- 
ingdon, England, and came to America 
in 1630; settled in Dorchester, Massa- 
chusetts, whence he removed in 1625-26 
to Windsor, there received a grant of 
land in 1640, and died November 23, 1681. 
He married, November 18, 1640, Mary, 
whose surname is not recorded. She 
died September 1, 1684. Their eldest 
child, Samuel Buell, born September 2, 
1641, in Windsor, settled in Killingly in 
1664, being one of the original proprietors 
of the town, where he died July 11, 1720. 
He married, November 18, 1662, Deborah 
Griswold, born June 28, 1646, died Feb- 
ruary 7, 1719, daughter of Edward and 
Margaret Griswold, pioneers in the set- 
tlement of Windsor. Their second son, 
John Buell, born February 17, 1671, 
removed in 1695 to Lebanon, and to 
Litchfield in 1721, where he died in 1746. 
He married, November 20, 1695, Mary 
Loomis, born March 20, 1673, died No- 
vember 4, 1768, daughter of John Loomis, 
of Windsor, granddaughter of Deacon 
John and Elizabeth (Scott) Loomis, and 



great-granddaughter of Joseph Loomis, 
a pioneer settler of Windsor. The last 
named was born about 1590, was a 
woolen draper and came from Biaintree, 
County Essex, to America in the ship 
"Susan and Ellen," April 11, 1638, from 
London, arrived at Boston, July 17, 1638. 
The next year he is found in Windsor. 
He married in Messing, County Essex, 
June 30, 1614, Mary White, who was bap- 
tized August 24, 1590, daughter of Rob- 
ert W. and Bridget (Allgar) White, the 
last named baptized March 11, 1562, 
daughter of William Allgar, of Shalford, 
County Essex. Peter Buell, third son of 
John and Mary (Loomis) Buell, was born 
May 22, 1710, in Lebanon, and lived in 
Litchfield, Connecticut. He married, De- 
cember 26, 1734, Avis Collins, born April 
1, 1714, died November 1, 1754, fifth 
daughter of John and Anna (Leete) Col- 
lins, of Guilford, the last named a grand- 
daughter of Governor William Leete. 
Peter Buell, second son of Peter and Avis 
(Collins) Buell, was born October 12, 
1739, and married, December 25, 1766, 
Abigail Seymour, daughter of Zachariah 
Seymour, granddaughter of John and 
Mary (Watson) Seymour, and great- 
granddaughter of Richard Seymour, who 
came from England to America and was 
one of the original proprietors of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, whence he removed in 
1650 to Norwalk. There he was one 
of the earliest settlers. Samuel Buell, 
youngest child of Peter and Abigail (Sey- 
mour) Buell, born December 27, 1782, 
in Litchfield, Connecticut, and married 
there, June 28, 1819, Minerva Wadhams. 
They were the parents of Mary Jane 
Buell, wife of Elijah Edwards Abbott. 
Mr. and Mrs. Elijah E. Abbott were the 
parents of seven children, six of whom 
attained years of maturity, as follows : 
Charles Buell, a resident of Hartford; 
Sarah, deceased, was the wife of Wesley 



150 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Taylor; Samuel Augustus, a resident of 
Stamford, Connecticut; Walter Sher- 
man, a merchant in Gananoque, Canada; 
George Edward, of whom further ; Min- 
nie, wife of Albert P. Russell, of Philadel- 
phia. Mr. and Mrs. Abbott were active 
members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, Mr. Abbott serving as class 
leader, trustee and superintendent of 
Sunday school, and Mrs. Abbott active 
in the women's organizations. 

George Edward Abbott, son of Elijah 
Edwards and Mary Jane (Buell) Abbott, 
was born in Gananoque, Province of On- 
tario, Canada, November 16, 1864. He 
was educated in the public schools in the 
vicinity of his home, learned the trade of 
machinist with his father and worked for 
him until he was twenty-one years old. 
He then came to the United States and 
located in New Britain, Connecticut, 
where he secured a position as machinist 
and toolmaker for the Case Engine Com- 
pany, remaining in that capacity for five 
years. He then entered the employ of 
the firm of Yale & Towne, at Stamford, 
as machinist and toolmaker, but at the 
expiration of one year left that concern 
and became an employee of the firm of 
Brown & Sharpe, at Providence, Rhode 
Island, where he remained for a short 
period of time. He then changed his 
place of residence to Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, and worked for a short period of 
time as toolmaker for Colt's Patent Fire 
Arms Manufacturing Company. He then 
became an employee of the Sigourney 
Tool Company, with whom he remained 
for five years, then changed to the New 
Departure Manufacturing Company of 
Bristol, which he served for ten years, 
the last six years as master mechanic. 
While in the employ of this company they 
added to their line the manufacture of 
balls for ball bearings, and Mr. Abbott 
designed the special machinery for mak- 



ing this product. He then decided to 
engage in business on his own account ; 
he rented a small room on Hicks street, 
installed a few machine shop tools, 
designed and drafted his own special ma- 
chinery and had made the necessary pat- 
terns for casting; when he had completed 
the building of his equipment, he made 
five hundred pounds of balls and went out 
on the road and sold them. He then 
came back, made more balls, went out 
and sold them, and continued in this way 
until he secured sufficient business to 
justify adding the services of a boy as 
helper. From that time to the present 
(1917) business has steadily increased in 
volume and importance. He occupied 
rented quarters until 1912, when he moved 
into his own factory building located in 
Elmwood. Each year an addition to the 
factory building has been necessary in 
order to meet the growing demands of 
his trade, and they give employment on 
an average to about ninety men. Special 
machinery, that is the last word in auto- 
matic machinery in this line, is designed 
by Mr. Abbott, and the product is sent all 
over the world. In addition to being a 
most skillful artisan, Mr. Abbott is an 
able executive and business man. He is 
progressive in business, yet careful that 
he is right before forging ahead, and 
these qualities have been active factors in 
the success which has crowned his efforts. 
He is domestic in his tastes, preferring to 
devote his leisure time to his home and 
family, quiet, unassuming, courteous, 
willing to aid to the best of his ability 
every project that tends to advance the 
interests of the community. He is a mem- 
ber of Franklin Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Pequabuck Chapter, 
No. 32, Royal Arch Masons ; Ionic Coun- 
cil, Royal and Select Masters, of Bristol, 
Connecticut. 

Mr. Abbott married, September 16, 



151 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1889, Isabelle Peck, born March 31, 1866, 
daughter of Noah Peck, of Gananoque, 
Province of Ontario, Canada. Children : 
G. Kenneth, born June 16, 1890; Edith, 
born July 2"], 1899. 



FRISBIE, Charles Brown, 

Manufacturer. 

Among the leading citizens of Crom- 
well is Mr. Frisbie, who is descended 
from a very old Connecticut family 
founded by Edward Frisbie, who was 
one of the earliest planters of Branford, 
where he located before 1645. In that 
year his name appears in the list of 
those consigned lots. His wife Hannah 
joined the church in 1687-88. They had 
a large family of children. Their sev- 
enth son, Caleb Frisbie, born 1667, lived 
in Branford, where he died October 12, 
1737, and was survived by his wife Han- 
nah. Their second son, Daniel Frisbie, 
was born February 14, 1709, in Bran- 
ford, and was admitted to the church 
there with his wife Ruth, June 30, 1751- 
He died December 11, 1785. He mar- 
ried (second) May 4, 1749, Ruth (Allen) 

Brockett, widow of Brockett. His 

second son, Josiah Frisbie, was born Feb- 
ruary 12, 1752, in Branford, where he was 
a farmer ; he was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion ; he died at the age of ninety-four 
years. He married, April 12, 1781, Sarah 
Rogers, and they were the parents of 
Levi Frisbie, baptized September 28, 
1794; he was a fisherman at Stony Creek; 
he died November 4, 1846. He married, 
in May, 1819, Betsy Beach, born August 
19, 1799, died May 28, 1842, daughter of 
Elnathan Beach. 

Russell Frisbie, son of Levi and Betsy 
(Beach) Frisbie, was born January 8, 
1822, in Branford, and baptized in Bran- 
ford church, July 2, of that year. When 
a lad of nine years, he left home to live 



with Captain Dowd, a farmer in the town 
of Clinton, where he remained seven 
years. 

While still a boy he evinced consider- 
able inventive genius and mechanical 
ingenuity, one of the practical results of 
which was a corn sheller, which proved 
very useful and popular. When sixteen 
years old, he went to Chester, Connecti- 
cut, where he began to learn the carpen- 
ter trade under Potter & Wheaton. After 
about eighteen months this firm dis- 
solved, and young Frisbie went to Mid- 
dletown, where he found employment in 
the patternmaker's department of the W. 
& B. Douglass Company. He had long 
since made himself master of many tools, 
and his quick perception of mechanical 
subjects gave him rapid progress. For 
twenty-six years he continued in the 
shops of the Douglass firm and in that 
time accumulated a substantial sum with 
which to engage in business on his own 
account. During this period he perfected 
several articles of small hardware which 
were manufactured and sold by the J. & 
E. Stevens Company, of Cromwell, on a 
royalty. In 1866 this company made him 
an offer, under which he took charge of 
its works at a liberal salary and came into 
possession of a quarter-interest in t he 
establishment. The business of the com- 
pany greatly increased under his admin- 
istration, and a great quantity of hard- 
ware novelties and toys were produced, 
which found a wide sale. Mr. Frisbie 
became assistant treasurer of the com- 
pany. For many years Mr. Frisbie made 
his home in Cromwell, and was very help- 
ful in building up various enterprises in 
that town. He was a man of most kindly 
disposition, with confidence in his fel- 
low-men, and was ever ready to help the 
deserving or ambitious, not only in a 
financial way but with sound advice and 
genial good fellowship. A man of most 



152 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



unassuming and modest nature, he sought 
no credit for his kind acts and enjoyed 
a most happy life without ostentation or 
display. Through his own perseverance 
and unflinching courage he conquered 
many obstacles. In 1876 Mr. Frisbie was 
elected on the Republican ticket to the 
State Legislature, receiving a majority 
of fifty-two votes. This was his only con- 
nection with political activities, though 
he was a man of firmly established prin- 
ciples, every ready to sustain his opin- 
ions. The operation of his business 
required close personal attention, and he 
left practical politics to those whose taste 
led in that direction. He was the presi- 
dent of the Cromwell Plate Company ; 
a director in the Cromwell Savings Bank ; 
a director in the Middletown Bank; direc- 
tor of the Power Hardware Company ; 
and a director of the Meriden & Crom- 
well Railroad Company. For many years 
he was an active member of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, having 
membership with Central Lodge, No. 12, 
of Middletown. In 1844, Mr. Frisbie mar- 
ried Mary Ann Brown, daughter of Sam- 
uel C. Brown, and they were the parents 
of four children : Henry R., resides in 
Belleville, New Jersey; Agnes Melville, 
married, in 1870, I. B. Pryor ; Charles B., 
receives further mention ; Carrie Eliza- 
beth, born 1854, died in 1861. 

Charles Brown Frisbie, second son of 
Russell and Mary Ann (Brown) Frisbie, 
was born July 17, 1849, in Middletown. 
Connecticut, where he spent his boyhood, 
and acquired his elementary education in 
private schools. Subsequently, he com- 
pleted the course in the City High School, 
and was later a student at the Green 
Mountain Institute, South Woodstock, 
Vermont. After leaving the high school, 
he served three years as clerk in the store 
of H. B. & F. J. Chaffee, of Middle- 
town. At the end of this time the family 



removed to Cromwell, and soon after 
Charles Brown Frisbie attained his ma- 
jority. At the age of nineteen years, he 
began the study of civil engineering, and 
has had considerable experience in rail- 
road construction and operation. He was 
employed on the survey of the Valley 
Railroad, and also on government work 
along the Connecticut river. For one and 
one-half years he was employed on the 
foundation of the piers and railroad 
bridge of Middletown. In March, 1877, ^ r - 
Frisbie entered the employ of the J. & E. 
Stevens Company, manufacturers of toys 
and other hardware specialities, at North 
Cromwell, Connecticut, and continued 
with this establishment until 1908, when 
it went out of business, having joined a 
combination of hardware and metal toy 
manufacturers. For the last ten years 
Mr. Frisbie had held the position of su- 
perintendent of the company. In 1912 
Mr. Frisbie purchased the plant as it 
then stood, and incorporated the business 
under the title of The J. and E. Stevens 
Company, and continued the manufac- 
ture of light hardware, toys, pistols and 
hatchets. In the incorporation, Mr. Fris- 
bie was made president and treasurer. 
The business was established in 1843, an d 
is the oldest iron toy factory in the world. 
Wherever commerce makes its way about 
the globe, the wares of this establishment 
find market. About ninety people are 
employed. Like his honored father, Mr. 
Frisbie has been active in promoting the 
varied interests of his home town, and 
enjoys the esteem and appreciation of his 
fellow-citizens. Having espoused the 
principles of the Republican party, he has 
long acted in its interests, although he 
never allows partisanship to bias his 
judgment or principles. For twenty 
years he has been chairman of the 
Republican Town Committee of Crom- 
well, and fourteen years chairman of 



153 



iXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Board of Relief of the town. In 
1897 he represented the town in the 
Lower House of the General Assembly, 
and in 1912 represented his district in 
the State Senate. He is a member of the 
Congregational church of Cromwell, in 
which he has filled several positions, and 
is a member of Central Lodge, No. 12, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of 
Middletown. He is a member of the Mid- 
dletown Yacht Club ; succeeded his father 
as trustee of the Middlesex County Bank; 
one of the corporators and a director of 
the Cromwell Savings Bank ; a trustee of 
the Connecticut School for Boys at Meri- 
den. Mr. Frisbee's home is one of the 
most handsome and substantial in Crom- 
well, and there the spirit of hospitality 
finds permanent abode. 

He married, May 21, 1873, Emma M. 
Roberts, born September 21, 1852, a daugh- 
ter of Abner and Mary Stocking (Hub- 
bard) Roberts, the last named a twin sister 
of George S. Hubbard, of Middletown. Mr. 
and Mrs. Frisbie are the parents of three 
children : Russell Abner, receives further 
mention ; Mattie May, born January 22, 
1882, died February 27, 1903 ; Harry 
Copeland, born December 7, 1885, died 
September 2, 1903. 



FRISBIE, Russell Abner, 

Manufacturer. 

Russell Abner Frisbie, eldest child of 
Charles Brown and Emma M. (Roberts) 
Frisbie, was born February 21, 1874, in 
Middletown, Connecticut. He came to 
Cromwell at the age of four years, and 
there passed his boyhood and youth. He 
received his elementary education there, 
and subsequently was a student at the 
Wesleyan School at Wilbraham, Mas- 
sachusetts. Possessing much aptitude 
for drawing, immediately after leaving 
school, he engaged in the service of vari- 



ous firms in New Jersey and Connecticut 
as draftsman and designer. In 1902 he 
founded the Frisbie Motor Company of 
Middletown, Connecticut, and engaged in 
the manufacture of motors and station- 
ary engines designed by himself. In this 
business thirty-five skilled mechanics are 
employed, and the product is distributed 
over the world. In 1917 the factor) - of 
the company had increased to about dou- 
ble its original size in order to accom- 
modate its ever increasing business. Mr. 
Frisbie seems to have inherited the me- 
chanical genius of his grandfather, and 
he has achieved a remarkable success for 
one of his years. He makes his home in 
Middletown, where he participates in the 
social life of the community, and is 
esteemed as a business man. He has 
made no effort to share in practical poli- 
tics, but is a sound Republican in prin- 
ciple and is ever ready to support his 
opinions. He is an active member of the 
Masonic Order, affiliating with Washing- 
ton Lodge, No. 81, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Cromwell, Connec- 
ticut ; of Washington Chapter, No. 6, 
Royal Arch Masons, of Middletown; 
Cyrene Commandery, No. 8, Knights 
Templar; of Sphinx Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine, of Hartford. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Congregational church. 

He married, June 4, 1895, Harriet 
Esther Coe, daughter of Orren and La- 
vinia (Bacon) Coe, and granddaughter of 
Osborn Coe, of Middletown. 



FENNELL, Rev. William George, D. D., 

Clergyman, Lecturer. 

Contemporary opinion rarely errs in its 
estimate of a man's character and ability, 
much as it may differ with him in doc- 
trine or belief. To have lived in the light 
of publicity as an eminent minister of the 



154 








£L^/z 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Gospel for over a quarter of a century, 
and to emerge with not only the honors 
of his holy calling but with the highest 
regard and respect of his contemporaries 
of every creed, stamps Dr. Fennell as one 
of those noble souls whose lives dignify 
whatever calling pursued, one whose gifts 
of mind and heart were rightly used, one 
who knew the truth and dared to make 
it the law of his life. He had a passion 
to know the truth, which sent him from 
a hill country farm to work his way 
through the difficulties that stood be- 
tween him and an education, a passion 
which kept him keenly alive, fed him with 
heavenly manna daily and made him a 
Christian leader of rare balance and prac- 
tical effectiveness. His sterling char- 
acter was graced by a kindness that never 
failed, a love which went out to all and 
was as freely returned. While a man of 
rare gifts and graces, his goodness made 
him great. He was a thorough stu- 
dent, his enthusaism for scholarship only 
equalled by his accuracy. It was not an 
uncommon sight to see him upon the 
street with a book in his hand, and not 
only was he constantly gathering but as 
constantly scattering, and his influence 
was felt far beyond his immediate parish. 
He was a many-sided man, and his ver- 
satility amazed even his nearest friends. 
He was interested in all that interested 
his fellowmen, and could be counted on 
for service in every good cause. His 
active mind was quick to grasp the trend 
of events and to discriminate in all ques- 
tions of moral and religious significance. 
He was truly and fully a man of God, a 
lover of his fellowmen, a broad-minded, 
warm-hearted, sympathetic and efficient 
worker in every good cause. 

Rev. William George Fennell was born 
in Goshen, Litchfield county, Connecti- 
cut, November 15, 1859, son of Enoch and 
Eliza (Pierce) Fennell, natives of Eng- 



land, who emigrated from England, in 
the year 1854, locating in Goshen, Con- 
necticut. When he was seven years of 
age, he removed with his family to East 
Cornwall, where his father purchased the 
Benedict farm, and the family resided 
thereon for many years, the deaths of 
Mr. and Mrs. Fennell occurring there, 
after which it was purchased by the Rev. 
Dr. Fennell, who was the owner of it for 
a number of years. All of the boyhood 
days of Dr. Fennell were spent at work 
on the farm, work that he very much 
disliked, because he loved to study and 
longed to secure an education. At the 
age of eleven he united with the Baptist 
church at East Cornwall. Connecticut, 
and was baptized by the Rev. D. F. Chap- 
man, pastor of the church. When he was 
fourteen years of age, he began to think 
about studying for the ministry, but did 
not make his decision until two years 
later. After primary and intermediate 
courses, at the age of sixteen years, he 
taught a country school in a nearby town 
called "Hardscrabble," and with this 
money he was enabled to enter school the 
fall he was seventeen. This was the Con- 
necticut Literary Institute at Suffield, and 
here he prepared for college and gradu- 
ated in 1880. Prior to this time, when 
he was seventeen years of age, he was 
licensed to preach by the church at East 
Cornwall, and every year thereafter he 
preached an annual sermon in that church 
on the first Sunday in August, which day 
was set apart as "Fennell Day." This 
service was held for thirty-nine succes- 
sive years without a break, and at the 
time of his death Dr. Fennell was antici- 
pating and preparing for the fortieth an- 
niversary sermon in said church. In 
1881 he taught school in the town of Mar- 
ion, Connecticut, and in the fall of that 
year he entered Colgate University in 
Hamilton, New York, and during the 



155 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



spring term of his freshman year he left 
college to assist the Rev. T. A. T. Hanna, 
D. D., who was secretary of the State 
Convention of Connecticut. In this way 
he became very well acquainted with the 
Baptist work of the State, in which he 
was interested as long as he lived. 

In the following fall he returned to 
Colgate University, having made up the 
term's work during the summer months, 
and graduated therefrom in 1885. In ad- 
dition to his work in college and semin- 
ary, Dr. Fennell was pastor of a small 
church in Sidney, New York, for four and 
one-half years. He went there in 1882 
and preached on Sundays until he left the 
seminary to accept a call to the First Bap- 
tist Church of Middletown, Connecticut, 
and he received the degree of Master of 
Arts from the Seminary in 1888, and the 
degree of Doctor of Divinity from his 
Alma Mater in 1908. He was ordained to 
the ministry, April 26, 1887, and was pas- 
tor of the First Baptist Church for five 
years, and during this time the church 
edifice was almost entirely remodeled. 
He also evidenced his peculiar fitness for 
his sacred calling, and his earnest work 
for the spiritual progress of the church 
won him the affection and esteem of the 
members. His second pastorate was in 
the First Baptist Church of Meriden, 
Connecticut, where he remained eight 
years. In that period two hundred and 
forty new members were received into 
the church. 

His activities were not all confined to 
the pastorate. During his pastorates at 
Middletown and Meriden, he was much 
interested in Bible class work, and his 
inspirational talent in that line gave him 
a reputation that led to his being placed 
at the head of Bible study promotion 
work among the Baptist churches of the 
State. Under his auspices as president of 
the Connecticut Baptist Bible School 



Union a summer school was held in the 
Tabernacle at Crescent Beach, in which 
the Baptist Bible scholarship of the State 
was enlisted. In that school was brought 
out, in a series of lectures by the Rev. E. 
Blakeslee, the first draft of that original 
student's life of Christ, which afterward 
developed into the Blakeslee system of 
graded instruction, an idea that was taken 
up and finally absorbed by the larger 
denominational publishing societies. For 
two years Dr. Fennell wrote a series of 
Sunday school lessons called the ''Senior 
Inductive Bible Studies." During his 
pastorate at Meriden he was the State 
president of the Young People's Society 
of Christian Endeavor. 

His next call was from beyond the 
limits of his native State, and it was with 
considerable regret that he accepted the 
call as it meant the severance of relations 
very dear to him. In 1900 Dr. Fennell 
was called to the South Baptist Church of 
Newark, New Jersey, where he served as 
pastor for eight years, years blessed in 
the memory of that church. In 1907 the 
Rev. George M. Stone, D. D., who had 
been pastor of the Asylum Avenue Bap- 
tist Church of Hartford, Connecticut, for 
twenty-nine years, chose Dr. Fennell as 
his successor, and he was called to the 
church in October, 1907, and began his 
work, May 1, 1908. He served the church 
for nearly nine years, until the final call 
came and he heard the Master's approv- 
ing words, "Well done, good and faithful 
servant." 

During many of these years Dr. Fen- 
nell gave much time to lecturing for the 
Young Men's Christian Association, the 
Young Women's Christian Association, 
Teachers' Bible Study Institute, and for 
six years taught the Old Testament in 
the Kennedy School of Missions con- 
nected with the Hartford Theological 
Seminary. These thirty years in the min- 



156 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



istry had been years of broadening intel- 
lectuality and deepening spirituality for 
Dr. Fennell, and of blessing to the 
churches he served. He richly abounded 
in the spirit life, was the servant of God, 
resourceful and convincing in establish- 
ing the truth, strong and fearless as a 
herald of righteousness, a true servant of 
God, friend of man and apostle of better, 
greater things. He wrought well, loved 
much, was honored by his people and 
exalted by his Master. 

Dr. Fennell was for many years a mem- 
ber of the Board of the Baptist Ministers' 
Home Society of New York, Connecticut 
and New Jersey. He was a trustee of the 
Connecticut Literary Institute in Suf- 
field, also president of the Alumni Asso- 
ciation of that school. At the time of his 
death he was secretary of the State Bap- 
tist Education Society, of which he had 
been president for a number of years ; he 
was a prominent member of the Baptist 
State Convention, serving on several of 
its important committees ; the work of 
the Connecticut Children's Aid Society 
especially appealed to him, and he will- 
ingly lent his energies to the cause, serv- 
ing the society as its first vice-president. 
In January, 1917, he was chosen chaplain 
of the Senate in Hartford, and during the 
few weeks he had served made many 
friends among the Senators and State offi- 
cials. Dr. Fennell was also very active 
in the work of the McAll Auxiliary, a 
world-wide society to aid in the cause of 
the McAll Mission in France. He also 
took an especial interest in the large 
number of attendants and patients at the 
Connecticut Hospital for the Insane, 
which had previously been a much neg- 
lected field. 

Dr. Fennell was a great lover of books, 
and in his early life this love was as keen 
and almost as discriminating as it was in 
later years. When he made his pastoral 



calls he generally carried a book or read- 
ing matter with him. These he was accus- 
tomed to show to some person, many 
times a boy or girl in the home where he 
was calling, and he urged them to read 
and return the volume. Another excel- 
lent trait was his attachment for his 
mother. He hardly ever preached a ser- 
mon but what he spoke of the little 
woman up in the Litchfield hills, and 
while pastor of the church in Middletown 
she paid him a visit, much to the delight 
of his parishioners. 

Dr. Fennell married, June 30, 1885, 
Inez Clarine Warner, of Suffield, Connec- 
ticut, who survives him. Children : 
Guinevere, born December 21, 1887, now 
secretary and pastor's assistant to the 
Rev. Arthur T. Fowler, D. D., pastor of 
the North Orange Baptist Church, North 
Orange, New Jersey ; and Marjorie W., 
born May 27, 1889, lives at home. 

Dr. Fennell was always a great lover 
of his home, and of flowers, and he took 
great pride in planting trees, shrubbery 
and flowers. He maintained a summer 
home at Suffield, Connecticut, and while 
on a visit there was suddenly stricken 
with paralysis, February 26, 1917, and 
breathed his last at the home of his friend, 
ex-Assemblyman Edward A. Fuller, a few 
hours later. His remains were interred 
in the family plot at Suffield. 

On the day following the announce- 
ment of the death of Dr. Fennell, the 
clerk of the Connecticut State Senate 
read the following message from Lieuten- 
ant-Governor Clifford B. Wilson: 

It is the sad duty of the president of the Senate 
to advise you gentlemen of the sudden and re- 
gretted death of our chaplain, Rev. W. G. Fen- 
nell, D. D. Although he has served a few short 
weeks only, and came to most of us as a stranger, 
yel his Christian character has left its impress 
upon all, and we realize that in his demise a true 
spiritual leader and a loyal friend has been re- 
moved. His high spiritual life was typified in his 



'57 



i:\CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daily walk and habits of life. His conception of 
the high calling of a minister of God was that 
true Christianity was not a matter of doctrine or 
dogma, but a recognition of One God, and the 
same privileges of service to all. He will be 
missed in all his many fields of friends. 

After the reading of the message reso- 
lutions were adopted by the State Senate : 

Whereas, the Senate has learned with deep re- 
gret of the death of its chaplain, Rev. Dr. W. G. 
Fennell, now therefore, 

Be it Resolved by the Senate: That a commit- 
tee of three senators be appointed by the presi- 
dent pro tempore to draft resolutions of respect 
to his memory, and with the President of the 
Senate to attend his funeral. 

And be it further Resolved : That, in respect 
to his memory, the Senate do now adjourn. 

The following is a tribute from a friend, 
published in papers after Dr. Fennell's 
death : 

He found happiness in the simple things of life, 
the commonplace, which to him was never com- 
monplace. His garden was a source of great de- 
light to him and in his garden, working among 
his vegetables and flowers, he found strength and 
spiritual lessons to bring to his people. 

The Federation of Churches in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, passed the following 
resolutions on the death of Dr. Fennell : 

Resolved : That in the sudden death of the 
Rev. William G. Fennell, D. D., Pastor of the 
Asylum Avenue Baptist Church, our whole fra- 
ternity of churches loses one of its noblest friends 
and leaders. The same qualities of brain and 
heart which endeared him to the church of which 
he was the devoted and successful pastor gained 
for him a large place in the wider circles of our 
civic and religious life. His trained and scholarly 
judgment was animated by a kindling zeal for 
righteousness in every relation of life, and his 
brotherly democratic spirit made him the friend 
and helper of all men, and vitally interested in 
all that concerned the welfare of his neighbors 
and fellowmen. Few among us possessed the 
rare balance that made him the valued champion 
of every good cause, and the ideal comrade in 
every advance movement of the Kingdom of God. 

Possessing a personal experience of God that 
was the keynote of his life, he was generously 



sympathetic with every sincere attempt to make 
the world a cleaner, better place, and he ever 
urged us forward, in his suburb leadership, to the 
sanest and most Christlike aims in our federated 
life. 

He was a brother beloved and trusted — a cheery, 
eager, wise, methodical, balanced, forceful man, 
whose saintly spirit and manly powers touched 
with sure and effective strokes the noble enter- 
prises to which he gave himself so sacrificingly. 
In him we saw revealed the indwelling Christ. 
His life challenges all who would evade social 
responsibility. He lived upon the faith that 
Christ and his ideals are not only possible, but the 
only wise and satisfactory way of life. His 
memory calls us to-day to the great unfinished 
task of our Lord's divine task for the world. 

The following tribute is from the 
' Watchman-Examiner :" 

We think of him proudly as a son of Connec- 
ticut, when we remember the exemplary line of 
constructive leaders who, arising from humble 
rural stations, have beneficently linked that State 
with the vital beginnings of higher life and prog- 
ress in all our country and the world. His well- 
timed position as Chaplain of the Senate, by a fit- 
ting coincidence, brings the whole civil common- 
wealth into the procession of his mourners. That 
Dr. Fennell adorned the strong and creative Con- 
necticut spirit in the high sphere of the Christian 
ministry, until he became in a large way a prince 
among his fellows, is our reason for honoring 
him as an ornament to his church and as a potent 
factor in that church's work of uplifting humanity 

I cannot say and I will not say, 

That he is dead; he is just away. 

With a cheery smile and a wave of the hand 

He has wandered into an unknown land, 

And left us dreaming how very fair 

It needs must be since he lingers there. 

And you, O ! you who the wildest yearn 

For the old-time step and the glad return : 

Think of him faring on as dear 

In the love of Him there as the love of here; 

Think of him still as the same, I say, 

He is not dead, he is just away. 

— James Whitcomb Riley 



ATCHISON, Frederick Hart, 

Merchant. 

The Atchison family, of which Fred- 
erick Hart Atchison, of Hartford, is the 
present representative, is of Irish origin, 
and came to this country in the person of 







(fix*/ /*• ^ ><c ^ i!to * r - 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Adam Atchison, the grandfather of Fred- 
erick H. Atchison, who was born at Col- 
erain, Ireland, in the year 1795, and was 
about twenty-two years of age when he 
migrated to this country. He married 
Catherine Bonner, who was born March 
5, 1797, in Baltimore, Maryland, and they 
came to Hartford from Easton, Pennsyl- 
vania, where they made their home for a 
time. They settled permanently in Hart- 
ford, where Mr. Atchison became a car- 
penter and engaged in this business dur- 
ing his entire life. He was a member of 
the Center Congregational Church of 
Hartford and became a deacon there. 

Among their children was John Atchi- 
son, who was born in Hartford, and re- 
ceived his education in the public schools 
of that city. When a young man he 
became a steam engineer and spent most 
of his life engaged in this occupation, 
being employed very largely in this capac- 
ity on steamers engaged in the coastwise 
trade. He married Olive Wright Chapin, 
a daughter of Daniel and Lucy (Orchard) 
Chapin, and a native of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, where she was born Decem- 
ber 6, 1834, a descendant of Deacon Sam- 
uel Chapin, "The Puritan," undoubtedly 
the progenitor of all in this country of 
the name. There is a tradition that he 
was of Welsh origin and another that he 
was of Huguenot descent. The late Pres- 
ident A. L. Chapin, of Beloit College, 
after an exhaustive study of philological 
records abroad, was of opinion that he 
was of French Huguenot descent and 
probably fled with other persecuted Hu- 
guenots to Holland, where he associated 
with the English Puritans who had also 
fled to Holland. The coat-of-arms also 
points to French origin and the name of 
Deacon Samuel Chapin's wife, which was 
Cicley or Cecile, is one found in early 
French families. Tradition says that he 
was born or lived in Dartmouth, Eng- 



land, for a time, or at least sailed from 
that port about 1635, while there is rea- 
son for belief that he came over in 1631 
or 1632 in the "Lyon," if he was not of 
the original Pyncheon Company. He was 
a contemporary with Pynchon in the set- 
tlement of Roxbury, Massachusetts. He 
followed him to Springfield, and was 
known as "Pynchon's right-hand man" 
and one of the "founders of Springfield," 
was made a freeman, June 2, 1641, and 
elected to town office in 1642, was a dis- 
tinguished man in church and State, was 
deacon of the Springfield church, elected in 
1649, an d employed to conduct services 
part of the time in 1656-57, when there 
was no minister in town. He was ap- 
pointed commissioner to determine small 
causes. October 10, 1652, and his commis- 
sion was indefinitely extended in 1654. 
His wife Cicely died February 8, 1682-83 ; 
he died November 11, 1675. His daugh- 
ter, Catherine, was an ancestor of Rev. 
Henry Ward Beecher. and ex-President 
William Howard Taft is a descendant of 
his son, Josiah. The first of his children 
born in this country was Japhet Chapin, 
born August 15, 1642, and resided at the 
upper end of Chicopee street in what is 
now the town of Chicopee. From his 
father he received a deed, April 16. 1673, 
of the greater part of the land between 
the Chicopee river and Williamsett brook. 
For some time he lived in Milford, Con- 
necticut, and was there in 1669, when he 
received from Captain John Pynchon a 
deed of land in Chicopee on which he 
built a house. In 1665, during King 
Philip's War, he was a volunteer and par- 
ticipated in the fight at Turner's Falls, 
May 18, 1676. The general court granted 
land to his son Thomas in consideration 
of this service. Like his father, Japhet 
Chapin was a man of great piety, the bul- 
wark of Puritan faith. He was feelingly 
referred to by his pastor because of these 



159 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



facts. He married, July 22, 1664, Abilinah 
Cooley, born in 1643, an d died November 
17, 1710, daughter of Samuel and Ann 
(Prudden) Cooley, of Milford. Their 
eldest child, Samuel Chapin, was born 
July 4, 1665, resided near his father on 
the west side of Chicopee street at the 
upper end and had lands on the west side 
of he river, which he tilled. One evening, 
while returning from this labor, he was 
fired upon by Indians in ambush on the 
river bank, but was not dangerously 
wounded. He died October 19, 1729. He 
married, December 24, 1690, Hannah 
Sheldon, born June 29, 1670, in North- 
ampton, daughter of Isaac and Mary 
(Woodford) Sheldon, the latter a daugh- 
ter of Thomas Woodford, of Hartford 
and Northampton, and his wife, Mary 
(Brott) Woodford. Thomas Woodford 
sailed March 7, 1632, from London, set- 
tled in Roxbury in that year. In 1656 
he removed to Northampton, and died 
there June 6, 1667. Isaac Sheldon was 
in Windsor, Connecticut, in 1640. Sam- 
uel Chapin, eldest son of Samuel and 
Hannah Chapin, was born May 22, 1699, 
and died in 1779 in Ludlow, Massachu- 
setts, at the home of his son. He mar- 
ried, in 1722-23, Anna, daughter of Jere- 
miah and Mary Horton. Their eldest 
child, Gad Chapin, was born August 1 1, 
1726, had wife Abigail, and late in life 
removed to Cooperstown, New York. 
Their fourth son, Dan Chapin, born June 
16, 1768, was undoubtedly the father of 
Daniel Chapin, born about 1790. He mar- 
ried, April 16, 1818, Lucy Orchard, who 
was born November 15, 1791, and they 
were the parents of Olive Wright Chapin, 
born in 1834, and who became the wife of 
John Atchison, as previously noted. 

For a few years Mr. and Mrs. Atchison 
resided in Brooklyn, New York, but they 
later returned to Hartford, where the 
major part of their lives was spent and 



where Mrs. Atchison died on January 2, 
1916. To Mr. and Mrs. Atchison, Sr., the 
following children were born: 1. Annie 
L., born December 8, 1857, and died No- 
vomber 12, 1916. 2. William, born May 
26, 1861, and died December 10, 1863. 3. 
Frank Stone, born March II, 1866, at 
Brooklyn, New York, and now a resident 
of New York City. 4. Frederick Hart, 
with whose career we are here especially 
concerned. 5. Everett Bonner, born Oc- 
tober 24, 1873, at Hartford, married, 
August 1, 1901, Theresa Loughman, by 
whom he has had one son, Frederick 
Everett, born April 10, 1903. 6. John 
Lewis, born January 25. 1876, and now 
resides in New York City. 

Born in Brooklyn, New York, Decem- 
ber 8, 1869, Frederick Hart Atchison 
spent only the first three years of his life 
in his native city. In 1872, his parents 
returned to Hartford and it was with that 
city that his earliest associations were 
formed and there that he received his 
education. For this purpose he attended 
the public schools of that city, but aban- 
doned his schooling when fourteen years 
of age, and in 1883 entered the employ of 
Thomas A. Honnis, who was engaged in 
the oyster and clam business in Hartford. 
He was also the proprietor of the Honnis 
Oyster House Company, situated at Nos. 
24 to 30 State street, and which is the 
oldest exclusive oyster house in the 
United States, it having been there since 
about 1845. He gradually came to have 
more and more control of the manage- 
ment of this concern, and on March 30, 
1914, he, with his present partners, Mr. 
Thomas E. O'Neil and Mr. William W. 
Hastings, purchased the business from 
Edwin Tolhurst, who had succeeded Mr. 
Honnis as owner in 1900. From that time 
to the present the concern has continued 
its gratifying development which has 
been continued uninterruptedly for sev- 



160 




&fi>%^"^~^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



enty years, so that it is now one of the 
largest of its kind in the region. It sells 
both at wholesale and retail, and some 
idea of the magnitude of its operations 
may be gained from the fact that it han- 
dles over two tons of crackers per month. 
Four automobiles are employed and a 
large number of hands are required to 
deal with the various aspects of the busi- 
ness. On January i, 1918, it was incor- 
porated for fifty thousand dollars and the 
officers of the company are Frederick H. 
Atchison, president, William W. Hast- 
ings, vice-president, and Thomas E. 
O'Neil, secretary and treasurer. 

Besides his business activities, Mr. 
Atchison has always taken a prominent 
part in the general life of the community, 
and has always maintained a keen inter- 
est in public affairs. He belongs to 
a number of important organizations 
among which should be mentioned the 
local lodge of the Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks, and the Saengerbund 
of Hartford. Mr. Atchison is one of the 
best type of New England business men, 
whose reputation for integrity and prob- 
ity in all of his transactions is unim- 
peachable. Of great energy and ready 
recourse in every emergency, his great 
enterprise continues to grow uninterrupt- 
edly during his career. He is extremely 
public-spirited and always keeps the inter- 
ests of the city in mind and constantly 
aims at serving them. He has won not 
only the respect and admiration of his 
fellow-citizens, but their affection as well, 
and there are very few who can claim so 
large a circle of friends or such devotion 
on the part of those who make it up. 

On November 11, 1917, Mr. Atchison 
was married to Rose W. House, of West 
Hartford, Connecticut. 



YERGASON, Edgar Smith, 

Decorator and Furnisher. 

Edgar S. Yergason, one of the most 
widely known and successful of interior 

Conn— 5— 11 I 



decorators, and who bore the distinction 
of having decorated many of the wealthi- 
est homes in the country, including the , 
first House of the Land, was born Sep- 
tember 10, 1840, in the town of W'ind- 
ham, Connecticut, son of Christopher 
Yergason, born at Norwich, Connecticut, 
and served as lieutenant in State Militia, 
and Charlotte Ann (Smith) Yergason, 
born in Windham, Connecticut, descend- 
ant of Elder and Love Brewster. 

Edgar S. Yergason was educated in 
the schools of his native town, and grad- 
uated from the Pine Grove Seminary in 
South Windham. Upon completing his 
education he removed to Hartford, Con- 
necticut, to accept a position as clerk with 
the firm of Talcott & Post, dry goods 
merchants. He remained with the firm 
until the outbreak of the Civil War, at 
which time he volunteered his services 
and served as a private in Company B, 
Twenty-second Connecticut Volunteers. 
At the end of his term of service he 
resumed connection with the same firm, 
continuing until 1881, in which year it 
was dissolved, and Mr. Yergason became 
associated with the junior partner in the 
formation of the firm of William H. Post 
& Company. The excellent quality and 
high order of the work of this firm soon 
gained prominence and they were com- 
missioned with many important contracts. 
The entire department of decorating was 
under the personal supervision of Mr. 
Yergason, and his superior taste and 
executive ability in that line was no small 
factor in the firm's success. He attained 
wide prominence in work done at the 
White House under Presidents Benjamin 
Harrison and William McKinley, and at 
the State Capital at Albany and other 
noted places. Probably Mr. Yergason's 
work at the White House under Presi- 
dent Harrison's administration attracted 
more attention than did his work for pri- 
vate persons in Washington and other 
parts of the East. Mr. Yergason obtained 
61 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his first chance to do work at the White 
House through one of his customers, Sec- 
retary of the Treasury William Wind- 
ham, who was a close friend of the Pres- 
ident's family. Mr. Yergason decorated 
the apartment of Captain George E. 
Lemon, of Washington, owner of the 
"Washington National Tribune," a paper 
devoted to the interests of veterans of the 
Civil War. Mrs. Harrison and the wives 
of four members of the cabinet visited the 
apartment to see the recently completed 
work and were so delighted with it that 
Mr. Yergason received an invitation the 
next day to visit the White House with a 
view to suggesting changes in the Blue 
Room. His suggestions were well re- 
ceived and he was commissioned to do 
considerable work, not only in the noted 
Blue Room, but also in other parts of the 
building. He installed the first electric 
lighting system ever used in the build- 
ing. During the years 1890 and 1892, he 
was frequently called to the White House 
by President Harrison or his wife to sug- 
gest desired improvements in the decorat- 
ing of certain parts of the building. 

Among the private mansions that Mr. 
Yergason furnished in Washington was 
that of John A. Logan, United States 
senator from Illinois. This mansion was 
leased by William Jennings Bryan when 
he became Secretary of State at the start 
of the Wilson administration. The house 
is one of the most elegantly furnished 
mansions in Washington to-day and many 
of the draperies and carpets in it are the 
ones Mr. Yergason put there in 1892. Mr. 
Yergason was acquainted with many of 
the most prominent men of the United 
States between 1890 and 1900. Among 
his friends have been Thomas A. Edison, 
the inventor ; Richard J. Gattling, who 
perfected the first gun which bears his 
name ; General Horace Porter, who was 
a member of General Grant's staff in the 



Civil War; James G. Blaine, Thomas 
Piatt, General W. T. Sherman, General 
Philip H. Sheridan, General E. W. Whit- 
aker, General Joseph R. Hawley, Cap- 
tain George E. Lemon, Admiral George 
Dewey, Actor Joseph Jefferson, Artist 
Albert Bierstadt, and other noted men. 

For over a quarter of a century Mr. 
Yergason was collecting valuable relics 
with the result that his collection is one of 
the rarest and most unusual of its kind. 
The range of the items comprising it is 
extremely wide, and the great men and 
events which they recall increase their 
value. To mention all of this wonderful 
collection would take up considerable 
space, but perhaps the most valuable are 
the two flags which were used to drape 
the box in Ford's Theatre at Washing- 
ton where President Abraham Lincoln 
was murdered on the night of April 14, 
1865, as he was watching a performance 
of the "American Cousin" with Mrs. Lin- 
coln. One of the flags in which Booth's 
spur caught as he jumped out from Lin- 
coln's box, located on the second floor of 
the theatre, is of silk and is torn in half. 
The other half is in a glass box in the 
hall of the treasury building in Washing- 
ton. He received a vote of thanks from 
the Joint Assembly of the Legislature, 
June 13, 1899, for the gift of a war relic, 
the body of a tree containing five cannon 
balls from the battlefield of Chickamauga 
and placed in the Capitol at Hartford. 

Mr. Yergason was a member of the So- 
ciety of Sons of the American Revolution, 
being a descendant of Elder and Love 
Brewster ; member of Robert O. Tyler 
Post, Grand Army of the Republic ; mem- 
ber of Army and Navy Club of Connecti- 
cut ; of Amaranth Dramatic Club of 
Brooklyn, New York; of Aldine Mer- 
chants Club, New York ; of Republican 
Club of New York ; of Amen Corner Re- 
publican Headquarters, New York State, 



162 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Fifth Avenue Hotel, New York; honor- 
ary member of Company K, First Regi- 
ment, Connecticut State Militia; member 
of Company B, Twenty-second Regiment 
Volunteers, War of the Rebellion, 1862 
and 1863; honorary member of Old Guard, 
Washington, D. C, July, 1890. He was 
the first one of five young men who orig- 
inated the Wide Awake Torch Light 
Marching Campaign Club for the elec- 
tion of W. A. Buckingham, Governor, 
February 25, i860. The enthusiasm cre- 
ated extended all over the State, resulted 
in his election, and in the fall clubs were 
formed in all the northern States, creating 
great enthusiasm in the campaign and 
election of Abraham Lincoln, President. 
He served as colonel on staff at the 
inauguration of Presidents McKinley and 
Roosevelt, March 4, 1897, and also of 
Roosevelt and Fairbanks at Washington, 
D. C, March 4, 1901. 

Mr. Yergason married Emeline B. 
Moseley, daughter of D. B. Moseley, of 
Hartford, and they were the parents of 
two daughters, and a son, Robert M., who 
is a physician with the rank of captain in 
the United States Army, of the World 
War. 



PECK, Austin Lemuel, 

Business Man. 

Since 1887 a resident of Hartford and 
prominent in the business life of his 
adopted city, Mr. Peck, as treasurer of 
the Andrews & Peck Company, is also 
well and favorably known throughout the 
State as an able business man, especially 
prominent in the lumber trade. He is a 
son of Zalmon S. Peck, of Newton, Con- 
necticut, and a descendant of Joseph 
Peck, of Milford, Connecticut, the Amer- 
ican ancestor of his branch of the Peck 
family. 

Joseph Peck, first of New Haven, set- 



tled in Milford, about 1649, becoming a 
member of the church there in 1652. He 
died in 1700-01. From Joseph Peck the 
line of descent is through his son, Joseph 
(2) Peck, of Milford ; his son, Ephraim 
Peck, of Newtown; his son, Henry Peck, 
of Newtown, a soldier of the Revolution, 
who died in 1812; his son, Ezekiel Peck, 
a soldier of the War of 1812, whose tomb- 
stone and those of his father, grandfather 
and great-grandfather, are standing in 
perfect condition in the family burial plot 
in Newtown Cemetery ; his son, Zalmon 
S. Peck, of Newtown; his son, Austin L. 
Peck, of further mention. 

Zalmon S. Peck, son of Ezekiel and 
Betsey (Briscoe) Peck, was born at New- 
town, Connecticut, May 22, 1812, died 
1904, having reached the extreme age of 
ninety-two years. During his active years 
he was one of the prominent public men 
of his community, serving during the 
Civil War as enrolling and drafting offi- 
cer, and for twenty-six years was post- 
master of Newtown, first appointed dur- 
ing President Lincoln's first term. These 
were years of continuous service with the 
exception of two years (1867-69) under 
the Johnson administration, when he was 
out of office. Time dealt lightly with 
him, and even when nearly a nona- 
genarian he was remarkably well pre- 
served, an active and interesting conver- 
sationalist. He married, in 1833, Polly 
J. Lum, who died in 1898. Their children 
were : Sarah A., deceased ; Henry S., 
died August, 1913, in Waterbury, Con- 
necticut; Austin L., of further mention; 
Mary F., widow of Colonel R. S. Chevis, 
of Zenith, Georgia. 

Austin L. Peck was born in Newtown, 
Connecticut, June 3, 1844, now treasurer 
of the Andrews & Peck Company, Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. He was educated in the 
public schools and Newtown Academy, 
leaving the Academy walls to enlist in 



163 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Union army, August 25, 1862. He 
first entered the service as a private in 
Company C, Twenty-third Regiment, 
Connecticut Volunteer Infantry, recruited 
in Fairfield and New Haven counties dur- 
ing the months of August and September, 

1862. He was mustered into the United 
States service with his regiment at Camp 
Terry, New Haven, Connecticut, Novem- 
ber 14, 1862; C. E. L. Homes, colonel of 
the regiment; David H. Miller, major; 
Charles W. Worden, lieutenant-colonel ; 
Julius Sanford, captain of Company C. 
The Twenty-third left Connecticut, No- 
vember 17, 1862, and joined General 
Banks at Camp Buckingham, Long 
Island, serving under the command of 
General Franz Sigel. The regiment's 
first service was in the Department of 
the Gulf, in the defense of New Orleans, 
and from December, 1862, was a part of 
the Second Brigade, Second Division, 
Nineteenth Army Corps, and from June, 

1863, was stationed at Post of Brashear, 
District of LaFouche, Defenses of New 
Orleans, and Department of the Gulf. 
Until taken prisoner at Bayou Boueff, 
Louisiana, June 23, 1863, the experi- 
ences of the regiment were those of Mr. 
Peck, his army record being honorable 
and meritorious. He was rated a cor- 
poral, November 14, 1862, and after his 
capture was paroled on July 3, and mus- 
tered out of the service with honorable 
discharge, August 31, 1863. 

With the ending of his military career, 
his active business life began, and now, 
a half century later, he reviews a busi- 
ness career of success and prosperity 
most gratifying. In January, 1864, he 
became a clerk in the general store of 
Benedict, Merriman & Company, at Wa- 
terbury, Connecticut, and after an experi- 
ence of one year, entered the employ of 
the Hartford, Providence & Fishkill Rail- 
road as freight clerk at Hartford, soon 



afterward being promoted agent in charge 
of the Waterbury Station. Early in 1869 
he became a partner with Chester Cur- 
tis in the lumber business, but a year 
later they dissolved, Mr. Peck continuing 
the business alone on Meadow street until 
1887, when he moved to Hartford, where 
he has since resided. He continued his 
lumber business in Waterbury until 1898, 
then reorganized it as the Brass City 
Lumber Company, retaining a controlling 
interest and serving the corporation as 
president. Prior to the organization of 
that company, he formed the Big Rapids 
Door and Blind Manufacturing Company 
of Waterbury, Connecticut ; located the 
mills of the company at Big Rapids, Mich- 
igan ; was the largest stockholder and 
treasurer of the company, which con- 
tinued in active successful operation until 
its plant was totally destroyed by fire, 
June 14, 1900. 

Mr. Peck organized the Capital City 
Lumber Company of Hartford, was its 
first president, but later sold his interest 
in that company and retired from its 
management. Since then he has been an 
active member of the Andrews & Peck 
Company, is its treasurer, and deeply 
interested in its successful operation. 
The company manufactures doors, sash 
and blinds, in fact, all the usual mill plan- 
ing mill output. This company was 
formed in 1885, Horace Andrews, a sales- 
man in Mr. Peck's employ, at Waterbury, 
becoming a partner and later becoming 
its manager. Andrews & Peck continued 
successfully as a firm until 1905, when 
the business was incorporated with Mr. 
Peck as its treasurer. There have been 
no blank periods in Mr. Peck's life, from 
the time he entered the army, a lad of 
eighteen. He has labored with body and 
brain and that he has achieved fortune 
and prominence is not as a result of for- 
tuitous circumstances, but of intelligent, 



164 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



well directed, persistent effort, along 
sound business lines. He is a member of 
the Hartford Chamber of Commerce, the 
Hartford Yacht Club and Hartford Auto- 
mobile Club, in all of which he is inter- 
ested and active. 

Mr. Peck married, February 20, 1867, 
Susan M. Root, daughter of Horatio Root, 
of Hartford. Mr. and Mrs. Peck are the 
parents of three sons: 1. Edward A., of 
Rocky Hill, Connecticut ; married Cora 
Hall; six children: Helen Josephine, 
married Justus Churchhill, of Rocky Hill, 
Connecticut, and has a daughter, Justina 
Hall Churchhill; Wallace Hall; Fred- 
erick Hall, now a member of Three Hun- 
dred and First Machine Gun Battalion, 
at Camp Devens, Ayer, Massachusetts ; 
Susan Elizabeth; Edna, and Marguerite 
Peck. 2. Harry H., married (first) Alice 
Grow, of Chicago, and their children are: 
Harold Windsor, now a member of Three 
Hundred and Third Machine Gun Bat- 
talion, Company B, Camp Devens, Ayer, 
Massachusetts ; Everett Lawrence, and 
Alice W. Peck. He married (second) 
Ethel Bliss, of Middletown. Connecticut, 
by whom he has three children : Edna, 
Henry and Charles. 3. Theodore, born 
March 15, 1875, in Waterbury, Connecti- 
cut, is now a resident of New Haven, Con- 
necticut ; he was educated in the gram- 
mar and high schools of Hartford, and in 
1896 entered his father's employ ; later 
he went to Africa in the employ of the 
Royal Gold Mining Company, remaining 
some time, when returning to Hartford, 
he married Dell Tracy and has one 
daughter, Margarie. 



WEEKS, William H., 

Remarkable Educator. 

The name of Weeks in some of its vari- 
ous forms is of great antiquity in Eng- 
land and is borne by families between 
some of whom there is no connection. 



The early immigrants to this country 
bearing the name appear to have been 
mainly if not entirely from the south of 
England and were probably from its gen- 
try and yeomanry, of Norman origin. 
They were generally men of enterprise, 
some being also men of culture and of 
means, who at once assumed positions of 
honor and influence. 

A worthy descendant of this honorable 
family, William H. Weeks, was born No- 
vember 1, 1829, in Yorktown, Westches- 
ter county, New York, the son of Jere- 
miah and Charlotte (Coovert) Weeks. 
He was a descendant of Francis Weeks, 
who came from England in 1635 and 
settled at Salem, Massachusetts. He 
removed the following year to Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, where he formed 
one of the band of sympathizers of Roger 
Williams. He held the office of secretary 
of the Colony, and removed a second 
time, in 1640, to New York, where he 
became a joint proprietor of Oyster Bay 
in 1650. He died prior to 1687. His 
wife's name was Elizabeth Luther. 

Daniel Weeks, their grandson, was 
born December 3, 1735, and died at Ship 
Harbor, Nova Scotia, December 29, 1852, 
at the great age of one hundred and seven- 
teen years. He was a Loyalist, and was 
obliged to remove to Ship Harbor for that 
reason. He was the father of twenty-one 
children, of whom the second son was 
David Weeks, who lived at Oyster Bay, 
and was the father of Henry Weeks, who 
resided at different times at White Plains, 
New York City, Cortland and Yorktown. 
He died June 5, 1859, aged one hundred 
and one years. His wife was Sarah 
Higgins, of White Plains, Westchester 
county, New York. They were the par- 
ents of Jeremiah Weeks, born March 25, 
1795, and died January 1, 1880. He was 
a deacon of the Yorktown Baptist 
Church for sixty-one years, a remarkable 
record. He married a widow, Mrs. Char- 

^5 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lotte Coovert, and they were the parents 
of the following children : Mary, born 
August 17, 1827; William H., of further 
mention; Sarah E., born 1832; Catherine 
M., born July 27, 1835. 

William II. Weeks was so unfortunate 
as to be stricken deaf and dumb in his 
fifth year while suffering from scarlet 
fever. Every attempt was made by lov- 
ing parents to restore his hearing, but 
to no avail. In his early childhood he 
gave evidence of a desire to acquire 
knowledge, and although he continued 
to attend school with his sister after his 
affliction, he made little progress. His 
father was a man of superior education 
and was determined that his son should 
receive the best in the way of an educa- 
tion. Accordingly, he took him to the 
Fanwood School for the Deaf, which was 
located on Fiftieth street, New York 
City, and the boy was enrolled there as a 
student at the age of twelve years under 
the preceptorship of Dr. Harvey P. Peet. 
The rapid progress which he made was 
such that he was chosen from the class 
to demonstrate the new method of train- 
ing before the Legislature of New York 
State in 1848. He graduated from the 
school in New York and was employed 
there in 1850 as a teacher, which posi- 
tion he held for fifteen years. In 1865 
Mr. Weeks removed to Hartford, Con- 
necticut, and became a teacher in the 
American School for the Deaf in that city 
and was there in that capacity until his 
retirement in June, 1913. He was more 
than sixty years of age before he took up 
the science of lip reading, and eighty- 
three years of age when he retired from 
the Hartford School. Altogether his 
services in instructing in the two schools 
aggregated sixty-four years. He could 
very clearly remember the night of No- 
vember 17, 1835, at which time the Hal- 
ley Comet appeared in the northern sky. 
He recalled the great fear which the spec- 



tacle arouse among the people of the 
country and numerous neighbors came to 
his father saying that the world had 
come to an end. His father was a devout 
and religious man and answered them 
saying that "God was the ruler of the uni- 
verse," urging them' to be calm. A great 
terror swept over the entire country and 
many bade their friends good-bye, firmly 
believing that the judgment day was at 
hand. Mr. Weeks recalled that this con- 
tinued for two weeks and then disap- 
peared, and the world resumed its normal 
tenor. While he was a student at the 
New York School, Mr. Weeks also saw 
the Donati Comet and believed it to be 
more brilliant than the Halley Comet. 

In spite of his advanced age at the time 
of his retirement, Mr. Weeks was pos- 
sessed of rugged health and was very 
active. He visited the Clark School at 
Northampton, Massachusetts, and con- 
versed orally, reading the lips of pupils 
and officers there. 

Mr. Weeks married Mary M. Allen, of 
Melrose, Massachusetts, in 1858, and they 
were the parents of a son, Harry Allen, 
who died in 1895. Mrs. Weeks died in 
1893, and Mr. Weeks December 7, 1917, 
five years after his retirement, at the age 
of eighty-nine years. 

His was a long life, full of good deeds 
and love for his fellowmen. In spite of 
his trouble, he was always cheerful and 
pleasant ; he was possessed of sterling 
qualities, a man of high moral and intel- 
lectual character, and at his death left a 
large number of friends and acquaint- 
ances throughout the entire country who 
were saddened as a consequence. 



NEWTON, Charles Edward, 

Business Man. 

Charles Edward Newton, former treas- 
urer and general manager of the Jewell 
Belting Company of Hartford, Connecti- 



166 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cut, was descended from old Puritan 
stock, his ancestry tracing back to early 
Colonial days and including in both 
maternal and paternal lines a number of 
patriots who were active participants in 
the war for independence. Mr. Newton 
was born in Hartford, January 26, 1859, 
a son of the late Duane E. and Clarissa 
Barnes (Ludington) Newton, and died 
there, November 15, 1917. 

The progenitor of the Newton family 
in America was Richard Newton, who 
came from England, probably in the sum- 
mer or autumn of 1638, at which time he 
must have been somewhere between 
thirty-six and thirty-eight years of age. 
He died in Marlborough, Massachusetts, 
August 24, 1701, and according to the 
record was almost a hundred years old. 
He located first in Sudbury, Massachu- 
setts, with many of the citizens of which 
he seemed to be already acquainted. In 
1643, three divisions of meadow land 
were made, and in 1642 another allotment 
was made, in all of which Richard New- 
ton shared. In May, 1645. ne took the 
freeman's oath. We find his name signed 
to what is known as the petition for Marl- 
borough. He was one of the thirtv-eight 
persons to whom the petition was granted, 
receiving thirty acres as his allotment 
upon the following terms: "four pence an 
acre for each acre of their house-lotts to 
the minister," and "nine pence an acre of 
their house-lotts to town charges," and 
subsequently "three pence per pound 
upon cattle for the minister." 

His son, Daniel Newton, was born 
at Sudbury, December 21, 1655, and 
died at Southborough, Massachusetts, 
November 29, 1739. On December 
30, 1679, he married Susanna, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Susanna (Shattuck) 
Morse, who was born at Groton, January 
11, 1662-63, and died May 30, 1729. Her 
father was born April 30, 1637, and died 



in 1667. He was married in Watertown, 
February 11, 1661, to Susanna, daughter 
of William and Susanna Shattuck, of 
that town, who was born in 1643. Joseph 
Morse settled at Groton, but was driven 
out by the Indians in 1675, when he 
returned to Watertown. His father, Jo- 
seph Morse Sr., was twenty-four years 
old when he left England in April, 1634. 
He came in the ship "Elizabeth" which 
sailed from Ipswich, and was one of the 
first proprietors of Watertown. He took 
the freeman's oath, May 6, 1635. He 
married Hester, daughter of John and 
Eliza Pierce, of Watertown. He died 
March 4, 1690-91. His father, John 
Morse, came to New England with his 
wife, Dorothy, a year or two after his son 
Joseph. He settled in Ipswich and there 
his will was probated September 29, 1646. 
Daniel Newton was a small child when 
his parents removed to Marlborough and 
there he remained until his death. 

His son, Samuel Newton, was born 
August 10, 1695, and died in 1771. On 
November 28, 1716, he married Mary, 
a daughter of Simon and Mary Tozer, 
who was born in Weston, August 16, 
1693. She was the granddaughter of 
Richard Tozer, who was married in Bos- 
ton, July 31, 1656, to Judith Smith. He 
was a resident of Kittery, Maine, as early 
as 1659, and was killed by the Indians in 
October, 1675. His son, Simon, died De- 
cember 30, 1718 in what is now the town 
of Weston, Massachusetts. Samuel New- 
ton with his brother Nathaniel bought 
from their father all the "lands I am now 
possessed of," including his interest in a 
grist mill and personal property. 

His son, Lemuel Newton, was born in 
Marlborough, March 17, 1718, and mar- 
ried Abigail ; they settled in the 

town of Southborough, where he enlisted 
as a private in Captain Moses Harring- 
ton's company. Colonel Nicholas Dike's 



[67 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



regiment, and fought in the Revolution. 
His service covered from December, 1776, 
to March 1, 1777. He died in Southbor- 
ough, September 27, 1793. 

His son, Winslow Newton, was born 
April 9, 1756, and on September 3, 1777, 
married Anna Bemis, of Watertown. The 
evidence indicates that she was a daugh- 
ter of Elisha and Lucy (Ellton) Bemis, 
and great-grandmother of John Bemis, of 
Watertown, who was born in August, 
1659, and died in 1732. Winslow New- 
ton served in the Revolution as a member 
of Captain Elijah Bellow's regiment 
which marched on the Lexington alarm. 
Later he was a member of Captain 
Manassah Sawyer's company, Colonel 
Nicholas Dike's regiment, and served 
from September 1, 1776, to December 1, 
1776. He also served in the same com- 
pany with his father and for the same 
period and he subsequently marched to 
Tiverton, Rhode Island, in Colonel Dean's 
regiment of militia, serving eleven days 
from March 7, 1781. 

His son, Ivah Newton, was born Au- 
gust 19, 1784, in Southborough, but later 
lived at Philipston, Massachusetts, and 
finally located in Hinsdale, New Hamp- 
shire, where all of his children were born 
and where he died September 12, 1840. 
He married Sarah, a daughter of Daniel 
and Sarah Rugg, who was born in Fram- 
ingham, April 10, 1785, and died at Fitch- 
burg, March 24, 1882. Her father was 
born in Framingham, April 19, 1751, a 
son of Jonathan Rugg, and served in the 
Massachusetts militia in the Revolution. 

Norman Bemis Newton, son of Ivah 
Newton, was born at Hinsdale, New 
Hampshire. He married Mary, a daugh- 
ter of Alexander, of Winchester. 

He engaged with his brothers in the man- 
ufacture of oyster kegs and eventually 
removed to Fair Haven, Connecticut. 

Their son, Duane Epaphroditus New- 



ton, the father of Charles E. Newton, was 
born September 6, 1833, and died March 

3, 1906, at Winchester, New Hampshire. 
He received his education in the public 
schools of his native town, and while yet 
a boy entered the employ of Pliny Jewell, 
the founder of the Jewell Belting Com- 
pany. When the business was moved to 
Flartford, he went with it and remained 
identified with the concern until his 
death. Through his intelligently directed 
industry, careful study of the business 
and unswerving loyalty, he rose from one 
position of responsibility to another until 
at one time he was superintendent of the 
factory. As he advanced in years, how- 
ever, he was relieved gradually of his 
more onerous duties by the company who 
had never failed to appreciate his faith- 
ful, conscientious service. Mr. Newton 
was a member of St. John's Lodge, No. 

4, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
and Washington Commandery, Knights 
Templar. For a number of years he 
belonged to the well-known Hartford mil- 
itary body, the Governor's Foot Guards. 
Mr. Newton married Clarissa Barnes, a 
daughter of Jesse and Julia Ann (Story) 
Ludington. She was a granddaughter of 
Amos and Huldah (Chidsey) Ludington, 
and a great-granddaughter of Levi Chid- 
sey, a corporal of Connecticut troops in 
the Revolution. The following children 
were born of this union : Charles Ed- 
ward, of further mention ; Lillian L., born 
April 11, 1861, married Wilbur M. Stone, 
of East Orange, New Jersey; Arthur 
Duane, born April 8, 1863, married Ger- 
trude A. Hyde, a daughter of Salisbury 
Hyde; Mary A., born June 11, 1865, mar- 
ried Charles H. Huntting; Edith L., 
born December 4, 1869, married Charles 
P. Marshall, of Newton, Massachusetts ; 
and Carrie M., deceased. 

Charles Edward Newton was born 
January 26, 1859, in the city of Hartford, 
68 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Connecticut, the eldest child of Duane 
E. and Clarissa Barnes (Ludington) 
Newton. He was educated in the public 
schools of his native city, and graduated 
from the Hartford public high school. 
After the completion of his studies, he 
secured a position in the month of No- 
vember, 1876, with the Jewell Belting 
Company, with which his father was 
already prominently associated. He began 
in the humble capacity of office boy, and 
it may be said that there is no work in 
connection with the entire concern which 
Mr. Newton had not done, either in the 
office, the factory or on the road. He 
early displayed an unusual degree of 
industry and aptitude for his task, and it 
did not take him long to advance to much 
more responsible positions. Before many 
years were out, he had become a book- 
keeper, then the head of the bookkeeping 
department, and from this position 
stepped into that of cashier. In the mean- 
time his attention was becoming more 
and more directed to the industrial side of 
the concern, and he soon discovered that 
to master this side of the work with any 
degree of completeness would require 
special knowledge which he did not pos- 
sess. Particularly was it necessary for 
him to become an expert in mathematics, 
and with this end in view he took up the 
study of the subject about 1882, with 
the special object of mastering the prob- 
lems of power transmission. This he did 
to such good purpose that he was soon 
regarded as an expert in his subject and 
given many of the difficult problems with 
which such a concern must of necessity 
be constantly faced. Pie it was who 
devised the first power transmission cable 
ever compiled and it is his which is still 
in universal use by engineers. Mr. New- 
ton was not merely a therotician, how- 
ever, but on the contrary put on his over- 
alls and jumper and entered the factory 



to deal with the practical side of the 
work. It was his idea that theory should 
have a basis or practical experience in 
order that it should be applied with the 
greatest degree of effectiveness. He 
learned in the factory how to curry 
leather and learned also the trade of belt- 
maker, thus gaining a direct experience 
of the practical element with which his 
problems were concerned. This he did 
after he had risen to the position of secre- 
tary of the company, and it is this spirit 
which undoubtedly accounted for his 
phenomenal success, nor was he less zeal- 
ous in learning the purely business side 
of the enterprise, and for a long time was 
on the road and engaged in the actual 
selling of the products of the mill. In the 
month of July, 1905, he was made treas- 
urer of the company, which position he 
held until his death. The Jewell Belting 
Company, of which Mr. Newton was so 
important a figure, is the oldest business 
of the kind in the United States, and one 
of the largest, the product from its great 
plants finding a large market throughout 
the country. Besides his office of treas- 
urer, Mr. Newton was a director of the 
concern, nor did his business interests 
stop there, for he was connected promi- 
nently with several large concerns in the 
capacity of director, among which should 
be mentioned the Johns Pratt Company 
and the Hart & Hegeman Company. 

Mr. Newton did not limit his interest, 
however, to the business world, and took 
an active part in the social life of Hart- 
ford ; he was a member of St. John's 
Lodge, No. 4, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, the Washington Commandery, 
Knights Templar, and the Sphyna Tem- 
ple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. Mr. 
Newton was a member of the Asylum 
Hill Congregational Church. 

Mr. Newton married, October 25, 1882, 
Alice Huntington, a daughter of Charles 
69 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



W. and Martha Elizabeth (Eddy) Hunt- 
ington, of New London, Connecticut. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Newton were born three 
children, as follows: Florence Hunting- 
ton, September 21, 1883, now the wife of 
Noyes B. Prentice, of Cleveland, Ohio, to 
whom she bore one son, Newton Alden ; 
Arthur Gove, December 28, 1884, who 
married Florence M. Griswold, a daugh- 
ter of Dr. Gilbert Griswold, by whom he 
has had two children, Alice Huntington 
and Richard Griswold ; Marjorie Lud- 
dington, July 10, 1887, who became the 
wife of Raymond M. Burnham, of South- 
bridge, Massachusetts, and who has borne 
to him one daughter, Jane Newton. 

Charles Wesley Huntington, the father 
of Mrs. Newton, was born at New Lon- 
don, March 13, 1829, and was one of the 
most prominent figures in the musical 
world in that region. He was engaged in 
teaching music, both instrumental and 
vocal, for many years, and with a very 
high degree of success, making a large 
reputation for himself in his profession. 
For a long period of years he was the 
organist at the South Congregational 
Church in Hartford and was the organist 
and choirmaster at the Park and Pearl 
Street Congregational Church at a later 
time. He was also the organist at the 
large Baptist church on Main street. Be- 
sides these various positions he was 
appointed Professor of Music at the State 
Normal School in New Britain. He 
lived for some time in New London, but 
on August 12, 1856, came to Hartford, 
and there made his home until the year 
1904. In that year he went to Andover, 
Connecticut, and finally, on October 1, 
1908, returned to Hartford, where he 
is situated at present and has his 
musical studio. He was married at New 
Britain, October 6, 1858, to Martha Eliza- 
beth Eddy, a daughter of Norman and 
Maria Warner (White) Eddy. She was 



born January 16, 1839, at New Britain, 
and died October 31, 1913. They were 
the parents of two children : Alice, now 
Mrs. Newton, and Robert Eddy, born De- 
cember 18, 1873, an d died August 12, 
1874. 



MULLIGAN, William Joseph, 

Counsellor-at-Law. 

William Joseph Mulligan, one of the 
prominent attorneys of Thompsonville 
and Hartford, Connecticut, is a member 
of a family which has resided in this State 
for the better part of three generations, 
and which is of Irish origin, having come 
over to this country from Ireland during 
the second decade of the nineteenth cen- 
tury. His grandfather, Andrew Mulli- 
gan, was born in County West Meath, 
who migrated as a young man to the 
United States somewhere about the year 
1815. He settled at East Windsor, Con- 
necticut, and resided there for a time, but 
later removed to Rockville, and event- 
ually to Thompsonville in this State. He 
was engaged in business as a stone mason 
and was very successful thereat. He 
married Margaret Fay and they were the 
parents of a number of children among 
whom was William Mulligan, of whom 
further. 

William Mulligan was born at East 
Windsor, April 11, 1849, and was the 
recipient of a public school education in 
his youth. Upon completing his school- 
ing he worked in the factory at Rockville, 
then engaged in the tinning business at 
Manchester. After a few years he 
moved to Windsor Locks, where he 
engaged in the plumbing and heating 
business, and remained there for five 
years. Moving to Thompsonville to 
become engaged in the furniture and 
undertaking business, in which he pros- 
pered highly and eventually grew to be 



I/O 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a prominent figure in the life of this com- 
munity. He served in several important 
offices here, among which should be 
included that of selectman and president 
of the district sewer board. When the 
Enfield Electric Light Company organ- 
ized he was its vice-president. He mar- 
ried Frances Browne, of Thompsonville, 
Connecticut, at Thompsonville, April 19, 
1872, and among their children was Wil- 
liam Joseph Mulligan, of this sketch. 

Born June 2, 1881, at Thompsonville, 
Connecticut, William Joseph Mulligan 
has made this place his home during prac- 
tically his entire life. As a child he 
attended (first) the Parochial schools 
connected with St. Patrick's Catholic 
Church and later the public schools of the 
town. After studying for a time at the 
Enfield High School, he attended Willis- 
ton Seminary at Easthampton, Massa- 
chusetts, from which he was graduated 
in 1901, having been prepared there for 
a course in college. He had in the mean- 
time determined upon the law as a pro- 
fession and with this object in view ma- 
triculated at the law school connected 
with Yale University. Completing his 
studies at Yale in 1904, he at once was 
admitted to the bar of Hartford county 
and opened an office and engaged in the 
general practice of his profession in 
August of that year. In this he has pros- 
pered highly, and in February, 1916, 
opened an office in Hartford, where by 
attendance to the business intrusted to 
him he made friends and secured clients. 
Although Mr. Mulligan has devoted his 
attention principally to the law he has 
nevertheless been interested in several 
other departments of the city's life and 
has come to hold a prominent position in 
its business and financial circles. In the 
year 1908 he organized The Advance 
Printing and Publishing Company, and 
since then he has held the double office of 



secretary-treasurer therein as well as a 
membership on its board of directors. He 
has also become associated with the pub- 
lic affairs of the community and has held 
the office of prosecuting attorney in 
Thompsonville for six years. He has 
been counsel for the town for several 
terms, and is now a director of the State 
Chamber of Commerce. He is a Republi- 
can in politics and is already regarded as 
a leader in the State organization of that 
party. Mr. Mulligan is a well-known fig- 
ure in the social life of Thompsonville and 
and is a very prominent member of the 
Knights of Columbus, having been State 
deputy for Connecticut for six terms and 
now holds the office of supreme director 
of the National Organization. He is also 
a member of the Enfield Country Club, 
the Hartford Club, Connecticut Editorial 
Association, the American Bar Associa- 
tion, and the Connecticut State Bar Asso- 
ciation. Mr. Mulligan has interested him- 
self in a most public-spirited manner with 
the general life of the community, and 
indeed few men have done more than he 
to promote its material interests. Mr. 
Mulligan is an active worker in the Red 
Cross and has given many addresses 
throughout the State in connection with 
the State Council of Defense. For the 
benefit of the soldiers and sailors he has 
charge of raising $200,000.00 in Connecti- 
cut for the War Work being carried on 
by the Knights of Columbus. In this 
work he has also helped in other States 
from Vermont to Oklahoma. In addition 
to Mr. Mulligan's activity in Connecticut 
in relation with the War Work, he was 
signally honored by being appointed rep- 
resentative of the board of directors of 
the Supreme Council of the Knights of 
Columbus to go to France for the pur- 
pose of purchasing buildings at three 
ports of entry and at Paris, as well as 
purchasing equipment and supplies for 



171 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the hundreds of secretaries who will be 
left in charge of providing comfort and 
entertainment for the American soldiers. 
Mr. Mulligan left this country for France 
in April, 1918, and remained there until 
the purpose for which he had been sent 
was accomplished. In his religious be- 
lief Mr. Mulligan is a Roman Catholic 
and attends Saint Patrick's Church of this 
denomination at Thompsonville. 

William Joseph Mulligan was united in 
marriage, June 15, 1905, at Xew Haven, 
Connecticut, with Kathleen Byron Keefe, 
a daughter of William Joseph and Jane 
(Harringan) Keefe, old and well known 
residents of Xew Haven, Connecticut, 
where Mr. Keefe was engaged in a large 
furniture business. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Mulligan three children have been born, 
as follows : William, September 14, 
1906; Jeannette, April 26, 1910: and 
Kathleen, June 13, 1915. Like Mr. Mul- 
ligan, all the members of his family are 
Roman Catholics and are very active in 
the interests of their church in Thomp- 
sonville and Hartford. 



CLARK, Charles Oliver, 

Tobacco Grower. 

Charles Oliver Clark, who is one of 
the largest individual growers of tobacco 
in the Hayden Station section of Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, is a native of that town, 
and comes of one of the oldest of Colonial 
Xew England families. He was born on 
Xovember 11, 1863, the son of Salmon 
and Laura Z. (Thrall) Clark, and his 
descent is from Joseph Clark, or Clarke, 
who was of Dorchester, Massachusetts, 
in 1630. The line from Joseph, progeni- 
tor in America, to Charles Oliver, of the 
seventh American generation, is through : 
Nathaniel, born 1658; Nathaniel (2), born 
1705; Amos, born 1730: Salmon, baptized 
December 4, 1768; Salmon (2). born 
1824. 



The Clark, or Clarke, family is one of 
great antiquity in England, particularly 
the Suffolk branch, in which county Jo- 
seph Clarke, immigrant ancestor of the 
Clarkes of Medfield, Medway, and that 
vicinity of Massachusetts, was born. 
Regarding the British generations of 
Clarkes, records indicate that they were 
of gentle blood, and mostly well circum- 
stanced financially. An ancestor, Thomas 
Clarke, of Bury St. Edmunds, '"gentle- 
man," mentions in his will of 1506 "a 
Seynt Antony Crosse, a tau Crosse of 
gold, weying iij.li.," which was borne in 
an armorial coat, and was assumed as 
an augmentation in consequence of hav- 
ing been worn by Xicholas Drury, his 
great maternal grandsire, in the expe- 
dition to Spain with John of Gaunt, Duke 
of Lancaster, in 1386. 

Joseph Clarke, who was brother of 
Thomas and Bray Clarke, many enteries 
regarding both of whom are to be found 
in Colonial Xew England records, was 
born in 1597, in the County of Suffolk, 
England. He was among the first set- 
tlers of the Dorchester Company that 
embarked at Plymouth, England, on 
March 20, 1630, in the "Mary and John," 
a vessel of four hundred tons, Captain 
Squeb, master. On May 30 of that year, 
the ''Mary and John," the first of "that 
distinguished fleet of eleven vessels," 
arrived at Xantasket. In the Dorches- 
ter (Massachusetts) town records, under 
date Xovember 22, 1634, Joseph Clarke 
and twelve other persons are mentioned 
as having a "grant of six acres of land for 
their small & great lotts, at Xaponset, 
betwixt the Indian feild and the mill." 
After Joseph Clarke received the grant of 
land in 1634 he appears to have returned 
to England, for his name is contained in 
a sailing list of those who, on October 24, 
1635, at "ye Port of London were aboard 
the 'Constance,' Clement Campion, Mr., 
bound for Virginia, Jo. Clarke, aged 38 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



years, and Alice Brass, aged 15 years." 
The Clarke genealogy states that she was 
"undoubtedly" the Alice Pepper, or Pep- 
pitt, whom he married after his return to 
America, and after his removal from Dor- 
chester to Dedham. It is presumed that 
the "Constance" after completing her 
voyage to Virginia called with passengers 
at northern ports, and so Joseph Clarke 
returned to Dorchester. The "Genealog- 
ical and Personal Memoirs, relating to 
the families of the State of Massachu- 
setts" (Lewis Historical Publishing Com- 
pany, 1910) states that Joseph Clarke 
"married, in 1640, just prior to sailing for 
America, Alice Pepper." Whether he 
again returned to England between 1635 
and 1640 cannot be traced, but his rec- 
ord is clear from the year of his settle- 
ment (1640) in Dedham, Massachusetts, 
and his signing of the Dedham Covenant. 
He was one of the thirteen original gran- 
tees and founders of the adjoining town 
of Medfield, and was admitted a freeman 
there, May 15, 1653. His homestead in 
Medfield was on the west side of South 
street, and an old cellar hole near the 
corner of Oak street for many years has 
marked the site of his former dwelling. 
In 1660 he became selectman and, acquir- 
ing substance, became a man of influence 
in the town. He served in the Narragan- 
sett campaign in the war against King 
Philip. He died January 6, 1684, aged 
eighty-seven years, leaving "an abiding 
influence for good on his numerous and 
honorable posterity," and in his will be- 
queathed lands to his sons, on the west 
side of Charles river, afterwards Med- 
way, Massachusetts. Alice (Brass-Pep- 
per) Clarke, his widow, died March 17, 
1710, and was stated to have then been 
eighty-seven years old. Of their nine 
children, Nathaniel was the eighth. 

Nathaniel Clarke was born October 6, 
1658, and died July 11, 1733. He resided 



on the paternal estate in Medfield, and 
married Experience, born July, 1679, died 
February 3, 1734, daughter of Ephraim 
and Mehitable (Plimpton) Hinsdale, of 
Deerfield, Massachusetts. Their eldest 
child was Nathaniel. 

Nathaniel (2) Clark, son of Nathaniel 
and Experience (Hinsdale) Clarke, was 
born in Medfield, November 5, 1705. On 
February 4, 1729, he married Judith Ma- 
son, and they resided in Medway. 

Amos Clark, son of Nathaniel (2) and 
Judith (Mason) Clark, was born Decem- 
ber 6, 1730, and lived part of his life in 
Medway, where three of his children are 
recorded. He married, February 9, 1757, 
Hannah Crage. After 1766 he removed to 
Farmington, Connecticut, where presum- 
ably their son Salmon was born. 

Salmon Clark, son of Amos and Han- 
nah (Crage) Clark, according to Farm- 
ington church records, was baptized in 
that place on December 4, 1768, and mar- 
ried Achsah Chandler, of an old Colonial 
Windsor family. He was appointed a 
second lieutenant of the Thirteenth Reg- 
iment, United States Infantry, by Presi- 
dent John Adams, and approved by the 
United States Senate. The commission 
was signed by President Adams, April 17, 
1799, but was antedated January 10, 1799. 
He appears to have resided in New York 
State later in life, and family tradition 
says that at one time he was warden 
in the old Newgate Connecticut State 
Prison, and afterwards held a position in 
the government arsenal in West Troy, 
New York, where it is thought his son, 
of same name, was born. 

Salmon (2) Clark, son of Salmon (1) 
and Achsah (Chandler) Clark, was born 
May 11, 1824. When a boy of eight years 
he came to Windsor, and there, in man- 
hood, followed agricultural accupations, 
particularly tobacco growing, until 1849. 
In that year the rush to the California 



173 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



gold fields attracted him West, and in 
that State he remained for eighteen 
months, a period of strenuous, but success- 
ful, prospecting. Soon after his return to 
Windsor, on September 8, 1850, he mar- 
ried Laura Z. Thrall. She was born in 
Windsor, January 30, 1829, and died there 
December 22, 1883. Her parents were 
Hon. Horace and Eliza Johnson (Wil- 
son) Thrall, and she was descended from 
William Thrall, who was a resident in 
Windsor before the Pequot War, and 
who in 1646 joined with Robert Winslow 
in purchasing, from Simon Hoyte, the 
land known as ''Hoyte's Meadow," upon 
which land the home of the Thralls has 
ever since been. Mrs. Eliza Johnson 
(Wilson) Thrall was the daughter of Cal- 
vin and Submit (Denslow) Wilson; her 
father was a Revolutionary soldier, and 
a leading citizen of Windsor town, resid- 
ing in Poquonock. Salmon (2) Clark 
remained in Windsor for about five years 
after his marriage, but then, on Decem- 
ber 24, 1855, he started on a whaling voy- 
age around Cape Horn to the Okotsk 
seas, and during this voyage, which lasted 
for three years, he visited China. After 
his return to Windsor, he resumed farm- 
ing operations, and thus occupied, re- 
mained in Windsor until his death. To 
Salmon (2) and Laura Z. (Thrall) Clark 
were born children as follows : Eliza 
Achsah, born January 22, 1852, married, 
April 7, 1874, Walter J. Lamberton, of 
Windsor ; Charles Oliver, of whom fur- 
ther : and a twin of the latter, who died 
in early infancy. 

Charles Oliver Clark, after public 
school education in Windsor, took ener- 
getically to railroad work, in the employ 
of the New Haven Railroad Company. 
Connected with that line he remained for 
nine years, holding during that time the 
positions of brakeman, fireman and con- 
ductor. Thereafter, until the present, his 
time has been given chiefly to farming 



and the growing of tobacco. Soon after 
leaving railroad work, he purchased the 
old John Phelps place in Poquonock, and 
commenced actively to raise tobacco on 
his land. He prospered and eventually 
became one of the largest individual 
growers in his district, where tobacco is 
the main crop. He remained on the old 
Phelps place until 191 5, when he acquired 
his present property in Windsor, the old 
Hayden homestead, the house on which 
estate was built in 1735. 

Mr. Clark has a good record in public 
life. He is a Democrat, and notwith- 
standing that he has never sought office, 
he has been elected to many by the peo- 
ple of Windsor, in whose estimation he 
ranks high. In 1909-10 they elected him 
to the Board of Selectmen, and he re- 
ceived further evidence of his popularity 
in 191 1. when he was chosen candidate of 
Windsor for the more responsible office 
of representative in the State Legislature, 
to which house he was sent with the dis- 
tinction of having received a larger vote 
than had ever before been cast in favor 
of a Democrat by the people of Windsor. 
He also takes keen interest in national 
affairs, and fraternally he is a member of 
Washington Lodge, No. 70, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, and Palisado 
Lodge, No. 23, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. He does not belong to any 
historical or patriotic societies, though, 
by reason of his ancestry, particularly in 
the maternal line, he is entitled to mem- 
bership in the Sons of the American Rev- 
olution. 

Mr. Clark married, April 11, 1893, Julia 
Easter, daughter of William and Rosanna 
Carroll, of Windsor. Their children are : 
1. Rebecca Eliza, born April 8, 1895; sne 
married Edward J. Kernan, April 12, 
191 5 ; they live in Windsor, and have one 
child, Frances Juliana, who was born on 
August 23, 1917. 2. Salmon (3), born 
May 23, 1900, and lives with his parents. 



1/4 




^llililiilil 



jJW £j,r£ ma*™ 4-&T-JW 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



THOMPSON, Royal W., 

Attorney. 

Royal Windford Thompson, LL. M., 
secretary in Washington, during their 
terms, to two former United States Sena- 
tors from Connecticut, and at present a 
prominent member of the legal bar of 
Hartford county, is a representative son 
of Connecticut, the State where so many 
have by individual effort risen to note- 
worthy place in industrial and profes- 
sional life. Attorney Thompson's ad- 
vancement to creditable place among the 
successful lawyers of the capital city of 
Connecticut is worthy of extended refer- 
ence in this work. He was born in Elling- 
ton. Tolland county, Connecticut, the son 
of the Hon. John and Amanda J. (Ban- 
croft) Thompson, and belongs to a fam- 
ily which for six generations has been 
resident within the State, and for the 
whole of that period proprietors of landed 
estate in the vicinity of East Windsor. 

The Thompson family is of Scottish 
origin. William and Margaret Thomp- 
son crossed from Scotland to Ireland in 
1716, with their nine children. There 
William Thompson, in 1718, died, and his 
widow and children resumed the journey 
to America, reaching a point in New Eng- 
land in that year. The family located in 
East Windsor, Connecticut, on land 
where succeeding generations of Thomp- 
sons were destined to live. The direct 
line from William to Royal W. Thomp- 
son is through : Samuel, son of William 
and Margaret ; James ; John McK. ; John ; 
and the Hon. John, father of Royal W. 
John Thompson, grandfather, was a well- 
known agriculturist of Ellington, Tol- 
land county, Connecticut. He married 
Anna E. Ellsworth, daughter of Benja- 
min Ellsworth, and of their nine children 
John was eighth born. 

The Hon. John Thompson was born 



January 11, 1840, and died April 4, 1917. 
He was educated in the district and high 
schools of his native place, Ellington, and 
when he reached his majority took charge 
of the ancestral homestead. The out- 
break of Civil War influenced him, so 
that on August 25, 1862, he enlisted, 
becoming a member of Company F., 
Twenty-fifth Connecticut Volunteer In- 
fantry. He rose to the rank of first cor- 
poral, but a wound received during the 
Battle of Irish Bend, Louisana, on April 
14, 1863, ended his military career, he 
being honorably discharged for disabil- 
ity at Hartford, Connecticut, on August 
26, 1863, after treatment at field hospi- 
tals, and at the Institute Hospital in New 
Orleans, had rendered him reasonably fit 
for civilian occupations again. Returning 
then to his home, he thereafter through- 
out his life applied himself to the affairs 
of the family estate, which then was a 
valuable holding of about two hundred 
acres extending into the township of East 
Windsor. He was esteemed in his com- 
munity, and took much interest in the 
public affairs of the neighborhood. For 
many years he was president of the El- 
lington Creamery, and was officially con- 
nected with other enterprises, including 
directorship of the Patron's Mutual Fire 
Insurance Company for Tolland county. 
The respect in which he was held in the 
community manifested itself in his pre- 
ferment to many public offices. Politi- 
cally, he was an enthusiastic and active 
member of the Republican party, and on 
the Republican ticket he was, in 1885, 
elected to the State House of Representa- 
tives by the voters of his home district. 
His legislative record was good, and he 
was once again elected, in 1895. Two 
years later, he became county commis- 
sioner. Among the other public offices 
he held were: Selectman, several terms; 
member of State Board of Agriculture, 



175 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



two years ; county auditor, two years, 
1895-96. Particularly in matters pertain- 
ing to agriculture was he active ; he was 
one of the organizers of the East Central 
Pomona Grange, and was first master, 
serving as such for two years from the 
date of its establishment. Also, he was 
the first master of Ellington Grange, serv- 
ing two successive years, and was lead- 
ing worker in the Patrons of Husbandry 
Association. Religiously, he was a com- 
municant of the Congregational church ; 
and, by reason of his war service was, of 
course, a member of the Grand Army of 
the Republic, affiliated with Burpee Post, 
No. 71, at Rockville. 

Mr. Thompson married, February 10, 
1870, Amanda J., daughter of Bissell and 
Johanna (Morton) Bancroft, of Ware- 
house Point. To them were born four 
children: 1. Morton E., who succeeded 
to the family estate, which required all 
his time in farming operations. 2. Liz- 
zie M., who became the wife of B. F. Pin- 
ney, of Somers, Connecticut. 3. Royal 
W., of whom further. 4. Emery J., who 
during the Spanish War was in the 
United States naval service and latterly 
has been, for several years, connected 
with the United States Department of 
Agriculture at Washington, D. C. 

Royal Windford Thompson was born 
October 23, 1874. He was educated in 
the common and select schools of Elling- 
ton, and at the High School at Rockville, 
from which, after graduation, he pro- 
ceeded to the Wesleyan Academy at Wil- 
braham, Massachusetts. Deciding to 
enter business life he became a student 
at Huntsinger's Business College, Hart- 
ford. Thus well grounded in general and 
special knowledge, his first business posi- 
tion was not one of irresponsibility ; he 
secured appointment as secretary in the 
Hartford office of the superintendent of 
the Central New England Railroad. A 
year later he received an advantageous 



offer from P. & F. Corbin Manufacturing 
Company, of New Britain, Connecticut, 
and he accepted the position offered, that 
of secretary to the president and general 
manager of the company. Undoubtedly, 
he served the chief executive well, for he 
held the position for seven years, resign- 
ing then so that he might proceed to 
Washington, D. C, as private secretary 
to the Hon. Joseph R. Hawley, a United 
States Senator from Connecticut, whom 
he served throughout his term, and also 
as clerk of the United States Senate Com- 
mittee on Military Affairs. And an indi- 
cation of his value in secretarial office 
may be understood in the fact that when 
the Hon. Morgan G. Bulkeley succeeded 
Senator Hawley, he retained Mr. Thomp- 
son as his secretary, and also made him 
clerk of the United States Senate Com- 
mittee on Railroads. Altogether, Mr. 
Thompson held these positions for four- 
teen years, 1897-1911. And during his 
service in the federal capitol, he did not 
permit himself many moments of leisure. 
He had resolved to fit himself for admit- 
tance to legal practice, and that meant 
the consumption of considerable "mid- 
night oil." His application to the study 
of the fundamentals of law began under 
private tutelage, but he soon thereafter 
became an undergraduate at the National 
University Law School, the standing of 
which among professional schools is well- 
known. In 1906 he graduated, and thus 
became entitled to the degree of LL. B. 
In 1907 he secured the major degree of 
LL. M., from the same school, and he 
was admitted to practice at the Connecti- 
cut legal bar on June 26, 1908. When 
Senator Bulkeley's term expired, in 191 1, 
Mr. Thompson returned from Washing- 
ton, and opened a law office at No. 50 
State street, Hartford. Since that time 
he has devoted himself closely to legal 
practice, and has established himself in 
good repute as a lawyer. He has every 
76 





<r? 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



reason to be satisfied with his progress 
in professional life, which has come to 
him by strict adherence, in his dealings 
with his clients, to the principles of 
squareness and fairness such as he is 
retained to seek for them in the courts. 
He has the confidence of an extensive and 
increasing clientele. But notwithstand- 
ing his professional ties, he finds time to 
participate to some extent in public 
affairs. He resides in Windsor, and for 
several years has served that town as jus- 
tice of the peace ; and his interest in the 
progress of Hartford has been shown on 
more than one occasion. He is the presi- 
dent of the Kiwanis Club of Hartford, a 
business men's organization, similar to 
and affiliated with other clubs through- 
out the United States and Canada. He 
was one of those most prominent in the 
organization of the Kiwanis Club, in 1916, 
and was elected its first president. And 
to some extent he also comes into busi- 
ness circles, in executive capacity, for he 
is secretary and treasurer of the Merwin 
Paper Company, of Poquonock, Wind- 
sor. Fraternally he is a Mason, member 
of Washington Lodge, No. 70, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Windsor. 

Attorney Thompson, on November 15, 
1895, married, at Ellington, Connecticut, 
Selina J. Evans, of that place, and three 
children have been born to them: 1. 
Winnifred Mabelle, who was born in New 
Britain, Connecticut, December 3, 1896, 
but who died on January 26, 1898. 2. 
Reginald Everett, who was born on Au- 
gust 29, 1904, at Hartford, Connecticut. 
3. Royal W., Jr., who was born on April 
15, 1906, in Washington, D. C. 



HITCHCOCK, Henry P., 

Merchant. 

One of the leading citizens and also 
one of the most interesting of the city of 
Hartford, Connecticut, Henry P. Hitch- 
Conn— 5— 12 I 



cock was born there June I, 1837, the son 
of Lambert and Mary Anne (Preston) 
Hitchcock. 

The house in which he was born was 
of historical note and for many years 
stood at the corner of High and Walnut 
streets, known as the old Sigournej 
Homestead, being occupied for a long 
time by Mrs. Lydia Sigourney. The boy- 
hood of Major Hitchcock was spent in 
Farmington, Connecticut, whence his 
father had removed soon after his birth. 
He attended the local schools of that 
town and also was a pupil at the cele- 
brated academy of Deacon Hart, many of 
whose graduates have since made them- 
selves famous in the business and pro- 
fessional world. The death of his father, 
which occurred in 1852, made it neces- 
sary that the boy seek means of employ- 
ment and accordingly he went to Hart- 
ford where he secured a position with the 
firm of N. J. Brockett & Company, Cloth- 
iers, then located on State street. For 
ten years he remained in this employ- 
ment, and although he received the mea- 
gre sum of twenty-five dollars a year, the 
same impelling spirit which brought suc- 
cess to him later in life enabled him to lay 
aside a sufficient amount so that he was 
able to engage in business for himself in 
partnership with a Mr. Kelsey and a Mr. 
Carpenter under the style of Kelsey, Car- 
penter & Hitchcock. In 1863, at the re- 
tirement from the firm of Mr. Carpenter, 
the business was continued as Kelsey & 
Hitchcock for nineteen years, at which 
time Major Hitchcock was the sole part- 
ner and successfully conducted a flourish- 
ing business. Subsequently, after a short 
rest from active business life, Major 
Hitchcock again established himself in 
business in the very location he had 
started out as a boy and which he con- 
tinued with remarkable success until his 
death. 

Although he carefully looked after even 



77 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the smallest details of his business, it did 
not claim the whole of his time and he 
was very active in the social and politi- 
cal life of Hartford. An adherent of the 
Republican party, he was ever alert to 
uphold their principles and aid in so far 
as he was able any movement towards 
the general welfare. Every worthy cause 
could always count upon his support, and 
there were many charities benefited by 
the philanthropic spirit of Major Hitch- 
cock. In 1869 he was the representative 
of the old Fourth Ward on the Alder- 
manic Board, and later was councilman 
from the Second Ward. He was a mem- 
ber of the old Wide Awakes of Hartford, 
which was the parent company of the na- 
tional organization of that name which 
flourished during the Lincoln administra- 
tion. For over thirty years he was sec- 
retary of the Veteran Guard Associa- 
tion, Hartford City Guard, and a reunion 
of this organization was held in January 
of each year. At these annual affairs 
the inventive genius of Major Hitchcock, 
together with his untiring efforts to make 
them a success, did much to give the 
members reason to remember them for 
a long time afterward. The following is 
a brief history of the company : 

On the morning of August 25, 1862, the City- 
Guard, "fifty-five muskets strong" marched to the 
State Arsenal to do Guard duty and protect the 
immense quantity of stores there amounting to 
one million dollars. It was supposed at the time 
that the City Guard would have a brief job on 
its hands, but it proved to be prolonged, the 
guardsmen remaining until October 6, a period 
of six weeks, encamping in the yard in front of 
the gun-sheds of the arsenal. 

The records of the City Guard were 
presented to the State Library at Hart- 
ford by Major Hitchcock a few months 
previous to his death, and were enclosed 
in a handsome oak chest. The following 
extract is from a letter written to him by 
the State Librarian, George S. Godard : 



The receipt of the records relating to the Hart- 
ford City Guard, all contained in a beautiful 
oaken chest which you brought to the State 
Library for permanent deposit, is hereby acknowl- 
edged with thanks. It will be my pleasure to 
make these several items as conveniently accessi- 
ble as possible, bearing in mind at all times their 
safety. * * * It is especially pleasing to receive 
these records of the Hartford City Guard for in 
no instance thus far have I received records which 
had the apparent care and thoughtfulness for their 
protection bestowed upon them. * * * 

Major Hitchcock's title came from the 
connection he held with the Veteran Bat- 
talion of the City Guard. He was also a 
member of the Automobile Club of Hart- 
ford ; the Republican Club ; the Connecti- 
cut Historical Society; the Jeremiah 
Wadsworth Branch, Connecticut Society 
Sons of the American Revolution ; the 
National Geographic Society ; the Con- 
necticut Congregational Club ; the Hart- 
ford Good Will Club. In the latter or- 
ganization he was especially interested, 
and since the existence of the club has 
been a trustee. For seventeen consecu- 
tive years he presented a medal to the 
club member who showed the most 
improved general conduct and gentle- 
manly qualities during the year. This 
presentation was always made at the 
summer camp at Marlborough, where the 
general manager. Miss Mary Hall, had 
her home. Major Hitchcock had endeared 
himself to the boys of the club, and on the 
last occasion of his addresses to them 
there was one of his remarks which every 
member will long remember : "Wherever 
you are ; whatever you do ; be a credit to 
the city of Hartford." 

Major Hitchcock possessed high ideals 
and aspirations and remained steadfast to 
them throughout his life. He discovered 
the power which lay inside and not only 
discovered it but made use of it. At his 
death, which occurred November 18, 
19T7, came the end of a useful life of one 
who had used his talents for the service 

"8 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the public in an unostentatious man- 
ner and who bore the affection and grati- 
tude of scores whom he had helped to see 
a light ahead. 

On August 23, 1865, he married Char- 
lotte F. Hunt, of North Coventry. Mrs. 
Hitchcock died in July, 1913, an event 
which brought great sorrow to Major 
Hitchcock as their married life had been 
one of complete harmony and perfect un- 
derstanding. Mr. and Mrs. Hitchcock 
were members of the Congregational 
church of Hartford and always active in 
its charities. 



COOK, Aaron, Jr., 

Civil War Veteran; Machinist. 

The Cook family is descended from 
Walter Cook, a native of England, who 
was in Weymouth, Massachusetts, as 
early as 1643, an d was admitted freeman 
in 1657. In 1662, with others, he agreed 
to settle at Melvin, Massachusetts, before 
October of the following year, and in 
1669 was a member of the town commit- 
tee, "to build the minister's house," and 
was selectman in 1671. In that same year 
he shared in the division of lands there, 
but was soon compelled to abandon them 
on account of King Philip's War. Subse- 
quently he returned, and in 1681 was on 
a committee to finish the minister's 
house. He died between January 18, 1695, 
and January 6, 1698. His wife's name 
was Catherine and they were the parents 
of Nicholas Cook. 

Nicholas Cook was born February 9, 
1660, at Weymouth. He had a farm, 
partly in Mendon and partly in what is 
now Bellingham, where he died Decem- 
ber 7, 1730. He married, November 4, 
1684, Joanna Rockwood, born August 1, 
1664, daughter of John and Joanna (Ford) 
Rockwood. 

Their third son, Daniel Cook, was born 



August 18, 1703, in Mendon, where he 
lived with his wife Susanna. 

Their youngest child, Aaron Cook, born 
December 3, 1746, was a private in Cap- 
tain John Watson's company from Wren- 
tham, Massachusetts, serving from De- 
cember 9 to December 12, 1776. In 1818, 
he was a pensioner because of military 
service, residing in Granby, Connecticut. 
He is referred to by descendants as Major 
Aaron Cook, and probably obtained this 
rank by service in the militia. 

He was the father of Aaron Cook, who 
resided in Ashford, Connecticut, where 
his wife, Molly, was admitted to the 
church, June 23, 1805. He was a black- 
smith by occupation. 

His son, Aaron Cook, born in Ashford, 
learned the trade of his father, which con- 
tinued to be his occupation for many 
years. In 1839 he settled at Manchester 
Green in the town of Manchester, Con- 
necticut, and there conducted a black- 
smith shop in association with his father- 
in-law, who about the year 1820 perfected 
the first cast iron plow. Some ten years 
later he invented a cast iron hub for 
wheels and they manufactured plows and 
hubs for several years in a building which 
was standing until recently at Manches- 
ter Green and used as a storehouse. In 
1854 Mr. Cook engaged in quarrying 
granite at Bolton, where he continued ten 
years, at the end of which time he sold 
out his interest and engaged in cultivating 
the farm in the town of Manchester on 
which he had been living for many years. 
Through his varied interests Mr. Cook 
became widely known and enjoyed a high 
reputation among business men of his 
day. On various occasions he was chosen 
to represent his town in the State Legis- 
lature, and for several years he served as 
justice of the peace, assessor and select- 
man. After the organization of the party, 
he continued to sustain Republican prin- 



179 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ciples. Pie was a member of Manchester 
Lodge, No. 73, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, and also of the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows. He was an 
active and faithful member of the Man- 
chester Center Congregational Church. 
He married, June 3, 1837, Mabel Lyman, 
daughter of Benjamin and Mary (Mil- 
lard) Lyman, of Manchester. Benjamin 
Lyman was born in 1778 and died in 
1858, one of the most distinguished men 
of his day at Manchester Green. He was 
a son of Deacon Joseph Lyman, who set- 
tled on a farm in that vicinity at an early 
date. There were a large family of chil- 
dren, Benjamin being the second child. 
Several of the boys moved to Medina, 
New York, and the only daughter of the 
family removed to Illinois. Mr. Lyman 
was a skilled wagonmaker by trade and 
an extensive manufacturer of ox-carts, 
such as were in great demand in that per- 
iod. He was the inventor and patentee of 
the first cast iron wagon hub to come into 
general use. He was also the inventor of 
a cast iron plow which was patented in 
1826, and records show that it was un- 
doubtedly the first cast iron plow on the 
market. The product of his little factory 
found its way into many States of the 
West and South. He represented the 
town of Manchester in the State Legisla- 
ture many times and also served as select- 
man. So well did he stand in his com- 
munity for honesty of purpose and up- 
rightness that he was often selected to 
settle estates. Mr. Lyman cleared and 
owned many acres of land, at one time 
having holdings in five different town- 
ships, although he never resided any- 
where except on the old homestead in 
Manchester Green. At that time that lit- 
tle neighborhood was a very important 
one in the community, having mills and 
several lines of manufacture. It was 
there that the first glass made in America 



was manufactured. A Samuel Bishop 
and one Pitkins received from the gov- 
ernment the privilege of manufacturing 
glass. A factory was later purchased by 
Mr. Lyman from Mr. Bishop and con- 
verted into "a saw and grist mill." As 
can be readily seen, Benjamin Lyman 
was a man of affairs and accumulated 
considerable property for his day, being 
considered at his death one of the wealth- 
iest men of that section. He married 
Mary Millard, daughter of Andrus Mil- 
lard, of French descent, who came to this 
country with Lafayette and was at the 
battle of Bunker Hill. He married a Miss 
Bissell and settled on a farm at Lydal- 
ville, where the Bissells were among the 
most prominent people. They were the 
parents of two daughters and a son, Ben- 
jamin, who died at the age of twenty-one. 
The elder daughter, Mary, never married, 
and the younger one, Mabel Lyman, be- 
came the wife of Aaron Cook, as previ- 
ously noted. 

Aaron Cook, Jr., son of Aaron and 
Mabel (Lyman) Cook, was born on the 
paternal homestead in Manchester Green, 
September 12, 1842. In his youth he 
attended the old brick school house, and 
at the age of twelve years entered the 
East Academy, which was a famous school 
of the neighborhood at that time. He 
grew up accustomed to farm life and was 
of great assistance " to his grandfather, 
Benjamin Lyman, in the management of 
the homestead. At the age of twenty 
years, he enlisted in the cause of his coun- 
try in the Twenty-fifth Volunteer Regi- 
ment, under Colonel G. P. Bissell, for 
a nine months' enlistment period, but 
served his country a year and four days, 
being mustered out, September 4, 1863. 
His regiment was attached to General 
Banks' forces in Louisiana, and went to 
the relief of General Butler at Irish Bend, 
where one-third of the regiment was 



180 







- ^>wW 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



killed. After this engagement, Mr. Cook 
was promoted to the office of sergeant, 
and continued with his company, partici- 
pating in numerous skirmishes and 
accompanying General Banks' forces on 
their Red River Expedition. He was also 
with Banks at Port Hudson, where he 
was in the fight that continued for six 
weeks, and was at the surrender of Port 
Hudson, July 8, 1863. His command then 
moved to the Mississippi river, where 
they had an engagement at Fort Donald- 
son. During his entire service, Mr. Cook 
was fortunate enough to escape being 
wounded or being taken prisoner, but was 
in many a hot fight where a large num- 
ber of his comrades were killed by his 
side. He was a good soldier and officer, 
and at the time of his discharge was 
offered a commission in a colored regi- 
ment, but not being in robust health, he 
decided not to enter the service again. 

Upon his return home, Mr. Cook 
entered the machine shop connected with 
the mills at Manchester Green, where he 
served his time as an apprentice, learning 
the machinist's trade. For the ensuing 
year, he was engaged as a machinist by 
the Hartford Electric Company, Colt's 
Factory and the Mather Company of 
Manchester. Later he was employed by 
the Asa Cook Company of Hartford, 
which firm was engaged in the making of 
machinery for the manufacture of wood 
screws. Mr. Cook retired from the me- 
chanical work to live on the old home- 
stead where his grandfather and father 
had lived before him. There he has spent 
the latter years of his life, managing the 
farm and acting as land surveyor, also 
engaged in the settling of many estates. 
For some years, until he was seventy 
years of age, Mr. Cook was justice of the 
peace. He is a member of Manchester 
Lodge, No. 73, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, and was for three years 
master of the lodge. 



Mr. Cook married, September 17, 1867, 
in East Hartford, Hattie Jewett Richard- 
son, who died in 1884. She was the 
mother of four children: 1. Edith Louise, 
who is a teacher in the Hartford public 
school. 2. Frank Aaron, who lives in 
Hartford, where he is employed as fore- 
man by the Underwood Typewriter Com- 
pany; he married Posta Markum, and 
they have two children, Mary and Edith 
Cook. 3. Richard George, who is a res- 
ident of the State of Washington, and 
employed as a mechanic at the Benning- 
ton Navy Yard ; he married Minnie Aus- 
tin, and they have one daughter, Ruth 
Cook. 4. Arthur, who lives at home with 
his father, one of the leading business 
men of Manchester; he deals in real 
estate and is a successful builder, having 
erected a large number of houses which 
he sells to those desiring homes ; he also 
manages a cider mill which makes apple 
cider and vinegar ; a very successful man 
of affairs ; he is a Republican in politics, 
taking an active part, and served his town 
in the State Legislature in the session of 
1912; Mr. Cook is also a Mason and a 
member of the same lodge as his father ; 
he married, November 20, 1895, Jennie 
May Luce, and they have three children, 
Jennie May, Florence E. and Aaron Cook. 



ROBERTSON, William Post, 

Successful Business Man. 

The name of Robertson is undoubtedly 
of Scotch origin. Although various mem- 
bers of the branch of the family of whom 
Mr. Robertson of this review is a repre- 
sentative have made considerable re- 
search, the name of the immigrant ances- 
tor of the family has not been found up 
to the present time. The first of the line 
of whom we have definite information is 
Daniel Robertson, who, it is supposed, 
was the son of John and Susanna Rob- 
ertson. Among the early settlers of New- 



181 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



bury, Massachusetts, were two John 
Robertsons, one in 1634 and the other in 
1638. One of these may have been the 
progenitor of the following line. 

(I) Daniel Robertson was born March 
17. 1694-95, and died October 25, 1748. 
He married, June 24 1719, Lydia, daugh- 
ter of David and Lydia (Strong) Lee, 
and granddaughter of Jedediah and Free- 
dom (Woodward) Strong. In the Wind- 
ham Probate Records, Vol. II., page 261, 
we find the following entry under date of 
September 12, 1733: "Daniel Robertson 
of Coventry receipt for nine shillings 
willed to his wife Lydia Robertson by her 
honored grandfather, Jedediah Strong." 
Jedediah Strong was born May 7, 1637; 
married November 18, 1662, Freedom 
Woodward, who was baptized at Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts, in 1642, daughter 
of Henry Woodward, afterward of North- 
ampton, and "one of the pillars of the 
church" there, and Elizabeth, his wife. 
Jedediah Strong was a farmer in North- 
ampton until 1709, when he removed with 
his family to Coventry, Connecticut. 
There he died May 22, 1733, aged ninety- 
six years. During the years 1677-78-79 
he was paid eighteen shillings a year for 
blowing the trumpet on Sunday summon- 
ing the people to church. His wife died 

May 17, . Elder John Strong, father 

of Jedediah Strong, was born in Taunton, 
England, in 1605, from whence he re- 
moved to London, and later to Plymouth. 
He was strongly Puritan in his sympa- 
thies, and sailed for the New World on 
March 20, 1630, as one of a company of 
one hundred and forty in the ship "Mary 
and John," which arrived at Nantasket, 
Massachusetts, May 30, 1630. The com- 
pany settled in Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts, of which town he was one of the 
founders. In 1635 he removed to Hing- 
ham. and on March 9, 1636, took the free- 
man's oath at Boston. He is found as a 



resident and a proprietor of Taunton, 
Massachusetts, on December 4, 1638, and 
was there as late as 1645. He was deputy 
from that town to the General Court, 
1641-43-44. We next find him in Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, which had been settled 
in 1636 by some of his Dorchester friends. 
In Windsor he was one of a committee of 
five leading citizens appointed "to super- 
intend and bring forward the settlement 
of that place." In 1659 he removed to 
Northampton, of which he was one of 
the most active founders. There he lived 
for forty years, a leader in town and 
church affairs. He was a prosperous tan- 
ner, and owned considerable land. His 
first wife died on the voyage to America. 
In December, 1630, he married (second) 
Abigail, daughter of Thomas Ford, of 
Dorchester. She died July 6, 1688, hav- 
ing been the mother of sixteen children. 
He died September 14, 1699, aged ninety- 
four years. Thomas Ford came to this 
country in the "Mary and John" with 
John Strong, and was one of the founders 
of Dorchester. He was also one of the 
early settlers of Windsor. Connecticut. 
He was deputy to the General Court in 
1637-38-39-40, and grand juror in 1643. 
His wife died in Windsor, April 18, 1683. 
He removed to Northampton, Massachu- 
setts, in 1659, and died there, Novem- 
ber 28, 1676. 

(II) Ephraim Robertson, son of Dan- 
iel and Lydia (Lee) Robertson, was born 
April 5, 1720, and died July 29, 1752. He 
married January 5, 1743, Hester Rose, 
born August 30, 1721, died January 18, 
1804, daughter of Daniel Rose, Jr. He 
was born in Wethersfield, Connecticut, 
August 20, 1667; married, May 14, 1706, 
Mary Foote, born November 24, 1679, 
daughter of Nathaniel Foote. Accord- 
ing to Savage he settled at Colchester, but 
the Foote genealogy says he settled in 
Coventry. His father gave him twelve 



182 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



acres of the Sherwood homestead on the 
south side of the present Pratt's Ferry- 
road in 1707. Daniel Rose, St., was born 
in England, in 1631, and was brought to 
America by his father in 1634, locating in 
Watertown, from whence they removed 
to Wethersfield in 1635. He married, in 
1664, Elizabeth, daughter of Jonathan 
Goodrich ; she was born November 2, 
1645. Jonathan Goodrich was born in 
England, and died in Wethersfield, Con- 
necticut, in April, 1680. He first appears 
in America on the "Colonial Record of 
Connecticut (Hartford)" November 10, 
1643: juryman, December 4, 1645, and in 
1646 and 1648; held lands in Wethers- 
field in 1644. He married (first) Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Thomas Edwards, in 
1645 ! srie died July 5, 1670. Daniel Rose 
was fence viewer in 1669; pound-keeper, 
1680; drew lands in 1670 and 1694 allot- 
ments and through purchase became pos- 
sessed of large holdings of land. Robert 
Rose, father of Daniel Rose, Sr., was born 
in England, in 1594, and came with his 
wife, Margery, and eight children, from 
Ipswich county, England, in the ship 
"Francis" in 1634. He was one of the 
"Adventurers" from Watertown, Massa- 
chusetts, who first settled in Wethers- 
field. He was a large land owner ; a sol- 
dier in the Pequot War; constable in 
1639-40; juror, 1641 ; representative in 
General Court, 1641-42-43 ; had many 
other offices conferred upon him by the 
town and court. In 1644 he removed to 
what is now Branford, Connecticut. He 
died in 1664. His estate was inventoried 
at £826, 9s., 7d. Nathaniel Foote, whose 
daughter Mary married Daniel Rose, was 
born in Wethersfield, January 14, 1648. 
He settled in Hatfield, Massachusetts. 
He married, May 2, 1672, Margaret, 
daughter of Nathaniel and Margaret 
(Lawrence) Bliss, of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts. After residing in Hatfield two 



years, he removed to Springfield. He 
served in Captain Turner's expedition 
against the Indians at what is now 
Turner's Falls. He next removed to 
Stratford, Connecticut, and thence, in 
February, 1679, to Branford, where he 
was admitted a "Planter" of the town. 
From there he removed to Wethersfield, 
where he resided until his death, January 
12, 1703. He was a house carpenter by 
trade, but the frequent appearance of his 
name on the records of the County Court 
as attorney in cases before that court 
would indicate that he had a considerable 
law practice for those days. His father, 
Nathaniel Foote, born about 1620, died 
1655 ; married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Lieutenant Samuel Smith, of Wethers- 
field. His father, Nathaniel Foote, the 
immigrant ancestor of this family, was 
born in England, in 1593. He married 
Elizabeth Deming, about 1615, and came 
with her and six children to America. He 
was one of the first ten men, known as 
"Adventurers," who settled in Wethers- 
field. He represented the town in the 
General Court. He died in 1644, and his 
widow married Thomas Welles, after- 
wards Governor. She died July 28, 1683. 
(Ill) Daniel (2) Robertson, son of 
Ephraim and Hester (Rose) Robertson, 
was born November 9, 1749, and died 
February 20, 1816. He married, Febru- 
ary 18, 1773, Triphena Janes, born July 
3, 1755, died January 6, 1832, daughter of 
Elisha and Mary (Dimock) Janes. Elisha 
Janes was born in 1715, and married. 
April 23, 1740, Mary Dimock, a widow. 
His father, Benjamin Janes, was born 
September 30, 1672; married Hannah, 
daughter of Samuel Hinsdale, of Hadley, 
Massachusetts. On May 13, 1704, a lit- 
tle settlement of families between Mt. 
Tom and Westfield, Massachusetts, was 
attacked by the Indians, and the wife of 
Benjamin Janes was scalped, but when 



183 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



found was still alive. She was taken to 
Wethersfield and placed in the care of 
Dr. Gershom Bulkley. She recovered 
and lived to be more than eighty years of 
age. In 1712-13 they removed from 
Wethersfield to Coventry, where he built 
a stone house. His father, William Janes, 
was a resident of New Haven in 1637. 

He married Mary , in England. He 

was a prominent member of the colony 
for seventeen years, and a beloved 
teacher. In 1652 the people of Wethers- 
field invited him to come to them and 
"only by consent of the brethren" was he 
permitted to return to New Haven the 
same year. 

(IV) Guy Robertson, son of Daniel (2) 
and Triphena (Janes) Robertson, was 
born April 24, 1778, and died January 15, 
1816. He was a resident of Coventry, 
and was a farmer by occupation. He 
married, March 10, 1807, for his second 
wife, Mehetable Woodworth. She died 
March 31, 1851, aged seventy-six years. 

(V) Gurdon Young Robertson, son of 
Guy and Mehetable (Woodworth) Rob- 
ertson, was born February 29, 1812, and 
died May 20, 1881. He was born in Cov- 
entry, Connecticut, and at the age of six 
years moved with his mother to Columbia, 
Connecticut, where he spent his lifetime. 
After completing his studies in the local 
schools, he learned the trade of hatter and 
later made hats in a shop of his own. 
Subsequently he conducted a general 
store, also he was an agriculturist and 
dealer in general produce, in all of which 
lines he was successful, being enabled to 
provide a comfortable home for his fam- 
ily. He was a strong anti-slavery man, 
and a staunch adherent of the Republican 
party. He married, November 30, 1843, 
Sybil Post, born in Hebron, Connecticut, 
August 26, 1819, died May 2, 1904, daugh- 
ter of Augustus and Betsey Gordon 
(Strong) Post. Children : Jane Wood- 



worth, born November 30, 1844, died May 
J 7- Il ^53; James Perkins, born May 5, 
1847, died August 29, 1871 ; Lafayette 
Janes, born October 16, 1849; William 
Amos, born May 7, 185 1, died September 
3, 1853; Mary Jane, born March 18, 1853, 
died August 30, 1853; Nellie Denslow, 
born December 28, 1855, died January 11, 
1862; William Post, of whom further. 

(VI) William Post Robertson, son of 
Gurdon Young and Sybil (Post) Robert- 
son, was born February 14, 1858, in Co- 
lumbia, Connecticut. He received a prac- 
tical education in the public schools of 
Columbia, and he remained at home until 
he attained his majority. He then went 
to Hartford, Connecticut, entering the 
employ of his uncle, Charles A. Post, a 
grocer. At the expiration of about a year 
and a half, he resigned this position and 
entered the employ of his brother, L. J. 
Robertson. This partnership existed until 
1886, when it was dissolved. He then 
entered into partnership with J. P. New- 
ton, and under the firm name of Newton 
& Robertson conducted a wholesale and 
retail grocery business. In 1893, Henry 
H. Dickinson was admitted into the firm 
and the name changed to Newton, Rob- 
ertson & Company. In 1902 they began 
the manufacture of bakery goods and con- 
fectionery on Asylum street. In 1906, 
they established the Enarco Store and 
Restaurant at No. 858 Main street, and 
in 1914 the Spa at No. 653 Main street. 
These are all profitable enterprises, con- 
ducted in a straightforward and honor- 
able business manner. Mr. Robertson 
holds membership in St. John's Lodge, 
No. 4, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; City Club, Automobile Club, Re- 
publican Club, Chamber of Commerce, 
and Get-Together Club. 

Mr. Robertson married (first) October 
17, 1883, Julia Hortense, daughter of 
James L. Downer, of Columbia, Connec- 



184 



. 




/ ^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ticut. They were the parents of four 
children : Adelaide Hortense, born Jan- 
uary i, 1885, became wife of Harris Mini- 
kin, of South Manchester, Connecticut; 
Hazel Adele, born September 19, 1888; 
William Post, Jr., born June 4, 1892; 
Julia Rebecca, born January 8, 1895. Mrs. 
Robertson died in giving birth to her 
youngest child at the early age of thirty- 
four years. Mr. Robertson married (sec- 
ond) May 20, 1896, Mary Agnes Beards- 
ley. She died February 23, 1902. Mr. 
Robertson married (third) October 27, 
1903, Olive M. Allen, daughter of Frank 
N. and Mary Abbe Allen, of Hartford, 
Connecticut. The family are members of 
Emmanuel Congregational Church. 



THOMPSON, Charles E., 

Man of Many Activities. 

For over half a century Colonel Thomp- 
son has been a resident of the city of 
Hartford, that residence broken only by 
two years spent in Providence, Rhode 
Island. Forty-two years of that period 
have been in the service of the Con- 
necticut Mutual Life Insurance Company 
in a responsible position. He has been 
active, influential and useful to a high de- 
gree in the social and religious work of 
the community. He is a member of the 
Twentieth Century Club, and in 1916 was 
president of the Connecticut Congrega- 
tional Club. He is a descendant on the 
maternal side of Roger Wolcott, a Gov- 
ernor of Connecticut, and of Governor 
William Bradford, of the Plymouth Col- 
ony, and now holds the office of Deputy 
Governor of the Society of Mayflower 
Descendants in the State of Connecticut. 

Charles E. Thompson was born Feb- 
ruary 26, 1847, in Rockville, Connecticut, 
and there he resided until 1863. He 
attended the public schools, finishing at 
High School, and at the age of sixteen 



left home to accept a position in the office 
of the Cheney Brothers Silk Manufactur- 
ing Company, at Hartford. He remained 
in that position for ten years, 1863 to 
1873, and then spent two years in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, returning to Hart- 
ford in 1875. He entered the service of 
the Connecticut Mutvial Life Insurance 
Company, January 24, 1876, and from 
that time has been continuously in that 
employ, rising through various promo- 
tions to his present responsible position 
in the financial department. In his youth 
and young manhood Mr. Thompson was 
actively interested in the National Guard 
of Connecticut. On August 16, 1865, he 
enlisted as a private in Battery D, Light 
Artillery, which was attached to the First 
Regiment, National Guard of Connecti- 
cut. On January 20, 1868, he was ap- 
pointed corporal, and was discharged July 
24, 1871. He was the originator of Com- 
pany K, of the First Regiment, enlisting 
in the command, February 10, 1879, and 
on that same date was elected to the first 
lieutenantcy, and on January 31, 1883, he 
was chosen captain of Company F, Hart- 
ford City Guard, of the First Regiment. 
He was advanced to the lieutenant- 
colonelcy of the regiment, January 22, 
1890. He is now on the retired list. Dur- 
ing the period that Captain Thompson 
commanded the City Guard the company 
stood at the head of the brigade in fig- 
ures of merit. The credit and distinction 
which he won as a line officer were 
accorded to him without dissent through- 
out the entire National Guard, as a field 
officer of the First. In personal honor, 
instinct and training, Lieutenant-Colonel 
Thompson is the ideal military leader. 
In March, 1890, he was elected major 
commanding the Veteran City Guard ; in 
1889, he was captain commanding Com- 
pany K, Veteran Corps ; for one year he 
was the military instructor at the West 



185 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Middle School in Hartford. During the 
presidential campaign of 1888, he was in 
command of the Harrison and Morton 
battalion of Hartford. Lieutenant-Colonel 
Thompson originated the present signal 
for calling out the city companies in case 
of emergency by means of the alarm fire 
bell. At the time of the Park Central 
Hotel disaster the signal was sounded for 
the first time, being ordered by Governor 
Bulkeley, and within twenty minutes one 
hundred men were en route from the arm- 
ory in uniform and armed for the scene 
of the calamity. The service rendered 
by the Guard at that time under the com- 
mand of Colonel Cone and his associate 
field officers was invaluable. 

Colonel Thompson for many years has 
taken a deep interest in religious work, 
both in the church and societies working 
along philanthropic lines. For several 
years he was assistant superintendent of 
the Center Congregational Church Sun- 
day School. He has served as treas- 
urer of the Asylum Hill Congregational 
Church for twenty-seven years, from 1881 
to 1908, and since 1879 has been a mem- 
ber of the board of deacons. For one 
year he was treasurer of the Connecticut 
Temperance Union, of which Governor 
Buckingham was the first president. Al- 
though Colonel Thompson's heart was in 
the work, the increasing weight of his 
business responsibilities caused him to 
decline reelection. From 1894 to 1898, he 
was president of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association of Hartford, and has 
served twenty-five years on its board of 
directors. He was for several years pres- 
ident of the City Missionary Society, and 
is auditor of the Connecticut Humane So- 
ciety. As chairman of the High School 
Committee for four years, ending June, 
1900, he was connected with the building 
and equipment of the manual training 
school addition and previously, in 1895, 



had been treasurer of the High School, 
this service indicating the keen interest 
he has always taken in the advancement 
of the school. He has never taken active 
part in political affairs, his interest being 
confined to the institutions named. 

Colonel Thompson married, September 
14, 1868, Abby Frances Allen, daughter of 
Charles and Harriet R. (Sharpe) Allen, 
of Hartford. They are the parents of a 
son and two daughters: 1. Arthur R., 
the class poet, and graduate of Yale Uni- 
versity in the class of 1896; he is also 
connected with the Connecticut Mutual 
Life Insurance Company ; he accom- 
panied Dr. Cook's expedition to Green- 
land in 1894, and his works "Gold Seek- 
ers along the Dalton Trail" and "Ship- 
wrecked in Greenland," are from the 
press of Little, Brown & Company, of 
Boston. 2. Harriet M., a graduate of the 
Hartford High School; married, July 17, 
1900, Professor Alfred M. Hitchcock, 
English instructor in the Hartford Lligh 
School. 3. Emma J., a graduate of the 
high school ; married October 7, 1916, Mr. 
E. Sidney Berry, assistant secretary and 
counsel of the Hartford Steam Boiler and 
Inspection Company ; he graduated from 
Harvard University. 

Colonel Thompson has been elected 
annually since May 24, 1910, to the office 
of major commanding the Robert O. 
Tyler Post, Citizens Corps, and was 
chosen grand marshal of the parade held 
in Hartford, October 4, 191 1, by the sur- 
viving members of the Grand Army of 
the Republic, then in Connecticut. He is 
a member of the Connecticut Society Sons 
of the American Revolution, and of Gov- 
ernor Jeremiah Wadsworth Branch of 
the same society. Colonel Thompson is 
a charter member of the "League to En- 
force Peace," which was organized in 
Independence Hall, Philadelphia, June 
17, 1915, and was present at all the meet- 



186 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ings connected therewith. He is also a 
member of the executive committee of 
the Connecticut Peace Society, whose 
members give unqualified support to the 
government in the prosecution of the war 
in the interests of humanity, but hope and 
strive for a day when the sword shall 
not be drawn until arbitration between 
nations has failed to prevent the horrors 
of war. Colonel Thompson is president 
of the Thompson Family Association, 
which holds biennial meetings with an 
attendance of about two hundred descend- 
ants of their pioneer ancestors, William 
and Mary Thompson, of Scotland. 



SPENCER, Charles Luther, 

Banker. 

A worthy scion of one of New Eng- 
land's oldest Colonial families, Mr. Spen- 
cer exemplifies in his life and career the 
qualities of determination, stability and 
industry which founded this Nation under 
most trying conditions in a struggle 
with savage foes and an unbroken wild- 
erness. The Spencer family is one of the 
oldest in Connecticut, and has been 
traced back through eleven generations 
to Michael and Elizabeth Spencer, who 
were residents of Stratford, in Bedford- 
shire, England, in the middle of the six- 
teenth century. 

Their son, Jared Spencer, was baptized 
in Stratford, May 20, 1576. He came 
with his wife Alice and five sons to Amer- 
ica in 1632, and located at Cambridge, 
Massachusetts. One of the sons, John, 
returned to England, one remained in 
Cambridge, two settled at Hartford, and 
one in Haddam, Connecticut. 

Thomas Spencer, the eldest, known as 
Sergeant Thomas Spencer, the progenitor 
of the Suffield branch of the family, was 
born March 27, 1607, in Stratford. In 
1635 he and his brother William came to 



Flartford with Rev. Thomas Hooker's 
company. He was an inhabitant of Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, as early as 1633, 
and is supposed to have been the Thomas 
Spencer who took the freeman's oath, 
May 14, 1634. In 1639 he had become a 
resident of Hartford, Connecticut, owned 
land there and was chosen a sergeant 
of Hartford, March 7, 1650. He was 
chimney-viewer in 1650; constable in 
1657, and surveyor of highways in 1672. 
He owned land in Soldier's Field, indi- 
cating that he had served in the Pequot 
War in 1637, and in 1671 was granted 
sixty acres of land by the General Court 
"for his good service in the country." 
His will was dated September 9, 1686, 
and he died September 11, 1687. Nothing 
is known of his first wife except that she 
was the mother of Thomas Spencer. 

Thomas Spencer, born in Hartford, set- 
tled in Suffield in time to be a voter at 
the first town meeting. There he engaged 
in farming until his death, July 23, 1689. 
He married Esther, daughter of William 
Andrews. She died in Suffield, March 
6, 1698. 

Their second son, Samuel Spencer, was 
born in Suffield, where he was a farmer, 
and died November 23, 1743. He mar- 
ried, March 18, 1700, Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Daniel Mascroft, of Roxbury, Mas- 
sachusetts, and they had two sons, 
Thomas and Daniel. 

The senior son, Thomas Spencer, was 
born January 13, 1702, in Suffield, was a 
farmer, served as lieutenant in the French 
and Indian War, and died February 4, 
1754. He married, December 15, 1720, 
Mary Trumbull, born December 2, 1701, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (Win- 
chell) Trumbull. She was a descendant 
of John Trumbull, a cooper, who came to 
New England from Newcastle-on-Tyne, 
settled at Rowley, Massachusetts, in 1640, 
and filled the offices of town clerk and 



187 



i:\CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



school master. He married, in England, 
in 1635, Eleanor Chandler. 1 1 is eldest 
son, John Trumbull, was the grandfather 
of Governor Jonathan Trumbull, of Con- 
necticut. His second son, Joseph Trum- 
bull, was born March 19, 1647, in Rowley, 
and settled in Suffield, Connecticut, in 
1670. The perilous conditions during 
King Philip's War drove the settlers away 
from that section, but in 1676 he returned 
there, was a freeman in 1681, and one of 
the few qualified voters at the first town 
meeting. His homestead was on the bank 
of the Connecticut river. He married, 
May 6, 1669, Hannah, daughter of Hugh 
and Mary Smith, of Rowley, born March 
24, 1647. Their eldest child was John 
Trumbull, who was born November 27, 
1670, in Rowley, and settled in Enfield, 
Connecticut, in 1694, removing thence, in 
1700. to Suffield, where he died January 
3, 1751. He married there, September 3, 
1696, Elizabeth, daughter of David and 
Elizabeth (Filley) Winchell, of Suffield, 
born December 9, 1675, in Windsor, Con- 
necticut. Their third daughter was Mary 
Trumbull, who became the wife of 
Thomas Spencer, as above related. 

Their youngest son, Hezekiah Spencer, 
born December 16, 1740, was a farmer in 
Suffield, and died August 3, 1797. He mar- 
ried, March 4, 1762, Olive Nott, born Oc- 
tober 11, 1735, in Wethersfield, died Feb- 
ruary 2, 1771, daughter of William and 
Abigail Nott, granddaughter of Sergeant 
John and Patience (Miller) Nott, great- 
granddaughter of John and Ann Nott, 
who were in Wethersfield in 1636. 

Hezekiah Spencer, son of Hezekiah and 
Olive (Nott) Spencer, born April 30, 1766, 
was a farmer, a staunch Whig in politics, 
a leading member of the Baptist church, 
and died October 12, 1820. He married, 
June 5, 1793, Jerusha Nelson, born De- 
cember 17, 1771, in Suffield, died August 
17. 1854. 



They were the parents of Hezekiah 
Spencer, who was born in Suffield, was 
reared on the paternal homestead, sharing 
in the outdoor life of the farm, and 
acquiring a sound frame and high ideals. 
He became a dealer in furs in the city of 
Hartford, and was the only representative 
in the American market of one of the 
large importing houses of Leipsic, Ger- 
many. He married Cecelia Spencer, and 
they were the parents of four children : 
Thaddeus H., Israel Luther, Calvin C. 
and Celia Jennie. 

Israel Luther Spencer, second son of 
Hezekiah and Cecelia (Spencer) Spencer, 
was born May 3, 1833, in Suffield, where 
he continued to make his home, and died 
December 31, 1897. He enjoyed the ordi- 
nary advantages incident to life on the 
home farm, and the educational oppor- 
tunities supplied by the town school. In 
early manhood he traveled westward and 
saw a great deal of wild life while carry- 
ing on the business of buying furs from 
the Indians for his father. It was in this 
business that he laid the foundation of his 
future success. He made several fortu- 
nate investments, and was for many years 
reckoned as a capitalist. Early inter- 
ested in political movements, he was a 
member of the Republican party from its 
organization, and was elected on its ticket 
in 1863 to represent the town of Suffield 
in the Lower House of the State Legisla- 
ture. In 1879-80 he was a Senator from 
what was then the second district, served 
as chairman of the committee on insur- 
ance, and made a record for thorough 
investigation and understanding of public 
questions, and for absolute uprightness as 
a legislator. In 1884 he was a candidate 
for presidential elector on the Blaine 
ticket, and in 1888 was a delegate to the 
National Republican Convention, and 
would have presented the name of Mr. 
Blaine as a candidate for the nomination 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



for president had he not been bound by 
a promise previously made to Major Wil- 
liam McKinley. In 1877 Mr. Spencer 
was chosen president of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Suffield, and continued in 
that position until his death. He was 
made a director of the Travelers' Insur- 
ance Company of Hartford in 1893, was 
active in the affairs of the company, and 
a member of its finance committee. He 
married (first) Julia Pease, daughter of 
Perry Pease, of Dayton, Ohio. She died 
in 1875, leaving three children: Charles 
L. ; Clara, now the wife of Charles C. 
Bissell, of Suffield ; and Emma Pease, 
deceased. Mr. Spencer married (second) 
Emily, daughter of William H. Fuller. 
Israel L. Spencer was a man of upright 
nature and shrewd business capacity, in- 
tensely public-spirited, and interested in 
the progress of his town, his State 
and his country. His cordial and kind- 
hearted manner won for him a great many 
friends in the State and beyond its bor- 
ders, who felt his death as a personal loss. 
Charles Luther Spencer, only son of 
Israel Luther and Julia (Pease) Spencer, 
was born January 8, i860, in Suffield, 
and by his own success in the business 
world has reflected credit on an honored 
name and gained high standing in his 
native State. His boyhood was passed in 
his native town, in whose public schools 
the foundation of his education was laid. 
Subsequently he was a student at the 
Connecticut Literary Institute, and began 
his business career in 1878 as a packer 
and dealer in leaf tobacco. In this line 
of endeavor he continued with unvarying 
success until 1900, when he became pres- 
ident of the First National Bank of Suf- 
field. This position he continued to hold 
until 1912, since which time he has been 
president of the Connecticut River Bank- 
ing Company of Hartford. Since 1898 he 
has been a director and member of the 



finance committee of the Travelers' In- 
surance Company, and has been vice- 
president of the Travelers' Bank and 
Trust Company since 1913. He has given 
much attention to insurance problems; 
was a director of the /Etna Fire Insur- 
ance Company, and in 1911-13, while a 
member of the State Legislature, served 
on its finance committee and on the com- 
mittee on banking; in Senate, 1917, chair- 
man of finance committee. An unusual 
tribute to the worth of the man was his 
nomination for representative in the Leg- 
islature by both parties in the town of 
Suffield. Mr. Spencer has always been a 
steadfast supporter of the Republican 
party, though he has never had any aspir- 
ation for political preferment. He takes 
an active interest in public affairs, and 
has always been found ready to support 
any measures or movements that will 
enhance the general welfare. His dispo- 
sition is to be frank, open and generous. 
He is forceful and possesses a strong 
determination, yet is tactful and diplo- 
matic withal. His courtesy is unfailing, 
his friends are legion, and his sane judg- 
ment and sterling character have won for 
him the fullest measure of confidence in 
the business world. Mr. Spencer is a 
member of the Hartford Club, and has 
been as active in the Masonic fraternity 
as his many business responsibilities 
would permit. In 19 13 he presented to 
the Masons of Suffield a building for their 
use. He is a member of Apollo Lodge, 
No. 59, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of that town ; of Washington Chap- 
ter, No. 30, Royal Arch Masons, of Suf- 
field ; of Suffield Council, Royal and Se- 
lect Masters ; of Washington Command- 
ery, No. 1, Knights Templar, of Hart- 
ford, and the Consistory. He is a trus- 
tee of the Hartford Society for Savings, 
of the Hartford Retreat, and a director 
of the Travelers' Indemnity Company, the 



189 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Connecticut Literary Institute of Suf- 
field, and chairman of the finance commit- 
tee of several other corporations. While 
Mr. Spencer is progressive in his ideas 
and practices, he is yet sufficiently con- 
servative to make a careful and efficient 
banking official. With frank and engag- 
ing manners, he impresses all at once 
with his sincerity and modesty. He is 
widely known for his generous and char- 
itable nature, kindly disposition and 
innate humanity. 

Mr. Spencer was married. October 12, 
1881, to Florence T. Smith, daughter of 
Martin H. Smith, for many years judge 
of probate in Suffield. They had chil- 
dren : Julia Florence, now deceased, wife 
of E. S. Goldthwaite ; Charles Luther, 
teller in the Suffield Bank ; and Lillian 
Clara. 



CAMP, John Spencer, 

Musician, Composer. 

Mr. Camp's ancestors were among the 
earliest settlers of Connecticut, the first 
in this country being Nicholas Camp, 
who was born about 1606, at Nasing, 
England, son of John and Mary Camp, and 
came from Nasing, County Essex, to this 
country in 1638. He was at Watertown, 
Massachusetts, for a time, then at Weth- 
ersfield, Connecticut, and in 1639 appears 
at Guilford, Connecticut. As early as 
1646 he had a house lot of six acres, one 
right and two parcels, in Milford, Con- 
necticut ; his name is on the list of free 
planters of Milford dated November 20, 
1639, and he joined the Milford church, 
November 2, 1643. His first wife, Sarah, 
died September 6, 1645, an d was the first 
adult buried in Milford. He married 
(second) the widow of John Tilley, of 
Windsor. 

In 1670-71-72 his son, Nicholas (2) 
Camp, born 1630, was representative; 



was taxed on one hundred and ninety- 
nine pounds of property at Milford; con- 
ducted a store at the "West End ;" was 
accepted an inhabitant of Derby in May, 
1673, and died at Milford, June 10, 1706. 
He married, July 14, 1652, Katherine 
Thompson, widow of Anthony Thomp- 
son, of New Haven. 

Joseph Camp, third son of Nicholas (2) 
and Katherine (Thompson) Camp, was 
born December 15, 1657, in Milford. grad- 
uated from Harvard College in 1677, and 
died May 20, 1750, in Milford. He mar- 
ried Hannah Rogers, born 1664, died Jan- 
uary 9, 1740, daughter of Eleazer Rogers, 
who was a freeman at Milford in 1669. 

The eldest son of Joseph and Hannah 
(Rogers) Camp was Nathan Camp, born 
1690, died February 27, 1767. He was an 
early settler in Durham, Connecticut, 
which town he represented in the General 
Assembly fifteen years. He married, Jan- 
uary 1, 1 71 7, Rhoda Parsons, born 1694, 
in Northampton, Massachusetts, died July 
1, 1767, in Durham, daughter of Samuel 
and Rhoda (Taylor) Parsons, of North- 
ampton, and late in life of Durham. 

Their third son, Elah Camp, born May 
20, baptized May 29, 1729, died October 
17, 1787, in Durham. He married, May 
14, 1760, Phebe Baldwin, baptized Octo- 
ber 1, 1732, in Milford, daughter of Ezra 
and Ruth Baldwin, of that town, later of 
Durham. Elah Camp and his wife were 
members of the Durham church in 1804. 

Their second son, Elias Camp, was 
born August 28, 1765, in Durham, where 
he made his home, and where he died. 
He married, October 17, 1788, Elizabeth 
Spencer, daughter of Stephen Spencer, 
also a descendant of one of the oldest 
Connecticut families. She was a descend- 
ant of Ensign Jared Spencer, one of the 
four brothers who came from England 
before the middle of the seventeenth cen- 
tury and settled in New England. They 
90 











k/^UUuCGA/ L^OMtJb 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



were legatees of their uncle, Sir Richard 
Spencer, of London, England, son of Ger- 
rard or Jerrard Spencer, of Stotfold, Eng- 
land. Ensign Jared Spencer was born in 
Stotfold, baptized April 28, 1614, came 
to New England in 1632, was living in 
Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 1637, and 
was a made a freeman of the Massachu- 
setts Bay Colony, March 9, 1637. He 
owned land on the south side of the river 
in Cambridge, and moved tG Lynn, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he was granted the 
ferry, March 13, 1638, the grant to con- 
tinue for two years. On Christmas Day 
of that year he was a juryman from Lynn 
at the County Court, was chosen an 
ensign of the train band in June, 1656, 
was grand juror in 1659, and was living 
in Connecticut in 1660. His home was 
probably in Hartford for a short time, and 
in 1662 he and his son John were among 
the twenty-eight purchasers of the town 
of Haddam, Connecticut. According to 
the records he was the wealthiest man of 
the town, was admitted freeman in 1672, 
was ensign of the militia, representative to 
the General Court for six years, and died 
in 1685. His wife's name was Hannah, 
and their second son was Thomas Spen- 
cer, born about 1650, and lived in the 
Westbrook Society of Saybrook, Connec- 
ticut. He married Elizabeth Bates, of 
Haddam, daughter of James (3) and Ann 
(Withington) Bates, born about 1652. 
She was descended from Thomas Bates, 
a resident of Lydd, parish of All Hal- 
lows, County Kent, England, where he 
died 1485. His son, John Bates, who died 
there in 1522, was the father of Andrew 
Bates, who died in 1533. John (2) Bates, 
son of Andrew Bates, died at Lydd in 
1580, leaving four sons. Of these, 
Thomas Bates lived in Lydd with his 
wife Mary, and their eldest son, James 
Bates, was baptized there December 2, 
1552, died there 1614. His second son 



was James (2) Bates, born December 2, 
1582. He came to America at the age 
of fifty-three years, became a husband- 
man or planter at Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts, was admitted a freeman, December 
7, 1636, was selectman in the following 
year, subsequently deputy to the General 
Court, ruling elder of the church, and 
died in 1655. His widow Alice died Au- 
gust 14, 1657. Their second son was 
James (3) Bates, born December 19, 
1624, at Lydd, settled at Haddam, Con- 
necticut, with other Dorchester men, mar- 
ried Ann, daughter of Henry Withington, 
one of the founders of Dorchester, and 
was himself one of the founders of the 
church at Haddam. In 1669 he lived in 
the adjoining town of Saybrook, was 
deputy to the General Court in 1671, and 
later. His daughter Elizabeth became the 
wife of Thomas Spencer, as above noted. 
Thomas Spencer, son of Thomas and 
Elizabeth (Bates) Spencer, was born in 
1678, lived in Westbrook, and died in 
1723-24. He married, in 1702, Ann 
Douglas, daughter of Deacon William 
and Abiah (Hough) Douglas, of New 
London. Deacon William Douglas was 
born in 1610, probably in Scotland, son 
of Robert Douglas, who was born about 
1588. In 1636 William Douglas married 
Ann, born 1610, daughter of Thomas 
Mattle, of Bingstead, Northamptonshire, 
England. They came to New England in 

1640, settled at Gloucester, removed to 
Boston, where they remained for a short 
time, and to Ipswich, Massachusetts, in 

1641, and returned to Boston four years 
later. Soon after 1660 he removed with 
his family to New London, was one of the 
deacons of the church there, and died July 
26, 1682. His wife died about 1685. 
Their youngest child, Deacon William 
Douglas, was born April 1, 1645, m Bos- 
ton, and married Abiah Hough, born 
September 15, 1648, daughter of William 



191 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Sarah (Caulkins) Hough, grand- 
daughter of Edward Hough, of Cheshire, 
England. The latter's widow, Elizabeth, 
came with her son to this country and 
died in Gloucester, Massachusetts, in 
1672, aged eighty-five years. Her son, 
William Hough, a housewright by trade, 
born in Cheshire, England, settled at 
Gloucester, was a town officer in 1650, 
and married there, October 28, 1645, 
Sarah, daughter of Hugh and Ann Caul- 
kins, later of New London. He moved 
to Saybrook and settled at New London, 
where he died August 10, 1683. His sec- 
ond daughter was Abiah, above named, 
wife of Deacon William Douglas. They 
were the parents of Ann Douglas, wife 
of Thomas Spencer. Their second and 
first surviving son was Thomas Spencer, 
born February 23, 1708, died 1764. His 
first wife's name was Deborah, and he 
married (second) Submit Hull, born Feb- 
ruary 23, 1690, in Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Thomas and Rachel 
(Holton) Strong, granddaughter of Elder 
John Strong, who was the ancestor of a 
very large American family. He was 
born in 1605, in Taunton, England, son 
of Richard Strong. The family was orig- 
inally located in Shropshire, England, and 
one of its members married an heiress of 
Griffith, in Wales, whither he went in 
1545. Richard Strong, of the Welsh 
branch, born in 1561, moved to Taunton, 
England, where he died in 1613. His son, 
Elder John Strong, lived at London and 
Plymouth, England, sailing from the lat- 
ter port, March 20, 1630, in the ship 
"Mary and John," and settled in Dorches- 
ter, Massachusetts. In 1635 ne moved to 
Hingham, where he was made freeman, 
March g, 1636, and before December 4, 
1638, settled at Taunton, where he was 
on the list of inhabitants and proprietors 
at that date. He represented Taunton 
three terms in the General Court, and 



moved, about 1645, to Windsor, Connecti- 
cut, where he was a prominent citizen. 
For forty years he was active and influen- 
tial in Northampton, Massachusetts, in 
whose settlement he shared, and was a 
prosperous tanner and husbandman, or- 
dained May 13, 1663, ruling elder of the 
church. He married, in December, 1630, 
as second wife, Abigail, daughter of 
Thomas Ford, of Dorchester. She died 
July 6, 1698, aged about eighty, and he 
died April 14, 1699, aged ninety-four. 
The eldest child of the second wife was 
Thomas Strong, born about 1635, in 
Windsor, where he was a trooper in 
1658 under Major Munson. In 1659 ne 
removed to Northampton with the Con- 
necticut colonists, and died there October 
3, 1689. He married (second) October 
10, 1671, Rachel, daughter of Deacon Wil- 
liam Holton, of Northampton. Deacon 
Holton was one of the first settlers of 
Hartford, whence he removed to North- 
ampton, and was deacon of the church 
there, ordained June 13, 1663, was repre- 
sentative to the General Court in 1667 
and 1669, died August 12, 1691, aged 
about eighty years. His widow Mary 
died November 16, 1691. Her youngest 
child was Submit Strong, born February 
23, 1690, after the death of her father. 
She became the wife of Thomas Spencer. 
The eldest child of this marriage was 
Stephen Spencer, who lived in Durham, 
Connecticut, and was the father of Eliza- 
beth Spencer, who became the wife of 
Elias Camp. 

Their youngest child was John Spencer 
Camp, born July 17, 1797. He married, Oc- 
ber 15, 1822, Parnel Camp, who was born 
October 6, 1799, and died in May, 1888, 
daughter of Israel and Rhoda (Smithson) 
Camp, a descendant of Nicholas Camp, 
through his grandson John Camp, son of 
Samuel Camp. John Camp, born Sep- 
tember 14, 1662, married Mary, daughter 



192 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Joseph Northrop. Captain Israel 
Camp, their son, was born February 16, 
1723, in Durham, served as ensign and 
afterward as captain in the American 
militia, and died May 6, 1778. He mar- 
ried (second) December 24, 1766, Mary 
Guernsey, born October 12, 1734, in Mil- 
ford, daughter of Captain Ebenezer and 
Rhoda Guernsey. They were the parents 
of Israel Camp, born January 29, 1768, in 
Durham, died November 5, 1807. He 
married, May 3, 1789, Rhoda Smithson, 
born October 30, 1768, daughter of Rob- 
ert and Phebe Smithson. His sixth child 
was Parnel Camp, who became the wife 
of John Spencer Camp, as previously 
related. 

The eldest child of this marriage was 
John N. Camp, born May 17, 1824, died 
May 21, 1893. He married (first) March 
14, 1853, Mary Gleason, who died Feb- 
ruary 7, 1858. He married (second) Oc- 
tober 12, 1859, Sarah Gould Williams. 
Anna Sheldon Camp, eldest child of the 
second marriage, born October 1, i860, is 
the wife of Professor E. Hershey Sneath, 
of Yale University, elsewhere mentioned 
at length in this work. 

John Spencer Camp, son of John N. 
Camp, and youngest child of his first wife, 
Mary (Gleason) Camp, was born January 
30, 1858, in Middletown, Connecticut, and 
prepared for college at Durham Acad- 
emy. Entering Wesleyan University, he 
was graduated in the class of 1878, with 
the degree of A. B., and two years later 
received that of M. A. After leaving col- 
lege he entered the law office of Hon. 
Samuel L. Warner, of Middletown, and 
while pursuing his legal course studied 
the Latin language. Being gifted with a 
remarkable musical talent, he soon aban- 
doned the idea of becoming a lawyer, and 
devoted his entire attention to the pro- 
fession of music. At the age of fourteen 
years he began its study under private 

Conn— 5— 13 I 



instructors, and in time came under the 
direction of world-famous musicians, 
among whom were Harry Rowe Shelley, 
Dudley Buck, Samuel P. Warren, and 
Dvorak, who gave instruction for a time 
at the National Conservatory of Music, 
in New York. Mr. Camp studied the 
piano with E. A. Parsons, of New Plaven. 
His first professional employment as a 
musician was in the capacity of organist 
in the Davenport Church of New Haven, 
being then twenty years of age. At the 
end of a year he resigned, and did not 
play in public for a like period. He next 
engaged as organist with the Park Con- 
gregational Church of Hartford, Con- 
necticut, where he continued in that ca- 
pacity until the spring of 1906. In that 
year he went to the First Church of 
Christ of Hartford in the same capacity, 
and has so continued to the present time. 
During all these years he has been 
engaged in composition, was a director 
of the Hartford Philharmonic Society for 
ten years, taking this position at an early 
period in its history. He greatly aided 
in the development of this musical organ- 
ization to its present high efficiency. In 
the summer of 191 1, Mr. Camp was com- 
pelled to abandon temporarily all his 
musical activities because of a nervous 
breakdown. Among his writings may be 
mentioned the Forty-sixth Psalm for 
chorus and orchestra ; The Song of the 
Wind, ballet, for chorus and orchestra ; 
The Prince of Peace, a Christmas Can- 
tata, solos, chorus and organ ; Morning 
Star, Christmas Cantata, solos, chorus 
and organ ; The Prince of Life, Easter 
Cantata, solos, chorus and organ, to 
which might be added a long list of mis- 
cellaneous anthems and songs. He has 
written a Spring Song for orchestra, 
Chant D'Amour for orchestra alone; a 
string quartet in G major. In addition 
to his many activities as a musician, Mr. 



93 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Camp has engaged in important busi- 
ness enterprises. In 1898 he became vice- 
president and treasurer of the Pratt & 
Cady Company, and continued in that 
position until 191 1, when he was com- 
pelled to relinquish his activities, as pre- 
viously stated. Before the close of that 
year, he had sufficiently recovered to 
give some attention to business, and 
became treasurer of the Austin Organ 
Company, a position which he still fills. 
He is also a trustee of the Society for 
Savings and of the Young Women's 
Christian Association. While in college 
he was a member of the Delta Kappa 
Epsilon, and a senior society called the 
Owl and Wand. He is also associ- 
ated with numerous social organizations, 
being a member of the Hartford Club, 
University Club, Twentieth Century 
Club, Congregational Club of Connecti- 
cut, Twilight Club, D K E Club of New 
York, the Hartford Golf Club. He is a 
member of the Musicians Club of New 
York, and is one of the founders of the 
National Guild of Organists, in which he 
served several years as a member of the 
council. He married Susie Virginia 
Healy. 



WATKINS, Clarence G., 

Business Man, Public Official. 

Clarence G. Watkins was born May 30, 
1854, in Eastford, Connecticut, a son of 
Lyman Bruce and Loraine Betsey (Con- 
verse) Watkins, of that town. His father 
operated a saw mill for some years, sub- 
sequently moving to Manchester, Connec- 
ticut, as superintendent of the Joslin Sash 
and Blind Factory. 

Clarence G. Watkins attended the pub- 
lic schools and the Manchester Academy. 
On the death of his father, at the early 
age of sixteen, he was obliged to leave 
school and entered the employ of the 



Joslin Sash and Blind Company, where 
he remained three years. Ambitious to 
be getting on and with enterprising ideas, 
he decided to engage in business on his 
own account, and at the age of twenty 
years, in association with his brother, F. 
Ernest Watkins, he purchased the under- 
taking business of James William Pin- 
ney. This was on October 8, 1874. Soon 
after the brothers bought out the furniture 
business of William H. Cheney. In 1891 
they erected the building which the bus- 
iness now occupies at the corner of Main 
and School streets, South Manchester. 
This building was at that time the largest 
furniture house in any town in New Eng- 
land. Soon after entering the new store 
a new department was opened by the pur- 
chase of a few pianos. From this small 
beginning has grown the great piano bus- 
iness so well known throughout the State. 
In 1905 the firm purchased the stock and 
took over the store formerly occupied by 
Woods & McCann, of Hartford. In 1914 
they bought out the William Wander & 
Sons Company of Hartford, including the 
splendid building at No. 241 Asylum 
street. At that time William Wander & 
Sons were the oldest Steinway dealers in 
the United States. The business was 
incorporated in 1912 under the name of 
Watkins Brothers, Incorporated. The 
headquarters are still- in South Manches- 
ter, with a flourishing store in Bristol, 
beside the splendid music store in Hart- 
ford. Personally the Watkins brothers 
were very popular. Clarence G. Watkins 
was elected to represent the town of Man- 
chester in the State Assembly in 1890- 
91, and subsequently served his town for 
a period of ten years as first selectman. 
He was the first president of the Man- 
chester Trust Company and held that 
office until his death. He was also the 
first president of the Chamber of Com- 
merce. At the time of the San Francisco 



194 





S5S^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



earthquake he acted as chairman of a 
local committee to collect funds for the 
aid of the stricken city, and from this 
sprang the local chapter of the American 
Red Cross, Mr. Watkins being the first 
president. Mr. Watkins was not asso- 
ciated with any clubs nor societies other 
than the Second Advent Church of New 
Britain, of which he was a trustee. In 
political principles he was a sound Re- 
publican. Clarence G. Watkins died Sep- 
tember 7, 1915, at his home in South 
Manchester, where he had continued to 
reside throughout his business career. 

He was married in Wapping, Connec- 
ticut, in 1877, to Jennie E. Thrall, who sur- 
vives. She is a daughter of Norman and 
Harriet (Grant) Thrall, one of the old 
Windsor Grant families from which Pres- 
ident Ulysses S. Grant was descended. 
Mr. and Mrs. Watkins were the parents 
of the following children : Florice A., 
born March 9, 1879, married S. Culyer 
Jenkins, of Hampton, Virginia, and is 
now deceased ; C. Elmore, born July 3, 
1882; Lura C. (Watkins) Rush, born 
November 20, 1883 ! Ralph C, born April 
11, 1888, died July 30, 1902. 



SNEATH, Elias H., 

Educator, Author. 

The Sneath family is one of promi- 
nence in England, where it is very large 
and well established. The branch of the 
English family from which the Ameri- 
can Sneaths herein dealt with are de- 
scendants, settled in Ireland during the 
Revolutionary period, driven there per- 
haps by the confiscation of lands which 
was prevalent on all sides, or perhaps by 
revulsion against the debauchery and 
degeneration then rife in England. The 
accession of Charles the Second to the 
throne initiated a period of unrest and 
social decadence in England, which 



brought with it later the natural upris- 
ing of the sane and more sober of the 
populace, and culminated in the stern 
hatred and enmity of the Royalists and 
Roundheads, as the supporters of Crom- 
well were derisively called. It is a mat- 
ter of record that the members of the 
Sneath family supported Cromwell in 
his effort to restore order and peace in 
England, for one William Sneath, of Bos- 
ton, England, is said to have given his 
sympathy entirely to the Roundhead par- 
liament and government. It was most 
probably during this period that the 
founder of the Sneath family in Ireland 
left England. From him was descended 
Richard Sneath, emigrant ancestor of the 
family in America. 

(I) Richard Sneath, a native of Lon- 
donderry, Ireland, born September 2, 
1 75 1, came to America in 1774. He set- 
tled in Chester, Delaware county, Penn- 
sylvania, where his death occurred Octo- 
ber 24, 1824. He married, and among 
his children was W'illiam, of whom fur- 
ther. 

(II) William Sneath, son of Richard 
Sneath, was born in Chester, Delaware 
county, Pennsylvania. He married a 
Miss Lingerfelter, a member of a Penn- 
sylvania family, and among their chil- 
dren was Robert, of whom further. 

(HI) Robert Sneath, son of William 
Sneath, was born in Chester, Delaware 
county, Pennsylvania, and during his 
active career devoted his attention to 
agricultural pursuits. He married Mary 
Todd, a resident of York county, Penn- 
sylvania, and among their children was 
Jacob, of whom further. 

(IV) Jacob Sneath, son of Robert and 
Mary (Todd) Sneath, was born in Mount- 
ville, Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. A 
man of prominence in the life of the 
community, he was interested in poli- 
tics and civic betterment, and was also 



195 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a business man with large interests. He 
married Elizabeth Witmer, born August 
J 9» l &33> a lineal descendant of Peter 
Witmer, and in the maternal line a direct 
descendant of Hans Hier, the founder of 
Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. Among 
their children was Elias Hershey, of 
whom further. 

(V) Professor Elias Hershey Sneath, 
son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Witmer) 
Sneath, was born in Mountville, Lancas- 
ter county, Pennsylvania, August 7, 
1857. He received his early education in 
the elementary schools of Mountville, 
and later, in preparation for college, 
attended Wyoming Seminary at Kings- 
ton, Pennsylvania. Upon his graduation 
from that institution he became a student 
in Lebanon Valley College, Pennsyl- 
vania, from which he was graduated in 
1881 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. 
He next entered Yale Divinity School, 
receiving the degree of Bachelor of Di- 
vinity in 1884. The academic year of 
1884 to 1885 he devoted to graduate work 
in theology and philosophy at Yale. He 
had already studied extensively in the 
field of philosophy, and, upon completing 
his studies in the Divinity School, he was 
appointed Instructor in Philosophy in 
Wesleyan University, Middletown, Con- 
necticut (1885-1888). For the following 
two years he taught Psychology and 
Ethics in Miss Porter's School at Farm- 
ington, Connecticut. During the years 
spent at Wesleyan and Miss Porter's 
school, Professor Sneath pursued studies 
in philosophy in the Graduate School of 
Yale University, receiving the degree 
of Doctor of Philosophy in 1890. In 1889 
he became a member of the faculty of 
Yale, as Lecturer in Philosophy in the 
Graduate School. In 1891 he was ap- 
pointed Instructor in Philosophy at the 
same institution. In 1893 he was elected 



Assistant Professor of Philosophy, and 
in 1898 became Professor of Philosophy 
at Yale. 

Professor Sneath's writings on philo- 
sophic subjects show a wide field of 
research and unusual literary ability. 
His works are : "Modern Philosophers 
Series," 8 vols.; "Ethical Series," 3 vols.; 
"The Ethics of Hobbes ;" "The Philoso- 
phy of Reid;" "Philosophy and Petry ;" 
"The Mind of Tennyson ;" "Wordsworth, 
Poet of Nature and Poet of Man ;" and 
he is co-editor of a series of books for 
the purpose of teaching morals through 
the medium of history, literature and 
biography, and of similar series designed 
for the teaching of religion, a unique 
effort in these fields of educational liter- 
ature. He is also co-author of two 
teachers' manuals in moral and religious 
education. Professor Sneath was Pro- 
fessor of the Theory and Practice of Edu- 
cation in Yale College in 1904-06, and 
director of the Summer School of Arts 
and Sciences during the same period of 
time. He is a fellow of the American 
Association for the Advancement of Sci- 
ence, the Connecticut Academy of Arts 
and Sciences, the American Philosophical 
Association, the National Religious Edu- 
cational Association, the New Haven 
Historical Society r and the American 
Theological Association. 

Professor Sneath married, June 19, 
1890, Anna Sheldon Camp, daughter of 
John and Sarah Gould (Williams) Camp, 
of Middletown, Connecticut, and a de- 
scendant on the paternal side of Nicholas 
Camp, one of the founders of Milford, 
Connecticut, and on the maternal side of 
Stephen Hopkins and Samuel Stocking, 
original settlers of Middletown, Connec- 
ticut. The children of Professor Sneath 
and Mrs. Sneath are: Herbert Camp, 
Katherine Williams, and Richard Shel- 
don. 



196 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



OUTERSON, Andrew Mansergh, M. D., 

Physician. 

Andrew Mansergh Outerson, M. D., of 
Hartford, graduate in medicine of the 
Jefferson Medical College of Philadel- 
phia, highly regarded physician and sur- 
geon of Hartford and gynecologist at St. 
Francis' Hospital, was born in Windsor 
Locks, Connecticut, June 16, 1876, the 
son of Andrew and Mary (Lawlor) Out- 
erson. 

For three generations the Outerson 
family has been resident in America. It 
is of Danish origin, and the family were 
papermakers for generations. A branch 
of the family appears to have crossed to 
Scotland, for Scottish records show that 
Andrew ( ?) Outerson, grandfather of Dr. 
Outerson, was born in that country, and 
that he there learned the papermaking 
trade. Eventually he came to America, 
and in this country also followed the trade 
of papermaking. His wife was Sarah 
Mansergh, but the place of their marriage 
does not appear ; it was apparently in 
Scotland, or in Ireland, where their son, 
Andrew, father of Dr. Outerson, was 
born. 

Andrew Outerson, son of Andrew and 
Sarah (Mansergh) Outerson, was born 
in Dublin, Ireland, in 1834, and came with 
his parents some years later to America, 
the family settling in South Carolina, 
where Andrew attended school. But at 
some time prior to the commencement of 
the Civil War, the Outerson family came 
North, and both father and son found 
work in the paper mills of Windsor 
Locks, Connecticut. Andrew, the son, 
eventually became general superintendent 
of the old Seymour Paper Mill in Wind- 
sor Locks. He was a man of much inge- 
nuity, and early recognized that educa- 
tion should not cease after having reached 
the point of present requirement. Thus, 



while at practical work in the paper 
mills, he also studied the scientific phase 
of papermaking, and was not content 
until he had become master of every 
detail connected with the manufacture. 
Also, it is said, he was especially skillful 
in coloring papers ; at a time when the 
only illuminant was the unsteady and 
dim light from kerosene lamps, Andrew 
Outerson was reputed to have had so 
thorough a knowledge of color, the result 
of minute study under all conditions, that 
he could match colors even under that 
light. He also was the inventor of a filter, 
widely used in paper mills, and even now 
in use in some of the biggest breweries in 
the country. 

Mr. Outerson married Mary, daughter 
of Timothy Lawlor, of Queenstown, and 
to the union came eventually eight chil- 
dren : Sarah, who married John J. Burke, 
of Windsor Locks ; Mary ; John W\, of 
Philadelphia ; James D., town treasurer 
and town clerk of Windsor Locks ; An- 
drew M., of whom further; Richard A., 
of Windsor Locks ; Daniel L., of Wind- 
sor Locks ; and Katarina. Mr. Outerson 
died in 1907, aged seventy-three years. 

Dr. Andrew Mansergh Outerson, fifth 
child of Andrew and Mary (Lawlor) Out- 
erson, was given a good preliminary edu- 
cation in the public schools, and later 
attended the Connecticut Literary Insti- 
tute of Suffield, but as a younger son of 
a large and not overly-wealthy family, it 
may be said that the medical education 
obtained by Dr. Outerson was mainly 
attributable to his own energy, initiative 
and determination. He was enabled 
eventually to attend the Jefferson Medi- 
cal College of Philadelphia, at which he 
assiduously applied himself to the study 
of the science, diligently following the 
lectures, and intelligently observing the 
clinical demonstrations. He was conse- 
quently well able to meet the graduation 

97 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



requirements, and in good place in the 
class of 1906, was granted the medical 
degree. He then, by competitive exam- 
ination, obtained appointment to the 
house staff of St. Francis' Hospital, Hart- 
ford, where an interneship of fifteen 
months furnished him with extensive 
practical knowledge of his profession. He 
had undertaken special research in the 
gynecological branch of surgery, and to 
further the study he, after having com- 
pleted his interneship, took a special 
graduate, or post-graduate, course in sur- 
gery in Harvard Medical School. In 1908 
Dr. Outerson opened an office for gen- 
eral practice in Hartford, and in 1909 was 
appointed assistant surgeon of St. Fran- 
cis' Hospital, where two years ago his 
knowledge of gynecology brought him 
the staff appointment as gynecologist. 
Dr. Outerson does not enter into public, 
municipal, or State affairs ; he, like most 
men of professional achievement, places 
his profession before all else, and at pres- 
ent it occupies almost all of his time. He 
is a member of the Board of Police Sur- 
geons, and holds membership in the City, 
State and County societies, and also in 
the American Medical Association ; and 
is affiliated with the Alpha Kappa Kappa 
fraternity. 



ARNOLD, Frederick W., 

Corporation Executive. 

A native of Connecticut, and a family 
for many generations identified with con- 
sequential affairs within the State, Fred- 
erick W. Arnold has spent most of his 
life within it, his industry and public 
endeavor bringing material advantage to 
himself and to the city of Hartford, in 
one phase of its requirements. Frederick 
W. Arnold, as president and treasurer of 
the Trout Brook Ice and Feed Company 
of Hartford, directs a useful public utility, 
with profit and ability. 



Mr. Arnold genealogically connects 
with Elder William Brewster, of Scroosby 
Manor, Yorkshire, England, he being 
tenth in descent. His father, Edwin 
Hopkins Arnold, was born at East Hamp- 
ton, Connecticut, November 27, 1830, and 
married for his second wife Harriet 
Maitland Wadsworth, mother of Fred- 
erick W. Arnold. The Wadsworth fam- 
ily has a prominent place in the annals of 
the Connecticut colony, and in the early 
history of the nation. The American pro- 
genitor was William Wadsworth, who 
came to America in 1621 ; a distinguished 
descendant was the poet, Henry Wads- 
worth Longfellow ; and there was Cap- 
tain Joseph Wadsworth, whose name was 
famous for hiding the Connecticut char- 
ter. 

William Wadsworth was one of the 
pioneer settlers of the State ; was ap- 
pointed collector of the Hartford Settle- 
ment in 1637, and later held other respon- 
sible offices. Frederick W. Arnold was 
of the ninth generation of descent from 
William Wadsworth, the American grand 
ancestor. 

Mr. Arnold was born in Hartford, July 
25, 1863. His father in early manhood 
followed agricultural pursuits, but about 
1880 entered commerce, establishing the 
Trout Brook Ice and Feed Company, 
Edwin H. Arnold and Son. Proprietors. 
In course of time, the firm secured cor- 
porate powers, with Edwin H. Arnold as 
its president, a capacity he held until his 
death, when his son, Frederick W., suc- 
ceeded to his office. He has since con- 
tinued in the business, and aided its de- 
velopment from an insignificant begin- 
ning to a present business of considerable 
importance. Mr. Edwin H. Arnold died 
October 13, 1905, in his seventy-fifth 
year. Mr. Arnold is director and treas- 
urer of the Hartford Ice Company, the 
oldest ice company in the city; he also 
organized the Metropolitan Storage and 



198 




. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Transfer Company, of which he is presi- 
dent and treasurer. In 1915 he was unan- 
imously elected president of the West 
Hartford Business Men's Association. 
Mr. Arnold is a member of the Mayflower 
Society, the Plartford Club, the Farm- 
ington Country Club, and the Hartford 
Yacht Club. 

On December 18, 1915, Mr. Arnold 
married Mary Ringler Heppe, daughter 
of John Conrad and Katherine (Ringler) 
Heppe, of Los Angeles, California. 



WELDON, Thomas Henry, 

Physician. 

Dr. Thomas Henry Weldon, graduate 
in medicine of the New York University 
Medical College, and for more than thirty 
years a well-regarded and successful phy- 
sician in Manchester, Connecticut, was 
born in that town on March 19, 1861, the 
son of Thomas and Mary (Campbell) 
Weldon, both natives of Ireland, the 
former born about 1827, and both resi- 
dents in this country from about 1850 
until their deaths, which occurred, re- 
spectively, in 1909 and 1900. The fam- 
ilies, Campbell and Weldon, are of good 
lineage, former generations of both hav- 
ing been granted coats-of-arms, and 
former generations of the Weldon family 
in particular having been possessed of 
much wealth. But Thomas Weldon at 
the time of his emigration was poorly cir- 
cumstanced. In this country he engaged, 
firstly, in agriculture, later in weaving, 
and latterly in independent business, as 
a retail liquor dealer in Manchester, Con- 
necticut, where he gained an enviable 
reputation for integrity and honesty. 

His son, Thomas Henry Weldon, born 
in Manchester, in 1861, in due course 
attended the public schools of that place, 
and for more advanced academic instruc- 
tion eventually took the course at Hart- 



ford High School, from which he gradu- 
ated in the class of 1880. He had resolved 
to qualify for entrance to professional 
life, and therefore, soon after leaving high 
school, went to New York City and ma- 
triculated at one of the leading American 
medical colleges, that of New York Uni- 
versity, and in 1883 successfully gradu- 
ated with the degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine. Before entering general practice, 
Dr. Weldon determined to undergo exten- 
sive and exhaustive practical research in 
the large hospitals of America's chief city, 
as the clinical material always available 
in such a thickly populated metropolitan 
area would in a short while give him a 
wider knowledge of practical medicine 
than would be possible by many years of 
private practice. And he was fortunate 
in securing staff appointments to two of 
the largest hospitals of New York City. 
By competitive examination, he gained 
a place on the junior medical house staff 
of Bellevue Hospital, an institution hav- 
ing accommodation for about 2,000 pati- 
ents, and invariably filled to fullest ca- 
pacity. In that hospital, Dr. Weldon 
served an interneship of eighteen months, 
then going to an even greater establish- 
ment, the almshouse and workhouse of 
the City of New York on Blackwell's 
Island. He remained a member of the 
resident medical staff of the hospital of 
those city institutions for one year, at the 
end of which time he was undoubtedly 
well capable, in theoretical and practical 
knowledge of medicine, of undertaking 
the responsibilities of a general practition- 
er. He decided to open a medical office 
in his native town, which he did in 1885, 
and since then has been continuously 
engaged in general practice in Manches- 
ter. Thus Dr. Weldon has served the 
people of the community and vicinity for 
more than thirty years, during which 
practice much credit has come to him. 

99 



HWYCLOl'KDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Like most men of professional life, at 22, 1905. Also of the Weldon household 



least of the medical branch of professional 
life, Dr. Weldon has held aloof from 
active participation in political work. As 
an interested townsman, he consented to 
sit as selectman of Manchester during 
the years 1903-04, but with that excep- 
tion he has not taken public nor political 
office, preferring to devote all his efforts 
to his profession. 

His affiliation with organizations bear- 
ing on medical science and research 
include membership in the following: 
American Medical Association, the Med- 
ical Society of the State of Connecticut, 
and the Manchester Medical Society. 
Fraternally, Dr. Weldon has been an Odd 
Fellow, a Mason (blue lodge), and mem- 
ber of the orders of Foresters, Maccabees 
and Hibernians. Socially, he belongs to 
the Manchester City Club, and religi- 
ously, he and his family are members of 
the St. James Roman Catholic Church. 
Manchester. 

Dr. Weldon is of retiring disposition, 
modest, and liberal in contributions to 
causes he has satisfied himself to be 
worthy ; and he has done much for the 
poor of Manchester, both in his profes- 
sional capacity, without heed or sugges- 
tion of remuneration, and in other chan- 
nels of charity. Latterly, advancing 
years have caused him to become less 
active in general practice than he form- 
ally was. 

On December 30, 1892, in St. James 
Roman Catholic Church, Manchester, Dr. 
Weldon was married to Annie Jessie 
Dickinson Carter, daughter of Henry and 
Betty (Ratcliff) Carter. Their children 
are: Thomas Carter, born October 1, 
1897; Elizabeth Lucile, born September 
1, 1898; Annie May, born August, 1899; 
Edith Arline and Ethel Lorraine, twins, 
born December 22, 1900; Mary, born 
May 18, 1903; and Margaret, born May 



are Harriet and Dora Foss, adopted 
daughters. 



GOODRICH, Charles Clinton, 

Active Man of Affairs. 

As industries multiply, the need for 
capable administrators grows in propor- 
tion — as new forces are discovered, so 
are openings for men who can apply 
them — as commerce extends its scope, 
the field for executives broadens — as 
science provides substance, a correspond- 
ing provision for their utilization is neces- 
sary — as railroads push into virgin terri- 
tories and trolley lines nose into isolated 
districts, the demand for business and 
professional pioneers increases — as in- 
ventive imagination pours its dreams into 
foundry moulds, the prospects of another 
group of men are recast. 

To inspect as one would any work of 
genius the career of a man who has been 
one of the leaders of a State in his own 
line of industry is to inspect the mould 
which has been made by the day to day 
toil, mental and manual, of a great 
worker; and it is to gain inspiration and 
incentive for the creation of such another. 
The career of Charles Clinton Goodrich, 
vice-president and general manager of the 
Hartford and New York Transportation 
Company, has been identified with the 
great business and transportation inter- 
ests of the State of Connecticut for forty- 
five years. 

The Goodrich family, of which Mr. 
Goodrich is a member, is one of the old- 
est in Connecticut, and the tribe or fam- 
ily existed in Great Britain at a very 
early period of English history. The 
name is obviously of Saxon origin, hav- 
ing been spelled Godric in the beginning, 
which spelling was gradually varied as 
time altered the language to Godricus, 



200 



i'V# 







■ . ;■ 












fl 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Godryke, Goodryke, Guthrich, Gultiridge, 
to Goodridge. During all these changes 
the significance of the root of the name 
has not been changed, nor has the suffix, 
and we find the name meaning as it did 
originally "Rich in God," or "Rich in 
Goodness," derived from God, meaning 
good, and the suffix ric, rick or rich, 
meaning rich. We find it stated in In- 
gulph's "History of the Abbey of Croy- 
land" that Father Godric was elected 
Abbot in the year 870. One of the earli- 
est evidences of the establishment of the 
family is the famous old Goodrich Castle 
on the eastern bank of Wye in Hertford- 
shire. This antedates the battle of Hast- 
ings. Beacuse of its loyalty to the King 
it was dismantled and destroyed by the 
Roundheads in the spring of 1647. Its 
ruins, still standing on a commanding 
eminence, show it to have been a typical 
medieval fortified castle such as was 
built by the Saxons and later improved 
and added to by the Normans. It is 
to-day one of the most picturesque and 
most interesting remains among the many 
that are to be found in that part of Eng- 
land. The Domesday Book shows that 
the landholders among the Goodrich fam- 
ily were then numerous and prominent. 
The English ancestors of the progenitor 
of the Goodrich family in America are not 
definitely known. 

William Goodrich, the founder of the 
Connecticut family, was born in what is 
now Hessett, Bury St. Edmunds, County 
Suffolk, England. He most probably 
came to America with his brother John, 
settling in Wethersfield, where he mar- 
ried, on October 4, 1648, Sarah, daughter 
of Matthew and Elizabeth Marvin, of 
Hartford. On May 5, 1656, he was admit- 
ted as a freeman, and in 1662 he was 
deputy to the General Court and also 
served on the Grand Jury. He was ensign 
of the train band in 1676, in which year 
he died. 



William (2) Goodrich, son of William 
(1) and Sarah (Marvin) Goodrich, was 
born February 8, 1661, and lived in Weth- 
ersfield. He was twice married, marry- 
ing for his first wife Grace, daughter of 
John and Grace Riley, on November 22, 
1680. She died October 23, 1712. 

Lieutenant Joseph Goodrich, son of 
William (2) and Grace (Riley) Good- 
rich, was born February 29, 1691, and 
died January 31, 1768. He resided in 
Wethersfield, and on December 23, 1714, 
married Mehitable, daughter of Nathan- 
iel Goodwin. 

Nathaniel Goodrich, son of Lieutenant 
Joseph and Mehitable (Goodwin) Good- 
rich, was born July 15, 1717, and resided 
in Wethersfield, where, on August 25, 
1743, he married Martha Deming. 

Isaac Goodrich, son of Nathaniel and 
Martha (Deming) Goodrich, was born 
March 23, 1752. He married Elizabeth 
Raymond, February 15, 1784; she was 
born in New London, November 25, 1761, 
and was buried on June 3, 1833, at the 
age of seventy-two years. Isaac Good- 
rich died at Waterford, New London, 
September 27, 1813. 

Deacon Joshua Goodrich, son of Isaac 
and Elizabeth (Raymond) Goodrich, was 
born at Wethersfield, December 5, 1789. 
Throughout his life he engaged in agri- 
cultural pursuits. He was a Republican 
in politics, and a member of the Congre- 
gational church. He was a substantial 
citizen, well known, and of upright char- 
acter, and had the respect and esteem of 
all those who knew him. Deacon Good- 
rich married (first) February 14, 1882, 
Clarissa Francis, who died at the age of 
thirty-six and was buried December 4, 
1834. He married (second) Mary A. 
Welles, born November 8, 1808, died 
March 23, 1873. The children of the 
first marriage were : Joseph, baptized 
August 31, 1823; Caleb Raymond, bap- 
tized August 28, 1825, died December 31, 



201 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1825; Joseph Francis, baptized July 1, 
1827; Pamelia, baptized May 7, 1829; 
James, baptized June 20, 1831 ; Mary; 
Elizabeth, married James A. Stillman. 
The children of the second marriage are: 
Charles Clinton, mentioned below ; Nel- 
lie, married Henry Strong; Frederick 
W. ; Emma; Raymond. 

Charles Clinton Goodrich, son of Dea- 
con Joshua and Mary A. (Welles) Good- 
rich, was born July 30, 1846, in Wethers- 
field, Connecticut. After completing his 
elementary education at the South Gram- 
mar School, he continued his studies in 
Williston Seminary, in Easthampton, Mas- 
sachusetts. Upon finishing his course he 
immediately entered business for himself 
as a seed grower, in partnership with his 
brother, F. W. Goodrich. In this he en- 
gaged for a short time only. Later, for 
six years, he conducted a freighting busi- 
ness in New York. During this period 
Manuel R. Brazos, who was one of the 
most prominent men in the shipping bus- 
iness on this coast, placed Charles C. 
Goodrich in charge of his freighting 
interests on Long Island Sound. This 
continued until the death of Mr. Brazos 
in Hartford, upon which occasion Mr. 
Goodrich went to that city to settle his 
affairs. To take over the Brazos busi- 
ness a new company was organized, the 
Hartford and New York Transportation 
Company, with the following officers: 
C. C. Goodrich, manager; E. S. Good- 
rich, president; E. B. Williams, superin- 
tendent. During the first few years of its 
organization the company had the mis- 
fortune to lose several of its boats, thus 
suffering a severe financial setback. By 
careful management the losses were re- 
trieved, and the business gradually placed 
on a paying basis. In 1896 the twin- 
screw steamer "Hartford" was built, and 
put in service, followed two years later 
by the "Middletown." These vessels 



marked a distinct advance in the con- 
struction of boats for the Connecticut 
river traffic. They were of light draft, 
of about one thousand five hundred tons 
each, and stateroom and berth accommo- 
dations for about four hundred passen- 
gers. The boats were crowded to capac- 
ity during the summer season. Soon after 
the beginning of the Spanish War the 
"Hartford" was purchased by the gov- 
ernment for use as a hospital ship, and 
the company replaced her in the service 
with a duplicate of the "Middletown." 

In October, 1906, when the company 
was purchased by the New York, New 
Haven & Hartford Railroad Company, 
Mr. Goodrich was the senior of all con- 
nected with the business in point of serv- 
ice and experience, and to his untiring 
efforts and unusual executive ability the 
success of the enterprise was largely due. 
The growth and development of the bus- 
iness had been constant from year to 
year. In 1890 the company acquired the 
shipyard and marine railway of M. L. 
Darton at Dutch Point, where it after- 
ward built a score of barges and steam- 
boats. When the business was sold to the 
New York, New Haven & Hartford Rail- 
road the company was operating a fleet 
of thirty tugs, barges and steamers val- 
ued at more than six hundred thousand 
dollars ; it owned real estate valued at 
more than two hundred thousand dol- 
lars, with docks at Hartford. Middletown 
and other points on the Connecticut river. 
Since that time Mr. Goodrich has been 
vice-president and general manager of the 
company ; president of the Maine Steam- 
ship Company, and manager of the Bay 
State Line to Providence, the Merchant 
Line to Bridgeport, and several connect- 
ing lines. 

On March 11, 1874, Mr. Goodrich mar- 
ried Beulah, daughter of Calvin N. and 
Emily (Dickinson) Murray. Calvin N. 
202 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Murray was born July 14, 1808, and died ANDREWS, James Parkhill, 



February 2, 1889. He was the son of 
Calvin Murray, who was born September 
15, 1781, and died November 14, 1810. 
On November 20, 1804, Calvin Murray 
married Diadema Norton, who was born 
November 17, 1785. John Murray, the 
father of Calvin Murray, was born Au- 
gust 13, 1731, and died February 23, 1800; 
he married Mindwell Crompton, born 
January 22, 1738, and died June 21, 1816. 
John Murray, father of John Murray 
(above mentioned), was born October 
10, 1703, and died September 9, 1789. He 
married Sarah Buell, who died March 1, 

1743- 

To Charles C. Goodrich and his wife, 
Beulah (Murray) Goodrich, one son was 
born : Raymond Goodrich, born April 10, 
1879. He is now engaged in the fertilizer 
business, and is interested in tobacco 
plantations. He married (first) Alma 
Penfield ; of this marriage one daughter 
was born, Genevieve. His second mar- 
riage was to Zuleima Couger ; of this mar- 
riage one daughter was born, Elizabeth. 

At the advanced age of seventy years 
Mr. Goodrich is one of Hartford's lead- 
ing citizens, a man whose power for civic 
betterment is a factor of importance in 
the community life. He has always taken 
the keen interest of the trained thinker 
and man of affairs in the public interests 
of the day, and his support can be counted 
on for every movement calculated to pro- 
mote the public welfare. He is recog- 
nized as one of Hartford's conservative 
business men, and one who has achieved 
his position by his own ability and indus- 
try. He is broad minded in his views and 
generous in his charities, although all his 
gifts to worthy causes are made without 
ostentation. He and his wife have been 
for several years identified with the Con- 
gregational church. 



Attorney-at-Law. 

James P. Andrews was a successful 
lawyer, with fifteen years' bar experience, 
when in 1894 he was appointed reporter 
of the Connecticut Supreme Court of Er- 
rors, and now nearing the end of a quarter 
of a century in that position, has won 
very high standing as a reporter of judi- 
cial decisions. The duties of that posi- 
tion are manifold, requiring not only a 
high degree of literary and legal ability in 
preparing analytical statements of the 
contents of the opinions reported, and the 
writing of head notes for the State 
reports, but also involving a capacity for 
hard work as the reports average about 
one thousand pages of closely printed 
matter yearly. So well has Mr. Andrews 
filled his office and so highly are his legal 
and judicial qualities esteemed, that had 
he consented his appointment to a judge- 
ship was assured. But his heart is in the 
work he is doing and the honor offered 
him in 1907 was declined. In addition to 
the annual State reports edited, he is the 
author of Connecticut Index Digests and 
a valued contributor to Yale Law Maga- 
zine. In his own special branch of the 
law he is without a superior, his long re- 
tention in office well attesting the value 
placed upon his services to the State of 
Connecticut. His maternal grandfather, 
Thomas Day, was a reporter of the Su- 
preme Court of Connecticut, 1805-1853. 
This fact is of especial interest and value 
to the advocates of the doctrine of 
heredity. 

James Parkhill Andrews, son of Sam- 
uel James (died October 10, 1906) and 
Catherine Augusta (Day) Andrews, was 
born in East Windsor, Connecticut, Oc- 
tober 23, 1854. He completed his public 
school education with graduation from 
Hartford High School in 1873, then entered 



203 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Yale University, whence he was graduated 
B. A., class of 1877. He registered as a law 
student in the office of Judge Hammersly, 
of Hartford, entered Yale Law School, 
and in 1879 was awarded the degree LL. 
B. He began practice in Hartford at 
once, having as a partner F. Walworth 
Smith. The firm, Smith & Andrews, con- 
tinued about eighteen months, Mr. An- 
drews then going to Bristol, Connecticut, 
there practicing with Willis A. Briscoe 
under the firm name of Andrews & Bris- 
coe. About one year later Mr. Andrews 
returned to Hartford and entered into a 
law partnership with Charles H. Briscoe, 
father of his late partner. The firm of 
Briscoe & Andrews continued in success- 
ful practice until January 1, 1894, when 
it was dissolved by the appointment of 
Mr. Andrews as reporter of the Supreme 
Court of Errors. This position he has 
held continuously during the twenty- 
three years which have since intervened. 
He is the author of Index Digest of Con- 
necticut Reports, 1883 ; Connecticut In- 
dex Digest, 1895; i s a contributor to the 
Yale Law Magazine ; contributed to the 
Memorial History of Hartford County;" 
is a member of the American Bar Associa- 
tion, Connecticut State Bar Association, 
Hartford County Bar Association, Hart- 
ford City Bar Society, trustee of the Con- 
necticut Institution for the Blind, trustee 
of the Connecticut branch of the George 
Junior Republic, member of the Munici- 
pal Art Society, Yale's famous Senior So- 
ciety, Scroll and Key, Asylum Hill Con- 
gregational Church, Hartford Golf, Mus- 
ical and University clubs of Hartford, a 
founder and ex-president of the last 
named, Graduates Club of New Haven, 
Yale Club of New York City, and in polit- 
ical faith is a Republican. 

Mr. Andrews married Julia Lincoln 
Ray, of Chicago, daughter of Charles H. 
Ray, for several years editor of the Chi- 
cago "Tribune." 



TUTTLE, William Frederick, 

Active in Community Affairs. 

William Frederick Tuttle, whose name 
was prominently identified with the 
growth and development of the city of 
Hartford, of which he was a native, and 
who was preeminently a man of affairs, 
making his activities subserve the double 
end of his own ambition and the public 
welfare, was a worthy representative of 
the Tuttle family, so widely known in 
the State of Connecticut, and he inherited 
in marked degree the excellent character- 
istics of his forefathers, characteristics 
that make for progress and advancement. 
William Frederick Tuttle, son of Sam- 
uel and Betsey (Hotchkiss) Tuttle, was 
born in Hartford, Connecticut, April 8, 
1812, and his death occurred there, Feb- 
ruary 22, 1895. His preliminary educa- 
tion was acquired in a school conducted 
by Miss Rebecca Butler, and this was 
supplemented by a course of study in a 
literary school conducted by Mr. George 
Patten, from which he graduated at the 
age of fifteen years. His first employ- 
ment was as clerk in his father's store, in 
which he was admitted to partnership in 
the firm, which conducted business under 
the title S. Tuttle & Sons, dealers in gro- 
ceries, grass seed, gypsum and grind- 
stones, making a specialty of the latter 
commodity. The business grew to large 
proportions, was conducted on strictly 
honorable lines, and therefore the profits 
far exceeded the expectations of the mem- 
bers of the firm. After the death of the 
elder partner and founder of the firm, 
Samuel Tuttle, which occurred in 1850, 
the business was continued by the three 
sons of the founder, William Frederick, 
Miles Ammi and Samuel Isaac Tuttle, 
and upon the death of Miles Ammi Tut- 
tle, eight years later, Frederick William 
Tuttle then withdrew from the concern. 
This gave him the needed time to attend 
204 



, 




I 







' : C^^^—^ 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to other important associations he had 
formed and to enter into other enter- 
prises, which proved profitable to all con- 
cerned. He succeeded his brother, Miles 
A. Tuttle, as director of both the ^Etna 
Insurance Company of Hartford and the 
Farmers' and Mechanics' National Bank 
of Hartford, and remained on those 
boards for thirty-seven years, performing 
faithful and efficient service. 

In addition to his business interests, 
which were many and varied, Mr. Tut- 
tle took an active interest in other depart- 
ments of the life of the city, namely, relig- 
ious and philanthropic work, in social 
circles and in military circles, in all of 
which he was prominent and influential. 
He was a member of Christ Episcopal 
Church of Hartford, serving as warden 
and vestryman, and a teacher in the Sun- 
day school. He was a member of the 
board of directors of the Hartford Hospi- 
tal and the Retreat for the Insane, and 
auditor of the accounts of both these in- 
stitutions. He held the rank of lieuten- 
ant in the Governor's Foot Guard, was a 
member of the Veteran Association, and 
a member of the Hartford Volunteer Fire 
Department. He was a staunch adher- 
ent of the principles of the Republican 
party, but never sought or held public 
office. He was a member of the Hartford 
Horticultural Society, the Connecticut 
Agricultural Society, the Hartford Club 
and the Piscatorious Club of Hartford. 
He devoted considerable time to the 
study of history and astronomy ; his fav- 
orite novelist was Sir Walter Scott and 
his favorite poet was James Russell 
Lowell. 

Mr. Tuttle married, November i, 1838, 
Sarah Ramsey, of Hartford, a daughter of 
Jonathan and Sarah (Allyn) Ramsey, of 
Hartford, and a descendant of Hugh 
Ramsay, the pioneer ancestor, who was 
a resident of Londonderry, New Hamp- 



shire, in 1720. As early as the year 1200 
the Ramseys or Ramsays were well 
known in Scotland, and through various 
collateral lines the present members of 
the family can trace their descent from 
many of the greatest kings of antiquity, 
both in France and England. The Ram- 
sey coat-of-arms is thus described : An 
eagle displayed sable, beaked and mem- 
bered gules. Charles on the breast with 
an escutcheon of the last. Crest : A uni- 
corn's head couped argent, maned and 
honored or. Motto : Spernit pericula vir- 
tus. 

Mr. and Mrs. Tuttle were the par- 
ents of four children: Sarah, deceased; 
Catherine, deceased; Grace, died Janu- 
ary 31, 1883; and Jane, a resident of 
Hartford, where she is a prominent figure 
in the Society of the Daughters of the 
American Revolution, and in the Connec- 
ticut Society of the Daughters of Found- 
ers and Patriots of America. 



SIMON, Scott Howard, 

Company Executive, Factory Manager. 

Scott Howard Simon, treasurer and 
general manager of the Carlyle Johnson 
Machine Company, of Manchester, Con- 
necticut, has made creditable progress in 
the business world, and in a short space 
of time, seeing that he is still in his thir- 
ties. And his advancement is all the more 
noteworthy in that it has come by out- 
standing merit only. He was born on 
November 8, 1879, in Youngstown, Ohio, 
the son of Frank Fusselman and Lena 
Hauser (Hanni) Simon, the former an 
agriculturist of Poland, Ohio, where he 
was born in 1854, and the latter, April 
1, 1858, of Flint Hill, suburb of Young- 
town, Ohio. Scott Howard Simon is the 
eldest of four children born to his par- 
ents, the others of his generation being: 
Meta, deceased ; Samuel Louis, born Jan- 



205 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



uary 2$, 1886; and Marshall, born May 1, 
1895. 

Scott H. Simon received primary edu- 
cation in the public schools of his native 
place, and gained higher education in the 
Ray en High School, from which he grad- 
uated in good place in the class of 1899. 
Soon thereafter he took junior office in 
the bank of the Dollar Savings and Trust 
Company, and was evidently an alert, 
painstaking and accurate employee, for 
within a period of little more than four 
years he was advanced rapidly from posi- 
tion to position in the various depart- 
ments of the banking house until he 
reached that of assistant teller. As such, 
he came more directly before the notice 
of the patrons of the institution, and very 
soon was approached and offered sub- 
stantial betterment if he relinquished his 
banking appointment and took account- 
ing capacity with the firm of Willkoff 
Bros., of Youngstown, Ohio. This he did, 
but within twelve months received an- 
other offer, which it was to his advantage 
to accept. It necessitated his removal to 
Hartford, Connecticut, as the manufac- 
turing corporation, the Carlyle Johnson 
Machine Company, with which he had 
been in negotiation, required his services 
in their offices in that city. So it hap- 
pened that Mr. Simon came to Connecti- 
cut and to Hartford in February, 1904. 
At the outset, his official status with the 
firm of the Carlyle Johnson Machine 
Company, then of Hartford, but now of 
Manchester, was that of bookkeeper, and 
in accounting capacity had even then 
reached the limit of possible advance- 
ment. But Mr. Simon is essentially a 
man of progress, and soon made it evi- 
dent that other responsibilities came 
within the range of his capabilities. A 
keen observer, a thorough systematizer, 
and a man of pronounced organizing and 
constructive ability, made effective by 



hard and conscientious work, Mr. Simon 
did not remain long as bookkeeper; by 
June, 1905, he had so thoroughly grasped 
the details of the manufacturing business 
in which the firm was engaged, and had 
so convinced his employers that their 
interest lay in vesting in him added re- 
sponsibilities, that he was elected to the 
treasurership of the corporation, and also 
appointed general manager of the plant, 
which later developed to such an extent 
that quarters much more commodious 
were necessary. These were secured in 
Manchester, in which town Mr. Simon 
has since continued to supervise the 
manufacturing and financial departments 
of the company. 

Under his supervision, the production by 
the firm has more than doubled, and he 
has opened markets which hitherto were 
inaccessible. The Carlyle Johnson Ma- 
chine Company specializes in the manu- 
facture of the Johnson Friction Clutch, 
an appliance introduced to, used by, and 
reported favorably upon, by some of the 
principal manufacturing plants of the 
country, and the ever-increasing volume 
of orders and repeat orders indicates that 
the specialty of the Carlyle Johnson Ma- 
chine Company is a reliable and essential 
fitting, valued and required by large users 
of machinery. 

Mr. Simon is essentially a man of bus- 
iness, but he takes keen interest in politi- 
cal movements, though his business re- 
sponsibilities will not permit the time 
necessary to undertake public office. But, 
with the coming of serious times of na- 
tional distress in consequence of the 
affronts to which the Nation has recently 
been subjected by a European power, Mr. 
Simon engaged actively in the enrolling 
of the Home Guard in his district, and 
undertook readily and enthusiastically the 
arduous and onerous duties of one of 
the recruiting officers of that military 



206 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



organization, successfully raised, and 
should there be need of his services, mili- 
tarily, in foreign lands, he is not by any 
means disposed to shirk that national 
duty. Religiously, Mr. Simon is an 
attendant of the North Congregational 
Church of Manchester. And, generally, 
he is an esteemed resident of his adopted 
town, the progress of which he seeks to 
further, which desire brought him into 
membership in the Manchester Chamber 
of Commerce. On January 18, 1916, Mr. 
Simon was made a director of the Man- 
chester Savings Bank, continuing in that 
office to the present time (1917). He is 
a member of the local chapter of the Red 
Cross Committee of Finance, and is also 
a member of the Chautauquas. 

On November 1, 1909, at Youngstown, 
Ohio, Mr. Simon married Josephine, 
daughter of Charles and Jeanette (Gray) 
Reebel, and to them have been born two 
children : Janet Gray, born February 5, 
1913; Frank Reebel, born October 7, 
I9I5- 



PECK, Leon Friend, 

City Official. 

Leon Friend Peck, the capable and 
popular superintendent of streets of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, was born April 23, 
1875, at Mt. Carmel, in the town of Ham- 
den, in that State. He is descended from 
one of the oldest Connecticut families, 
founded by Henry Peck, who was among 
the first settlers of New Haven, in the 
spring of 1638. He and Deacon William 
Peck, who also settled there in 1638, were 
doubtless relatives, and are supposed to 
have emigrated to this country in the 
company of Governor Eaton, with the 
Rev. John Davenport and others, who 
arrived at Boston, June 26, 1637, in the 
ship "Hector." He signed the fundamen- 
tal agreement of the settlers of New 



Haven, and took an active interest in the 
management and affairs of the settle- 
ment. A portion of his home lot, on 
what is now George street, is still in the 
possession of his descendants. His will 
was dated October 30, 165 1, and he died 
before the close of that year. Nothing 
is known concerning his wife. 

Joseph Peck, second son of Deacon 
William Peck, was baptized September 
5, 1647, in New Haven, and resided on 
the paternal homestead in that town. He 
married, November 28, 1672, Sarah Ail- 
ing, who was baptized October 12, 1649, 
in New Haven, daughter of Roger and 
Mary (Nash) Ailing. She was appointed 
administratrix of his estate, September 5, 
1720, indicating that his death occurred in 
that year. Roger Ailing was a son of 
James Ailing, a blacksmith, of Kempston, 
Bedfordshire, England. 

Samuel Peck, second son of Joseph 
Peck, was baptized December 19, 1677, 
and lived in New Haven, where he died 
probably in 1739. His will, made Janu- 
ary 14, 1729, was probated November 16, 
1739. He married Abigail, daughter of 
Nathaniel and Elizabeth (Moss) Hitch- 
cock, born October 26, 1680, in New 
Haven. 

Amos Peck, third son of Samuel Peck, 
was born January 29, 1713, in New Haven, 
where he made his home for many years, 
and was one of the founders of the Sec- 
ond or North Church of New Haven. He 
removed to Mt. Carmel, town of Hamden, 
Connecticut, where he was a deacon of 
the church, and died January 28, 1783. 
He married Elizabeth Leek, daughter of 
Thomas and Mary (Winston) Leek, of 
Hamden, Connecticut, granddaughter of 
Thomas Leek, and great-granddaughter 
of Philip Leek, who was born in 161 1, in 
Dover, England, and was one of the first 
settlers of New Haven in 1638. 

Joseph Peck, youngest child of Amos 



207 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Peck, was born July 5, 1762, and lived in 
Hamden, where he died August 9, 1845. 
He married Olive Chatterton, daughter 
of Wait and Susanna (Dickerman) Chat- 
terton, of Hamden. 

Zeri Peck, son of Joseph Peck, was 
born April 2, 1794, and died May 29, 1867. 
He was the owner of a large farm at Mt. 
Carmel, Hamden, Connecticut, and in 
addition was the owner of a blacksmith 
shop, which he conducted successfully for 
many years. He married Alma Warner, 
who passed away at the advanced age of 
over ninety years. They were the par- 
ents of Friend Joseph, of whom further. 

Friend Joseph Peck, son of Zeri and 
Alma (Warner) Peck, was born in Ham- 
den, Connecticut, July 31, 1847, where he 
is now living in retirement, in the house 
built by his grandfather. He has always 
been a farmer, is a Democrat in politics, 
and a prominent man in the community, 
having served as a member of the Legis- 
lature, in 191 1, and on the Board of Fi- 
nance. He followed the dairy business 
for some thirty-five years in all, but is 
now retired from active pursuits. He and 
his wife are members of the Congrega- 
tional church. He married Alice North- 
rup, who was born in Woodbridge, Con- 
necticut, a daughter of George and Laura 
(Truesdale) Northup, of that region. Mr. 
and Mrs. Peck are the parents of five 
children : Leon Friend, of whom further ; 
Florence M., who was educated at the 
private school of Miss Orton and Miss 
Nichols, in New Haven, and later at Bel- 
mont College, Nashville, Tennessee ; Alice 
D., who was educated at the Normal 
School in New Haven ; and two children 
who died in infancy. Miss Florence M. 
Peck is widely known as an educator, and 
is at present principal and proprietor of 
the Phelps School at Hillfield-Mount 
Carmel, Connecticut, where she teaches 
Latin, mathematics and French. This 



modern girls' school provides special and 
advanced courses and a two year inter- 
mediate course for younger girls, and is 
very delightfully situated within a few 
minutes' ride of New Haven. Miss Alice 
D. Peck is also associated with this 
school. 

Leon Friend Peck, son of Friend Jo- 
seph Peck, gained the preliminary portion 
of his education at Cheshire Military 
Academy, where he was prepared for col- 
lege, and from which he was graduated 
in 1892. He later entered the Sheffield 
Scientific School of Yale University, 
where he took an engineering course and 
graduated with the class of 1897 and the 
degree of Ph. B. He has specialized in 
civil engineering, and began his active 
career by taking a position with a civil 
engineer in Torrington, Connecticut. 
Here he remained for about a year and 
then, on September 1, 1898, went to 
Greenwich, Connecticut, with S. E. 
Minor, a civil engineer, who had a gen- 
eral private and municipal practice there. 
Young Mr. Peck became his chief assist- 
ant engineer. In October, 1909, he was 
elected superintendent of highways in 
Greenwich. In this capacity he made so 
great a success that he was invited to 
come to Hartford, Connecticut, as super- 
intendent of streets. Accepting this offer, 
he came to Hartford-on April 1, 1913, and 
has served in that capacity ever since, 
with the highest degree of efficiency and 
disinterestedness. He has been one of 
the most capable superintendent of streets 
that Hartford has ever had and has won 
an enviable reputation in the city. There 
are employed under him an average of 
three hundred and fifty men who are under 
the direct charge of foremen and inspectors 
to the number of nineteen, and the respon- 
sibility for the conduct of the entire com- 
plex department rests entirely upon Mr. 
Peck's shoulders. Mr. Peck has always 



208 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



retained a strong and active interest in 
the welfare of his fellow practitioners and 
in the profession-at-large. He is a mem- 
ber of the American Society of Civil En- 
gineers, the American Society of Engi- 
neering Contractors, of which he was a 
director for three years, the Connecticut 
Society of Civil Engineers, of which he is 
a director, and the American Interna- 
tionale Permanente des Congres de la 
Route. He ' is also affiliated with the 
American Society of Municipal Improve- 
ment and the University and City clubs 
of Hartford. 

Leon Friend Peck married, October 27, 
1904, at New Paltz, New York, Mary 
LeFevre, daughter of Peter and Rachel 
(Freer) LeFevre, of New Paltz. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Peck two children have been 
born, as follows : Miriam, August 6, 
19x16, and Carlton, July 12, 1909. Mrs. 
Peck is a member of the Congregational 
church. 

Mr. Peck's life is an active one. He is 
typical of the energetic man of affairs, 
whose united labors have built up the 
structure of New England's industrial 
development. In him also, as in this 
type so characteristic of New England, 
this energy and industry is based upon a 
foundation of moral strength which ren- 
ders it doubly effective, with the power 
which forbearance always gives. His 
honor and integrity are unimpeachable, 
his sense of justice sure and his charity 
and tolerance broad and far-reaching. 
His successes are made permanent, 
founded, as they are, on the confidence 
of his associates, and he has built up for 
himself an enviable reputation among all 
classes of men. He possesses his full 
share of the domestic virtues, and his 
home life is harmonious and affectionate, 
so that it is in his relations with the mem- 
bers of his household that his chief hap- 
piness lies. 

Conn— 5— 14 



MERWIN, George Jared, 

Paper Manufacturer. 

George Jared Merwin, of Rainbow, 
town of Windsor, Connecticut, president, 
general manager, and principal owner of 
the Merwin Paper Company, Incorpor- 
ated, is a papermaker by heredity as well 
as practice, for not only was his father 
connected with the paper making indus- 
try, but in the maternal line he is a de- 
scendant of papermakers. And in the pa- 
ternal line he is in direct descent from 
one of the earliest Colonial pioneers of 
Connecticut. He was born in Rainbow, 
Windsor, on February 2, 1869, the son of 
James J. and Mary A. (Hodge) Merwin. 

The Merwins for ten generations have 
been connected with the Colony and State 
of Connecticut. Miles Merwin, the pro- 
genitor of the Connecticut house of that 
name, was born in Wales in 1623, became 
a settler in Milford, Connecticut, in 1645, 
locating on what became later known as 
Merwin's Point, and during his life 
acquiring considerable property. He died 
in Milford, April 23, 1697, and his grave 
in the old burial plot of Milford was the 
only one of the first Wepawang planters 
marked by a headstone. His will was 
probated May 12, 1697, and it was found 
that he had followed the custom then, as 
now, observed by most leading British 
families, i. e., he had entailed his estate. 
This resulted in many generations of his 
descendants remaining in Milford ; in 
fact, the Merwin family has held almost 
unbroken residence in that vicinity from 
the time of the coming of Miles Merwin, 
in 1645, to the present. One of the an- 
cestors of George Jared Merwin was 
David Merwin, who was born on the old 
homestead at Merwin's Point, October 
11, 1746, and died in New Milford, April 
25, 1826. He was a Revolutionary sol- 
dier, serving with the New Haven forces 



209 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in 1781, and must have had other services 
in the Continental army, for he was a 
pensioner in later life. Thus, and prob- 
ably by the military services of other 
males of the fifth Merwin generation, is 
George Jared Merwin entitled to mem- 
bership in the Connecticut Society of the 
Sons of the American Revolution. 

James J. Merwin, father of George 
Jared Merwin, was born in Milford, Con- 
necticut, March 18, 1837, the son of Jared 
and Sarah G. (Stowe) Merwin, the 
former a shoemaker in Milford. When 
seventeen years of age, James J. Merwin, 
having graduated from the High School 
of Milford, entered business life in New 
Haven, there becoming bookkeeper, and 
eventually head bookkeeper to George W. 
Goodsell, in whose service he remained 
for ten years. In 1866, upon the death 
of his father-in-law, George L. Hodge, 
owner of paper mills in the vicinity of 
Windsor, Connecticut, he removed to that 
place, so that he and his wife's brother, 
George W. Hodge, who later became Sen- 
ator, and eventually State treasurer, 
might form a partnership to continue in 
operation the paper mills established by 
the deceased. The partnership continued 
for three years, then being dissolved by 
mutual agreement, the interest of James 
J. Merwin being purchased by the other 
member of the firm. Mr. Merwin then 
went to Holyoke, Massachusetts, where 
he engaged in the paper business, in part- 
nership with a William A. House, of that 
place. In 1877 he returned to Rainbow, 
and entered the insurance business, in 
time developing an extensive connection. 
And he also at that time interested him- 
self actively in undertaking and embalm- 
ing, which business, then established by 
him, has been maintained in continuous 
operation to the present, its affairs of late 
years coming under the supervision of 
the son, George Jared Merwin. 



James J. Merwin was a prominent 
worker for the Republican party, and 
after his return to Windsor he took a 
keen interest in the public affairs of the 
vicinity, and was elected to many town 
offices of honor and responsibility. He 
served on the grand jury for six years ; 
was notary public for eighteen years; 
justice of the peace for ten years; and 
assessor for seven years. Manifestly, he 
was much respected in the district, for 
in 1896 he was elected from Windsor to 
the State Legislature by the largest ma- 
jority ever up to that time given a candi- 
date in that district. During his term in 
the General Assembly, Mr. Merwin was 
a member of the committee on humane 
institutions, of which Governor Louns- 
bury was chairman. On July 25, 1900, 
Governor Lounsbury appointed Mr. J. J. 
Merwin one of the trustees of the State 
Historical Museum and Library, known 
as the "Old Stone House," at Guilford, 
Connecticut. He was a sincere Christian, 
member of the Baptist church of Wind- 
sor, and for many years a deacon, and 
superintendent of the Sunday school. 

His marriage was in 1865 to Mary A., 
daughter of George L. and Hannah M. 
(Pelton) Hodge, of Windsor, the former 
a well-known and successful paper manu- 
facturer of that town. Mrs. Mary A. 
(Hodge) Merwin died January 10, 1918. 
George L. Hodge was born in Aberdeen, 
Scotland, January 28, 1815, and his wife 
in Middlefield, Massachusetts, Novem- 
ber 28, 18 10. When a boy of eight, 
George L. Hodge came to America with 
his father, a Baptist minister, who soon 
thereafter located on Long Island, but 
later held charges in Connecticut. George 
L. Hodge was early apprenticed to a 
papermaker named Melank Hudson, with 
whom the boy served his indentures, 
after which he found employment as 
journeyman with a papermaker in Sau- 



210 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



gerties, New York, where he met the lady 
who later became his wife. After a per- 
iod he went to Willimantic, Connecticut, 
and about 1839 removed to Westville, 
Connecticut, continuing all the time to 
work at his trade. Eventually he went 
to Seymour, Connecticut, and there 
formed partnership with his brother, Wil- 
liam A. Hodge, also a papermaker. In 
1853 he went to Poquonock, Connecticut, 
there to undertake the general manager- 
ship of three paper mills, one in Rainbow 
and two in Poquonock, owned by Wil- 
liam H. Imlay. Later, his brother, Wil- 
liam A. Hodge, also came from Seymour, 
Connecticut, and took charge, under the 
direction of his brother, of the mill in 
Rainbow. In course of time the brothers 
Hodge purchased the Rainbow mill of 
Mr. Imlay, and prospered, so that soon 
they were able to purchase another mill, 
that known as the Stockinet mill, the 
owner of which was Charles W. Denslow. 
Subsequently the brothers acquired the 
wire mill of Mr. Denslow, and with these 
three mills continued to produce a con- 
siderable output of high grade paper. 
George L. Hodge was apparently the 
principal owner, and in 1865 became sole 
owner, by purchase of his brother's inter- 
est, and that of a nephew, W. L. Bidwell, 
who had latterly been associated with 
them. In the following year, 1866, he 
died, and thereafter for some years the 
mills were maintained in operation by 
his son, George W. Hodge, and his son- 
in-law, James J. Merwin, and the Hodge 
and Merwin families have ever since been 
connected with the paper manufacture in 
this section. 

To the union of James J. and Mary A. 
(Hodge) Merwin were born five chil- 
dren: 1. Sadie, who married Charles 
Strong, who is now connected with the 
^Etna Insurance Company. 2. George 
Jared, of whom further. 3. May, unmar- 



ried, and remaining with her, now infirm, 
mother in Windsor. 4. Kitty, who died 
in infancy. 5. Frances, who married 
John B. Cone, formerly a teller at the 
^Etna National Bank. 

George Jared Merwin attended the 
public school of his native town, and 
subsequently was sent for advanced aca- 
demic instruction to the Connecticut Lit- 
erary Institute at Suffield, leaving there 
to take his place in the paper business in 
which his father, grandfather, and other 
relatives had been interested. At that 
time the mills were conducted by his 
uncle, George W. Hodge, and the boy, 
whose heredity inclined him in that direc- 
tion, resolved to as quickly as possible 
become possessed of a comprehensive 
knowledge of all phases of paper making, 
and particularly of the making of press 
paper, which at that time was the spe- 
cialty of the mill. After a mill experience 
of six years, he took up the study of the 
commercial end of the paper industry, 
and having had a satisfactory offer 
entered the service of the Hartford Paper 
Company, which company operated mills 
in Poquonock. In clerical capacity he 
remained with that company for five and 
one-half years, leaving to become secre- 
tary to his uncle, George W. Hodge, who 
had recently been elected State treasurer. 
He acted as such during the whole of his 
uncle's term of two years, after which he 
became identified with the new business 
department of the Hartford office of the 
Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance Com- 
pany. He, however, continued to wish 
himself back in the business he first 
entered, and in which his relatives had 
labored for so long, and he realized his 
wish within five years after entering the 
insurance field. He apparently did well 
during that period, for he was then able 
to purchase from his uncle, George W. 
Hodge, the paper plant in which he, as a 



211 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



boy, had started to learn the trade of his 
ancestors. And he did well as an inde- 
pendent manufacturer. At the outset the 
firm name was George J. Merwin & Com- 
pany, but in 1906 the business had grown 
so that it then became advisable to seek 
corporate powers, which were granted, 
the mills being from that time conducted 
under the corporate name of the Merwin 
Paper Company, the main specialty of 
which is a paper used in textile finishing, 
and electrical insulation. It must be said 
of Mr. Merwin that he is a successful 
paper manufacturer, in fact, a man natur- 
ally adapted and inclined to that indus- 
try, and that fact is made clear by the 
development of the mills under his man- 
agement. In the Merwin plant he has 
successfully developed a high grade 
article of paper specialty which, up to a 
few years ago, was mainly manufactured 
abroad, in England and Germany. The 
firm has practically been alone in the de- 
velopment, in America, of this grade of 
paper. Evidently heredity directed Air. 
Merwin back into the occupation for 
which he was best suited. Mr. Merwin 
has also had to devote some of his time 
to the undertaking business established 
by his father in 1877. It is the oldest in 
the Windsor section, and although Mr. 
Merwin does not take active part in its 
management, he is partner of the firm of 
Merwin & Leek. 

Mr. Merwin, since he purchased the 
paper plant, has taken no prominent part 
in political affairs, as his time has been 
primarily devoted to the building up of 
his branch of the paper industry, but for 
a number of years he served as a mem- 
ber of the Republican town committee of 
Windsor. Religiously he is a Baptist, 
and was a communicant of the Baptist 
church of Windsor until its services were 
discontinued. Fraternally, he is a Ma- 
son, member of Washington Lodge, No. 



70, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Windsor. He is also a member of the 
Windsor Business Men's Association. 

On December 28, 1897, Mr. Merwin 
married Leliaone Flavia, daughter of 
Edward F. and Flavia A. Thrall, of Po- 
quonock. They have one child, Dorothy 
Flavia, born February 5, 1903. Mr. Mer- 
win's sisters are members of the Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution Society, 
and Mr. Merwin, who has hitherto neg- 
lected to take that privilege, which is his 
birthright, has resolved to make applica- 
tion forthwith for admittance to member- 
ship in the Connecticut Society of the 
Sons of the American Revolution. 



ELA, Elwood Starr, 

Writer, Newspaper Editor, Publisher. 

Elwood Starr Ela, the founder and pub- 
lisher of the "Manchester Herald," prom- 
inent in Connecticut journalistic circles, 
and for fourteen years secretary and treas- 
urer of the Connecticut Editorial Associa- 
tion, was born in Decatur, Illinois, July 2, 
1859, but is a descendant of a Colonial New 
England family. The progenitor in Amer- 
ica of the Ela family of New England was 
Daniel Ela, who came from England to 
settle in Haverhill, Massachusetts, in 
1656, at the age of twenty-four years. His 
descendants spread throughout the New 
England States, especially New Hamp- 
shire and Maine, where some of the fam- 
ily rose to prominence in State and 
church affairs, and more than one gave 
military service during the Revolution. 

Elwood Starr Ela, of Manchester, Con- 
necticut, was the son of Rev. Walter Ela, 
a well-known divine of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, who for more than 
fifty years held pastorates in the South- 
ern New England Conference. The son 
was born in Decatur, Illinois, at a time 
when his father, young then in the min- 



212 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



isterial service, was in that territory as a 
Methodist circuit rider. Soon after his 
mother's death, young Elwood S. was 
brought east by his father, who there- 
after was, during his long and noteworthy 
church service, in New England charges. 
The Rev. Walter Ela died in 191 5, at 
Pascoag, Rhode Island. 

Elwood Starr Ela was educated at Wil- 
braham Academy and at Wesleyan Uni- 
versity. His inclination was literary, and 
while still in college he began regular 
newspaper work. At the age of twenty- 
one he, with another young man, estab- 
lished the Decatur (Illinois) "Morning 
Herald." The venture was successful, 
but the young editor's fondness for New 
England led him a year later to sell his 
interest in the Decatur daily and return 
to Connecticut. At Manchester, Connec- 
ticut, Mr. Ela founded the "Manchester 
Herald," the first issue of which appeared 
in December, 1881. At the outset the 
paper was a weekly, but in October, 1893, 
it was made semi-weekly, and in October, 
1914, it became a daily. Those who have 
any knowledge of newspaper work know 
that the early years of the existence of a 
journal are years in which the qualities 
of the publisher are tested to the utmost, 
and a successful newspaper editor-founder 
has definitely graduated in some of the 
finest qualities in man-aggressiveness, 
persistence, optimism, and intelligent, 
alert enterprise. Mr. Ela has controlled 
the editorial policy of his journal from its 
first issue, and his writings have done 
much to mould public opinion in the sec- 
tion of Connecticut in which the "Man- 
chester Herald" circulates. Mr. Ela also 
comes to some extent into the business 
circles of Hartford, being vice-president 
of the Plimpton Manufacturing Com- 
pany, of which corporation he has for ten 
years been a director. And, as might 
have been expected, Mr. Ela has been 



prominently identified with most public 
movements in his district. He has worked 
enthusiastically and unceasingly to fur- 
ther any project that, in his judgment 
would tend to advance the interests of 
his adopted town, and his active advo- 
cacy of progressive measures must have 
appreciably aided the growth of Man- 
chester from a town of 6,000 people, as it 
was when he first entered it, to a thriving, 
up-to-date community of 20,000 popula- 
tion. Mr. Ela is an ex-president of the 
Manchester Chamber of Commerce ; in 
1916 he was elected to the Board of Se- 
lectmen. 

Mr. Ela is associated with many State 
organizations ; professionally he was a 
member of the Connecticut Editorial As- 
sociation, in fact he was active in its for- 
mation, and his professional standing in 
the State is indicated by his official con- 
nection with that association — he was its 
president for two years, and was for four- 
teen years its secretary and treasurer; 
fraternally a Mason, member of Manches- 
ter Lodge, and an Odd Fellow, connected 
with King David Lodge ; politically a 
Republican; and socially a member of 
the Hartford Club and the Transporta- 
tion Club of New York. In collegiate 
association he is a member of the board 
of trustees of Wilbraham Academy, has 
been a member of its executive board for 
five years, and belongs to the Delta Kappa 
Epsilon fraternity. Religiously Mr. Ela 
is connected with the Congregational 
church of Manchester. 

A noteworthy achievement of Mr. Ela 
was his writing and publication of the 
work, "The Miracle Workers," a compre- 
hensive brochure, descriptive of one 
of the important industries of Connecti- 
cut, that of silk manufacture. Mr. Ela 
spent more than a year in the preparation 
of the volume, which was translated into 
Italian, German, French and Swedish, 



213 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and placed into permanent record valu- 
able information regarding- the American 
silk manufacturing industry, and living 
conditions of silk workers. 

One December 21, 1882, Elwood Starr 
Ela married Jennie, daughter of Maro 
Spaulding Chapman, a descendant of a 
New England family which dates back 
to 1635, in which year Robert Chapman 
came from Hull, England, to Boston. 
Children: 1. Jeanette, married in 1906, 
Charles Denison Talcott, of Vernon. 2. 
Lucy, married, in 191 1, Dr. William L. 
Cramer, of Manchester. 



HIGGINS, Joseph Ambrose, M. D., 

Physician. 

Dr. Joseph Ambrose Higgins, a well- 
regarded resident of South Manchester, 
and a prominent young Connecticut phy- 
sician, graduate of the College of Physi- 
cians and Surgeons of Baltimore, and 
experienced by staff work at some lead- 
ing hospitals, was born December 8, 1883, 
at Westerly, Rhode Island, the son of 
Michael Joseph and Mary E. (Burke) Hig- 
gins, the former a native of Ireland, born 
there in 1852, and eventually a resident of 
Westerly, Rhode Island, where he en- 
gaged in an independent mercantile busi- 
ness. He was evidently a man of good 
education and business adaptability, for 
he later became a druggist, continuing 
in that profession at Westerly, Rhode 
Island, until his death. Mary E. (Burke) 
Higgins, the wife of Michael Joseph Hig- 
gins, was born in Westerly, Rhode Island. 
She became the mother of nine children : 

, who became the wife of Charles 

Mattingly, now a resident of Cleveland, 
Ohio, and a graduate of Trinity College, 
Washington, D. C. ; Margaret A., Rosalie, 
Charles Leo, Cyril, who is now studying 
theology at St. Mary's College, Balti- 
more, Maryland ; Edwin, Walter, Made- 



line, and Joseph Ambrose, mentioned 
below. 

Dr. Joseph Ambrose Higgins gained 
primary knowledge in the schools of 
Westerly. He advanced to the grammar 
and high schools of that place, and his 
education thereat completed his pre- 
medical instruction. Having decided to 
enter professional life, and selecting the 
branch of medicine, he proceeded to the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons of 
Baltimore, where he matriculated in 1903 
and graduated four years later with the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. The cur- 
riculum was rigid, taking both theoretical 
and practical phases of medical science, 
the third and fourth years including con- 
siderable clinical and practical observa- 
tion, but, so as to be thoroughly profici- 
ent in practical knowledge of medicine 
before entering private practice, Dr. Hig- 
gins sought experience in hospitals. He, 
by competitive examination, secured ap- 
pointment to the resident medical staff of 
the Baltimore City Hospital, where he 
served a valuable interneship, later get- 
ting further hospital experience at St. 
Francis' Hospital, Hartford, Connecticut, 
in all serving a post-graduate course at 
these two institutions of two years. In 
1910 he opened an office at North Manches- 
ter, and some time later opened another 
office in South Manchester, the latter 
being in the House and Hale Block, 
which in 1912 became his chief office. He 
is well thought of in Manchester, and has 
the confidence of an increasing clientele. 
He does not enter much into political 
activities, the best possible execution of 
his professional responsibilities being his 
chief concern. He is constantly under- 
taking research, and indicates by his 
handling of cases that he follows clearly 
the development of medical science. Fra- 
ternally, he belongs to the following 
orders : Knights of Columbus, Foresters 



214 




tff^ 





ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of America, the Loyal Order of Moose, 
the Hartford Lodge of Elks, and his med- 
ical college fraternity, Phi Chi. Religi- 
ously, he is a member of the Catholic 
church. 



SYMONDS, William Francis, 

Merchant. 

A native son of Connecticut, Mr. 
Symonds is the scion of an early family of 
Hartford county, originally established in 
Massachusetts. The name is found under 
various spellings in the earliest days of 
New England. Among the settlers of 
Plymouth Colony was a Dutchman whose 
name was spelled Simons, who probably 
became acquainted with the Puritans in 
his native land. His descendants are 
found under various names including 
Simmons, and are scattered throughout 
the country. The others were undoubt- 
edly of English descent, and the name 
corresponds in meaning to Simon's son. 
The contraction of this name readily 
brought it to its present form. Many 
members of the family herein traced spell 
the name Simons, Simmonds, and other- 
wise. 

The founder of this family in America 
was William Symonds, who settled in 
Woburn, Massachusetts, about 1644.7 and 
resided near Dry Brook, where he died 
June 7, 1672. He married, January 10, 
1644, Judith (Phippen) Hayward, widow 
of James Hayward, who came in the 
"Planter" in 1635 to America. She died 
January 3, 1690. 

Their fourth son, Lieutenant Benjamin 
Symonds, was born March 18, 1654, in 
Woburn, where he died September 21, 
1726. His wife, Rebecca, died in April, 

I7I3- 

Their third son, Joseph Symonds, born 
March 1, 1683, was among the early set- 
tlers of Hartford, Connecticut. He lived 



on the east side of the Connecticut river 
in that part of the town which is now 
Manchester, and purchased, March 28, 
1732, one hundred acres of land from Tim- 
othy and Abigail Woodbridge. This land 
was bounded on the north by that of 
Lieutenant Thomas Olcott, and on three 
sides by undivided common land, indi- 
cating that it was on the remote out- 
skirts of the settlement at that time. He 
married, March 2, 1709, Abigail Spencer, 
daughter of Samuel Spencer, and grand- 
daughter of Thomas Spencer. He owned 
the covenant at the First Church of Hart- 
ford, July 10, 1709. The baptisms of four 
of his children are recorded there, 
namely: Abigail, Joseph (died young), 
Mary and Joseph. 

Their third son, Samuel Symonds, was 
baptized at the Second Church in Hart- 
ford, November 20, 1715. He probably 
formed other church relationships soon 
after this. Records of his descendants 
are found in the East Hartford Church. 

His son, Samuel Simmons, was among 
the proprietors of Hartford in 1754, and 
received a lot in the distribution of com- 
mon lands, February 18, of that year. 
This was lot No. 21, in the second tier 
of lots south of the Farmington road, 
west of the Connecticut river, and in- 
cluded four acres, one rood, and thirty- 
six rods. This he sold, April 17, 1783, to 
Isaac Sheldon. He made his home on 
the East Side, and several of his children 
were baptized in the East Hartford 
Church, from 1751 to 1763. 

His third son and fourth child was 
Ashnah Symonds, who was born August 
2, and baptized August 14, 1757, in the 
East Hartford Church, lived in that part 
of East Hartford which is now Manches- 
ter, where he died January 20, 1850. He 
was a soldier of the Revolution, enlisting 
first in December, 1775, for two months, 
in Captain Jonathan Wells' company, 

'IS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Colonel Gay's Connecticut regiment ; in 
August of the same year he enlisted for 
two months under Captain Timothy 
Cheney, Major Pease's regiment; in 1777, 
he enlisted for two months under Cap- 
tain David Johnson; in 1778 for one 
month in Captain Henry Amid's com- 
pany, Colonel Worthington's regiment; 
in 1779, for two months, and in 1780 for 
two months in Captain Ozias Bissell's 
company. This is his own record, as fur- 
nished in application for a pension, made 
August 4, 1832, at which time he was liv- 
ing in Manchester, and his claim was 
allowed. He enlisted at East Hartford. 
He married Ruth Slate, and they were 
the parents of eleven children. 

His son, Allen Symonds, was born No- 
vember 21, 1795, and was a mill-wright, 
residing at Burnside, Connecticut, where 
he died December 5, 1877. He married, 
about 1817-18, Amanda Hancock, who 
was born February 24, 1800, and died 
March 26,. 1873, at Burnside. 

Their second son, Sylvester Russell 
Symonds, was born August 16, 1824, in 
Manchester, and in early life was a sailor. 
He made three voyages on a whaling ves- 
sel, and for two years subsequently sailed 
on coast trading vessels. He enlisted as 
a soldier in 1862, in the Civil War, becom- 
ing a member of Company K, Twenty- 
fifth Regiment of Connecticut Volun- 
teers, and served one year. Later, he set- 
tled at Unionville, Connecticut, where he 
engaged in painting, and died September 
I 5> I 9°5- He married, August 25, 185 1, 
at Greenport, Long Island, Sarah Bogar- 
dus Wetmore, who was born August 16, 
1828, in Brooklyn, New York, died Sep- 
tember 16, 1916, in Unionville, daughter 
of William Whiting and Eleanor (Beebe) 
Wetmore. They were the parents of 
eleven children. 

William Francis Symonds, third son of 
Sylvester Russell and Sarah Bogardus 



(Wetmore) Symonds, was born Decem- 
ber 10, 1861, at Burnside. Connecticut, 
and was a child of three years when his 
parents settled in Unionville. After 
attending the public schools, he took a 
course in shorthand, and was subse- 
quently a student at Bowers' School of 
Photograph in Minneapolis, Minnesota, 
where he graduated in 1884. For three 
years he continued in this occupation in 
Minneapolis, and in 1888 returned to 
Unionville, where he has been continu- 
ously engaged to the present time as a 
tinning, plumbing, and hardware mer- 
chant. He is well-known and respected 
in Unionville as a useful and patriotic 
citizen. He is a member and past mas- 
ter of Evening Star Lodge, No. 101, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons ; also 
a member of Columbia Chapter, No. 31, 
Royal Arch Masons, and Lee Council, No. 
25, Royal and Select Masters; he is a 
past patron of the local chapter, Order of 
the Eastern Star, in which he served two 
terms. He was long a member of Tunxis 
Hose Company, No. 1, of Unionville, and 
belongs to the Association of Veterans of 
that company. In political principle Mr. 
Symonds is a Republican, but he has 
never participated in active politics, 
although he is a steadfast supporter of its 
principles. 

Mr. Symonds married, December 16, 
1891, Grace Elizabeth Ferrell, born in 
South Hadley Falls, Massachusetts, 
daughter of George and Elizabeth (West) 
Ferrell, of that town, died in Unionville. 
They were the parents of Blanche Eliza- 
beth Symonds, born September 24, 1892, 
now residing with her father in Union- 
ville. 

Through his mother, Mr. Symonds is 
descended from Thomas Wetmore, who 
was born in 161 5 in one of the western 
counties of England, according to family 
tradition, and came to America in 1635. 
16 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The name is a variation of Whitmore, 
and this form was used by Thomas Wet- 
more at one time. He sailed from Bris- 
tol, England, in 1635, and settled at 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, where he was 
a land owner in 1640. Soon after he 
removed to Hartford and was among the 
first settlers of Middletown in 1649. 
There he was admitted a freeman, May 
20, 1652, conditions of membership being 
the possession of an estate valued at two 
hundred pounds or over, and membership 
in the Orthodox church (now Congrega- 
tional.) In 1654-55 he represented Mid- 
dletown in the General Assembly. He 
died December 11, 1681, at the age of 
sixty-six years. He married, December 
11, 1645, Sarah, daughter of John and 
Ann (Willicke) Hall. She died Decem- 
ber 7, 1665. Her fourth son, Izrahiah 
Wetmore, was born March 8, 1657, in 
Middletown, was a magistrate, deputy to 
the General Court from 1721 to 1728, 
inclusive, and died at the age of eighty- 
six years. He married, May 13, 1692, 
Rachel Stow, born March 13, 1651, grand- 
daughter of John Stow, who came from 
Kent, England, was a freeman at Rox- 
bury, Massachusetts, in 1634, member of 
the Ancient and Honorable Artillery 
Company in 1638, representative to the 
General Court in 1639. He married, in 
England, Elizabeth Briggs, and they 
were the parents of Samuel Stow, born 
1622, in England, graduated from Har- 
vard College, 1645, and was the first pas- 
tor of the First Orthodox Congregational 
Society in Middletown, installed 1657. 
Later he established a church at Sims- 
bury, Connecticut. He married Hope, 
daughter of William Fletcher, and their 
youngest child was Rachel Stow, above 
noted as the wife of Rev. Izrahiah Wet- 
more. Their son, Rev. Izrahiah Wet- 
more, was born June 28, 1693, in Middle- 
town, studied for the ministry, was set- 



tled as pastor at Stratford, Connecticut, 
died there September 14, 1728, and was 
buried in the old East Burying Ground 
at Middletown. He married Sarah Booth, 
of Stratford, daughter of Sergeant John 
and Dorothy (Hawley) Booth, grand- 
daughter of Richard Booth, born 1607, 
who settled in Stratford, and mar- 
ried Elizabeth, sister of the first Joseph 
Hawley. Their son, Rev. Izrahiah Wet- 
more, was born August 30, 1729, in 
Stratford, graduated at Yale College in 
1748, received his Master's degree in 
1757, and was pastor for forty-five years 
of the Presbyterian church of Stratford 
and Trumbull. In 1773 he preached the 
election sermon before the Legislature of 
Connecticut, and several of his sermons 
were published. He died August 3, 1798, 
in Trumbull, and was buried in Strat- 
ford. He married, December 30, 1756, 
Phebe Walker, born September 7, 1740, 
died September 12, 1784, daughter of Hon. 
Robert and Rebecca (Lewis) Walker. 
Her father filled many responsible and 
high offices in the colony. Their third son 
William Walker Wetmore, was born 
March 29, 1769, in Stratford, where he 
made his home and died, December 2, 
1837. He married, January 18, 1793, 
Sarah Bogardus, who was born March 
28, 1773, a descendant of one of the early 
Dutch families of New York. Their son, 
William Whiting Wetmore, born Octo- 
ber 7, 1806, married, in November, 1827, 
Eleanor Beebe, and their eldest child, 
Sarah Bogardus Wetmore, born August 
16, 1828, became the wife of Sylvester 
Russell Symonds, and the mother of Wil- 
liam Francis Symonds, of Unionville. 



NEWTON, Charles Hollister, 

Active Man of Affairs. 

The name of Newton is one of the old- 
est in the annals of New England, and it 



217 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



stands for a family the members of which 
have maintained throughout the entire 
period of its history a standard of distin- 
guished service to their respective com- 
munities that may well be envied by all. 
It is represented in the town of Plainville, 
Connecticut, to-day, by Charles Hollister 
Newton, the worthy scion of a long line 
of notable forbears. 

The family, which is a very numerous 
one to-day, with branches that extend far 
beyond the boundaries of New England, 
traces its descent from Samuel Newton, 
of England, who flourished about the 
opening of the seventeenth century and 
lived to see that great wave of adventure 
and enterprise which swept over the coun- 
try and which was responsible for the 
colonization of what afterwards became 
the United States. 

His son, the Rev. Roger Newton, was 
born in the "Mother Country" in the year 
1620, and was the first of the name to 
come to America, which he did as a very 
young man, although the exact date of 
his emigration remains a matter of con- 
jecture. He settled in the newly founded 
colony of Hartford and there studied 
divinity under the redoubtable Thomas 
Plooker, whose daughter, Mary, he after- 
ward married. He was installed about 
1645 as the fi rst minister in Farmington, 
Connecticut. Later he was the second pas- 
tor of the church at Milford and served in 
these two charges for many years, until 
his death in 1683. A most humorous 
tale is told of the attempt made by this 
worthy gentleman to return to England 
for a visit after twelve years of faithful 
ministry to his flock in Farmington. He 
repaired to Boston, from which port he 
was to take ship, but there arose such a 
storm and such continued stress of bad 
weather that the captain of the vessel, 
being of a pious and superstitious nature, 



made up his mind that it was a sign of 
Heavenly displeasure with one who was 
seeking to escape from the hardships of 
preaching the gospel in the wilderness, 
hoisted his sails and sailed away leaving 
his reverend passenger stranded in Bos- 
ton. His marriage to Mary Hooker 
occurred at Hartford in 1644, an d of their 
union was born eight children, as follows : 
Samuel, Roger, Susanna, John, Ezekiel, 
Sarah, Mary and Alice. It is from John 
Newton, the fourth of these, that Mr. 
Newton traces his descent. 

John Newton was born in Farmington, 
in June, 1656. He married Lydia Ford, 
in 1680, and died in 1699. The line from 
him down to the present is as follows : 
Ezekiel Newton, born 1687, married Abi- 
gail Briscoe, in 171 1, and died 1728; Dr. 
Ezekiel Newton, born 1716, married 
Mary Collins ; Ezekiel Newton, born in 
1741, married Ann Smith, and died Sep- 
tember 3, 181 1 ; Nathan Newton, born 
1776, married Laura Hollister, in 1803, 
and died June 28, 1854; Ezekiel Newton, 
born November 14, 1803, died February 
22, 1880; married Caroline Northrop, 
July 7, 1830; and Franklin Newton, 
father of Charles H. Newton, of this 
review. 

The Newtons have always been highly 
honored in the community from the time 
of the Rev. Roger Newton, whose name 
appears upon a plate on the memorial 
bridge erected by the town of Milford to 
honor the memory of her most prominent 
citizens. Many members of the family 
took part in the Revolution, a long list of 
their names appearing in the various rec- 
ords, among which is that of Ezekiel 
Newton, the direct ancestor of Charles 
Hollister Newton. The family has also 
intermarried with many of the most 
prominent of the old New England fami- 
lies as a comparison of the names already 



218 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



given will show. The grandfather of Mr. 
Newton, Ezekiel Newton, married Caro- 
line Northrop, a sister of Lord Northrop. 

Franklin Newton was born December 
19, 1838, died January 27, 1894. He had 
a public school education, and followed 
the occupation of farming at Washing- 
ton, Connecticut, all his life, except dur- 
ing the period in which he served in the 
Civil War. He married Matilda Morgan, 
a descendant of a well-known New Eng- 
land family, always noted for its skill in 
financial matters which culminated in the 
person of the late J. Pierpont Morgan. 

Charles Hollister Newton was born 
May 3, 1877, at Washington, Connecticut, 
and there passed the years of his child- 
hood and youth. He gained his educa- 
tion in the excellent schools of that town 
and proved himself an unusually good 
student. He left the parental roof upon 
completing his studies and went to Tor- 
rington where he secured a position with 
a large manufacturing concern of that 
city, in the employ of which he received 
a rapid promotion. Later he was sent to 
Newark, New Jersey, to represent his 
firm, and there remained a considerable 
period. He then received an offer of the 
secretaryship of the Osborne-Stephenson 
Manufacturing Company of Plainville, 
and returned to that town to take up his 
new duties. He still holds this important 
office at the present time. Mr. Newton is 
very prominent in the general life of 
Plainville and belongs to many important 
organizations and orders there. He is a 
prominent Mason, being a member of 
Seneca Lodge, No. 55, Free and Accepted 
Masons, as well as of the higher divisions 
of the order. Fie attends the Congrega- 
tional church of Plainville and is promi- 
nent in the work of the congregation. He 
is a member of the American Society of 
Mechanical Engineers. 

On September 15, 1894, Mr. Newton 



was united in marriage with Sara L. Wad- 
hams, born October 16, 1876. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Newton one child has been 
born, Roger Hooker Newton, June 17, 
1909. He began his schooling at the age 
of four and gives token of possessing 
unusual mental powers, already showing 
a marked originality in his ideas and the 
ability to reason in the manner of an 
adult. 



TOLLES, Charles Levi, 

Business Man. 

Henry Tolles, the immigrant ances- 
tor, who was born in England, and set- 
tled in Wethersfield, Connecticut, as 
early as 1669, removing later to Saybrook 
in that colony. He was twice married. 
By his first wife, he had a son, Henry, 
mentioned below. 

(II) Henry (2) Tolles, son of Henry 

(1) Tolles, was in New Haven, April 15, 
1693. He married Rebecca Thomas, 
daughter of Daniel and Rebecca Thomas, 
of New Haven. Children : Henry, men- 
tioned below; Rachel, born 1696; Sam- 
uel, 1698; Daniel, 1700; Ebenezer, 1703; 
Dorothy, 1705; Experience, 1708. 

(III) Henry (3) Tolles, son of Henry 

(2) Tolles, was born in 1694, in New 
Haven, and died there in 1772. He mar- 
ried Deborah Clark, February 15, 1727. 
She died in New Haven, in 1788. Chil- 
dren, born in New Haven : Elnathan, 
born December 15, 1729, died in infancy; 
Dorothy, September 17, 1731 ; Francis, 
December 30, 1733; Henry, mentioned 
below; Mabel, August 21, 1738; Elnathan, 
January 9, 1741 ; Dorothy, September 3, 
1743; Rachel, December 1, 1745; De- 
borah, July 27, 1 75 1 ; Philemon, May 8, 

1753- 

(IV) Henry (4) Tolles, son of Henry 

(3) Tolles, was born at New Haven, Au- 
gust 8, 1736. He married Hannah Clark, 

19 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daughter of John and Rebecca Clark, 
November 25, 1757. She was descended 
from William Gilbert, secretary of the 
New Haven Colony. Children, born at 
New Haven : Clark, mentioned below ; 
David, born August 5, 1760; Amarillis, 
January 14, 1764; John, July 7, 1766; 
Henry, August 29, 1768; Benjamin, bap- 
tized May 10, 1778; Philemon, baptized 
May 10, 1778. Henry Tolles was a sol- 
dier in the Revolutionary War in Captain 
Upham's company. Together with his 
three brothers, Clark, David and John, he 
was among the first settlers of the town 
of Weathersfield, Vermont, in Windsor 
county, 1780. He died there in 1810, and 
his wife also died in 1801. 

(V) Clark Tolles, son of Henry (4) 
Tolles, was born in New Haven, August 
2 5> I 75§- He was also a soldier in the 
Revolution. He married Sally Proctor. 
Children, born at Weathersfield, Ver- 
mont: Henry, born April 10, 1782; Sarah, 
July 21, 1785, married Ames Nichols; 
Clark, September 22 1787; Levi, men- 
tioned below ; Betsey, June 2, 1795, mar- 
ried a Mr. Marshall ; Lucy, September 
10, 1796, married Henry Truell ; Hannah, 
July 12, 1799, married Leonard Roby; 
Gershom Hiram, June 7, 1802, married 
Cynthia Niles. 

(VI) Levi Tolles, son of Clark and 
Sally (Proctor) Tolles, was born in 
Weathersfield, Vermont, September 23, 
1792. He married Mary Mosely, and they 
were the parents of the following chil- 
dren : Julia Ann, Lucian, Charles, George 
Franklin, of further mention, Betsey, 
Fanny and Henry. 

(VII) George Franklin Tolles, son of 
Levi and Mary (Mosely) Tolles, was 
born February 8, 1834, in Bloomfield, 
Vermont. He received a common school 
education in his native town, and learned 
the trade of machinist in Nashua, New 
Hampshire. During the Civil War he 



came to Hartford, Connecticut, and was 
a contractor engaged in the manufacture 
of Sharpe's rifles for the government, and 
afterward he sent for his brother, Charles, 
and admitted him to partnership in this 
business. After the war he had a machine 
shop in Hartford, but after a few years 
entered the employ of the Colt Patent 
Firearms Company, continuing for a per- 
iod of forty years, foreman of the rifle 
shop during most of the time. In 1909 he 
retired. In politics he has always been 
a Republican. He represented the Fourth 
Ward in the Common Council of Hart- 
ford in the eighties. He was one of the 
charter members of Lafayette Lodge, 
Ancient Free & Accepted Masons ; and 
is a member of the Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons ; Council, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters ; Washington Commandery, Knights 
Templar ; and the Connecticut Consis- 
tory. In religion he is a Universalist. 

Mr. Tolles married August 2, 1863, 
Jeanette Cynthia (Cornish) Pratt, of 
Simsbury, Connecticut (see Cornish). 
Children : Fanny, married John F. Ahern, 
supervisor of music in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, public schools ; Charles Levi, 
mentioned below. 

(VIII) Charles Levi Tolles, son of 
George Franklin and Jeanette Cynthia 
(Cornish) Tolles, was born in Hartford 
August 20, 1865. He attended the pub- 
lic schools there, graduating from the 
Hartford High School in 1884. In March 
of the same year he started upon his bus- 
iness career as an office boy for the Jewell 
Belting Company. In the course of time 
he was promoted successively to invoice 
clerk, bookkeeper, cashier and assistant 
secretary. He not only mastered the 
details of the office and shop, but went 
on the road and sold goods for a number 
of years and became well acquainted with 
the customers of the company. He was 
made secretary of the company in 1908, 



220 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and on December 8, 1910, was made vice- 
president and sales manager. Seven years 
later, November 20, 191 7, Mr. Tolles was 
made president of the company. He also 
holds the office of president of the Jewell 
Belt Hook Company, being on the board 
of directors of both the Jewell Belting 
and Jewell Belt Hook companies. He is 
a member of Lafayette Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons; the Hart- 
ford Club; the Hartford Golf Club; the 
Farmington Country Club ; the Connec- 
ticut Society, Sons of the American Rev- 
olution. Both Mr. Tolles and his sister 
are gifted musically. While students in 
the High School they began singing in 
the choir of the Center Congregational 
Church, and have been active in musi- 
cal circles and members of various musi- 
cal organizations to the present time. 

Mr. Tolles married Annie Louise Rob- 
erts, daughter of Charles F. Roberts, of 
Hartford. Children, born at Hartford : 
Helen Roberts, born November 7, 1897, 
and Bryant Franklin, January 20, 1899. 
Mr. Tolles and his wife are members of 
the Asylum Congregational Church. 

(The Cornish Line). 

(I) James Cornish, the immigrant 
ancestor, was of Saybrook, Connecticut, 
in 1659, when he witnessed William 
Jackson's will, and in May, 1660, bought 
land and taught school there later. Soon 
after he came to Saybrook he married 
Phebe Larrabee, widow of Gabriel Larra- 
bee. "Old William Brown," of Rusper, 
County Sussex, England, was her father. 
She married (first) Thomas Lee, by 
whom she had several children, coming 
to America in 1641, losing her husband 
on the voyage. She married (second) 
Gabriel Larrabee, by whom she had chil- 
dren also. Through her son James came 
the family at Simsbury. She died at 
Northampton, December 28, 1664. 



In 1661, James Cornish taught school 
at Windsor, but in 1664 was at North- 
ampton and in that year sold his place at 
Saybrook. He taught school also at 
Northampton, but soon removed to West- 
field, of which he was the first town clerk 
and teacher. His house was destroyed 
by Indians in King Philip's War. In 
1674-76 he was again at Windsor and he 
kept school there again; in 1678 he was a 
teacher at Norwalk, Connecticut. Teach- 
ing was poorly paid and he moved often. 
While in Westfield, he was for a time 
clerk of the courts at Northampton, ap- 
pointed by Governor Andros in 1687, 
serving two years. After 1667 ne lived 
most of his time in Westfield, but in 1695 
he settled in Simsbury, Connecticut, and 
spent his last years with his son's fam- 
ily. Fie was born in England about 1612, 
died at Simsbury, October 29, 1698. 

(II) Deacon James (2) Cornish, son of 
James (1) Cornish, was born in 1663, died 
April 2, 1740. He married (first) Novem- 
ber 10, 1693, Elizabeth Thrall, born May 
1, 1667, died January 25, 1714, daughter 
of Timothy and Deborah (Gunn) Thrall, 
of Windsor. He married (second) April 
: 5> I 7 I 5> Hannah Hilliard, born Decem- 
ber 20, 1681, died December 2, 1751, 
daughter of Andrew and Hannah (Burr) 
Hilliard. Pie came from Westfield to 
Windsor, where he lived from 1690 to 
1698, then moved to Simsbury. He was 
deputy to the General Court from Sims- 
bury many years ; was deacon of the 
church from 1715 until he died. He was 
a well-to-do farmer. Children by first 
wife: James, mentioned below; Eliza- 
beth, born September 25, 1695 > Joseph, 
October 18, 1697; Benjamin, March 28, 
1701 ; Phebe; Sarah, April 19, 1709. By 
second wife: Gabriel, May 25, 1716; 
Jemima, November 20, 1718; Keziah, 
October 12, 1721 ; Mary, Jabez, 1726. 

(III) Captain James (3) Cornish, son 



221 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Deacon James (2) Cornish, was born 
October 30, 1694, died March 22, 1784. 
He married (first) Amy Butler, who died 
February 16, 1763, daughter of Thomas 
Butler, of Hartford. He married (second), 
November 24, 1763, Hannah (Thrall) 
Hickox, who died August 2^, 1779. He 
was a farmer in Simsbury. He was com- 
missioned captain in October, 1736, of 
the south company or train band. Chil- 
dren by first wife, born at Simsbury: 
James, born October 4, 1720, died Febru- 
ary 13, 1736-37; Elisha, mentioned below; 
Amy, June 5, 1722; Daniel, May 21, 1727; 
Abigail, September 5, 1729; Joel, July 
18, 1731 ; Abigail, May 5, 1733; Lucy, 
June 8, 1735; Violet, April 12, 1737; 
Rachel, September 3, 1740. 

(TV) Sergeant Elisha Cornish, son of 
Captain James (3) Cornish, was born at 
Simsbury, June 5, 1722, died April 27, 
1794. He married (first) September 25, 
1740, Hepsibah Humphrey, born 1724, 
died February 25, 1755, daughter of 
Charles Humphrey. He married (sec- 
ond) August 31, 1755, Mary Dyer, who 
died October 21, 1775, daughter of Ben- 
jamin Dyer. He married (third) June 2, 
1776, Charity Pettibone, born June 30, 
1744, died October 5, 1803. His widow 
married, June 14, 1799, Dr. Amasa Case. 
Children by first wife, born in Simsbury: 
Hepsibah, born August 27, 1741, died 
young; Hepsibah, November 4, 1742; 
James, mentioned below; Elizabeth, May 

8, 1746; Elisha, December 7, 1748; Dor- 
cas, September 11, 1750; Charles, Sep- 
tember 29, 1752. By second wife: Mary, 
February 17, 1759. By third wife: Giles, 
April 8, 1780. 

(V) Captain James (4) Cornish, son 
of Sergeant Elisha Cornish, was born at 
Simsbury, December 16, 1744, died July 

9, 1813. He married, December 29, 1766, 
Ruhamah Bidwell, born 1743, died March 
14, 1814. He was a farmer in Simsbury ; 



captain of the militia company there. 
Children, born at Simsbury : Charles, 
born October 29, 1767; Dorcas; Eber, 
February 16, 1772; Chloe ; James, men- 
tioned below; Loruhamah, 1783. 

(VI) Colonel James (5) Cornish, son 
of Captain James (4) and Ruhamah (Bid- 
well) Cornish, was born in 1776, died 
January 20, 1836. He was a farmer in 
Simsbury. He was active in the militia 
and rose to the rank of colonel of his 
regiment. He married (first) Cynthia 
Russell, born October 14, 1778, died Au- 
gust 5, 1824, daughter of Sergeant Jesse 
and Sarah (Cornish) Russell, grand- 
daughter of Daniel and Mindwell (Bunce) 
Cornish, great-granddaughter of cap- 
tain James Cornish, mentioned above. 
He married (second) Elizabeth Smith, 
widow, who survived him. Children: 
Grove, born 1796; Charles, 1799, died 
February 20, 1804; Charles Edwin, men- 
tioned below; James Darwin, May, 1808; 
Sidney Aurora, October 6, 1819. 

(VII) Major Charles Edwin Cornish, 
son of Colonel James (5) Cornish, was 
born at Simsbury, April 13, 1805, died 
February 14, 1882. He lived at Glaston- 
bury. He was for many years prominent 
in the militia, and an excellent officer, of 
fine presence and a strict disciplinarian. 
He married Mary N. Vining, born Sep- 
tember 10, 1810, died May 11, 1873, 
daughter of Thomas Vining. Child, 
Jeanette Cynthia, born June 11, 1835, 
married (first) Henry L. Pratt, February 
12, 1856, (second), August 2, 1863, George 
Franklin Tolles, of Hartford (see Tolles). 



GLOVER, George, 

Retired Manufacturer. 

Among the many recent arrivals from 
the Old World who have aided very ma- 
terially in developing the manufacturing 
industries of New England is George 



222 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Glover, who was born January n, 1841, 
in Nottingham, England. His father, 
George Glover, was born in 1815, in Not- 
tingham, and married Rebecca Wood, 
who was born in the same place in 1816. 
He was a son of George Glover, and 
descended from an ancient English fam- 
ily. The surname is derived from a trade, 
the word itself of Saxon origin, and at 
first spelled Golofore and varied from 
time to time until the present form was 
established in the fourteenth century. 
At that ancient date the family was 
seated in the counties of Warwick and 
Kent, England, and tradition connects the 
first American immigrant with the War- 
wickshire family. Robert Glover, a de- 
scendant of this family, was burned at the 
stake, September 14, 1555, during the per- 
secution of the Protestants in the reign 
of "Bloody" Mary. He had sons who suc- 
ceeded to his estate at Baxterly, War- 
wickshire. The family has always been 
distinguished for its piety, and bears a 
coat-of-arms : 

Arms — Sable, a chevron; ermine between three 
crescents, argent. 

The English progenitor of the first 
American family of the name was Thomas 
Glover, who died in Rainhill Parish, 
Prescott, Lancashire, England, Decem- 
ber 13, 1619. His second and first sur- 
viving son, John Glover, baptized August 
12, 1600, in Rainhill, came to Boston, 
Massachusetts, where he died February 
11, 1653. He left a numerous progeny, 
now found in all parts of the United 
States. 

In 1849 George and Rebecca (Wood) 
Glover came to the United States and 
settled in Thompsonville, Connecticut. 
He was a machinist and found ready 
occupation here until his death, about 
1885. 

George Glover, Jr., son of George and 



Rebecca (Wood) Glover, was born in 
1841, in Nottinghamshire, England, and 
remained there with his mother and other 
children one year after his father had 
come to America. He arrived in 1850, 
being then nine years of age, and was 
subsequently a student in the public 
schools of Thompsonville. At an early 
age he became associated with his father 
in learning the machinist trade, and con- 
tinued as such until the outbreak of the 
Civil War, when he enlisted for three 
years with the Twelfth Connecticut Regi- 
ment of Volunteers. Most of his service 
was in Louisianna, where a few months 
before the expiration of his term, he was 
captured by the enemy and imprisoned at 
Camp Ford, Tyler, Texas, where he was 
retained for some time after the close of 
hostilities. Returning to Connecticut, he 
located at Windsor Locks, and was em- 
ployed for some time as machinist by the 
Medlicoth Company of that place. In 
1866, he established a machine shop of 
his own, and two years later organized 
the Windsor Locks Machine Company, 
engaged in the manufacture of paper mill 
machinery. With him were associated 
Eugene Latham and Edwin Upton, who 
was secretary and treasurer of the com- 
pany of which Mr. Glover was made pres- 
ident. In 1901, he sold out his interest 
and has since lived a retired life in Wind- 
sor Locks. As evidenced by his military 
service, Mr. Glover is a most patriotic 
citizen of the Anglo-Saxon country in 
which Englishmen so immediately be- 
come at home. A striking proof of the 
permanency of the present Anglo-Ameri- 
can entente cordiale is the existence of 
many thousands who, though like Mr. 
Glover of English birth, are intensely 
loyal to the country of their adoption, and 
are not to be distinguished in any way 
from the other Anglo-Saxons of a remoter 
immigration. He has endeavored by his 



223 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vote and influence to promote the best 
form of civil government, and has usually 
acted with the Republican party. He has 
never sought political office for himself, 
believing that his own affairs required his 
best attention to insure success. He did, 
however, consent as a patriotic duty, 
when urged by his fellow-townsmen to 
act as assessor, which office he filled for 
two terms, serving in all nearly three 
years. He was also a selectman of the 
town, and has endeavored to promote the 
well-being and progress of the place. He 
is a member of Euclid Lodge, No. 690, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Windsor Locks, and of J. H. Converse 
Post, Grand Army of the Republic, of the 
same place. A faithful and earnest mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal church, 
he has filled the position of trustee in 
the Windsor Locks Society for nearly 
fifty years, and is now a member of the 
board of stewards. Mr. Glover married, 
August 30, 1865, Elizabeth Anderson, of 
Thompsonville, daughter of James and 
Jane (Cotter) Anderson, born July 12, 
1842. James Anderson was born in 
1800, of Scotch ancestry, and came from 
thence to the United States in 1824. 
After residing for some time in New- 
York and New Jersey, he came to Thomp- 
sonville, Connecticut, about 1836-37. He 
was the earliest carpet weaver of the 
place. He was a son of Robert and Isa- 
belle (Martin) Anderson, both of Scotch 
ancestry. Jane (Cotter) Anderson, wife 
of James Anderson, was born in County 
Tyrone, North Ireland, a daughter of 
John and Margaret (Willis) Cotter. The 
mother of the last named was Elizabeth 
Troupe. 

The Willis family is a very old and 
respected one in England, and the name 
is a Welsh patronymic, answering to 
Willson and Willison in English. Upon 
our records, before the orthography of 



names became fixed and uniform, it was 
spelled Wills, Willes, Wullys, Wyllis, 
Willis, in reference to the same persons, 
until the last spelling became nearly uni- 
versal. This name, though extremely 
common in this and the mother country, 
probably had no existence in its present 
form until the Welsh began to adopt the 
custom prevalent in other parts of Great 
Britain of adding an s final to denote the 
son of, in this case son of Wille. Among 
the immigrants to New England in the 
eighteenth century twenty of the name 
of Willis appear. That of George Willis 
can be traced for nine generations in Eng- 
land previous to his coming to America. 
He was the son of Richard or Timothy 
Willis, and came from Fenny Compton, 
Warwickshire, and was of Hartford, Con- 
necticut, in 1637, when he, "Mr. Willis," 
enlisted as a trooper in the Pequot War, 
under Major John Mason. He was 
chosen assistant in 1638, deputy gov- 
ernor, 1641, governor, 1642, and died 
March 9, 1645. His wife was Mary, and 
his children were: 1. Hester, who mar- 
ried, October 17, 1645, Captain Robert 
Harding. 2. Amy, married, November 6, 
1645, J onn Pyncheon. 3. George, who 
remained in England, and received from 
his father the bequest of an estate at 
Fenny Compton, in Warwickshire. Mar- 
garet Willis, who married John Cotter, 
can very readily have been a descendant 
of this man. In "A Genealogical Regis- 
ter of the Descendants of Several Ancient 
Puritans," by the Rev. Abner Morse, the 
arms of the Willis family are given as 
follows : 

Arms — Argent, a chevron sable between three 
mullets gules. 

Crest — A hawk with wing displayed, proper. 

The mother of Margaret Willis was 
Elizabeth (Troupe) Willis. There is an 
interesting tradition which connects the 



224 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Throope, or Troupe, family with the Col- 
onel Adrian Scroope, who fought in the 
Parliamentary army, was governor of 
Bristol Castle in 1649, served in the High 
Court of Justice that condemned Charles 
I. and signed his death warrant. The 
story is that at the time of the Restora- 
tion, when search for the regicides was 
made, he came to this country, assuming 
the name of William Throupe. Another 
regicide who sought refuge in the friendly 
asylum of New England upon the restora- 
tion of royal power was Judge Whalley. 

The children of George and Elizabeth 
(Anderson) Glover were as follows: I. 
George Herbert, born June 21, 1866, died 
February 2, 1887. 2. Anna Phelps, born 
May 31, 1868, became the wife of Alfred 
Bissell Campbell, of Enfield, Connecti- 
cut, and was the mother of a son, George 
Herbert Glover Campbell, born June 25, 
1892, now a second lieutenant in the 
United States Artillery, stationed at 
Fortress Monroe, Virginia. His mother 
died July 25, 1895. 3. Bertha Elizabeth, 
born September 17, 1872, died February 
5, 1893. 4. Mabel Anderson, born Sep- 
tember 17, 1872. 5. Gertrude Rebecca, 
born July 27, 1876, died December 27, 
1881. 



BURKE, Patrick Francis, Jr., 

Lawyer. 

Among the younger generation of law- 
yers who are to-day rising into promi- 
nence in the city of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, Patrick Francis Burke, Jr., de- 
serves prominent mention for the rapidity 
with which he has won recognition in 
legal circles and because of his strong 
and single-minded devotion to the tradi- 
tions of his profession. He is a native of 
Thompsonville, Connecticut, but is by 
parentage an Irishman and displays in his 
character the typical virtues and abilities 

Conn— 5— 15 225 



of that race. He is a son of Patrick 
Francis Burke, Sr., and of Bridget (Sulli- 
van) Burke, his wife. 

Mr. Burke, Sr., was a native of Ire- 
land, and there his childhood was passed. 
As a mere youth, however, he migrated 
to this country and settled in the town of 
Thompsonville, Connecticut, where he 
became an employee of the Carpet Mills 
and worked his way up until he was a 
boss dyer in the plant here. Still later he 
engaged in a wholesale liquor business, 
in which he met with considerable suc- 
cess. He and his wife were the parents 
of the following children : Walter A., 
who is now engaged with his father in 
his business in Thompsonville ; Patrick 
Francis, Jr., mentioned below ; May, who 
resides with her parents at home ; and 
Francis A., who is now a student in Holy 
Cross College. 

Born January 3, 1890, at Thompson- 
ville, Connecticut, Patrick Francis Burke. 
Jr., received his education at the schools 
of this town. He attended a parochial 
school and the public high school of En- 
field, where he was prepared for a col- 
lege career. Upon graduation from the 
latter institution he matriculated at Holy 
Cross College, from which he was gradu- 
ated with the class of 1910, taking his 
degree as Bachelor of Arts. His career 
in this college established for him an 
excellent reputation for scholarship and 
general good character, and he won the 
approval and friendship not only of his 
fellow undergraduates but also of the 
faculty and teaching staff. In the mean- 
time Mr. Burke had decided to make the 
law his profession, and accordingly in the 
same year as his graduation from Holy 
Cross, he entered the law school in con- 
nection with Yale University. Here he 
studied the required three years and was 
graduated in 191 3 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws. Immediately after- 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



wards he began the practice of his profes- 
sion in Hartford and here remained for 
some eighteen months. At the end of 
that time he removed to Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he has associated him- 
self with Mr. Henry Lasker, and since 
that time has carried on a most success- 
ful parctice here. He is at present a 
prominent member of the bar and much 
important litigation is entrusted to him. 
Mr. Burke has maintained his home in 
Thompsonville, Connecticut, although his 
office is situated at Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, and it is at the former place 
that his legal residence is established. On 
May I, 1917, he was appointed by the 
State Legislature of Connecticut, deputy 
judge of the Town Court of Enfield in 
this State, a position which he is at the 
present time holding, and in which he 
has done valuable service to the commun- 
ity. In politics Mr. Burke is a Republi- 
can, and has done much to assist the local 
organization of his party of recent years. 
He is a prominent figure in the social 
world of Thompsonville, and is active in 
the Order of the Knights of Columbus, 
having held the office of deputy grand 
knight, and is at the present time grand 
knight thereof and also lecturer. He is 
also a member of Waite Chapter of the 
Phi Delta Phi fraternity of Yale. He is 
also a member of the Alumni Society of 
Holy Cross College and of the Alumni 
Society of Yale. In his religious belief 
Mr. Burke is a Roman Catholic, as have 
been all the members of his family from 
time immemorial. 

Patrick Francis Burke, Jr., was united 
in marriage, April 3, 1912, with May 
Celestia Fleming, of Suffield, Connecti- 
cut, a daughter of Michael and Bridget 
(Galvin) Fleming, her father being a 
well-known and prosperous farmer of 
that region in the State. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Burke one child has been born, Ed- 
mund, June 8, 1916. 



HANLEY, William Edward, 

Postmaster, Merchant. 

William Edward Hanley, who for 
thirty-two years was a responsible mer- 
chant of Stafford Springs, Connecticut, 
and one of its most active residents, asso- 
ciated with most of its public movements, 
and prominent particularly in supporting 
the Democratic party's policies, was born 
in Monson, Massachusetts, July 12, 1855, 
and died at The Johnson Hospital, Staf- 
ford Springs, September 29, 1917, son of 
John and Margaret Hanley. 

John Hanley (father) was born in Tip- 
perary, Ireland, in 181 5, attended the 
common schools of his native place, and 
in 1850 emigrated to the United States, 
and during the thirty-eight years of his 
residence here gained by honest work and 
good citizenship the respect of those with 
whom he became acquainted. He is well 
remembered in the town of Stafford 
Springs, where his death occurred in the 
year 1888. His wife, Margaret Hanley, 
was also a native of Tipperary, born in 
1820, and her death also occurred there 
in the same year as her husband, 1888. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Hanley were earnest 
members of the Catholic church. They 
were the parents of at least four children : 
William Edward, of whom further ; Pat- 
rick, a resident of Stafford Springs ; Dan- 
iel, a resident of Woonsocket, Rhode 

Island ; and Mary, wife of McCor- 

mack, of Boston, Massachusetts. 

William Edward Hanley received pub- 
lic school education in Monson, Massa- 
chusetts, but, like so many other Ameri- 
can boys of character who later succeeded 
so well in life despite early educational 
handicaps, he was not altogether down- 
cast that his years of schooling should be 
few. At the age of thirteen, he was hard 
and optimistically working, in the hum- 
blest capacity, in a woolen mill in his 
native place, and he evidently became 



226 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



skilled in the work, for step by step he 
rose in responsibility until he attained 
the position of overseer, installing all the 
looms at the Mineral Springs mill in 1883. 
From there he went to Hydeville, as 
overseer, remaining there about two years 
and a half. During these years he had 
saved sufficient capital to enable him to 
engage in independent business, and he 
established himself in the retail shoe 
trade in Stafford Springs, Connecticut, in 
due course of time building up a fine bus- 
iness. 

Upon locating in Stafford Springs, Mr. 
Hanley entered energetically and intelli- 
gently into public affairs. He was an 
aggressive townsman, and sought to 
advance its interests constantly. Almost 
at the outset he was elected to town 
office, in 1884 the labors pertaining to the 
office of tax collector being vested in him, 
and he served in that capacity for six 
years, 1884-89. He gained in general 
popularity, and in 1891 was chosen by the 
people of Stafford Springs to act as their 
representative in the State Legislature, 
or General Assembly. That he served 
them well is evident in the fact that he 
was returned to the House, altogether 
serving in the sessions of 1891-93. Other 
matters, including his own business, kept 
him out of public office for some years 
thereafter, but for three years, 1900-02, he 
was a member of the school board, served 
on the Court of Burgesses, and in many 
other ways materially aided the adminis- 
tration. During the years 1911-15, Mr. 
Hanley was a member of the Board of 
Park Commissioners, resigning this office 
when appointed by President Wilson to 
the postmastership of Stafford Springs, 
an office for which he was well fitted. 
Needless to say this appointment was in 
accord with the wish of the people of 
Stafford Springs in general, and particu- 
larly of the Democratic section. He took 



the office of postmaster on February 1, 
1915. He was also for many years a mem- 
ber of the State Democratic Committee 
and of the local Democratic Town Com- 
mittee. 

Mr. Hanley was very popular in fra- 
ternal circles, and he devoted much time 
to the proceedings and maintaining in 
active, useful charity of the local branches 
of the orders to which he belonged. 
These were the Ancient Order of United 
Workmen, of which he was master work- 
man ; Knights of Columbus, in which he 
served as grand knight of the local order; 
Ancient Order of Hibernians, and For- 
esters of America. Socially he was a 
member of the Stafford Club. He was 
devout in the observances of the Catholic 
church, and was a trustee of St. Edward's 
Church at Stafford Springs, in which both 
he and his wife held membership, as do 
those of his children residing at home. 
Mr. Hanley was a man of sterling quali- 
ties, upright in business and greatly 
respected. 

Mr. Hanley was married in St. Ed- 
ward's Church, Stafford Springs, by the 
Rev. Patrick Donohue, on November 4, 
1880, to Rose, daughter of Patrick and 
Mary Clark, a native of Ireland. She 
died December 7, 1899. Eight children 
were born to them, namely: 1. John P., 
born February 22, 1882 ; received the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine, and is now 
engaged in medical practice at Stafford 
Springs. 2. William J., born August, 
1883. 3. Mary B., born 1885. 4. Rose 
M., born August, 1888. 5. Bernard C, 
born July, 1894. 6. Alice T., born Octo- 
ber, 1895. 7. Mildred C, born Septem- 
ber, 1896. 8. Walter J., born July, 1899. 
The funeral services of Mr. Hanley were 
held at St. Edward's Church with a sol- 
emn high mass. Interment was in St 
Edward's Cemetery. 



227 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



PIERSON, Martin E., 

Public Works Contractor. 

Born in Sweden, but a resident within 
the State of Connecticut since 1888, Mar- 
tin E. Pierson has, in his capacity of chief 
executive of the Pierson Engineering and 
Construction Company, undertaken many 
public works of importance for the State 
and municipalities of Connecticut. Much 
success has come to him, but only in pro- 
portion to his efforts and ability. 

Mr. Pierson was born in Helsingborg, 
Sweden, on January 23, 1873, the son of 
Per Pierson, who was superintendent of 
a coal mine in that place, and a well- 
respected and prosperous man in the 
community. The son, Martin E., was 
afforded such education as could be 
obtained in the town, but when only four- 
teen years of age had resolved to venture 
alone across the sea to America, there to 
enter upon a business career in the 
hope of achieving personal success more 
quickly, or in greater measure, than com- 
mercial opportunities in his native land 
gave promise. In the year 1888, Martin 
E. Pierson arrived at Bristol, Connecti- 
cut. There he has since remained, to his 
material advantage, and because of his 
works to the advantage of the town and 
State. Handicapped at the outset by his 
lack of knowledge of the English lan- 
guage, he had to take minor capacities for 
many years. After a period of service in 
a factory, followed by labor in a saw mill, 
he secured employment in a dry goods 
establishment, and in 1896 entered the 
employ of Charles R. Hart & Company, 
of Hartford, with which firm he remained 
until 1899, when he determined to ven- 
ture into independent business, undertak- 
ing public works contracts, although at 
first he prudently undertook no large con- 
tracts. His activities took shape in the 
direction of street-paving and the build- 



ing of sidewalks, he having acquired 
knowledge of this branch of contracting 
work while serving as a member of the 
street commission of Bristol. With 
time came extensive knowledge of other 
branches of the business, and ability to 
accomplish satisfactorily small undertak- 
ings brought larger ones, until eventually 
Mr. Pierson's contracts became so exten- 
sive and diversified as to necessitate in- 
corporation. In 1907 the Pierson Engi- 
neering and Construction Company came 
into corporate existence, with Mr. Pier- 
son as president. The company is well- 
known throughout New England, and is 
engaged in work over that entire terri- 
tory, covering the following phases: 
Dams, water supply, sewage disposal, 
piers, tunnels, railroads, wells, borings, 
property development, municipal con- 
struction, steel and reinforced concrete, 
buildings, bridges, foundation, and piling. 
It employs six hundred to eight hundred 
men, a striking contrast to the dozen with 
which Mr. Pierson made his first venture. 
The company now is constructing the 
Nepaug reservoir of the city of Hartford's 
new waterworks. Other contracts under- 
taken by the company have been : The 
Bristol Water Works, several large dams 
in that city, a dam for the city of Meri- 
den, and one for New Britain. The sig- 
nal ability of its president, Mr. Pierson, 
has been the main factor in the growth of 
the company. 

A Republican of prominence in Bristol, 
Mr. Pierson has on several occasions 
accepted public office ; he served for six 
years as a member of the Board of Bur- 
gesses in Bristol, for a period serving on 
the commission on streets. In 1913 his 
ability in public office found recognition 
in his election to the State Legislature, as 
representative of the city of Bristol, and 
in his subsequent advancement, in 1915, 
to the State Senate, in the interests of the 



228 





<%^z~2-^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Fifth District. At present, Senator Pier- of John Stebbins, of Watertown, Massa- 



son is chairman of the excise committee. 
Fraternally, he is a member of the Benev- 
olent and Protective Order of Elks ; of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; 
and of the Knights of Pythias, lodge and 
uniform rank. 

Mr. Pierson married Alma, daughter of 
Carl Benson, of New Britain. Mr. and 
Mrs. Pierson are members of the Luth- 
eran church. 



WILLIAMS, Ernest Russell, 

Manufacturer. 

Mr. Williams is a descendent of an old 
New England family, probably of Mat- 
thew Williams, some of whose descend- 
ants located in Glastonbury, Connecticut. 
Matthew Williams was first located at 
Watertown, Massachusetts, and settled 
in Wethersfield before 1645. He was a 
brick maker and farmer, and after 1655 
dwelt for a time on Long Island, remov- 
ing later to Barbadoes, but retaining his 
residence in Wethersfield. It is presum- 
able that he was engaged in commerce. 
He was dead in 1680, and was survived 
by a widow, Susannah. 

Their eldest son, Amos Williams, was 
born March 14, 1646, in Wethersfield, 
where he owned considerable land, and 
was also a landholder in Orange, New 
Jersey, but did not settle there. In 1668 
he was town crier. He was an early set- 
tler in the Rocky Hill section of Weth- 
ersfield. The inventory of his estate, filed 
in 1683 in Hartford, amounted to £217 
15s. He married, June 29, 1670, Eliza- 
beth, whose surname is not preserved. 
After his death she married Lieutenant 
Thomas Hollister. 

Samuel Williams, second son, was born 
June 25, 1675, * n Wethersfield, and mar- 
ried, June 24, 1697, Mary Stebbins, daugh- 
ter of John Stebbins, and granddaughter 



chusetts. 

Their second son was Samuel Wil- 
liams, born February 3, 1702, in Wethers- 
field, settled in Glastonbury, where he was 
married, January 17, 1733, to Susanna, 
daughter of John Potts. They were the 
ancestors of those of the name living in 
Glastonbury. 

One of their descendants lived in Cat- 
skill, New York, where was born, about 
1800, Robert Williams, who died in Meri- 
den at the age of eighty years. His par- 
ents died when he was a youth. He 
learned the trade of cooper. Later in life 
he engaged in business on his own 
account, and traveled through the South 
with a tin peddler's wagon, such as is 
now familiar only to the older generation. 
He did an extensive business in the South 
and acquired some capital, with which he 
engaged in business as a tinsmith in Meri- 
den, Connecticut. Subsequently he also 
engaged in farming. He married Rachel 
Baldwin, born about 1807-10, in what is 
now Meriden, daughter of Samuel Bald- 
win, and a descendant of Joseph Baldwin, 
who was among the original settlers of 
Milford, Connecticut. He was a son of 
Richard Baldwin, of Cholesbury, near 
Ashton Clinton, County of Bucks, Eng- 
land, and was of record in Milford in 
1639. His wife Hannah joined the 
church there, January 23, 1644, and at 
that time their first four children were 
baptized. About 1663, Joseph Baldwin 
removed with his family to Hadley, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he and his son, Joseph 
Baldwin, were admitted freemen in 1666. 
His seventh child was Jonathan Baldwin, 
born February 15, 1649, m Milford, bap- 
tized two days later, lived in that town, 
and married there, November 2, 1677, 
Hannah, daughter of John Ward. Their 
fourth son was Daniel Baldwin, baptized 
March 3, 1689, who settled, in 1728, in 



229 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



that part of Wallingford known as Meri- 
den Parish, where he was a member of 
the church, and made his will in 1767. He 
was survived by his wife Patience. Their 
eldest child, Daniel Baldwin, born Sep- 
tember 28, 1713, in Milford, resided in the 
east part of the town of Meriden in 1747, 
having a farm north of Black Pond, where 
he died February 9, 1800. He married, 
December 2, 1747, Mercy Eaton. Their 
eldest child, Samuel Baldwin, born De- 
cember 20, 1749, was a soldier of the Rev- 
olution, and died August 3, 1828. He 
married Hannah Taylor, of Bolton, Con- 
necticut, born January 22, 1756, daughter 
of Thomas and Abigail (Wood) Taylor. 
Their eldest son was Samuel Baldwin, 
born 1778, in Meriden Parish, died 1844. 
He married Achsah Hale, and they were 
the parents of Rachel Baldwin, wife of 
Robert Williams. 

Their son, Russell Williams, was born 
June 2, 1836, in Meriden, and died March 
10, 1917, at his home on Garden street, 
Wethersfield. He resided in Meriden 
until four years before his death, and was 
for many years engaged in the painting 
and roofing business, and conducted a 
wall paper store, a pioneer in that line in 
Meriden. While not an office seeker, he 
took an active interest in political move- 
ments, acting with the Republican party, 
was a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows in Meriden, and several 
other fraternal orders, and was also a 
member of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church of Meriden. He was a very 
strong adherent of the temperance cause, 
and led a most exemplary life. He mar- 
ried (first) Mary L., daughter of Alonzo 
and Eliza Ann (Minard) Leeds, and they 
were the parents of Jennie Belle Wil- 
liams. The mother died at the age of 
thirty-one years, and Mr. Williams mar- 
ried (second) Ellen Isadore Radcliffe, 
who survives him with their two chil- 



dren : Ada Grace, wife of David R. Bris- 
tol, of Meriden, and Ernest Russell, of 
further mention. The eldest daughter 
also survives him and resides in Weth- 
ersfield. 

Ernest Russell Williams was born Oc- 
tober 7, 1877, in Meriden, and received 
his education in the public schools of that 
town. When eighteen years of age he 
engaged in business on his own account 
in supplying spring water to residents of 
the city. Soon after he removed to New 
Britain, Connecticut, and entered the em- 
ploy of Radcliffe Brothers, dealers in 
builders' supplies, and continued ten 
years in that employment. Having be- 
come thoroughly familiar with all the 
details of the business he was sent to 
Hartford, Connecticut, in 1909, to take 
charge of a factory there, employing some 
thirty people on an average. The business 
was incorporated under the name of the 
Hartford Sash & Door Company, April 
25, 1908, and Mr. Williams was made 
president and general manager in 191 1. 
The business has been continuously pros- 
perous, and under the efficient charge of 
Mr. Williams is steadily growing, and 
now occupies spacious quarters. 

Mr. Williams married Ethel L., daugh- 
ter of Walton, of New Brunswick, 

at that time a resident of Meriden. Mr. 
and Mrs. Williams are the parents of 
three children: Dorothy Mae, Russell 
Walton and Robert Stanley. 



PARSONS, George Simonson, 

Business Man. 

One of the most energetic and progres- 
sive among the successful men of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, is George Simonson 
Parsons, proprietor of the Thompsonville 
Hotel and tobacco grower on a large 
scale. He is a son of Naaman and Mary 
(Abbe) Parsons, who were, like him- 



230 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



self, natives and residents of this city. 
Naaman Parsons was a Baptist clergy- 
man, and when his son, George S. Par- 
sons, was seven years of age took charge 
for a time of the Baptist church at Put- 
ney, Vermont, where he and his family 
resided for a time. Later he went to East 
Long Meadow, Massachusetts, and here 
was in charge of a church for a number 
of years. His wife is a daughter of Lem- 
uel and Sarah Abbe, Mr. Abbe having 
been a farmer in the region of Enfield, 
where the Abbe family has long been 
prominent. Mr. Parsons, Sr., served as 
a private in the Twenty-first Regiment of 
Connecticut Volunteer Infantry for nine 
months during the Civil War. 

Born July 21, 1873, at Hartford, Con- 
necticut, George Simonson Parsons was 
the youngest of a family of three chil- 
dren. His elder brother, Frederick Par- 
sons, is now a resident of Brooklyn, New 
York, where he is in charge of the rolling 
stock of the Brooklyn Rapid Transit 
Company. The other child was a daugh- 
ter, Lizzie, who became the wife of Ben- 
jamin Simmons, who is associated with 
the manufacture of woolen goods at 
Ware, Massachusetts. The first seven 
years of Mr. Parsons' life were spent in 
his native Hartford, and he then accom- 
panied his parents to Putney, Vermont, 
where his father had been called to take 
charge of the Baptist church. Here it 
was that he began to attend school and 
passed through the grammar and high 
school grades there. He was then taken 
by his parents to East Long Meadow, but 
did not remain there a great while, as in 
1892 he left the parental roof and made 
his way to Cleveland, Ohio. Here the 
young man secured a position with the 
Electric Street Railway of that city and 
worked for five years at wiring street 
cars. In 1897, however, he returned to 
Connecticut, where he purchased about 



forty-five acres of excellent land, not far 
from Thompsonville, and engaged in the 
tobacco-growing business. He now raises 
some twenty-eight acres of the best 
shade tobacco, a crop which is always 
sure of having an excellent market, and 
is one of the most paying in Connecticut. 
He has been highly successful in this 
venture, and some years ago purchased 
the Thompsonville Hotel, which he now 
runs in a modern and up-to-date manner. 
Here, too, he has met with marked suc- 
cess and made his hotel very popular with 
the traveling public. Mr. Parsons has 
always been keenly interested in local 
affairs and has taken a very prominent 
part in them. In politics he is a Republi- 
can, and has been elected to a number of 
important offices on that party's ticket, 
among which should be mentioned a 
membership on the Board of Relief and 
that of assessor. In 1917 he was elected 
to represent his district in the State Leg- 
islature and is now a member of that 
body. Mr. Parsons is a member of the 
local lodge of the Modern Woodmen of 
the World, and of Friendship Lodge, In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows, of 
Thompsonville. He is a member of the 
German Club of Springfield. In his relig- 
ious belief Mr. Parsons is a Baptist and 
attends the church of that denomination 
at Hartford. He is very active in its 
work and has been a deacon thereof for 
some years. 

George Simonson Parsons was united 
in marriage, July 30, 1903, at Brooklyn, 
New York, with Cora Belle Lyman, a 
daughter of Fordis and Viola (Badger) 
Lyman. 



PARKER, George Amos, 

Representative Citizen. 



George Amos Parker, of Hartford, 
traces his descent from many old and dis- 



231 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tinguished New England families, many 
of whom have been residents of the State 
of Connecticut, including such well-known 
names as Governor Bradford, James Fitch, 
Alexander Carpenter, Thomas Richards, 
Rodman Gale, Simeon Huntington, John 
G. W. Clark, Thomas Leffingwell, Mercy 
Bushnell, Solomon Tracey, the Wood- 
ward, Metcalf, Roberts, Hinsdale and 
Plimpton families. 

Thomas Parker, the immigrant ances- 
tor of the family, sailed in the good ship 
"Susan & Ellen," from his native land, 
England, for the New England Colonies, 
March 31, 1635. He settled at Lynn, 
Massachusetts, where he was made a 
freeman, May 17, 1637. In the following 
year he received an allotment of forty 
acres of land, but shortly afterward re- 
moved to Reading, where he was active in 
the establishment of the church, built 
about 1644, of which he was made deacon, 
and he was also a selectman of Reading 
in 1661. Mr. Parker married, about 
Christmas time in the year 1635, Amy 

, whose death occurred January 15, 

1690, she having survived her husband a 
number of years, his death occurring Au- 
gust 12, 1683. 

Lieutenant Hananiah Parker, son of 
Thomas and Amy Parker, was probably 
born in Lynn, Massachusetts, of which 
place he was made a freeman, October 
15, 1679. He married, September 30, 
1663, Elizabeth Browne, a daughter 
of Lieutenant Nicholas and Elizabeth 
Browne, the former named having been 
a prominent man in the community, serv- 
ing as selectman and town clerk in Read- 
ing and as its representative to the Gen- 
eral Court in Boston for about seven 
years. Lieutenant Parker died March 10, 
1724. and his wife passed away February 
27, 1697. 

John Parker, son of Lieutenant Han- 
aniah and Elizabeth (Browne) Parker, 



was born at Reading, August 3, 1664. 
He was prominent in the affairs of that 
town, holding several public offices. He 
married, October 2, 1689, Deliverance 
Dodge, a daughter of John and Sarah 
Dodge, of Beverly. The death of Mr. 
Parker occurred January 22, 1741, and 
that of his wife March 10, 1718. 

Andrew Parker, son of John and De- 
liverance (Dodge) Parker, was born at 
Reading, February 14, 1693, an d resided 
there until he attained the age of nine- 
teen years, when he removed to Lexing- 
ton. He married, August 27, 1720, Sarah 
Whitney, a daughter of Isaiah and Sarah 
Whitney, of Lexington. The death of 
Mrs. Parker occurred December 18, 1774. 

Amos Parker, son of Andrew and Sarah 
(Whitney) Parker, was born at Lexing- 
ton, July 24, 1723, and died December 23, 

1790. He married, in 1744, Anna Cur- 
wen Stone, who died November 18, 1799. 

Nahum Parker, son of Amos and Anna 
Curwen (Stone) Parker, was born at 
Shrewsbury, March 4, 1760, and died No- 
vember 12, 1839. At the age of sixteen 
he went to war, was in the Continental 
army and was present at the surrender 
of General Burgoyne at Saratoga in 1777. 
He was prominent in public affairs, hav- 
ing been chosen selectman in 1790, rep- 
resented the town in the Legislature for 
twenty-two years, was judge of the Court 
of Common Pleas for twenty years, and 
in 1806 was chosen United States Sena- 
tor. Shortly after the close of the Revo- 
lutionary War, he married Mary Deith, a 
daughter of John and Jerusha Deith, of 
Hopkinton. She died June 4, 1837. 

Amos A. Parker, son of Nahum and 
Mary (Deith) Parker, was born at Fitz- 
william, New Hampshire, October 8, 

1791, and died in 1893. He received his 
education under the tuition of the Rev. 
John Sabin, of Fitzwilliam, at the Amherst 
(New Hampshire) Academy, at the New 



232 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Ipswich Academy, and at the University 
of Vermont, from which institution he 
was graduated in 1813. He taught school 
for three years in Virginia, after which 
he commenced the study of law with 
James Wilson, Sr., at Keene, and com- 
pleted his course at Fitzwilliam. He was 
admitted to the bar of the Superior Court 
in 1821, began the practice of his pro- 
fession at Epping, New Hampshire, then 
went to Concord, same State, and became 
editor of the New Hampshire "States- 
man." At this time he was appointed 
aide to Governor D. L. Morrill and had 
the title of colonel. While thus engaged, 
he had the honor of inviting General La- 
fayette to visit New Hampshire. From 
Concord he removed to New Market, 
from whence he removed to Exeter and 
Kingston, and in 1836 returned to Fitz- 
william, from whence he removed to 
Glastonbury, Connecticut, in 1879, and 
after a few years' residence there removed 
to Hartford, same State, where he resided 
until 1888, in that year returning to his 
native town. Mr. Parker held more 
offices and remained in office a longer 
period than any other man in the State 
of New Hampshire. He was a member 
of the bar for seventy-nine years was 
intimately acquainted with fourteen gov- 
ernors, and attended thirteen sessions of 
the State Legislature. He married Mi- 
randa W. Sanders, born April 16, 1796, 
died March 13, 1828, daughter of Daniel 
and Anna (Fitch) Sanders, the former 
named president of the Vermont Univer- 
sity. 

George Washington Parker, son of 
Amos A. and Miranda W. (Sanders) 
Parker, was born at Concord, New Hamp- 
shire, August 14, 1824, and died in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, February 20, 1907. He 
resided at various times at Fitzwilliam, 
New Hampshire, and Halifax, Massachu- 
setts. He will be best remembered as an 
inventor. Perhaps his most useful inven- 



tion was the rotary printing press, he 
being the first man to invent a cylinder 
press using a cast type form. This was 
in the year 1865, an d in the following 
year he built a cylinder press that in some 
ways resembled the present type, taking 
the paper from the roll, printing it and 
cutting it off. The great difficulty was 
to devise a method of ink distribution, 
and the method now used of a fountain 
with a set of rollers, in connection with 
which is a traveling roller to equalize the 
distribution of ink, was his invention. 
Mr. Parker married, October 26, 1848, 
Julia A. Deeth, born at Fitzwilliam, New 
Hampshire, in 1826, daughter of Lyman 
and Julia (Chapin) Deeth, of Fitzwilliam. 
They were the parents of five children, as 
follows: Ellen Miranda, who became the 
wife if Herbert Keith, of East Bridge- 
water, Massachusetts ; Daniel, deceased ; 
George Amos, of whom forward ; Caro- 
line, who became the wife of Frank 
Thrasher, of Gardner, Massachusetts ; 
Julia, the widow of Edwin Sabin, of Ran- 
dolph, Vermont. 

George Amos Parker, son of George 
Washington and Julia A. (Deeth) Parker, 
was born at Fitzwilliam, New Hamp- 
shire, April 28, 1853. He attended the 
local schools for the preliminary portion 
of his education, and then entered the 
Massachusetts Agricultural College, from 
which he graduated with class of 1876. 
After graduation he became head gar- 
dener at Vassar College, New York, 
afterwards head gardener for the Old 
Colony Railroad ; was appointed in 1896 
as superintendent of Keney Park, and in 
1906 as superintendent of the Public 
Parks of Hartford, which position he now 
holds. Mr. Parker was appointed by 
Governor Holcombe a member of the 
State Park Commission, and also of the 
Committee of the General Israel Putnam 
Memorial Camp Ground. 

Mr. Parker married, December 6, 1876, 



233 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Jannie W. Richmond, born in Halifax, 
Massachusetts, October 12, i85i,a daugh- 
ter of Andrew and Harriet N. (Water- 
man) Richmond, of that town. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Parker four children have been 
born, as follows : Arthur, at Poughkeep- 
sie, New York, September 6, 1877; An- 
drew Richmond, at Poughkeepsie, New 
York, June 12, 1881 ; Robert Lyman, at 
Halifax, Massachusetts, July 16, 1886, and 
Priscilla, at Halifax, Massachusetts, May 
21, 1891, who became the wife of Diman 
Lockwood, of Topsfield, Massachusetts. 



GREENE, Charles Farnum, 

Journalist, Postal Official. 

Charles Farnum Greene, postmaster of 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, is a native of 
that city, born June 17, 1879, son of Wil- 
liam Henry and Sarah Jane (Tucker) 
Greene. Heredity, undoubtedly, has been 
a factor of some importance in the quali- 
ties Charles Farnum Greene has mani- 
fested, for he had among his ances- 
tors some of substantial prominence and 
weighty achievement in their day. His 
antecedents connect him with the Johnson 
and Tucker families, both of which hold 
distinguished place in Colonial history, 
the progenitor of the Johnson family 
having been one of the founders of New 
Haven, Connecticut, and the Tucker fam- 
ily trace back to the seventeenth century. 

Henry Pierce Greene, paternal grand- 
father of Charles Farnum Greene, was 
born in Woonsocket, Rhode Island, and 
there spent his entire life as an educator, 
having been a man of superior intellect 
and honorable bearing, and he acquired 
the esteem of his fellow-citizens. He 
married, February 23, 1815, in Smith- 
field, Rhode Island, Nancy Chillson, born 
December 19, 1790, in that town, daugh- 
ter of John and Sarah (Newland) Chill- 
son, the former named having been born 



April 24, 1755, in Smithfield, son of Jo- 
seph and Sarah Chillson. 

William Henry Greene, son of Henry 
Pierce and Nancy (Chillson) Greene, was 
born on a sailing vessel anchored off 
Whitestone, Long Island, New York, 
1833, and his death occurred in San Fran- 
cisco, California, 1898. He was a sculp- 
tor by occupation, operating at Woon- 
socket, Rhode Island. He responded to 
President Lincoln's first call for seventy- 
five thousand men, enlisting in and be- 
coming corporal of Company A, Twelfth 
Regiment, Rhode Island Infantry, and 
participated in the battle of Bull Run, in 
which engagement he was wounded. 
Upon recovery, he was attached to the 
staff of General Burnside, as mounted 
orderly, and subsequently saw consider- 
able service during the Peninsula cam- 
paign. From the termination of the war 
until his decease he was in the honored 
ranks of the Civil War Veterans. He 
married (first) in Woonsocket, Rhode 
Island, a Miss Cook, who bore him three 
children : Eva, who became the wife of 
William Furrey, of Los Angeles, Cali- 
fornia ; Minerva, unmarried, who resides 
in Los Angeles, California ; Herbert, a 
resident of San Francisco, California. He 
married (second) Sarah Jane Tucker, of 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, daughter of 
John and Marietta (Peet) Tucker, of 
Huntington, Connecticut, and a repre- 
sentative of an old Connecticut family. 
John Tucker was born at Seymour, Con- 
necticut, and died at Bridgeport, Connec- 
ticut, aged about fifty years. He was a 
member of the Second Company, First 
Corps, Fourth Connecticut Artillery, in 
1830. He was a mason and builder by 
occupation. Mr. and Mrs. Tucker were 
the parents of two children, Sarah Jane, 
aforementioned, and Frederick, both now 
deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Greene were the 



234 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



parents of two children, Henry F., and 
Charles Farnum, of whom further. 

Charles Farnum Greene attended the 
public schools of Bridgeport, completing 
his studies at the early age of thirteen 
years. He entered upon his business 
career in the humble capacity of a news- 
boy. For the following two or three 
years he served as baker's assistant, book 
store clerk and jewelry store clerk, in the 
meantime pursuing the course of the 
Bridgeport Press College, thus acquiring 
a familiarity with the requisites of a 
newspaper correspondent. The gifts of 
sharp intellect, ready language and keen 
observation were his by heredity, and a 
forceful pen, which seemed also to come 
quite naturally, instilled confidence within 
him, and at the early age of sixteen he 
felt competent to perform the duties of a 
newspaper reporter. He was given his 
opportunity, and although working under 
a heavy handicap, expending his energy 
by day in his routine work of the jewelry 
store, and by night as cub reporter for 
the "Morning Union," a Bridgeport news- 
paper, he satisfied the editors as to his 
ability, and in a comparatively short space 
of time had established himself as an 
alert news writer of originality and force. 
Later he had association with many of 
the leading newspapers of the East ; from 
the "Morning Union," he went to the 
"Telegram," thence to the Bridgeport 
"Standard," then the Bridgeport "Her- 
ald," then the Waterbury, Connecticut, 
"Globe," then the Hartford, Connecticut, 
"Telegram," and was at the same time the 
Hartford correspondent for the Bridge- 
port "Herald." Subsequently he entered 
upon a brief experience of entirely dif- 
ferent work, having joined the field 
force of the International Correspondence 
Schools. Returning to his newspaper 
work, however, he became political writer 
for the New London, Connecticut, "Daily 



Telegraph," and during his residence in 
that city was prevailed upon to become a 
candidate for the office of city clerk. All 
this occurred prior to his attaining the 
age of twenty-four years. Upon his return 
to Bridgeport, in 1904, Mr. Greene joined 
the editorial staff of the Bridgeport 
"Farmer," and again indicated the pub- 
lic trend of his activities, as well as the 
public appreciation of his work, by be- 
coming a candidate for the office of alder- 
man of Bridgeport. For seven years he 
was retained exclusively by the Bridge- 
port "Farmer," but in 191 1 he decided to 
become an independent writer. In that 
year he was offered and accepted an ap- 
pointment with Bradstreet's Company, 
which, however, did not interfere with 
special work he performed for the Bridge- 
port "Farmer," the Bridgeport "Post," 
and the New York "Tribune." His abil- 
ity brought him into much public promi- 
nence, and while still a member of the 
staff of the "Farmer," he had joined the 
Bridgeport Fire Department, which as- 
sociation voted him to executive office as 
secretary of the Firemen's Mutual Bene- 
fit Fund. He also served as secretary of 
the Merchants' and Manufacturers' Ex- 
hibition, and in 1913 Congressman Jere- 
miah Donald sought the services of Mr. 
Greene as his permanent chief secretary, 
in which capacity he served until the be- 
ginning of 1915, when Mr. Greene relin- 
quished his position at Washington, and 
returned to Bridgeport in order to assume 
the directorship of the Bridgeport post 
office, which office he has since retained, 
performing his duties in a highly credit- 
able manner. Mr. Greene is a member of 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, the Foresters of America, the 
Woodmen of the World, and the Seaside 
Club. He was baptized in St. John's Epis- 
copal Church, Bridgeport, of which he is 
now a member. His strong personality 



235 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and genial disposition have brought him 
many friends, who esteem him as highly 
for his fellow feeling as for his ability. 

Mr. Greene married, October 16, 1905, 
in St. John's Episcopal Church. Bridge- 
port, Louise Klein, a native of New York 
City, but a resident of Bridgeport since 
her second year ; she is the daughter of 
John and Catherine (Riehl) Klein, both 
deceased. John Klein was born in New 
York City, wherein he was for many 
years an undertaker. 



HOUSE, Albert Hammond, 

Man of Affairs, Legislator. 

Albert Hammond House, one of the 
principal figures in the business world of 
Hartford, Connecticut, and a very suc- 
cessful real estate and insurance man 
there, comes of good old New England 
stock, both his father and grandfather 
having been natives of the State of Ver- 
mont. He is a son of Frederick C. and 
Mary S. (Viets) House, his father having 
been born at St. Johnsbury, Vermont, in 
the year 1843, where his grandfather, Al- 
bert Hammond House, was a well-known 
and much respected Baptist minister. He 
was born in St. Johnsbury. in 1802, and 
lived there all his life. Frederick C. 
House, on the contrary, left his native 
place when a young man and came to 
Connecticut, where he married Mary S. 
Viets, a daughter of Samuel C. Viets, and a 
native of Suffield, Connecticut, where she 
was born on March 17, 1846. Her father, 
Samuel C. Viets, was a native of Granby, 
Connecticut, where he was born in the 
year 1800, and a member of an old and 
distinguished family. Frederick C. House 
and his wife were the parents of two sons 
and a daughter. 

Born June 12, 1870, at Windsor, Con- 
necticut, on his father's farm, Albert 
Hammond House has made this region 



his home ever since. As a child he 
attended the local public schools and 
afterwards spent two years in the Wind- 
sor High School. The two years follow- 
ing he attended the Williston Seminary 
at Easthampton, Massachusetts, and here 
completed his formal education. Imme- 
diately thereafter he returned to Wind- 
sor, where he engaged in the tobacco 
business, continuing in this line until the 
year 1906. During that time he met with 
considerable success, but he perceived in 
the rapid growth of the community where 
he dwelt and the consequent rise of land 
values there that the real estate field of- 
fered opportunity which very few others 
possessed. Accordingly, he established 
himself in a real estate and insurance 
business, which he has continued up to 
the present time. During the eleven 
years in which he has been thus engaged, 
Mr. House has met with a remarkable 
success and now is at the head of one of 
the largest businesses of its kind in the 
community. His operations have gradu- 
ally extended from Windsor as a center, 
not only all over Hartford county, but 
throughout the whole of Northern Con- 
necticut. He is considered in all that 
region an expert on real estate values and 
few men are more conversant with the 
situation than he is. He has his office at 
Hartford as well as at Windsor, and since 
the opening of his establishment, eleven 
years ago, has sold in all over three hun- 
dred and fifty properties in Windsor 
alone. His wide knowledge of property 
values has been recognized to such an 
extent that he is now retained as an 
appraiser for five different banking insti- 
tutions, and also does much appraisal 
work for the Superior Court in Hartford 
county. Since he has been dealing in this 
line, Mr. House has found many oppor- 
tunities for the investment of his own 
money in valuable property in this sec- 



236 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tion, and is now the owner of a large 
estate hereabouts, in addition to his reg- 
ular business. Mr. House is one of those 
men whose mind naturally grasps the bus- 
iness opportunities which present them- 
selves and he is equally quick to take ad- 
vantage of such as he sees. Some years 
ago he formed one of the group of men 
who organized the Windsor Trust & 
Safe Deposit Company, an extremely 
successful financial institution, and since 
that time has held a place on its director- 
ate. 

However well-known Mr. House is in 
the business world, it is probably true 
that his reputation is even wider as a man 
of affairs in and about Windsor. He has 
always been closely and prominently 
identified with the Republican party here, 
and for many years has been regarded as 
one of the leaders of its local organiza- 
tion. He has always taken a keen inter- 
est in local affairs and has played a very 
prominent part in their conduct. He rep- 
resented the town of Windsor in the Con- 
necticut State Legislature during the ses- 
sion of that body in 191 5, and served on 
the committees on appropriations and the 
school fund. While serving on this com- 
mittee he was instrumental in having a 
bill passed requiring all school funds to 
be invested in the State of Connecticut, 
and investments were to be withdrawn 
from all other States within five years. 
He has ever held the general welfare of the 
community close at heart and has worked 
indefatigably in his various official posi- 
tions to advance its interests. While a 
member of the Legislature, he introduced 
and succeeded in having passed a bill 
authorizing a State expenditure of fifty 
thousand dollars to be used in the build- 
ing of the underpass road at Windsor, 
where the railroad crosses the State high- 
way. He is at the present time as active 
as ever in his association with the Re- 



publican organization, and is a member of 
the Windsor Republican town committee. 
He is also a past president of the Wind- 
sor Business Men's Association, having 
served in that capacity for three years. 
He was elected for a fourth term, but de- 
clined the honor. Mr. House has been a 
pioneer in almost all the movements un- 
dertaken for the development of his home 
community of recent years, and no man 
has played a more important part in se- 
curing the many improvements which the 
community has recently enjoyed. He 
has been chairman of the committee of 
Windsor fire district since its organiza- 
tion in 1910, and was the prime mover in 
securing this organization. He it was 
also that induced the Windsor fire dis- 
trict to purchase the Windsor Water 
Company, a step of great value to the 
town. Mr. House was a member of a 
great number of organizations of various 
kinds in the community, social, fraternal 
and otherwise, and is especially promi- 
nent in the Masonic order, in which he 
has taken his thirty-second degree. He 
is a member of Washington Lodge, No. 
70, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Windsor, and is a past master thereof; 
of Pythagoras Chapter, No. 17, Royal 
Arch Masons, of Hartford ; of Walcott 
Council, No. 1, Royal and Select Masters, 
of Hartford ; of Washington Command- 
ery, No. 1, Knights Templar, of Hartford ; 
of Sphinx Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Hartford ; 
and the Consistory, Sovereign Princes of 
the Royal Secret, of the same city. He 
is also a member of Eureka Chapter, 
Eastern Star, of Windsor, and of Palisado 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows here. He is held in high esteem by 
his fellow-townsmen generally for the 
part that he has played and is still play- 
ing in the development and growth of the 
community. In his religious belief Mr. 

237 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



House is a Congregationalist and attends 
the church of this denomination at Wind- 
sor. 

Albert Hammond House was united in 
marriage, June I, 1892, with Mrs. Jennie 
A. Hutchinson, a daughter of Simeon and 
Katherine Simons, of Long Meadow, 
Massachusetts. While the office of Mr. 
House is in Hartford and while he main- 
tains his business headquarters there, he 
has ever since coming to this district 
made his home in Windsor. 



BOSTICK, Arthur Randall, 

Attorney. 

The Bostick family is of English ori- 
gin, descended from Randall Bostick, a 
native of England, who came to the 
United States and located in the town of 
Enfield, Connecticut, where he first began 
business as a dealer in vegetables. He 
was possessed of excellent business ca- 
pacity and was industrious, and by vir- 
tue of these qualities soon made himself 
popular. By his faithful attention to bus- 
iness, he acquired means, and in 1875 
purchased land in the town of Enfield, 
which he continued to reside on until his 
death, April 12, 1894. In 1858, at the 
age of eighteen years, he married Anna 
Joy, daughter of John and Ella (How- 
ring) Joy, of Irish antecedents. They 
were the parents of six children : John, 
Thomas, Nellie (Mrs. Thomas Priskett), 
Randall, Anna (Mrs. Colt), George E. 

John Bostick, eldest son of Randall and 
Anna (Joy) Bostick, was born September 
10, 1859, in Enfield, where he has since 
continued to make his home. He mar- 
ried, in 1886, Alice Button, daughter of 
Warren and Ellen Maria (Allen) Button. 
Warren Button was born in Enfield, Jan- 
uary, 1831, son of Jonathan Button, born 
in Enfield, June 22, 1799, and who was 
a harnessmaker there. Jonathan Button 



married, April 8, 1823, Betsey Terry, who 
was born in Enfield, February 28, 1802, 
and she died December 4, 1864. The 
grandfather of Warren Button was Jona- 
than Button, Sr., and he married Alice 
Parsons, August 29, 1793. She died De- 
cember 15, 1850. Warren Button lived 
in Enfield throughout his entire life, and 
was a school teacher, clergyman and 
farmer. In religion he was a member of 
the Catholic Apostolic church. He mar- 
ried, in 1856, Ellen Maria Allen, a de- 
scendant of Samuel Allen, who was be- 
lived to have settled in Dorchester in 
1630. He was a farmer, a man of promi- 
nence in civil life, and was a juryman in 
1644. He was buried in Windsor, April 
28, 1648. His wife Ann died November 
13, 1687. Their son, John Allen, was an 
early settler in Deerfield, and was killed 
by the Indians in the battle of Bloody 
Brook, September 18, 1675. He married, 
December 16, 1669, Mary Hannum, born 
March 5, 1650, the daughter of William 
and Hannah Hannum, of Northhampton. 
Their son, John Allen, was born Septem- 
ber 30, 1670, in Northhampton, Massa- 
chusetts. It is said that he came from Deer- 
field to Enfield and located on a farm, 
which has remained in the Allen family to 
the present time (1917). He died Novem- 
ber 3, 1739. On May 3, 1694, he married 
Bridget Booth, born 1670, daughter of 
Simeon and Rebecca Booth, who came 
from Wales and settled in Enfield in 1680. 
She died September 5, 1714. Their son, 
Ebenezer Allen, was born February 10, 
1711-12, and died June 25, 1795. He mar- 
ried, February 7, 1750-54, Rebecca, daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Rebecca (Kibbe) Bart- 
lett, of Stafford, Connecticut, who was 
born November 26, 1729, and died Sep- 
tember 15, 1817. Their son, Captain Sol- 
omon Allen, was born in Enfield, Septem- 
ber 16, 1767, and died May 27, 1813. He 
married (second) January 26, 1797, Lucy 



238 





'/um 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Terry, daughter of Joseph and Lucy 
Terry, who was born October 24, 1769, 
and died December 9, 1849. Their son, 
Solomon Allen, born in Enfield, August 
19, 1801, resided there. He married, 
March 24, 1831, Alice Terry, daughter of 
Lemuel and Huldah Kingsbury. She was 
born in Enfield, March 18, 1807, and died 
February 11, 1894. Solomon Allen died 
December 11, 1882. They were the par- 
ents of Ellen Maria Allen, who was born 
August 12, 1835, in Enfield, and died No- 
vember 8, 1872. She married, December 
4, 1856, Warren Button, and they became 
the parents of Alice Button, wife of John 
Bostick, as previously noted. John and 
Alice (Button) Bostick were the parents 
of the following children: 1. Warren 
John, born June 22, 1888; a graduate of 
Dartmouth Medical School, and a prac- 
ticing physician at Springfield, Massachu- 
setts ; he married Gertrude Weinbrecht, 
of Springfield, and they have an adopted 
son, Dudley Stoddard. 2. Arthur Ran- 
dall, of further mention. 3. Charles Wil- 
liam, born March 20, 1892 ; a violinist at 
Springfield ; married Grace Seaver. 4. 
Ruth Marion, wife of Louis B. Cook, a 
son of Alexander Cook, of Enfield ; he 
is a carpenter in Thompsonville, and they 
are the parents of Vivian R. and Donald 
B. Cook. 

Arthur Randall Bostick, second son of 
John and Alice (Button) Bostick, was 
born May 21, 1890, in Enfield, and en- 
joyed excellent educational facilities. His 
boyhood was spent on the paternal farm, 
and he was early introduced to those ac- 
tivities which are inseparable from farm 
life. There he developed a sound phy- 
sique, and was able to pursue his studies 
with rapidity and success. After attend- 
ing the local common schools, he gradu- 
ated from the High School at Thompson- 
ville, and entered the law course at Bos- 
ton University, where he graduated in 



1913. Since that time he has been engaged 
in the practice of law, with offices in 
Springfield and Enfield. In 1915 he was 
appointed prosecuting attorney for the 
latter town, and is now filling that sta- 
tion with ability and acceptability to his 
constituents. He is a lifelong member of 
the Church of the Apostles. Politically, 
he espouses the principles of the Repub- 
lican party and has been active in pro- 
moting them, believing that they are 
best calculated to provide for the general 
welfare. He is a member of the college 
fraternity, Phi Delta Phi, and is affiliated 
with Doric Lodge, No. 94, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Thompsonville. 



QUISH, Thomas James, 

Postmaster. 

Among the self-made men of Manches- 
ter, Mr. Quish has made his way and is 
esteemed by his fellow-citizens. His 
grandfather, Thomas Quish, came from 
Killeen, Limerick, Ireland, and took up his 
home in Manchester, Connecticut, about 
1864, remaining there until his death. 
He was a well-known figure in the town 
in his day. His son, Thomas J. Quish, 
was also born in Killeen, Limerick, Ire- 
land, came to America when a year old, 
grew to manhood in Manchester, and 
followed the insurance business during 
the greater part of his life, being con- 
nected at various times with the Connec- 
ticut Company of Hartford, and the Pru- 
dential Insurance Company of Newark, 
New Jersey. He lived for a time in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, but returned 
to Manchester about 1890. He married 
Margaret Burns, of West Suffield, Con- 
necticut, and reared four sons : Edward 
P., formerly employed in the silk mill 
offices of Cheney Brothers, Manchester, 
and now in the United States naval forces 
abroad ; Frank J., formerly a member of 



239 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Manchester police force, now at the 
United States Naval Training Station, 
Pelham Bay, New York; William P., an 
undertaker in Manchester; and Thomas 
James, of whom further. 

Thomas James Quish was born March 
8, 1889, in Springfield, Massachusetts, and 
was a child when he came with his par- 
ents to South Manchester. There he at- 
tended the public schools, and made such 
excellent use of his time that he was grad- 
uated from the High School in 1907. 
Soon after he entered Trinity College, in 
Hartford, from which he was graduated 
with the degree of B. S. in 1912. During 
his course in college he utilized some of 
the time as a reporter on the Hartford 
''Evening Post," and was thus enabled 
to earn his expenses in college. After 
graduation, he continued in the service of 
newspapers up to the time of his appoint- 
ment as postmaster at South Manchester, 
for which he received a commission, July 
10, 1913. His home has been continu- 
ously in Manchester, and before his ap- 
pointment to his present office, he served 
as justice of the peace, beginning at the 
early age of twenty-one years. He was 
also for two years town auditor, and has 
been a member of the Democratic town 
committee for several years, having been 
active in promoting the interests of that 
party since attaining his majority. He has 
been active in many social interests, is 
a faithful member of Saint James' Roman 
Catholic Church of Manchester, of the 
local lodge of the Knights of Columbus, 
and Modern Woodmen of America. He 
has served as grand knight of the former 
lodge, and was delegate to the Supreme 
Convention of the Order, which was held 
in Davenport, Iowa, in 1916. Mr. Quish 
is president of the Manchester City Club, 
and a member of the Manchester Cham- 
ber of Commerce, and was very active in 
the campaign of 1916, as a member of the 



Wilson and Marshall Democratic Club. 
He is well-known as actively interested 
in every undertaking calculated to pro- 
mote the progress and the welfare of his 
native city. His popularity has not been 
gained through inherited wealth or any 
temporary manifestation of public ap- 
proval, but by his universal courtesy, his 
genial nature and kindness to all with 
whom he may be brought in contact. 



SMEAD, Edwin Billings, 

Practical Philanthropist. 

The most practical philanthropy is that 
which enables those to be benefited to 
help themselves. That is the principle 
upon which the Watkinson Farm School 
was established, its object being the pa- 
ternal care of boys who through adverse 
circumstances are in need of employ- 
ment and inspiration to develop them into 
good and loyal citizens. From 1884 to 
1917, a period of thirty-three years, Mr. 
Smead was principal of the school which 
was established through the liberality of 
David Watkinson, who by will made the 
school and the Watkinson Reference Li- 
brary equal residuary legatees. That he 
was so long retained as head of that valu- 
able institution was the best evidence of 
his fitness for the position. 

The Smead line in New England traces 
to Widow Judith Denman, who about the 
year 1634 married a Mr. Smead, by whom 
she had a son, William Smead, born in 
1635, who was made a freeman of North- 
ampton, Massachusetts, in 1660, and died 
prior to 1704. He married Elizabeth 
Lawrence, of Hingham, Massachusetts, 
who was captured by the Indians in 1704, 
and died on the journey to Canada. Their 
son, Ebenezer Smead, born in 1675, mar- 
ried Esther Catlin. Their son, Jonathan 
Smead, born in 1707, married Mehitable 
Nims. Their son, Jonathan Smead, born 



240 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in 1735, was a soldier of the French and 
Indian War, and was engaged in the 
operation around Crown Point, New 
York. He married Rosanna Patterson. 
Their son, Jonathan Smead, born in 1773, 
married Lucy Purple, and resided at 
Greenfield, Massachusetts. Their son, 
Jonathan Smead, born April 8, 1812, died 
January 21, 1866. He married, October 
25, 1835, Lucy B. Adams, a descendant of 
Samuel Adams, of Newbury, Massachu- 
setts, born February 18, 1799, owned land 
in Suffield, Connecticut, and is believed 
to have died there, September 4, 1836. 
His wife, Elizabeth Adams, died in West 
Haven, Vermont, September 2.7, 1820. 
Their son, Horace Adams, was a native 
of Massachusetts, from whence he re- 
moved to Suffield, Connecticut, and later 
to West Haven, Vermont, where his death 
occurred November 28, 1866. He mar- 
ried Ora Billings, who died June 16, 1857, 
daughter of Ebenezer Billings, of Green- 
field, Massachusetts, a son of the Rev. 
Edward Billings, a Congregational minis- 
ter, the first settled pastor of the first 
church at Greenfield, Massachusetts. 
Ebenezer Billings married a daughter of 
William and Sarah (Bishop) Joyce, and 
granddaughter of John Joyce, a native of 
London, England, where he died about 
the year 1736. He was at one time high 
sheriff of Bridgetov/n, Barbadoes, West 
Indies, and from there his son, William 
Joyce, and his mother, emigrated to the 
American colonies, locating in Middle- 
town, Connecticut. 

Edwin Billings Smead, son of Jonathan 
and Lucy B. (Adams) Smead, was born 
in Greenfield, Massachusetts, January 19, 
1849. He was educated in public schools, 
including the high school, and in the 
Massachusetts Agricultural College at 
Amherst, being a member of the class of 
1 87 1, the first class graduated from the 
Agricultural College. He had obtained a 

Conn— 5— 16 24 1 



practical knowledge of civil engineering, 
and after completing his course at col- 
lege was engaged in that profession in the 
South, and with the State Line & Juniata 
Railroad in Pennsylvania. Later he was 
engaged in the coal business with Diggs 
Brothers, in Baltimore, Maryland, and in 
the flour and grain business with Bushey, 
Carr & Company in the same city. In 
1884, the year the Watkinson Farm 
School was established, the trustees ap- 
plied to the Massachusetts Agricultural 
College for assistance in selecting a man 
to fill the responsible position of princi- 
pal. That college being his Alma Mater, 
and he being an applicant for a position, 
the college authorities gave him so strong 
an endorsement that he was engaged. 
The choice was an admirable one, and 
under his principalship the "School" has 
been developed along the lines intended 
by the founder, David Watkinson. While 
the "School" is under the management of 
a board of trustees, Mr. Smead, during 
his long term of service, had a voice in 
all matters relating to the courses of 
study and school management. He had 
the capable assistance of an assistant 
principal and a corps of instructors. The 
Handicraft Farm is located at Albany and 
Bloomfield avenues, Hartford, and all 
pertaining to school or farm is thor- 
oughly modern, the boys being taught 
those useful occupations which, with the 
intellectual training they receive, will 
fairly equip them for the battle of life. 
Principal Smead was thoroughly imbued 
with the spirit which actuated the founder 
of the school, and was devoted to the 
interests of the boys whom he trained to 
become useful citizens. In 191 5, Princi- 
pal Smead tendered his resignation to the 
board of trustees, but they did not accept 
the same until 191 7, and in appreciation 
of his faithful services they gave him an 
annuity for life. With his resignation 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Smead did not lay aside his interest 
in the boys or the institution, but is keep- 
ing in touch with both by his member- 
ship on the Board of Counsel. After his 
resignation, Mr. Smead returned to the 
home of his birth, Greenfield, Massachu- 
setts, where he is leading a retired and 
useful life. 

Mr. Smead married (first) November 
12, 1874, in Baltimore, Maryland, Annie 
Whitney, born on the Island of Bermuda, 
West Indies, died January 25, 1876. He 
married (second), October 30, 1878, Rosel- 
vina Whitney, a sister of his first wife, 
daughters of David Whitney, a native of 
Bermuda, and descended from the Whit- 
ney family of Buckingham county, Vir- 
ginia. Mrs. Smead died September 5, 
191 5. Both were members of the Congre- 
gational church. 



CHRISTENSEN, Anders, 

Gardener. 

Modern New England owes much of its 
prosperity and industrial development to 
European immigrants who have brought 
to bear the native industry and thrift 
which are a necessity in European life. 

Anders Christensen, of Hartford, was 
born May 15, 1870, in the extreme north- 
ern part of Germany, which was formerly 
a part of Denmark, and is of Danish an- 
cestry. His early education was supplied 
by the schools of his native town where 
his father was a farmer. At the early age 
of fifteen years he left his native land to 
find a home and prosperity in the free 
American Nation. An elder brother had 
previously settled in Hartford, and here 
Anders located on coming to this coun- 
try. For a period of two years he was 
employed on a dairy farm in the Blue 
Hills section of Hartford, and for eight 
years thereafter was employed as gar- 
dener by Paul Thompson, of West Hart- 



ford, during most of which time he served 
in the capacity of farm foreman. In com- 
pany with his brother, Nels Christensen, 
he engaged in farming for three years 
on rented land in the Blue Hills region, 
after which the two brothers purchased 
from their savings a portion of the farm 
which they occupied and which they still 
own and operate. They gave their atten- 
tion chiefly to the production of garden 
products, and by their careful husbandry 
and industry brought the land from a 
previous depleted condition into a most 
productive state. Their farm is now rated 
among the best producing in the vicinity 
of Hartford, and as they prospered they 
gradually purchased additional lands ad- 
joining, and also erected larger and bet- 
ter buildings. In 1909 their holdings were 
divided and each has since continued in 
independent operations. 

Anders Christensen has traveled exten- 
sively throughout New England to study 
the methods of market gardening in other 
places, and by adopting improvements 
which he observed, he has developed one 
of the best equipped truck farms in the 
State of Connecticut. This is supplied 
with water works operated by wind-mill 
power, and a large amount of produce is 
grown under glass, thus enabling Mr. 
Christensen to supply the market with 
many kinds of early spring vegetables. 
During the busy season he employs some 
fifteen men and women, and the aid af- 
forded by members of his own family is 
no inconsiderable factor in the success of 
his business. During every day in the 
season two large wagon loads of vege- 
tables are delivered into the city, and in 
this business a large auto truck is em- 
ployed. Nearly all the larger stores are 
supplied by Mr. Christensen, in addition 
to a considerable amount which he fur- 
nished to peddlers. His success in busi- 
ness is due to his own enterprise and in- 



242 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dustry, and he has demonstrated what 
has come to be accepted as an everyday 
fact — that brains are necessary in any 
kind of business. 

While Mr. Christensen is very busily 
occupied with his own affairs, he does 
not fail to take a keen interest in the pro- 
gress of his adopted country, and he has 
long been a citizen. Of an independent 
character, he thinks for himself, and is 
not bound by party organizations, though 
he is a believer in the principles of the 
Republican organization. He does not 
seek to share in practical politics, but his 
influence is felt in the community. He 
is a member of the Pentecostal church of 
Hartford, keenly interested in its mission- 
ary work, and is especially active in the 
support of missionary workers in Africa, 
South America and India. His interest 
in humanity is not confined to regions 
beyond the seas, and he is often found 
actively engaged in ministering to the 
needs of those about him in the most 
quiet and unobstructive manner. Mr. 
Christensen is a member of the Hartford 
Chamber of Commerce, thus sustaining 
the prosperity and development of the 
city of Hartford, and is also a member of 
the Hartford Market Gardeners' Associa- 
tion. A common saying often heard re- 
garding the character of men ; namely, 
"his word is as good as his bond," 
especially applies to Mr. Christensen. He 
believes in fair and honest dealing, and 
by adhering to this principle he has 
earned the confidence and esteem of bus- 
iness men generally, and much of his suc- 
cess in business is due to this fact. 

Mr. Christensen was married March 26, 
1898, to Elsie Anderson, the daughter of 
Peter and Anna Anderson, of Hartford, 
natives of Denmark. Mr. and Mrs. Chris- 
tensen are the parents of nine children, 
the eldest of whom is eighteen years and 
the youngest two years of age. 



GODARD, George Seymour, 



State Librarian. 

George Seymour Godard, B. A., B. 
D., M. A., librarian of the Connecticut 
State Library since 1900, and editor 
of the Connecticut State Records, was 
born in Granby, Hartford county, Con- 
necticut, on June 17, 1865. He is 
connected with some of the oldest fam- 
ilies of Connecticut. He is in direct lineal 
descent from Daniel Gozzard (or God- 
ard) who came from England to Hart- 
ford previous to 1646, and from Moses 
Godard, who served in the Revolution. 
On his maternal side he is descended from 
John Case, who was probably the immi- 
grant of that name, who came in the ship 
"Dorset" from Gravesend, England, Sep- 
tember 3, 1635, settled in Hartford, sub- 
sequently going for a time into New York 
State, but eventually returning to Con- 
necticut, and taking residence in Wind- 
sor in 1656, and in Simsbury about 1669, 
his name appearing among those to whom 
land was granted, in the first division of 
public lands, at Simsbury, in 1667. Wil- 
liam Spencer, who was one of four broth- 
ers referred to in early records of the 
Massachusetts Colony, and who eventu- 
ally became one of the original settlers at 
Hartford, and Thomas Beach, who was 
in New Haven before March 7, 1647, when 
he took the oath of fidelity and who is 
recorded in Colonial history as a settler in 
Milford, Connecticut, in 1646. 

George Seymour Godard is the third of 
five sons and a daughter of Harvey and 
Sabra Lavina (Beach) Godard. His 
father was probably the largest owner of 
farms and woodland in his section. Oc- 
cupying the Godard homestead he raised 
the usual crops of his locality and con- 
tinued to run the saw-mill, grist-mill and 
cider-mill known as the "Craig Mills." 
He was a man of strict integrity and of 

243 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



generous and social nature and temperate 
to the last degree. His large farmhouse 
became headquarters for his numerous 
friends who came to hunt and fish on 
the large tracts of land which he owned. 
While always a busy man, he was never 
too busy to welcome an acquaintance in 
health, to visit him in time of sickness, or 
to assist in laying him to rest. As a 
member of the General Assembly and the 
first master of the Connecticut State 
Grange he had a large circle of acquaint- 
ances. 

As a boy, George S. Godard attended 
the district school in his native town and 
assisted his father in the many occupa- 
tions upon his extensive farms and in the 
grist and saw-mills on the homestead in 
Granby. He prepared for College at Wes- 
leyan Academy, at Wilbraham, Massa- 
chusetts, where he graduated in 1886. 
Mr. Godard continued his studies at Wes- 
leyan University, Middletown, Connecti- 
cut, where he received the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts in 1892, and North- 
western University, Evanston, Illinois, 
and Yale University, where he received 
the degree of Bachelor of Divinity in 
1895. In 1916 his Alma Mater conferred 
upon him the honorary degree of Master 
of Arts. In college he was a member of 
the Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity. 

Beginning by collecting and arranging 
his early school books and the books in 
his own home, he continued library work 
as librarian of Philo Society at Wilbra- 
ham, then librarian of his local Sunday 
School Library, and in 1890 the first libra- 
rian of the Frederick H. Cossitt Library 
near his home at North Granby, where 
a building was planned, erected and 
equipped. Mr. Godard still retains an 
active interest in this, his first public 
library. In 1898, he was selected by State 
Librarian Dr. Charles J. Hoadly to assist 
him in the State Library, then located in 



the State Capitol. Two years later, when 
after a continuous service of forty-five 
years as State Librarian, Dr. Hoadly died, 
Mr. Godard was selected to succeed him 
in that important position. Under his 
direction the Connecticut State Library 
has been reorganized and its activities 
extended. It is now adequately housed in 
a new building substantially built, beau- 
tiful in its architecture, convenient in its 
arrangement, harmonious in its decora- 
tion, and homelike. The State Library 
and Supreme Court Building, which is 
built of granite, and is one of a group 
of State buildings of which the Capitol 
is the center, is considered a model for its 
purpose. In it are embodied the hopes, 
plans, efforts and ambitions of the best 
years of Mr. Godard's life. It is a library 
by the people, of the people and for the 
people. The Connecticut State Library 
includes : 

Supreme Court Law Library; 

Legislative Reference Department ; 

Department of Local History and Genealogy; 

Archives Department; 

Depository of Public Records; 

Examiner of Public Records; 

Depository of Connecticut State, Town, Mu- 
nicipal and Society official publications; 

Depository for the official publications of the 
United States, the several States of the Union, 
the Canadian Government and Provinces, and of 
the Australian Colonies ; 

Library Exchange Agent for Connecticut State 
Publications; 

Exchange Agent for Connecticut Geological 
and Natural History Survey Publications; 

Custodian of Portraits of Governors ; 

Custodian of State Library and Supreme Court 
Building. 

Depository of historical and genealogical gifts 
to the State. Among these gifts are the following: 

a. Sherman W. Adams Collection of Official 
Rolls and Lists relating to the French and In- 
dian War; 

b. Dorence Atwater Collection of Manuscripts 
relating to Andersonville; 

c. William F. J. Boardman Collection of Books 
and Manuscripts relating to Genealogy; 

d. Brandegee Collection of Portraits of Chief 
Justices of the United States; 



244 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



e. Stephen Dodd Collection of Manuscripts re- 
lating to the Early History of East Haven; 

f. Enfield Shaker Collection; 

g. Sylvester Gilbert Collection of Papers relat- 
ing to the American Revolution; 

h. Charles Hammond and H. M. Lawson Col- 
lections of Manuscripts relating to the Early His- 
tory of the Town of Union ; 

i. Col. Edwin D. Judd Collection of Civil War 
Military Rolls and Papers. 

j. Dwight C. Kilbourn Collection of Books, 
Pamphlets and Manuscripts relating to Connecti- 
cut and New England; 

k. Ellen D. Larned Collection of Books and 
Manuscripts relating to New England ; 

1. Daniel N. Morgan Historical Collection, in- 
cluding table on which Emancipation Proclama- 
tion was signed; 

m. Deacon Lewis M. Norton Collection of Man- 
uscripts relating to the Town of Goshen; 

n. Orville H. Piatt Collection relating to Fi- 
nance, Indians, and Insular Affairs; 

o. Capt. John Pratt Collection of Military 
Papers, 1778- 1824; 

p. Major E. V. Preston Collection of Civil 
War Military Rolls and Papers ; 

q. Col. Daniel Putnam Letters ; 

r. Governor Trumbull Manuscripts ; 

s. Gideon and Thaddeus Welles Collection of 
American Newspapers from 1820 to 1840, ap- 
proximately; 

t. Charles T. Wells Collection of Books relat- 
ing to New England; 

u. Robert C. Winthrop Collection of Manu- 
scripts relating to early Connecticut; 

v. Samuel Wyllys Collection of Manuscripts 
relating to Witchcraft and Other Crimes in Early 
Connecticut. 

Mr. Godard has been active in State 
and National organizations interested in 
the several lines of activities connected 
with the Connecticut State Library. 
Among these may be mentioned the Na- 
tional Association of State Libraries and 
the American Association of Law Libra- 
rians, both of which he has been president, 
and the American Library Association and 
American Historical Association, in both 
of which he is serving on important com- 
mittees. Among the more important 
committees with which he is connected 
should be mentioned the Joint Committee 
of Law and State Librarians upon a Na- 
tional Legislative Reference Service of 
which he has been chairman since 1909, 
the Public Affairs Information Service, 
the Law Library Journal and the Index 
to legal Periodicals, and the committee on 
Public Documents and Public Archives. 



Mr. Godard is an active member of the 
Connecticut Historical Society, vice-pres- 
ident from Connecticut of the New 
England Historic-Genealogical Society, 
Boston, fellow of the American Library 
Institute ; historian of the Connecticut 
Society of Founders and Patriots of 
America ; member of the Wesleyan Uni- 
versity Alumni Council ; editor of the 
Connecticut State Records ; trustee of the 
Wilbraham Academy. He is also in 
charge of Connecticut State Military 
Census, and Custodian of the Connecti- 
cut State Library and Supreme Court 
Building. As a member of the Center 
Congregational Church, the University 
Club, the City Club, the Twentieth Cen- 
tury Club, and the several Masonic bodies 
he is vitally interested in their work. 

On June 23, 1897, Mr. Godard married 
Kate Estelle Dewey, daughter of Watson 
and Ellen Bebe Dewey. They have three 
children : George Dewey, born August 
8, 1899, a senior in the Hartford public 
High School ; Paul Beach, born Febru- 
ary 17, 1901, a junior in Wilbraham Acad- 
emy ; and Mary Katharine, born October 
3, 1903, who is a senior in the Northwest 
Grammar School. 



HUBBARD, Albert George, 

Contractor, Builder. 

One of the self-made men now residing 
in Wethersfield, Mr. Hubbard has ad- 
vanced from small beginnings to a posi- 
tion of strength and importance through 
his own energy, industrious application 
and business facilities. He was born 
May 7, 1886, in Southington, Connec- 
ticut, a son of Henry and Harriett 
(Spencer) Hubbard, grandson of Hiram 
Hubbard. Henry Hubbard was a farmer, 
employed in various sections of the State, 
was a soldier of the Civil War, a member 
of Company I, Seventh Connecticut Vol- 



245 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



unteer Infantry, was wounded in action, 
and died in 1899. 

Albert George Hubbard is recorded on 
the records of Southington as George Al- 
bert. In early boyhood he had some 
opportunity for education, attended pub- 
lic schools in Southington. Middletown 
and Cromwell, but since the age of thir- 
teen years has been busily occupied, and 
most of his education has been acquired 
through reading and observation. He 
has not been a dull pupil in the great 
school of experience, and is to-day reck- 
oned among the well informed men of his 
time, and competent in the management 
of business undertakings. His father died 
when he was but thirteen years old, and 
the care of the family devolved largely 
upon the youthful son. When fourteen 
years of age, he entered the employ of 
J. & E. Stevens Company, manufacturers 
of tools at Cromwell, Connecticut, and a 
year later he became a farm laborer in 
Middletown. During several subsequent 
years, he was employed on farms in 
Middletown or in manufacturing shops. 
About the time of arriving at his major- 
ity, he learned the builder's trade, and for 
some years was employed as a journey- 
man carpenter. In 1907 he built for him- 
self a house in Wethersfield, and two 
years later started out in business as a 
contracting builder. His first undertak- 
ing was the erection of a house on Nott 
street, Wethersfield, and he subsequently 
built two more on the same street, on his 
own account. These he sold and subse- 
quently bought a parcel of land on Wol- 
cott Hill in East Hartford, Connecticut. 
This he improved by the construction of 
several houses, which he sold, together 
with his land holdings. In August, 1914, 
he purchased eight acres on Garden 
street, Wethersfield, which he developed 
by the construction of sixteen bungalows, 
all of which he sold, and also disposed of 



the remaining lots on the property to 
good advantage. In the spring of 1916 he 
purchased five acres on Hartford avenue, 
Wethersfield, on which he built his pres- 
ent fine residence and seventeen other 
houses, all of which he disposed of. He 
continued his operations in developing 
real estate, has purchased various tracts 
on which have been laid out residence 
lots, and which are traversed by the 
streets known as Williard street, Hub- 
bard place and Church street, all in Weth- 
ersfield. While yet a comparatively 
young man, Mr. Hubbard has developed 
remarkable capacity as a business man, 
and has achieved a most flattering suc- 
cess. He is active in promoting various 
social organizations, is a member of the 
Sons of Veterans, Camp Xo. 50, of Hart- 
ford, and of the Country Club of Weth- 
ersfield. He is a regular attendant of the 
Congregational church, and supports in 
public affairs the principles and policies 
promulgated by the Republican party. He 
is a member of the Business Men's As- 
sociation of Wethersfield. Mr. Hubbard 
married, January 30, 1905, Isabel Michael, 
daughter of Conrad M. Michael, of Bris- 
tol, Connecticut, and they are the par- 
ents of two children, Lucille Evelyn and 
Lawrence Michael. 



CLIFFORD, Alfred P., 

Public Official. 

A native of Bradford, Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, and a descendant of an old and 
honorable family, Alfred P. Clifford was 
born October 10, 1863. and died Novem- 
ber 22, 1917. Air. Clifford came to Amer- 
ica in 1887, and to Hartford, Connecticut, 
in 1890. When but a small boy he was 
left an orphan and went to live at the 
home of his uncle. He received his edu- 
cation at the Bradford grammar school, 
a school which dated back to the reign 



246 




H^xcL fifalffiHL- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Edward VI., and was famous among 
the ancient grammar schools of Northern 
England. At sixteen years of age he was 
apprenticed, according to the old English 
custom, to the joiner trade with an old 
established firm in Bradford. This firm 
built and restored ancient churches. Upon 
his arrival in America, Mr. Cliffoffrd was 
first employed at Bound Brook, New 
Jersey, and then in Rochester, New York. 
In 1891, at the instigation of a Mr. 
James Telford, of Bridgeport, Connecti- 
cut, whom he had known in Yorkshire, 
and who at that time was foreman for 
the Longstaffe & Hurd Company, con- 
tractors for the Wadsworth Atheneum 
Building, Mr. Clifford secured a position 
as assistant in the work on the Wads- 
worth and Public Library buildings. At 
the completion of the work he was ap- 
pointed superintendent by the trustees 
and held this position until his death. 

Mr. Clifford was an earnest student of 
political economy. In his native land he 
never lost an opportunity to hear the 
speakers, W. E. Foster and Edward 
Miall, who were the Liberal and Radical 
members of the city of Bradford. On his 
arrival in this country, American politics 
claimed his attention as keenly as had the 
English politics in his home land. Upon 
his arrival in Hartford he took out his 
naturalization papers as he knew Hartford 
was to be his permanent home. It was 
only a short time until Mr. Clifford was 
in a position to show his ability to serve 
the public in official capacity. He was 
a member of the Board of Council for 
four years and on the Board of Aldermen 
for two years. His success was in a 
measure due to his interest in all matters 
pertaining to his municipal duties. He 
never missed a meeting, and received 
oftentimes more than his share of com- 
mittee work. When on the Board of Al- 
dermen he served as chairman of the 



board of finance. He was appointed by 
Mayor Henney a member of the Board 
of Street Commissioners and served until 
the advent of the late Edward Hooker 
into office as mayor. From that time 
until his decease, Mr. Clifford devoted 
his entire energies to the chairmanship 
of the Republican committee of the 
Fourth Ward and to the school of the 
Northwest District, having been first 
elected to the school committee about 
eighteen years ago. During the enlarge- 
ment of the school, Mr. Clifford gave all 
of his attention and spare time to the 
work. 

In 1901, at the organization of the Get- 
To-Gether Club, Mr. Clifford was one of 
its first members and served one year as 
president of the club. From 1901 until 
his death he was continuously on the pro- 
gram committee. He was also a member 
of St. Andrew's Neighborhood Club. 
Through much reading and keen obser- 
vation, Mr. Clifford kept himself ever 
alive to the economic and political issues 
of the day, and at his clubs was often 
helpful in his contributions in this line. 
His affable personality and charm of 
manner drew around him many friends 
who admired him not only for his intel- 
lectual knowledge but for his agreeable- 
ness and companionableness as well. He 
will be greatly missed in the circles where 
he was wont to gather. 

The following is a tribute from Forrest 
W. Morgan, librarian of the Watkinson 
Public Library of Hartford, Connecticut : 

The perfect horror I felt at Mr. Clifford's — 
and I am proud to say — my friend's utterly un- 
dreamed of death makes it hard to say anything 
worthy of him and satisfying my own wishes; 
but I must not let him pass without telling you 
what I thought of him and what his loss is to me. 
Our actual companioning seemed so little, because 
our work was on different lines, that it seems 
affected to say that no one outside my own fam- 
ily could have brought such a sense of bereave- 






247 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ment. But it is the simple truth. It was a pleas- 
ure and comfort to see him come in ; partly be- 
cause he gave one so all around a sense of reli- 
ance with his large practicality and judgment and 
kindly helpfulness, but more than that he was so 
true, sympathetic and fine minded that he made 
the world taste better. And he had good things 
of his own to give. I respected not only his 
ideals and spirit, but his mind. His opinions 
were never cheap or parroted, but came from 
sound independent thought and real knowledge 
and still more from a spirit of elevated sympathy. 
I never heard him express a mean, shabby or be- 
littling sentiment. — Nothing you would a little 
rather for both sakes he had not said. — I owe him 
many keen and sound thoughts and views. And 
his ideals of public service and social good with- 
out pretense were such as a man likes his friends 
to have held. I am certain he would have been of 
far greater public note had he lived and I cannot 
bear to think of the loss to us all. But I am 
thinking of the man himself and it will be very 
lonely without him, and I am far from alone in 
this. 

In August, 1896, Mr. Clifford married 
Grace Readel, of Hartford, daughter of 
Henry O. and Frances A. (Hackney) 
Readel. Mr. and Mrs. Clifford were the 
parents of a daughter, Frances Clifford. 



WALL, Frederick Henry, 

Public Official. 

Frederick Henry Wall, postmaster, and 
one of the leading young men of Man- 
chester, Connecticut, was born December 
25, 1888, in that town, son of John Ed- 
ward and Hannah (Dwyer) Wall. John 
Edward Wall and Hannah Dwyer were 
both born in Ireland, and came to Amer- 
ica when quite young. They were mar- 
ried in Manchester, and continued to 
make their home there until their death. 
Mr. and Mrs. Wall were the parents of 
four children : Mary and Margaret, the 
daughters, both make their home with 
Frederick Henry Wall in the old home- 
stead. Edward J. Wall is assistant man- 
ager of the Jefferey Auto Company of 
Boston, Massachusetts. 



Frederick Henry Wall passed his boy- 
hood and youth in Manchester, where he 
attended the public schools. At an early 
age he began work on the 'Manchester 
Jlerald," and his love and fitness for 
newspaper work soon developed. He sub- 
sequently entered the employ of the 
"Hartford Times," as a reporter and gen- 
eral newspaper writer. He was assigned 
to the legislative and election work, and 
he soon became prominent in politics. 
Mr. Wall continued to engage in news- 
paper work up to 1 91 3, at which time he 
resigned to become private secretary to 
Congressman Augustine Lonergan, and 
was associated with him at Washington 
until March, 191 5. In that year, he was 
appointed postmaster of Manchester by 
President Wilson, which position he holds 
at the present time (1917). Mr. Wall is 
a young man of sterling worth, and has 
always taken an active part in all pub- 
lic' movements, being an earnest Demo- 
crat in political affiliations. Mr. Wall is 
a member of the Manchester Chamber of 
Commerce ; the Manchester Court, For- 
esters of America, of which he has been 
grand recording secretary, and Knights 
of Columbus. Mr. Wall and his family 
are members of the Roman Catholic 
church of Manchester. He is very popu- 
lar and weil-liked among the residents of 
Manchester, and keenly interested in out- 
door sports, especially that of baseball. 



HOUSE FAMILY, 

Manufacturers. 

Connected with the State of Connecti- 
cut for at least three generations has 
been the House family, represented in 
the present generation by the brothers, 
Charles W., Everett T. and Herbert C, 
president, treasurer and secretary, respec- 
tively, of the Charles W. House Sons 
Company, of New York City and Union- 



248 





'a^sft/%^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ville, Connecticut. The extensive mills 
established at Unionville by the firm, 
which holds a leading place among Amer- 
ican manufacturers of felt goods, are the 
result, primarily and chiefly, of the enter- 
prise, persistence and sterling business 
qualities of the late Charles W. House, 
father of the present executives of the 
corporation, founder of the firm and pion- 
eer of the industry in America more than 
fifty years ago. 

The late Charles W. House came of 
good Colonial stock and was born in Nan- 
tucket, Massachusetts, in 1839, but spent 
almost all the years of his minority in 
Stonington, Connecticut. There, as a 
boy, he attended school, concurrently 
applying himself to work in the village 
postoffice. He was steady, thirfty and 
self-reliant, and before reaching his nine- 
teenth year had saved about one hundred 
dollars. With this, as capital, he resolved to 
go to New York "to make his fortune." 
His character was upright, his courage 
strong, and his aptitude for business well 
marked, and these carried him to success. 
At the outset, he took humble clerical 
capacity with a small manufacturer. He 
remained as an employee a few years, 
during which he benefited in knowledge 
and accumulated sufficient money to 
bring him to the determination to venture 
independently into business. Woven felt 
goods at that time were almost wholly 
imported products, and he decided to in- 
troduce that line of manufacture in Amer- 
ica. His business gave indication of 
developing satisfactorily when the Civil 
War came to temporarily effect his plans. 
He enlisted in the Twenty-third Regi- 
ment of Brooklyn, and had the distinc- 
tion of being present at the battle of Get- 
tysburg, although his regiment was one 
of those held in reserve. After the con- 
clusion of peace, and the mustering out 
of his regiment, Mr. House again applied 
himself to his manufacturing enterprise, 



and it was only by hard work and pati- 
ence that he was able to build up the 
trade that has now reached such propor- 
tions. And the business in his later years, 
together with his three sons, became 
known as Charles W. House & Sons. Mr. 
House, Sr., died in 1906, and two years 
later the three sons decided to remove 
the manufacturing plant of the company 
to Unionville, Connecticut, where in more 
commodious and more modernly equipped 
quarters the business of the company 
might not be handicapped in its expan- 
sion. Under the rearrangement following 
the death of Charles W. House, Sr., his 
eldest son, of same name, became presi- 
dent. The New York offices were still 
maintained, but all the actual work of 
manufacture was transferred to Union- 
ville, where, following primarily the poli- 
cies of their father, the sons conducted the 
business with success. The business will 
stand as a monument to and history of 
the life of the late Mr. House. 

At the time of the death of Charles W. 
House, Sr., in Brooklyn, New York, on 
June 28, 1906, many manifestations were 
shown of the esteem in which he was 
held by those with whom he had asso- 
ciated, either in business or in private 
life. He was identified with some leading 
metropolitan organizations, including the 
Union League and Lincoln clubs of 
Brooklyn, and owned a fine house on 
Grand avenue. In the year 1866, Charles 
W. House married Eliza Taylor Clifton, 
daughter of Joseph and Alice Clifton, of 
New York City. To them were born 
seven children: 1. Mary, married J. S. 
Langthorn, of Brooklyn, New York ; they 
have a son, Jack, who is now in France 
with the New York Engineer Corps, and 
three daughters, Elizabeth, Jane and 
Alice. 2. Jennie, deceased. 3. Lillian, 
married E. B. Books, of Brooklyn. 4. 
Charles W. (2), of further mention. 5. 
Kate, married M. B. Byers, of Brooklyn; 



249 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



they have three daughters, Alice, Fran- 
ces and Marion. 6. Everett T., of fur- 
ther mention. 7. Herbert C, of further 
mention. 

Charles W. (2) House, eldest son of 
Charles W. (1) and Eliza Taylor (Clif- 
ton) House, was born in Brooklyn, New 
York, on February 1, 1873. His primary 
education was obtained in the public 
schools of Brooklyn, and for advanced 
study he took the course at the Brooklyn 
Polytechnic Institute. After leaving there 
he was taken into his father's manufac- 
turing establishment, so that he might 
learn the business in all its phases pre- 
paratory to being admitted to partner- 
ship. With the reconstruction of the 
company following the death of his 
father in 1906, Charles W. (2) House be- 
came the president of the corporation, 
and was one of the prime factors in the 
ultimate decision of the company to re- 
move its plant to Unionville, Connecticut. 
Mr. House makes his home in Hartford, 
Connecticut. He has always been ath- 
letically inclined, fond of outdoor life, and 
therefore finds much pleasure in the little 
time he can give to golfing. He is a pop- 
ular member of the Farmington Country 
Club, and belongs to the Crescent Club 
of Brooklyn. On June 14, 191 1, at Brook- 
lyn, he married Victoria Pollard, widow 
of a Air. LaMoreux, of Hartford, and 
daughter of highly regarded residents of 
that city. They have four children : Wil- 
fred, Constance, Virginia, and Charles 
W. (3). 

Everett T. House, second son of 
Charles W. (1) and Eliza Taylor (Clif- 
ton) House, was born April 22, 1878, in 
Brooklyn, New York. He attended the 
public schools and the Polytechnic Insti- 
tute of Brooklyn, and in due course added 
his energy and abilities to the affairs of 
the family business. He was admitted to 
the firm before it became known as 
Charles W. House & Sons, and in the 



present disposition of its executive affairs 
occupies the office of treasurer. He lives 
in Farmington, Connecticut, and has 
taken active interest in the public and 
political affairs of that town. Politically 
a Republican, and socially a member of 
the Farmington Golf Club, he has espec- 
ially interested himself in the Boy Scout 
movement ; in fact, his interest in the 
welfare and proper upbringing of the boys 
of the district was such that he organized 
the Boy Scouts of Farmington, now a 
strong body. His association with that 
work is an indication of his own char- 
acter. He married, June 15, 1906, at 
Staten Island, Elizabeth, daughter of 
John and Lucretia Allen, of Staten Island. 
They have two children : Everett T., Jr., 
and Anita. 

Herbert C. House, third son of Charles 
W. (1) and Eliza Taylor (Clifton) House, 
was born in Brooklyn, New York, March 5, 
1882. He attended for primary and col- 
legiate instruction the Brooklyn public 
schools and Brooklyn Polytechnic Insti- 
tute, and eventually joined his father and 
brothers in business, and presumably had 
his proportionate share in the building up 
of the business to its present position of 
importance. He is secretary of the com- 
pany, and makes his home in Farming- 
ton, Connecticut, where he is popular and 
respected. He is an enthusiastic golfer 
and is a member of the Farmington Coun- 
try Club. His wife, nee Lillian Speed, 
whom he married on November 24, 1909, 
at Brooklyn, New York, is the daughter 
of Roland and Alice Speed, of London, 
England. They have one child, a daugh- 
ter, Alice. 



KINNEY, Sheldon, 

Farmer, Innkeeper. 

One of the most prominent men in the 
town of Windsor engaged in the agri- 
cultural line was Sheldon Kinney. Mr. 



250 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Kinney was born in Winsted, Connecti- 
cut, March 30, 1816, son of Sheldon Kin- 
ney, Sr., who lived in New Preston, Con- 
necticut, and who married Ellen Clark. 
Sheldon Kinney, Sr., died in May, 1876, 
and his wife died in 1879. His father, 
Pari Kinney, married Sarah Hine, and 
his grandfather's name was Pari also. On 
his maternal side Mr. Kinney was a de- 
scendant of the Farren family, who were 
among the first settlers of East Haven, 
Connecticut. 

Sheldon Kinney was brought up in 
Winsted, Connecticut, and attended the 
schools in that town. In his youth he 
learned the trade of molder, but this work 
proved too strenuous and he was com- 
pelled to give it up. After this he was 
engaged with his father for many years 
in the butcher business, and did much 
in cattle buying and droving, as at that 
time it was the custom to drive the cat- 
tle over the country to their destination. 
He also followed merchandising in Win- 
sted. For some time, Mr. Kinney was 
the owner of the "Winsted House." In 
1863 he removed to Rainbow, Connecti- 
cut, where he took up farming. In 1868 
he reopened what was formerly known as 
the "Old Roberts Tavern," and called the 
hotel the "Maple House." This hotel was 
a favorite stopping place at that time. In 
1880 he returned to his farm, where he 
died September 5, 1892, and is buried in 
the Windsor Cemetery. In politics Mr. 
Kinney was very prominent in the Demo- 
cratic party, always being an active 
worker in its interests. For a period of 
seven years he held the position of 
keeper of the town's poor, and was ex- 
ceedingly well known in this capacity. 
Mr. Kinney was a member of the Poquo- 
nock Grange. On November 27, 1846, 
Mr. Kinney married Eliza Abiah Phelps, 
a direct descendant of William Phelps, 
who emigrated to New England in 



the ship "Mary and John" in 1630. 
Originally, the Phelps family came 
from Tewksbury, Gloucestshire, England. 
There James Phelps was born about 1520. 
William Phelps, son of James and Joan 
Phelps, was born at Tewksbury, baptized 
August 4, 1560, died about 161 1, and his 
wife, Dorothy, about 1613. Their son, 
William Phelps, the emigrant ancestor 
of Eliza A. (Phelps) Kinney, came here 
in the ship "Mary and John," which sailed 
from Plymouth, England, March 20, 
1630, and landed at what is now Hull, 
Massachusetts, and they were the first 
founders and settlers of that place. Wil- 
liam Phelps was made a freeman during 
the first six months and was very active 
in the town's affairs. The wife, whose 
name is not known, died in 1635. Their 
son, Lieutenant Timothy Phelps, was 
born in Windsor, September 1, 1639, and 
lived there on land purchased from the 
Indians by his father, and was made a 
freeman, May 2, 1664. In 1709 he was 
appointed a lieutenant and served under 
Colonel Whitman in Captain Matthew 
Allyn's regiment in Queen Anne's War. 
He married Mary Griswold, March 19, 
1661, daughter of Edward Griswold, of 
Killingworth, born in Windsor and bap- 
tized October 13, 1644. Lieutenant 
Phelps died in 1719, his wife Mary previ- 
ous to this time, the exact date not being 
on record. Their son, Cornelius Phelps, 
was born in Windsor, April 26, 167 1, died 
1741 ; married, November 2, 1704, Sarah 
Mansfield, daughter of John and Sarah 
(Phelps) Mansfield, born in Windsor, 
January 5, 1685, died 1774. Their son, 
Timothy Phelps, born in Windsor, Feb- 
ruary 3, 1713, lived in Windsor and Cole- 
brook. He married, April 24, 1746, Mar- 
garet Gillett, daughter of Daniel and 
Margaret (Eno) Gillett, born in Wind- 
sor, December 31, 1723. Their son, Timo- 
thy Phelps, born in Windsor, July 14, 



251 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1748, lived in Windsor, served in the 
Revolutionary War, died in Windsor, No- 
vember 11, 1827. He married, November 
3, 1785, Ruth Wilson, daughter of Timo- 
thy and Mary (Palmer) Wilson, born in 
Windsor, March 10, 1755, and died De- 
cember 2, 1827. Their son, Hiram 
Phelps, born in Windsor, October 14, 
1790, lived there and followed the trade 
of wheelwright and farmer, died Novem- 
ber 5, 1873. He married, November 15, 
1813, Laura A. Griswold, daughter of 
Solomon and Abiah (Allen) Griswold, 
born in Windsor, November 29, 17 — , 
died November 29, 1874. Their daughter, 
Eliza Abiah Phelps, was born in Wind- 
sor, July 27, 1820. She married, Novem- 
ber 27, 1846, Sheldon Kinney, as previ- 
ously noted. There were two children 
of this marriage: 1. Timothy Phelps, 
born September 18, 1847; he was a com- 
mission merchant for fertilizers and farm 
tools in Windsor ; he was employed by 
the Ols & Whipple Company of Hart- 
ford for twenty-four years, and served as 
registrar of voters in Windsor for four- 
teen years ; he was a member of the 
Windsor Rogue Detecting Society, which 
lie joined in 1868 ; for many years he was 
a member of the Windsor Fire Company, 
and upon his retirement became a mem- 
ber of the Veteran Association ; on De- 
cember 24, 1873, he married Imogene M. 
Loomis, daughter of Lawrence and Aure- 
lia (Barnard) Loomis, of Windsor; they 
have one child, Mabel Loomis Kinney, 
who is now the wife of Royden M. Tyler, 
of Hartford, Connecticut ; Mr. Kinney 
died June 5, 1914, having met his death 
at a railroad crossing in Windsor. 2 
Ella Maria, born June 22, 1850, in Win- 
sted, and her entire life has been spent on 
the old homestead ; she was educated in 
the public schools of Windsor and in the 
Bryant & Stratton Business College of 
Hartford ; Miss Kinney has had full con- 



trol of the farm since the death of her 
mother and father ; a great deal of 
tobacco is raised in addition to general 
farming; on account of her time being so 
much occupied with this w r ork, Miss Kin- 
ney has had little time for outside affairs ; 
she is a member of Abigail Wolcott Ells- 
worth Chapter, Daughters of the Amer- 
ican Revolution, of Windsor, of which 
she was secretary for six years. 



McGOVERN, Hon. Patrick, 

Public Official. 

The architect of his own fortune and 
one who owes his rise to no fortuitous 
circumstances, but who won a prominent 
and respected place in the foremost ranks 
of the leading citizens of Hartford, Con- 
necticut, is Hon. Patrick McGovern, who 
was born in Ireland and there received 
his education. Very early in life he came 
to the United States, and for many years 
he has been a resident of the city of 
Hartford, where he has achieved an hon- 
orable record through the sheer force of 
his indomitable will. 

His first experience in business in this 
country was as clerk and bookkeeper in 
the office of one of the city's large mer- 
cantile houses. The dominant desire to 
make good was paramount in his mind, 
and from the time in 1880 when he be- 
came associated with the /Etna Life In- 
surance Company, Mr. McGovern has 
risen rapidly and to-day is an important 
factor in the civic and business life of 
Hartford. He is largely interested in 
the progress and prosperity of the ^Etna 
Life Insurance Company. His interest 
in affairs of a civic nature is a very keen 
one, and he is most prominently identi- 
fied with the interests of the Republican 
party. He has untiringly devoted his 
time and energies in its behalf. For 
twenty years he was a member of the 



252 





'e4^zJ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Court of Common Council, and for seven 
years was president of the Board of Al- 
dermen, displaying true executive abil- 
ity. Previous to the consolidation of the 
town and city of Hartford, he was an 
auditor of town accounts. The time when 
the zeal and true ability of the man was 
displayed was in his work as chairman 
of the Republican town committee, an 
office he held for upwards of twenty 
years. He was instrumental in bringing 
in new members through his rare tact 
and naturally persuasive manner. Dur- 
ing his administration Hartford was 
transformed into a Republican strong- 
hold and made possible the placing of 
Connecticut in the column of Republican 
States. It was an impossibility for his 
opponents to overcome the clear, sensi- 
ble and logical methods of Mr. McGov- 
ern. The constituents of Mr. McGovern 
fully realized the worth he would be in 
representing them in the General Assem- 
bly, and in 1905 he was elected from the 
Second Senatorial District by a large ma- 
jority and was again reelected at the ex- 
piration of his term, serving until 1908. 
He was chairman of the committee on 
insurance, rendering efficient service. 
During the session of 1907 he earned a 
name and brought fame to himself in his 
excellent work as chairman of the com- 
mittee on appropriations. At that time 
this was the most important committee 
of the entire legislative body and much 
credit is due to Senator McGovern for 
his origination of the plans that proved 
to be the most practicable. It was this 
committee that recommended appropria- 
tions for good roads for six years of ap- 
proximately one million dollars a year, 
also the erection of the Armory and State 
Library buildings and the fire proofing of 
the Capitol building. During Mr. Mc- 
Govern's term as Senator, no bid or reso- 
lution offered by him as chairman of his 
committee failed of passage. It is a 



remarkable record of successful achieve- 
ments. On May 13, 1918, he was nom- 
inated by Mayor Kinsella to the Board 
of Street Commissioners, of Hartford, for 
a three-year term. Fraternally he is a 
member of Hartford Lodge, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. He pos- 
sesses a most genial and pleasant manner, 
and has many friends among the leading 
residents of Hartford who thoroughly 
appreciate his sterling qualities and 
esteem him for his frankness and cour- 
age. Senator McGovern married, Octo- 
ber 15, 1912, Julia P. Kinghorn. 



LUDDY, Michael Gabriel, 

Attorney-at-Law. 

Michael Gabriel Luddy, one of the ris- 
ing young attorneys of Hartford, Con- 
necticut, is an American by birth, but of 
Irish parentage, and is a son of James 
Luddy, an Irish patriot, who came to this 
country, settling at Bridgeport, Connec- 
ticut, and here married Mary Maloney, 
who was also born in Ireland, about 1892. 
They afterwards removed to Thompson- 
ville, Connecticut. Mr. Luddy. Sr., was 
a native of County Clare, Ireland, and 
was a brass worker by trade. 

Born March 19, 1893, at Bridgeport. 
Connecticut, Michael Gabriel Luddy ac- 
companied his parents to Thompsonville 
in that State when one year of age, so 
that his earliest associations were formed 
in this place. It was here also that he 
received the elementary portion of his 
education, attending for this purpose the 
public schools. He graduated from the 
High School of Thompsonville, where he 
prepared for college, and established an 
unusually good record as a student and 
won the Hibernian scholarship of Con- 
necticut. Accordingly, he matriculated 
at the Catholic University of Washing- 
ton, D. C, and here devoted his attention 
to the study of the law, having deter- 






253 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mined to make this his profession in life. 
How brilliant a student he was may be 
seen from the fact that when he had 
studied only two years at the University, 
he took his bar examinations and passed, 
but was, nevertheless, not permitted to 
practice until he had finished his course 
in college and graduated therefrom. He 
finally graduated with the class of 1916, 
being the thirteenth in his examinations 
out of a class of one hundred and thirty- 
nine students that passed. He then re- 
ceived his degree of Doctor of Laws, and 
since that time has been active in the 
practice of his profession. He established 
himself at first in Thompsonville, but 
shortly afterwards opened another office 
in Hartford, where he became a member 
of the firm of Fletcher & Luddy. He 
gives promise of becoming one of the 
leaders in his profession in this region. 

Mr. Luddy has also interested himself 
most keenly and most actively in the 
cause of Ireland's independence, having 
been trained from early childhood to feel 
very strongly upon this subject by his 
father. While he was yet in school, Mr. 
Luddy organized the First Irish Society 
there and since that time he has spoken 
in various parts of Connecticut on this 
subject and written many newspaper 
articles. His mind is a very active one 
and he has never feared to undertake 
what might seem like onerous tasks to 
the average man, and it was while he was 
still in school that he first began his con- 
nection with the newspapers and journal- 
ism. He wrote for six years in all for 
various publications, was police reporter 
for the "Hartford Post" for two years 
and was court and capital reporter for 
the "Hartford Times" for a similar period. 
While at the Catholic University in 
Washington, D. C, he was for two years 
political correspondent for five Connecti- 
cut papers. He is prominent in Republi- 
can politics, often serving as campaign 



speaker, but has never aspired to public 
office. Mr. Luddy is a prominent figure 
in social circles in Hartford, and is a 
member of many associations and clubs 
there. He is affiliated with the local 
lodge of the Ancient Order of Hibernians, 
is a member of the City Club of Hartford 
and of the Press Club of Washington, D. 
C. In his religious belief he is a Roman 
Catholic, and is active in the work of his 
parish in Hartford. He is unmarried. 



GRAY, Merwin, 

Broker. 

Merwin Gray, senior partner of Mer- 
win Gray & Company, a prominent brok- 
erage firm of Hartford, was born in Red- 
ding, Connecticut, March 15, 1877, the 
son of Charles S. and Harriet N. (Mer- 
win) Gray, and a descendant of an old 
and distinguished New England family, 
prominent since the early Colonial days. 

Charles S. Gray, his father, was born 
in Redding, removed in his youth to New 
Haven, Connecticut, where he later be- 
came prominently indentified with the 
dry goods business. Mr. Gray enlisted 
in Company B, Fourteenth Connecticut 
Regiment, and was commissioned a sec- 
ond lieutenant of that company. In later 
life he went West and settled in Los An- 
geles, California, where he died in 1908, 
at the age of fifty-eight years. He mar- 
ried Harriet N., a daughter of Smith and 
Amelia (Painter) Merwin, and a descend- 
ant on the maternal side of the Painter 
family identified with the history of New 
Haven since Revolutionary days. Mr. 
and Mrs. Gray were the parents of three 
children: 1. Fannie, who became the wife 
of Clarence C. Andrew. 2. Bertha, who 
became the wife of Charles Edward Rich- 
ards. 3. Merwin, of further mention. 

Merwin Gray removed with his par- 
ents at an early age to New Haven, where 
he received his schooling in the New 



254 




ZTta fySZ :tW.'/t*Tis <z-£ra/W 





ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Haven Grammar and High schools. His 
first position in the business world was in 
the office of the Record Publishing Com- 
pany of New Haven. Through industry 
and application Mr. Gray was rapidly 
advanced until he became Hartford man- 
ager for the firm in 1906, and later its 
vice-president, which position he still 
holds. In 1909 Mr. Gray started in busi- 
ness for himself as a dealer in investment 
securities, in which he attained immedi- 
ate success. He formed a partnership 
with Kenneth S. Adams and Arthur H. 
Merrill, March 1, 1915, under the firm 
name of Merwin Gray & Company, deal- 
ers in Stocks, Bonds and Local Securi- 
ties. The business progressed rapidly 
and the firm to-day is one of the lead- 
ing brokerage houses of the city, being 
members of the New York and Hartford 
Stock exchanges. Mr. Gray was admit- 
ted to membership in the New York 
Stock Exchange, April 22, 191 5. 

Mr. Gray is keenly interested in the 
civic affairs of Hartford, and holds a 
prominent part in the social and club life 
of that city. He is a member of the Hart- 
ford Club, the Hartford Golf Club, and 
the Bolton Fish & Game Club. He is an 
enthusiast in all sports, particularly golf, 
and finds much recreation in the latter 
pastime. He has a love for farming, and 
has acquired and developed a beautiful 
county place in Bolton, Connecticut. 
Upon the declaration of war, Mr. Gray 
was desirous to be of some service and 
enlisted in the Naval Reserve, Connecti- 
cut Home Guard. He was later commis- 
sioned by the Governor, lieutenant and 
paymaster on Commander F. R. Cooley's 
staff. 

On October 5, 1899, Mr. Gray was mar- 
ried to Jane Mallory, a daughter of Les- 
ter P. and Jane (Bray) Mallory, of New 
Haven, Connecticut. They are the par- 
ents of a son and daughter, Janet and 



Mallory. Mr. and Mrs. Gray and family 
are active members of the Asylum Hill 
Congregational Church of Hartford. 



PIERSON, Magnus, 

Floriculturist, Nurseryman. 

Magnus Pierson, owner of extensive 
nurseries at Cromwell, Connecticut, the 
operation of which gives permanent em- 
ployment for five men, excluding himself, 
and temporary employment for many 
more, is of Swedish origin. He was born 
in the county of Scona, Sweden, February 
16, 1862, the son of Nels and Hannah 
Pierson, of Scona. His father, Nels Pier- 
son, who was an academician, came to 
America in 1869, and in the following 
year Magnus, with his mother, also came, 
disembarking in due course in New York 
City. 

The family located in Plainville, Con- 
necticut, and there Magnus Pierson at- 
tended the public schools until he was 
fifteen years of age, going then, in 1877, 
to Florida, where for three years he re- 
mained, and during that time gained 
much knowledge of horticulture and fruit 
growing by his work in orange groves of 
that State. In 1880 he returned to Con- 
necticut and resumed his schooling, at 
tending a school in Cromwell for several 
terms. Thereafter, for five years, he en- 
gaged in maritime occupations, influ- 
enced thereto probably by the desire that 
comes to so many young men of adven- 
turous spirit to see foreign parts in their 
vigorous years of early manhood. He 
served "before the mast" at the begin- 
ning of his seafaring experience, but 
within thirteen months became an offi- 
cer. He served as second mate on sev- 
eral sailing vessels that plied between 
New York City and the West Indies and 
also various parts of South America. In 
1886 he again became a landsman, going 



255 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to Florida and there purchasing an or- 
ange grove, and in the development of 
his plantation, Magnus Pierson remained 
in Florida for seven years. 

In 1893 Magnus Pierson disposed of 
his orange grove and left Florida. He 
next resided in Chicago, and there en- 
deavored to establish himself in inde- 
pendent business as a baker. In 1895, 
however, he returned to Cromwell, Con- 
necticut, where his elder brother was then 
firmly established in the nursery busi- 
ness, and had become very widely known 
as a rose grower. Shortly before Mag- 
nus Pierson returned to Cromwell and 
became associated with his brother in 
business, his brother had lost the serv- 
ices of Robert Simpson, who was reputed 
to be one of the leading rose-growing 
experts in the country, and this may have 
influenced Magnus in closing his Chicago 
bakery and joining his brother. He 
worked with his brother for ten years, 
but in 1904 severed the connection, and 
resolved to take up the business on his 
own account. At the outset he special- 
ized in asparagus and garden produce, 
but eventually his establishment evolved 
into a floral nursery, and in all classes 
of bedding plants he developed a consid- 
erable and lucrative connection, the pro- 
ducts of his houses and land finding 
ready markets in many widely separated 
parts of the United States, the output 
representing many hundreds of thousands 
of plants yearly. By dint of hard work 
and resolute determination to succeed 
despite the many disappointments he 
experienced in his early years as a flori- 
culturist, Mr. Pierson has made substan- 
tial progress ; he has five acres under 
tillage and glass, and permanently in his 
employ are fire gardeners, besides many 
more during the busy season. He has 
every reason to be satisfied with the re- 
sult of his industry and enterprise. 



Mr. Pierson resides in Cromwell, in 
the old Sage homestead, which property 
he purchased in 1900, and he is recog- 
nized as one of the leading business men 
of that place. He takes an active part in 
town affairs. Politically he gives allegi- 
ance to the Republican party ; he has 
been a member of the Cromwell School 
Board for twelve years, and is also a 
councilman. Fraternally he is a Mason, 
affiliated with Washington Lodge, No. 
81, of Cromwell. He also belongs to the 
Knights of Pythias, holding membership 
in Myrtle Lodge, No. 161, of DeLand. 
Florida. 

During his residence in Florida he be- 
came acquainted with Mary Stanley 
Newnham, daughter of John and Agnes 
(Stanley) Newnham, of the Isle of 
Wight, England. She eventually became 
his wife, the marriage being consummated 
in Jacksonville, Florida, April 25, 1888. 
To them have been born five children: 1. 
Alice R., born August 21, 1889; married 
Ralph Waldo Swetman, of Providence, 
Rhode Island ; she has indicated marked 
natural talent as a lecturer. 2. Margue- 
rite Jessie, born October 23, 1895. 3. 
Paul Newnham, born January 2, 1897. 4. 
Grace Emily, born April 6, 1899. 5. 
Stanley Drayton, born April 7, 1901. 

Mrs. Pierson, the derivation of whose 
maiden name is from the ancient Eng- 
lish town of Newnham, where in all 
probability early generations of her fam- 
ily had residence, is a lady of strong 
personality, many accomplishments, and 
marked public spirit. She is prominent 
socially and has interested herself in 
many public movements within the com- 
munity ; she is past worthy matron of 
Cromwell Chapter, No. 66, Eastern Star, 
and actively cooperates in the work of 
the Red Cross Home Club, of which she 
is a member. The family attend the 
Cromwell Congregational Church. 

256 




¥' 




& s£?a 



4U 








ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



LONG, John C., 

Hotel Proprietor. 

John C. Long, of the firm of Long 
Brothers, proprietors of the hotel of that 
name, is not only well and favorably 
known locally, but also has a national 
reputation as a heavy athlete in this coun- 
try and Canada, as from 1884 to 1914 Mr. 
Long was a regular attendant at all the 
old Scottish games, winning many prizes 
in the heavyweight throwing competi- 
tions. In these competitions Mr. Long 
competed with many of the best athletes in 
this country and Canada, and was suc- 
cessful in capturing the laurels from his 
adversaries. An open challenge was 
issued at one time to any man in the 
world to compete in throwing a fifty-six 
pound weight the greatest distance with 
one hand from a given mark, for a thou- 
sand dollars a side, but found no man 
who would accept the challenge. 

The careers of Mr. Long and brother, 
Timothy J. Long, who has been associ- 
ated with him for many years, offer a 
notable example of what may be accom- 
plished by those who have ambition and 
a will to accomplish, that brooks no ob- 
stacle in the path to their goal. Mr. 
Long owes his success to no favor of 
friend or fortune, but his success is the 
fruit and just reward of arduous labor 
and plans well laid. 

Michael Long, father of John C. Long, 
was born in County Cork, Ireland, a 
maritime county in the Province of 
Munster, and the southmost and largest 
of the Irish counties; it is hilly with a 
great variety of surface ; the coast is 
bold and rocky and there are many isles 
on the coast. He came from a family of 
farmers, who had pursued their vocation 
in the same parish for many generations. 
They were honest, industrious, clean- 
living people, who bequeathed to their 

Conn-5— 17 257 



descendants an honorable name, good 
mentality and a splendid physical en- 
dowment, attributes that insure success 
in whatever calling is pursued. At about 
the age of twenty-three, Michael Long 
emigrated to the United States and 
located in the State of Connecticut, secur- 
ing employment on the farm of George 
Woodruff in Farmington. He was thrifty 
and prudent, capable and energetic, and 
in due course of time accumulated suffi- 
cient capital to purchase a farm of his 
own on the outskirts of Farmington, 
where he engaged in dairying and truck 
gardening, from which he received sub- 
stantial returns, and he so continued until 
his death which occurred in the year 1881, 
aged fifty-two years. In saving the 
requisite amount for the purchase of the 
land he had the cooperation of his wife, 
Margaret (Donahue) Long, who prior to 
her marriage was employed in the home 
of George Woodruff in Farmington. 
They were the parents of nine children : 
Dennis, deceased; Michael, Jr., deceased; 
Johanna, deceased; John C, of this 
review ; Nellie, deceased ; Jeremiah, de- 
ceased, married Mary E. Conlin and left 
one daughter, Margaret ; Daniel, de- 
ceased ; Timothy J., born January 23, 
1871, partner of John C. ; Mary A., who 
became the wife of Barney L. McGurk, 
and they are the parents of two children : 
Mary Margaret and Bernard L. 

John C. Long was born in Farmington, 
Connecticut, November 19, 1861. He 
grew to manhood on the home farm, and 
his youth was passed in a similar man- 
ner to that of other boys reared in a 
rural environment. When not attending 
the district school he assisted with the 
work of the farm and later delivered milk 
to his father's customers in the city, all 
of which work tended to strengthen and 
improve his physical condition and bet- 
ter qualify him for the activities of life. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In November, 1889, he took up his resi- 
dence in Hartford and purchased the 
interest of Oscar Gross in the partner- 
ship of William Tallcott, who was the 
proprietor of a restaurant, which was 
well patronized. The firm name was 
changed to Tallcott & Long, and this con- 
tinued until December 18, 1893, when 
Timothy J. Long, brother of John C. 
Long, purchased the interest of Mr. Tall- 
cott, and the firm name was changed to 
Long Brothers. In 1895 they took pos- 
session of their first building on State 
street, which they remodeled into a hotel. 
The following year they purchased a 
storehouse in the rear of their building, 
which they remodeled, and on May 20, 
1897, opened the first addition to their 
hotel. From this fact it will be seen that 
the enterprise was successful from the 
very beginning. The business increased 
steadily and greatly, and on August 11, 
1903, Long Brothers purchased the 
Boardman property adjoining their hotel 
which enabled them to further increase 
their capacity for business. On January 
1, 1905, they purchased the Roswell Blod- 
gett property and this enabled them to 
add one hundred rooms to their hotel and 
gave them besides two stories, giving 
them a total capacity of two hundred and 
twenty rooms. In 1915 they purchased 
the property adjoining the Blodgett prop- 
erty known as the Clay block, containing 
six tenements and two stores ; later they 
purchased the block known as the Peter 
Chute block containing twelve tenements 
and three stores. The National Exchange 
Bank building was the next purchase 
ttiade by Long Brothers, which is now re- 
modeled at an expense of many thousands 
pf dollars into a first-class American and 
Chinese restaurant, known as the Far 
East Garden, and enjoying large and suc- 
cessful patronage. In 1916 they purchsaed 
the old Exchange Bank property whereon 



an addition to the hotel will be erected 
in the near future. The house con- 
ducted by the Long Brothers is one of 
the leading hostelries of Hartford, patron- 
ized by the traveling public, who appre- 
ciate quiet and refinement outside their 
own homes, and everything for the com- 
fort of the guests is provided for in a lav- 
ish manner, the table is furnished with 
the best the market affords, hence the 
popularity enjoyed by them. Mr. Long 
is a director of the New England Brew- 
ery, and a member of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. 

Mr. Long married, June 24, 1900, Eliz- 
abeth Smith, daughter of Joseph Smith, 
of Hartford, Connecticut. They are well 
and favorably known in the community 
and enjoy the acquaintance of a wide cir- 
cle of friends, who appreciate their many 
sterling qualities of mind and heart. 



RAWLINGS, William J., 

Representative Citizen. 

A prominent citizen of New Britain, 
William J. Rawlings has won his way to 
a high place in the esteem of his fellow- 
townsmen by his own sterling American 
qualities. He is a business man of un- 
usual ability, and his services for the 
community-at-large have always been 
generous and unstinted. He was born in 
Berlin, Connecticut, in April, 1854, a son 
of Noah Rawlings, a native of England, 
who came to this country in 1850, and 
was a prominent farmer in Berlin, Con- 
necticut. Noah Rawlings married Ag- 
nes Brashure, and their children were : 
William J., of whom further; Alice, 
George, Lucy. Noah Rawlings died in 
1882. 

William J. Rawlings had the usual 
farm experience of a country boy, and 
was sent to Berlin Academy, after fin- 
ishing the course of which he came to 



258 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



New Britain, in 1870, and obtained a posi- 
tion with the Churchill & Lewis Com- 
pany, manufacturing jewellers, and here 
he worked for twenty-seven years. He 
had always taken a keen interest in the 
affairs of the municipality, and he was 
appointed deputy sheriff. He had been 
for twenty years a member of the Na- 
tional Guard of Connecticut, and in 1898, 
at the outbreak of the Spanish War, he 
enlisted and was appointed first lieuten- 
ant in Company I, First Connecticut Reg- 
iment, and served throughout the war. 
His active interest in municipal affairs 
was acknowledged in 1900 by his appoint- 
ment as chief of police, which office he 
has held to the present time. Since 1873 
Mr. Rawlings has been a member of the 
First Baptist Church. He has always 
been very much interested in fraternal 
associations, and on February 25, 1880, 
he joined Harmony Lodge, No. 20, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons, and for 
eight years he was worshipful master. 
He served as secretary for twenty-six 
years. For five years he was district 
deputy of the fifth Masonic district. He 
is a charter member of the Phoenix Tem- 
ple, No. 19, which was instituted in Au- 
gust, 1876. He has held office in the 
State and in National organiations. 

Mr. Rawlings married, June 27, 1877, 
Alice A. Keeney, daughter of William 
and Hannah Keeney, and their children 
are: 1. Ernest B., born in New Britain, 
in 1891 ; married Genie Barns, of Helena, 
Montana, and they have one daughter, 
Carol. 2. Edette L. 



BOND, Harry Slocomb, 

Hotel Proprietor. 

Harry Slocomb Bond, secretary, treas- 
urer and managing director of the Hotel 
Bond Company, of Hartford, through the 
nature of his occupation is probably as 



well known in that city as any man 
therein. He is, in fact, one of the leading 
hotel men of New England, and it fol- 
lows inevitably that his acquaintance 
would be of extremely broad scope, em- 
bracing all manner of men. The main 
factor in the upbuilding of Mr. Bond's 
success in business has been his genius, 
which amounts almost to a "sixth sense," 
in divining the wants of the public and 
in supplying their demands. There is 
nothing more fickle than the public taste, 
and catering to it is a vocation which 
demands keen perception and observa- 
tion, and a complete and sympathetic un- 
derstanding of human nature. It is a 
study to which, in the abstract, scientists 
and thinkers have devoted their lives, and 
which, in its actual and practical working 
out, is an important vocation. Mr. 
Bond's success in this line is universally 
conceded. 

The Bond family are natives of Massa- 
chusetts. Thomas A. Bond, grandfather 
of Harry S. Bond, was born and lived his 
entire life in West Boylston, Massachu- 
setts. His active career was devoted to 
farming pursuits up to the time of his 
retirement. He married Harriet Slocomb. 
His death occurred in the eighty-fourth 
year of his age. 

George Calvin Bond, son of Thomas A. 
and Harriet (Slocomb) Bond, was born 
in West Boylston, Massachusetts, in 
1840. At the age of twenty-five he re- 
moved to Holden, Massachusetts, where 
he engaged in farming, continuing in this 
occupation until his death, which occurred 
in 1912. He married Abbie, daughter of 
Levi Holbrook, a descendant of an old 
family of West Boylston. Levi Holbrook 
was a distinguished citizen of that city, 
in which he was superintendent of the 
mills, and he also held the same position 
in Shirley village until his death. There 
were twelve children born to Mr. and 



259 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mrs. Bond, of whom ten survive. Their 
children were as follows: Nellie M., Her- 
man E., Harry Slocomb, Frederick H., 
Harriet R., George Calvin, Lena M., Sam- 
uel F., Edith L., Grace C, Edward E., and 
Bernie E. Mr. and Mrs. Bond were 
members of the Congregational church. 
Harry Slocomb Bond, son of George 
Calvin and Abbie (Holbrook) Bond, was 
born in Shirley village, Massachusetts, 
May ii, 1871. He attended the public 
schools of Holden, where his parents then 
resided, up to the age of seventeen years. 
He then made his entrance into the line 
of work in which he has since proved so 
successful, accepting a position as bell 
boy in the Old Mansion House at Green- 
field, Massachusetts, in which capacity he 
served for three years, and as clerk for one 
year. He also served as clerk for one sea- 
son at Piney Woods Hotel, Thomasville, 
Georgia. At the age of twenty-one years 
he came to Hartford, Connecticut, and 
became a clerk in the United States Ho- 
tel, holding the position for one year. 
The following three and a half years he 
served as assistant manager for Mr. Ryan 
at the Elm Tree Inn, and then Mr. Ryan 
and Mr. Bond formed a partnership and 
opened a restaurant at No. 232 Asylum 
street, under the firm name of Bond & 
Ryan. At the expiration of the first year, 
Mr. Bond purchased his partner's inter- 
est, and subsequently conducted the bus- 
iness for nine years on his own account. 
The business increased very rapidly, and 
acquired a name throughout New Eng- 
land. During the last year Mr. Bond 
found that the space was insufficient to 
meet the demands of his numerous pa- 
trons, and he accordingly sought larger 
quarters, opening the Harry Bond res- 
taurant at No. 734 Main street. This was 
the old Mattie Hewins billiard parlors, 
probably the best known billiard parlor 
in the United States, frequented by all the 



famous players. At first Mr. Bond leased 
only one floor, but at the expiration of 
one year he was compelled to lease an- 
other, and at the expiration of another 
year leased the third floor, and at the pres- 
ent time (1917) is one of the largest res- 
taurants in the State of Connecticut, 
rivaled in size by not more than one or 
two other places in the New England 
States, having a seating capacity for one 
thousand and fifty people. Mr. Bond rec- 
ognized the demand for better hotel ac- 
commodations in Hartford, and decided 
to erect an up-to-date hotel, which he 
accordingly did at Nos. 320 to 328 Asy- 
lum street. The Hotel Bond was success- 
ful under Mr. Bond's management, and 
at the expiration of the first year the 
original space, which consisted of sleep- 
ing accommodations for two hundred 
people and dining accommodations for 
five hundred and fifty, was totally insuf- 
ficient for the number of its patrons, and 
he leased the Dillon Court Hotel, remod- 
eling and refurnishing it, making it an 
up-to-date transient hotel, changing the 
name to the Bond Annex, this having 
sleeping accommodations for three hun- 
dred and fifty people. Mr. Bond's man- 
agement of both of these hotels has been 
so successful that he was compelled to 
build a larger addition to Hotel Bond. In 
March, 1912, the Hotel Bond Company 
was incorporated, with Harry S. Bond as 
its secretary, treasurer and managing di- 
rector. Mr. Bond is justly proud of his 
success in the hotel business, and is 
known by the traveling public as a gen- 
uine boniface and host. He is a self- 
made man in every sense of the word. 

Mr. Bond is one of the most popular 
hotel men in the United States, and he 
keeps in touch with the men in his line 
of work by membership in the New Eng- 
land Hotel Men's Association, the New 
York State and New York City Hotel as- 



260 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sociations, the Hotel Men's Mutual Bene- 
fit Association of America, the Greeters 
of America and the Greeters of New York 
City. Socially and fraternally, Mr. Bond 
is a member of many organizations, in- 
cluding the Hartford Club, City Club, 
Sequine Golf Club, Republican Club, Ro- 
tary Club, Kiwasnis Club, Charter Oak 
Ad Club, Auto Club of America, Auto 
Club of Hartford, Hartford Chamber of 
Commerce, Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation of Hartford, Evening Star Lodge, 
No. 10, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Unionville ; Washington Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar, of Hartford ; 
Sphinx Temple, Mystic Shrine, of Hart- 
ford ; Connecticut Consistory, Supreme 
Princes of the Royal Secret ; Crescent 
Lodge, No. 7, Knights of Pythias ; Hira 
Temple, D. O. O. K. ; Hartford Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; For- 
esters of America, and the Putnam 
Phalanx. 



EPSTEIN, Albert Jacob, 

Business Man. 

Albert Jacob Epstein, one of the most 
progressive and active business men of 
Thompsonville, Connecticut, is a son of 
Albert and Barbara (Guyer) Epstein, old 
and highly honored residents of East 
Windsor, Connecticut. Mr. Epstein's 
parents were born in Germany, and both 
emigrated from that country in their 
youth and settled in Connecticut. Here 
in this country Mr. Epstein became a tin- 
smith and followed that trade for a num- 
ber of years. He was also a member of 
the Twenty-second Regiment of Connec- 
ticut Volunteers for nine months. 

Born March 10, 1866, at East Windsor, 
Connecticut, Albert Jacob Epstein passed 
his childhood and early youth in his na- 
tive region. Here it was that he received 
his education, attending for this purpose 



the excellent public schools of the neigh- 
boring town of Windsor Locks. He was 
a bright lad and showed, even as a stu- 
dent in school, the qualities of diligence 
and indefatigable industry which have so 
greatly marked him since, and which 
have been among the chief elements of 
his success. Upon completing his school- 
ing Mr. Epstein, following in the foot- 
steps of his father, became interested in 
the tin business and engaged in this line 
for some three years, with a very satis- 
factory success. Mr. Epstein then saw an 
opportunity to purchase the express busi- 
ness of James Stinson, of Thompsonville, 
and this, with his usual intelligence and 
foresight, he at once availed himself of. 
This was in the year 1889 and since that 
time he has continued to actively operate 
this business which under his skillful man- 
agement has grown to large proportions 
and is now one of the most important of 
its kind in the town. Mr. Epstein oper- 
ates one, two and one three and a half 
ton trucks, and in addition to this uses 
several wagons in his extensive business. 
Since purchasing it he has also branched 
out into the livery trade, and has added 
a department of this kind to his original 
establishment. In this also he has met 
with notable success and operates six car- 
riages and the requisite horses. 

Mr. Epstein has always been keenly 
interested in all matters concerning the 
public affairs and the general welfare of 
the community, and has played no little 
part therein himself. He is a Republican 
in politics, and in 1916 was elected on that 
party's ticket as first selectman, and 
reelected in 1917. He is a prominent fig- 
ure in social and fraternal circles, and is 
affiliated with a large number of organ- 
izations here, among which should be 
mentioned the Griffin A. Stedman Camp, 
Sons of Veterans, of Hartford ; Doric 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 



261 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sons, of Hartford ; Friendship Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of 
Thompsonville ; Enfield Encampment, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows; 
Knights of Pythias, of Thompsonville ; 
and Eastern Star Lodge, of Ware- 
house Point. He is also a member 
of the Thompsonville Board of Trade, 
the Thompsonville Chamber of Com- 
merce and the Masonic Social Club. In 
his religious belief he is a United Presby- 
terian, and is a member of the church of 
this denomination in Thompsonville. He 
has been exceedingly active in the life of 
the church and is an elder thereof. He 
has also been a trustee for about seven 
years, an office that he holds at the pres- 
ent time. 

Albert Jacob Epstein was united in 
marriage, January 1 1, 1888, at Thompson- 
ville, Connecticut, with Mary Jane Bryan, 
a daughter of the late James and Elizabeth 
(McMullen) Bryan, both of whom have 
resided in Thompsonville for many years. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bryan, natives of Ireland, 
of Scotch-Irish parentage, came in early 
youth from Ireland and settled here. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Epstein the following chil- 
dren have been born : Elizabeth Guyer, 
June 11, 1889, at Thompsonville; and 
Samuel Raymond, October 9, 1892, also 
at Thompsonville. 



LAMBERTON, Walter John, 

Farmer, Mechanic. 

The name of Lamberton is of British 
origin, and this family appears to have 
been of Scotch-Irish lineage. James Lam- 
berton came from northern Ireland, and 
settled in Palmer, Massachusetts, very 
early in the eighteenth century. Obed 
Lamberton appears in Windsor as early 
as 1747, and was married there May 2.7 
of that year to Elizabeth Taylor, who was 
probably a daughter of Nathaniel and 



Ruth (Stiles) Taylor, and granddaughter 
of Stephen Taylor. The latter had land 
in Windsor, and was admitted to the 
church there, March 6, 1644. About 1656 
he removed to the east side of the Con- 
necticut river where he purchased, in as- 
sociation with another, "forty acres by 
three miles" with a house, barn and other 
buildings, and died there in 1668. He 
married, October 25, 1649, Elizabeth 
Newell, who was admitted to the church 
at Windsor in August, 1666, and died De- 
cember 14, 1717. Their youngest child, 
Nathaniel Taylor, born November 24, 
1668, married, May 31, 171 1, Ruth Stiles, 
born February 5, 1691, eldest child of 
John and Ruth (Bancroft) Stiles. Her 
grandfather was John Stiles, born about 
1633, in England, and her great-grand- 
father, John Stiles, baptized December 
25, 1595, in Millbroke, County Bradford, 
England, removed with his wife Rachel 
in 1640 to Windsor, Connecticut, where 
he died June 4, 1663, leaving an estate 
valued at £222, 4s. His widow, whose 
name has not been preserved, died Febru- 
ary 3, 1674. Their second son, John 
Stiles, died in Windsor, December 8, 
1683 ; he married Dorcas Burt, daughter 
of Henry and Eulalia Burt : there is an 
interesting tradition concerning the lat- 
ter ; after being laid out in a coffin for 
burial, she showed signs of life, recovered 
and came to America, settled in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, where she reared a 
large family of children. 

Obed Lamberton, who lived in Wind- 
sor until his death, had a second wife, 
Mehitable, who died May 27, 1790, in 
Windsor, aged seventy-nine years. Their 
third son, Moses Lamberton, baptized 
February 10, 1765, in Windsor, married 
Rhoda Blanchard. Their son, William 
Blanchard Lamberton, was born Febru- 
ary 15, 1801, at Hayden's Station in 
Windsor, where he engaged in agricul- 



262 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ture throughout his life, and died there 
October 8, 1872. He married, August 5, 
1822, Ellura (Elvira) Skinner, who was 
born June 27, 1802, in East Windsor, Con- 
necticut. She was descended from one 
of the oldest Windsor families, the Amer- 
ican founder of which was John Skinner, 
one of the members of Rev. Thomas 
Hooker's company who probably came 
from Braintree, County Essex, England. 
He was a kinsman of John Talcott, of 
Hartford, Connecticut ; himself one of the 
founders of that town, where he died in 
1650-51. His eldest son, John Skinner, 
born in 1641, lived in Hartford, where 
he died September 15, 1690. He married 
Mary, daughter of Joseph Easton ; she 
died June 18, 1695. Their fourth son, 
Richard Skinner, born January 16, 1674, 
lived in Windsor, where he died June 20, 
1758. He married, December 25, 1702, 
Sarah Gaines, born 1680, died November 
J 8, 1753- Their second son, Samuel 
Skinner, born December 4, 1705, was a 
resident of Windsor, and married, March 

24, 1 741, Sarah Ward. Their third son, 
Samuel Skinner, born March 13, 1755, 
lived in Scantic, East Windsor, and died 
November 23, 1827. He married, April 

25, 1776, Elizabeth Hinds, born March 
2, 1758, died April 10, 1843. Their eldest 
child, Elisha Skinner, born March 13, 
1777, made his home in East Windsor, 
and died October 30, 1851. He lived 
most of his life at Hayden's Station in 
Windsor, and married Abigail Fish, born 
June 11, 1775, second daughter of Levi 
and Susannah (Blodgett) Fish. They 
were the parents of Ellura Skinner (in the 
Windsor records Elvira), who became the 
wife of William B. Lamberton. 

All their children were born at Hay- 
den's Station. They were as follows: 1. 
Eliza A., born April 14, 1823, died No- 
vember 27, 1839. 2. Albert O., born De- 
cember 27, 1824, died in his second year. 



3. Maria L., born May 29, 1827, became 
the wife of John O. Phelps, of Windsor, 
and died November 11, 1899, leaving a 
daughter, Ella E. Phelps. 4. Melissa L., 
born July 2j, 1830, married Austin Seig- 
ler, of Fowler, Ohio, and died November 
9, 1858; she was the mother of three 
daughters : Permelia, Mary and Julia, 
all of whom live in Ohio. 5. Belinda A., 
born September 21, 1832, married Hanni- 
bal Taylor, of Fowler, Ohio, and removed 
to Kansas, where she now resides ; she 
is the mother of three children : Scott, 
Charles and Nellie. 6. Albert O., born 
December 18, 1834, died in Fowler, Ohio; 
he married Charlotte Holton, and they 
had four children : Mary, Albert, Leona 
and Nellie. 7. Eli H., born February 22, 
1837, died unmarried at Hayden's Sta- 
tion, October 6, 1866. 8. Joseph W., 
born June 3, 1839, died July 18, 1864, m 
Fowler, Ohio; he married Celeste Terrell, 
of that town, but left no issue. 9. Edward 
J., born September 20, 1841, living in 
Windsor, unmarried. 10. Walter John, of 
further mention. 

Walter John Lamberton, youngest child 
of William Blanchard and Ellura (Skin- 
ner) Lamberton, was born July 27, 1847, 
at Hayden's Station, and in his youth 
attended the public schools of Windsor. 
His early life was passed upon the pater- 
nal farm, in whose labors he shared, and 
after leaving school he continued to en- 
gage in agriculture until he was thirty- 
nine years old. At that time he took up 
the carpenter's trade, and after complet- 
ing an apprenticeship continued in that 
occupation for several years, in the em- 
ploy of the New York, New Haven & 
Hartford Railroad Company. He was 
subsequently employed as carpenter by 
the Merwin Paper Company, of Poquo- 
nock, and has continued in that capacity 
ever since. He has always taken an inter- 
est in the progress of his country, and 



263 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



associated politically with the Democratic 
party ; though often urged to do so he 
has never consented to accept a public 
office. He is active in promoting the 
interests of his party in both national and 
local politics. Mr. Lamberton is a mem- 
ber of Washington Lodge, No. 70, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Windsor; a charter member of Palisado 
Lodge, No. 23, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, of that town ; a member of 
Eureka Chapter, No. 56, Order of the 
Eastern Star ; and Charter Oak Council, 
United American Mechanics, of Hart- 
ford. His religious affiliations are with 
the Spiritualist church of Poquonock. 
Mr. Lamberton married, April 7, 1874, 
Eliza A. Clark, daughter of Salmon and 
Laura (Thrall) Clark, of Windsor. Mr. 
and Mrs. Lamberton had a daughter, 
Laura Ellura, born March 28, 1880, lived 
only one day. 



JOHNSON, Marcus Morton, M. D., 

Physician. 

One of the most distinguished among 
the prominent physicians of Hartford, 
Connecticut, was Dr. Marcus M. John- 
son, who was born April 21, 1843, anc ^ 
died at Hartford, March 15, 1914. He 
was a lineal descendant of Sir John John- 
son, Sr., who was a sea captain in com- 
mand of an English vessel, and who set- 
tled in the State of Connecticut in the 
latter part of his life. 

John Johnson, Jr., his son, was an early 
settler of Rutland, Vermont, in 1773, and 
was a soldier of the Revolutionary War, 
where he served in the company of Cap- 
tain John Burt, a company which was 
drafted from the regiment of Colonel 
Samuel Fletcher. His wife was Mehitable 
(Sperry) Johnson, who lived to the great 
age of one hundred and two years, her 
death at that time being accidental ; she 



perished in a fire which occurred in 1836. 
They were the parents of three sons, the 
youngest of whom was Silas, mentioned 
below. 

Silas Johnson, who removed from the 
homestead in Rutland, Vermont, to Ma- 
lone, New York, where he was one of 
the pioneer settlers. As might be assumed 
from one who had the courage to go 
forth into a strange country, which was 
largely a wilderness at that time, Silas 
Johnson was a man possessed of much 
force and energy of character and un- 
daunted by the ordinary obstacles which 
confronted him. He was a believer in the 
maxim that if you cannot surmount ob- 
stacles plough around them. He was the 
father of Marvin L., mentioned below. 

Marvin L. Johnson married Polly 
Chapman, a daughter of Joshua Chapman, 
Jr., and granddaughter of Joshua Chap- 
man, Sr. The Chapmans were early set- 
tlers in Norwich, Connecticut, and the 
elder Joshua Chapman served in the Rev- 
olution in a company commanded by Cap- 
tain Chapin. Marvin L. Johnson was the 
father of Marcus Morton, mentioned be- 
low. 

Marcus Morton Johnson attended the 
public schools of Malone, and prepared 
for entrance to college at the Franklin 
Academy of that town. He was gradu- 
ated from Brown University with the 
degree of Ph. B. in 1870, and subsequently 
became connected with the faculty of the 
Connecticut Literary Institute of Suf- 
field, Connecticut, as professor of mathe- 
matics and sciences, where he continued 
for five years. After severing his con- 
nection with the institution as an instruc- 
tor, he was identified with its interests 
as a member of the board of trustees, 
serving at one time as president of the 
board. 

The medical education of Dr. Johnson 
was received at the University of New 



264 




iMan^^y.Q^pt^rvi. ftiA W.i). 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



York, where he held high honors, the 
recipient of the Valentine Mott Gold 
Medal awarded for the highest excellence 
in anatomy and dissections. He subse- 
quently went abroad and engaged in ex- 
tensive medical study under the precep- 
torship of such celebrated surgeons as 
Thomas Keith, of Edinburgh ; Sir Joseph 
Lister, of London, and Billroth, of 
Vienna. He also received instruction in 
the science of gynecology from Martin 
in Berlin, and operative surgery from Von 
Legenbeck of the same city. 

Returning to America, Dr. Johnson 
took up his permanent residence in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, in 1879, and was on 
the Hartford Hospital staff for one year. 
In 1880 he opened an office on Pearl 
street, where the Dime Savings Bank is 
now located. He engaged in the prac- 
tice of his profession, specializing in sur- 
gical operations. In this special line of 
work he possessed perfect mastery and 
his quality of coolness combined with his 
extreme care were important factors in 
his success as one of the foremost sur- 
geons of his day. He was the instigator 
and founder of the first Free Dispensary 
in the city of Hartford. This was started 
some time about 1884, and at the begin- 
ning Dr. Johnson furnished free treat- 
ment and supplied the medicine at his 
own expense to the poor of the city who 
came to his dispensary. He sought the 
aid and cooperation of the worthy of the 
city, but those who seem to always take 
an active part in other welfare move- 
ments seemed very reluctant about help- 
ing the good cause of Dr. Johnson. He, 
therefore, had a hard struggle to firmly 
establish his dispensary, and for some 
time it was necessary to bear the total 
expense of its upkeep personally. At 
length it was established in the base- 
ment of the North Baptist Church. A 
short time after his return to Hartford 



an epidemic of diphtheria spread through- 
out the city, many persons dying of the 
dread disease. Dr. Johnson was the pion- 
eer in the city in the use of bichloride 
of mercury to combat the plague and 
attained a remarkable success in its use. 
This was indicative of his quick percep- 
tion and firmness in the face of profes- 
sional opposition. Dr. Johnson was also 
the pioneer in the study and practice of 
Ex-Ray in the city, and owned the first 
ex-ray machine. He invented a machine 
for electrical massage and was one of the 
first to use such a method. 

The training received by Dr. Johnson 
under the supervision of Sir Joseph Lis- 
ter was such that he fully realized the 
inability of conducting operations from 
house to house with the best results for 
the general good of the patient. About 
1890 he established the first private sani- 
torium in the city of Hartford for surgi- 
cal work located on Asylum avenue. 
Later he removed to Wethersfield and 
occupied the residence of F. S. Brown, 
the same being "Waternook Sanitorium." 
He remained there until 1898, and in the 
latter year erected on Woodland street, 
Hartford, one of the most splendid insti- 
tutions in every way to be found in the 
East, known as the "Woodland Sanitor- 
ium." The dominant note throughout 
was the extreme cleanliness, and the oper- 
ating room contained every facility and 
necessary article needed in the perform- 
ing of a successful operation. This prop- 
erty was subsequently sold to the St. 
Francis Hospital Corporation in 1910, and 
fitted up as a maternity hospital. 

Among a few of the more important 
and unusual operations performed by Dr. 
Johnson was a case of a nineteen-day-old 
infant which was performed for strangu- 
lated inguina hernia, a condition which had 
existed for about thirty-five hours previous 
to the operation. An excellent recovery 



265 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was made by the child and it is without 
doubt the youngest case of its kind on 
record. More than eight hundred and 
fifty times Dr. Johnson performed opera- 
tions where it was necessary to open the 
abdominal cavity with a large percentage 
of recoveries to his credit. The rapidity 
with which he worked was remarkable, 
the sureness and acuteness of his touch 
giving one the impression of actually see- 
ing. In spite of the great demand upon 
his time and the amount of work which 
his calling necessitated, Dr. Johnson 
found opportunity to prepare and read 
before many of the medical societies many 
valuable papers and treatises, among 
them being: "Diphtheria, its History, 
Etiology and Treatment ;" "The Techni- 
que of Removing the Appendix Vermifor- 
mis;" "Treatment of Pus Cases in Ap- 
pendicitis Operations;" "History of the 
First Twenty-three Cases of Gastron- 
omy ;" "Report on the Progress of Sur- 
gery ;" "Etiology of Hernia of the 
Ovary ;" "Gastrotomy ;" "Improved Tech- 
nique for Cure of Ventral Hernia;" "His- 
tory and Treatment of an Unique Injury 
of the Face." After the death of Dr. 
Johnson, his widow donated to the Hart- 
ford Medical Society over two hundred 
volumes of great rareness on medical sub- 
jects which were not included in the col- 
lection possessed by the Medical Society, 
and his entire outfit of surgical instru- 
ments was donated by Mrs. Johnson to 
the New Hospital of Malone, New York, 
the birthplace of Dr. Johnson. In 1910 
Dr. Johnson retired from the more active 
part of his practice, but still retained an 
office on Pratt street. 

Dr. Johnson held membership in the 
American, Hartford County, Connecticut 
and City Medical societies ; was a Fellow 
of the New York Academy of Medicine; 
surgeon of the Governor's Foot Guard 



for twenty-one years, from 1879 to 1900; 
member the American Sanitation Society 
of Boston. He was a founder of the Fed- 
eration of Colleges and University Clubs 
of the United States ; a founder and char- 
ter member of the University Club of 
Hartford ; was the founder of the surgi- 
cal department of St. Francis' Hospital, 
creating the plans by which that depart- 
ment of the hospital was built, giving 
much of his personal help and advice to 
the Mother Superior of the Hospital. By 
his untiring labors St. Francis' Hospital, 
from small primitive accommodations, 
has progressed to be one of the largest 
and most successfully managed hospitals 
in this part of our country. For many 
years Dr. Johnson was the head of 
the hospital staff, with large classes of 
nurses under his instruction, who have 
done great credit to their training. 

As a man Dr. Johnson was bright, gen- 
ial, and full of hope and encouragement 
to the most pathetic of his patients, 
always indulging in stories of good cheer. 
He was a great favorite in hospital and 
private practice, making strong friend- 
ships and doing much charity work with 
modesty and generosity and his memory 
stands for the highest ideals in medicine. 

By virtue of his ancestry, Dr. Johnson 
was a member of the Colonel Jeremiah 
Wadsworth Branch, Connecticut Society, 
Sons of the American Revolution. Fra- 
ternally he was a member of Lafayette 
Lodge, No. 100, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Washington Command- 
ery, Knights Templar ; and member of 
the Asylum Avenue Baptist Church. 

On February 14, 1884, Dr. Johnson was 
married to Helen Lucinda Lyman, a 
daughter of Sylvester Strong and Lu- 
cinda Smith (Gaylord) Lyman, and they 
are the parents of two daughters, Helen 
Gaylord and Ethelyn Chapman Johnsotv 



266 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



THRALL, Willard A., 

Peach and Tobacco Grower. 

For many generations the Thrall fam- 
ily has been seated in Windsor, and has 
furnished many prominent and active 
citizens to the town. The ancestor, Wil- 
liam Thrall, born 1605-06, was probably 
a native of England, as he is found in the 
English Colony of Windsor as early as 
1640, in which year he had a grant of land 
in the town. In 1676 he contributed 2s. 
6d. to the Connecticut Relief Fund for 
the poor of other colonies. He died Octo- 
ber 3, 1679, having survived his wife three 
years. Her name does not appear on 
record. She died July 30, 1676. 

Their son, Timothy Thrall, baptized 
February 25, 1641, was also a contribu- 
tor to the Connecticut Relief Fund in 
the sum of is. 6d. He married, Novem- 
ber 10, 1659, Deborah Gunn, who was 
baptized February 27, 1641, died January 
7, 1694, the second daughter of Thomas 
Gunn, who was early in Windsor and 
moved elewhere, leaving to Timothy 
Thrall his property in Windsor on re- 
moval. 

Timothy Thrall, eldest son of Timothy 
and Deborah (Gunn) Thrall, was born 
December 7, 1662, in Windsor, died there 
January 31, 1724. He married, December 
31, 1699, Sarah Allyn, born July 13, 1674, 
died December 28, 1740, daughter of 
Thomas and Abigail (Warham) Allyn, 
granddaughter of Hon. Matthew Allyn, 
a pioneer of Hartford. Four children of 
this marriage are recorded in Windsor. 
There were, doubtless, others, including 
the next mentioned. 

David Thrall, born 1709-10 in Wind- 
sor, lived in that town and died March 22, 
1772. He married Jane Barber, born 
June 16, 1720, died February 9, 1789, 
daughter of John and Jane (Alford) Bar- 
ber. 



There eldest son, David Thrall, born 
September 23, 1749, was a farmer on the 
paternal homestead through life, and was 
admitted to the Windsor church with his 
wife, November 20, 1785. He married 
Zulima Denslow, born March 13, 1754, 
daughter of Benoni and Sarah (Griswold) 
Denslow. 

Their son, Hon. Horace Thrall, was 
born July 26, 1795, passed his life in 
Windsor and died January 31, 1865. He 
resided on the paternal homestead of his 
father, engaged through life in agricul- 
ture, and was a prominent and influential 
citizen. Politically he was an earnest 
Democrat. He was possessed of fine men- 
tal gifts, was a man of upright character, 
and was universally esteemed and re- 
spected. After serving in various local 
offices of trust and responsibility, he rep- 
resented his town in the State Legisla- 
ture. His death was predicted by himself 
two days previously, and that day he took 
a drive with a handsome team of colts, 
of which he was proud, and returned in 
apparent perfect health, but almost imme- 
diately he took to his bed and informed 
his family that he would die at 10 P. M. 
on the following Tuesday. Monday, he 
settled up his affairs, showing the most 
intelligent capability in disposing of his 
property. The wedding of his son had 
been set for February 14, but he requested 
that the ceremony be performed before 
his death, and this took place on January 
31, the day of his death, at the age of 
sixty-nine years and six months. As he 
had predicted, at the hour of his depar- 
ture, a close watch was kept, and no 
signs of dissolution were observed until 
the clock struck ten on Tuesday evening, 
when he suddenly lost consciousness and 
passed away inside of an hour. Mr. 
Thrall was married to Eliza J. Wilson, 
who was born August 16, 1806, at Wil- 
son's Station in the town of Windsor, 



267 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daughter of Calvin and Submit (Dense- 
low) Wilson. Calvin Wilson was born 
1758-59, in the town of Stafford, Connec- 
ticut, and settled after the Revolution, in 
the town of Windsor, where he died May 
20, 1809. He was a soldier of the Revolu- 
tion, a member of Captain Steven Pot- 
ter's company, Colonel Hermann Swift's 
regiment, the second regiment of the Con- 
necticut Line, appearing in the roster of 
February 1, 1783, credited to the town of 
Windham. His wife, Submit (Denselow) 
Wilson, born 1766, died December 10, 
1840, at the age of seventy-four years. 
She was undoubtedly a member of the 
ancient Denselow family of Windsor. 
Probably her husband belonged to the old 
Wilson family of that town, but unfortu- 
nately no records can be discovered to 
show the parentage of either. Horace 
Thrall and his wife were parents of a 
large family: I. Charles W., born Sep- 
tember 19, 1824, was a farmer and mer- 
chant, and at one time a grist mill owner; 
he died, unmarried, at Poquonock, Janu- 
ary 14, 1862. 2. Horace H., born July 7, 
1825, was a leader among the Democrats 
of the town, served many years as select- 
man, and died December, 1897; for more 
than a score of years he was employed in 
a paper mill, during much of which time 
he was foreman ; he was also interested in 
mercantile business at Poquonock, and 
later in farming; in November, 1856, he 
married Charlotte A. Watrous, and they 
had two daughters : Gertrude A., wife of 
W. G. Clark, of Poquonock, and Eliza M., 
wife of Leroy Sykes, of Suffield. 3. 
Laura Z., born January 30, 1829, became 
the wife of Salmon Clark, of Windsor, 
whose history and ancestry are found 
elsewhere in this work. 4. Oliver W., 
born July 11, 1830, was a farmer on the 
paternal homestead, where he died un- 
married, December 28, 1892. 5. Joseph 
G., born September 14, 1831, lived in the 



town of Windsor, and married, Septem- 
ber 8, 1880, Vesta E. Bartlett. 6. Samuel 
C, born May 30, 1833, was engaged in 
farming on the paternal homestead, and 
later a purchaser of other lands ; he never 
married. 7. Edward F., born February 
6, 1837, married Flavia A. Howe. 8. 
Thomas M., born November 23, 1840, 
died May 21, 1889; was long a successful 
tobacco grower, and left to his children a 
handsome competence and an honored 
name; he married Emma I. Treadman, of 
New London county, and left two chil- 
dren : Fred H., and Cora E., who became 
the wife of Arthur B. Cowan, and the 
mother of three sons : Raymond T., Ken- 
neth B., and Thomas L. 9. Willard A., 
of further mention. 

Willard A. Thrall was born August 24, 
1842, in the town of Windsor, and has 
there passed his life, attaining a promi- 
nent position as a scientific and successful 
farmer. Like most of his brothers, Mr. 
Thrall has engaged in tobacco growing 
on a very extensive scale, and is the pion- 
eer in the production of peaches in his 
locality, as well as the largest grower in 
that section. For several years he was 
associated with four of his brothers, in 
the management and tillage of the pater- 
nal homestead, and in the purchase of 
large tracts in the vicinity. After a few 
years this large estate was divided, and 
Mr. Thrall continued independently with 
excellent success. He attended the pub- 
lic schools of Windsor, and during vaca- 
tion intervals assisted in tilling the home 
farm. After four years at the Windsor 
Academy, he received instruction for two 
years in a private school at Poquonock. 
Like all of the remainder of the family, he 
adheres to the Democratic party in poli- 
tics and has always exercised large in- 
fluence in the direction of public affairs. 
For a period of twelve years he served 
efficiently and acceptably as assessor, and 



268 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was three terms a member of the Board of 
Relief. He was chairman of the school 
committee of Poquonock before the 
schools of the town were consolidated, 
and has always been a capable and use- 
ful public official. He produces annually 
about thirty acres of shade-grown to- 
bacco, and is an extensive landowner in 
Poquonock. His church affiliation is with 
the Spiritualist church of that town. 

He married, December 3, 1872, Mary 
Helen Churchill, of Little Falls, New 
York, daughter of Isaac and Mary (Bel- 
linger) Churchill, both of whom were born 
and reared in that vicinity. Mary Bellin- 
ger was a daughter of John Bellinger, 
granddaughter of Adam Bellinger, who 
was a second lieutenant of the First Com- 
pany of the Fourth Battalion, New York 
Troops, during the Revolution, under 
General Nicholas Herkimer. He partici- 
pated in the battle of Oriskany, and his 
name is inscribed on the monument at 
that point. Mrs. Thrall passed away at 
her home in Poquonock, October 23, 1914. 
She was the mother of four children : 
Oliver J., died in infancy; Henry W., un- 
married, resides with his father at Po- 
quonock; Howard C, who lives on part 
of the paternal homestead, married Ella, 
daughter of Benjamin and Mary Clark, 
of Hartland ; Laura Helen, wife of Ar- 
thur Clark, a son of Benjamin and Mary 
Clark, and resides in Windsor. Arthur 
Clark is a brother of Mrs. Howard C. 
Thrall. 



SMITH, FRANK G., 

General Insurance Agent. 

A scion of one of the oldest Connecti- 
cut families, elsewhere mentioned in this 
work, Frank G. Smith is the youngest 
child of George and Lucy R. (Griswold) 
Smith, of Wethersfield. (q. v.). 

He was born September 7, 1855, in that 



town, and was reared amid happy sur- 
roundings. His father was one of the 
leading citizens of the town, and the son 
enjoyed excellent educational opportuni- 
ties. After attending the public schools 
of his native town he graduated in 1876 
at the Hartford Public High School, and 
during the following year assisted his 
father on the paternal farm. In 1877 he 
went to Hartford and became a clerk in 
the extensive wool house of Austin Dun- 
ham & Sons' Company. This was sub- 
sequently merged in other firms, becom- 
ing finally Dwight Skinner & Company, 
and Mr. Smith continued with the estab- 
lishment until 1904, rising from the posi- 
tion of junior clerk to that of salesman. 
Because of the decline of wool trade in 
Hartford and the concentration of the 
wool business in Boston, Mr. Smith felt 
that it was time to make a change, and 
in 1904 he entered the insurance business 
as a special agent, and has established a 
large and prosperous agency at the pres- 
ent time, with headquarters in the Trav- 
elers' office building at Hartford. He is 
one of the most successful agents of the 
Travelers' Insurance Company, engages 
in all kinds of insurance, and is recog- 
nized as one of the leaders in the business 
in the city of Hartford. He is connected 
with various associations of that city, 
being a member of the Hartford Board of 
Fire Underwriters and of the Connecticut 
Life Underwriters' Association. He is 
also a member of the Hartford Chamber 
of Commerce and the Employers' and 
Manufacturers' Association of Hartford ; 
is a member of the Get-To-Gether Club, 
Wethersfield Country Club, and of the 
Congregational Club of Hartford, and a 
director of Landlords' and Taxpayers' As- 
sociation of that city. He is an active 
member of the Center Congregational 
Church of Hartford, in which he has 
served on various committees, and is ever 



269 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



found in the support of worthy move- 
ments for promoting- morality and the 
general welfare. In 1916 he purchased a 
lot of eighty feet frontage on Concord 
street, West Hartford, on which he 
erected a handsome residence which he 
occupied October 1, of that year. Mr. 
Smith has taken little part in political 
movements, though he entertains well 
grounded principles, being somewhat in- 
dependent in politics with Democratic 
sympathies. He has served as a member 
of the City Council from the Third Ward, 
and enjoys the confidence and esteem of 
his contemporaries. 

Mr. Smith married, October 8, 1884, 
Harriet Seymour Cutler, of Hartford, a 
native of that city, daughter of William 
and Mary (Eaton) Cutler. They are the 
parents of two children : Charles McLean 
and Lucy Marguerite Smith. Mrs. Smith 
is a member of the Daughters of the 
American Revolution. 



GRISWOLD, Frank Charles, 

Insurance Actuary. 

Edward Griswold, the immigrant an- 
cestor, was born in Warwickshire, Eng- 
land, in 1607. He had four brothers: 
Thomas, who remained in England ; 
Francis, who settled in Cambridge, Mas- 
sachusetts; Michael, who settled in 
Wethersfield, Connecticut; and Matthew, 
who settled in Windsor, Connecticut. 
Edward Griswold came first to Massa- 
chusetts, but in 1639 located in Wind- 
sor on the Farmington road. He was a 
deputy to the General Court in 1658, and 
justice of the peace before 1663, when 
the settlement of Killingworth began. 
He was one of the founders and first set- 
tlers in Killingworth. His first wife was 
Ann; his second Elizabeth. Children: 
Francis, born 1629; Sarah, 1630; George, 
mentioned below ; John, died young; Ann, 



August 19, 1642; Mary, October 5, 1644; 
Deborah, June 28, 1646; Joseph, March 
22, 1648; Samuel, November 18, 1650; 
John, August 1, 1652. 

George Griswold, son of Edward Gris- 
wold, was born in England, about 1632, 
and died in Windsor, September 3, 1704. 
He and his brother Joseph came into pos- 
session of his father's lands at Windsor, 
when Edward Griswold went to Killing- 
worth. He bought lands also of the In- 
dians. In 1654 he was admitted a free- 
man. He was a highly respected citizen 
of Windsor. He married, at Windsor, 
October 3, 1655, Mary Holcomb, who 
died April 4, 1708, daughter of Thomas 
Holcomb. Children, born at Windsor: 
Daniel, mentioned below ; Thomas, born 
September 29, 1658 ; Edward, March 19, 
1661 ; Mary, September 28, 1663; George, 
December 3, 1665 ; Sergeant John, Sep- 
tember 17, 1668; Benjamin, August 16, 
1671 ; Deborah, May 30, 1674; Abigail, 
October 31, 1676, died 1682; Samuel, No- 
vember 5, 1681, died 1682. 

Daniel Griswold, son of George Gris- 
wold, was born at Windsor, October 1, 
1656, and died there December 31, 1728. 
He married there, February 3, 1680, 
Mindwell Bissell, daughter of Nathaniel 
Bissell. Children, born at Windsor: Dan- 
iel, born February 14, 1684; Nathaniel, 
twin of Daniel, mentioned below ; Pela- 
tiah, September 13, 1689; Mary, 1692; 
Edward, March 8, 1695-96; Deborah, No- 
vember 7, 1698; David, August 6, 1701. 

Ensign Nathaniel Griswold, son of 
Daniel Griswold, was born at Windsor, 
February 14, 1684, and married there, in 
1 73 1, Ruth Gaylord. He settled in Po- 
quonock, and died there September 16, 
1753. Children, born at Windsor: Ruth, 
born August 8, 1732; Naomi, April 5, 
1735; Azubah, July 14, 1736; Nathaniel, 
mentioned below. 

Nathaniel Griswold, son of Ensign Na- 



270 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



thaniel Griswold, was born at Windsor, 
July 27, 1742. He resided at Poquonock, 
in that town. He was a soldier in the 
Revolution in Captain David Barber's 
company from Windsor, in the first regi- 
ment, sergeant in the eighth company. 
His wife Abigail died April 26, 1820, aged 
seventy-three years, at Windsor. Chil- 
dren, born in Windsor: Friend, men- 
tioned below; Agnes, baptized Septem- 
ber 29, 1765 ; George ; and Tirzah, died 
January II, 1771, aged three days. 

Friend Griswold, son of Nathaniel 
Griswold was born in Windsor, and bap- 
tized June io, 1764. He died February 
4, 1831, aged sixty-seven, according to 
family records. By his wife Dolly he 
had children : Altissa, Bridgman, men- 
tioned below; Bradford, who died in 
Windsor, September 3, 1855, aged fifty- 
nine years. 

Bridgman Griswold, son of Friend 
Griswold, was born in 1791, and died at 
Windsor, October 9, 1836, aged forty-five 
years. He married (first) Hannah Hol- 
comb, who died August 4, 1829, aged 
thirty-nine years. He married (sec- 
ond) Maria Holcomb. Children by first 
wife : Lyman Emerett ; Truman ; Friend ; 
Charles, mentioned below ; Bishop, died 
at Windsor, July 18, 1899, aged seventy- 
five years. By second wife: Agnes, Celia, 
Anjanet, Marshall, Watson. 

Charles Griswold, son of Bridgman 
Griswold, was born in 1821, at Windsor 
(Poquonock) and died at Hartford, Oc- 
tober 7, 1910, aged eighty-nine years. 
During his youth he resided on his fath- 
er's farm at Popuonock, a village of 
Windsor. He learned the carpenter's 
trade and became a builder and contrac- 
tor. Later, however, he engaged in bus- 
iness as a general merchant. He went 
West just before the Civil War and re- 
ceived a government grant at Brodhead, 
Wisconsin, where he opened a general 



store and also followed farming, until 
1865, when he returned to Hartford. 
From that time until he was seventy years 
old, he was in business as a contractor in 
Hartford, where he died. In politics he 
was a Democrat. In religion he was an 
Episcopalian. He joined the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows while in Wiscon- 
sin. He married Louisa Holcombe, who 
died at Windsor in 1894. Children : Ella, 
born in Brodhead ; Frank Charles, men- 
tioned below. 

Frank Charles Griswold, son of Charles 
Griswold, was born in Hartford, Febru- 
ary 25, 1855. He attended the public 
schools in the towns where his parents 
lived during his youth. When he was 
fourteen years old, he went to work as 
clerk in a retail provision store in Wind- 
sor and was employed there for about 
four years. In 1872 he secured a position 
as clerk in the office of the Connecticut 
General Life Insurance Company of Hart- 
ford, and afterwards was an agent for 
that company in Connecticut; later, due 
to his success as an agent, he was pro- 
moted to the position of special agent, 
traveling and appointing representatives. 
In 1897 he was elected an officer of the 
company with the title of superintendent 
of agencies, with headquarters at the 
home office, and the rapid development of 
the company is due in a large degree to 
his supervision and in the appointment of 
men of ability as representatives of the 
company. He is well known and highly 
respected in insurance circles, and his 
work has been specially commended by 
competent critics. Mr. Griswold is a 
member of Washington Lodge, No. 70, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Windsor ; of Wolcott Council, Royal and 
Select Masters ; and Pythagoras Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons, of Hartford. He and 
his wife are communicants of Trinity 
Protestant Episcopal Church. 



271 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Griswold married, October 9, 1878, erine, 1689; Sarah, 1691 ; Benjamin, Feb- 



Agnes E. Wiley, daughter of Orlando 
P. and Harriet A. Wiley, of Hartford. 
They have had two children: 1. Robert 
Charles, born August 1, 1881, died Au- 
gust 7, 1897. 2. Harold Wiley, born De- 
cember 21, 1886, graduate of the Massa- 
chusetts Institute of Technology in the 
engineering department in the class of 
1908 (degree S. E.) ; was for five years 
in the United States government service, 
and is now division engineer of the Ne- 
paug Water Company of Hartford. 

(The Holcombe Line). 

Thomas Holcombe, the immigrant an- 
cestor, was born in England and came 
early to Dorchester, Massachusetts, where 
he was living in May, 1634, when admit- 
ted a freeman of the colony. He sold 
land there in 1635-36, and removed to 
Windsor, and in 1639 located at Poquo- 
nock, four miles west of Windsor. In 
1639 he was a representative of Wind- 
sor in forming the constitution of Con- 
necticut. He died at Windsor, Septem- 
ber 7, 1657. His widow Elizabeth mar- 
ried, in 1658, James Eno. Children: 
Elizabeth ; Mary, Abigail, baptized Jan- 
uary 6, 1638; Joshua, baptized Septem- 
ber 27, 1640; Sarah, born August 14, 
1642; Benajah, June 23, 1644; Deborah, 
October 15, 1646; Nathaniel, November 
4, 1648; Deborah, February 15, 1650; 
Jonathan, March 23, 1652, died 1656. 

Nathaniel Holcombe, son of Thomas 
Holcombe, was born at Windsor, Novem- 
ber 4, 1648. He married, February 2J, 
1670, Mary Bliss, of Springfield. He 
lived at Simsbury, Connecticut. He was 
deputy to the General Court in 1703-06, 
1720 and 1722. Children except first and 
second, born at Simsbury and Granby : 
Nathaniel, born June 11, 1673, at Spring- 
field; Mary, May 17, 1675; Jonathan, 
1678; John, 1680; Esther, 1682; Cath- 



ruary 15, 1698. 

Nathaniel Holcombe, son of Nathaniel 
Holcombe, was born at Springfield, June 
11, 1673. He married, November 1, 1695, 
Martha Buel. He lived at Simsbury and 
represented that town in the General 
Court, 1748-49-50-53. Children, born at 
Simsbury : Nathaniel, born October 29, 
1696; Benjamin, Elizabeth, Martha, Jo- 
siah, David, mentioned below ; Mary, 
Sarah, Peter, born 1715. 

David Holcombe, son of Nathaniel 
Holcombe, was born in Simsbury. He 
married Mehitable Buttolph, of Granby, 
Connecticut, where he was a farmer and 
innkeeper. Children, born at Granby : 
Mehitable, born 1722; David, 1724; De- 
borah, 1726; Martha, 1727; Reuben, men- 
tioned below; Susanna and Simeon, 1734; 
Ezra, 1735; Lydia, 1737; Ezekiel, 1738; 
Jedediah, 1740; Eli, born 1741, removed 
to Ulster, Pennsylvania